Reading Reviews From Member: katti4493
  
104 Reviews Found

Review #26, by katti4493Something Like That: Sweet Merlin

30th April 2012:
It's a good start! And an interesting pairing as well. There are far too many Lily/James, Lily/Sirius, Lily/Remus stories in this world for my liking. With this story, you will be able to take a whole new look at this time period from a different angle, and put your own spin on it! It seems like a good start in this respect, well done!

I think you just need to make sure you are not switching between first person/third person because it can be a little jarring for the reader. You started in third person by calling her "Katherine" and then started saying "I did this" etc. You really need to decide what style you are going to write in and stick to it.

I thought Regulus' characterisation was really good. He seems cold and heartless at the moment, but there is definitely potential for him to open up as a character. I will be interested to see how you change the ending of the story (is he going to stay alive?). I just hope you consider that sometimes being kind to your characters is not being kind to your writing, and can sometimes dampen the emotional impact of the story. I also thought you could have made Sirius' opinion of his brother a little more nuanced instead of just "he's evil" seeing as they were brothers and we know that Regulus wasn't evil.

I hope I haven't been too harsh but I really do think this has a lot of potential and I will read some more chapters!

Author's Response: Don't worry you aren't being harsh! I really appreciate any and all feedback. I hope you like the next chapters and you continue to read the story! Thank you for reviewing (:

 Report Review

Review #27, by katti4493And Now A Word From Our Sponsors: Seven

26th April 2012:
I think (this might be some wild crazy outlandish theory) that it was Hugo, totally because he brought up Julian and was about to say something - "Well I" - before Rose interrupted him. I reckon he was going to say "Well I told Julian" but I'm not entirely sure of his motive for that, so it will probably just stay in the realms of crazy theory!!! Brilliant story anyway, I've read it all at once and I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Nice theory! Ooh, I love all the speculation people are getting into -- did not anticipate this. ;) There's only one way to find out the truth, though, and that's to keep reading. I hope you do!

I love hearing that you've read it all in one go -- that just floors me, it really does. I'm so pleased you've enjoyed the story! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me this review, and I hope to hear more from you in the future! :3


 Report Review

Review #28, by katti4493Divided We Fall: The Fourth Horseman

20th April 2012:
Really good first chapter! I loved how you made parallels between Godric and Rowena and interchanged them through this chapter. In some founders stories (including my own!!) it can be very easy to become dragged down or sidetracked by one character, but you adeptly avoided that issue in this chapter. I also think it was really good that you clearly knew a little bit about the medieval period; this is often totally forgotten with founders stories but you stuck to your game plan really well.

I thought Godric's character was very interesting and showed a different side to him. You upturned the usual stereotypes of Prince or orphan and made him your own character. I also loved the dream at the beginning, it showed a great way to immediately jump into the story. While Rowena is almost always a Princess or a Queen, you made her story interesting by the interaction with her father who seemed a truly Machiavellian character. I also think it is really interesting that she is going to be married to Salazar; in most Founders stories Rowena ends up with either Godric or Salazar, so I can't decide whether you will make her fall head over heels for Salazar or do her duty with Salazar and fall in love with Godric on the side. Or you might continue in this vein of the truly independent woman and not have her with either! Brilliant start so far!

Only one tiny criticism! At one point you changed the spelling of the name Jacquelyn. It didn't bother me because I'm always doing things like that when I write!

I really hope you carry on with this as Founders stories are my absolute favourites and I think there are so few good long stories; most people just stick to one shots. I can't wait to read your next chapter!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review! I really appreciated it, because I think your founders story is the best!! I may become sidetracked by a few of the characters now and then, but I intend to split the story as a whole relatively evenly.

And I hope it did appear that I knew about the time period! I don't feel I know much compared to some people, but I am trying to make it... well, not completely absurd. I've done a bit of research. As for Rowena, I will say I'm a sucker for truly independent women... but I still have a a pairing in mind for her eventually. :)

Also thank you very much for pointing out the spelling change. My bad! I fixed it!

My next chapter is in the quenue. :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by katti4493Never There: Scenes at a Graveyard

18th April 2012:
I'm crying, that was so wonderful, and so sad! Please keep going with this series, I love it! There was never anyone else for Reid other than Cecilia, but he death forced him to move on. That was brilliant, thank you for that!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I'm not sure if I'll write any more Unsinkable, but I never say never. :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by katti4493Shot of Light: Lost

15th January 2012:
Ahhh!!! Suspense!!! I wonder what Hannah is going to do?

 Report Review

Review #31, by katti4493Holes to Heaven: Holes to Heaven

14th January 2012:
You gave me inspiration reviewing my stories, so I thought I'd come and review yours! This really is so sweet and adorable, and it was nice to see a role reversal with Lily in control. In many James/Lily stories, Lily is slowly won over and feels like she is losing her mind. With James being the scared one, you turned the convention on its head. I also liked how you gradually built up the tension, and didn't just go for "I love you" right from the off which may have been tempting. I also love the simplicity of this - we don't need to know the backstory, how they got here, all we need to know is they are here now. I also liked how you made an ominous cloud hang over them; I always feel this is a vital requirement to a James/Lily story as we all know they are doomed to die so long. Others may rid the story of this element. You succeeded in capturing the mood perfectly. I can't wait to read more in the future!

 Report Review

Review #32, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: R.A.B.

1st January 2012:
Wonderful end to a wonderful story, and you left the end to JK's Kreacher telling Harry, Ron and Hermione in Book 7. It was a fitting conclusion finishing the story with the only concrete evidence we have for the life of Regulus, and the way you embellished his story was truly wonderful. Each character you made was realistic and every character had flaws which made them more human, Regulus became the tragic hero that he was expected to be but in such a unique and individual way. If anyone needs a guide on how to write brilliant anti heroes they have to read this story! Although it was clear how it was going to end you kept the story interesting and shocking throughout, with several plot twists including the deaths of Elizabeth and Topher and Regulus' baby keeping this story gripping in a way few others have on this site. You kept the balance between description and dialogue absolutely perfect, and were not ever tempting to skip atmosphere building to just write the big climaxes which is the mistake of many writers. This story has been truly wonderful and I thank you for sharing it. This is the bench mark on which all other fanfictions will now be measured! Thank you so much for this story, Katti, UK

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
I'm seriously having a blush right now. And one of those big goofy smiles. It took me so long to reply because I'm honestly so speechless. Your review (and previous reviews) is wonderful and it's things like this that are the cherry on top. :)
Thank you for all of your support throughout. --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #33, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: To the Dark Lord

27th December 2011:
Hi, another review! I love how Regulus' descent into insanity, if that's what you want to call it, was slow and drawn out. He didn't just suddenly snap and think "well I'm gonna get me a Horcrux". There were real reasons for what he did, and his internal torment and slow deliberation was almost Shakespearean. Thanks for this wonderful story, I cannot wait for the last chapter!

Author's Response: I think that's a pretty good way to define it. I had a good laugh at that. I can totally see him waking up and thinking "Should I have breakfast or destroy a Horcrux?" :P
I was kinda aiming for that Shakespearean effect. I'm not a complete fanatic but something about Lady Macbeth always linked with Regulus in my mind. I guess it's like an extra for those who like that stuff. :D

Thank you so much!! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #34, by katti4493Chance: Chapter Three:

13th December 2011:
Another good chapter, not so dramatic as the previous two, so it made a good contrast. It was also the best way to set up Helga's character and showing the difference from the humiliation of Godric and the revenge of Salazar to Helga's simplicity. Like I've said before I want more dialogue! But it's all a work in progress and this is shaping up to be a really interesting story! I can't wait to see what you do with Rowena, because to me she has always been one of the most enigmatic of the founders! I'll be reading when you next update!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for the reviews. I'm glad you like the stories, still working on Rowena's chapter which I did have but they won't approve it because of some issues so I have to re-work it a bit. Anyway, I know what you mean about the dialogue, but I'm not that good with dialogue to begin with. I always feel like I'm dragging it out a bit, but no worries there will be more in later chapters. I didn't put that much in the first few because it's a sort of introduction to the backgrounds of each of them, but as other characters are introduced and as they start to encounter each other there will be more conversation. Also on your note about earl vs. count I got it and will fix it at some point soon. I am not putting in all that much research into this because I really don't have the time so I'm making it up as I go along. There will probably be many similar mistakes and I do try to fix them if I or someone else catches them so thank you for that.

Have a nice holiday!
~})i({~BROKENwords453


 Report Review

Review #35, by katti4493Chance: Chapter Two:

13th December 2011:
Cool chapter, it was a good idea beginning with Salazar's father's death and then going back to why he had done it. It brought the reader in. Just a couple of issues, such as I wanted more dialogue! Your dialogue is so good I just feel like I want more! And in Western France they would not have used the title "Earl" as that came from the Scandinavian "Jarl". The continental Count would have been more appropriate, but still, amazing story! As long as you keep writing I will keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #36, by katti4493Chance: Chapter One:

13th December 2011:
It's a really good start and a really interesting way of looking at Godric instead of the usual Prince/Orphan Boy split that seems to happen in stories about Godric! You had no spelling/grammar issues and the dialogue you used was very powerful and concise. Maybe use some shorter sentences on occasion to make the whole piece flow slightly better, but overall it was a wonderfully unique take on the Founders story!

 Report Review

Review #37, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Falling Stars

11th December 2011:
Another brilliant chapter, is Bellatrix going to go off to her master and say that Regulus cannot be trusted? I have a feeling she will betray him. Another amazing chapter, can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Oh she may. ;) Or she may keep her pride and keep the fact that Regulus almost bested her (and she was taken down by Walburga) to herself. Lol.

Thank you so much! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #38, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Inside a Broken Mind

26th November 2011:
YAY!! It is Anthony at the end!!! This has been such a wonderful story and I want to thank you for writing it. It really took the story of Regulus, turned it upside down and made it totally your own. You have taken the world that J K bequeathed you and made it darker, more emotionally complex, and Regulus' descent into madness has been thought provoking and compelling. The way you have juxtaposed the ideas of good and evil in Regulus' head has been amazing, and it is all obviously a product of his guilt for killing Anthony. The inclusion of Barty made it acutely clear what Regulus had lost by making Barty ambitious and manipulative, whereas Anthony was honest but with very realistic human flaws. The evolution of Will from this psycho bully to this very complex character just shows how much you understand humans, while many stories on this site just follow the high romantic model. You had no Mary Sue's, you remembered a great deal of the characters were Slytherins and Deatheaters and never succumbed to changing their fundamentals or giving them a happy ending. In Sarah and Elizabeth you produced girls who you sympathised with and also got a bit annoyed with. And in Topher you created the victim that is needed in such a dark story. It's been absolutely wonderful how you carefully paced your plot, giving the readers little hints as it goes along without being tempted to rush to the big exciting ending. Thank you so much for this story and I can't wait to read the final few chapters!!

Author's Response: *blushes very very badly*
Thank you! I can't even...I don't even have a proper response. I wanna write something witty and equal, but I'm just sitting here staring at the screen wearing this big, doofusey grin.
I just...yeah.
Thank you so much!! :D --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #39, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Horcrux

16th November 2011:
YOU MUST UPDATE SOON! This is amazing!! I am sure that it is Regulus' mind, but a hallucination Anthony is almost as good as the real Anthony, it will help him do what he has to do. One quick question, how many chapters are there left?

Author's Response: Caps lock in reviews make me smile really big!!
You'll see exactly what's going on with the Anthony appearance in the next chapter :)

There are *counts* three left. Chapter 79, 80 and 81. (I hate odd numbers so there's a chance I may write 82 if the plot fits it.) But yeah...three/four.

Thank you. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #40, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: We Could Run Away

16th November 2011:
AH!!! I knew I was right to hate Barty! I was starting to trust him as well! But I suppose we all know what he turned into! Amazing chapter, and now I am actually convinced that the person at the the beginning IS Anthony, and the voice manifests itself! I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: The really sad part is, Barty actually thinks he was doing what was right to help Regulus. :(
Since you've already read the next chapter, you know your suspicions have been settled. :D
Thank you again for reviewing! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #41, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Happy Christmas III

16th November 2011:
For a moment there I actually wanted Regulus to succeed because there is so much at stake! But clearly he cannot have a happy ending! Such a tense chapter, it was amazing!

Author's Response: It's so hard not to write something like "then Regulus and Sirius hugged and they all made nice and everyone lived happily ever after". Cause I could...just slap an AU on this sucker. Lol.

*must resist* And thank you again! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #42, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Happy Christmas I

16th November 2011:
Really weird mental picture of Voldemort eating Lemon Sorbet! But it was a great chapter, it has got to be soon that Regulus makes his break. I am pretty sure he won't kill Sirius, I mean we all know that Sirius falls through the veil.

Another amazing chapter, I'm sorry I haven't reviewed for ages but I've been really busy! I'm going to carry on reading!

Author's Response: Hehehe Dark Lord's gotta eat too. :P
We know that he doesn't kill Sirius, but the real question is "will he try?". :D

No apologies needed. :) Glad that you're back though! And thank you so much. --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #43, by katti4493Shot of Light: The Posters

12th July 2011:
Can't be long now till they finally get it together! And Ernie, it was brave what he did and he shouldn't feel guilty! The complexity of these characters are really good, especially Neville. Can't wait for the next one!

 Report Review

Review #44, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Another Casualty of War

19th June 2011:
Topher and Elizabeth are dead??? I thought that Regulus would be a bit sadder, he took it pretty well. I'm sad Topher is dead, I liked him. I am also intrigued where Sarah has gone.

In your author's note, did you mean Elizabeth and Topher's fate, because people can read into that :)

Author's Response: Yes, I did mean Elizabeth. Thank you for pointing that out! It's all changed now. ^.^
And thank you for reviewing. :) --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #45, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Books & Trust

19th June 2011:
Barty, do I like him? I don't know, but he is a greatly written character. I really want to know what Evan wants to talk to him about! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Well it's up now. :) Thank you so much for reviewing. --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #46, by katti4493An English Lady Bright: It Was An English Lady Bright

13th June 2011:
That was so lyrical, and had an enchanted fairytale quality about it. It was quite poetic, and I thought that suited the era you were writing this in (I'm writing my own founders story and I sometimes sound too modern; you had it perfect). You established Salazar well as the ominous villain, and I hope we will see more from his perspective in chapters to come. Keep writing! I will be reading!

Author's Response: Ahh, thanks so much!! That's so nice of you to say :) I love the Founders era and I will most definitely be checking out your story to return the favor. Glad you liked this!

 Report Review

Review #47, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Just Breathe

13th June 2011:
Brilliant! I thought that chapter was a real insight into Regulus' psyche, and seems a step towards him turning against the deatheaters. I think Dumbledore may help him change, once he learns to trust. I still think it was Anthony in the opening chapter, and I want him to come back, but I just don't know how he is going to. I'm warming to Barty, but all these characters are so realistic, with good and bad features to them, so none of them are heroes and none of them are villains. I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. ^.^ You think it was Anthony? Hmm, interesting. -smirks- Guess you'll have to wait and see.
Thank you for that, so much! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #48, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Flicker Back Into Darkness

5th June 2011:
Oooh! You can't just leave it there!?! (Even tho we all know Sirius will be fine). I'm glad Regulus and Barty are not together, because this chapter, I was firmly in the "I don't like Barty" camp. I think its brilliant that we all know how evil these characters turn out (Barty especially), but you need to make them likable so Regulus would like them, so you create these ambiguous characters that are just brilliant! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I don't know if I make them likable per se. At least that's never my intention. When I design a character [or expand a canon design] I just try to show them in a clear light and let the reader make up their minds. I think that's why my readers are always all over the board in relation to liking or disliking a character. Elizabeth, Anthony, Will, Barty, Sarah even Regulus. The only character that people have been agreed upon is Topher. ♥

I wouldn't be too worried about liking Barty. I mean, yes he grows up to be a horrible person, but right now he's just now a kid with big ideas and twitchy habits. ^.^

Anyways, thank you so much for reviewing!! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #49, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Diamonds in the Dust

31st May 2011:
Good ending to their relationship, Regulus was just waiting for an excuse to break up with her, and him and Barty are growing closer at the same time, yet again, the pacing is brilliant. It's also unbelievable how quickly you get these chapters out, considering how well written they are! I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Of course he did. :P
Thank you so much. A little confession, I started writing this story a good 5 months before putting it on HPFF so I've got these chapters done for a while now. I just put the finishing touches on chapter 60 in my writing, so that's why they can go up so fast. :)
Thank you again!! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #50, by katti4493Haunted: the Life and Times of Regulus Arcturus Black: Shattered Pieces Hit the Floor

28th May 2011:
Good chapter, bit of a filler but you definitely need those sometimes. I can't wait until Regulus finds out that Sirius is the dog, and Regulus and Barty are getting closer. It's amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you. :) --Jenna

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>