Reading Reviews From Member: MercyWaters
117 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MercyWatersSeeing Double: I

30th October 2012:
I'm back! Still really enjoying this story :) You write Molly excellently, it's very believable and you give here an interesting twist. I'm not sure if I mentioned this in my previous review, but I really like how you're using second person. It's not very common in writing but you've done it wonderfully! Gives a whole new feel to the story and makes it stick out from the rest.

I must say, Molly really reminds me of Luna, especially since they're even in the same house. She's quirky and always off in her own mind just like Luna, except it seems a little more severely so. It almost seems unhealthy sometimes, and makes me wonder what exactly is to come in future chapters, especially after the little preview in the Prologue. The bit at the end about her being nervous and getting butterflies around the boy was cute, though. It made me smile, since it's almost a little reminder that despite all her oddities, Molly's still a normal girl. I'm interested in seeing where you take her character!

Lastly, I enjoyed the piece about James' strange tendencies at the dinner table. It seems very Weasley of him, to be so clumsy and loud, and it also serves to define him as a character, separate from all the other countless Weasleys. I think it's very important to try and do that with the Next Generation, since a lot of people tend to just focus on a select few and kind of mush the rest of the family together into one big entity. Defining interesting characteristics is good and helps definie him as a person!

Keep writing! I'm really enjoying this story (:

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for stopping by again - and I'm glad you're enjoying the story :)

They are kinda similar, I guess - they tend to stick to themselves, have their own little bubbles, etc. It's a comparison I've honestly never really thought about as in my mind she's really mostly a highly romantic and slightly dreamy version of Percy, lol. Mm... hold onto that unhealthy thought, is all I'm going to say on that ;) Yeah, haha, I liked writing that bit. I'm sure every girl has been like that when a boy talks to them, you know, and I'm so glad you think she's very much normal - as that's what I really wanted her to come across as!

Hehe... James comes up a bit later on as well ;) He's funny, I like him a lot. Besides, I'm sure we all know that one person who doesn't necessarily fall over a lot, but has a tendency to knock things over. So yeah, in this, that's James, lol. He gets a bigger spot in a later chapter, though, so hopefully if you get to that you'll enjoy it as well ;)

Thank you so much for the great review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #27, by MercyWatersBubbles: Bath time

30th October 2012:
Oh my gosh. This was absolutely adorable. I love how you portrayed little Dominique and Louis. They seemed so cute! And I also like how you included the French bit with Fleur near the end--it made it seem more authentic and believable.

Lovely job! This is going straight in my favorites (:

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you!

This was so much fun to write, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it :)

I had to include Fleur, she's my favourite to write...

Thank you again for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by MercyWatersSeeing Double: Prologue

30th October 2012:
Wow. That's all I can say at the moment, wow. This is such an original and amazing idea... So intriguing! I love how you slowly reveal more and more information throughout the chapter, not giving too much away at once and leaving the reader craving for more by the end. I absolutely love this! Your descriptions are beautiful and I love how you're focusing on a character that doesn't get very much attention usually.

Must. Read. More!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much! :) I'm glad you liked it - it's my first real story (the first one I really like, at any rate, and are genuinely proud of), so it's kinda special to me. I know - I've seen so many stories about James or Al or Rose, but not many Molly stories... then again, that was probably a good thing, since I like writing about minor characters ;)

Thank you so so much for this lovely review!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #29, by MercyWatersCarelessness: Lost in Darkness and Distance

22nd June 2012:
Wow. Short, sweet, yet amazingly written. I loved reading this. Both parts of the story were heartbreaking in their own ways, and I can't figure out who I feel for more. I loved you characterization of both Tonks and Remus. The endless trains of thought that go on in both their heads are an ingenious tool--it portrays the general frenzy of their thoughts very well.

My favorite line would have to be "It is the saddest day of her life", talking about Tonks and Remus' marriage. It's just so sad and heartbreaking, I actually stopped reading to take it in.

At first I was confused as to what was going on in the second half, but after rereading it I understood. I find it so sad. Tonks loves Remus, but he cannot love her fully because he loves Sirius, who is dead. And she changes her appearance to resemble Sirius for Remus, which just shows how much she loves him. Heartbreaking.

This is such a unique and well written story. I really love it. I've never thought of their relationship this way, it's definitely an interesting take. I'm glad I read this. It's going straight in my favorites!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Well, this review was a nice thing to wake up to this morning. :)
I'm glad you liked my Tonks - her character and my writing style don't generally mesh well, so she was a bit more difficult to write.

'It is the saddest day of her life' was a bit of a throw-it-in moment, so it could have been good or unbelievably terrible. It seems to have not been unbelievably terrible, so yay.

The second half was a bit of an experiment with pure stream-of-consciousness (and minimal punctuation) so it lost quite a few people. I think things like that might work more in theatre and poetry - where they occur a bit more often - than in prose, or maybe that's just me being pretentious, who knows.
I'm glad the ending worked for you. It was a bit disturbing as well as depressing, wasn't it? Definitely not something I could show my mother.

Tonks' and Remus' marriage has always seemed dysfunctional to me, because he grows increasingly bitter and angry during HBP and DH, while she just seems depressed. A bit of reading between the lines later, and this monstrosity appeared.

Thanks so much for the review, and the favourite! :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by MercyWatersBlood Red Snow White: Blood Red Snow White

22nd June 2012:
The first line and just the general wording and style of writing immediately caught my attention. That doesn't often happen when I read a story, so I applaud you. I like how the language is elaborate and descriptive, but at the same time I'll admit it becomes confusing at times. It doesn't sound like what would actually come out of someone's mouth, especially when telling a story to a young boy, and at times appears a bit cliched. It's well written, but you should also be very careful when using such complicated language that it's understandable and flows well. Otherwise the reader could get lost and frustrated.

One thing I'm very confused about--what is the story itself supposed to be about? Is it connecting to the war and Voldemort? That's my best guess, but at the same time I'm honestly not sure. I got lost a few times while reading.

I really like the idea behind this, but I think the language could be toned down. You can get the dramatic, "legend" feel across still even if the language isn't as extreme. Like I said earlier, it's very well written. But sometimes that can become confusing.

I enjoyed reading this. Keep writing!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed reading this story because I enjoyed writing it. Thanks for pointing out that the language is a little wordy- I love fairy-tale-type stories and so I suppose I was quick to use its sweeping style.

You're correct about it being about the first Wizarding war and Voldemort. What I had intended to get across was that the "others" were the muggles, the "hidden" the wizards, the "wise" the purebloods who supported Voldemort (the "Dark" side) and the "naive" the pro-muggle side (the "Light" side). I'll have to go back and make that clearer, then.

Once again, thanks for your comments (they definitely brought some of the problems with the story to light) and I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it.

 Report Review

Review #31, by MercyWatersIt's Called Adventure: Prologue

22nd June 2012:
This seems like such a cute story! I saw it a while back and always meant to get around to reading it, so here I am, finally!

I quite enjoyed your characterization of Neville. I always loved him as a character but I always find he gets forgotten about and left behind in fan fiction. It's refreshing to see a story focus on him, especially one centering on the Next Generation and Post-Hogwarts era. I think you've got his personality down perfectly, he seems so much more mature and sure of himself.

I loved the part where he widened in his eyes in signal for Hugo to "use his words", haha. I found that adorable.

I'll be continuing onto Chapter 2 very soon! This seems like a lovely story so far!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hello! Ah, it's always nice for me to get the straggling review on this story, as I feel the eight months I dedicated to writing it were some of the most productive and magical of any amount of time in my life. And people are enjoying it, which is the real crazy thing.

Neville is making a comeback, I feel! When I wrote this I thought he, too, was given a backseat. He's usually given horrible self-esteem or he's made into a totally impossible BAMF. I tried to temper those two characterizations with my Neville, but mostly I just write him/wrote him true to my vision. Which, if you have any desire to do so, you can read a lot about in other replies I've made to other reviews ;)

"Use your words" is something my parents often told me because I would try to flap my hands or dance out my requests/statements/comments. Hugo is not by any means a quiet person like me, though he's largely internal, I think you'll find. Actually I think the comment is something my dad picked up from a comedian. Anyway. Glad you liked it :D

Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed this little prologue!


 Report Review

Review #32, by MercyWatersThe Tale of Natasha Fielding: I. Of Being Late and Understatements

8th May 2012:
I'm here from the Review Battle. :)

I really liked this! You write very well. Your description is great, your dialogue doesn't sound awkward and overall everything has a great flow. I really love the way you've characterized everyone, since they all seem so unique. Especially the OCs! It seems like many people find it difficult to create an original, non-cliche OC, but you managed it very well :) Natasha has an original voice and is an interesting character to read about.

The premise seems so clever! I'm very interested to see what happens, and I hope to return for later chapters if I get the time! Lovely job :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Oh, how I love the Review Battle! Thank you :) I've always been worried if I put too much dialogue or not enough description or if nothing flows, so I'm glad this is okay. Wow, /do/ they seem unique? Every author likes to think that, of course, but it's much different (and better!) actually being told it. Natasha is a different thing for me. I usually stick with the sassy-spunky-sarcastic OC, but all the same I love Natasha's personality as well.

Thank you so, so much for reviewing this, Bri - it really /does/ mean the world to me.

 Report Review

Review #33, by MercyWatersThe Curse-Breaker Who Loved Me: In Which Bill Meets Babbling Belinda

8th May 2012:
This was really interesting! I've started becoming interested in stories centered on the Weasley family lately, so I enjoyed this quite a bit! Little Bill and Charlie seem so cute :) You captured the mentality of a young child well, and the flow was very good. I like how you added the little reference to Molly being pregnant with Percy :)

I'm interested to see where this story goes! Judging by the description, I'm assuming it's going to jump forward a bit and connect with the Delacour family somehow. Looking forward to seeing what happens with Chapter Two!

Also, poor Bill being told such a terrible thing so young! :(


Author's Response: I'm glad that I captured the young'uns so well! I enjoyed characterizing them so much! There will be a time jump on this but hopefully not too jarring. You are so cute to be checking this out! Thank you so much! You brought a smile to my face!

 Report Review

Review #34, by MercyWatersOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: The Right Thing

8th May 2012:
This was a BEAUTIFUL end to the story. Phenomenal, honestly. It was so bittersweet to see her reconcile with Draco after all that time. To see them finally be at peace with one another. I got a twinge of sadness though, when reading that moment shared between her and Ron. Poor guy. Hopefully he finds his own happiness soon enough!

I especially loved the wedding scene. It was beautifully described and seemed so happy. I like how it contrasted so much with the wedding between Hermione and Ron--not set in a church, not wearing a traditional white wedding gown, Hermione pregnant and truly happy this time. It symbolizes the truth and happiness of this wedding as opposed to the one with Ron, and all the possibilities for their future together.

Loved it! Honestly, there was no better way you could've wrapped this up.


Author's Response: Yay! You reached the end of the story and you liked it!! I was and am so proud of this story and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy it with me. :)

The wedding and it's comparison to the other one was my favorite part to right since it just compliments the original story that started it all.

Thank you so so much!

 Report Review

Review #35, by MercyWatersSnatched before my eyes: Snatched before my eyes

6th May 2012:
This was so sad :( I teared up while reading it, but I still enjoyed it very much. You get the emotion of what's happening across beautifully and I noticed very little spelling or grammar mistakes. I was drawn in immediately and couldn't stop reading right up until the very end. As the reader, I could truly feel the pain Ginny and the rest of the family must have been feeling as they watched Lily deteriorate and eventually die.

You also raise an interesting question--can spells truly have this effect? Can they go wrong? I don't see why not. It must be a frightening prospect in the Wizarding world.

One thing I thought was a bit odd, though: If Lily were on her death bed, would she be able to move her head around and speak the way she did and roll over? I've seen many sick people. Some of them people who had been suffering from cancer for years and were not going to make it, and even when they weren't so close to passing, they were unable to do even simple things like roll over without assistance. I think at the most someone in that condition would be able to open and close their eyes, maybe speak a bit (a bit incoherent) and shift their head slightly from side to side, maybe lift their arm weakly. Incorporating that might make the scene seem more believable. It just struck me as odd and a bit unrealistic that she had so much mobility when she was literally seconds away from death.

Lovely story though! It brought tears to my eyes.

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

This chapter has been beta'd so I'd hope there are no spelling and grammar mistakes and I'm glad you were drawn into the story and understood what they were feeling.

I liked the question of this as it has always really intrigued me. There are many things which should work properly but can go wrong so I thought it could work the same even within the magical world.

I based the death of Lily on the death of one of my relatives so I can say it is perfectly believable that they can move their head whilst on the deathbed after cancer because I've seen it happen myself. Especially if the deterioration was quick rather than spread over a period of years.

I'm just glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #36, by MercyWatersWhat Makes A Man: It was too late

6th May 2012:
Wow! I really liked this. Your writing is excellent. The words have a wonderful flow to them and get the emotion and description across perfectly. I almost never read song-fics or stories centered on Voldemort, yet here I am reading a combination of the two and I loved it!

Excellent job. This is going in my favorites. :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm very flattered that you liked the story, especially when it was somewhat out of your comfort zone as a reader. (It was definitely out of mine as a writer!)

I'm just so happy you thought enough of it to favourite it! Thank you so much for that, and for the feedback!

 Report Review

Review #37, by MercyWatersOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: Absolution

6th May 2012:
Finally Hermione knows why he left! I'm really interested to see what happens now that she knows--will she still go through with marrying Ron? Will she try and rekindle things with Draco? I feel like she'll want to try something, considering he was the only thing she could think about during her wedding. And now she knows it wasn't his fault!

You're very good at getting the emotions across in your writing. I could feel the awkwardness and tension when Draco was around Hermione yet acting like she wasn't there, and the pain he must've been feeling upon seeing her with Ron.

Lovely chapter again, and looking forward to reading 7! I hope this isn't the end for Draco and Hermione! :(


Author's Response: Hee, you obviously know what happens next but I'm glad that all the emotions came off fine to you!

 Report Review

Review #38, by MercyWatersPlaying House with Malfoy: A Girl's Day Out

5th May 2012:
Lovely addition! I loved the little kissing scene in the kitchen, haha :P

I thought the conversation between Hermione and her mother was a bit odd, though. I think her mother would've been much more confused about Hermione's questions and wouldn't have launched straight into an explanation like that. After all, Hermione's supposed to know everything already! Also I think Draco would know what Florida is. Places in the world are not just muggle things. Wizards live everywhere and Draco has lived on the planet his whole life so wouldn't he know of other places in the world, especially such a well know place like Florida?

Lastly, remember to proofread! There were quite a few grammatical and spelling mistakes, and I noticed places where words were being mixed up (there/their/they're, are/our, etc).

I still loved it though! Can't wait for Chapter 17!

Bri, xx

 Report Review

Review #39, by MercyWatersLet's Play a Love Game: Chapter Four: Hello

5th May 2012:
Here from the Review Battle! :)

Oh my, James is getting into trouble already! Haha he sure needs to watch himself. I'm still really liking how you portray the Marauders. All their personalities seem perfect, especially Sirius'! I think it's really sweet that she likes Remus though, he's always been my favorite Marauder :)

I didn't notice any grammatical or spelling mistakes, so bravo on that! The story draws me in more and more with every chapter, I can't wait to see where the Sirius/OC and Remus/OC bits listed in the description take us!

Lovely writing, keep it up!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: James is such a troublemaker! Why waste time being obedient when there is so much ruckus to be caused? ;)

I'm so happy you like my portrayal of the Marauders, and I'm ecstatic that you think it's perfect, especially Sirius's :) Remus is the most tame of the Marauders, which is why Angie likes him so much, haha. Remus is my favorite Marauder, too ;D

I'm glad to hear that you didn't find any grammar or spelling mistakes! In addition, it's great hearing that I'm doing a good job.

Thanks so much for a lovely review (as usual ;])! xxx

 Report Review

Review #40, by MercyWatersSomewhere In Between: this is pouring rain, this is paralysed

5th May 2012:
I really like how this was written. Everything seemed vague and disconnected, but artfully done, which gives it an almost dreamy and reflective quality. I also love the second person point of view, since that's not often done!

It was so sad how Teddy could tell their relationship was slowly disintegrating. You could really feel how confused and sad he was, then only to see the relief he felt once it was over. This was very emotional and well written on your part. Lovely job!

This is going in my favorites :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hello there!

Ooh yes - dreamy and reflective - I quite like that description of it! Second person has become almost like second nature to me, I write it so much. For this series in particular, it tells the story more, and it makes you as a reader feel more involved.

To tell you the truth, this could have gone much worse. If you read the one from Rose's perspective, she thought the same thing, only she refused to admit it. He knew her well enough not to live in a dream world like he did in the past. He also learned from past experiences that it was enough to let them go. If he really looked, he would find that it was there all along. Maybe they were both trying something new, only to have it fizzle and die in the end.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Thanks for reviewing,

 Report Review

Review #41, by MercyWatersFor Lily: One.

5th May 2012:
This was quite amazing. I could truly feel the confusion and pain Snape was feeling as I read this. How he must've been feeling when he discovered Lily's body, when he realized it was all his fault, when he realized he'd have to be reminded of her every single day by Harry's existence.

Snape is a complex character who sacrificed much in his life for the person he loved. You captured all this and more beautifully in your writing. Lovely job. :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)
I am flattered that you used the word beautiful when describing my writing.
When I wrote this story I really wanted to capture Snape's pain about Lily well because it was basically what drove his whole life after she died.

I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by MercyWatersOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: Choices

5th May 2012:
Wow. The last bit of this chapter was so intense. The writing seemed a bit rushed at some bits but I think the action and intensity of it made up for it. I love how Draco, Harry and Ron all teamed up together in the face of danger, despite their pasts together. And I love how Draco put aside his doubts in order to save Hermione. You got the desperation of the scene across very well in your writing and I was immediately sucked in to what was happening as I read!

Lovely job! :)


Author's Response: Hmmm, you may be right on the rushed writing. I was completely inspired on this and had to get it out so I'll definitely take that into account in any edits.

I'm glad that the rest of the chapter was to your liking though! All three men came together because of their love for the same woman, all in different ways yet still the same kind of love.

 Report Review

Review #43, by MercyWatersOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: Escape

5th May 2012:
Yet another excellent chapter! I can't believe he managed to escape! Did he do magic without a wand, when he performed Expelliarmus? I found it so frustrating when the people at the Ministry weren't taking him seriously enough. Poor Draco! Also I really liked the part where he apparated to the church by simply willing himself to find Hermione. Nothing like this was ever mentioned in the book but I feel like that's something that could definitely happen, since a running theme in the books is that emotion and love can do many things when it comes to magic.

It seems we're finally up to the point where "The Longest Walk of Her Life" ended! Can't wait to see what happens from here!


Author's Response: Yup, that was some wand less action there! I totally made it up on him finding Hermione through his love for her, but you make an excellent point about magic working in unforeseen ways because of the power of love! I hadn't consciously thought of that but I guess I was subconsciously thinking that!

 Report Review

Review #44, by MercyWatersAnd Now A Word From Our Sponsors: Eight

3rd May 2012:
Yay, yay, yay! New chapter! :D

Oh my gosh, Rose! I was rooting for her to have a good heart and not go through with it to be honest, that just seems so harsh to mess up Scorpius' chances that way! But it was still hilarious, haha.

Poor Albus can't catch a break with the bread crumbs, eh? And I loved the part about the professors: "They either had to resemble birds, or they just needed to be off their rockers. Bonus points if you fit into both categories." Hahaha! I laughed out loud at that one. :)

I think I spotted a typo--should "fatally infection disease" by "fatally infectious disease"?

Loved it! Can't wait for next week's! I hope Scorpius doesn't hate Rose now D:

Bri, xx

Author's Response: New chapter indeed! :) I can't say that a lot of people genuinely expected Rose to turn over a new leaf, if my conjectures are correct. Especially considering that she's had a very weak grudge against Scorpius for how long? :P

I'm glad you enjoyed that bit about the professors, too! I completely forgot about that line when you mentioned it, and -- I confess -- laughed aloud upon re-reading it. So thank you for sharing! ;) And thanks for catching that typo, too, you're very good at that!

Next week's chapter is a bit of a revelation -- well, of sorts. :D I'm hoping to see you back then, and thanks so much for letting me know what you thought of this chapter! ♥

 Report Review

Review #45, by MercyWatersLet's Play a Love Game: Chapter Three: Goodbye

3rd May 2012:
Here from the Review Battle! :)

This was such a sweet, sentimental little chapter. I liked the goofiness of James and Sirius and how you could tell they were all excited to go back. I loved Sirius' line "I'm already Sirius", haha! You can never make too many puns about his name :)

The bit at the end with her and her father was sweet as well. It's nice to see how attached to him she is. Not many children have that kind of relationship with their parents. It was moving!

This was well written, if a bit short, and I hope to read more very soon! It's becoming more and more intriguing, I want to know how it progresses!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry it's taken me a while to reply :P

Haha, I like to balance the funny and the serious in my chapters, so I'm glad you picked up on that! Hahaha, there's so much with you can do with Sirius, and one of those things is his name - it's great!

I'm glad you thought the end was very moving! I love writing sweet family scenes like that. Don't ask me why, haha.

I'm flattered to know you found this intriguing! Thanks for the lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by MercyWatersThe Boy Who Killed: It Will Have Blood, They Say; Blood Will Have Blood

3rd May 2012:
Wow! This is fascinating! I really love this so far. Your writing is excellent and it sucked me in right from the very start. I love how you portray Hermione, Ron, Harry, everyone basically, haha. They're all in character and written just as how I'd imagine them in this sort of situation. The "all-business, no-nonsense" attitude you give Hermione is perfect. And the "logs" system the Ministry has in place is so clever!

So much mystery! Did Harry really kill Cho, he just can't remember? Where's Ginny? What's Draco Malfoy have to do with everything? So many questions, I can't wait to find out the answers!

This was honestly really excellent. I'm adding it to my favorites right now and eagerly awaiting Chapter Two. Lovely job! :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked the trio. I feel I usually write Hermione very poorly so I really wanted to capture her here and write her in character.

Mysteries are abound, but you'll just have to tune into Chapter Two to find out!

 Report Review

Review #47, by MercyWatersThe Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin: The Blazing Arrival Of Cosmo Weasley-Peppin

3rd May 2012:
Interesting take on the Firstborn moments challenge! I wasn't expecting the ending at all, haha. Were you intentionally trying to keep it vague in the beginning? Because for a while there I was under the impression that April was pregnant with Charlie's baby and about to give birth. The realization that it was actually a baby dragon was a bit confusing to grasp, but not terribly so!

I really like the flashback bits. You write them very well. Also, the information on how the dragons hatch their eggs was fascinating, did you come up with that yourself?

Lovely story! You write very well :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response:
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review!

I know, I think I bent the rules a little by making Charlie's firstborn not actually a human baby :P

The stuff about dragons hatching their eggs was made up by me... to tell the truth, I needed it to be more dramatic than Norbert(a)'s hatching, so that Charlie had to rush to be there with April!

I did intend it to be unclear whether it was a human or dragon baby :P I'm glad it surprised you and I hope it wasn't overly confusing.

Thanks again for reviewing and for the lovely compliment at the end: it means a lot to me!

I see you recently posted a new story; I'll have a read of it tomorrow and give you a review too :)

Thanks again-
Athene xo

 Report Review

Review #48, by MercyWatersOne Second Can Be A Lifetime: Common Ground

3rd May 2012:
I really like the interaction between Draco and his father in this chapter. You see a side of Lucious most people don't ever write about, and that's really refreshing. I like how he and Draco bonded here, especially since from the last line it seems Lucius's life is ending very soon. At first I thought it was a little odd that he accepted Hermione and Draco's relationship so quickly even if he didn't approve, but then I realized--he's human too. Despite how he's portrayed by other writers and in the books, he's a person with feelings and apathy. Surely he has some for his own son. So I don't think Lucius was out of character in this, and like I said before, I really like the interaction between him and Draco :)

Lovely chapter!


Author's Response: I'm glad that Lucius didn't seem too OOC. Because you're right, he's just human. He's got his flaws (a whole lot of them) but there's still something of a heart because, really, from reading the books I could see he at least had pride in his family and a drive to see that his family survived.

Thanks for this! I think, if you keep going, you'll help me reach 100 reviews on this one! :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by MercyWatersThe Killer's Son: A New Friend

2nd May 2012:
Here from the Review Battle. :)

This was an interesting chapter! I liked seeing Tom meeting new students and really seeing how Hogwarts is, finally. I'm interested in seeing where his relationship with Snape goes as well. Will he become a father figure to him? Guess I'll have to see, haha. I also really like the insight we got into his past in this chapter, about his brother and his last moments, as well as the hatred and bitterness he was surrounded by in his childhood.

I liked how he immediately saw Quirrell for what he is. That's interesting, and it gives a whole new dimension to Tom's character. He's clever and notices things that most wouldn't. But a couple things--you spelled his named "Quarrel" throughout the whole chapter. This is incorrect. It's spelled "Quirrell". Also you might want to tone down on the stuttering a bit. I realize this is easy to get carried away with, it just seems a little overdone. Try re-reading scenes he appears in from Sorceror's Stone for a reference!

Also, the sorting hat. It doesn't speak aloud for the whole Hall to hear while sorting. It simply whispers in the hat so only the one being sorted can hear. Don't get the movie version confused with the books!

A suggestion: I think Tom should show some prejudice towards others, especially those who are not purebloods. Although he doesn't seem to agree with the ideology he was raised around, he was still exposed to it his entire life. It's something he grew up with and for most of his life he knew nothing different and heard nothing but the biased and prejudiced things from his father. This would have a huge impact on him, especially during his childhood years. His personality and ideas about others would most definitely be influenced. This would be a good opportunity for internal conflict, he could be struggling with prejudice and hatred towards others that he doesn't want to have anymore. Or he could be confused on what he's supposed to believe. He just seems too accepting and calm when you think of what he was subjected to as he grew up.

My last little pet peeve... use question marks! During their conversation, Scott asked several questions, put you didn't include any question marks. This is essential. Readers will be extremely turned off from a story if there are glaring grammar mistakes and mechanical errors. Watch out for punctuation!

This story is intriguing. I hope to read more soon. :)

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

I actually went over this chapter a few days ago and edited a lot of the stuff you pointed out specifically the sorting hat and the question mark thing. Unfortunately it hasn't gotten through the queue yet so you read the rougher version. A day or two more and it wouldn't have been a problem.

As for your suggestion about Tom I think thats actually an interesting take on things. I never thought of things that way. As you'll see later his mother had a rather straight moral compass and I guess I always thought about it like that would have solved all prejudice but now that I think of it you're right it probably wouldn't. Hm I think I'll have to edit that in some how- maybe put in a new subplot with Scott or something.

Thanks again


 Report Review

Review #50, by MercyWatersBend or Break: Chapter Four

2nd May 2012:
Here from the Review Tag :)

I must say, this story is drawing me in more and more with every chapter I read. I absolutely love how you've written Draco. He seems very in character, not too changed from his Hogwarts days, but changed enough to make it believable and show he's matured. The interaction between him and Harry was believable, and I love Draco's haughty, superior attitude. It was interesting to see the background of what happened the fateful night of the car crash.

I must say, I really like that this has been from Draco's perspective so far. It's not often you see that in a Dramione. It's refreshing!

I really love the way you write. Can't wait to see where this goes, and I hope Hermione makes some more appearances soon!


Author's Response: Oh, good. I'm glad you're liking this more as you go along.

With Draco, I didn't want to change him drastically. I wanted to see how I could do a Dramione (maybe, if this turns into one) with Draco still being recognizable. I'm glad that there was a good reception for the Harry and Draco conversation.

I found myself writing in Draco's POV a lot in doing this story and for some strange reason, have found it far easier to do. I think it's because I'm really trying to get into Draco's head, like somehow make it explainable why he's becoming a "good guy" so am spending a lot of time on his side of the fence.

Thanks again for all your nice words!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>