Reading Reviews From Member: Sakurasou
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sakurasouhumpty dumpty sat on a wall: Torture and Insanity

22nd April 2013:
This one shot made me tear up. The rhythm and style are so well paced, it reads in a really interesting way.

The end is just heartbreaking. Neville receiving one of the wrappers for the first time. Its so sad and heart warming knowing that so many years later he still treasures them.

This is a really amazing one shot. Loved it.

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry it's taken me forever to reply :P Thanks so much for the lovely review! The Longbottom story is such a sad and sweet one, so I'm glad to hear that I've done it justice ;) The wrappers is such a powerful image- they're Neville's connection to his parents it seemed like a fitting end.

Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by SakurasouKeep Calm and Carry On: Motion Sickness

22nd April 2013:
I read this story all in one sitting. Once I started I couldn't stop. I love how you portray all your characters, and especially I really like Edie :D I really don't want her to write the article, but I think she probably will, being so angry and everything.

And, Dean! He's totally into Edie and Seamus knows it :o but she's totally oblivious. Poor Dean, but I love Edie/Oliver, I hope he finds someone else XD (if he does indeed fancy her and I'm not just imagining things :p)

Not sure how I feel about Jae. At the start I liked him but now he's starting to get a bit sleazy. And pushy.

I love all the little references, like the 1984 one in this chapter and the Dragonskine notebook and them all. Makes me feel awesome when I understand them :p

Can't wait to read on and find out what happens. So much drama, I love it. You have a new follower. :D

Author's Response: Eeee!!! A new follower! Welcome. ♥

Wow, one sitting? That is a lot of reading, haha. And I know I've done that before, with stories I absolutely love, and I'm so flattered you feel that way about KC&CO :D

I think you're the first person to say that they aren't a fan of Jae. I totally agree with you there. He's definitely not the worst person in the story, but he's not my favorite either.

I'm glad you got the Dragonskine reference... Although I have a Moleskine, I couldn't help poking fun at other writers xD

The next chapter should be in the queue by tonight. Thanks again, so very much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by SakurasouPanorama: Frustrations

6th August 2012:
No! A cliffie D: Well, I'm super excited to find out what happens next. I love how this is setting up such a unique way for Rose and Scorpius to get to know each other. Your Rose is a wonderful character, she's just a normal student with a special ability. I think its great how she's blaming everything on Scorp even though he hasn't done anything yet. Such a normal thing to do XD

Your description is really wonderful. Especially in the forest, you can really feel the eeriness and the fear. This is really shaping up to be an amazing story. I'm looking forward to reading about how Rose deals with everything. I love that she's a Hufflepuff too- I don't read that often.

Great chapter!
10/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by SakurasouAnomalous: Magic's Skip

6th August 2012:
I was sitting in a room with my family and actually had to leave because I thought I was going to cry. :( You really know how to draw out people's emotions. It was heart wrenching to read about Lily facing this, particularly when she was thinking that Harry could fix everything, but he couldn't.

I think Harry's character was great here, he was truthful but comforting and sweet. And Lily was characterised great too, all her worries and thoughts were just like a child's.

I really liked how toward the end, she was a little more hopeful. And Albus' appearance was a nice touch, showing how the family are all coming together to support her.

This was a wonderful little insight into Harry and Lily's relationship. I loved it.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sakurasou30 Days of You and Me: Trust

4th August 2012:
I love ScoRose, so I was very excited to read this. Everything about this chapter was wonderful. The way it begun, the way it grew and the way it ended. You made a cliche couple not cliche, kudos! The interactions between all the characters seemed really natural and realistic.

I laughed so hard at the bit about Lysander and his lack of clothing, haha. I liked how you dropped little hints about the rest of the family, too, it makes everything more believable since the Weasley family is so big and connected.

Rose and Scorpius are such interesting characters here, and after reading this chapter, I am so excited to read on and find out about the other 29 days XD

10/10

Author's Response: I'm very glad you decided to give this story a shot. I was very wary about this pairing but was talked into it by a few people. So naturally, I was skeptical. I'm so happy to know people are enjoying it.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SakurasouPeter and the Wolf: Peter and the Wolf

4th August 2012:
I think you broke my heart a little with this one shot. I've never read Peter/Remus before, so this was new for me and I am very impressed! The characters were all perfect, Sirius especially. I could really feel his frustration that Peter wasn't as involved in the Order as he wanted him to be. And Peter, I felt really sorry for him in this. Its so easy for people to just make him out at the baddie, but its much harder to make him into a real, believable character and you did this so well.

The fact that Remus turned him down after he's been feeling so low, is a very believable reason for him to turn to the other side. He put his heart out there, he was being so courageous and he was rejected.

Your descriptions were wonderful and everything just flowed so well. Great piece :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by SakurasouChristmas Eve Without You: Christmas Eve Without You

3rd August 2012:
You surprised me with Teddy's visit! Its no where near Christmas at the moment, but this was so romantic and fluffy that it made my heart melt anyway. Teddy's one of my favourite characters, and I loved how romantic he was in this story.

I really enjoyed the way you slotted in little tidbits about the other characters too, like Dom and her art and Lucy and her mischief. So many characters in one place really gave it a Weasley-gathering feel.

This was so heart warming and sweet, it made me smile :)

10/10

Author's Response: I wrote this right around Christmastime, so it's always cool to get reviews on it in the middle of summer! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It's probably the fluffiest thing I've ever written and I don't normally write fluff.

I loved putting in those bits about the other characters because I don't normally write the canon Weasley cousins. I'm glad you liked them! Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by SakurasouInfection: Infection

3rd August 2012:
This is one of the best Founder's era fics I've ever read. Right from the very beginning I was hooked. There's a lot of mystery and darkness which was just so intriguing.

The whole infection thing was genius, really. I loved how first, it was him who infected her, then it was her infecting him. Very poignant.

I think that you did an excellent job with the characters. I can't help but feel pity for the Baron, even though he was a murderer. Its a very powerful thing you were able to capture, both pity and anger at the same time. This story was so heartbreaking. And the fact that when he died, it wasn't even next to Helena made it more sad.

Really great one shot, it captured such an important moment and left me wanting to know their story before this point in time. I loved it.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by SakurasouOne Word: One Word

18th July 2012:
I really loved this. You really captured a sense of loss and pain that Lily must feel after the 'incident' with Snape. You've really managed to show just how important their friendship was to Lily, and how, when in the hands of the wrong person, words (or rather, a single word) can cause such distress.

'Like dust to the wind.' Such a simple yet poetical line, I really love this. :)

Such a lovely one shot, I really enjoyed it :D

Author's Response: Lovely, i'm glad you really liked that and thought i captured what she might have been going through. Trying to get that in such a small word count was rather hard and i felt like i was just brushing the surface. I've always found Lily a little elusive and had a hard time figuring out why she reacted the way she did, this was my way of trying to explain it to myself. :D Thank you for stopping by and reading, i really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SakurasouShadows in the Mirror: Shadows in the Mirror

18th July 2012:
"The whisper cut her so deep, she could feel it in her bones. " This line, phew, what an opening! It honestly gave me chills. This whole story chilled me to the bone, it was so atmospheric and tense. You've managed to create such a horrifying scene in such a short amount of words. The repetitive use of Dorcas' name really builds the tension, the mirror, the way the voice seems to be coming from nowhere all creates a wonderful sense of horror.

I've never read a story about Dorcas before, and you have certainly surprised me, in a good way! I really enjoyed it (and I rarely enjoy horror). Excellent job! :D

Author's Response: I'm really glad you ended up feeling the mood I was trying to build - I haven't really written much horror before, so this was kind of something new for me. :)

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SakurasouSave Him: Save Him

18th July 2012:
Its so refreshing to read a story about the love between Lucius and Narcissa. I think sometimes they are boxed into the 'badguys' category, even though they do show their love for Draco. Its really interesting to read about how they began, almost innocent-like, compared to how they ended up. Even before Draco was born, they were worrying about Voldemort's influence.

This story is really touching, it shows so much more than just Draco and his parents, it conveys how the war, how young mistakes and how Voldemort have affected this family. And all that in such a short amount of words, I am very impressed :o

Overall, I loved it! Great job :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I really think that there had to have been some amount of love and care in that family.

Thanks again :)

Jami


 Report Review

Review #12, by SakurasouEventide Wind: Eventide Wind

18th July 2012:
I loved this. You really captured such a wonderful feeling between Dean and Seamus, in such a small amount of words. The opening is simply gorgeous, the way the colours become personified and seem to melt into each other, it is description at its best. Stunning!

I like how you've characterised the boys, it is different to read Seamus as being shy, but I think its so sweet. Also I am really loving the Dean/Seamus you've shipped here.

Excellent job, I really loved it! :D

Author's Response: Deamus forever!

Thank you! I really do enjoy descriptions. I don't know why. So it always gives me a (ssh, dont repeat this) little bit of points to my pride when someone likes my descriptions.

Seamus was characterized this way because I'd assume that anyone going through this would be a little timid, especially since this story takes place after a previous story of mine.

Thank you for the wonder comment

--Axjion


 Report Review

Review #13, by SakurasouIt Started With Insults.: Chpt-1 Insults And Shouting Matches.

18th July 2012:
I was not expecting that ending, I must admit. When I first started reading I thought this would be a Lily-gets-James-back-good chapter, so I was a little surprised when Jessica popped up, but pleasantly so!

I like Lily in this, she is such a firecracker and not so good-two-shoes that she is sometimes portrayed as. The fact that she was willing to abuse her head girl power to give someone she didn't like a detention, makes her even more likeable. Sirius, is, well, Sirius. Who doesn't love his playboy self?

Great start to your story, I'm looking forward to reading more :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by SakurasouIn Hebrides, With Hebridean (Task One Challenge): One

18th July 2012:
I love Susan in this. I think you characterised her really well and particularly I like her courage and her strength in facing the Herbridean Black! It was nice that you added a little bit of Hagrid to the story, its nice to see him as a friend to other students than just the trio :D

Your description is superb, especially the beginning where you describe her fear and the closeness of the dragon.

You really made me feel for Susan, I was totally cheering her on at the end when she finally faced her fear and approached the dragon.

Great oneshot, I really liked it :D

Author's Response: Oh my! I didn't think I'd ever get a review on this! Thank you so much Sakura, really nice of you :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by SakurasouOutcast: Thestrals and Karma

3rd July 2012:
I giggled the whole way through this chapter. From the fake thestrals, to cap the llama, to the sorting, I couldn't breathe! I especially loved Captain Karma, haha.

I loved the sorting, I was so excited to see that they would be sorted into houses ... and then the bowler hat happened and all I could think was poor little Abigail. But the potion was such a quirky idea, it was great!

Molly in Slytherin? Well, that should be interesting considering her relationship with Professor Skeeter so far. I wonder how she's going to take it.

Great chapter, I'm looking forward to the next one :D

Author's Response: Hello!

Awh - thank you very much! Yeah... it appears Molyl has an interest in clothing llamas.. who knew? ;)

Ha - well, as I'm sure you'll imagine, Molly won't take it very well! ;) This review really made my day! Thanks so much for taking the time. :D

Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by SakurasouOutcast: Squib Stampedes and Dancing Unicorn Knickers

3rd July 2012:
I really like that the chapters are starting with a little anecdote about Molly's gran, its a great way to tie all the chapters together :D

This chapter was so funny. I cringed so much for Molly, but the part about her stretching her face was hilarious, I couldn't stop giggling!

I really like the relationship between Moth and Molly, its playful and fun and it seems to create mayhem, which is awesome. Grewner was great as well, like always :D

I just wanted to pause to leave a review but now I'm off to read the next chapter!

x

Author's Response: Hello :)

Haha - thank you! :D Molly is just really bitter when her Gran is concerned... or her family... or just life in general. ;)

Awh - thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review - I hope you continue to enjoy it!

Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by SakurasouOutcast: The Tale of Timothy Bones and Muggle Fans

3rd July 2012:
This is shaping up to be a really hilarious story! I absolutely love the interactions between Molly and Moth (haha, I love Moth as a name). I am looking forward to their future XD I'm totally excited to see what Swanley's is like and what sort of subjects they teach there :D

Ah, the fan. Ouch! I feel so bad for Molly, already getting into such situations and she's not even at school yet.

Again, I loved Grewner, he is an awesome house elf XD

Great chapter :) 10/10

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Oh thank you! Haha - Moth was a slightly random shortened name! But he just never felt like a 'Tim'! Oh - I'm starting to write the next couple chapters so hopefully you won't have a too long wait. :)

Haha - everyone loves Grewner. :D Thanks for reading and reviewing! Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by SakurasouOut of Time: Killing Time

19th March 2012:
O.M.G!

I just read this whole story in one go and my mind is blown. You characterisations, atmosphere, descriptions, not to mention the actual plot are all so powerful. I really like how Lily moves from one time to another so quickly, everything is happening so fast that it just draws me in more and more (even though inside I'm dying for them to have to have more time together, for their sake).

But onto this chapter specifically- the end. What! My mind is going crazy with speculation, was she the wife all along? It makes sense and yet... it would be so devastating that she died :( This chapter was amazing (like the rest). Harry was spot on, I usually have trouble imagining him as a parent but it seemed so natural here. It seemed right that he believed her.

Sorry if that was all very jumbled, my brain is frazzled from awesomeness. But I really love this story, and I can't wait (read: I am desperate) to read the next chapter.

x SakuraSou

Author's Response: Whoa, this is quite a review! Thank you so much for it, and for taking the time to read the whole story through. It means a lot that you've enjoyed it this much, more than I can possibly express. ^_^

The quick pacing of this story is something I tend to forget about, and others have told me the same thing, that it feels longer than it actually is. Most of the story happens in a ridiculously short period of time, but the style of Lily's narration draws time out - she wants those moments to have lasted longer, but that's impossible because time is relentless and cruel. Time makes a wonderful villain for a story, doesn't it? :P

The problem of knowing about her own death is something that Lily will have to deal with - that is, if she makes the final choice to go back in time again. She still has the option at this point to remain, but either way, she's not going to be happy forever. What I wanted to do was show the negative side of the time travel romance, particularly if the travel is backwards - the protagonist will have to face the knowledge of her own death taking place before she is even born. I don't want to gloss over the negative aspects of time travel.

Thank you so much! I'm very glad that you've enjoyed the story and its plot and characters. Hopefully I'll finish that next chapter soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by SakurasouOutcast: Choking and Whistles

18th March 2012:
This story is so unique and funny, I really love it. Its nice to see Molly II as a main character, I don't think I've read another fic where she is the lead. I really like how you characterised her, and everyone else! She is very real and easy to relate to and I like her :D Grewner the house elf with attitude is awesome, I hope he pops up again :)

Poor Molly having to face going to a new school and moobs all in one day XD

Well, I really like this story, I can't wait to read more :D

x SakuraSou

Author's Response: Hello :)

I agree - Molly is one of the underloved characters of Next-Gen! xD Oh thank you so much :) This story was more of a 'cool-off' from my others and has turned out to be quite liked!

Grewner.. haha! He never really existed then when I was writing the chapter - suddenly this house-elf with anger-issue popped up!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy the coming chapters :)

Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by SakurasouRevenge is Sweet: My Sisters Love Story

16th March 2012:
This is such a sweet story! I think the opening paragraph was the best so far, it set the scene nicely. The part were Louis told Rose to take all her womanliness outside made me chuckle out loud, it was cute. I really like how you've characterised everyone, especially Louis. I'm not sure what year he is supposed to be in now (third?) but he seems quite sweet and innocent, even though he likes to nick things lol, so I am looking forward the the prank war. Victoire is not usually so volatile (its usually Dom) in other stories that I've read, but I like it here, it makes her more energetic and entertaining :D

The pace was quite good and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar mistakes, so kudos for that!


Poor Louis having to take off his hat- I have cut my own fringe badly before so I know how useful hats can be in desperate times. :(

Cute story so far, I'm looking forward to reading more :)

x SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: thanks for such a lovely review. Yeah James and Louis are in 3rd year and Al and Rose are in their 2nd year.

Thans for the wonderful review.

Snoopy x


 Report Review

Review #21, by SakurasouMy Most Faithful: All But Perfect

15th March 2012:
Ack!! I didn't take a single breath during the last bit, I was so drawn in. I absolutely love this story! I'm very intrigued about Anna's obsession with the killing curse, it was unexpected but I (morbidly) like how she has this obsession with darkness yet still deals with normal teenage stuff like jealousy and relationships. And despite the fact that things probably won't work out too well for her, I'm still really excited for more Anna/Tom romance! Also for Grindelwald drama, and to see how Malfoy fits in...hehe

Sooo...yeah. Great chapter, as always. I'm super excited to read more :D

Author's Response: Yay thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it, and i'm really glad you weren't to creeped out by the whole killing curse thing. There will definitely be more romance and Grindelwald drama and Malfoy! Thanks again, I hope to get the next one up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by SakurasouPhoenix in the Ashes: True Understanding

14th August 2011:
This was so touching. I really like how, while they might have known, Remus was still slightly bitter about the others. It was so much more cheering in the end when they transformed. I couldn't help but smile. I think all the characters were portrayed really well in this. I really enjoyed reading this.

Excellent job! :D

SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #23, by SakurasouPhoenix in the Ashes: The Dragon or the Girl

14th August 2011:
This was short and sweet and heart breaking at the same time. I really enjoyed reading this oneshot. Charlie/Tonks is a very interesting ship and you've done it so well. I loved their interactions, how she covered his eyes and how he joked with her. It was sad that he had to leave yet I'm glad that Tonks told him to go- its in her character. It was bittersweet but you portrayed it so perfectly.

Really loved reading this, excellent job :D

SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #24, by SakurasouPhoenix in the Ashes: The Magical Apprenticeship

14th August 2011:
I really loved this. It was really refreshing to read about Madame Rosmerta when she was at Hogwarts. I adored how you portrayed her and her little quirks like how she hates the Ravenclaw riddles despite that she is a Ravenclaw. "Nearly Headless Nigel"- that made me laugh out loud. I loved the concept behind the story and how Maura ends up doing and apprenticeship, it was very original and clever. I really enjoyed reading this oneshot!

Great job :D

SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #25, by SakurasouPhoenix in the Ashes: The Captain

14th August 2011:
It is so nice to read about Charlie, I rarely get a chance to read about him. I think he is portrayed really well in this- how he dissects the matches and everything. This one shot was a delight to read. I loved all the little details, like the locker screaming at guys but not girls. The introduction of Oliver was nice too, it made me smile. This oneshot was just very touching and I really enjoyed reading it.

Excellent job! :D

SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>