Reading Reviews From Member: TallestTower
  
335 Reviews Found

Review #26, by TallestTowerIgnatius: I

14th August 2011:
Hello Melanie! ♥
This was a brilliant first chapter. I've never pondered about Percy during this time, and now I'm shocked I didn't. It's such an interesting idea, and very different, perhaps difficult to get right but you definately have. I feel like Percy's emotions came across so well, and you've built up this strange world brilliantly - there is a sense of fear, and loneliness, and it's dark, which makes it all very gripping. Percy's characterization is brilliant, perhaps he doesn't have the same heroic/bordering on stupid thing going for him as Harry, but he certainly isn't boring. Heh, I don't know how to convey what I mean but your Percy is perfect - he's smart, sharp and you've shown that when he wants to be, he's kind of a badass too.

Umbridge's characterization was also perfect, and the whole atmosphere of this was just chilling - I really felt Percy's repulsion of himself and also his fear in that courtroom, and his loneliness.

This line was my favourite: So he tried to avoid it, the way he tried to avoid thinking about what his mother might be cooking for dinner that night, or how his sister was doing at school, or just trying to remember what it felt like to not be so alone and utterly lost.

So beautiful and made him feel so real, y'know?
Looking forward to the next chapter


Author's Response: Thank you, Helena!

I've been wanting to write this for awhile, because it was obviously a huge part of his journey. And he's starting to realize what he got himself into, and the really heartbreaking part, I think, is that he wishes he could just go home but now he CAN'T, and I think that would have been almost unbearable. And he's only about 21 years old at this point, so he's still very much a kid in many ways, and I think that makes the whole thing worse. Definitely right, he's not a "hero" in the way Harry is - Harry would never have been able to keep his mouth shut and his head down - he would never have been able to stand by while people were doing things he didn't agree with - he would have felt the need to act out and express his disagreement even if it was going to get him killed. But that kind of behavior would not be helpful here, and frankly, not everyone can have the same hardheaded and fairly reckless sense of righteousness that Harry exhibits, so while Percy disagrees with what's going on, he literally can't do anything (unless he wants to risk getting killed or imprisoned). While Percy's decisions got him here, at this point things are completely out of his control. I just think that's a really scary thought, and I wanted to explore what would have been going through his mind at this time.

Next chapter is halfway done at this point! I'm glad you're enjoying this! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #27, by TallestTowerIf Tomorrow Never Comes: Chapter Two

13th August 2011:
Hello love, hope you're having an amazing birthday!
You deserve one, because you're one talented lady.
I'm really enjoying this, Hannah's character is so strong and I feel really attached to her.

I really loved the detail and the description. I actually liked Aberforth's character in this chapter, I liked his awkwardness and it was almost sad Hannah left while he was distracted, I would have quite liked to see him choke out a goodbye.

I'm really curio about the centre and where things are going to go from here, who else will be there...

And I really like Neville in this ^_^ I'm thinking romantically he might be more nervous, but I'm interested to see your take on it. Hehe, looking forward to the romance already, naturally.

I thought maybe Augusta's conversation with Hannah might have been a tad longer, and only a tad, but perhaps that is all part of the mystery. It's definately gripping. ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Hi hi ♥

I'm really glad that you're enjoying it. As I said in my last reply, Hannah did come quite easily - I think there are probably big elements of her that are part of me too, which always helps - so to know that she's still as strong is a great comfort.

Oh, he'll see her again. He knows that. She's not going forever and she's come to care about the pub so he's pretty sure she'll be back.

Who else is there is a very good question. There are some familiar faces :)

You shall have to wait and see. There's certainly a nervouseness to him but you'll have to wait a while for the romance.

Okay, I'll go back and fix that up if I can. I think I tried to make it longer initially but then it messed up the flow and my dialogue is pretty awful so anything I can chop short, I do :P I will edit ASAP.

Thank you, my lovelyy.

xx


 Report Review

Review #28, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-three.

10th August 2011:
PLOT TWIST AND SHOUT.
So, I used my twin powers to get into your brain (BRM) and try and figure out what is going to happen, and then I got out my umbrella. For the rainy bloodbath. I'll be indoors marrying Louis though, so all is well.

Right, I'm going to get soppy and emotional now, but I'll keep it short and sweet because I know you've got no heart (unrequited love: dudderz/boatah). I really love your writing Hattie and you've got such a distinctive style but I can't quite put down what makes it 'Hattie's writing' (well, rain and bodycounts for starters). But I start reading the next chapter and I'm like I'M HOME! Dominique is so unique and yeah, you're doing your own thang like the hipster Julia truley is. /covers up emotional speech in bad jokes/

Just realised I haven't actually chatted about the chapter at all. But, it was amazing and if you'd watched usual suspects I might have made a casual reference to it here but I guess that's a joy you've missed.

It's all coming together like Scorpius' home made blazor ♥ IT'S SO EXCITE YEH.

One thing though, Harry's middle name is spencer.
Awkward.

Big-D, Dudderz, The Bitter one,
Twinsie.

Author's Response: COME ON COME ON COME ON BABY NOW.
Twin powers for the win! Duddah'z gang telepathy powers for the win! Do you mean rainy bloodbath as in blood falls from the sky or is it just raining and because everyone is dead there's just a lot of blood? You confuse me with her wondrous way with words and your beauty, Hellahnore.

You iz gr8, Helena/Duddah/Twinny/Big H. You iz fab. I love love love that you've reviewed every single chapter of this very long and tiresome story, and that you're always so nice to me. I remember when you first did. I thought I had requested a review while drunk/high on narcotics and forgotten. But, alas, you're genuinely that kind. LOOK AT ME GETTING ALL AFFECTIONATE AND WEEPY. ALL MA CREYZ. ALL MA CRAYZ. WUB OOO.

Scor's making a home made blazer? Oh my lord, that man is fly. Just lyk me.

WHAT THE HELL MAN. DAT NOT RYT U SO RONG, HELLEH.

Love Pierz/Bowtie/Boater/The Better and Prettier One,
Twinsie.


 Report Review

Review #29, by TallestToweretc. etc. (and life goes on): Certifiably Quirky

5th August 2011:
I'M - sorry, Helena Nott is (pshh) - TOTALLY THE BEST TWIN YEAH?

Oh Gina, I didn't think I could respect your funny anymore, but this takes it to new levels. QGA ♥ I can't explain my appreciation of Appy.

The beginning of this made me fall in love with Pickett. (He's so ♥ reminds me of someone but I'm dwelling on who. Does anyone inspire you to write him?) Then Clickett. Then Do(12+letter choice?)ckett.

Liked the Potter children's backgrounds, oh god, just the thought of Lily having a perfume range... I feel sick. So. Funny. Why must you give the Potters such a horrible fate?

Leave it Pickett to not understand his own conspiracy theories.

I LOVE HIM.
BUT YOU MOAR. MAYBE. IDK. I'M ON THE FENCE. IT DEPENDS WHETHER THE OTHER TWIN IS UGLY OR NOT.
(totally is.)



Author's Response: Haaah. WELL IT'S A VERY CLOSE TIE PERHAPS? Can ties be close?

♥ oh god there is just so much material there in QGA. I am so happy it exists.

Pickett is actually entirely inspired by Hodgins from Bones. From the scruff to the jerk-with-heart-of-gold to the conspiracy theory-ing. Mostly the scruff. Hnng.

LILY WOULD SO HAVE A PERFUME RANGE. EVERYONE AND THEIR MUMS HAVE ONE.

PICKETT IS HOT. GO WITH HIM.



 Report Review

Review #30, by TallestTowerRite of Passage: A Necessary Ordeal

31st July 2011:
This overflowed with cute and funny ♥
I loved how you ran the sentances onto one another, poor Mort's scatterbrained thoughts ♥
Just a shadow Mort, Just a shadow.
That opening line was brilliant! Hahah. Intelligent thinking there. Oh this was so fluffy and funny. Uncle Bartholomew shadows haha!

And of course, who could not love Grendel? Absolutely crazy and absolutely brilliant. I like how you continued the theme of him losing things (I think? Were those his pets he lost at the end?). Mort is so endearing. Baww. ♥

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you very much! Mort's thoughts are a little bit like mine, so writing them is so very natural. GRENDEL.

They weren't his pets that were getting lost, but he did keep losing things. Forever. Poor thing!

Thanks for the review! xx


 Report Review

Review #31, by TallestTowerBereft: Bereft

31st July 2011:
Hey!
I thought the present tense worked really well actually. Sometimes with present tense I find I'm overly concious of it, but I didn't quite realize until you mentioned it in your A/N at the end. It just seemed natural and suited :)

Your writing was beautiful. The description was powerful and I love short fics like this which convey so much emotion! Really beautiful language. I liked the phrase where she wondered if she was just an illusion through fogged glass. Such a poetic and effective way of describing love potion induced love.

This was really brilliant ♥ Well done!

 Report Review

Review #32, by TallestTowerGame: In Which Oliver is Sensitive

29th July 2011:
Round of applause Davies and gentleman, Helena actually made it past the chapter image and read the story! (Before going back for another oggle.)

THIS HERE CHAPTER SHALL FOREVER BE KNOWN AS THE ONE IN WHICH HELENA FELL IN LOVE WITH OLIVIÉ.

~~**~Oliver's POV!~7y8~
worked so well. I liked how you actually /wrote/ differently. Oliver is actually a half-decent broke ("and unfortunately for Oliver, he was a half-decent bloke"... BAWW) Tom Hardy smashing things hnng. He was so squishy (what am I on?). I like getting inside his HEAD (what were you thinking?). The way he noticed exactly how Rona reacted to his approach was VERY sweet, oh, being eaten up by guilt ♥ And shipping Roger/Rona? Oh boy! Ash is right, he is stupid. You are right, that's what makes him adorable.

"Of course, he could see the set-up a kilometer away, smelling as fishy as Mrs. Norris' dinners."
I don't know where you get the inspiration for these things.

"But just focus on the Quaffle — I mean, the apology."


OH MY MERLIN, HE CAN READ HER.

"He uttered, strangely soft in their heated argument, "You didn't fake it.""

OLIVER 1 RONA 0
(George Weasley shoots a fine bludger towards the Ravenclaw Chaser, as she carries the quaffle across the pitch with ease... Hang on, this isn't a quidditch match (is it? so many lies and subplots). Too much Oliver POV isn't good for ones health.)

OLIVER SIGHS. IDK, HE'S JUST PERFECT.
RON'S LIVER FOREVER ♥

Author's Response: HELENA~ ♥ you made it through, oh you so did. You see why I stayed up to see your reaction to this chapter?

OH GOD THIS CHAPTER WAS SO CHEESY A YEAR AGO. I actually really like it now. Oliver has always been far more descriptive than Rona. He doesn't say things. Rona just says everything before thinking. Oliver's all you know, a bloke.

TOM HARDY SMASH. And squish? It's a little of everything.

♥ he is such a dork.

QUIDDITCH METAPHORS are awesome like ship metaphors.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #33, by TallestTowerGame: Spare the Guilt, Spoil the Captain

29th July 2011:
See, my reactions are all spoilt because you saw them on skypeland already :) And it's somewhat hard to go back in time to my previous feelings towards Oliver before I read chapter six, but I think I was thinking something along the lines of:

IF OLIVER WASN'T TOMMY H, I MIGHT DISLIKE HIM.

Because Rona is all sorts of awesome. And sad Rona breaks my wee little heart. The fact is Gina, it's hard for me to feel the emotion of a broken heart as I write this review, because a youtube video is playing in the background of a montage of male actors from Harry Potter to the tune of Ice, Ice Baby that (probably) Hattie sent me on FS.

So yeah, Stop, Collaborate and Listen!
Thought that should be shared with you.

Moving on, despite being all a bit tense and dramatic and plot and all that stuff SOME people might say is important: THERE WAS A LOT OF FUNNY TOO.

Of course there is funny where Gina is involved.

It's surprising how quickly I've become attached to Rona, considering anything she says could be LIES, SWEET LIES. But I do loff her ♥ But dyaknow what, Oliver is pretty adorable too.

Sorry about the AWWWFUL reviews, but imagine me saying AWWWFUL in a posh british accent and it'll make up for it ♥

Author's Response: OLIVER IS SUCH A HOT JERK UP TO THIS POINT. It took me the longest time to balance the jerk-ness and the hot-ness (and then I was just like let's just make him really really hot. And then I cast Tommy H.)

Oh Hattie/Sarah/trolls. I forgive you.

I NEED PLOT. I CAN'T NOT HAVE PLOT. THINGS MOVING FORWARD.

And homg the eternal struggle of mixing humor and angst. I ALSO REWROTE THE FIGHT SCENE SO MANY TIMES.

LIES, LIES EVERYWHERE. TRUST NO ONE. You see where I get my manipulativeness from?

♥ I AM IMAGINING IT AND IT IS MAKING EVERYTHING ALL BETTER.


 Report Review

Review #34, by TallestTowerGame: Well, That was Unexpected

29th July 2011:
THE INFAMOUS REVENGE!KISS.
It actually was really sweet at the same time.
REVENGE IS SWEET/evil glee.

I know Rona and Oliver become Rona and Oliver. So why does my heart ship elsewhere? -gazes out at sea whimsically, watching the sails of the ships drifting into the horizon- -sad music plays-
-the audience are in tears...What do you mean this is YOUR review? What are you suggesting, I shut up and talk about you? NONSENSE!

Oliver is so supicious. I don't understand. There are too many lies and suspicions and I'm like, hang on here guys, I can only handle basic characters. Bunny is cute. Bunny remains cute for whole fic. Helena is pleased. Naww, I love it all ♥ You know I do, but so much UNEXPECTED KISSING. Well, one unexpected kiss. But it was really unexpected, so.

I LOVE THAT I LEAVE YOU REVIEWS WHICH MAKE SENSE NON.

Jasons so craycray, he officially scares me. Selling Oliveoil to the twins was absolutely genius, the results had me laughing. Oh my oh my. Duncan's awesome because I don't think he's had a line yet and his name's Duncan so I love him



Author's Response: IS HELENA HOPPED UP ON HER FLU MEDICINE? I DO BELIEVE SO. PEPPER-UP POTION ABUSER??? CALL P.A.R.E!

Oh you and Ash, Roremy shippers. Ship metaphors ♥ And... well I'm not sure what you're getting at, but I am laughing anyway ♥

ERRBODY HOLD THE FAWKES UP FOR HELENA. SHE NEEDS TO UNDERSTAND. Naw really, I had to go back and edit so many times. *I* didn't even know what was going on. I'm fairly sure there's a couple of plot holes swimming around, but it took a lot of thinking for me to get there, and no one's pointed it out, so SHRUG!

KISSING AND BUNNIES AND CRAY CRAY JASON AND OLIVEOIL~ HardyOliveOil.

Lolol Ducan. he gets like, one line in the entire fic. Not kidding.



 Report Review

Review #35, by TallestTowerGame: News Spreads Faster Than a Snitch

28th July 2011:
Hello! ♥
I'm really really tired and kind of smashing at the keyboard with my head, so don't be surprised if I sound more eloquent than usual ;)
Back when I was a wee reviewer I already left you reviews for the first two chapters, and they might of changed heaps since then, but hence reviews starting at chapter three. I've loved it all so far though.

Love the interactions between the girls! I really like Edie, and Penny, and come to this of it, Hannah too haha. I like your characterization of Penelope, I can definately see Percy being the love sick puppy and her being the one in control. You can also see why they might be attracted to each other :) anyhoo, girls. girls talking about boys. broomsticks jokes (totally the only reason why that's my other usernames). endless hilarity.

You have such a way with dialogue. I love the way Rona and Oliver talk, and the way Rona talks in general. Also love a bit of bad poetry.

Jeremy is so cute. And I'm putting bets on Hannah and Roger at some point ahahhaah!

Yay chicken soup fic ♥ lotsa lovin'

Author's Response: HELENAAA. My, you should smash your keyboard with your head more often. Better than typing with your tailbone, for sure.

EEE DID I REQUEST REVIEWS FROM YOU? I THINK I DID. HEHEHE. ♥ back when it was terrifically terrible.

Percy was still all sorts of easily manipulated back then. Penny is totally the one on top. Sitting on their elitist thrones, chortling.

BROOMSTICK JOKES :D

WHA -- HANNAH/ROGER LOLOLOL. OMG Okay, I think people have literally shipped every possible combination of people in this story at some point xDD



 Report Review

Review #36, by TallestTowerIt's Only Love: He loves me, he loves me not

28th July 2011:
Wow! This was breathtaking - an incredible piece of writing.
I fell in love with the style. The second person made me feel close to Lavender's character. You characterized her so beautifully. She's a little girly, sweet, normal (the christmas scene with her family was a beautiful bit of characterization I think, just the thought of her with a family like anyone elses, it gave her a lot of depth and I felt closer to her) - but that sense of normality of her character is what made this so unique. It really celebrated the intricacies of a person.

Her thoughts stumbled from everyday to memorable poetic phrases - that was so lovely. Ah there is so many favourite parts I could quote!

I loved this dialogue:

“See,” you said, “it looks pretty already.”
He said, “You’ll have to remember to water it.”

♥ ♥ ♥
Especially as it was near the beginning at it just said /so/ much about the characters.

"He always said it back and you always longed to hear it, but deep down you knew that he had never said it first."

That was just haunting. I really think their relationship is one of the best I've read on HPFF. It's flawed but not in an ovbiously angsty way - it's subtle. You get the impression neither of them are particularly happy with each other, yet that they wouldn't do with anyone else. I feel almost like Lavender is settling - but not quite, it's like she doesn't have much self esteem and she wants so much to be loved by Cormac and she's created this dream of him and her that she believes in. And Cormac, he's not a natural romantic and perhaps he doesn't even love her, but he appreciates her in his own way. The ending was perfect for that.

I already mentioned how much I loved the family christmas scene! &heart; That was beautiful, showing how the relationship didn't just affect Lavender and Cormac. The part with her grandad where he says she gets prettier each day &heart; The way it was told, ah, it was perfect!

And I think my favourite line was probably this:

“We should at least have some lavender,” you’d said to him once, but he hadn’t seemed to think that was funny.

Oh gosh, this is so incredibly written. The style works beautiful and the characters are so /interesting/. I'm enjoying just thinking them over in this review haha :)

I liked this so very much! &heart; Strikingly realistic and has a beautiful subtlety to it.

 Report Review

Review #37, by TallestTowerDomino Effect: One

26th July 2011:
Fudge! Fudge is such an ignorant character throughout the books. He seems so oblivious and selfish, and of course, he is all those things. And yet, when he finally realised the truth - that voldemort had returned - one couldn't help but pity him a little, he lost all his bravado and for a moment a regretful, guilty character slipped through. And that's the character you've so effectively brought to life in this fic! Fudge's character is swamped in idiocy, and he almost seems like a little boy in his uncertainty once he realises the truth, and perhaps that might only annoy people furthur but I think in fact it allows for a little sympathy. I really liked this fic, if definately gave you that chance to sympathize with him. Fudge is a character that was never meant to be a hero, but he was never a real bad guy either- and you brought that out so well. The way you described his relationship with Dumbledore was spot on and the second person worked incredibly well. This was quite touching actually. ♥

Gramatically, one thing I did notice was in the last line it should have been burned instead of burn, but it's not a major problem in my opinion, I just know some author's appreciate things like that being pointed out.

Really well done, I've never read anything like this before ♥

Author's Response: Ah Fudge. I think all politicians start off with good intentions but then they easily fall to the allure of money and are easily manipulated by people who do not have their best interests at heart. The thing about this fic is that everyone can relate to it - it happens ALL the time to the majority of politicians. Fudge was unfortunate as he fell prey to Lucius Malfoy's silver tongue (among others...not that I blame them *swoons*.heh, sorry)

He really is lost! I agree with you on that - mind you, that's how I always saw him...as a sheep, even if it does sound a bit harsh. But he always struck me as a puppet. Whenever I read, especially after GoF, I always wondered how he became Minister of Magic. But denial has a lot to do with it as well.

I felt sorry for him after the media onslaught. The first chapter of HBP brought that out, he said it was the first time in all his years that everyone agreed on something when it came to his sacking.

His relationship with Dumbledore was another reason why I wondered why he became Minister; he wrote to him about everything!

Oh yes...that. You have no idea how much time I spent on that. I even debated it with someone and we agreed in the end that we'll go with that tense. I'll change it though and I don't mind you pointing it out.

I really enjoyed reading and responding to this review. I appreciate the discussion.

Lia


 Report Review

Review #38, by TallestTowerSomething To Fight For: Something To Fight For

26th July 2011:
Wow, this was brilliant. I thought the structure of snapshots was so effective - this is only a one-shot and yet it feels like a long chaptered fic, just because you developed the characters very well. I really liked reading about lesser known characters, which I know I don't do often enough.

I like how this romance focused on the characters and wasn't drowning in flowery language, especially for this era. I do love a bit of flowery language myself - but this was perfect. That being said, there was some lovely description of small details (the poplars like chess pieces) and I really liked the description of Marlene in the book store, the way it focused on little things, because I feel that in that moment we were looking through Fabian's eyes noticing all the beautiful, little things about her. I like how you developed her character.

Really loved the Weasley house setting too, a lovely sense of family at the end. Much enjoyed :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I came up with the image of the lemon sky and chess-piece trees while driving on the interstate at dusk and had to write it down when I got to the next rest stop.

The characters definitely took on a life of their own for me as well, which meant I was really sad this was canon :( Anyway, I'm so happy you liked it, and thank you for your kind words.


 Report Review

Review #39, by TallestToweretc. etc. (and life goes on): Things Potter Can Do with a Vivid Imagination

23rd July 2011:
FIRST REVIEW. Told you I would cling onto elite feeling!

First Bantery Duels, then Bantery Chess? You are Queen of Fluff and banter. CHESS - IT'S GLORIOUS.

I really like Dom's character and her character development in this chapter ♥ "I can't help but wonder about people who declare they're happy." Ooh, she intrigues me. But she will for sure be happy once she has admitted her eternal love for Pickett. Serves him right for messing with the spacing though. Not cool. I'm now just going to ship Dom with Scorpius to make things awkward. hehehehe.

ALBUS. I'm all like woah, he could have ulterior motives - i didn't fink of that one. Then I think of FAILBUS and I'm all who is this 'startingly charming' fellow? FAILBUS can't partake in banter (unless with Anjali). Anywho, best not be making this a capers review.

I love your Albus in this too ♥

YAY FOR UPDATING GINA. Hope your muse stays pleasant, thanks muchly for making me laugh as always.
dead languages ♥

Author's Response: HELENA~

You know me. BANTER. EVERYTHING. And look at me pretending like I know something about chess, snerk snerk.

EVERYONE IS SO MYSTERIOUS AND INTRIGUE AND NOT WHAT THEY SAY. God, why are humans so complicated? I suppose there wouldn't be a plot if they weren't. This is technically advertised as a Rose/Scor/Dom (and cackle, I know how it ends up). Pickett is hot and shippable with everyone, this is fact.

Omgah my Puff Albus. IMAGINE IF HE COULD BE THIS SUAVE. Maybe it's his alter ego. BRRRMMM.



 Report Review

Review #40, by TallestTowerThe Confectionary: why would we have a chipmunk and kittens? is this a zoo?

14th July 2011:
GUBBY YOUR AMAZING ♥
Funny that my favourite lines were all non12+ -shifty-
Young master count fluff? I'll roll with it.
The brackets throughout (which class was it anyway?) ♥
The whole Brazil daydream/narcoleptic dream... too. funny.
crazy neil wood ♥ so ovbiously oliver's child.
al the lines about him made me laugh.
And Libby.
“Love is a complex,” she muttered hoarsely, “created by humans in order to assuage their essentially lonely existences–”

All the little asides about her!
"He smirked at me. Libby would like to think he was smirking at her. "

And her judgeyjudgeness, she's awesome.
you make me laugh like a goldfish.
thoroughly enjoyed this, heaps of love


Author's Response: HELENA YOU'RE LOVELY -heart-
Not funny at all, I am unsurprised. They are my favorites as well. I am an easily amused child.
Rollin wit da homies~
That was obviously a play on how no one ever seems to understand their character's schedules. Satire ftw.
More satire in that Brazil (day)dream(vision?) -- I'm sure you can guess. It involves a very stupid girl running off to a spectacular private island off the coast of Brazil with TEH LUV OF HER LYFE who is also hot and "dangerous"~. cough.
Neil Wood actually doesn't have that much of Oliver in him. My Oliver was a more fully-fleshed out character than Neil is as of yet. Neil is a caricature. He doesn't have that much depth. But what is depth when you are hot /and/ crazy?
God, I love Libby. I have a soft spot for cynics and nihilists. And judging. You know I love judging.
I wasn't aware that goldfish laughed, but I think it's a humorous mental image so I'll take it. (H)


 Report Review

Review #41, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-two.

13th July 2011:
THIS STORY IS SO FRIGGIN' AMATHING.

Scorpo has officially snapped. I did not see this coming and now I'm like WOH WOH. Hattie is so clever.
I loved the description of his eyes and the way the gates turned to smoke at his touch ♥

His obsession with Rose is so creepy. I know she's unhappy with Noah but, she seems so nice and...normal, compared to scorp. Even before he went mad. Yet, I think he would change if she was his. -muses-

And to think, there was almost some nice Scorpius & Dom friendship time again (otp) ... then he went crazy.

This is so dark and this was the perfect creepy setting. I love the thought of all his ancestors staring down at them. Beautiful idea.

And I'm too confused and mysterious-ized about the man at the beginning to even comment.

Cannee wait for the next chapter, alas that I shall
brilliant againnn hatteh


Author's Response: AMATHING? YOU'RE A THING!

Yep. That's right. Scorpo's gone mental. You expect a little bit of angst and depression when the love of your life decides to marry some complete git, but not 'hey let's murder said git'. Silly Scor... at least he's still really hot.

BUT HE'S LOVED HER FOR FOREVER. His infatuation/love probably borders on the extreme, but he's dedicated, that's all...

ALMOST. OTHER STORY HAS IN BUCKET LOADS ALTHOUGH DOM ISN'T HALF AS NICE AND SCOR IS A PROPA NOAH-STANDARD GIT. YEAHHH...

OH OH OH CONFUSED. Glad you liked it, Hellahnore (you sloare... ha, rhyme)... I love your reviews like nothing else.

Well, maybe Tom Hardy. Or JGL. Or Andy G.



 Report Review

Review #42, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-one.

13th July 2011:
OH MY OH MY OH MY.
I loved this chapter so much. The little detail of her wearing Locan's quidditch jumper. The beginning was so refreshing, to see her 'back to her old self' as it were. It was amazing because I felt like I'd forgotton who Dom was at the beginning and as she rediscovered her old self I did too.

I loved that part about Teddy's hair and wondering if Victoire had asked him to do it. Your so good at thinking and including little sensitive details like that that make this such a realistic fic, especially her grief.

Her and Louis were hillarious. It was a perfect brother/sister moment, and that only made the sudden crash back to reality sting more. I wasn't expecting it, neither was Dom - it's weird how the reader feels it with her.

And then of course, that cliff hanger. SAY WHAT. SO CONFUSED ABOUT ERRYTHING. Must read on now! x

Author's Response: OH HEY HEY HEY OH HEY HEY.

Eee... glad you liked it! I wanted the readers to have a little glimpse o' olde Dom, when she wasn't killing everyone or crying all the time (because that shows she's grieving, obv... none of the other stuff) or dreaming weird dreams about her boyf's death or her potential boyf or murderers or anything.

I LOVE TEDDY SO HE IS ALWAYS SUPER AWESOME NICE AND KIND AND HAWT IN ALL OF MA STORIEZZZ... I never manage to write a TedVic relationship normally, apart from in Raining and they are only in it for a second.

I LOVE LOUIS SO HE IS ALWAYS SUPER AWESOME NICE AND KIND AND HAWT IN ALL OF MA STORIEZZZ... ERR... YEAH.

YES, a cliff hanger, to get rid of all the potential boringness and things like that. GLAD IT BLOWED YO MIND.

LOVE YOU HELLEH. ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty.

13th July 2011:
WHYSANDER NO LYSANDER? |:( Monobrow man is sad. It's still brilliant to read despite the lack of murderous irishmen, and that's saying something.

It's all mysterious and I have no idea what is going to be revealed in the chapters ahead. Can't help feeling the fact that Dom never saw proof that the ministry has approved of this is all a bit shifty. So how does it work? Are the ministry just pretending to look for a killer, seeing as they (some of them anyway) already know he was assasinated? Or perhaps they don't know at all, and Copperfield was guilty afterall.

I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME RAIN HERE. AND THERE IS DEFINATELY A BODY COUNT. WHO SAW THAT COMING? I DID!

The ending of this chapter was really powerful, and I like that Dom began to realize the extent of what she had done, the moral corruption... poor Dom. And now she's beginning to doubt Lysander's guilt. Baww, I love 'im.

Scorpo's being thoroughly annoying. This was so sad "couldn’t look at Scorpius. They were both so right, so morally and wonderfully right that I would feel wrong - I would feel dirty - standing beside them."

And I promise this isn't boring, it's all very tense and dramatic so don't apologize! x

Author's Response: I WANT MY IRISH MAN BACK. I WANT HIM NOW. I'LL JUST WRITE HIM IN, RIDING oN UNICORNS EATING CAKE AND SINGING ABOUT RAINBOWS.

I'm so excited to write them. The denouement... *drool* I'm so excited for you to all find out! And there may be a sequel and then another after that. Maybe. If I don't hate it all too much by then. ALL WILL BE REVEALED. THE MINISTRY. HENRY COPPERFIELD. LYSANDER. THE MURDERER. THE DEBOLES. ROSE, SCORPIUS AND NOAH. IT'LL ALL BE FABULOUS.

Well, you know, it wouldn't be my fic without a little bit of precipitation and few bodies and a bit of blood and everything. EVERYTHING IS SO MUCH MORE DRAMATIC IN THE RAIN. EVERYTHING.

Yes, Dom has a little bit of an epiphany... she's screwed, but a little part of her still believes that what she did was the right thing, that killing Copperfield because he was a bit of git and murdered lots of people was moral and was full of justice and that.

SCORPO IS ALWAYS ANNOYING. LY HOT. YEAH MAN. GET ME SOME ALEX PETTYFER.

THANKS FOR ALL YOUR WONDERFUL REVIEWS ILY ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by TallestTowerDominique: Nineteen.

13th July 2011:
ooh lovely writing in this. You convey Dom's emotions so well, and you really go in depth of how she's feeling. I loved how she keeps comparing copperfield's death to Lorcan's, her life to victoire's and herself to Lysander. This is a stupid sentance, but it just shows how important Lysander and Lorcan are to her.

I wonder why Debole lied to her about the death, all this miscommunication seems a bit shifty if you ask me. As do Noah's actions, although maybe that's just Dom's guilt imagining things.

I think it's appropriate you dedicated a chapter to everyone's reactions, and it was important to see how the death affected everyone.

I loved this line "they suddenly looked very old, like they had been married for thirty years and not only thirty minutes. "

oh lysander, when will you swoop in with your irish accent and undeniable hotness?

beautiful, beautiful writing hatteh.

Author's Response: Dominique was difficult to write in this chapter, as I have never, ever experienced what she is going (and hopefully I never will) and so couldn't relate with what she is feeling from my own experiences. She is extremely confused and everything and angry. She had the perfect life but according to her, Lysander changed all of that. I think that why she is so intent on thinking that Lysander killed Lorcan, but she changed her life sooo much.

Noah's a shifty guy. A Rose-stealing shifty guy. Who we hate. Blehhh.

I thought it was really necessary, especially for character development, even if it is a little boring.

Yes, hot Lysander! The scars and the chest and the accent just make it! Hmm... Irish accent. Lovely. He is a more complex character, but you don't find out quite as much you'd like about him... he could be Lorcan's murderer. Lysander is very tactless sometimes - and he has his moments when he can be very childish and selfish.

THANKS HELENA! YOU'RE A MEGA BABE ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Just a Little Breaking and Entering

12th July 2011:
Once again your awesome creativity shines through. Guard Knobs that are like little dogs? Brilliant haha! They sound like something that should actually be in the books.

And I love this fabled central storage place. James is so awesome in this fic. He's not even there and I want him to be my best friend.

Your characterization was brilliant and your so good at keeping everyone in character. Oh my, scorpo's nicknaming skills reached a whole new level. Mad-eye Weasley hahahaha. And the velvet blazor!

BAND-AID? I fink you mean plaster. Cor blimey, these americans... kidding ♥

Rose's flirting was inspiring, no wonder she snagged Collin. (I stand by that she used love potion on the poor bloke.)

P.A.R.E, haha! "Bea had to attend a few extra sessions after being caught brewing in the loo." Those meddlin' kids and their pepper up potions. What would prof.R say eh?

I hope Al one day does something badass to gain Fred's respect. That would be such a watson-saves-sherlock-moment for me. Even though Bea + Fred are watson and sherlock, but she's been kidnapped and taken to the halfprice sale at velvet!mart.

yay gina for updating, imma prod you for more beginning now ♥

Author's Response: I PAT MYSELF ON THE BACK FOR GUARD KNOBS. I was like heee. It's even catchy and stuff. Guard Knobs. I'd buy one.

James~ more legend than ever, eh? He's really just a normal guy, but just sort of left a larger-than-life legacy.
Meanwhile, Scorpius is blazing his own legendary fashion trail with velvet blazers.

OH YOU BRITS.

I haven't actually decided whether Rose has actually met Colin or not yet. There are plots that go with either ;D

Those whippersnappers and their taintin' of my ancient arts! Using cauldrons' to make their flim flam illegal butter-fire-whiskey!

Al ♥ Al is inspired by Lily's Hugo. He will come into his own :D Heee, velvetmart.



 Report Review

Review #46, by TallestTowerDominique: Eighteen.

11th July 2011:
The tension in this chapter was crazy. I had absolutely no idea what was going to happen, and there were so many questions and theories running round my head!

The description throughout was beautiful. You have a lovely talent of getting the balance just right. I really liked the beginning, with the bubbles of champagne - and that sense of calm kind of continued throughout the whole chapter. There was this intense, inner chaos going on with Dom but otherwise everything was going to plan. It was eerie. One of my favourite images was the two 'muted' children running around the pillar. It just fitted the scene perfectly but it was kind of spooky having that innocence there as Dom walked towards the man she was about to murder.

I really liked how she was comparing the grievers of Copperfield to herself after Lorcan died, and she made a few comparisons between Copperfield's death and Lorcans. And of course, it was horrific at the end, when Dom had been expecting the death to be quick and quiet - but 'gurgling, drowning'! It was much more like Lorcan's death than she was expecting. Oh Dom, what have you got yourself into?

And Debole gives me the creeps. He's so interesting, and I like him as a character but I'm not sure I /like/ him.

Very tense and dramatic and all that groovy stuff. Well done Hattie, thanks for posting ;)


Author's Response: Luff meh a bit o tenzion. Muscle, sexual or murder-y. I thought the ending was a little anti-climatic, seeing as nothing changed. She killed Copperfield. Rose married Noah. Bleh. No surprises.

Aah, description - you are the bane of my existence. I'm never quite sure where to cross the line, or whether I have written too much or too little. I can see it in other people's work, just not my own. It's weird. For murder mysteries especially, it's crucial to describe the right thing - it may be a clue... mwahaha. And I thought that, in Dom's state, she would notice the smaller things, almost as if she was staring at them in shock.

I wanted to draw comparisons between them. You never know, they could be done by the -same- person. (LOL jk, they're not... that would be TOTALLY MIND-BLOWING. BRMM). But emotionally, yes, it is very similar. For Lorcan, it was more absolute grief and desolation, but for Copperfield... it's guilt. She feel so guilty, man.

DEBOLE! I LOVE DEBOLE! BACK OFF DEBOLE!

Thanks for posting? Thanks for reviewing! I LOVE YOU. LOGAN LOVES YOU. JUSTI THINK YOU'RE ALRIGHT.



 Report Review

Review #47, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Apologetics Anonymous

9th July 2011:
♥ Oh Freddie. I'm sorry I ever doubted you. Not that I ever disliked him, I always loved his character, but then he made me all sad, but now he makes me all sad for different reasons. It was like BAM when he swooped in. I don't want them to drift apart. Psh realism, can't we live in rainbows and cupcake land all the time? (You see now why I love Albus so much)

Which brings me neatly to the Albus/Bea heart to heart. OTP ♥ Especially when she thought she was rubbing off on him, I was like bawww, she's his hero or something. And when she was explaining stuff to her. Oh. So. Cute. And he gets distracted by shiny things. Sigh, I love him. ♥

And Lucy and Rose were brilliant too. Psycho (physco) Rose is always amusing and you can't help but feel for the girl (well, some people might be able to help it, but nevertheless...). Both her and Albus are like wandering lost puppies. Admittedly one is rabid, with killer jaws and foaming at the mouth, but puppies all the same.

I really like Scorpius. He accidentally let slip a bit of his humanity in this one I think, woops. I knew it all along. ;) That final sentance was so cute.

And Fred, yes, my feelings have definately changed. It's all sad and serious times. ): I just want to give him a hug. Or an Anjali. Although she's to busy flirting with Albus, right, right?!

BRING ON THE BANTER 8D ♥ ♥
incredible chapter, tons of quoteable moments (anything involve albus, and other stuff too :D), bravo mi amigo. ♥

Author's Response: RAINBOWS AND CUPCAKE LAND~ oh wait that's just Katy Pery land D:

EVERYONE IS ALBUS' HERO. Bless that kid. This is how you can see he's inspired by corgis.

Physco ♥ oh Helena. only you. Omg, Rose is a rabid corgi -- IT TOTALLY WORKS.

Scorpius? Feelings? Pshawww no waaay.

Snerk, you guys and your Anj/Al. you know I have to do it now. YOU WOULD ACTUALLY SIC THAT CRAZY LADY ON FRED? XD AT THIS POINT IN THE STORY? Not that you know, it'll ever be better at some other point -cough-


 Report Review

Review #48, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Destination: Gretna Green

9th July 2011:
HULIO, THE POWER VESTED IN SKYPE HAS ALREADY ENABLED YOU TO SEE A BIG SLICE OF MY FLAILBOPPING SO THE PURPOSE OH THIS REVIEW IS QUESTIONABLE AS IT WILL ONLY CONTINUE TO DO WHAT HAS ALREADY BEGUN I'M CONFUSED NOW.

oh my, lions and tigers and bears oh my.
dandelions, weeds, phonebooths oh my.

Aubergine bobbly cardigans and the RETURN OF THE ARGYLE SOCKS.

tarkers and his wiggly eyebrows! |:D

"I rolled down my jeans, then rolled them up again. "

‘I like your octopus,’ he said, prodding my necklace.'
THE OCTUPUS LIKES YOU TOO SCORPO.

of course the street scene was lovely and the dandelion. SO CUTE. scorp was being such a ditherer in this one though. it worries me.

And then, adults, being adulty and all that. And gathering things and then WOAH, WOAH. CLIFF HANGER?
HOW COULD YOU JULIA?
LOTS OF LOVE AND SOME CLIFFHANGERINDUCED HATE
I leave you with this:

"I just wanted to instigate a snog that would last until the cows came home, and then would make the cows all wait around patiently to be milked while we finished snogging. "

Author's Response: FLAILBOPPING~ IT'S LIKE THE TWIST FOR FANGIRLS

ARGYLE SOCKS: D CQUEL

tarkers and the caterpillar eyebrows, YES. his eyebrows are flailbopping. they'll take off if he isn't careful.

OCTOPUS LIKES YOU ALL.

octopus dominates world.

octopus ditches you for squid.

a dithering scorpius is never, i suppose, a good scorpius.

CLIFFHANGER HANGING OFF A CLIFF

so this review response makes no sense but i am tired.

and yes. that would be one epic snog. the cows would just be there like aaawkward...


 Report Review

Review #49, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Two Plans Too Many

9th July 2011:
Anjali's so shmexy. And I've totally read Rachel's review for this chapter (lurker alert) and am agreed that Anjali/Al would be priceless bahaha :D FAILBUS. He's so squishable and loveable. I really hope he achieves his dream of becoming part of the team. Potterpuff! ♥ That's an inspired nickname right there. Anyway, loving her character. She's so intimidating and manipulating and - mysterious oooh.

AL AL AL ♥ Just a bit more Al squeeing.

Ah the tension between Fred and Bea at the moment has got me feeling all divided. Oh Fred, stay away from the long eyelashes and longy-long legs. I just have this feeling those two need to stick together. (Sherlock and Watson!) Ahh -worryworry- Hmm, I like Fred but I'm all mistrustful of him. Maybe I don't like Fred. eep D:

"Albus gave a squeak as Bea wrenched him by the sleeve and pushed back his fringe. "Just draw on a scar, call him Harry, and we can walk right in!"

I didn't say I was done with the Albus squeeing (did I?)!! Hahaha. Bea and Albus are my OTP in a non-romantic way. And not like a one true friendship either bahaha. I don't know what their relationship is, but I love it. ♥

ROSE IS JOINING THE TEAM. Brilliant. And she's in love with a squib. Brilliance Brilliance Brilliance.

Scorp was amusing as always, and what IS the deal with him and his Dad eh? And he's so ovbiously MEANT TO BE(A) (see what I did thur?) with uh, bea (not quite sure what I did there worked out) because they were both like, "Long story. You don't want to know." Shpeking the same and whatnot.

"I wouldn't tell Lucy a secret or give Rose a carving knife." Reminiscent of Starving Artists anyone? Baha. Rose in all fics should not be around carving knives. Creycrey.

Anyway, to conclude, Anjali is so my new hero and Al is my new heroine. MUCH LOVIN'

Author's Response: OH MY ALBUS FANGIRL. Why would an Albus fangirl try to pair him up with the scariest lady on the block? xD That's just asking for trouble. ...hilarious, hilarious trouble ;D

FRED IS ONLY A MAN.

Bea/Albus is so my friendship-whatever-it-is OTP. It's like the glorious relationship between a person and a footstool.

Oh god. You did not just make that pun. RETRACT THAT PUN. And heeey you noticed that xD

Rose + Lucy are so inspired by SA, I don't even. Really, this whole shebang.

HAAA ♥ and Helena gets the best last line of the day!


 Report Review

Review #50, by TallestTowerDominique: Seventeen.

9th July 2011:
Hattie! I really like this recurring dream thing. It worked so well. The dream really seemed to flow and the way Dom simply described it made it seem like a real dream, I particularly loved it when Bill's scars began to change. It had a really beautiful flow and was all surreal and atmospheric and fun stuff like that ♥

I really love Dom's cynical attitude and sense of humour, especially when she's surrounded by the Bryants.

"Lysander was obviously off disobeying the law and killing everyone so Noah didn’t need to worry about him anymore."

She's got such a healthy relationship with him, hasn't she? :P Ahh, I can't wait for him to return and swoop in with his handsome-irishness and potential-murderishness. The more Dom hates him, the more ovbious it is to me that they must be together |:D

I really love the tension in this chapter. I think readers can really feel for Dom. It's all a bit emotional, innit? So yes, lots of suspense, and sadness, and anger, and questionable moral debating. Brilliant as always ;)

OM WEDDING SOON!

Author's Response: Helena! Hello! ♥ I'm never really sure whether the dream actually works. Some people still don't pick up that the entire first paragraph is repeated every time. Silly people. It also works wonders for the word count. I am so tempted to add stuff like *_DREAM_* but then I realise I've got taste.

Aah, that's my favourite characteristic of Dom - that and her inability to trust anyone. It makes for interesting writing and reading

Well, Noah is a cow, isn't he? He stole Rose from Scorpius and has a horrible family with a creepy sister and a mental dog and a really big house with portraits and lots of Spare Ooms.

And yes, I want Lysander to return! In all his shamrocky, Guinness-drinking goodness. I want him to return from France and for everyone to be happy and lovely and everything. But, alas. Not for a while. BOO HOO!

Thanks so much for reviewing, Helena! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>