Reading Reviews From Member: lauraf68
399 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lauraf68Thieves in the Night: Thieves of the Night

17th July 2016:
Lovely. Well, truly a bit depressing and VERY angst ridden. But still, exactly what I could see happening minus Harry actually trying to kill himself. I could see him FEELING like he should have died though.
Thank you for a nice One-shot, it is very well written and easy to read. Maybe you could add more to story? :-)
Happy Writing!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Aftermath: Spells, Shells and Farewells

13th June 2016:
WOW, I'm blown away. I've finally caught up with all the action and planning. I became a bit busy and couldn't take time to read FF. Surprised that when I finally was able to come back I had a whole bunch of chapters to catch up on. Your details are amazing, your wit is undeniable (are you a Ravenclaw?), and the story is just downright fun!! Good job, keep it up!!
Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Many thanks! I'm very glad you enjoyed the story all the way through. The Potter books were such grand fun to read, and funny, especially in the beginning. I was aiming for that kind of experience.

I rather think I'd be a Gryffindor, but Ravenclaw is a possibility; wonder what the Sorting Hat would say? I'm much too lazy for Hufflepuff, and Slytherosity has no appeal for me at all.

There have been lots of encouraging reviews, and it's particularly interesting to find out what people think of the story as a whole, now that it's all up on the site.

 Report Review

Review #3, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Aftermath: The Ministry of Magic

17th May 2016:
LOVED: Kingsley was smiling. “Ryan, your diplomatic skills are unerring.”, I don't do diplomacy, Kingsley, I'm just me, tryna get stuff done.” HILARIOUS!!
So excited about the prospects the Snifferprogram will give. AND OMG, Harry is Head Auror???!!!
So, looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Well, Ryan had undoubtedly heard about Percy and isn't the type to put up with pretentiousness any more than the twins were. But his method is a little different.

Can't respond to every post, but I love all the comments and feedback! It's hard to be sure what will work for others. Thank you all.

Old Voldy did a lot of damage, though. There's a lot that needs to be repaired or rebuilt. And just because he's gone doesn't mean the remnants of his evil are. The next chapter has been submitted.

 Report Review

Review #4, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Aftermath: Wemail

12th May 2016:
I wondered if Ryan was going to pull a 'Ben Franklin", made me LOL!! Loving all the banter and the trust! Glad Blackstone's open & friendly too. VERY interested in the dark detector, that'll be great if Britain gets on board.

 Report Review

Review #5, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Aftermath: The Burrow

11th May 2016:
Good day to you. WOWEE such details, I'm completely impressed!! "Slimy Cook Parboil" had me LOL'ing. The work you put into explaining Blackstone's story has me intrigued. My husband was in the US Navy and I especially liked your explanation a few chapters back regarding Navy Coffee.
I'm looking forward to what's coming next!! Keep up the good work. Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not a vet but am a Navy fan, have read much, and know several people who served. I dearly love the humor in Ms. Rowling's stories and hope to make this book fun as it goes along.
The next chapter has been submitted and they'll keep coming, it's a finished manuscript.

 Report Review

Review #6, by lauraf68A Second, Third and Fourth Kiss: A Second, Third and Fourth Kiss

7th May 2016:
Ohhh, the feels!! I think I need a defibrillator, LOL!
In all seriousness, this was well written and how I imagine them to have been at that time. Fantastic job! Thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much. I have seen far too many where Harry specifically has been coping too well, despite JKR's comments that the deaths would always haunt him (or something to that effect.)

 Report Review

Review #7, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Aftermath: Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes

7th May 2016:
I've just recently found your story. Very well written, although I'll admit you lost me on the computer details. Very interesting how he used it to help George. Hopefully he can revolutionize British Wizarding ideas? I look forward to seeing more.
Happy Writing!

Author's Response: New chapter just posted! And I'm checking the site regularly, so I submitted the next chapter immediately. I'll try to get them all up asap. I'm delighted you're enjoying it (this goes to all!) and thank you for the compliments.

 Report Review

Review #8, by lauraf68Crown Fire: A Surprising Lunch

2nd May 2016:
Dear LadyTartan, remember me? I'm so very happy you are writing again. I looked back and last time I reviewed was 2012. Looks like you started up writing again at the beginning of the year, gives me hope that maybe someday I'll find the will to write again, life sure gets in the way though.

Anyway, back to you. I love that Ginny and Harry, Ron and Hermione, the Weasleys, and the Grangers are all back together. I love that you have given them Carl & Ellie to help them out along with Poppy, Minerva, Andrometa, Teddy, and Kingsley.

But now, DRACO? WOW, what a cliffhanger!! I look forward to seeing the next chapter!! Happy writing, Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hi Lauraf68!

As always I appreciate your reviews! I've hit a bit of writers block on the story, but I haven't abandoned it! Thanks for your continued feedback!

 Report Review

Review #9, by lauraf68Life's Beginning at Life's End: The Shell of a Horcrux

5th November 2015:
Wow, such detail. Great chapter. I do think they are ignoring the attack and I'm sure there will be more to that story.

I'm glad you have Harry and Ginny exploring their relationship, but I'm also glad they didn't jump into the deep end yet, if you get my drift.

I don't envy Harry having to explain not coming back to Hogworts to Ginny. But in time she should understand that he has a great opportunity.

Keep up the good work. Happy Writing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by lauraf68Life's Beginning at Life's End: The Greengrass' Demise

5th August 2015:
You're back!! I had lost your story and re-found it while looking at new posts. I had started reading, felt a bit of Deja vu, then when I got to the bottom of the chapter it said I already had reviewed -- that kind of freaked me out --so I looked back and sure enough I had read the first 4 chapters.

I'm glad you're writing again, but --WOW -- you left us on a cliffhanger. It's a good chapter, there are a couple nit-picky grammatical things I personally would change, but the context is good.

I'm glad the characters seem to be healing and carrying on like good British folks and planningfor the future, but now something has happened that will disturb the peace. I look forward to seeing what their next challenge will be.

Happy writing. Lauraf68

Author's Response: Yes I'm back and I remember you! I figured it was about time to revisit the story and I'm so happy you're still taking time out to read it!
I can't wait to show you what's coming!
Thanks as always for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by lauraf68The Years Between: A Change in Attittude

22nd July 2015:
Great chapter. H & S's banter is spot on how I think it would be if such timeline had been possible. Although, I feel like a big blow up could be possible if Sev forgets to bite his tongue or Harry doesn't mind his cheek. But maybe that could help them deal and heal??
Keep up the good work, Happy Writing!!

Author's Response: Hihi thank you. Yeah, a blow up does seem in the making doesn't it.. We'll see :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by lauraf68The Years Between: Peace Treaty

22nd July 2015:
I found your story yesterday. Amazing story content! I love how Harry didn't too brood much, but has moved on with rebuilding his life.
I especially enjoy Severus being alive and agreeing to coming back to some semblance of a normal life too. This last chapter was great, they are building a relationship, I pause to call it a friendship, although I'm sure it will turn out to be as much of one as Severus is able to give. I look forward to reading more!!
I am particularly lookin forward to Harry and Ginny rebuilding their relationship, but I expect it will take a LOT of talking, maybe some tears, and possibly bat-bogey hex dodging or recovery.
If I had to give you any constructive criticism, I would suggest to maybe edit your story if you get the chance. Many times you used the word death when you meant dead, or you use the word than when you mean then (or vice-versa).
But really, your story is a 9.99 on a scale of 1-10. Grammar issues can always be edited. I think content is what makes it and yours definitly has a spectacular story line.
Keep up the good work! Happy writing!

Author's Response: First of, thnx for the review. I've already fixed many of the grammar but every time I want to upload, I find things that need to be changed.. It's an ongoing process.

About the brooding.. Don't think it's not there. Both Harry and Sev have not completely recovered. Harry had two weeks doing menial chores at the Burrow to deal with the worst of it and decide to move on. Sev went through something similar while he was still recuperating. I actually don't think Sev would have dealt as well had Harry not showed up to distract him from his own thoughts on a daily basis. But you don't see that because Harry doesn't know and Sev would never admit it.
Both have moments of doubt. They brood and throw temper tantrums. Afterwards it's out of their system for a while and they can continue moving on with their lives. Truth be told, I don't think they are really dealing with it at all. It's like they ignore it until it gets to much, lash out and then ignore it some more. It's not healthy. You haven't read any of this because they don't want you to (and because I don't want to write about a brooding Harry or Sev because I hate to read things like that). They don't deal with it so neither do you. When they are ready, we'll deal with all of that in a productive way.

As for Harry and Ginny... No, it won't take talking or tears, maybe a hex here or there. Ginny isn't the kind of girl that needs pretty words. She's the kind of girl that needs to see action. Harry will have to prove that he isn't going to leave her behind again. Which he can only to by staying by her side. There isn't that much to it.. Though, it might be hard for Harry. Anyway, they aren't the main part of the story. Their relationship is a background thing. It's important because she is Harry's girlfriend and will spend a lot of time with him. But the focus lays with Harry and Sev.

Again thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by lauraf68The Story of Heidi Elemente: Chapter 2: The Golden Trio

2nd January 2015:
Rosabelle, you have written a beginning to what could be a good story here. I'm still a bit bewildered as to where you are going with your idea, so I'm looking forward to your next chapter. What age are they? How did they find her? Why is her dad a death eater? Will you get to those details? See, lots of questions.
Happy Writing! Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks Lauraf68! And yes you will start to learn more about Heidi as the story contines.. :) The next chapter will go up soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lauraf68She First Considered a Puppy: It's Fine

2nd January 2015:
Good bit of back story. Looking forward to see how Tom handles shopping with an older lady. I doubt he has much experience with that.
Happy Writing,

Author's Response: I suppose that would be interesting, but the next chapter won't quite be focusing on that. I sort of want to move along a little further in the time line. There will be a lot to cover, from childhood to adulthood. With so much to touch on, a lot of time skips have to be made.

However, I do have an idea of how it went in essence. Tom wasn't all too happy, mainly about being dragged around town with a woman he despised and a pair of sore feet. He mainly spent his time glaring at her in silence. Even when Mrs. Carter asked things like "do you like this?" or "Would you wear this?", he followed with the line, "It's *fine*, without so much as making eye contact with her. When she let him pick out a toy, he just grabbed the first thing he saw in the store, just to get out of there as soon as possible.

Mrs. Carter was unsure of his attitude, but simply chalked it up to being unused to being away from his first home (the orphange), and figured that he would lighten up eventually. However, as we'll see in the next chapter, she will eventually lay down the consequences for him.

In any case, I'll be submitting the next chapter for validation soon. Thanks for tuning in!

 Report Review

Review #15, by lauraf68The Ward of Albus Dumbledore: Trust and Truths

31st December 2014:
I just found your story and I am VERY intrigued! I'm not sure I would choose to write Dumbledore as gruff as you do, but I'm not the writer of this story am I? Maybe he's nervous? Anyway, I am looking forward to seeing what you have coming up. Happy writing!

Author's Response: Did not intend Dumbledore to be gruff, but that's the story you see. It's AU anyways! :)

Next Chapter will be coming soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by lauraf68She First Considered a Puppy: Tom is a Very Odd Boy

30th December 2014:
Very interested in where you will take this story. I see an undertone of possible changes to Tom s personality due to knowing someone cares for him. Read the answer you gave within other review and I too believe a lot can change with a nurturing background.
Happy Writing. ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you so much. And believe me, many other changes will occure due to this change in Tom's personality. He'll still be an ambitious Slytherin type, but not in the evil way that most people think when they hear the name "Slytherin". Not to mention that the lives of several of the characters we all know and love will be affected by the changes as well.

In fact, if you stick with my story long enough, you'll find that the world in general turns out to be much more different than the world normally associated with Harry Potter. But I won't delve too deep into it now, lest I accidently release a spoiler.

For now, I'll just say that I have several things lined up for little Tom, and there is pleanty more to come!

 Report Review

Review #17, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Dragonheart: A Night at Privet Drive

22nd December 2014:
Oh my! Looking forward to knowing what has happened to Harry. Very well written. Keep up the good work.
Happy Writing.

 Report Review

Review #18, by lauraf68Future Possibilites: Resolution and Retribution

16th December 2014:
I am hoping that you are planning to continue this story. Very well written (although there are a couple very minor spelling mistakes noticed). Looks like you started this in 2009 but recently reposted. Does that mean we are to see more?

 Report Review

Review #19, by lauraf68Forward And Upward: A New Master

21st August 2013:
Very nice chapter 1. I liked the interactions between Harry & Dumbledore, especially the part regarding Severus and Fawkes. However, I'm concerned about Harry being able to work full time teaching AND finishing his 7th year.

I look forward how you bring Harry back to his friends, his surrogate family (Weasley's), and Ginny. Happy Writing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by lauraf68Returning Home: Unexpected Kindness

19th July 2013:
Very good chapter. Remus thought things through well. Was honest about his intentions and may have truly gained a friend. Now I look forward to what Privet Dr has to offer & how Remus will or will not react. :-)
Happy Writing! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you for your support! The next chapter has gone in the queue so it should be up soon. I hope you enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by lauraf68Two Steps Forward: Comes the Future

15th July 2013:
Oh!!! {Sniff, sniff}. What a wonderful chapter. I love that Severus has finally followed his heart. And I'm so glad that he and Harry have started to sweep away the past.

I am concerned with Severus' statement that he and Harry wouldn't be friends. Not that I think they need to go paling around or anything, but it seems like they could have a 'working' friendship? Alas, that is probably another time and story? :-)

I've enjoyed your story so much I hope there is just a bit more? -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Sadly, this story is at an end. But I am writing more, the school year is yet to start. There is more Snape and Alara to come!

Thanks for the kind words, they mean the world to me.

 Report Review

Review #22, by lauraf68Two Steps Forward: Of Shakespeare and Werewolves

12th July 2013:
Dear Wildmoon,

I've caught up on the last two chapters and they are great!! I love how Alara is slowly pulling Severus out of himself. She really understands him now and knows not to react at his irascibility, which I think in turn is making Severus understand he can trust her.

I especially loved the part where Severus dropped his mind walls and 'read' Shakespeare to her-aww, my heart did a pitter-patter. :-)

Of course the ending of this chapter was wonderful and Alara was finally able to reel Severus into her arms. (He really is like a deep sea fish, have to give them a lot of line space and slowly reel them in.)

Happy Writing!! I'll be waiting and excited for the next chapter!! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks! Only one more chapter to go in this story (It's very short compared to the first one, sorry about that).

If Snape's world hasn't turned on it's heels yet, it surely is about to!

 Report Review

Review #23, by lauraf68Passports Required: Passports Required

12th July 2013:
LUV IT!! -- "Fed the Powers that Be a load of crap?" "I'll tell you all about your desperate drug addiction later." -- was my favorite!!


Author's Response: Hehehehehe. Thanks! It was a blast to write, except for the time limit, LOL. So glad I could make you smile, though!

Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #24, by lauraf68Returning Home: An opportunity for Remus

10th July 2013:
Very nice chapter. I've always liked Remus and wondered how he stayed away all those 10+ years. Looking forward to reading your version of how he didn't. :-)
Happy Writing! Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked the chapter. I'm hoping to get the second chapter up within the next week :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Heart of the Hero: Chapter 18 - Shaman's Way

30th June 2013:
Dear Jeo,

It was so nice to hear about Draco. I'm so glad he has changed and coming to grips with his situation. I cried for him too, that he wouldn't be able to show Narcissa how her changed.

Oh Severus--I just do not understand your Severus yet. Is he only playing his part, or has decided to turn bad? Hmmm?.

Great read once agin. Onto the next chapter --Lauraf68

Author's Response: Draco is coming around. It will be more chapters than usual before we get back to him this time, but I left him in a positive place at the end of his last chapter, and that will continue in his next as his changes in character have some time to truly take hold.

And again about Severus... I'm not telling.

Looking forward to your reactions to the next couple of chapters, lots of things happening! As always, I appreciate your comments, thank you so very much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>