Reading Reviews From Member: Rose of the West
  
103 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rose of the WestTale of the Pumpkin Thief: It Takes a Thief

30th October 2010:
Ah, you've got to love a pairing that has its first romantic flutter at the same time the word 'heterozygous' is in the air. I've probably said that when reviewing this elsewhere. What's really impressive is the way this builds to an answer that should have been obvious yet makes us want romance for these two.

Author's Response: Hello, lady! Thanks for reviewing! I think at that moment Scorpius neither knew nor cared what heterozygous meant, but he did feel a flutter, although it took a couple of more years to act on it. Slytherin men can be stubborn...as you well know. ;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rose of the WestDragon Heart: One Shot.

29th August 2010:
That's lovely, the way you tell the story of their relationship as aspects of it come to mind because of things he notices during their afternoon together. It's sweet that that they both are thinking about marriage at the same time, too.

Author's Response: Thanks Rose, that means a lot to me :) So sorry about the late reply, limited internet access will do it lol. But thank you, I do appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rose of the WestShe Wore Green: One Shot.

21st August 2010:
I'm so glad to have found you here! I've missed you! My ISP has only recently updated something, which has enabled me to easily manouver around here, and I finally had the chance to see who listed me as favorites!

This is such a sweet story, full of those delicious little touches that I love in stories. I like the whole byplay between Sirius and Peter, along with Lupin wondering if he should do something but deciding instead that he should re-read his prefect instructions. It's a brilliant start to his life of wondering if he should do something about his friends and then finding something else to do.

I really like the way James surveys the whole scene as though he owned it, and the way the only thing that brings him up short is noticing how Lily is turning the corner to womanhood.

I adore the way he can tell he's going to be one seriously whipped man but since it's Lily, he embraces that future.

Author's Response: Hey Rose! How're you going lovely! I've missed you! :) TDM seems so long ago now huh? :(

Thank you so much for the beautiful review, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I didn't want to be over the top with this one (as I recall it was written in 2 hours for Kavya's challenge once upon a time...) but in regards to James' immediate feelings about Lily. He needs to realise he likes her before anything can happen, and rather than being thrown into it, I thought I'd take the gradual approach... and chuck in his mates giving him a hard time about it for good measure lol. Remus is awesome, he makes me smile with his attitude lol. Sirius just rocks, love him lol :)

Thank you so much for the beautiful review Rose! I hope the family is ok, I'll catch up with you soon! :) xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Questions, Answers and More Questions

14th August 2010:
Aw, she's dealing with her own memories/problems and also with Lily. Hopefully she'll work through all that as they get closer.

Author's Response: Lily will always play a part in Snape's life. How they both deal with that reality will be the interesting part.
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Sweet Dreams

14th August 2010:
They both have nightmares... Maybe they'll both get over them together.

Author's Response: Interesting idea.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: An American Brit

26th July 2010:
She's so well put together, usually? Who would have thought she would be a messy drunk? I like that Snape is intrigued in spite of himself, to the point where he's sharing his own secrets.

Author's Response: Merlaina has a lot going on in her world and the reader only knows a very small portion. She is under pressure from to her job and she needs to unwind a bit.

As far as Snape sharing his secrets all I can think is maybe he thinks she won't remember but that is unlikely.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Fool

26th July 2010:
Wow... now things are getting dangerous. Doesn't she know Severus has a Dark Mark, and why would Igor's make her nautious if she knows about the one Snape has?

Author's Response: Quite interesting that you point Severus having a Dark Mark and Merlaina not seeming to care, does she know he has one, yes. Merlaina is aware of the first war and has read quite a bit about it (Chapter 7 'Questions').

As a reader I would point out that Merlaina also had a relationship with Lucius (Chapter 6 'Laina'), who also bares the mark. As the author I am unable to explain Merlaina's actions/reactions and must instruct to keep reading.
Thank you for the read and review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rose of the WestThis Longing: One Dark and Quiet Night

10th April 2010:
What a beautiful moment, in the midst of such agony. Yet all of this togetherness is only because of the agony, I fear. As soon as things settle down a bit, they'll find some reason to argue again.

Eh, for now I'll enjoy the fact that they're together and comforting each other.

Author's Response: You're very right that they both need this agony in order to be together. It seems to be a consistent thing throughout their relationship, which is very sad for them both. I hope that, for the remainder of this story at least, they'll be able to put off the arguing. Even I'm becoming tired of writing it.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! I look forward to hearing your opinion on this story. :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Reckless

10th April 2010:
So much for having a lovely memory from the other night. She's a bit silly to think she can tell people like Hermione all about herself and then not have it get around the castle. Severus is right. Dumbledore will find it all out, from the portraits if no one else.

Author's Response: Merlaina thinks she is living in some kind of protective bubble doesn't she? Crazy woman! She is rather smart but I think naive a lot of the time too.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Reputations

10th April 2010:
Hmm... it looks like she got what she wanted from that. What will she do when she finds out that Igor and Severus were comparing Dark Marks?

Author's Response: Merlaina knows they both have Dark Marks so she doesn't really care what they were doing. You are right about getting what she wanted though, she is used to getting what she wants.
Thanks for the read and review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Morning

10th April 2010:
"A purple dad was never a good one." Brilliant!

I liked the bit about the contact lens, too.

Fun story, and I still think Al better hope no one knows where he's having his honeymoon.

Author's Response: I'm really happy you've enjoyed this, it was a joy to write. Rose/Scorpius is definitely my favourite ship right now. Aha, the infamous contact lens, I was trying to think of something that would lighten the mood lol
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this whole story, I really really appreciate it =]


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Al

10th April 2010:
Heh, heh... Look at Albus Potter, getting his sneakiness on! And Lily ISN'T a tart after all, she just plays one for the benefit of others! I hope Al and his bride haven't advertized where they're going on their honeymoon. They might get some unfortunate surprises.

Author's Response: Haha this chapter did surprise a few people, I kept Al's part quiet didn't I lol but I swear I put a little hint all the back in the first chapter. Mind you, no one thought Lily wasn't a tart lol it's nice to surprise people.
Thank you! =]


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Perfection

10th April 2010:
Aw... that was a good one. Gotta love the way they're both still analyzing everything.

Author's Response: Finally together, but still analysing, I think I just wanted them to always be on guard. It'll take then awhile to get past
Thank you again =]


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Reunited

10th April 2010:
He's already capitulated and she's won, but she doesn't see it that way yet. She better let him kiss her before Lilymort finds them.

Author's Response: Ah well, I'm sure Rose might mellow a bit in the next chapter, you never know
Thanks again! =]


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Games

10th April 2010:
That Lily is quite a tart, isn't she? Isn't there some Zabini relative Scorpius could pawn her off on?

I like watching the way the two minds are working. They know what they need to do, but like all of us, they just can't quite make the leap. Sometimes I think people are as afraid of success as they are of failure.

Author's Response: Not all is as it seems with Lily though =P
Glad you're still enjoying and thanks for reviewing =]


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: A Charms Lesson

8th April 2010:
Hmm... I wonder why she couldn't form a proper patronus before. She and Severus are becoming almost like friends. That's dangerous.

Author's Response: It is Rather interesting Merlaina was unable to produce the patronus. I guess it's just one of those things that makes her interesting, at least I hope.
I don't know if these two are friends but I think they may be learning to tolerate each other.
As always thats for reading and for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: The Welcoming Feast

8th April 2010:
That's a very interesting start to the competition. I like the way the professors from the different schools are already not getting along with each other. Of course, Snape and Karkaroff have previous bad blood to consider...

Author's Response: I like Karkaroff he's a very interesting character. I would to have loved to known about him.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Graduation

8th April 2010:
Aw... too bad she doesn't know the proverb "in vino veritas" or she would realize the wine was making him MORE truthful. I can see why he drank it and also why she was insulted by it. Very cute!

Author's Response: Al is a pretty bad influence on Scorpius, though he does tend to run with the trouble he causes with style lol
Glad you're enjoying =]
And thanks for leaving a review, I really appreciate it


 Report Review

Review #19, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Bridesmaid

8th April 2010:
Poor Rosie! A workaholic by Hermione's standards is pretty bad. I don't mind her being dour if it's just a veneer. Somehow I hope that once it's cracked a lot of passion and joy will spill out.

I think you've nicely set up the protagonists and the conflict.

Author's Response: I think you've got her spot on =] though she is fairly moody but hopefully in a humorous way
Thanks for reviewing again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Questions

6th April 2010:
It appears that Hermione has figured out a great deal of the story and won't stop until she knows it all. Merlaina seems a bit too eager to tell all. Does she realize that there's a danger in spreading around too much or does she trust that everyone at Hogwarts will be kind?

Author's Response: I think Merlaina is curious about Hermione. As Merlaina muses she sees a lot of similarities between herself and Hermione. This causes a bit of Merlaina's guard to fall.

Thank You for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rose of the WestHopeless...: Desperate

6th April 2010:
Great start! I'm always a sucker for a story about Rose W, but this is a great beginning!

Author's Response: Me too! I actually enjoy writing Rose/Scorpius more than Sirius/oc, which extremely unusual for me.
Anyway, thank you for reviewing =] Glad you thought it was a good start and I hope you like the rest.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Laina

7th March 2010:
More hm... So she had at least a fling with Lucius, long after he was married if she was 11 when the Tedious One first died.

And Snape finds that fact intriguing!

Author's Response: Snape does find the Merlaina/ Lucius relationship a intriguing. Eventually we will learn more about this relationship but that is several chapters away.
Again thank you for the review and stay turned for more, things will only be getting more interesting.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Fourth Times a Charm

7th March 2010:
Hm. They're finding that they have things in common. That discussion with Lucius won't be pleasant, though.

Author's Response: You are the first reviewer to point out these two having something in common. I just want to point that out. Gold star for you! :)
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: First Impressions

7th March 2010:
I'm always interested in seeing how others would improve upon the house system. Your way might work as well as any, I guess, but I admit I always liked the idea of rooming with people who at least had some similar tendencies.

I like the way things are developing with all the little relationships.

Author's Response: I personally think that the randomness would be good because we can't choose our co-workers, neighbors, etc. so I thought this would allow being able to 'practice' getting along with others.
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rose of the WestHeads or Tails: Approval

25th February 2010:
Heh heh, he can make an honorific sound like an insult. These two are off to a good start! ;)

Author's Response: It is truly amazing to me how Snape can manage to make anything sound so horrid.
Thank you for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>