Reading Reviews From Member: TheTenthWeasley
  
239 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheTenthWeasleybloom.: bloom

7th January 2015:
Me again. I was going to go to sleep (it's currently 4:30 am here in sunny Scotland), but I had to read something else of yours.
Not long after you tell us about Poppy's pregnancy, I had an inkling as to what was going to happen. I'm not sure if you were aiming for the loss of Marigold to be a surprise (nobody would ever assume Madame Pomfrey would have a child in the books, but still), that's not really the point. The point is that it fits. It's a beautifully written, melancholic story, and everything points so stunningly well to Poppy's character that despite the sadness of the loss of Marigold, I'm still smiling at the direction it gave Poppy.
Your creativity is so lovely. (I'm running out of adjectives to use in my reviews.)

Author's Response: omg, you're so sweet! hope i didn't keep you up for too long - you should have picked a shorter one! :P

i wasn't totally intending for marigold's death to be a surprise, no. in my mind, this fic came so easily and wholly presented to me that i almost felt like nothing was a surprise in it, and i was almost trying to get that feeling across to the readers as well. in a way i wanted it to be an account of her life which was kind of untainted by the narrator's view, if that makes sense? it probably just sounds dumb and pretentious but i can't think of another way to phrase it ahaha

thank you so much for these lovely words, this has really made my day to read!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheTenthWeasleynotes on freefalling.: sunbeams

7th January 2015:
This sounds ridiculously creepy, but I was thinking about your lovely James/Lorcan story and thought I'd check out some more of your stuff.
Firstly I have to tell you my somewhat irrelevant love for this line: "I'm obsessed with tea, feminism, lesbians, and minor characters".
Now on to the actual story: again another lovely uplifting piece. Your inclusion of Lavender's scars, resulting change in attitude and Parvati's continued friendship with her was so great.
Your characterisation of Parvati was so enjoyable to read, especially her "perfectly proportioned" nose and Astoria's description of her (I won't copy and paste it all - you know the one that's a big long sentence): it fits well with Jo's canon and you expand it wonderfully into something so intriguing to read.
Brilliant :)

Author's Response: that does not sound creepy at ALL, i am very flattered!! thanks so much for the read and the review, darling *hugs*

hahaa, that's the simplest way to describe me, really, thought it was easiest to let everyone know upfront :P

i usually don't write such uplifting stuff so you've really sought out the fluff here! haha! i'm so glad you enjoyed it, though. I had so much fun figuring out how Parvati could develop from what little we know of her in the books, and how Astoria could come across too, and they merged so well in my head. I am really glad you thought so too!

thanks so much for reviewing

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheTenthWeasleyThe Wild Youth: Starlight - Part II

5th January 2015:
The suspense is literally killing me.

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheTenthWeasleyRush: leap

5th January 2015:
There's so many things to say! First of all, I must admit I decided to read this based on the fact that your main character (Josie) has the same name as me, and I find stories with my name in them hard to come by. I'm not sure if it's due to this fact that I'm associating the character and other elements of this chapter to my own life, but there's definitely a startling connection. Of course that could be due to your wonderful writing.
You've got a lovely grasp of timing and dialogue; when to say what and what to reveal at which time. But it isn't just blatant statements, your storytelling is refreshingly just that: storytelling. I love how well you build up tension and manage to realistically write out scenarios.
I am ridiculously intrigued.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheTenthWeasleya movement in charcoal.: a movement in charcoal

5th January 2015:
This is wonderful. Truly; your mastery of language is stunning and a refreshing perspective of the world comes through through the story and through Lorcan and James. I adore it.

Author's Response: i literally can't express how much this made my day to read, thank you so much omg



 Report Review

Review #6, by TheTenthWeasleyString Theory: chaos theory.

20th July 2014:
I am really enjoying this story and the frivolity involved in it. Despite your disclaimer of it being sort of a parody, you're obviously skilled at writing characters with depth and likability - and therefore I've become invested in them.

My favourite line by far has to be this: "I don't need to smile just because d-words like you think it suits me better. And I have better things to worry about." Extraordinarily well put :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you think they have depth and likability! It's great to hear that you're enjoying it so far, and that line was really fun to write, so I'm glad you like it! thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheTenthWeasleyDon't Quote Me: Of Rationalising, Regretting and er, Violence

1st August 2013:
This is good - not too bulky or thin for a first chapter, it's humorous and I like this Cassia, she has some spunk. I definitely enjoyed it; looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I'm trying hard to make Cassia different, not too random, not too Mary-Sue, not too average. I want to make sure her character is unique but not unrealistic :)

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheTenthWeasleyDescending: Descending

14th November 2011:
Wowe. Wonderful, again. Really captivating and eerie and brilliantly written - lovely vocabulary and such.

Oh yeah, remember me? You from another dimension or something like that. I was thinking of the tenth Weasley after Ginny, but now there's a whole load of next gen.'s, so it isn't as understandable.

My mindless rabble aside, this was great, 10/10. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- this is definitely one of my favorite stories I've ever written. I love psychological mind-twisters and dystopias and all that sort of thing, and I always thought Harry might have been just a smidge messed up, no?

Your name always makes me laugh! So similar. :D I was thinking of that sort of tenth Weasley as well, and totally forgot about Fleur in the process... Whoops.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheTenthWeasleyExit Wounds: The Banjolin Song

18th October 2011:
Liked it. This is a refreshing story, with well written chapters and interesting characters and entertaining dialogue. Like it.

Author's Response: Hello,
Thanks (: I hope to continue writing in the same fashion.
Thanks for reading and reviewing!
-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheTenthWeasleyThis Ends Today: Perspectives

2nd October 2011:
This was wonderfully written. I can't even put into words how heartfelt and moving it was.
Brilliant job.

Author's Response: Thank you for such a sweet review. So glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by TheTenthWeasleyLeaving Privet Drive: Leaving Privet Drive

7th September 2011:
This is really sweet and was very enjoyable to read. You've got Harry pretty much on-point, which I was totally relieved to see, because quite a lot of writers tweak him a little.

You should be pleased with how it has turned out; it was lovely.

10/10 :)

Author's Response: Your name caused me a bit of a spasm. Hello! I don't believe we've met, but I'm experiencing all sorts of Twilight Zone sensations at the moment. :D Are you sure you're not me in another dimension, then?

Anywho. Thanks so much for reading the story! And I greatly appreciate your comment on Harry's character -- JK knows him so well, writing him is a bit intimidating, and the fact that someone thinks I've got it means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheTenthWeasleyThe Deepest Scars: The Deepest Scars

28th August 2011:
This is absolutely amazing. Everything was beautiful and captivating and intriguing and melancholy and just... wow.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It took quite a while to write but I'm glad it was worth it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by TheTenthWeasleyBrief State of Insanity: Visions

22nd June 2011:
So even though it was a little jumpy and choppy at bits, I really enjoyed the dialogue and the dynamics of the relationships of the people in your story.
Why's Dominique there? Just curious.
I liked it, so I'll be back to see how James gets on :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I see what you mean.
Next chapter will tell all to do with Dominique.
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheTenthWeasleyPatchwork: Primal

25th April 2011:
"Le"? Do you work for tumblr? :O

Anyway, I loved this chapter too, and even though I haven't known her for long, I'm sad Patch has lost her Patch, it was quite cool to have a realistic reason for her nickname. I love nicknames.
Okay, I'm talking a load of rubbish.
I like the dialogue between Patch, Arisa and Louis, and the way you write Patch's thoughts is entertaining and not boring, which is good, obviously.

10/10! :)

Author's Response: I don't even have a tumblr account, I'm afraid of the procrastination that tumblr is famous for. :)

I love nicknames too, this story was going to be full of weird nicknames like shoe and cash, but then I stopped myself.

Thanks for the review, glad you're enjoying it. :) xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheTenthWeasleyLife Throws a Punch: I'm The Only Broken Hearted Loser You'll Ever Need

14th March 2011:
Dun, dun, dun
The return. Of. THETENTHWEASLEY (aka, Josie).
You mad? :D

Anyway, I am - as you know - very excited to see the return of this story, and I'm really happy about the first chapter. I'm glad you didn't just make Lily say yes because that would be very boring, and you aren't a boring writer, which is good. I loved James's resolution at the end, and I like his perspective.

"I'm going to relentlessly propose to her until she gives in. It worked the first time I did it, right?" That was one of my favourite bits.

10/10 for the first chapter, and I'll be back. Obviously.

Author's Response: I love you. I hope you realize this, because it's true :)
I'm glad you don't think I'm a boring writer! Sometimes I feel I get a little boring haha :P
Thank you so muchh!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheTenthWeasleyLove Goddesses, Overprotective Brothers, and James Potter: Whining, Practice, and Sisters

10th March 2011:
Oooh, Roxanne. That was rather nasty, and I love it. I love how horrible they're being to her, adds drama, you know.
I thought Noah-boy was up to something with her? I don't trust him.
I liked this chapter, despite how nasty it was. Nasty as in nasty to poor Afro.
And I would never abandon you :)

10/10 x

Author's Response: FINALLY! THANK YOU! So happy that someone likes the drama and realizes that the story needs it! (: AND NOAH IS A BUTT HEAD.

 Report Review

Review #17, by TheTenthWeasleyThe King Of Hearts: King

1st March 2011:
I do very much like it, and it was really interesting and entertaining for your first chapter, which is definitely good. I'll be making sure to read the next chapter :)
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you enjoyed this! Your review's are always lovely. I hope that you like the rest! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by TheTenthWeasleyBroken: So it ends so it begins

16th February 2011:
Oh wow, I really liked this chapter. Especially the end, which was a really funny and light-hearted way to finish it; which I like, because it made it easier to accept that there won't be any more.
I absolutely adore this story and I've definitely enjoyed and loved reading it, so thank you so much for writing it.

10/10.

Author's Response: thanks hun! i usually don't go for the happy ending, but this fic called for it, you know? glad you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheTenthWeasleyFailure By Design: Christmas Eve Dinner (Epilogue)

15th February 2011:
Oh woah, hold the train - what? Jeez, James, didn't see that coming.

Anyway, last chapter? I don't really know what to say to that, so I'll just not say anything.

Bits I liked:
-“Meriwether Buttlicker.” (that whole little scene)
-What’s your guys’ not problem?”
-“—as he goes up to put—and here’s the punchline—” (possibly a reference to the Japanese Golfer joke? Actually, I KNOW it's a reference to it, so yeah. I bet everyone's said that already - OH WAIT, THEY HAVEN'T, BECAUSE I'M THE FIRST REVIEWER MWAHAHA)
-the whole end last bit was really sweet and cliff-hangery and omg so excited for the next one!

Thank you very much for writing this; much love for you.
10/10.

Author's Response: HAHAHA of course its a reference to that joke! I've just always pictured that being the ONE joke Vernon knows. Nothing else. At all. Because he's lame :)

Thanks for this awesome review, it really made me happy! Much love to YOU!


 Report Review

Review #20, by TheTenthWeasleySeven: You’ve Got To Love The Irony On That Woman

13th February 2011:
Aww, I'm smiling like an idiot.
Real happy for Charisma and James, and Freddy and Dixie obviously. I'm actually pretty glad you split up Ellie and Kyle, not because I didn't like them both together or anything, but I think it's more realistic and less cliché if they were all paired up. I like this Ellie/Nicholas thing though ;)
I love how Charisma's a teacher, and the jobs the twins ended up with, and the part with the picket fence.
I'm going to miss this. I'll miss Gabe and Freddy and Dixie and everyone :(

Thanks so much for writing this, really. I've loved reading absolutely every chapter.
10/10.

Author's Response: Idiot smiling is the best.
Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you have enjoyed this story!
I totally agree with the Ellie and Kyle coupling. Even when I had written them together in Wolfsbane, I knew that they would have to be split up eventually.
I'm glad that you're liking the Ellie/Nikki thing though, that was an impromptu thing from my brain that actually worked out (for once :P).
Thank you again, especially for every single review that you have left me, they're always lovely and encouraging.


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheTenthWeasleyBreathless: This Could Not Get Any Worse.

9th February 2011:
YAY YAY YAY.

Looovely chapter. Really intense and neughk and everything. I'm smiling like a complete creep right now because I'm pretty happy with the way you're writing all of this. The tension between Al and Adele is really fun to read and I love how you make us think something is going to happen but it really isn't.

Anyway, I can't wait for the next chapter. Really.
10/10

 Report Review

Review #22, by TheTenthWeasleySeven: Learning to walk is as hard as wearing big-boy pants at only a few months old

9th February 2011:
Ugh, I'm a little annoyed at James for beating up my Gabeykins (I swear I'll never say that again), but whatever, I suppose it needed to happen. I like Gabe.
Freddy isn't that bad either. He's improved. I'm glad he didn't try to apologize, because that would probably make it worse.
Anyway, last chapter?! :(
Aw damn.
Don't know if I'm happy or sad.

10/10 as usual x.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! You have every right to be annoyed at James, he's a silly moo!
It's all good. But it did make me laugh. Gabeykins is sweet :L
I'm glad that you noticed that he didn't apologize. They're both stubborn enough to think that neither of them had to.
It's alright to be both. I'm both, happy and sad. Thank you again! I hope that the last chapter lives up to your expectations.


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheTenthWeasleyThings Haven’t Changed : The Mother of the Enemy

8th February 2011:
...

WOW SO MUCH AWESOMENESS GOING ON IN THIS CHAPTER I AM OVERWHELMED.
Jeez, that was very fun to read.
What a to-do to comment on.
Uh - I love the Zelda/Jag Rose is commenting on, I rather like Jag's mother (how is she so young, I think there's something off about that, what are you up to? (;), the "I'm half-cat" or whatever it was mention thing, Rose and Scorpius and I quite like Astoria in this too, Al's shrunken head, Xander's general hyper energy and just everything was great to read.

Can't wait for next chapter! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: YAY, AWESOME REVIEW!
Yep, Jag's mum IS unnaturally young.and there's more to it, definitely ;) No can tell, tho! I'm glad you like Astoria and Al's random shrunken head!
Thanks so much! I'll update in...um...as fast as possible ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheTenthWeasleySeven: I’m Going To Take My Fat-Arsed Glasses Off And Take That As A Compliment

8th February 2011:
CAN'T. WRITE. COHERENT. SENTENCES.

YAS.

I mean really, this chapter was just - ugh - so perfect. Seriously, I can't, this is crazy. Just lovely, lovely, lovely; Dixie's changes, Gabe being Gabe, and obviously the last part ;)

Can't wait for the next chapter, even if it does mean closer to end :(
10/10 x

Author's Response: Coherent. sentences. are. overrated.
this. way. is. much. more. fun.

Thank you for such a lovely review! I hope that you like the rest of the story!
And yeshem, finally Dixie has got her flair back, yet calming down a little in the process.


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheTenthWeasleyDéjà Vu: Flabbergasted, Ninjas and Sarah-The-Evil-Barbie-Cow-of-Evilness

7th February 2011:
Yay, update! :D
I love reading this story, it's very... fun to read, you know? Anyway I feel like I can relate with stuff that's going on, which is very good obviously.
I can't wait for the next chapter! 10/10 :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>