Reading Reviews From Member: JennyMc
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JennyMcLove Goddesses, Overprotective Brothers, and James Potter: Grimpers, Noah Davis, and Flobberworms

11th March 2011:
hi!

Sorry I haven't reviewed the last few chapters. I just started reading and will review the next ones! :)
Indiana Jones's satchel? Haha, classic. When I read that, I thought, 'So does Joy Behar'. The hangover is the best.
Oh, and dwight schrute? Yes, a beet farm and ninja weapons are the best. :) Can't wait for more.

-Jen

Author's Response: DUUUDE! Dwight Schrute is a beast. Honestly, coolest person ever.

 Report Review

Review #2, by JennyMcCrime and Punishment: In The Art Of A Bad Reputation

9th February 2011:
Hi!

I thought this was perfectly done! The quidditch was done nicely! Not boring at all. :) I like how you didn't just go with the cliche and have Charlie back on the team instantly, no matter how much peakes is annoying. Take your time updating. No rush. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: thank you, that's a relief as I was quite nervous about all the quidditch! And I know, peakes is rather infuriating, but he'll get what's coming to him ;)
Thanks for reviewing! x


 Report Review

Review #3, by JennyMcThe process of becoming tamed : Regret

20th December 2010:
Awh. It's heartbreaking reading it from Sirius's point of view. I'm really glad you posted this one. To me, I think it's one of the most important one-shots so far. Happy Holidays!

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for the review!

yes, this was a pretty important chapter, wasn't it? And I actually had a few people asking why Sirius did X or Y when this was posted in the main story so hopefully those people will read this and it will make more sense to them.

Hope you had a lovely holiday break too. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by JennyMcThe process of becoming tamed : Sirius: The Yule Ball

13th December 2010:
Ah, finally. I know that I've already read what happened, but reading these chapters from Sirius's point of view started up my anticipation. :) It already seems as though Sirius is serious about her. (haha, I just realized what I typed.) Very sweet.
Oh, and if you don't update in the next month or so, Happy Holidays! :)

-Jen

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for the review!

I think that you may not be alone in having these chapters reinvigorate your anticipation for things, because I've had a few reviews that have hinted at that. Very pleased you're enjoying these chapters, though, that means a lot to me. And yes, he was pretty serious about her by this time. It had been coming on for a while, after all. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by JennyMcSpeech: Speech

9th December 2010:
Aw, I really liked this. It was cute and I feel like it's something Ron would say. Ginny giving him that look was perfect. :)

-Jen

 Report Review

Review #6, by JennyMcPretty Girls, With So Much Spirit: Pretty Girls, With So Much Spirit

9th December 2010:
I loved this! Ever since seeing the movie, I've been trying to find Scabior stories. It's a bit difficult finding any, but I'm glad I've found yours. It's wonderful and going in my favorites. :)

-Jen

 Report Review

Review #7, by JennyMcCrime and Punishment: Part II: In The Art Of Competition

20th November 2010:
Hi!

I was excited when I saw that you updated! By far, this has been my favorite chapter. :) I really like the back and forth between James and Charlie. Usually, I'm on the fence (ha, like James!) about stories skipping large amounts of time, but you make it work well. I can't wait to read Charlie's comeback for James taking all their clothes. I mean, of course Charlie isn't going to let that slide, right?

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter,
Jen

Author's Response: HI :) I'm so happy you like the story, this chapter was probably my favourite to write, because after the time jump it felt easier to write from that age. I'm so glad you think it worked, I was a little nervous about that.
and of course she isn't going to let it slide! all shall be revealed next chapter (oh and you're the only reviewer who guessed that James took their clothes, because it wasn't actually mentioned in the chapter, so kudos!)
the next chapter is all written, and i'll update after the queue closure!
thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by JennyMcBlue Jeans are like Memories, They Never Fade: Thunder Storms and Unresponsive Socks

19th November 2010:
Hi!

I started reading this this morning and I haven't stopped. It's addicting. I'm loving it and it's now in my favorites. I really like Al's and Josie's friendship. Very comfortable around each other! :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Aw really?? Squee!!! You just made my day 1 billion times better!! I'm glad you like it that much!! Wowee!! That means so much to me that you favorit-ed it XD Thank you, I tried to make them as comfortable around eachother as possible because Josie doesn't want him to know that she loves him. So she has to act normal...or well normal in Josie form ;) Thank you sooo soo much for reading and reviewing!!
-Graceyn


 Report Review

Review #9, by JennyMcThe process of becoming tamed : Worth the wait

1st November 2010:
Awh, it's nice to see a little Lily/James after Sirius/Laura. I was wondering about them during the original story you wrote and this just filled that for me. Thank you. This was a nice refreshing piece to read. I loved it. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Thanks Jen!

You know, I really wasn't going to do any Lily/James because my mind wasn't in that space, but then I found this piece that I must have written ages ago. It needed a good edit but it meant I could post it without having to write it from scratch, which was nice. And it is a nice change of pace, isn't it? Get a different couple in for a change. :) In any case I'm very glad you liked it because, as I said, it's likely to be the only J/L piece in this collection.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by JennyMcThe process of becoming tamed : Fancying Laura?

23rd July 2010:
Hi,

I loved this. I did enjoy it very much. It's nice to read how Sirius first realized he liked Laura. :)


-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen!

Yes, it is nice, isn't it? I enjoyed writing this one - like so many of these, once I had the idea it kind of wrote itself, and that's how the best chapters get written isn't it? Poor Sirius, though, I do put him through all sorts of things, including getting nice and embarrassed in front of his best friends. Oh well. All part of the learning process, isn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by JennyMcThe process of becoming tamed : Sirius: Just another Gryffindor party

8th July 2010:
Hi,

I really enjoy reading Sirius's perspective during certain chapters of HTTAM. Even though I knew what was going to happen, I loved it, and I appreciate these one-shots. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you enjoyed this one because I'm rather fond of it myself - not much Laura but the banter between the boys just writes itself sometimes, even if it does take on a life of its own on occasion. :) As for a clueless Sirius, well he's a joy to write hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by JennyMcUntamable: The Life Chronicles of Riley Brannigan: Chapter 4

7th July 2010:
Hi,

I liked this chapter. Riley is definitely a developing character; she's awesome. :) I'm excited about the next chapter.
And as for the gooey cookies, I'll take one. :) haha.

-Jen

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you still like it, haha.
And here is your cookie, there is some milk in the fridge, cups in the cabinet.

:D

xCecelia


 Report Review

Review #13, by JennyMcUntamable: The Life Chronicles of Riley Brannigan: Chapter 3

1st July 2010:
Hi,

I loved this chapter. It was cute. Especially the end, where Riley put that spell on Jane-Marie's hair. Sticking up for Sirius, even if she is a bit angry about the whole Gryffindor/Slytherin thing. Can't wait for the next chapter.

-Jen

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the nice review! Yeah, Riley really loves her friends even if she is a bit rough around the edges, haha

Thank you again!!

xCecelia


 Report Review

Review #14, by JennyMcUntamable: The Life Chronicles of Riley Brannigan: Chapter 2

28th June 2010:
Hi,

I really like this so far. Riley's character is consistent. The story is pretty interesting, and I'm excited to read this story!
Favoriting this. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad that you like it!
:D

xCecelia


 Report Review

Review #15, by JennyMcTrapped.: This isn't Romantic.

26th June 2010:
I'm loving this story! Can't wait for more. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: i'm submitting chapter 12 as we speak :)
Thanks for the review!
~serenade


 Report Review

Review #16, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Epilogue

11th May 2010:
Hello,

It's sad this is over. I've looked forward to it for a while, and now it's over. :( Anyways, I feel that it's only fitting for me to leave a long and proper review for this epilogue.

Now, I don't remember exactly which chapter I started reading from. I'm going to guess somewhere in the twenties or thirties (?). It's usually hard for me to really get into a story and love every part of it. This, though, was somewhat of an exception. I found that all Sirius/OC stories were the same. He was rebellious and mysterious and the heroine was shy and lonely. A bit too cliche, if you ask me. But not this. No, not this story. It may have started out with readers (or just me) seeing Sirius through Laura's eyes in fifth year. This dashing young man with a 'fan club'. As I learned more about him (and her, for that matter), I realized that he was almost the opposite of what he seemed. And her as well. They changed and grew. They weren't static, flat characters read in other stories. They were real, changing, and complex. This, I feel, was the best thing about this story. Nothing seemed fake (other than the magic, hogwarts, and wizards! haha). It wasn't just the main characters, either. Martha, Charlotte, Lily, Remus, James, & even Elvira. They were all different and unique. They experienced real emotions, went through what almost everyone goes through, and had to deal with it all. Truly amazing. :)

The story was just as wonderful. I've read in the past stories where everyone lives happily ever after after some tragic event. It doesn't seem to mesh well. Yes, including Mary's death was upsetting, but it stirred up the emotions and feelings in the other characters. Laura's death was something that was, of course, disconcerting, but it seperated this story from others. I don't think I've read a fanfiction where the main character dies. This is the first. And I must say, as sad as it was, I appreciated the change. I liked how it went well with canon. It's almost thought-provoking. What DID happen in Sirius's life before Azkaban? Before Harry Potter? I feel that this story answered that.

I do have a question, though, for you. Are you going to be writing any other stories? I was just curious.

I hope I didn't forget anything in this review . . . .

Now I only have one thing left to say. Thank you.

-Jen. :)

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for such a lovely review! And I'm SO sorry that it's taken me so long to respond ... I'm horrendously behind at the moment but I'm trying to rectify that now. Anyway, I'm here, so I'm responding.

It really does mean an awful lot to me that you think so much of my story and how I structured it. As you know I'm pretty big on characterisation and character development so it's wonderful that you think I did such a good job with that. *beams*

As for Laura dying, well to be honest it was the only way I could really see it ending. I don't write a story if I don't know how it's going to end any more, because otherwise I'd have a litany of WIPs with none of them finished, and I'd hate that. So, one story at a time and have the ending mapped out is how I approach it now. It really was the only way,though, that I could make it fit canon properly. I'm sure it's not the only one out there where the main character dies, but I do appreciate that from that perspective it's probably unusual.

And more stories? I will be posting an alternate ending to this in the next week or so, so you can see how a breakup might have been possible. And then the one-shots based in the HTM world, which will take months to get up. And then I'm toying with the idea of writing a parody fic so that might end up seeing the light of day as well.

Thanks again, Mel

PS I checked, and your first review was for ch30. Just in case you were wondering :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: NEWTs

6th May 2010:
Hey!

I think that even though it didn't have all the drama from past chapters, I really liked it. Laura seems different. More grown-up, matured, sophisticated. But that's something I appreciate; characters growing and changing throughout the story. Makes it a bit more interesting.

-Jen :)

Author's Response: Hi Jenny! Thanks for reviewing again! :)

You're absolutely right, not nearly so dramatic, but then again it was a closing chapter so that's probably not completely unusual or unexpected. And yes, Laura has grown up. After all, she was 15 at the start of this story and she's 18 now, so you'd hope there would be some development on that front, wouldn't you? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Recovery

15th April 2010:
Hello!

I noticed several bits of foreshadowing in this chapter. When Sirius said he didn't want to spend his life in Azkaban and when Lily was talking about how Azkaban is the equivalent to rotting in Hell. Am I right? I don't know; Maybe I'm just reading a bit too much into it.
As I always say, I love this. Not just this chapter, but the entire story. A while back, you said that there was only ten chapters left or so. Obviously, it's getting closer to the end, right? Well, I'm kind of excited to see how you're going to wrap everything up. Although, I'll be sad to see this story end. After all, it's become my number one favorite story here on this site. Anyways, can't wait! :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen!

Yes, close to the end now. In fact I just had a look and I think there are only 3 more chapters before the epilogue. Having said that, though, there are bits that still need to be written so if I go overboard (not unheard of, as I'm sure you'll appreciate) then it could end up being longer.

And yes, definitely some foreshadowing with the talk of Azkaban. It's awful that we know that's where Sirius ends up, but if I'm going to stay true to canon then unfortunately it has to happen, so I put those lines in. I realise that it does impart a bit of a sense of dread, but it felt necessary.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by JennyMcFalling To Pieces: I Will Bend Till I Break

11th April 2010:
Hi!

I don't remember if I've left a review for this chapter or not . . . I've been out of town for a week and everything's been a mess.
Anyways, this chapter felt significant. I'm glad to see they're talking, but not all lovey-dovey all of a sudden. It's realistic and refreshing to see. Great chapter and can't wait to read the next one. :)

-Jen

 Report Review

Review #20, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Settling the score

11th April 2010:
Hello!

What a way to end a chapter and leave people hanging! Wow. . . .
I kind of disagree with you though. I found this chapter enjoyable. :) I did. It seems important. I do love the ending, though. Not Laura getting hit, but the way it was written. I'm kind of interested in seeing and hearing Sirius's reaction to this. Hopefully, he doesn't beat himself up over it. Once again, wonderful chapter!

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen!

Yes, it was a bit of a dramatic cliffy, wasn't it? Sorry about that. But I thought it was important. *evil grin*

As for the chapter, well it wasn't the content that I didn't like, it was the way I'd put it together. It didn't seem to flow. Having said that, though, my feelings about it have mellowed a bit after getting this sort of feedback so obviously I didn't butcher it as badly as I'd thought. so thank you for that!

Sirius' reaction will be in the next chapter, which is only a few hours away now so I won't say any more.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Elvira's revenge

2nd April 2010:
Hi!

I really loved this. Ah, it's great. I feel like I say "I love it" every chapter review, but I do! I liked how they were able to talk about what was going on. Thank goodness for Sirius telling Elvira off. Been a long time coming for her, I say. :) Anywho, I can't wait to read your next chapter.

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen!

I'm glad you liked this chapter, because it's one that I'm rather fond of myself. (Unlike the next one - ugh - but that's another story.) Just the character exploration and exposition really made it worthwhile, I thought. And yeah, Elvira got told off. That was due a long time ago!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Laura Cauldwell, amateur counsellor

28th March 2010:
Hello,

errr.I really really don't like Elvira. Yes. I've come to that conclusion. I just don't like anything about her. What an awful horrible person. ANYWAYS,
I feel bad for Laura. Sirius won't believe her, and honestly, I'm surprised he didn't. If he loves her so much, wouldn't he take her word for it? I know that he has become much more insecure about their relationship, but still . . . .
Another lovely chapter. It was amazing. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

You know, Elvira's collected a few more enemies this week for some reason. *grins* But yeah, she's lost all perspective now so she's just going for broke. It's not a particularly endearing trait.

As for Sirius, well I've always seen him as having a high opinion of his own abilities but not of his own worth, and I've made that manifest in him being convinced that she's way too good for him ... the more he falls for her, the more he believes that he's unworthy. And then he heard the note, which was was worded in such a way as to leave very little room for doubt, and made it sound like the whole school knew and were laughing at him. And because he doesn't feel like he deserves her, he just took it as confirmation that she's worked that out now and has moved on. He already didn't trust Bernie's motives so it wasn't too much of a stretch for him. This will all become clearer in a future chapter so hopefully it will make more sense then.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Nothing to giggle about

22nd March 2010:
Hello!

I'm actually in kind of a rush, but wanted to leave a review! I don't think I've reviewed this one, so I'll do that now.
I-as usual!- loved it! Laura telling Elvira off, YAY! And I think everyone will agree with me when I say, Thank Goodness! But I also kind of feel bad for her in a way. Oh, well.
I can't wait to read about Laura and Lily and whether or not they will be fighting in the war after Hogwarts. It's like James and Sirius said, it's different out there. But I also agree with Lily and Laura. James and Sirius are out there and they will be worrying about them. Oh, so much! :)

-Jen.

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for another great review! :D

Yes, I think a lot of people were pleased that Elvira got a talking-to, it's been way too long in coming. Laura just lost patience with that sort of thing, she figures that there are other things worth worrying about way more.

And yes, both the boys and the girls have a point in their argument about who should be fighting in the war. We know that Lily joined the Order from JKR, but my lips are sealed about Laura. You'll find out eventually.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by JennyMcFalling To Pieces: I Shouldn't Speak In Case I Get It Wrong, I Always Do

15th March 2010:
Hello!

"This was going to be the shiniest damn telescope of the bunch." I don't know why, but that might have been my favorite sentence in the entire chapter. I thought it was hilarious. Anyways, onto Dee and Sirius. I kind of like the tense moments between them and also between them and Ray. The ending of this was fine, no worries. :)

-Jen.

Author's Response: haha, an odd line to be your favourite but thats good! glad you liked it and hope you enjo the rest!

 Report Review

Review #25, by JennyMcHow to tame a Marauder: Cataclysm

8th March 2010:
WHAT?! Oh my . . . . I read that and literally felt my heart sank. Now I've got goosebumps. I can't believe Mary's dead!
Starting at the beginning, this chapter was just as great as the rest have been. As usual, I loved it.
I just can't wrap my head around the fact that Mary's dead. Oh my gosh. I know she's a fictional character, but wow.
I can't wait to read the rest. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi Jen! Thanks for reviewing again!

Yes, sorry about that. I know I shocked a lot of people with this chapter, but the story needed it. At least, I felt it did. Mary was always going to die according to my story plan, but it had to be sudden and horrible to accurately portray how unfair and mindless this war actually was. But yeah, poor Mary. She was a great character. I'll miss her.

Next chapter should be up on the weekend, once I've given it the edit it needs.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>