Reading Reviews From Member: MarieBlack
88 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Ten

11th June 2015:



How will this change their work relationship?! SO PUMPED.

Happy writing! xx

Author's Response: Wow you certainly read that quickly, didn't you? I'm really glad that you seemed to enjoy the chapter. I hope to write some more today and hopefully update within the week! Thanks so much for leaving a review, I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MarieBlackHow not to be a Woodley: Of Fangirls and Fanatics

31st May 2015:
I truly, truly truly am loving this story! I think the angle is so intriguing and with all the James Potter fluffy romances running around these days it's almost hard for me to keep them all straight. But this one has totally drawn me in!!

Seth is just realistic and wonderful. She's entirely relatable despite her unrelatable background for most. She's quirky, but not a crazy loon. She's down to earth and clever. I really like her. I like the small Chemistry between her and James, although I am extremely curious about how it will pan out with the crazy fan girls and threats.

I like James the more he comes around in these chapters, he's growing on me. ;)

Best of luck writing in this crazy time of life, I'm loving what you're putting out currently. :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! I can't even tell you how happy your review has made me :) I'm glad you see something different in this story and I love how you call the thing between Seth and James "small chemistry" because that's exactly what I was going for;

Of course, I always love to get positive feedback on Seth; OCs can be such annoying brats and often ruin perfectly good stories, so this really means a lot to me!

I'm glad James is growing on you haha... He is a little full of himself but he can definitely be more than that if he tries ;)

Thank you so much for the review... I'm sorry I haven't answered sooner, it was another crazy-busy week. But you definitely made it better :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MarieBlackEven Stars Die: Even Stars Die

20th April 2015:
I love this. Mostly because I have a deep love for Regulus among the untold stories in the Harry Potter series. But honestly, I love how he is written here. Brave in the end, but ultimately a puppet in the beginning. It is chilling his need for atonement and how he goes about it. I like the family complex and the push for him to do right, it's incredibly fitting to the Black family.

I really enjoyed this! Thanks so much for writing well about one of my favorite characters! :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read this and leave the first review on it. =) I'm glad you enjoyed the portrayal of Regulus, especially because he is one of your favourite characters. I'm glad you liked his arc from being manipulated by his parents and striving to please them to struggling to redeem himself.

Thanks again for such a sweet review! =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by MarieBlackImpact: Inundation

15th March 2015:

Brava, m'dear. Simply brava.

The moments between Draco and Theo simply tear at my heart. I think you write it brilliantly, honestly. They're both men so desperately seeking redemption for a past life, and Theo is honestly a step ahead. The relationship between Cecily and Draco is wonderful honestly. He cares so much for her, and I think a lot of it has to do with that she's family but doesn't bear his name. I'm leaning towards his dissent with Scorpious as guilt, like he feels so guilty about sticking this poor boy with his last name. Oh, man. So much analyzing there.

I'm not totally on the Silas hatred side these days. I think his way of raising from family attributes to a lot of his bad qualities.

The row between Rose and Cecily is very well written I think. They both explode in different ways, it felt very real and like it could actually happen. It falls in line with their characters as well.

I love that they make up and start making moves to being better friends. I like that Cecily is starting to see she has some changing to do. She has to open up to people. I'm glad she starts with Rose.

Cecily's attitude towards Potter is the most amusing to watch. I think they're rather good for each other admittedly. I think they both need the balance of each other with Rose and Scorp around.

But that ending, talk about a cliff hanger. Update soon, I'll be watching! And happy writing xx.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MarieBlackEllington Ice Queen: Four

15th March 2015:

I recently dived into this story and I have to say, I'm incredibly intrigues and floored to know Ellington and her brother. Most curiously, I find myself dying to know what sort of punishment they know of on their father's bad side. Eep. You have certainly caught my interest.

And now the plot thickens with Lucy and James in the mix! Lucy isn't all that heard about in most next gen fics so I'm particularly glad she's popping up in this one! I'll be looking for updates, happy writing xx.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad that my story has caught your interest :) as for the punishment, I guess you'll have to stick around and find out ;) and I'm glad that you're also happy that Lucy's popped up! Thanks so much!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by MarieBlackImpact: Altercation

1st March 2015:
No lie I had began to read this story at one point but had to get on to other things and I just returned to finish it.

I'm not sure what to make of it with everything. Like, should I hate Silas because I kind of do. He's a jerk and half, honestly. And yes, I see that Cee-Cee may see some good in him and while it may be there what he chooses to show people is more representable of his character and how he treats Cee-Cee is as well. She's just a little toy to him to mess with when he's bored. UGH.

Anyway. I like how impulsive Rose in a sense, she got her mother's fire and her father's inability to logic himself from saying something, it's lovely character. Her and Scorpious are made for another it seems, I do love a good Rose and Scorp pairing.

Albus is intriguing, he's quiet for sure compared to James but he's still a bit sly and cool I suppose. In his own way.

I really like that Scorpious is in Gryffindor and Rose is in Slytherin, it's like a step in the other direction for their families.

Also, on a side note, I really love the way Draco is written and how he is changed in a sense but still similar, I think it's hard for everyone to capture that in Next Gen stories but I think you do it fabulously.

I shall be eagerly awaiting another chapter. Happy writing, xx.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you came back to finish my story!

I am constantly going back and forth on my feelings about Silas. He is definitely reprehensible, but the next time he shows up I plan on exploring that other side a bit more and maybe even figuring out what he really wants from Cee-Cee. Who knows, maybe I'll even be able to turn you. :)

I'm glad you appreciate Rose--I did try to ensure that she inherited plenty of her parents' respective idiosyncrasies while trying to make her completely her own (which doesn't make as much sense in writing as it did in my head, actually, but I'm hoping you get what I mean). ScoRose is absolutely my favorite Next Gen pairing--always good to meet a fellow shipper.

Albus is very different from James, for sure, but I'm glad you find him intriguing.

I decided to put Scorpius and Rose in Gryffindor and Slytherin, respectively, partially because that's just what fits their personalities and partially to show that things really have changed for this generation.

Ahh, it makes me really happy that you liked my portrayal of Draco so much! That was probably the hardest part for me, because I wanted to remain true to the character while showing that he is a much different person in some very important ways. Your praise there means a lot to me.

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to review--it was lovely. I hope you're still enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MarieBlackPretty in Potions: The Wild Brunch

1st March 2015:
I'm very intrigued by this story already. I know you have a crazy schedule but I'll be on the look out for the next chapter!

I like the way you write in that you give a lot of insight not just to Athena now but also how she was in schooling, with the bullying and even the anecdote from her childhood. It's lovely.

The Malfoy's seem suprisingly accurately portrayed, ah, the still prejudiced grandparents,haha. I'm intrigued to know more and see where this goes, happy writing!

Author's Response: I'm going to be updating soon, sorry for the delay! Thank you so much for your kind words, I think it's really important to cover all aspects of a character that make them who they are which isn't just the present events happening to them. Again, thank you for the praise--I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MarieBlackYour Hand in Mine: Difficult to Say

31st January 2015:
This has positively brightened up my lazy Saturday afternoon! I often scroll through the recently added stories and when I saw this one I about fell out of my couch!


I quite like this transition into the new story. It seems brighter, perhaps. There is a hope of making it through all things that stems from Andie in this one, it's lovely.

I love her job at the ministry and with Arthur Weasley no less! It makes for great friends in the family, ahh. I can see them getting along as such. Andie is in such a different place in this one, it's so crazy. I like how KYD plays a part in the storyline here too, but you bring us back to it and explain why she is referencing those times. I did notice in the first chapter when it talks about Andromeda and Arthur, the line says "Andromeda like Arthur," so I was guessing it should be liked! I'm not a huge grammar person, and in fact I'm rather crappy at it but I thought I'd mention it.

I love how all their past comes in to play with her pregnancy the hesitation of telling him and even more so Ted's family background. I like that we're discovering more about his family, the story is really morphing from Andie's perspective alone to the story of Ted and Andie, surviving the world together.

It's lovely and enchanting and I'm so eager to read more, thank you for being so quick for a follow up story! Happy writing!

Author's Response: Aah, hello stranger! So sorry I fell off the grid there for a bit. Life came barreling in, and it was Crazy Town here. Hope you're doing well!

I'm so glad this brightened an afternoon of yours! You're right, I am going with a lighter tone, at least at first. Because as we all know, the brightness can't last forever. D:

Haha, I couldn't resist putting a Weasley in the picture. It's just too much fun. Thank you so much for pointing out that typo! Seriously, I always appreciate it when you catch things like that.

Yes! I'm definitely making this more of a joint story for Ted and Andie. It really does feel like them against the world sometimes, and I'm so excited to explore their bond as they grow individually and closer together.

Thank you for the review! I'm really hoping to pick the story back up in the coming months. And I have got to catch up with YOUR story. I see that I am many chapter behind, but I'm a little selfishly happy that I get to binge read in the near future. :]

 Report Review

Review #9, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Irresistible

17th January 2015:
I am so unbelievably glad that almost a year ago I stumbled upon this story and found a brilliant writer who began to unfold a wonderful tale about and unlikely pair.

It has been a pleasure and an honor to spend my weeks looking for a new chapter from you and indulging fully when there was one.

I love how you wrote this ending, little snippets of how things progressed and ultimately how they settled.

The part about Andie and Ted meeting on the train as first years, well it just ties it all in rather nicely doesn't it? It's wonderful, and beautiful. I love the parts about the people around them as well, like the constant sadness over Cissa, rightly so because of a deeply sisterly bond. Also, about George and Lillith, as their personalities fit so well into this ending.

Andie is happier then I ever could have imagined.

Thank you for a lovely story, adventure, and path at finding just how wonderful real genuine love can be.

Author's Response: Hey you.


You've been such a cheerleader from Day One, and I am so glad you stumbled upon this story a year ago, too. Thank you for all the encouragement and for sticking it out for 37 whole chapters. You are FABULOUS. :)

I'm so glad the ending met with your approval! It's always tough wrapping up a story like this, but then again I cheated a bit by making room for a little sequel. :)

Thank you again for all the reviews. They really have kept me motivated and grinning as I've written Tedromeda's story. Hugs from me to you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Dissonance & Resolve

27th December 2014:

So, a little update on me, my laptop went crazy for about two weeks over my break before I decided, 'maybe I should have someone look at this,' thus I did and got it fixed and I get to catch back up on this! YAY.

This chapter. I mean, I feel like as readers we're agreeing with Andie's sentiment, this, at long last. It's so lovely. I feel like this is one of those rare stories where you know how everything falls into place with the main couple, and yet you are so enthralled to see how they get there. You enjoy the ups and downs, and hate them for being dumb, and triumph in their personal victories because you know what it all leads to.

Ted and Andie are finally together, and not because Ted kept pushing it but because Andie realized how important Ted is to her, how attached she has become. How much she needs Ted, and I think if some thing like what happened with Cissa hadn't happened it may have been much longer until she realized that.

They have a lot of hard tasks and situations to face, but they have each other now. That is so wonderful.

Also, on a another note, the scene between Lillith and Andie is so touching. I believe we are slowly seeing Andie's true admiration for her friend. She admires Lillith's ability to not care about blood nearly as much as everyone else, someone who is a fan of true love and happiness even when it's not with a fellow pureblood. She is the right friends for Andie in these times.

Lovely, lovely, lovely chapter. I hope to read more soon!

Author's Response: OH HI THERE.

You're the absolute sweetest for sticking with this story from Day One, and I'm SO tickled pink that you finally are reading GOOD NEWS for Tedromeda. It's taken them long enough, hasn't it?

Yes! It was very important to me that Andromeda be the one to realize things on her own. She had to be the one who came back to Ted, who made the decision to stay, because up until now, all she's done is leave. And it's sad to think that, yes, if Cissa hadn't broken ties with her, she might not have gone back to him so soon. If at all. D:

I'm so glad you liked the Lilith & Andie scene, too. It's been an experience, developing their friendship. Throughout the course of writing the story, Lilith continues to surprise me! But yes, she's just the kind of friend Andie needs at a time like this.

Thanks so much for such lovely words! I should have the next chapter up soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Breakdown

4th December 2014:

But let me address the bit of sorrow first.

This chapter was such a loop! I was prepared for the hard hit of Cissa disowning Andie in her own way, of her losing that sister she cared so much for. It broke my heart to see it happy, poor lonely Andie.

Although I love Lillith more and more as the story progresses. She is a valued friend and deeply understanding. It constantly boggles me that I have come to love her character because in the beginning I believe I saw no real redemption in her personality. But I looove her. And George. So cute, so perfectly cute together!

I cannot begin to tell you how wonderfully you have written McGonagall. She is by far the strongest woman in the original series and I always absolutely delight in seeing her shine through in fan fiction, in people breathing life in to her character and just displaying her so well.


Once again you have floored me and moved my emotions, happy writing as you continue! My semester is coming to an end so I'm hoping to jump back in to writing here as well!

Author's Response: HURRAY HURRAY.

You know I'm behind on reviews when I have TWO of yours to respond to. Whoops. Ehehe.

I'm glad you've become a fan of Lilith. I really enjoy writing for her, and honestly she's surprised me several times. I had no idea when I set out that she'd turn out to be the friend she is, but I'm rather happy she did. Andromeda needs all the moral support she can get at this point.

Aw, thank you so much! It really means a lot to me that you think my portrayal of McGonagall is on target. I love her so much, and she's such an epic character that I wanted to do her justice. I was so thrilled to have the chance to incorporate her into KYD.

AND YES YES YES. I suppose a reply to any of the rest of this is inconsequential because you've already read the next chapter at this point. WAHOO.

Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MarieBlackRush: leap

7th November 2014:
Oh man. So much in the beginning chapter and I am just aching to know more!

I feel like it has been such a while since I have seen a like Josie's. But I adore it. I love the way that nearly everyone is given character not just in their speech but also in the way they move and respond and interact in a group. You write them so well. And I'm so intrigued by the cliff hanger ending. You have made a fan out of me in only one chapter, dear! I wish you happy writing and I'll be back as more chapters come out! Happy writing, xx.

Author's Response: Hello, MarieBlack! I'm sorry for getting back to you so late, I've been on the most wonderful holiday that has unfortunately kept me from responding right away!
And speaking of wonderful things, thank you so much for your kind words! I'm grinning like a loon as I type. Your comments on my characters are so lovely, and I'm really thrilled you like Josie - I'm quite fond of her myself :)
A new chapter should be up in 1-2 weeks, after I've settled back into the routine of not being on vacation!

Nora xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Eight

3rd November 2014:
It has been a while since I commented but I so enjoyed catching up with Dom and Lysander. And can I just say I'm anxiously awaiting the day that they kiss eachother. Swoon.

Anywho, things are heating up in their case AND their relationship. As much as I want them to figure out their feelings for one another, I also want them to get this case right and write a fantastically awesome story about it.

I'm eager to read more, soon! :) Happy writing, xx.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I just updated, so I hope you're still reading. I'm planning to update soon, too. Really glad you've enjoyed it so far.

 Report Review

Review #14, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Oil & Water

27th October 2014:



For two very smart individuals, they are so dumb. Okay. Rant about that over.

I just know that a love like theirs is worth fighting for, worth marrying over, and worth any future they could have apart. I'm on edge to see how it all fall together. But I think it has something to do with Cissa...

Speaking of her, I think this is where Andie really realizes that the sisterly bond she has with Cissa could only really be hindered by one thing: Cissa really is a Black, and that trumps their relationship. I do believe in the future Cissa would make the choice to reach out to her sister again. But right now I think she'll always choose the path that leads to Lucius and an ideal life. It breaks my heart. Sisterly bonds are supposed to outlive anything and any choice. But Cissa doesn't seem to share that regard.

I'm eager for whatever comes next! But I know it will be a hard one, keep up the writing when you can! :)

Author's Response: AHHH. HELLO.

Yeah, so this is Andromeda and Ted at the height of their stupidity. :( But if it makes you feel any better, they only get smarter from here on out... Slowly, but surely. They just need a few circumstances to shake them up.

And yes, this is game time for the Cissa & Andie fallout, which makes me a hundred different shades of sad. You've called out Cissa's mindset precisely. What matters to her, even over her identity as a sister, is her identity as a Black. She lives in a world where everything pans out perfectly, and she's therefore deeply upset at anyone who stands in the way of a perfect, smooth life course. In this case, that person is Andromeda. D:

Thanks so much for reviewing! I've begun work on the next chapter, and I hope to have it posted in the coming week!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MarieBlackMiddle Clouds: Misunderstandings

10th October 2014:
I'm really intrigued by this story and Rose in this bit. The relationship between her and Malfoy is so calm but brewing under the surface, I really like it. I love the descriptive way you write, it's fascinating! I'm eager to read more, happy writing!

Author's Response: Aaah! Thank you so much for leaving a review, it was such a nice surprise. I'm very glad you like the story and the descriptions. And 'calm but brewing under the surface' is just what I was going for! Honestly, this review makes me so happy! Chapter three is almost done and should be up soon, I hope you'll enjoy it. Thank you again! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Curse

15th September 2014:

I do rather like this plot twist though, it makes absolute sense with their thinking and all that jazz. I can't imagine they just let them leave the family unscathed honestly, because they are so terribly violent and ruthless people at heart. It makes me unbearably sad for Ted and Dromeda though.

I read this some time ago admittedly but I just found some time to write a proper review.

Walburga is awful but she is clearly represented as who Bellatrix takes after in their family. Like most obviously with her sadistic attitude of punishment. I like to think Cissa takes after their mother, much more reserved and not nearly as out right cruel. She let's Walburga handle that. So in a way it's like their personalities are lived out in those two. But Dromeda, she is like them in ways but also Ted has had this amazing impact on her. It's the coolest thing to see!

And I feel so bad for them and you need to write more and okay. Happy writing!

Author's Response: You didn't think I'd make it THAT easy, did you?! Haha.

And yes, it's extremely tough to put Ted and Dromeda through, but I have a master plan! We'll just see if it pans out like it should... :]

Yes! I see the Walburga/Bellatrix and Druella/Narcissa parallel in much the same way. As psycho as Bellatrix ends up becoming, I knew there had to be several events in her past that influenced her sadistic know-how. And sweet Auntie Walburga is certainly one of them.

Thanks so much for the reviewww! Things are super hectic IRL, but I hope to have a new chapter posted soon!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Four

5th August 2014:
Another great chapter! Admittedly I'm more engrossed in this story then in my work, I love the dynamic between Dom and Lysander. They hate each other, but not in a cruel way, deep down I think they both don't truly hate the other. Years of competition have ruled their relationship so it'll be interesting to see the transition from that sort of relationship to working along side one another. Lysander was much more likable in this chapter, he's cocky but genuine at times. I'm so eager to see more of that. And also a Dom that is doing something right, that's always entertaining. Here's to hoping they get a big break on the story!

Author's Response: Dom and Lysander have a complicated situation for sure. More about that will be revealed as time goes on. I'm really glad you can see how they are starting to get along better over time, I've been trying to illustrate that subtly. Next update should be posted within a day or two! As always, thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Three

30th July 2014:
Another chapter, yay. My heart is happy!

Seeing more fully the interactions between Dom and Lysander is so great! They're snarky to one another, but at least Dom has enough sense to be smart and pick her battles. Even if Lysander's ego is as big as the entire Hogwarts castle. I'm eager to see how their relationship progresses. ;)

I feel like I can relate to Dom really well because she carries the "middle child syndrome." She wants to make a name for herself away from her fabulous siblings. She's always striving to be better and do better and is quick enough to grab at an opportunity, even if it involves Lysander. She's very easy to relate to!

I'm eager for more, happy writing! xx

Author's Response: So glad you're still enjoying it! Dom most definitely has middle child syndrome, and that will keep popping up as an issue for sure. Next update is on its way, should be up within the week...there will be a lot of Dom/Lysander interaction so get excited ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Confession

30th July 2014:

Anywho. Let's dive in, yes?

Andromeda Black, the woman of power and poise herself. I like that in these moments of her being who she was raised to be you see the identifiable qualities in her that are so portrayed through Narcissa and Bellatrix in the books. You can see the family linkage so clearly that it makes her undeniably their sister.

I feel like parting ways with Cissa will be the hardest thing she has to do. I feel like it may send me straight to tears out of empathy, I can't imagine having to leave behind my own sister. It is utterly heartbreaking to know she will have to.

And then Ted, lovely Ted showing up in her room. And here to apologize, he is such a fine man. He is so Hufflepuff too, and even though he carries a sturbborness there is hardly an ounce of pride within him and that makes him absolutely lovely. AND SAYING I LOVE YOU, I'm so proud of Andie. I think it was right in her saying it first, it shows that she is sure of how she feels and I bet it quiets a lot of doubt from Ted. They're hitting this precious stage of coupledom that I have been eagerly awaiting.

Back to Onyx House, I am with Ted on this as I am so very very nervous. Especially when she arrives and Aunt Horrible is there. I hate that woman. You've got me on my toes to see how this all goes next!

Happy writing, I really sincerely enjoyed this chapter all the way through! xx

Author's Response: BUAHAHA. I'm sorry, I know, I knowww, that's bad of me. But at this point, I've just had to face the facts: I will probably be writing cliffhangers from here on out. You've been forewarned! And I'm apologizing in advance. :)

I'm so happy to hear that you see Andromeda's resemblance to her sisters. I wanted to give her a chance to show that, if she wanted, she could totally own that Ice Queen Lady of the House of Black persona. She was raised for that, and it's still very much in her blood. But now she's just using it for a better purpose.

Sigh. Like I've mentioned before, I am NOT looking forward to writing Cissa and Andromeda's final exchange. I may have it planned out, but that's not going to make it any easier emotionally.

Ted can be an exemplar of Hufflepuffness when he wants to be. Andromeda finally said it! And yes, it was very important to me to have her say it first, too. I mean, Ted has told her he loves her before, but in a very high stress situation. This was Andromeda's chance to relieve his doubts, and that's exactly what Ted needed at this point.

As for Onyx House... Suffice to say, it won't be pretty. :(

Thanks so much for the review! Hope to post the next chapter soon.

 Report Review

Review #20, by MarieBlackUndercover Heart: Chapter Two

25th July 2014:
Hm. I'm interested to see where this lead takes Dom! :) I like the way you write, and the little bits you've revealed about Dom already in her dialoguing moments.

Ahhh, a crush on Vicky's Ted?! I'm excited to see more of that come out in the story, and also why being at Shell Cottage is so hard for Dom. Being the middle child is never an easy task, especially when she's itching to be a real reporter. Hopefully this lead is her big break. ;)

Even though Lysander isn't in this chapter I did want to hit on him because I'm so intrigued, mostly because he seems so smooth and snarky even, I'm curious about whether he has an Luna-y tendencies as well!

It is a lovely read! Happy writing, xx.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! I hope the mystery has got you hooked...and I promise you'll discover more as I keep writing. I plan to update within the week so check back soon. Thanks again for leaving feedback, it means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #21, by MarieBlackAn Illusion of Sanity: Apocalyptic

19th July 2014:
I just stumbled upon this story in the recently added and I'm so sincerely glad I did! :) Usually I find myself disappointed in the American-with-comes-to-Hogwarts stories but you have delightfully whisked away my inhibitions of the topic!

I'm so sorry I waited four chapters to review but I hate stopping when I'm on a reading roll! I love Perri; she's spunky, a bit clumsy, but quick-witted. Her back-story is so delightfully intriguing honestly, I'm eager to see the reasons that brought her to good ole Hoggywarts, and see where it takes her.

Also, oh man, so many fit and attractive blokes, I'm eager to see where her affections will lie. Will it be Freddy, the smirking beater? Or Finn, though secretly I totally ship Finn and Roxy. Or even Roan the mysterious hunky captain. ;) I'm pulling for Freddy on this one though!

I'm eager to read more, happy writing on it all! You have made an avid reader out of me!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so glad you stumbled upon my story too! Ah, I did? I had never really read any stories about Americans, so I was like, hey, why not? Aw you don't have to apologize! I do the same thing. I read through all the chapters before I post a review!

Eee, I'm so glad you like Perri! I love planning and writing her character. There's something so natural about her that makes her so easy to write. You will definitely learn soon about her reasoning for coming to Hogwarts :P Ah yes, I'm a huge sucker for fit and attractive blokes. Ooo Finn and Roxy, I had never really thought of that! As for Perri, you'll have to wait and see xD

Thank you so much for reading! Your lovely review absolutely made my day, so thank you, thank you!

xx Rachel

 Report Review

Review #22, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Fumbling

17th July 2014:
Ah, my summer has returned to me which means more time to gobble up this story! Where to begin!

I think the first thing that grabbed me was Andie returning the ring, oh man will that be a stir. She really is leaving it all behind for him, and for herself I believe as well. As much as leaving her family was for Ted at the end of the day I think it would have been something she would have considered down the road, Ted just happened to be the catalyst for it. There is something in Andie that just ticks differently than the rest of the Blacks.

AND OH MY GREAT GOLLY GOSH. That bedroom scene! Can we say swoon? Like major super swoonage. Like so much. Like when Ted says "You're my recovery," I don't know how Andie held it all together. But it was so freakin' fantastic until in comes Nelson. And it is so wonderfully amusing how he reacts as a brother, albeit it does lead to a fight between Ted and Andie.

Ted and Andie's fight was coming though, I think it was needed to open Ted's eyes. He doubts the change in her, he thinks that she can just flip back to who she was the moment she counts the cost of what she has done. He doesn't have the faith in Andie that he should. He's got a little growing up to do, it's not just Andie who needs to grow any longer. Nelson is such a dear brother too, even to Andie.

Andie's family business makes me exceedingly nervous. I just want her to be strong through it all. If there was ever a time where I wish I could show a character their future of Nymphadora and her happy family to come I would love to show her that, to make her brave I guess. I love Andie!

Keep 'em coming, and happy writing! I intend to see this to the end!

Author's Response: Aw, hurray! It was so fantastic to read this review.

Yes, this was a pretty pivotal chapter for Dromeda. Even though she already set the wheels in motion back when she saved Ted, I think that giving back that ring is the first time that the weight of Andromeda's decision has really struck her. It's going be rough for her from here on out. :(

Dawrh, I thought it was high time that Ted and Dromeda get a *little* bit of romance, however completely ill-timed and misguided it is. And count on Nelson to always step in and make things awk.

The fight was definitely coming. Both Ted and Andromeda have some lessons to learn--but especially Ted. A lot of his doubt comes from his personal insecurity, and that's something he needs to work with.

Andie's family business is making ME nervous, too. Haha. It's going to be pretty excruciating for her, but as we of course know on this side of the story, she has the courage and the character to make it through!

Thanks so much, as always, for the lovely review! Hope to be posting more SOON.

 Report Review

Review #23, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Aftermath

20th June 2014:
Ah, I never tire of this story! It's crazy that you are 30 chapters in! Bravo, congratulations!

The bit between Nelson and Dromeda is so dang endearing. Like ahh. I'm so ready for them to be truly brother and sister! Plus I think Andie's reactions are spot on, like she thinks about how much she has changed actively and also her reactions to finding that Ted had told his brother about her. I'm guessing she isn't used to that openness within her own family, it may be a bit shocking. It's cool to also hear a little snippet on the Tonks' parents. I hope to hear more on them!

You write McGonagall well! I always envision her the way she comes across from the books and even the movies. The stories checking out set me on edge, I was a bit sure that something would go amiss. But Andie is handling herself so calmly and well in all of the crazy chaos of the situation. I feel like after her decision to take on Rabastan some side of her that is very Slytherin like has taken over, even for the good of protecting herself and her friends from punishment. McGonagall knowing what it means for her to stay and have her family informed it the kicker, Andie really is making the choice to be with Ted! I think that's the BEST THING EVER. LIKE DANG FINALLY GIRL. We all knew Ted was the one from day one, wow.

I am so excited about this unexpected couple and it makes me so happy! I have shipped since I saw the first connection. AH.

I think it's good to see the moment between Andie and Lillith too. It kind of gives you insight into the fact that Andie is giving up her whole world, and everyone knows it.

Excited for more chapters! Happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the sweet words! I honestly can't believe that I'm 30 chapter in. o.o It doesn't even compute. Haha.

I really like it when I get the chance to do some Nelson/Andromeda interaction. Like you say, it's very different from any type of familial relationship that Andromeda is used to--even with Cissa. I think that Nelson gets Andromeda in ways that even Ted can't because, ahem, Ted is currently blinded by LURVE. But yes, one day they will be in-laws and be able to have all sorts of sibling interactions. :)

Aw, thanks! I'm really glad that McGonagall reads okay to you. I love her character, and I know she's so revered, so I was nervous about taking her on but really wanted to bring her into the story for some reasons that are yet to be revealed.

Bahaha, it's true! After all the madness, Andromeda is finally making a bold decision with her eyes wide open. It took her long enough, yeah?

Heh heh heh. More George & Lilith to come, I promise!

But yes, Andie and Lilith are both becoming painfully aware of just what Andromeda's actions are leading to. It's a bit like a slo mo train wreck. D:

Thanks so much for the lovely, lovely review! Can't wait to read more about Claire's adventures, too. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Hurt

25th May 2014:
OH MY GREAT GOLLY GOODNESS OH MERLIN OH DEAR. I am just freaking out because there is so much plot LIFE in this chapter! Where to comment first.

Well. I OFFICIALLY THINK RABASTAN IS THE SCUM OF THE EARTH FOREVER AND EVER. He sucks, he's no greater than his brother. But seriously his thoughts and words on the Dark Lord seem so accurate. Voldemort always does that, he empowers his followers in a way to kill and be purely evil, and in a way his followers are just a bunch of insecure people who need someone to believe in them and stand behind as well. I want to rip hit guts out for what he did to Ted, and even though unforgivables are unforgivable I get why Andie enjoyed performing them on him so much. He has caused her so much pain, so much agony in all honesty.

I would just like to say that I am TOTALLY noticing these bits of chemistry between George and Lillith, ah I ship them so dearly. I truly hope it takes off and if not they're fabulous friends for the pair!

Ah, Dromeda and Ted. I am so excited to see the steps Andie takes of getting away from her family and the steps she takes toward Ted. Just the fact that she is forsaking her reputation and family in these moments to be with him! I'm not totally sure it will last, that she won't waver with Cissa but I'm hoping her heart and love for Ted take the stage.

I'm excited for what is to come, happy writing!

Author's Response: Now, come on. Tell me how you REALLY feel about Rabastan. Hahaha. I had such a hard time not writing Rabastan as some evil, cackling villain but still demonstrating the fact that he can act in ways that are quite--well, evil. And I think it's a bit terrifying for Andie to see that when she's grown up with Rabastan and, until recently, held his same views. It's frightening to see what a corrupt leader (aka Voldie) can incite in his followers.

Haha. I've been getting so many comments about G&L. I've got a plan for them for suresies, and it's a'hatching. :)

Thank you so much for you ever-lovely and faithful reviews. They always put a smile on my face!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MarieBlackKill Your Darlings: Hogsmeade

19th May 2014:

You have made me entirely fall in love with Lillith, honestly. She is such an amazing friend to Andie, and I fear her only voice of reason on the side of her Slytherin counterparts. I love her accepting nature of Andie loving Ted because it fits her personality. It's not random or anything, Lillith is just this chick who isn't super concerned with blood status like all the rest. I suppose that comes from her family not being as prestigious as the Blacks. She's right about telling Andie to tell Cissa, she should. I kind of wish Cissa would surprise her and be accepting of Andie's love for Ted. But I think ultimately her love for Lucius would out shine that, and that's why she would cut ties with Andie. I'm just trying to predict this ending!

Bringing George in was a smart move. BUT AS SOON AS I REALIZED LILLITH WAS INVOLVED TOO I REALLY WANT GEORGE IN LILLITH TO FALL IN LURRRVE. I ship it. But I think they would be perfect for one another.


Hate Rabastan, he always gives me a creepy feeling even when he's being nice. I like how the other boys are going to be stopped, it shows that good may even win a little.


Happy writing though!

Author's Response: Haha, YAY! I'm so glad that you deem this story to be getting better and not descending into utter, incoherent madness. XD

Also happy that you've fallen in love with Lilith. I quite like her myself since I modeled parts of her on one of my own friends. She's certainly a voice of reason in Andromeda's life right now, though that may not be her intent. Lilith is just stoked by all the drama and forbidden lurve going on, though yes, she really does care about Andie's happiness too.

The HMS George & Lilith is getting quite a lot of backing these days! :) Only time will tell what fate has in store for them. Twiddles thumbs...

Sorry to have left you on edge, but LOOK! Another chapter, fresh off the presses. I have a feeling it may leave you hating Rabastan even more. o.o

Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>