Reading Reviews From Member: Maybe
  
80 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MaybeKeeping Secrets: After the Battle

3rd August 2012:
This is so sad and such a great way to open the story. Charlie is probably the most under-appreciated Weasley, having been absent from most of the books but the way you've characterised him here, showing his grief over Fred, feels so right! I am so intrigued to know exactly why Charlie feels so guilty over it - his internal monologue to Fred was so sad and it makes me just want to comfort him. But the fact that he's not sure he even wants to be comforted - I thought that was a really interesting trait.
I also loved the way you brought out the relationship between the two eldest siblings because, of course you're right, they would have a bond like that - I don't know why I never saw it before. I really liked the interaction between the two of them and you could see the strong brotherly bond between them.
Great opening chapter, so full of emotion.

Huffle-Hugs! -Emily

Author's Response: Emily! Thank you SO much, lovely!

I completely agree; Charlie really IS the most under-appreciated Weasley... so here's to hoping that this novel can at least make SOME progress towards changing that! :) Aww yay! I'm really glad you think that his characterization and the grief here feel right; that's one thing I was particularly worried about while writing this (ask my Beta, she'll tell you :P) I know if I were Charlie and I hadn't been there when Fred died, I'D have felt guilty, so I was hoping it would make sense for Charlie to feel that way, too.

Haha; a couple of people have now commented on the Bill/Charlie brotherly love going on here. I actually didn't intend for it to turn out that way, it just... came out of my pen, if you know what I mean. I think they would definitely have a bond like that though; they'd be much closer to each other than the others because they were the first two. And, like you, I didn't really saw it before writing this.

Thank you SO, SO much dear! Huffle-Hugs in return! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MaybeLost Lullaby: 1: Life and Death

19th July 2012:
Oh! I was not expecting such an abrupt turning point in the first chapter! This was so sad. At the beginning I was thinking what a cute couple Teddy and Victoire make and I thought Victoire's calmness was a really interesting thing to do with the character. But now that I've read to the end the calmness feels foreboding and gives the chapter this edge that I really like. The emotions that Teddy felt were really well portrayed :(

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it! And her calmness is a bit foreboding, isn't it? Yeah, I totally did that on purpose...(or not, but I'll claim it). Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MaybeJust a Kiss: Just a Kiss

19th July 2012:
I really loved how this fit together with the different kinds of kisses. It seems like they've been put into categories, which is a very Hermione thing to do and I liked the repeated format with the last line of the paragraph containing a 'but'. The description was lovely and I can imagine each of the scenarios vividly. And of course I loved the ending because I'm such a hardcore Romione shipper that I practically flailed at how cute it was :)

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm glad you enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MaybeLove, Everlasting: Love, Everlasting

19th July 2012:
I realised that I never left a review for this story even though I read it over a year ago! I love this so much. Molly and Arthur were so adorable and I enjoyed this little glimpse into their lives without their children - I think they deserve a break after all those kids! But I think you got both of their personalities to shine through in this one-shot and I loved the little touch about how they had a tradition to take a photo in front of the tree. It's a shame they had to stop when Fred and George became too much to handle but it's so sweet that now they're going to be able to start it up again :)

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by MaybeWilted Flower: War

19th July 2012:
First of all, I think you did a brilliant job on getting inside Pansy's head - her characterisation was very good and I enjoyed getting insight into the pureblood mindset. I especially liked the mentality that the pureblood youth must be protected and that Pansy took her job very seriously, not wanting to disappoint the Dark Lord.

The descriptions of the manor were very interesting - the difference of the Parkinson family from other pureblood families where they don't need to lavishly decorate, I think really sets them apart and will make this story very interesting. I also think it adds to Pansy's characterisation. Like she feels she's superior to even other purebloods. Her confidence as well added to the overall sense of her character. A great start to the story!

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm so glad that you think I did a good job of getting inside her head - I'm trying hard to ensure that I continue to characterize her right. It's interesting to write from her perspective because, at least in this story, she truly believes in the pureblood supremity but she has to hide her beliefs because Voldemort lost the war.

Yes, Pansy definitely feels that the Parkinsons have an edge over everybody else. Her devotion to her family will play an important role in this story.

Great idea with the Hufflepuff review spree! Maybe I'll join you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MaybeS.S. Memoirs: Parselmouth: Chapter 1

18th July 2012:
I really liked this insight into Salazar's childhood. You can see that the Slytherin pride is already instilled in the brothers and I think it'll be really interesting to see it grow as they become older. The only thing that I would say is that this moves along at a very swift pace and I think it may just be a little too fast, or maybe it's that the chapter is rather short...

I find the idea of three Wizarding families living in a house that is bigger on the inside interesting, especially now that the Muggle Pope has issued a warning and they must go into hiding. I can't wait to read more of your interpretation of Slytherin's backstory.

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MaybeS.S. Memoirs: Parselmouth: Introduction

18th July 2012:
Such an intriguing opening to the story! I really want to know what that chess set is all about and, aside from that this raised a lot of questions. The dust settling so quickly on the chess set is very unnerving and the beginning of what I'm assuming is the memoirs of Salazar Slytherin is very interesting...

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MaybeFalling for You: One

18th July 2012:
Aw, it's the beginning of something great! I thought this was a really sweet opening, if a little rushed, especially from the part after they left for Privet Drive to when they arrived back at Grimmauld Place. The mention of Remus and Sirius grinning together made me smile and I thought Remus' little comment to Tonks about her hair was adorable. I very much look forward to reading more about the two of them in this story because I think your characterisation of everyone is great.

I don't know whether Britpicking matters to you but I might as well mention it just in case :) In Britain we call it a letterbox, not a mailbox and it's a broom cupboard - we don't say closet.

Other than those tiny, insignificant details that only matter to me because I'm British, this was a great start to a love story I'm sure you're going to do justice :)

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Hi Emily! Thanks so much for stopping by! I was so sad I was out of town for the reviewing race but I really appreciate this!

I understand completely about it being rushed. I wrote this chapter originally as a one-shot and it was way back when I was a newbie and I plan on editing it when I get more time. The reason I did glaze over the time from Privet Drive to Grimmauld Place was because it was in the book, and I didn't want to make it a 're-telling' of OoTP and have it be rejected, if that makes sense?

My American is showing! Thanks for letting me know.. I'm working at learning British differences but I had no idea about those two :) I will edit them asap!

Thank you so much for such a kind review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by MaybeA Session With Nova Spacelove: Custard Yellow

18th July 2012:
This is hysterical! I am in love with this one-shot. The whole thing is hilarious (and I loved the little mentions of Gilderoy Lockhart) - the mystical fragrances and the sounding old and withering made me laugh so much - she's such a fraud and I loved reading every part. And Molly! Molly's (fake) anger was brilliant. I thought the way you wrote her was exactly as I would have imagined her during her pregnancies.

I just think the entire one-shot was so amazing and I just had to keep reading throughout because it just had that quality that makes you want to keep reading. I'm suddenly wanting to read a whole lot more about Nova Spacelove because I can just imagine her daily life would be hilarious to read about.

The description of her work space was brilliant and I can picture it so easily! I love everything about this. Also, I love how Molly tricked her - Geraldine Bychance! Absolutely brilliant! You are amazing :D

-Maybe

Author's Response: Hey, Maybe!

I love writing about frauds, as odd as that may sound. ^ ^ There's something so liberating in writing about ridiculous, unlikable characters who say and do whatever they want with no regard for others. Nova is so selfish and self-absorbed here that she couldn't see Molly's schemes if the Inner Eye itself told her. Nova's daily life - lol. It would be fun to write about her various experiences in pretending to still be a Seer.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! You are very kind. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by MaybeTurn on the Light : Prologue

18th July 2012:
You know I find the idea of Lily the witch watching a Muggle reality TV show really funny - something that I think adds to her characterisation. I still disagree with her red hair and tanned skin because that's just something that doesn't happen but other than that, I like this story - I DON'T like Scorpius and I'm obviously not supposed to - and I'm excited to see what else is going to happen. (Also, I've got to see more of this best friend who shares my name ;)) Interesting beginning!

-Maybe

Author's Response: Hehehe you will because she's the main female character :P Not Lily ;) Yeah I plotted the whole thing (For once) Hehe so you will get to see her more and more. Oh and you'll love her ;) Thanks for the review Em :D You're the best.

*Hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by MaybeIn the Air: In the Air

18th July 2012:
Aw, I think this is so cute. Rose worrying about Scorpius while he's so far away - aww! And the idea that he is a Malfoy and so therefore would not be able to handle anything like this. Hehe, and him being seduced in Africa by someone wanting a cushy life. The things that go through Rose's mind are so random and I liked this little glimpse into her random thought processes :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for the review!! Rose is a bit mad, but she does care for Scorpius quite a bit :)

Glad to hear you enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #12, by MaybeSinner: Sinner

18th July 2012:
Wow, this is a very interesting take on the subject! I really loved the style - in particular the repetition of the line "I was not a sinner." Bellatrix seemed oddly calm in this and it gave the whole thing an eery sort of feel which I really liked. She was so matter-of-fact which is not the way we usually see her but I thought it was a great way to tell the story because I'm assuming at this point she's dead and we're hearing this from after her death.

The reasoning behind wanting to kill people slowly - I thought that was so creepy and just so Bellatrix. That is not something you would usually hear from most people - usually they would say a quick death is kinder but not Bellatrix. It gives me shivers to think of her like that. Incredibly macabre, but a great one-shot!

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad that Bellatrix's calmness came across as eery- that's exactly what I was aiming for.

Yes, I did mean for her to be dead when writing this, so I'm glad that came across.

Thank you again for the review and compliments- made my day.


 Report Review

Review #13, by MaybeThe Three Ds: Devotion.

18th July 2012:
This was absolutely adorable! What a cute little snapshot into a Romione moment. I love reading about the moments when Harry is not around because we get to see emotions come through. I thought Ron's staring was adorable (not at all creepy, haha) and I think the characterisation was great. And Wilkie Twycross' commentary, relating it to Apparition was brilliant - and I loved the idea of him wanting to pinch his cheek and say go get her. Exactly how I feel. Hooray, Wilke Twycross is a Romione shipper! :P

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I write one-shots very rarely, mainly because they are always so short and have very little substance... but I really love Ron and Hermione (king of OTPs) and I really wanted to write a little thing about them! Thank you for all your wonderful comments, you sure do make me blush.

 Report Review

Review #14, by MaybeDiscombobulated: Amoretti

18th July 2012:
This one-shot was wonderful to have brought across a completely new ship - at least, not one that I have ever thought of - and made it believable. I thought the description of the blood was what made this piece so sad - it gave me a powerful image to associate with the entire thing. How his blood is on his hands but really, it's her blood on his hands. I also really loved the way her greatest defence was also her greatest offence and that she would do this thing for her boys. A great story :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Yay for new-ships! Be warned thought, there is very few of us poor shippers with a ship with no creative name *sad-face*

Thank you for such a wonderful review; I'm glad you enjoyed it :)


Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #15, by MaybeLegend: Chapter One

18th July 2012:
This is simply brilliant! So well written and I'm drawn into the story already! The way you weave your words together flows so well and it really sets the scene for the era. I don't know much about this time period, and you said that it is not historically accurate, but I think the way it's written, with the vivid descriptions, the dialogue and the references to Vikings and Celts and such really paints this picture that I can place the story in.

I love reading Helga as this strong woman here, conquering Britannia and the origins of all four founders are so interesting here. Queen of Cornwall and Salazar being from Constantinople especially. The idea of Salazar as a servant from the East seems such an obvious choice now that you've written it that way, although I would never have thought of it on my own - I can imagine him like that from now on. Everything you've written makes everything so believable, which is always brilliant in AUs. Mostly, I am blown away by how elegantly written this chapter is. Amazing start!

-Maybe

 Report Review

Review #16, by MaybeOutcast: Choking and Whistles

18th July 2012:
I'm still absolutely loving Molly's thoughts. She's so bitter about it all and it's so fun to read that aspect of a character. Mr Whestle is absolutely cringe-worthy! I don't know what I'd do if I ever met somebody like that, he seems mental. Aside from the button-pinging, the whistle-blowing sounds terrifying! And oh Merlin, the face-to-moob experience and the stomach face-plant - so funny, but I feel for those poor kids! Ew! And I liked the House Elf with attitude, such a different take on the usual House Elves we see. I'm liking how original this story is! :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Molly is extremely bitter - she never seems to get the best end of the deal :P And I'm afraid to say, she won't for a long time! ;)

Haha - this chapter just seemed to write itself and I'm finding that it's so easy just to continue writing but I've already done 5 chapters on just one day :o It's just too easy to follow Molly around! :P

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing both times! Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by MaybeOutcast: Ice Skating and Belly Dancing

18th July 2012:
Oooh, interesting story! A school for Squibs is such an original idea, and it'll be so much fun to read from a Weasley kid's point of view - especially one you've written so hilariously. I love her little comments and her rambling about her Gran. So funny that she went up to those strangers, even though she was trying to convince herself not to. Love her internal monologue. She's so different to the usual Molly IIs found in fanfiction so it's really refreshing. Great first chapter!

-Maybe

Author's Response: Hello :)

Oh, I'm really glad you enjoyed Molly and her... escapades? She's really fun to write and there are definitely big plans for her in the future! :D

Thank you very much for reading and for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by MaybeBlindness: Blindness

18th July 2012:
This was great. I think you captured Severus' feelings for Lily really well. Watching from afar, never getting up the confidence to talk to her and tell her how he feels. The description was lovely, in particular, this line: "She is flushed, freckles blending into skin, skin clashing with hair." And I liked how it was concise, not too long and gushy. It was a nice snapshot into Snape's point of view, even if Snape is not the character I most identify with, I enjoyed reading about his feelings in this story.

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! It's great that you enjoyed the story, and that it managed to convey so much feeling in so short a space. Writing short things is really difficult- I'm a wordy sort of writer - so it means a lot to hear that the brevity of this story didn't take away from its impact.

Snape/Lily stories seem to easily erode into melodrama and extreme angst, which is partially why I chose it for a 500 word story - it heightened the challenge, forcing me to take extra care for each word. Thank you again for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by MaybeUnmasked: when darkness falls

18th July 2012:
I love this! So very Harry. So very Ginny. So great! I love how short and compact this is, I love the situation, I love the characterisation, I love all of it! Ginny being his rock, being sneaky, sucking in the sadness so that maybe he won't have to (I loved that line) was all just so brilliant. The fact that Harry does it in secret as well. He's always the hero, but he doesn't shout about it. It's his secret, and I can definitely imagine this kind of thing happening in the aftermath of the war. Brilliant piece :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you! I think that is definitely something that makes Harry unique - he's a hero, but he doesn't need other people to know that he's a hero. He's just fine doing it in secret (; I'm so happy you liked this so much and found it believable. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MaybeLittle Green Monster: Little Green Monster

18th July 2012:
This is Ron. It is most definitely Ron Weasley. This is his character, you nailed it completely and utterly. I love the use of the colour throughout. The first sentence, my mind immediately went to Slytherin and, for some reason, I completely forgot about Harry's eyes and the Killing Curse. I think that line was my favourite: "You look at the Killing Curse and tell me good things are green." It sounds like someone who has been through a war, there's this bitterness about him - which I think Ron always had - and yet I can't dislike him for it (and not just because I could never hate the Ron JKR created.) Love the flow and the imagery, and just the whole thing. It was very elegantly written :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so happy that you think this is actually Ron -- honestly, that's like the best compliment ever. :) I love writing Ron, and I really did want to bring out his sort of bitter side here, and not just show him as the comic relief, like a lot of people seem to do. He is sore about always being in somebody's shadow, and I went to this really great panel once (my geek side's about to come out, brace yourself) on writing techniques JKR used in her books. And it talked a bit about that -- how Ron had to come full circle by destroying the locket Horcrux before he could get over his insecurities. It really was very interesting! :D

I love that line you pointed out too, if I can love something I myself have written. ^_^ I'm so pleased you enjoyed the imagery, too, and I was actually quite surprised how well using the color green worked throughout this.

Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and tell me your opinion on this story -- I'm so, so glad you did! ♥ I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MaybeInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

18th July 2012:
Aw, so so so cute! I love this so much. I could imagine the Luna-and-Rolf-in-the-pond scene so vividly, it was adorable. And the idea of how they met - such an unlikely creature that only appears at the most specific point in time and only Luna would be so understanding of Rolf's beliefs. Absolutely loved the way this was written, it flowed so well and the descriptions were lovely. Just adorable! :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Ah, I'm so glad that you got so much adorableness out of it. This one shot really is a sickly sweet and I'm glad that you loved it. Luna and Rolf are a pairing we don't see often and I'm glad you were able to enjoy my writing

 Report Review

Review #22, by MaybeCrumpled: Crumpled

18th July 2012:
Yes, that's exactly the kind of man James was :') You wrote him so well, showing his arrogant side as well as his loving side. All of the flashbacks were great, I especially liked Lily jumping on him and kissing him. It mirrors what happened with Harry and Ginny's first kiss and I love that. I liked the addition of Peter to the scene as well, and James' surprise, the way you described him as a trusting man. And the ending scene, I thought was a brilliant way to end the piece, showing us a new life before the ending of James'. A heartbreaking piece.

-Maybe

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! James is such a complex character, so exploring him in just a one-shot was difficult, but I'm happy to hear I wrote him well :)

Thank you so much!
Del<3


 Report Review

Review #23, by MaybeThe Summer of Wheezes: Lost

18th July 2012:
I'm really liking this beginning. The mood has been set and I think the way you've described the Wizarding world after the war is very believable. How some people think Wizarding Britain will fall, despite the war being over. It's been a few months since the war but everything doesn't just get better in such a short space of time - they've got to rebuild and you get the sense that it's going to be a hard task. Especially for George, and Ron.

Ron's feelings after the war - wishing to be a Muggle, separate from it all - was interesting and I think that's definitely how he might act. His reaction to seeing Fred's face and seeing the shop the way it is now was also very Ron. I like how you described the dynamic between Fred and George too. George being the quiet one, the technical one, happy to stand back and let his brother take the lead. We know that Fred was the more outgoing one, but you show how they compliment one another. How they make each other better. It just shows the closeness of the twins and it adds to the devastation of it all. George's actions are to be expected and shown here with brilliant accuracy.

Great first chapter :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much!

The time shortly after the war can't have been easy on anyone. It's no longer dealing the threat of death, it's dealing with the aftermath of a society being, basically, destroyed by a mad man. I'm really glad that seemed realistic.

I absolutely love the twins; it is a relief to hear that you think George's relationship with Fred and his reactions are believable.

Thank you!
Del<3


 Report Review

Review #24, by MaybeGoblet of Fire: Viktor Krum: Viktor Krum

18th July 2012:
This was really interesting. I'm finding I really enjoy stories from the perspective of inanimate objects. The description in this was very powerful and I have a very clear image of everything that is going on. The description at the beginning was especially engaging - it drew me right into the story. And getting those glimpses into the life of Viktor Krum was compelling. Amazingly written and I may just have to add this to my favourites now!

-Maybe

REVIEWED FOR THE HOUSE CUP 2012 COMPETITION

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the kind review. I had a really tough time with this challenge when I wrote it, it was an experimental piece. :) cheers!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MaybeThe Begotten Ones: The Begotten Ones

18th July 2012:
This was really interesting. I've never really thought about Minerva coming to comfort Molly after the war but it seems as though her visit will do Molly good - I really loved the speech about them all being soldiers. Minerva certainly seems to me to be a soldier - a brave Gryffindor.

I think your characterisations of both women were completely accurate although I thought this might have benefited from a little more length (I know this was for the Every Word Counts challenge.) Really good one-shot though :)

-Maybe

Author's Response: I've always seen Minerva as a bit too lion-hearted for her own good, haha. She is a tough old broad. I adore her.

Ah. Thank you so much! That is a fantastic thing to hear. Yeah, it's abrupt, but I would have been heart broken had I had to cut anything. So, sacrifices had to be made.

Thanks!

M&M


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>