Reading Reviews From Member: ExquisiteAmethyst
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ExquisiteAmethystMeet James Potter: Meet James Potter

18th November 2010:
Wow, absolutely wonderful! The beginning was a bit shaky, but your ending was very strong. I loved your style, the theme of the one-shot, and the lines at the end of each part.

Oh, and I like your banner too! Awesome work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I really appreciate it. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ExquisiteAmethystAlways: Always

18th November 2010:
I love one-shots about Snape, Lily, and James, and yours is no exception. I truly believe in the power of unrequited love, and of Lily and James' love. So really, it's the best of both worlds, right?

Haha, your story was quite nice. I adored the part when Snape analyzed his hatred of Harry. It makes complete sense that Snape didn't hate Harry AS HARRY, but simply because Harry was a symbol for Snape's greatest heartbreak. Bravo, that was excellent.

The one part that I didn't like was this line:

"Thank you, Snivellus." James said.

I mean honestly, after fifteen or so years, would James really still be acting like a fifteen-year-old snot? I understand that you tried to say the nickname was out of fondness, but it just didn't feel right.

Anyways, brilliant job! Sorry for leaving such a long review. Thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate the time you gave to read and review my story and I'm glad you enjoyed. You did make a point, it seemed a bit OoC for James but I just thought it would sound a bit cuter if he said it out of fondness. But, ah well...

I don't mind really, long reviews are more awesome than short ones because it shows that you did take time to review and I'm really grateful. Thanks for reviewing!

~ Sevvy

*does silly little happy dance*


 Report Review

Review #3, by ExquisiteAmethystAlive: Alive

10th September 2010:
Beautiful. Beautiful story, beautiful banner, and I am very much in love with James. Nice work!

Author's Response: thank you! i agree completely, the banner is amazing! and i love james too haha:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ExquisiteAmethystPersuasion: The Untimely and Unceremonious Arrival of James Potter

7th September 2010:
This is so awesome! I absolutely adore this idea of a story. Now, I'm really NOT a Harry/Hermione fan . . . Ginny all the way . . . but I love Lily/James, so this is great. Your portrayal of Lily was amazing. James is a bit formal and funny, but hey, he died at age 21. In the 80s.

Anyways, awesome work, I'm excited to keep reading! And your banner is gorgeous.

Author's Response: James is a pure blood wizard. I feel like he would have a certain classy formal air about him, but at the same time I feel like it would be mixed with sarcasm and mockery for that formality. I think James and Sirius both shared a duality in personality. Raised formally, but rebelled with informalities. Hence, his rocking humor.

This story isn't too heavily Harry and Hermione so hopefully that'll help. It's not like an epic story between them. It's much more subtle. You'll love the ending chapter though if you love James/Lily.

Anyway thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you like the story. Oh and thanks for the banner compliment. 100ways did an awesome job!
~Meg


 Report Review

Review #5, by ExquisiteAmethystHogwarts Confessional: If You Don't Wanna Love Me Anymore

6th September 2010:
Whoa there. Haha, okay, prepare for a long review:

1. I didn't think I'd like this story when I clicked on it. And then I read a bit, and I fell in love with your versions of the characters. And your OCs are excellent. Pippa, Marley, and Emilie are awesome. You make Sirius absolutely adorable and irresistible. Bravo.

2. As I read the story, I kept expecting to hate it because it seemed so superficial. Truthfully, I can't stand girls that refer to their friends as 'the clique' or anything of the sort. But again, you had something here that hooked me in, and I never stopped reading. Though I cringed a bit every time I read the word 'clique' I got past it, kept reading, and every time found something else you wrote that I loved that much more. So again, outstanding job.

3. You have excellent villains. Drunk Chris and angry Holly? Brilliant.

4. The first 35 chapters were very very good. This last one seems out of place. I mean, marriage? . . . Marriage? And diamond jewelry? . . . and marriage? It was beautifully written, I just think I have no appetite for fluff. At all. Like really, at all.

5. I'm favorite-ing this because I love it, because your chapter images make me smile, because the 'secrets' in the book always make me laugh or sigh, and because Sirius is so damn adorable.

However . . . I really hope you maintain the same quirky, naughty, secretive feel to it as you've had. It would break my heart if this turned into a Lily/James sapfest. I know Dumbledore forbade the books but . . . c'mon, that's what makes this story great! It's the humor and the dirty little secrets. Not a twilight-esque, let's-get-married-at-seventeen, you're my soulmate, forever and always, BLECH. I don't think I could handle another excellent fic turning into a sickening pile of steaming fluff. You have the potential to keep this amazing!

Course you're the author, so you'd know better than me. Haha, keep writing! You're brilliant!

And sorry if I was confusing - what I'm trying to say is I love it, you're a remarkable writer, and I want this to stay addictive and awesome. :)

Author's Response: haha no, I know exactly what you mean. The reason i waited 2 months to upload another chapter was actually because I was debating the marriage part. I had this chapter written up until the marriage part already when i'd put out the last chapter but i felt it was missing something. I went back and forth on it quite a few times, and in the end I decided to keep it (as you know) but it will definitely not be a huge part of the rest of the story.

And don't worry, it won't be sappy. I'm really not a fan of sappy, but I considered that since they got married pretty much right out of hogwarts, they probably had a proposal haha.

I'm really glad you liked the story! I tried to keep the quirkiness in there, and the rest will be just as quirky! thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ExquisiteAmethystHarbor: Harbor

10th August 2010:
I really liked this! I know how difficult it must have been for Ginny to stay back, wait, and worry, and you portrayed her beginning struggles quite beautifully. I'm so impressed! I loved Molly in this too. And yes, your banner is lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think it would have been very hard for her to stay back, she's not that type, and she hasn't had to do so before - she got to go along to the Ministry, and I think she would have expected equal footing. I'm glad you liked it :)

(I'm totally in love with that banner still haha)


 Report Review

Review #7, by ExquisiteAmethystAs Yet Untouched: As Yet Untouched

31st July 2010:
This was absolutely amazing! Brilliant. I love your portrayal of James. I love his voice. I love Lily.

Actually, I just kind of love your story. Excellent!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you thought James' character and voice were done well. I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ExquisiteAmethystEven stars burn out: Three stars

26th July 2010:
Beautiful summary, beautiful story. Truly, truly excellent. I wish it was longer!! I adore Lily's view of the marauders, and the star metaphor was absolutely brilliant.

Favorite, for sure.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ExquisiteAmethystHow to tame a Marauder: Epilogue

19th July 2010:
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Thanks so much for spending so much time and effort on a story!! This was a gift to the world of fanfiction.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! :)

I'm so touched that you thought so much of my story - it's true that I did put a lot of time and effort into it but to have that recognised is really fantastic. Thank you! *blushes furiously*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by ExquisiteAmethystBurn: Burn

13th July 2009:
I adored this fic! Although I think the meeting never would have happened, this is an excellent portrayal of a nonhappening. Truly, well written.

James' last line is so . . . James. In fact, I think the way you wrote James throughout this was incredibly realistic and thoughtful. He was more grown up, and both insecure and confident in his new relationship. And, best of all, he was able to tell that to Snape.

Course, that's one of James' best characteristics. His honesty. Which you wrote beautifully and brilliantly.

Well done! I'm quite pleased with this. :)

Author's Response: Agree, this is a nonhappening. Which makes your words so much better :P haha. I'm glad you liked this and James. There was a lot of things to think about when writing him, and you caught exactly what I was trying to show - the insecurety and confidence at the same time. Thanks a lot for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ExquisiteAmethystBetter Days: Cause Tonight's the Night

6th June 2009:
Loved the ending, first of all, and your banner is just beautiful. And I adored the part with Astoria and Draco. :)

Author's Response: Aww thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I am definitely going to be writing another Astoria/Draco fic soon. Be on the lookout for it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ExquisiteAmethystLike a Romantic Comedy: but, darn, I do love him.

22nd April 2009:
Quite possibly one of my most favorite Lily/James fics EVER. I adore the dialogue between all of your characters, and especially love that Lily is mates with all the marauders. Her wit and humor is so refreshing. As is Lupin's. I was genuinely cracking up as I read this fic.
The ending was so sweet and so perfect and so honest. Thank you so much for writing this! It gives me hope that there are other, similarily amazing fics out there. :)

Author's Response: really? wow. thank you so much for that, i'm glad to hear it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login