Reading Reviews From Member: MarieBlack
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Three

30th July 2014:
Another chapter, yay. My heart is happy!

Seeing more fully the interactions between Dom and Lysander is so great! They're snarky to one another, but at least Dom has enough sense to be smart and pick her battles. Even if Lysander's ego is as big as the entire Hogwarts castle. I'm eager to see how their relationship progresses. ;)

I feel like I can relate to Dom really well because she carries the "middle child syndrome." She wants to make a name for herself away from her fabulous siblings. She's always striving to be better and do better and is quick enough to grab at an opportunity, even if it involves Lysander. She's very easy to relate to!

I'm eager for more, happy writing! xx

Author's Response: So glad you're still enjoying it! Dom most definitely has middle child syndrome, and that will keep popping up as an issue for sure. Next update is on its way, should be up within the week...there will be a lot of Dom/Lysander interaction so get excited ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Confession

30th July 2014:
OF COURSE YOU WOULD CUT IT OFF THERE, THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME.

Anywho. Let's dive in, yes?

Andromeda Black, the woman of power and poise herself. I like that in these moments of her being who she was raised to be you see the identifiable qualities in her that are so portrayed through Narcissa and Bellatrix in the books. You can see the family linkage so clearly that it makes her undeniably their sister.

I feel like parting ways with Cissa will be the hardest thing she has to do. I feel like it may send me straight to tears out of empathy, I can't imagine having to leave behind my own sister. It is utterly heartbreaking to know she will have to.

And then Ted, lovely Ted showing up in her room. And here to apologize, he is such a fine man. He is so Hufflepuff too, and even though he carries a sturbborness there is hardly an ounce of pride within him and that makes him absolutely lovely. AND SAYING I LOVE YOU, I'm so proud of Andie. I think it was right in her saying it first, it shows that she is sure of how she feels and I bet it quiets a lot of doubt from Ted. They're hitting this precious stage of coupledom that I have been eagerly awaiting.

Back to Onyx House, I am with Ted on this as I am so very very nervous. Especially when she arrives and Aunt Horrible is there. I hate that woman. You've got me on my toes to see how this all goes next!

Happy writing, I really sincerely enjoyed this chapter all the way through! xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Two

25th July 2014:
Hm. I'm interested to see where this lead takes Dom! :) I like the way you write, and the little bits you've revealed about Dom already in her dialoguing moments.

Ahhh, a crush on Vicky's Ted?! I'm excited to see more of that come out in the story, and also why being at Shell Cottage is so hard for Dom. Being the middle child is never an easy task, especially when she's itching to be a real reporter. Hopefully this lead is her big break. ;)

Even though Lysander isn't in this chapter I did want to hit on him because I'm so intrigued, mostly because he seems so smooth and snarky even, I'm curious about whether he has an Luna-y tendencies as well!

It is a lovely read! Happy writing, xx.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! I hope the mystery has got you hooked...and I promise you'll discover more as I keep writing. I plan to update within the week so check back soon. Thanks again for leaving feedback, it means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MarieBlackAn Illusion of Sanity: Apocalyptic

19th July 2014:
I just stumbled upon this story in the recently added and I'm so sincerely glad I did! :) Usually I find myself disappointed in the American-with-comes-to-Hogwarts stories but you have delightfully whisked away my inhibitions of the topic!

I'm so sorry I waited four chapters to review but I hate stopping when I'm on a reading roll! I love Perri; she's spunky, a bit clumsy, but quick-witted. Her back-story is so delightfully intriguing honestly, I'm eager to see the reasons that brought her to good ole Hoggywarts, and see where it takes her.

Also, oh man, so many fit and attractive blokes, I'm eager to see where her affections will lie. Will it be Freddy, the smirking beater? Or Finn, though secretly I totally ship Finn and Roxy. Or even Roan the mysterious hunky captain. ;) I'm pulling for Freddy on this one though!

I'm eager to read more, happy writing on it all! You have made an avid reader out of me!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so glad you stumbled upon my story too! Ah, I did? I had never really read any stories about Americans, so I was like, hey, why not? Aw you don't have to apologize! I do the same thing. I read through all the chapters before I post a review!

Eee, I'm so glad you like Perri! I love planning and writing her character. There's something so natural about her that makes her so easy to write. You will definitely learn soon about her reasoning for coming to Hogwarts :P Ah yes, I'm a huge sucker for fit and attractive blokes. Ooo Finn and Roxy, I had never really thought of that! As for Perri, you'll have to wait and see xD

Thank you so much for reading! Your lovely review absolutely made my day, so thank you, thank you!

xx Rachel


 Report Review

Review #5, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Fumbling

17th July 2014:
Ah, my summer has returned to me which means more time to gobble up this story! Where to begin!

I think the first thing that grabbed me was Andie returning the ring, oh man will that be a stir. She really is leaving it all behind for him, and for herself I believe as well. As much as leaving her family was for Ted at the end of the day I think it would have been something she would have considered down the road, Ted just happened to be the catalyst for it. There is something in Andie that just ticks differently than the rest of the Blacks.

AND OH MY GREAT GOLLY GOSH. That bedroom scene! Can we say swoon? Like major super swoonage. Like so much. Like when Ted says "You're my recovery," I don't know how Andie held it all together. But it was so freakin' fantastic until in comes Nelson. And it is so wonderfully amusing how he reacts as a brother, albeit it does lead to a fight between Ted and Andie.

Ted and Andie's fight was coming though, I think it was needed to open Ted's eyes. He doubts the change in her, he thinks that she can just flip back to who she was the moment she counts the cost of what she has done. He doesn't have the faith in Andie that he should. He's got a little growing up to do, it's not just Andie who needs to grow any longer. Nelson is such a dear brother too, even to Andie.

Andie's family business makes me exceedingly nervous. I just want her to be strong through it all. If there was ever a time where I wish I could show a character their future of Nymphadora and her happy family to come I would love to show her that, to make her brave I guess. I love Andie!

Keep 'em coming, and happy writing! I intend to see this to the end!

Author's Response: Aw, hurray! It was so fantastic to read this review.

Yes, this was a pretty pivotal chapter for Dromeda. Even though she already set the wheels in motion back when she saved Ted, I think that giving back that ring is the first time that the weight of Andromeda's decision has really struck her. It's going be rough for her from here on out. :(

Dawrh, I thought it was high time that Ted and Dromeda get a *little* bit of romance, however completely ill-timed and misguided it is. And count on Nelson to always step in and make things awk.

The fight was definitely coming. Both Ted and Andromeda have some lessons to learn--but especially Ted. A lot of his doubt comes from his personal insecurity, and that's something he needs to work with.

Andie's family business is making ME nervous, too. Haha. It's going to be pretty excruciating for her, but as we of course know on this side of the story, she has the courage and the character to make it through!

Thanks so much, as always, for the lovely review! Hope to be posting more SOON.


 Report Review

Review #6, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Aftermath

20th June 2014:
Ah, I never tire of this story! It's crazy that you are 30 chapters in! Bravo, congratulations!

The bit between Nelson and Dromeda is so dang endearing. Like ahh. I'm so ready for them to be truly brother and sister! Plus I think Andie's reactions are spot on, like she thinks about how much she has changed actively and also her reactions to finding that Ted had told his brother about her. I'm guessing she isn't used to that openness within her own family, it may be a bit shocking. It's cool to also hear a little snippet on the Tonks' parents. I hope to hear more on them!

You write McGonagall well! I always envision her the way she comes across from the books and even the movies. The stories checking out set me on edge, I was a bit sure that something would go amiss. But Andie is handling herself so calmly and well in all of the crazy chaos of the situation. I feel like after her decision to take on Rabastan some side of her that is very Slytherin like has taken over, even for the good of protecting herself and her friends from punishment. McGonagall knowing what it means for her to stay and have her family informed it the kicker, Andie really is making the choice to be with Ted! I think that's the BEST THING EVER. LIKE DANG FINALLY GIRL. We all knew Ted was the one from day one, wow.

GEORGE AND LILITH SITTING IN A TREE...
I am so excited about this unexpected couple and it makes me so happy! I have shipped since I saw the first connection. AH.

I think it's good to see the moment between Andie and Lillith too. It kind of gives you insight into the fact that Andie is giving up her whole world, and everyone knows it.

Excited for more chapters! Happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the sweet words! I honestly can't believe that I'm 30 chapter in. o.o It doesn't even compute. Haha.

I really like it when I get the chance to do some Nelson/Andromeda interaction. Like you say, it's very different from any type of familial relationship that Andromeda is used to--even with Cissa. I think that Nelson gets Andromeda in ways that even Ted can't because, ahem, Ted is currently blinded by LURVE. But yes, one day they will be in-laws and be able to have all sorts of sibling interactions. :)

Aw, thanks! I'm really glad that McGonagall reads okay to you. I love her character, and I know she's so revered, so I was nervous about taking her on but really wanted to bring her into the story for some reasons that are yet to be revealed.

Bahaha, it's true! After all the madness, Andromeda is finally making a bold decision with her eyes wide open. It took her long enough, yeah?

Heh heh heh. More George & Lilith to come, I promise!

But yes, Andie and Lilith are both becoming painfully aware of just what Andromeda's actions are leading to. It's a bit like a slo mo train wreck. D:

Thanks so much for the lovely, lovely review! Can't wait to read more about Claire's adventures, too. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Hurt

25th May 2014:
OH MY GREAT GOLLY GOODNESS OH MERLIN OH DEAR. I am just freaking out because there is so much plot LIFE in this chapter! Where to comment first.

Well. I OFFICIALLY THINK RABASTAN IS THE SCUM OF THE EARTH FOREVER AND EVER. He sucks, he's no greater than his brother. But seriously his thoughts and words on the Dark Lord seem so accurate. Voldemort always does that, he empowers his followers in a way to kill and be purely evil, and in a way his followers are just a bunch of insecure people who need someone to believe in them and stand behind as well. I want to rip hit guts out for what he did to Ted, and even though unforgivables are unforgivable I get why Andie enjoyed performing them on him so much. He has caused her so much pain, so much agony in all honesty.

I would just like to say that I am TOTALLY noticing these bits of chemistry between George and Lillith, ah I ship them so dearly. I truly hope it takes off and if not they're fabulous friends for the pair!

Ah, Dromeda and Ted. I am so excited to see the steps Andie takes of getting away from her family and the steps she takes toward Ted. Just the fact that she is forsaking her reputation and family in these moments to be with him! I'm not totally sure it will last, that she won't waver with Cissa but I'm hoping her heart and love for Ted take the stage.

I'm excited for what is to come, happy writing!

Author's Response: Now, come on. Tell me how you REALLY feel about Rabastan. Hahaha. I had such a hard time not writing Rabastan as some evil, cackling villain but still demonstrating the fact that he can act in ways that are quite--well, evil. And I think it's a bit terrifying for Andie to see that when she's grown up with Rabastan and, until recently, held his same views. It's frightening to see what a corrupt leader (aka Voldie) can incite in his followers.

Haha. I've been getting so many comments about G&L. I've got a plan for them for suresies, and it's a'hatching. :)

Thank you so much for you ever-lovely and faithful reviews. They always put a smile on my face!



 Report Review

Review #8, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Hogsmeade

19th May 2014:
IT KEEPS GETTING BETTER!

You have made me entirely fall in love with Lillith, honestly. She is such an amazing friend to Andie, and I fear her only voice of reason on the side of her Slytherin counterparts. I love her accepting nature of Andie loving Ted because it fits her personality. It's not random or anything, Lillith is just this chick who isn't super concerned with blood status like all the rest. I suppose that comes from her family not being as prestigious as the Blacks. She's right about telling Andie to tell Cissa, she should. I kind of wish Cissa would surprise her and be accepting of Andie's love for Ted. But I think ultimately her love for Lucius would out shine that, and that's why she would cut ties with Andie. I'm just trying to predict this ending!

Bringing George in was a smart move. BUT AS SOON AS I REALIZED LILLITH WAS INVOLVED TOO I REALLY WANT GEORGE IN LILLITH TO FALL IN LURRRVE. I ship it. But I think they would be perfect for one another.

Anywho.

Hate Rabastan, he always gives me a creepy feeling even when he's being nice. I like how the other boys are going to be stopped, it shows that good may even win a little.

NUT TED. TRAIN STATION. RABASTAN. I AM FLIPPING OUT AND NOT HAPPY AND I WANT LESTRANGE TO DIE FOR TOUCHING TED. I am on edge, woman!

Happy writing though!

Author's Response: Haha, YAY! I'm so glad that you deem this story to be getting better and not descending into utter, incoherent madness. XD

Also happy that you've fallen in love with Lilith. I quite like her myself since I modeled parts of her on one of my own friends. She's certainly a voice of reason in Andromeda's life right now, though that may not be her intent. Lilith is just stoked by all the drama and forbidden lurve going on, though yes, she really does care about Andie's happiness too.

The HMS George & Lilith is getting quite a lot of backing these days! :) Only time will tell what fate has in store for them. Twiddles thumbs...

Sorry to have left you on edge, but LOOK! Another chapter, fresh off the presses. I have a feeling it may leave you hating Rabastan even more. o.o

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by MarieBlackPorcelain Hearts : All About Us

10th May 2014:
I like this chapter a fair amount more than past ones! Simply because there is so much more from James and a lot more dialogue. Bell makes me want to chuck knives at her, possibly other sharp things as well. But her character is well placed. Maybe it was mentioned in a previous chapter, but has the question been answered of how they became friends?

Frank is getting a little more and more flirty and I'm over here like no. Because I want her to end up with James, of course.

Also, I'm curious to see James go through these stages, I'm sure Hannah eventually returning the ring will shove him out of the denial stage of things.

Only time will tell!

Happy writing! xx

Author's Response: Hi!

I love your input! I really wanted there to be more from James because, well, up until this point we were really just taking Hanner's word that James was worth fancying.

Oh, Frank. He's a good guy but nope. Should be in the friendzone forever. Haha.

And I'm curious as to how I'm going to write James going through these stages. I'm still getting a feel for his character but I know he's about to do some really stupid things. How cliche. :/

I love love love your input! And I'm curious to hear your thoughts as this story continues!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Touch

5th May 2014:
Another chapter, I am so delighted!

Things are just chugging along so crazily.

Andie's guilt about lying seems to be getting heavier and I'm intrigued to find out when it all breaks down and she is found out or even comes clean. I have a small inkling that Narcissa might have some clue that things aren't right because she hardly asks Andie to stay or questions her for leaving like Lillith does. I'm curious to see how Andie and Narcissa play out in the end.

Ted and Andie. oh man. Just so much love for their dynamic because the harder they fight to be rid of one another the harder they fall for one another. Andie admitting Ted is a marriable man and would make a good husband is enough to send me over the moon. And then the kiss, SO GREAT. I just want them to up and run away together at this point. I think it'll be really interesting to see how their relationship seriously pans out though, because Ted has these huge leaps of thought that he is next to nothing compared to Andie's life that she is choosing and feelings like that tend to cause problems in future relationships. I sincerely hope Ted doesn't stop fighting, even though Andie says for him too. It's too much!

And Rabastan, ugh. At times it's hard to dislike him because he's not totally all disagreeable, he can be a right decent guy like he was with Andie here. But he's simply not the one in her heart, I don't think she's realized that she'll never be able to shake Ted from her heart. Man, I'm pumped for more!

Happy writing!

Author's Response: Why hellooo! "Chugging along crazily" is a very excellent summary, I think. Haha. I've been writing such madness recently!

Yes, Andie's guilt is definitely beginning to weigh on her. She's beginning to realize just what a hard bind it is to be stuck between Ted and her friends/family, both of whom she cares for very deeply. She's slowly becoming aware of the fact that she is never going to please everyone. That's always a tough lesson to learn!

I hadn't thought of it that way, but I think you're right! Ted and Andromeda seem to only get more entrapped in love the harder they fight against it. Kind of like an insect stuck in one of those creepy venus flytraps. Okay, that was actually a horrible image. Lol. Ted is self-respecting, but he's also very insecure where Andromeda is concerned. She doesn't have a great track record, after all. But yes, his feelings about her opinions and priorities are definitely in need of some rearranging!

I'm actually really glad to hear that Rabastan can be hard to dislike. That's just the way I want him! I didn't want him to be in-your-face evil like his brother or Bella. I think there's something in him that Andromeda first found attractive and still does. But as you say, he's not the one in her heart, is he? >:]

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by MarieBlackPorcelain Hearts : Always Bell

28th April 2014:
I read this chapter sometime ago but didn't get the chance to write my review for it! I adore how everything pieces together in this story, and the flashbacks are so dang intentional. I really love that. I also really like the way Hanner, if I may call her that, sees James. I like seeing the side of him that isn't common, the side that people usually relate more to Al.

Hanner and Frank oh man, I feel like it's one of those things that their friends kind of egg on witht hem both. And while Frank may have some genuine feelings, it's clear that Hanner doesn't. She could probably talk herself into it at some point, but I don't see her really being transfixed on him like she is with James.

I feel so bad for Hanner, because I wish she hadn't lied at all. I want her and James to at the very least to be friends forever, but I know the truth has an ugly way of coming out eventually. I'm interested to see if it will happen sooner or later though. Because if sooner James will basically have nothing to do with her. But if given time and his proper healing, I dunno, he may suprise us all.

I love this story and the way you write, it reveals so much about the characters. Happy writing!

Author's Response: This review is pretty much perfect! Thank you so much. Yes, you may call her that :-) To me, "Hanner" is much more fitting of a name than "Hannah" and I'm not really sure why.

The Hanner/Frank this is something that is egged on by her friends, but it is so vital to the story progression - on the topic, thank you! I was so nervous that people would grow tired of the flashbacks (I get tired of constant flashbacks, too) but again, these are also SO vital.

The telling of secrets also will not happen until later. I hope this doesn't dissuade any of the reader, but the basis of this story is really more of my attempt at character building and in order for us to uncover why Han lied, I have to flesh out all the players.

I hope to see your thoughts on the upcoming chapter. You've been such a fantastic reviewer!


 Report Review

Review #12, by MarieBlackExceptional Circumstances: Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

21st April 2014:
I knew this seemed awfully familiar! I do like this Addison a bit more, while I am a fan of fieriness, I like her curiosity I think it's well placed in an auror. I'm interested to see her interactions with James, I feel like she will kind of set him off balance. I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Also, I like how she's friends with Hugo. You don't see that in a lot of next Gen's. Hugo, sadly, is usually forgotten.

Happy writing! xx

Author's Response: Haha, I thought it would :) And you're not alone, love. But let me tell you, Addie has lost none of her fierceness when it comes to James ;p And if James is set 'off-balance' by her, I assure you he'll do his level-best not to show it.

Ah, Hugo is my absolute favourite. And thanks so much for reviewing-you made my day!

Much happiness to you too,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Blizzard

17th April 2014:
I LOVE SO MUCH.

Man Andie is so brazen or cheeky I guess in this one and it is fabulous. She's just hitting that teetering edge of crazy. I'm loving this change in her.

The ghost's are so mysteriously helpful. I like Reginald's character and I'm glad to see him included. Their love story is so tragically portrayed and perfect to compare to Ted and Andie. I mean, Winnie threw herself off a building to be with the love of her life and Andie won't even risk her messed up family for the change to be with Ted.

The Knights of Walspurgis pact is becoming more interesting, I hadn't even noticed until I was recently doing research for my next chapter that they had once been called that. I love seeing the inner workings of the first Death Eaters, I think it keeps the reader in the mindset of the time that this took place.

The transfusion scene is so INTERESTING. Because they go from being civil to biting to decent to just quiet. They both have a lot of hurt to get over to be with one another, but underneath is all you can see the care they have for one another. I like the shift in Ted too, it makes him seem all the more human. He could come off as this perfect nice guy, but he's not. He's human. I love that quality here.

As always I look forward to more, I nearly check everyday for more of this story, I'm a tad bit obsessed!

And I have failed at not posting my own chapter but I'm simply not in love with anything I'm writing currently. But I'm making some sort of headway.

Author's Response: HI. REVIEW. YAY. LOVE.

Yeah, Andromeda is definitely getting more brazen with every chapter. A stifled pureblood existence and limited options does that to a gal.

Oh, Winnie and Reggie. I have fun with those silly ghosts. I thought that I should follow in the tradition of JKR making ghosts important plot points. Winifred was definitely committed to the cause of Love more than Andromeda is. But that may have something to do with Andromeda not being in love yet... Or not REALIZING it yet. >:]

I think it was a good move, changing the name to Death Eaters. Knights of Walpurgis is lame, yo. Lolz. It's been fascinating to do research on the whole evolution of the following, though. JKR leaves a lot of open dates, so I'm just trying to fill them in realistically. We'll see if I end up being successful!

So much hurt. So much unspoken. These kiddos. Sigh. But yes, Ted is very human, and the irony is that Andromeda, who once thought of him as filth, has now put him on a pedestal.

Daww, I'm so glad that you're obsessed. Hope to have a new update soon! AND I just saw that you posted a new Sunshine chapter! YEAH. I plan on reading it within the next few days! :]



 Report Review

Review #14, by MarieBlackPorcelain Hearts : Beginning of an End

14th April 2014:
Literally I can't express my pure joy at finding this story.

I love the way James is written, especially because it's another take on James this isn't common in fanfiction. He's not a playboy, he's a gentleman with a big heart and a love for Qudditch. Beautiful. I love how all of the Wotter's are written, it's much more tempered down and I think that plays along with almost the heartbreaking theme of this story so far.

Hannah is lovely. She's not this perfect picture of beauty like Bell, but she's got something in her that I connect with.

I'm usually not a fan of flashback scenes, but everything has a purpose in this story. I love that. It seems written so intentionally, it's this new twist on the Next Gen that I love finding. You've made me one interested reader! Happy writing!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I always sort of had this image of James(II) as a gentleman. I mean, how could he not be with as humble as Harry is? But he does have a Weasley temperament. I hope he doesn't get on your nerves in later chapters - he gets a little (okay, a lot) broody/angsty :/

And as far as the rest of them, I wanted to really flesh them out and give them distinct personalities in this fic, so I hope that continues to show.

I'm glad you enjoy Hanner! Hopefully she is someone you continue to connect with. I love her like my own :)

And as far as the flashback scenes, I completely understand. They annoy me most of the time, which is why I've sort of opted to go the minimal approach, but with this story there's really no weeding them out. We need them, not only to establish the Hannah/James/Bell dynamic but also for the plot.

Again, thank you so much for the review! I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #15, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Persuasion

7th April 2014:
OH MAN. JUST WHEN I THOUGHT THIS WAS WRAPPING UP IT IS YET REVVING ONCE MORE.

I am coming to love this more daring version of Andie, honestly. As much as I hate her giving in to Lestrange and her family, I think it has brought out this bold person in her that we haven't seen yet. And I am so enthralled by it.

Ted's anger is justified, but he's still being stupid to me. I suppose I know Andie's side better than his own so I think he's being silly but looking at Andie's actions I see why he's so angry. And feels so rejected. But the thing about Ted is that there is hardly a selfish bone in his body, which makes it hard for him to truly hate or dislike someone. Not truly.

I love all of the detailed information on the blood bonds, it makes it so believable. Honestly, I think it's one of the best magic additions outside of what J.K. Rowling made in her books. Incredibly believable, I also rather enjoyed the slipping in of last names of old pureblood families. It just adds in that these families have been around for ages.

Andie's convincing of Ted is literally the best thing to happen. I love it, like up and down and all over haha. At the beginning of this story that Andie would have never even done this, but this Andie, this Andie has to prove that she is not superior to Ted and that she does not consider herself to be anymore. She sees so much good in Ted, I just hope Ted can see the good in Andie once more. His heart won't let him give her up anyway. And Ted's dreams, hahaha. Oh man, that's the best because it's so boyish.

AH TED CALL HER DROMEDA AGAIN. SHE LOVES IT. WE ALL LOVE IT.

I have a feeling he'll come around. ;) Ted is a wonderful man, after all.

I'm looking forward to more chapters, dear! I wish this story would go on forever, I have loved it so dearly!

I'm jumping back into my own writing soon as this semester is winding down, so hopefully I'll have a new chapter up on this weekend, hold me to that!

Author's Response: Heh heh heh. Oh, there is major revving going on. For sure. >:]

You're right: this is a version of herself that Andie hasn't tapped before. It's in her nature to be stubborn and determined, but all this nasty family business has brought out a side of Andromeda that pushes the limits. I'm having so much fun with her development.

Haha, yes, from Andie's perspective, Ted's being an absolute idiot. Despite all of her mistreatment and purism nonsense that Andie spouted off before, it still makes sense for Ted to choose the option that might save his life. He's got an unhealthy amount of stubborn pride, but, as you say, he's an incredibly selfless person. So it really boils down to which part of him is stronger--the selflessness or the stubbornness. Let the battle begin!

Good! It's a relief to hear that you've found blood bonds to be believable. I was nervous about introducing the concept, and I'm still trying to skirt away from making it too hokey. But I really like where I've been able to take the plot with it.

I've had Andie's convincing scene in my mind almost since day one, so it was very rewarding to finally reach this point. She's come a long way from the Andromeda at the start of the school year. And bahaha, Ted and his dreams. Lest well all forget that he's just a teenage guy. :]

SIGH. Ted knows that Andromeda secretly likes being called Dromeda. He's withholding satisfaction because he's silly. But, ahem, maybe he'll get over it.

Thanks for such a lovely review! And YAY. I hope you can get that new chapter up this weekend. Can't wait to read more!


 Report Review

Review #16, by MarieBlackSpell Damage: Charlie Weasley

6th April 2014:
Your story if so lovely! Seriously. I love Hazel and her quirkiness and her dreams and all of that! Is this the end of the story? Since she has found her reason to keep going again? I surely hope not because Charlie Weasley, what a hunk.

I love the way you write Hazel though, her grumpiness and such. It's intriguing to learn about healers. And despite all of her disappointment in herself you can truly see how much she cares for her patients. Lovely story!

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I'm glad you like her. And yes it is the end of the story. IDK, I might do another story focused on Charlie and her. Maybe because I liked him too and not alot of stories are on him. It's like Charlie is going to be single forever. He deserves love too.

And thanks so much for the review =D


 Report Review

Review #17, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Blood Bond

31st March 2014:
I was so thrilled to see another chapter when I came on today!

I'm very fond of good ole Georgie now! He's just blatantly himself, and has no need for the manners or airs of being a wealthy pureblood. It's fascinating. In a lot of ways I liken him to be Andie's foil, as he has a good blood status and is well-off but yet is extremely loyal, outwardly very brash, and just very un-Andie. I like the way they compliment one another in their friendships with Ted.

I can see this growing distrust between Cissa and Andie and the ever impending separation of their thoughts. It's entirely believable to me that although they were raised as sisters how they felt about that raising is entirely different. Cissa was doted on and in turn because of the love she felt from those around her sees no issue with their mindsets, and has found value in the pureblood way and the dark arts. But Andie has always felt held back in the pureblood ways simply from schooling and then with the attention from her father, well. She just hasn't always thought like a pureblood lady ought to, and these differing mindsets will drive them apart. I just love analyzing their mindsets as a sister myself because while they are raised in the same atmosphere the way they respond to things and handle situations are very different.

Ahh, blood bonds. I like it. To me it sounds very, ah, like alchemy magic along with such things like the philosopher's stone and such, magic that is old and far less dived into within the Potterverse. I like it! I also like the analogy with the wand cores, just intriguing.

AND TED SHUT UP AND TAKE ANDIE'S BLOOD YA NINNY.

Author's Response: Why hellooo!

I'm ever so glad to hear that ickle Georgiekins has wormed his way into your heart. He certainly is atypical to the Hufflepuff stereotype, but he's loyal to a fault. And yes! I did introduce him in part to serve as a foil to Andromeda. They share several similarities (aristocratic background, dysfunctional family, care for Ted) with some obvious differences. But he can relate to Andie in ways that not even Ted can, and I think they're both beginning to learn some valuable lessons from each other.

Sigh. Yes, there's a rift forming between Narcissa and Andie. Barely perceptible right now, but it's there. You're completely right: Narcissa doesn't have a reason to question certain facets of pureblood belief because she's been lucky enough to never run into a bad experience. I think the whole Nature/Nurture question is a fascinating one. I have a sister myself, and it's pretty ridiculous how different we are, even though we were raised in the same household.

Yes! Definitely old magic. I hope it's not too over-the-top, but after the inspiration struck me, I couldn't shake it. There will definitely be more info building on the topic in future chapters.

Heh. Ted is a stubborn, stubborn boy. -.-

Thanks so much for the read & review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by MarieBlackOverdue: Unmanageable Mondays

29th March 2014:
This is so lovely and intriguing. I'm interested in knowing more about Sutton and about James as well! I love how Ginny plays in there quite well, most James/OC fics that feature the Potter family tend to highlight on Harry and his going-ons post-war but I like the idea of Ginny as a writer and book store owner. Sutton seems delightful and realistic and while most romance-y fics with James begin with a particular hate for the boy, I like how this one is a tad bit more realistic. I'm excited to see more!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! Hopefully I can continue with the realism as I am prone to being a very 'coincidental' writer to say the least. Thanks again for the review, really glad you enjoyed the first chapter (:

 Report Review

Review #19, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Emergency

26th March 2014:
AH.

I've been trying to leave a review on this for days, darling. But as college is ever crazy I have had no luck, so here I am!

First off. I love the bit between Cissa and Andie, it plays into their personalities so well in my head. I can see Cissa being nonchalant about the whole idea of dark magic, like it isn't this cruel thing but almost necessary, or simply not a threat. And the way Andie's mind copes with Cissa not being revolted by the use of dark magic is genius. Because Andie sees Cissa as this sweet and innocent dove, she doesn't see that her sister isn't just blinded by love but also does not think dark magic is bad. But Cissa is blinded by a bit of love, her love for Lucius has properly influenced how she views dark magic certainly. But I've always been a fan of in my mind a Cissa who makes up her own mind as well on things, so I can see her being okay with dark magic.

I'm excited to see how it plays into Andie's eventual seperation from that world!

In the beginning I veyr much disliked George, but in all honesty he's totally growing on me! He cares so much for Ted and his well being that he hunts down the one person he can't stand to see because she hurt Ted. George is a true and steady friend, one who sees the good and wonderful in Ted and strives to protect that, but also will let Ted have his pride at times. George is becoming a favorite of mine!

YAY MORE TED. but also sad because Ted is in such poor health. I can only imagine the pain that Andie feels as possibly losing a light in her life like Ted. He's too important to her heart, even though she knows she won't admit that. I am ever so curious as to why Andie had this effect on Ted, about why she can help him be healthy without a touch of medicine. I have a feeling that whatever it is that it will bring them back together once more, wether they like it or not.

Ted's reaction when he saw Andie though, ouch. Deep waters of emotion and hurt lie ahead for this pair. I'm just ready for them to fall in love and make out! But I'm loving the increasing detail and mystery of it all!

Lovely chapter, keep 'em coming!

Author's Response: Hellooo! It always makes my day to read your reviews. :]

Yes, Cissa and Andie are definitely beginning to uncover some differences that neither was aware existed before. Andromeda really doesn't give Narcissa enough credit: while her love for Lucius certainly does incline her to approve of his actions, she also genuinely doesn't see the harm in dark arts. And later, as the first wizarding war escalates, I picture Cissa forming an even more concrete belief that dark arts are a necessary evil to attain "good" ends.

Aww, I'm glad that George has begun to grow on you. He definitely has a prickly exterior and his unsavory bits, but then again, so does Andromeda. And they're both beginning to realize how much their care for Ted ties them together. Not to mention, George is so fun to write.

Yes. I guess I lied a little bit. It's more Ted, but mostly sick and unconscious Ted. D: I promise that this particular mystery will be answered very soon--most of it in the next chapter! And like you guess, it's definitely something that will unbalance Andromeda's perfectly crafted plan.

Yeahhh, there are some dicey emotions going on with Ted. It certainly isn't smooth sailing ahead. Haha, and one day they will fall in love and have kissy time. ONE DAY. JKR has basically promised that ending. :]

Thanks as always for the wonderful review! The next chapter will be going in the queue soon.


 Report Review

Review #20, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Meetings

16th March 2014:
AH. I am on edge okay. from the beginning.

I love the tense interactions between Lilith and Narcissa and Andie. it just proves how unlike herself Andie is truly being! Also, I love the little details about her necklace and the silver-plated brush, it shows the wealth of the family subtly. Very nice. And her having nightmares still just pokes at the sore spot in her heart for Ted. Oh, Ted. I'm excited for him to come back!

And Sirius time, how I do love him in this story most earnestly. He's wild and lovely, perfectly suited to grow up and leave his family and join the right side. Remus is adorable just as I predicted and his crush on Andie! AHHH. That just makes my life, haha. And then Andie's comment on him finding a girl closer to his own age, perfectly fitted. ;) But the last part of her interaction with Sirius is very important. I think her close relationship with him will go very far in his dealings with his family later in life, in a way I think Andie will be a catalyst to Sirius, because if she walked away and made it out alive so can he.

AND THE INTENSE PART. Rabastan, what a pig. A decent looking pig, but a pig nonetheless. And this dark arts, gasp. Andie is just finding out all of these crazy things about the people around her and I feel like I see this as a dividing point with her and her family and her pureblood life. This is where things will come to a point with her, and ultimately may set her over the edge to the good side.

Lovely again! I'll be watching for updates! Excited for more Ted!

Author's Response: I think that when your best friends begin to throw up red flags, it's a sure sign that you're not acting like yourself. It's hard to put Andromeda through such a tense, uncomfortable period with her besties. But I guess it's just a taste of what's to come. D:

Hahaha, I've missed ickle Sirius, so I was chomping at the bit to bring him back. I'm seriously in love with the little versions of the Marauders. I never thought that writing their twelve-year-old selves could be so fun. It's, like, MARAUDERS JUNIOR. Is it completely messed up that I made Remus crush on Andromeda? Lolz. Cos it's a total possibility, and I wanted to only heighten the awkward factor down the road when Remus falls in love with Andie's daughter. Awk awk awk. I think that may be cruel of me, but I don't even care. But yes, I really wanted a chance to show a sort of camaraderie between Andie and Sirius. At least they can both rest easier in the fact that there's at least one member of the Black family who isn't psycho.

Yeeahh, Rabastan isn't exactly a glowing beacon of morality right now, is he? I debated bringing in the dark arts to this part of Andromeda's story, but I do think that it was a very real possibility that she would've started to find out things about future Death Eaters while she was still in school. It's just unfortunate that they end up being people she knows... :(

Thanks so much for your ever-encouraging reviews! Ted is coming soon!



 Report Review

Review #21, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Adjustment

12th March 2014:
I have so sincerely missed you and your stories!

I love Andie's concern over Ted. Eek. It just makes me so happy and I can't wait for them to actually interact for the first time ever! AHH. Much excitment. Her run in with George is perfect. Because it just shows the struggle in Andie and Ted to go back to not even knowing each other and the struggle for them to do so.

For once I do agree with Lillith haha. Andie is crazy in her plot of marriage with Rabastan! Like what. That's not how marriage is supposed to be! Andie is too good to have that sort of marriage.

The ghost! Ah, I feel like we're opening up a whole new can of worms in the pureblood world to explore with Andie and her reactions and findings on dark magic amongst her fellows. I'm so excited!

Keep writing, I'm always checking for updates! Another lovely chapter. ;)

Author's Response: Hello, hello! I have equally missed your lovely reviews. They never fail to brighten my day. :]

Andie is just a wee bit of an emotional basketcase right now. The trouble is, she isn't willing to admit that to herself. Denial, suppression--she's doing all sorts of damage to her subconscious! If only she'd listen to wise Lilith's advice. Merp.

Yes, the ghost!! I never shirk away from the opportunity to bring in a ghost when I can. Haha. And yes, this definitely starts a whole new subplot to the story, but one that I hope is only going to grow Andromeda's character development.

Thanks so much for the review. It means a bunch to me that you've stuck with the story this far!


 Report Review

Review #22, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Proposal

26th February 2014:
I love this chapter! Simply because it shows that Andie could truly be related to Bellatrix, that some of her was inside of Andie as well.

Now, I think what she is doing is stupid. She's repressing the side of her that desires freedom and happiness and love for the sake of family and "safety" or whatever. And that's nuts! Because she's going to drive herself mad, she's just going to go bonkers. And I dislike Rabastan, I totally think he's a jerkface. But I did enjoy the Rosier bit, haha. They're a fun family to play with.

I think the way she decides to leave her family, truly in the end, is the day she wakes up and realizes that when Narcissa is married off that she's losing her anyway, and in the end she doesn't want to be alone. Without Narcissa who does she have? So that opens the door for Ted. Ugh. I can't wait to see how Ted reacts to all of this.

AND THAT DREAM. Super freaky. Poor Andie, I feel so much for her.

I'm looking forward to more chapters! I did write much of one for my own story before I got so off by emotional things and swamped in course work, so it should post soon. Have a look when you can!

Happy writing!

Author's Response: Yes, Andromeda certainly has some Bellatrix inside of her, and more than she'd care to admit. However, unlike Bella, she has a better handle on how to turn off the cold sociopath routine. And also unlike Bella, Andromeda wasn't made to put on that front 24/7. Like you and Cissy said, it's going to hurt her. And that makes me sad, but so it is. :(

Ee hee hee. Oh, Rosier. It's crazy what a tight-knit, intertwined community the purebloods have, isn't it?

Eep! I saw that you posted a new chapter to Sunshine. Must read. I really hope I'll have a chance to get to it later today.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by MarieBlackIdiotic: Chapter Six

24th February 2014:
AH. I have fallen for your story. For some reason I am very adverse to Victorie/Teddy pairings but also very adverse to some other Wotter stealing him away or something, so I decided to give this one a try.

And I am in love. Annie is so lively and real, and the setting of the Wizarding World is great. Prejudices don't go away so easily, and everything isn't perfectly fine. I like that. I also like having Astoria and Daphne thrown in as they are hardly ever heard of in the books.

If I was Annie I would punch my sister and go snog the heck out of Teddy Lupin.

It's a good thing I'm not her.

I'm excited for updates! :) Happy writing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MarieBlackKeep Calm and Carry On: Twenty-Two

18th February 2014:
So sincerely glad that you updated and wrote more! I have been missing this story in my life.

I terribly love Edie and all of her relationship with Oliver. It's so real and wonderfully messy, I think it's true to life as well. I'm dying to see if Edie will go for Oliver, or the job at The Oracle or just anything. I can't wait to see the masterful ending.

Keep writing! I'm thoroughly enjoying!

Author's Response: Heya! Aww, thanks! I'm so sincerely glad that you've been needing a little Edie in your life :)

"Wonderfully messy" is such an awesome way to describe their relationship. I am taking that as a huge compliment! The ending isn't too far off--I have it outlined all the way up to it. But I keep thinking "Oooh wouldn't it be funny to throw this in there?" and lengthen it a bit more. Whoops! Either way, I don't expect it to go over 28 chapters total (holy crap so many chapters.)

Almost there! Thanks for sticking with it. ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: According to Plan

18th February 2014:
MY FREAKING HEART.

YOU ARE RIPPING IT OUT SO EASILY AND RESUSCITATING IT.

Like they kissed and then Andie was all like oh crap this isn't apart of the plan and then she's like I'm leaving and then splinches herself and then Nelson is freakin' fantastic. And then she goes back to say good bye to Ted and so much drama. Like they are finally having this conversation and all of the feelings. And then Ted goes into a fit but HE LIVES. How the heck did that happen! AND CISSY IS HERE.

So wonderfully juicy and captivating.

I apologize for my absence! My school went on break and then I'm going through some emotional stuffz, oodles of fun, I probably won't be writing for a bit. But I will be reading and commenting. Happy writing!

Author's Response: STAY STRONG, HEART. STAY STRONG.

Gurrrl, you don't ever need to apologize for an absence. I'm happy whenever I see one of your reviews, whenever it happens to come along. I hope you're doing better and taking some time just for you, to rest and relax. That's important! When you do start writing again, I'll only be too happy to read on. :] In the meantime, thanks so much for the continuing reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>