Reading Reviews From Member: TallestTower
  
334 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TallestTowerPeace: a life in the skies

12th April 2012:
Hello wonderful, talented girl!
For your first slash fic I thought this was just so beautifully subtle, which really suited the way it was being told through Theodore's emotions - the focus was on their relationship, friendship/love as two people rather than two men, if that makes sense. It wasn't like the focus of the story was the fact that they were gay, just more that they were so close and understood each other which was really lovely and I hope gives you the edge in your competition. ;) Like, there was an allusion to the difficulties of their friendship as seen by other people, but that could just have been the slytherin/hufflepuff divide, depending on how you read it. It just seemed fitting because that wasn't what mattered to Theo so it wasn't the center of the story.
I love the structure of the snapshots of their friendship - the way you wrote the moments really worked because they weren't over detailed or over explained but like fleeting moments but you still got the sense of their relationship ♥
I love theodore nott as well, he's always been a bit mysterious which is great for creating possibilities and I like this one, as sad as it is!
But yeah just overall, so beautiful and the moments of their lives structure works so well in telling the story of their relationship whilst also giving it this nostalgic, personal, reflective feel.
GO ERICA and go me for actually writing a review no entirely in capslock. you must be preti special. xxx

Author's Response: Yay Helena! This review makes me so happy, because this is all exactly what I intended with this story. I didn't want to directly point out and shove it in everyone's faces that this is a slash fic. Because I think that cheapens it a little bit. I mean, if it were like Theo/Pansy or something, there would be no need for that, so I really wanted to get across that there was no need for that in this fic either, just because it's slash. I wanted their relationship to develop like any other would. And I guess in my head, they were a bit secretive with their relationship, but it had a lot more to do with the Hufflepuff/Slytherin divide you mentioned, rather than with the fact that they were gay. Which I think makes more sense, I guess. I mean people probably weren't fully accepting of them as friends because of the house divide, so they wouldn't really be out in the open about the true nature of their relationship.

Snapshot writing has become a serious vice of mine. I love writing one-shots like that. Because it's sort of like getting all the big information from what could be a novel and putting it in a short fic. I mean, I could have written a novel about them and used all of these little snapshots in it. But I like this format. It's fun.

Thank you so much for reviewing, Helena. You know your reviews totally make my life worth living and stuff. :D LURVE YOU.


 Report Review

Review #2, by TallestTowerWelcome to Blunderland: { 01 }

11th April 2012:
EELS?
Albus' stationary fetish came across quite strongly in this chapter, it has to be commended.
Also, I think this is mega.
At first I was like hmm, doo I like Flora? Now I lvoe her. And I'm gonna go ahead and ship Fauna / Scorp because Scorpius is Andrew Garfield and Andrew Garfield is a forest creature and a faun is a forest creature SO he must be with Fauna. I know, I'm brilliant. Need to find a couple name that can hold it's own against Florp though...I'll get back to you.
anyway, you're a funny sunshine rainbow and this story makes me happy like a piece of toast. meow.

Author's Response: EELS, EELS, EELS...let's not go there.

yes, this is but the beginning. chapter thirteen sees the dramatic climax where scorpius becomes a member of the undead and albus goes to work at staples. *cue montage of albus sorting paperclips, lifting desks over his head to the tune of 'eye of the tiger'*

you lvoe flora GASP that is a commendation of the HIGHEST HONOUR.

i have a couple name for you. sauna. it promises to be hot and steamy. OH HO HO.

you're a witty solar prism and this review makes me jubilant like a davenport.

TRUNDLE ON MY FRIEND.


 Report Review

Review #3, by TallestTowerWelcome to Blunderland: { introduction }

11th April 2012:
Here's your iambic pentameter in helvecta,

Flora Lancaster,
Sounds like a butter brand,
Merlin this is a hai-
{-->

x x p.s this is mega mega gr8 on toast you know.
p.p.s that's a crossbow

Author's Response: i give you a haiku.

ehelan is fab
her sanity i did grab
blah blah blah blah crab.

you are, like, brillo with bells on. literally. like, wow. you are basically a triangle. so equilateral. i want to reblog you and, like, have you on my tumblr forever, once i've mangled you through instagram.

sorry where was i? oh yes. TANKS. ♥



 Report Review

Review #4, by TallestTowerFirst Star to the Right: Nice to meet you, Mr. Rolf

4th January 2012:
Aw, Mel, wow. This is so unique and so special. I love the feeling of this story, so optimistic and free flowing... so Luna! The way you portrayed her emotions and mindset was beautiful as was the writing which captured this sublime-fairytale-like-landscape so perfectly. The character of Luna comes across so perfectly, she's so easy going and the sense of new freedom you conveyed at the beginning of the chapter was perfect.

I loved the part where she was 'sitting in the arm of a star'. I really like the theme of stars that has been used so far... it gives it yet another unique touch and the way lines/concepts like 'sitting in the crook of a star's arm' are used so casually, it's so perfectly Luna. Easy acceptance of the incredible!

And she's met Rolf ♥ I cannot wait to see this romance unfold.

Author's Response: Helena where have you been all my life.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my story. It really means a lot to me. You're so lovely. I'm very happy you are enjoying the story with all it's description and what not.

xoxo
Melissa


 Report Review

Review #5, by TallestTowerA Renaissance: When nothing goes right, what's left?

4th January 2012:
Number one fan girl has arrived!
It's been too long since I've read some of your stuff Erica, I'm all too glad I've fixed that! ♥
ack, this is beautiful. I really liked the structure of it, the gaps of time worked really well and overall there was this amazing sense of progression that is just so satisfying in a story ♥

And your characterisations! I loved them so much. You really feel for Lorcan, I liked how he was almost selfish in the beginning he was so absorbed with his own misery (understandable)...you saw how he 'healed' as it went on.

I adored your characterisation of Lucy! She seemed so distinct considering one of my favourite things was the subtlety of the characterisations. The way Lorcan described her and percieved her wasn't too detailed and yet all the emotions and developing relationship was there. I loved the things that he noticed about her. It was such a lovely growing relationship, nothing too flowery or fanciful just subtle and so sweet ack ♥

Also loved the sideplot of his recovering relationship with his brother and how that reflected him finding /himself/ again. And it worked well swapping between that recovering relationship with Lysander and the developing one of Lucy.

Also the plot...! The slight mystery it gave it was wonderful and all very intriguing ;)

Ending was the best thing ever and I loved the dialogue between them. Moar plzums ♥ ♥

Author's Response: So. It totally hasn't been almost four months since you left this review. Nope. Definitely not. ANYWAY, HELENA, I LURVE YOU THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING MY THINGS YOU ARE SO LOVELY I ADORE YOU.

Eee! Lucy and Lorcan are so adorbz together. I really liked writing them in this because they just seemed so lovely together. And yeah, I didn't get too detailed with the descriptions about her because I didn't want the story to be like him being in love with her the whole time. Because he wasn't. So yer. Thanks for da appreciation yo.

LORCAN LYSANDER TWIN LOVE IS SO PRECIOUS. It really, really is.

Thanks so much for reviewing m'dear. Sorry for taking so long to reply. YOU KNOW I LOVE YOU.


 Report Review

Review #6, by TallestTowerFirst Star to the Right: Happy Marriage, Neville

2nd January 2012:
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!
It feels strange to have such a strong connection to a character at the end of the first chapter, but I suppose that shouldn't be uncommon in fanfiction - we do already know the characters afterall - but it isn't just that I've always loved Luna (only just beaten by Neville!), but already I'm confident in your portrayal of her. The poetic, whimsical writing suits a story about her perfectly. Really quite an emotional first chapter! I loved that you showed the importance of friendship to her (the moment with Neville was so perfect), but also how her friends moving on could make her feel even more lost (even if it helped her to make her decision at the end). I just found her very easy to sympathise with and the pumpkin juice thing was such a lovely Luna touch.

"“Finding where you fit into the puzzle, you know, your place in it all.”"

This line had the perfect stumbling wisdom of Neville. Neville and Luna's perception of things can at times be quite similar I think (at times has to be used, radish earrings?), because they are similar in ways, and their ability to see things very clearly even though at school they were glanced over is one of their lovely shared qualities that makes them have one of my favourite friendships in the books. I know it seems like I'm rambling off in general here, but if so it was only because you conveyed all those things wonderfully.
So glad I finally got round to reading this! Will continue very soon!

Author's Response: Bawww. I miss youuu.

Luna has always been a character that sort of fascinated me, and I'm so glad when readers like my interpretation of her. Poetic and whimsical are definitely two traits I'm thrilled to have describe her. Nevile is my hands down favorite character, pretty much ever. You can ramble anytime because it is lovely and you are lovely.

Thank you so much for your review.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #7, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Destination Downhill

2nd January 2012:
Potterpuff...badass?
LET US DOCUMENT THIS PROUD MOMENT IN HISTORY, WHEN WE NOTED THAT I AM LIKE ALBUS. Albono 5eva!
Loved this chapter! TENSION. MOODY SWINGY. IT'S FUN.
In my opinion, a story isn’t a story until someone’s been threatened with a probe. . . wait what?

My Little Centaur ♥

while Scorpius had gotten ahold of her welding torch and was waving it around if he'd never seen fire before.

Oh Scorp Scorp. (Scorchius? could this catch on?)

"W-well," Albus inched away from his keen eyes. "It's not for play"

IT'S NOT FOR PLAY... HOMGG BRBDYING AS JULIA WOULD SAY.

"But... I don't like oysters," Albus whimpered.
ALBONO.

"Yeah, yeah, and I'm the daughter of the girl who rejected him."

Another best line award goes to you.

Wart Growing for Beginners?

/Loved/ the Fred/Scorpius side story in this. That moment was perfection.

Bea flipped her hair — she'd always wanted to do that. It mostly got in her face.

FUN. SO MUCH FUNLEY.

Author's Response: ALBONO SOUNDS DANGEROUS. Also you have immortalized 5eva in a review now. No take-backsies. You'll regret this.

Somehow you make my crack seem even crackier in your review ♥ That is a special talent.

I DONT EVEN KNOW WHY YOU FIND THAT PART FUNNY. IT JUST ISN'T FOR PLAY. PLEASE EXPLAIN.

You know I love my bro-convos. Budding bromances, whatnot.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Fishing for Wishy-Washy Wishing

2nd January 2012:
G-man,
I read your message on the previous chapter about dwindling feedback, and I thought "Hey!" (I like to say hello to myself in my head sometimes, keep myself company. But then-) I carried on thinking (something unusual for me) and I gots ta thinking, for someone who can write as incredibly as you, you deserve some feedbackalicious feedback, and voila, this review was born.
Still, I'm not going to go into too much detail (don't get your hopes up. Definately not a popcorn occasion but maybe time for a light snack, just to enhance the experience), because I'm not boring like some people would have you believe (malicious rumour spreaders! You know, I have some great anecdotes about being teased when I was younger, really meaty stories, but now's not the time- maybe when you accidentally bump into me at some event you're really looking forward to but I delay you with my looong, long, long stories... yeah, that would be a more appropriate time. I don't want to be inconvenient and get sidetracked in this great review I'm writing. For example, write a really extesive rambling essay and put it in brackets. That would be terrible!).

Lately I've notice a wee bit of character development you've got yeself there. Noticed? Who am I kidding, noticed? I'm swimming in it! Dancing in the joyous rain of character development! Already you had these incredible characters who are so very loveable (lovealbus I mean), but I keep getting surprised because this story keeps on improving. In these latest chapter there is a real sense of progression and I like that you mentioned in your author's note this chapter was the unofficial end of part one because it does feel like the characters have reached a certain point in the story. I loved them from the start but I really love the character development and I think things are being revealed at just the right pace and the same goes for the plot. Love all the Bea development in the last few chapters and especially Anjali in this one. And I just loved in this chapter the simple set up of the spiked flask and the nostril hair - it worked so well. Your writing seems to be so natural, you make it look easy, but then you pack in the comedy so well that I can't help but think you must work incredibly hard on it all or maybe it's just a combination of both. But in conclusion, there really is a strong sense of progression and you have every reason to be proud of this (emotionaltearwipe). It really does get better and better as massively cliché as I am being right now!

Plus, importantly, it's hillarious.

Author's Response:
BAWW YOU ACTUALLY TRIED TO GIVE A FEEDBACKY REVIEW ♥ I can feel your effort. I love how quickly it descended into crack. I feel like this represents our friendship very well ♥

(also bracket stories are the best. I wish I could bracket entire one-shot detours into Capers, but that probably wouldn't be very wise)

Swimming? DROWNING! Ahem, okay fine, I'm being dramatic. But writing it does feel like drowning sometimes, lolol. (Lovealbus sounds a bit like something from the 70s and very non-12+) And asdghjk Helenaaa I lofff youuu have I told you recently? ♥ I'm always like lol where is my plot and now you have shown me my plots. And for that, I shall be eternally grateful.

Well, maybe for a month.


 Report Review

Review #9, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: How Do You Solve a Problem Like Beatrice?

1st January 2012:
That is, until Flitwick dashed her tour de force by zapping the rule out of the book, saying that it was "out-of-date rubbish" and ended up leading that year's flash mob with his dancing cupcake troupe.

"Private theme park," Albus breathed, de-plastering his face from the table.

HONESTLY, DO YOU WANT MY HEART TO MELT INTO JELLY-GOO? I DON'T THINK IT WORKS AS WELL LIKE THAT, AND I'M RATHER FOND OF IT.

Albus was actually holding his breath and appeared increasingly uncomfortable as the silence dragged on.

GOO.

On the other hand, there was Bea who trudged into the hall at half-past, looking like she had stumbled out of a lobotomy.

Just perfect, perfect writing teeheeez.

She seemed so peaceful as she laid there, her elbow on a waffle.

Why does that sound so comfy?

ALSO NEW BANNAH WAHAEGH-CRAZYDANCE-DIJFNF!! THAT'S FUN!

Things all got a bit serious! Well, aside from all the hilarity and Albus o'corse. But yeah, scary-future-planning times for Bea. I enjoyed it though alotlot. You balanced the serimoose and hilarimoose well I thinked. ♥

PLUSH- CRAYCRAY ENDING SAY WHUT!?

Author's Response:
HOLONO GOO. I have missed you. And I have much gladness for your return and many quotes. Also yes, the serious has returned, but it's all right, there are biscuits.

NEW BANNAH because I could not resist :3



 Report Review

Review #10, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-six.

31st October 2011:
YOU CAN'T TRUST NO-ONE.

I have no idea who or what is controlling all these dark happenings but I do know...-puffs on pipe wisely- ...there's something strange afoot.

I don't like the Debole organisation but I do like Atticus, and I think he's got a soft spot for Dom. But hey, maybe he's not rescuing her for good...it's all so mysterio...

The chase at the end, short as it was, had me on the edge of my seat. I don't know who are the good guys and the bad guys. Maybe it's the very organisation Dom's working for who carried out Lysander's death. Ooh DRAMA DRAMA.

And yay scorp is friend again. Still think he's a madman though.

Psst - "apparently forgetting that they had important dentist appointments or they must pick up their grandmother from the station." I think you mean REMEMBERING. Geez, fictional Grandmas all over the fictional land are getting fictionally forgotton because of silly mistakes like that. Get your act together.

BASICALLY DOM SHOULD STOP KNOCKING PEOPLE OFF AND RUN TO IRELAND AND HAVE HOT IRISH CHILDREN WITH LYSANDER YES?!

IT'S ALL GETTING VERY SUSPENSEFUL AND SCARY AND I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER.

HATTIE I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS AND I WILL BADGER YOU LIKE A HUFFLEPUFF TILL YOU REVEAL.

xxx

Author's Response: DOUBLE NEGATIVE, HELENA.

YOU CAN TRUST NO-ONE OR YOU CAN'T TRUST ANYONE.

BRM

But it's true, you really can't trust anyone. It's a bit silly, isn't it? Dom is naturally a very judgemental person, it takes her a while to trust people and when they do something bad, they are out. Take Lysander, for example, and Scorpius and Rose are barely there because of their wrong decisions.

I LOVE ATTICUS DON'T YOU SAY ONE WORD AGAINST MY BABY.

Ergh, I hate writing action scenes. For someone who can't write a story without killing someone off, that's pretty poor. You need a chase, a duel, some sort of movement in order for people to die. Copperfield died by poison, and for Featherby it was some sort of sexy chair sex death thing.

FINE WHATEVER HOLONO I WILL EDIT IT. GOD, I TRY TO WRITE SOMETHING AND ALL I GET IS SOMETHING JUST THROWN BACK IN MY FACE. I LOVE YOU, BUT IT'S SO UNREQUITED.

I'M JUST A FLING, IS THAT IT? I WAS JUST A FLING FOR YOU.

I LOVE YOUUU

COME BACK.

COME BACK TO ME.

And no one likes Hufflepuffs.


 Report Review

Review #11, by TallestTowerIt's Called Adventure: Plan

30th October 2011:
THE BROMANCE BEGINS.

Oh Hugo. Frosty drool? Really? And damp suits. And just generally being unable to /walk like a normal person/.

And now there is a girl involved - a wonderfully perfect, hopelessly unattainable girl. Haha, I love that she is older and their whole scene was perfect. (Cool smirk) Hugo's social lack is brilliant and pityingly realistic.

The whole inner thoughts about the suit and the cartoons ♥

""It saves me a bit of time!" he yelled out defensively into the air behind him as he made his sloppy way down the corridor, his tie flapping in his face. He grabbed at it, peeling it off of his cheek, and looked back to see Addae Jordan shooting him a thumbs-up from the other side of the hall, the other hand in his pocket."

Haha, I loved that moment so much. The pitying (I presume) thumbs up.

HE'S SUCH A GAWKY FAIL. And the plot is already ovbiously very unique and refreshing. Yay adventure. ♥

Author's Response: HELENA. I must have not seen this when I was answering because I don't know why it's the odd-one-out as my last unanswered review for this fic ;( But, ahoy! I am present now.

I MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE SAID THIS ALREADY but Hugo/Marjie is sort of based on me and a group of boys I knew in high school. I was not as nice as Marjie nor were they as nice or lovable as Hugo. But that's where the idea of age difference comes up. Also I'd love to say I was unattainable for people like them.

It was definitely a pitying thumbs-up. There was a kid at my high school we were horrible to in that way. We sent him all kinds of signs of social acceptance whereas everyone actually saw him as somewhat of a spectacle/animal display. I feel so bad for it now, but I use that as a mechanism here in part because it's something real that happens and is sort of comical in a story :P

Hugo is definitely a gawky fail haha. Thanks so much for your review Holonoot (h)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TallestTowerIt's Called Adventure: Prologue

30th October 2011:
HULLO MY DEARY.
Prepare yourself for the true literary insight that is offered in my reviews- snerksnerk. Basically, Neville is what makes the world go round. And I think I fell in love with this story roughly around paragraph one. Deeply, deeply in love. Much enjoyed your descriptions of Hugo's... erm, charming... face. And lol, Neville, the old pyromaniac, casually burning papers while concentrating on other things.

And that, mi amigo, is the kind of 100% gold advice I have to offer.

Author's Response: HEY DERE HELENA!

I have no doubt that your reviews will bring me this much closer to enlightenment. I'm not very close to begin with so any ground covered is monumental in my case :D

I'm happy to say that this story is also quite attracted to you. I give you two my blessing, HAPPY MARRIAGE (party).

Charming is totes the word for Hugo hahah. Definitely going to bring up the pyromaniac touch in later stories, that's a perfect way to describe him.

Gracias mi amigita. I feel like putting a halo on already. (h)


 Report Review

Review #13, by TallestTowerThe Morning Waffle: So a Seeker and a Radio Host Walk Into a Bar...

29th October 2011:
"And Neville can... go plant something..."
Hahahahaha! Not that I encourage fictional liver damage or anything, but I do hope we see more of Drunk James.
"I want Hannah to put me to bed."

OH I'M SO GLAD YOU UPDATED.

I have missed all your incredible characters and their mad personalities.

The snapper prank was sheer brilliance, especially since I was genuinely scared for Fred's life at the end of the last chapter.
-gullible blush of shame-

The whole Molly Rose scene had me in tears. As idiotically highpitched and crazy as it was - I'd be lying if I said I haven't seen girls do this countless times. And I'd be just er, avoiding the truth if I neglected to mention I've probably done it ... a few times ... myself.

I LOVE FRED SO MUCH HAVE I MENTIONED?
Best main character ever. Oh, I want to shower this fic with so many dobbys and snitches and nobel peace prizes that you'll spend the next two years running for fear of shiny-metal-prize rain.

And Raj, sweet sweet Raj.
"Raj’s mum reportedly cried when he married Michelle, the complete antithesis of a nice Indian girl."

You have such amazing comic timing and characterizations and pace and all that and just. I need to gaps between updates to let the awesome sink in. (This is not an excuse for you not to update PRONTO else the shiny metal rain /will/ find you) :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by TallestToweretc. etc. (and life goes on): Kiss Me Twice, Shame On Me

29th October 2011:
To quote the lovely Fitzgerald - "Oh CIRCE!" + a few squillion more exclamation marks. Excuse me while I take off glasses and un-steam them. I don't even wear glasses and mine have steamed up. Hot Banter levels have reached new heights.

Added to the fact because I have been lame and am reading this late, I re-read chapter six (what a chore ;)) again just before this so the effect is ... well, effective.

Oh god, I feel like I should join Q.G.A

Words cannot describe my shipper glee in this chapter. I don't actually know Clemence/Albus' ship name yet? Clalbus... -shudders- Sounds like a skin infection. Ya know what, hang on whilst I stalk your reviews for this chapter and find out. Well, that was an excercise in how to waste time. Not to bash your reviews or anything, but it seems I'm not the only one at a loss for what to call them. How about, THE SMEXIEST COUPLE EVER?

And of course, the more rudely named Dom/Pickett ship which my heart goes badoombadoom for. I don't know about Scorpius yet, I'm waiting to get to know him more.

You are just so incredibly good at writing romantic tension.

AND SNERKSNERK You're kind of witty too. But don't let it get to your head. Shagpile carpet snort.



p.s fanfiction reference within a fanfiction?! FANCEPTION?!?!?!

Author's Response: Clouds of steam have condensed around your eyes to form steam glasses? egads!

QGA always welcomes new members in its ranks, Helena. Always.
(Here's a brochure)

I LIKE YOUR SHIP NAME. I THINK IT COULD CATCH. But let's not offend Almence shippers, now.

Oh Scorpius, you are wanted everywhere. YOU KNOW, HE'LL PROBABLY BE THE MOST -NORMAL- SCORPIUS I'VE EVER WRITTEN. JSYK. I do terrible things to that boy.

Woops, that didn't sound right.

I will let ALL THE THINGS get to my head 8D ALLL THE THINGS

< ♥ 3 HEARTCEPTION


 Report Review

Review #15, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Take a Chance on Me; Initial Here

28th October 2011:
VELVET BLAZOR! EEE. IT'S SO PERFECT AND FURRY. Also Teddy looking hot with his pipe! Especially hiding behind the newspaper, I just imagined him all Sherlock'd up, hat, coat, pipe, sleuthy behind newspaper listening on SCORBEAU(TIFUL)S.

Ringleward, bless him. So much love for Flitwick - Quite the charmer... Eh?!! (OMG SEE WHAT I DID THUR?)

'There were thirty-seven ways to say 'failure' in Chinese, two of which involved cow dung proverbs, and the quill always seemed to favor these two.' SNORTLAUGH.

Scorpius cleared his throat, shifting from one foot to the other. "I'll, uh, have my lawyers on you!" Wait till Father hears about this? He truly is a malfoy.

Put your ear muffs on while I have my traditional SQUEE FAILBUS moment. Okay, I think I'm good. AWWWQUIDDITCHANDBENCHESANDWHATNOT- it's like an avalanche of squee. I'm powerless to his puffnosity.
-hangs head in shame-

This chapter was so lovely, bring on the long chapters! I could read a Gina novel - trilogy - and prequel and post-trilogy-sequal in one go. You're rather talented, have I ever mentioned?

And your characters... your dialogue... it is all too squishy and wonderful.

This:

How many people did Scorpius actually call friend?

Could he count them on one hand?

Makes me reach for my nearest teddybear (don't judge) and Albus-sad-puppy-eye my laptop screen whilst all that Scorbeus just makes me Aww forever ♥

Oh and did I mention how happy I am Failbus got re-invited on the team? You probably forsaw it. Do I dare hope for a Scorpius/Albus bromance? Oh my gosh, imagine them in matching velvet blazors.

I leave you with that thought.



Author's Response: HII HELENA I LOVE YOU. just putting that out there now.

That is exactly how Teddy looks -fans self- Dorkishly hot professor. Maybe he'll even charm more girls than Flitwick did back in the day. But you know, Flitwick was kind of the man.

SCORBEAU(TIFUL)S -- THAT IS A NEW ONE.

Scorpius learned to smarm from the best.

Baww Helena ♥ IF I COULD CHURN OUT STORIES LIKE JANE. Actually, Capers, in my head, has always been the Prequel to The Story I Actually Wanted to Write (set roughly 6 years later), but you know, that's not going to ever happen.

FRIENDSHIP FLUFF IS THE BEST FLUFF. I am too weak for that kind of adorkable. BROMANCE FOR ALL THE THINGS.

Oh my god matching velvet blazers I MUST. such a good thought.



 Report Review

Review #16, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

27th October 2011:
MASSIVETACKLEGLOMPATTACKSQUISH. ♥ ♥
I LOVE THIS AND YOU AND TEA ALL TO ONE MASSIVELY OFF THE CHART RIDIKULUZ LEVEL ♥

EVEN HIGHER THAN THE LEVEL OF LUCY'S ANGST/DOWNTRODDENNESS WHICH PRETTY MUCH REACHES A PEAK AS WELL AS HER BITTERNESS LIKE A SKIP OF LEMONS WHICH IS ACTUALLY A LOT OF LEMONS YOU KNOW!

AND YES, I DO BELIEVE THE PLAUSIBILITY OF LETTUCE CASUALLY ROOTING THROUGH LEMON SKIPS OFF THE M25 NEAR CROYDON BECAUSE ONCE YOU'VE READ 22 CHAPTERS OF THIS FIC, NORMALLY SEEMS MORE CRACKY THAN CRACKFIC.

PIGEON!!!

MORE METAPHORICAL CONFUSING ROMANTIC CONVERSATIONS. YOU ARE THE QUEEN OF CONVERSATION MY FRIEND.

I WILL NEVER SEE DOORS AS ANYTHING OTHER THAN ROMANTIC AGAIN. AND SAYING THAT MAKES ME THINK OF THE DOORS, THE BAND, WHICH IS APPRORPIATE BECAUSE THEY HAVE A SONG CALLED THE END. AND THIS IS THE END OF SA. (WEEP, SOB, RAINCLOUDS).

AND IT IS MADNESS TO THINK, THAT ONCE, I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW IF THIS WAS GOING TO BE LUCIUS (WEIRD SHIP NAMER TO THE END!) AND NOW, WITH THEIR PERFECTNOSITY AND THEIR

"I LOVE YOU TOO"

AND THEIR "OUR" SOFA

AND SAVE IT FOR THE DARK ROOM

AND POOR OBSCURE HENRY THIRD WHEELING PRETENDING TO DRAW SECRETLY MAKING PLANS TO USURP SCORPIUS

AND DEAN DEAN ♥ WHO I LOVE WITH ALL THE BISCUITS IN THE WORLD.

AND I WAS GENUINELY PROUD TO SEE MY NAME THERE IN YOUR AUTHOR'S NOTE. AND I CANNOT WAIT FOR NEWNESS, BUT UNTIL THEN I AM WISHING YOU THE VERY BESTEST WITH ALL YOUR ART, AND YOU KNOW I WOULD TOTES DRESS UP AS A BAT AND HANG FROM A CEILING FOR YOU ANYTIME IF THAT WOULD HELP.

WELL DONE WITH YOUR LOVELY DOBBY, YOU DESERVE IT AND IF THEY MADE A DOBBY FOR HIPSTER CHAPTER IMAGES YOU WOULD DEFINATELY WIN THAT TOO - THAT CHAPTER REALLY TAKES THE CAKE (EXCEPT I TAKE IT BACK BECAUSE I LIKE CAKE AND IT'S A 2D BUNCH OF PIXELS HOW CAN IT APPRECIATE FROSTING LIKE I DO?) - I FIND IT IS QUITE BEAUTIFUL AND BEFITTING FOR SUCH A BEAUTIFUL FINALE FOR SUCH A BEAUTIFUL... WELL... MAD, FIC.

CAN'T WAIT FOR TRILOGY THINGS TO COME, EXPECT MORE CAPSLOCK MADNESS AND WAFFLING.

X X X

Author's Response: as your review is all capslock and i fear that this will create a rift in the space-time continuum and the interwebz will be sucked into a giant black hole, i will compensate and use absolutely no capital letters at all in this response.

ehelan. i slightly adore you. yes, that is a lot of lemons.

paha. 'normalcy seems more cracky than crackfic'. i am now visualising lettuce poking out of a skip in croydon, covered in lemon juice, his little feet waving in the air and weeping because he can't find lucy, not even a kitten to dry his tears~

pigeon indeed.

this is the end, beautiful friend, the end. this is the end, my only friend, the end.

if you would please! i need your battiness and your noot noot in my sketchbook.

hipster is my name, hipster is my game. how could you take the cake back? i was waiting for that with the anticipation of a thousand flaming excited suns. and ofc pixels appreciate frosting ya know.

capslock madness and waffling? please.

muchos love;

♥ x


 Report Review

Review #17, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Emotional Wronski Feint

27th October 2011:
What's all this, jumping back in time creating a seamless circularity and building a subtle suspense?! How fancy. Does time travel mean Matt Smith is going to turn up soon? As far as the debates of the elite literary world of fanfiction go - when exactly is Matt Smith going to turn up is in general my main concern... I'm sure you love the intelligent critique I bless you with, eh? :)

Such critique as: Personally, I feel the charming flat in Mediocre-on-sea is making Lucy a bit snooty - a future that involves Lettuce and/or Barry? Yes please! How can that seem anything other than sparkly sequin wedding dress fantastic?

I think Barry and Lettuce would compliment each other quite nicely actually. Subplot?

HOMG QUIDDITCH CONVERSATION. THIS CONVERSATION IS SUCH A PRIME PIECE OF DIALOGUE WRITING. LOVED IT. ♥

(Also loved the fact Al says "crud")

That piece of dialogue only topped by:

"‘Either your knowledge of the Quidditch League is woeful, or there’s something afoot.’"

EAVESDROPPING SCORP ♥ He should so be a detective. Ha. I couldn't imagine a worse career for the boy. The most he could manage is sitting pretty in a trench coat, but his head would probably trip over the collar or something (does this make any sense outside of my own head?)

THIS CHAPTER IS KING OF KINGS OF DIALOGUE. MOST AWKWARD AND ROMANTIC CONVERSATION EVER.

"You were cadwaller and I was quigley." SO SQUISHY ♥

"Lucy, I'm a vegetarian..."

Julia, you write these characters perfectly and I am so excited to finally be able to finish SA and canneee wait for the sequal/prequals/lettuce/barry subplot

X X X

Author's Response: I'm sorry, I didn't register any of that paragraph aside from Matt Smith and now I'm just like welp no hope of responding coherently to reviews when I've got the doctor in my head.

Actually, Lucy is very concerned with the sharp rise in house prices in Mediocre-on-Sea, as she is seriously considering making investments for her future, a future that may involve Lettuce/Barry/Henry/the next man she finds on the streets.

You ship Lettuce/Barry? I love you forever.

WELL, HE IS A SLYTHERIN YOU KNOW. Got to earn those silver and green stripes somehow.

eee I thank you ♥

lettuce/barry shall happen one day, one day.

*flees into the night*


 Report Review

Review #18, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Sunny with a Chance of Showers

12th September 2011:
Julia ♥
This is the best thing to come home to after school, feeling floppy and meh, because it made me feel all happy and bouncy and a million times more better than a twelve pints of lucozade ever could. Actually that would probably make me feel sick. And pee a lot. And I don't even like lucozade- the point is, I don't feel floppy anymore, I feel happy happy.

First of all, that chapter image is joy to the eyes, I congratulate you sire. Secondly, she wants to name her cat andrew? IS THAT AN ANDREW GARFIELD PUN BECAUSE GARFIELD IS A CAT AND ANDREW GARFIELD IS SCORPIUS AND BRM?!?!

Failed running down sandunes, failed ice cream eating, failed ice hockey playing, failed artists- it is all so beautiful and cute.
perfect chin to head height ratio. I can't cope it's all too wonderful ♥

Oh and Lucy's inner angst? -eternal tears-WHY SCORPO. WHY.

Author's Response: Helenoriatron ♥

Twelve pints of lucozade? BOTTOMS UP.

Why thank you. I love a good ol' over-saturated graphic. AND YOU PICKED UP ON THE PUN YAY. BRRRM INDEED. HEH.

Failure is the word. It's cute failure, though, not, like, reality failure, which is all nasty and empty and upsetting. THIS IS CRACK. which is why chin to head height ratios are of the utmost importance when picking a boy.

Scorpo would love to answer your question, but at the moment he is unfortunately engaged and is to embarrassed to tell me so I can pass it on, so, well. SEND HIM TO THE SHAME CAVE.



 Report Review

Review #19, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Breakfast Epiphanies

5th September 2011:
Remember the time when I left you long reviews? Happy times they were. But all good things must come to an end, as Nelly Furtado so rightly said.

Just. Everything. So much love for everything. ♥
Lucy's angst, Scorp's characterization... perfection.

PEDALOS. FOIL. YOU ARE MY HERO HULIO ♥
This brings me so much happiness, I am sure to cry when it is over, even if it is a happy ending and I marry Tarquin. ♥

PREQUELS TO FOLLOH THO :D

Author's Response: Good times. Nelly Furtado also rightly said 'I'm like a bird, I want to fly away'. What a wise woman she is. We are not worthy.

Ending spoilers: Lucy and Scorp have to go back to London early so they can help Dudderz McHelena pack for her ensuing elopment and marriage to Tarquin Llewelyn. THIS ACTUALLY HAPPENS.

♥ thank you for another wise review of wisenosity and words of wise wisdom. I have been enlightened and thrilled.


 Report Review

Review #20, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-five.

23rd August 2011:
LIONS AND TIGERS AND BEARS OH MY.
FIGHT SCENES AND MURDERS IN CHAIRS OH MY.

I don't even know how to begin going about reviewing this one, mostly because it was dramatic as (dsifsd where do I begin?!) and partly because my brain is mushy. But mostly the first thing.

Lysander letter at the beginning is ♥ I ship them so very much.

-Life tips from Witch Weekly, Oh yeah.
-Valerie crying, all is usual in the world.
-Really loved the plot twist of Rose being a lesbian, didn't see it coming at all... Poor Scorp, what a messed up relationship. No wonder he's one lightbulb short of a lightbulb factory... eh?
-Actually geniuinely loved her seeing Scorpo then running away and LYSANDER WOULD OF BEEN THERE BECAUSE LYSANDER IS GREAT.

Final scene was so dramatic. He was such a horrible creep, the dialogue about Rosalie was chilling. Dom should probably stop ripping her soul into pieces tho!11!!*7$



Author's Response: U IZ A POATE N U DIDNT KNO IT DUD. U KULD MAKE DOLLAH FROM DAT SORTA STUPHPH.

You do have a mushy brain, Big D. Probably from all those dementor attacks and boxing matches and beating up ten-year olds and other things that you do. Maybe it's because your boater is too small... ?

AAAHH LYSANDER RETURN TO ME.

The Rose subplot is totallih nu. She's just come out of the closet. Noah knows, obviously, and he's her gay beard - he -is- the editor of -Witch Weekly- for crying out loud. Scor is obviously really disappointed and that's why he's so crazy. Rose actually fancies Belinda (Noah's mum) and it's all very complicated.

Yh. I'll edit that bit out. Soon.

YOU PICKED UP THE LYSANDOM HINTS. IS SHE CHANGING HER MIND? IS SHE (cheesy) CHANGING HER HEART?!?! WHO KNOWS? I do. Pa ha ha.

TANK YA HELLAHNORE U IZ NOT A SLOAR LYK POTTAHMOARRR... WUB CHA LYK DUDDAHZ WUBZ BAYKON N PREZZIES N LYK PIERZ LYKZ DA ZOO. ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by TallestTowerDominique: Twenty-four.

23rd August 2011:
NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA CLIFFHANGER.
Dom must be so pale, she should probably get out more. Then again, 'getting out' has previously led to her being dragged off to a corner of a pub with a stranger and given a request for her services as a hitman. Gee, I can really relate.

Noah is the height of irritating... so smug and uptight and patronizing and urgh. His little speech was so so irritating.

I liked the cute moment with Rose ♥
Dom should probably kick this whole killing-people habit before it gets stronger. Just a peace of advice. (LULZPEACEANDVIOLENCEISOWITTY)

Author's Response: Filler filler filler filler filler filler filler BATMAN.

Dom's a creepy indoors kinda person. She sleeps. She creys. She kills people. That's what she is - that and a complete cynic. SHE IZ PRETTEH N HAWT LYK ALL DA OVA OCs IN DA WERRRLD. SHE JUST DON'T HAVE 5000 COLOURS IN HER HAIRRR...

Noah is a big git. End of. Period. Hopefully Dom will kill him.

EYE-RON-ICK. READ ON, MA PRETTEH. KTHNXBAIII ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by TallestTowerStarving Artists: Everything is Lovely

21st August 2011:
This chapter was just...lovely.
-Puts on shades and schlepps off-

Author's Response: HELENOR. This review is just so stunningly in-depth and beautiful and heartbreaking. I cannot even begin to describe how deeply your words have affected me. I feel so empty, so soulless, so vulnerable in your presence. I burn, I pine, I perish. My love for you is like the rocks beneath the foliage. Reader, I married him. It is a truth universally acknowledged that NOOT NOOOT.
ILU. ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by TallestTowerThe Horror!: ELIZABETH

17th August 2011:
HI CILLIAN ♥ And hi Gubby too, I guess, but most importantly hi Cillian. James is so confident and charming and croissanty (yes, croissanty), he makes me nervous. I really liked the way he went about the conversation... there was something so cosy and intimate about breakfast in the common room. I really liked the detailed description of her too, I felt like I was seeing her with James' eyes.

I liked how it wasn't melodramatic, but it was definately captivating. I loved this sentance:

"She didn’t seem melodramatic at all, but the way she tossed the scrap of chocolate-stained napkin on the floor indicated that she at least felt mournful."

Beautiful ♥

And finally, a reference to something I've actually read! Either I'm smarter than I thought, or you're dumbing this down to appeal to the masses. Or, my least favourite option, I'm woefully standard. ;) ♥

Author's Response: CILLIANNN -squishes- Oh, and you too, I guess. If I had known while I was writing that Cillian was such a hit, I might have written more of him. :P But I do like James too, and the conversation made me happeh because I was really really craving the amazing chocolate croissants I had all the time between classes last year. (I kid you not, there are very few reasons I'm looking forward to school again, and those croissants are a very big one). I was going for the cosy (lol Brit spelling) and intimate vibe, and I'm happy it worked. And eee, captivating!

Tbh this was a throwaway reference to me. I had almost forgotten to fit one in and was thinking about something that could fit, and it was taking me awhile, so I thought "... blech, let's go with P&P". So I'd say it is I who is woefully standard, because how could you be with such a wonderful review? ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by TallestTowerThe Horror!: MARY

17th August 2011:
So, I'm pretty sure I'm your only reader who has read this alongside watching Pingu. And believe me, it adds a whole other dimension.

From the above statement you can see how much of an intellectual I am and how I definately got all the references -shifty- But, I am young and foolish, one must remember (as if you'd forget), there may be hope for me yet.

But, despite not having read A Hero of Our Time, I hope my humble opinion that this is lovely still counts ♥ I really loved how you've characterized Ruth - I hate the way we often a relationship, and the other is left woefully uncharacterized, but Ruth isn't just the crazy ex, she actually cares... has real, justifiable motives for being against Waverly/James.

So your characterizations are brilliant as always, so in depth, I feel like you really know the characters in a way that is more like original fic than fanfic, I feel like they really are your own, in a good way ♥

Author's Response: I can't even begin to fathom the insights you've gained by reading this along with watching Pingu. It seems like such an enlightening experience, I should try some time.

Baww, I've told you before, the references are only a teeny fraction of the fic! And you know where to find me if you ever have questions. Also, Wikipedia. And there's always hope, loff, the doors of lit snobbery are open to all!

Any opinion that compliments me is welcome, all else can check out at the door. (LOLJK I HEARTS YOU ALL). I also dislike the trope of the significant other who we're supposed to hate solely because s/he (usually she in fanfic) is with the love interest, even though it's such a tempting one to use. Ruth happily has a bit of a backstory to her, and I'm glad that she works as a character ^_^

Gah, in-depth? Fluff? I still can't believe that's what this fic has managed to do in such little space. And I feel like I write to give people the /impression/ that I know my characters well -- you should know by now how little planning I actually do. I was lucky on that count that there were just a few characters in this one, and once I figured them out, it was really quick and relatively painless to get down. But thank you for everything, as always ♥ (I KNOW HOW TO DO THAT NAO)


 Report Review

Review #25, by TallestTowerAnd Capers Ensue: Hogwarts, A Mystery

15th August 2011:
YAY ♥ ♥ ♥

>"Yeah, you've seen them, and I'm the Queen of England on a unicycle."

Says the man in a velvet Blazor. Scorp as queen would not surprise me in the slightest. Scorp on a unicycle however...

>"Okay, come get me socremlins! I've got fancy socks, too! Very nice quality — imported. Made of silk and — hup!"
And just like that, Scorpius disappeared.

Anything that mentions Scorpius' fashion sense is win.

>A deep ahem interrupted his reverie and Scorpius looked up to see Fred arching an amused brow. "I'm not your darling."

Poor Scorp, no-one is his darling. Maybe Albus, but let's be honest, he doesn't actually seem to have the physical ability to complain.

>He bowed with an exaggerated flourish. "The one and only. It's been awhile."

Gee, Malfoy get's around. lulzjk.

> Bea very much hoped his sleeve would catch fire from the wall sconce.

He. Also, more use of Potterpuff ♥

> "No," said a weak voice underneath her. That 'something soft' was Albus

FAILBUS ♥ so cute. -explodes-

> And if what's done was going to get her unicorn hair and then some, she couldn't have Rose ruining it.

Bea's morals are something I aspire to.

>Scorpius snorted. "Scared of puffskeins, Potter?"

Hi Tom Felton's voice, you're very much saying this line in my head right now.

>"She's lost the — bloody nutcase!" Scorpius cried.

I ship Bea/Scorpius in a big way. Big like a really big thing. NUTCASE. ETERNAL LOVE. IT'S ALL THE SAME. SQUEEE. ♥

As always Gina this brought me a trillion tons of joy, every Capers chapter is just amazing. I loved that all the characters were in this one, and their first caper was so perfect ^_^ (If not sucessful) I love how this is action/adventure, inside Hogwarts, it's just awesome. Each character has their own distinctive personality and your characterizations are amazing and when they are all together = so much hilarity. Anjali and Rose, haa

DUN DUN DUN with the Headmaster. Could this lead to more Anjali/Fred/(albus) teamwork. And if it doesn't, surely being lost together in dungeon corridors can do no harm to their relationship -waggly eyebrows-

okaay, I'm going to sign off before I start sounding like a super creep.



Author's Response: HELENAAA. This review is so huge, i can't read it all on one page.

SCORP IN A WHITE WIG DRINKING TEA ON A UNICYCLE. ...JUGGLING.

Scorpius and Al actually might end up having the oddest bromance if I'm able to write it. WHO KNOWS.

Snerk, I TELL YA, SCORPIUS IS SHIPPABLE WITH EVERYONE.

Albus deserves his many mentions ♥

Also, I HEARD TOM FELTON'S VOICE TOO.

LOLLL I LOVE THAT YOU SHIP THEM IN A CHAPTER WHERE THEY'RE MOSTLY BEING SNIPPY TO EACH OTHER.

Baww Helena ♥ you brighten up my 3am like no other. Adventure in Hogwarts! It must become a thing D:

HONESTLY I HAVEN'T GOT THE ENTIRE THING PLANNED OUT. I AM DOING THAT TONIGHT :D See, it was like, the caper and then a few days after but inbetween I'm just like ???

♥ mah fav creep


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>