Reading Reviews From Member: hpgrl
  
189 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hpgrlOff the Rails: sixty

18th March 2014:
Next chapter is the final!! Woh! Can't wait. I don't want the story to finish :/

Author's Response: It is indeed! And unfortunately this fic has to come to an end soon ... but don't be too sad, there's a sequel to come afterwards! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by hpgrlRecluse: One

13th November 2013:
Loving it so far! Edolie is such a refreshing character and I can't wait to read more :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by hpgrlSilver Linings: Alexa: When Some Things Get Worse and Some Get Better

15th January 2013:
Hi! Just wanted to say that I love your story and can't wait to read more. I love Albus's characterization and how awkward he can be. Update soon!

Author's Response: Hey. Thank you so much, I'm glad you like Albus. The next chapter should be up soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by hpgrlOff the Rails: thirty-five

7th January 2013:
Another great chapter! I'm glad everything isn't fixed with Carlotta just yet- James will have to fight for her. The moments with Harry were so touching! Although it felt too rushed- like everything between them was resolved too fast, I still felt that James was at fault even though Harry was denying it. I guess I can see that Harry was really worried so he was trying to make the most out of a sensitive situation. I loved that lily was secretly behind the visit. I'm looking forward to James reconciling with the rest of his friends and family :)

Author's Response: James will definitely have to fight for Carlotta, and that certainly won't be easy. The Harry/James scene wasn't easy to write, and if I'm honest I'm still not 100% happy with it, but it took a few rewrites and I'm happy enough with this version. It's worth bearing in mind that these guys are family who have been worried sick about James and unaware of his whereabouts for the past few weeks, so right now their overriding feeling is relief that he's okay. Their approach here is to forgive James now, and ask questions later. James knows he was at fault, and apologised for it, and so Harry's not going to start berating him straight away, especially bearing in mind his reaction last time that happened. But I'm glad you liked the chapter regardless. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by hpgrlOff the Rails: thirty-four

3rd January 2013:
yay! things are starting to look up again! I loved this chapter and Ingrid seems like an intriguing character. I hope we get to see more of her. Can't wait for the next chapter! Seriously, this is my favorite story right now and I got so excited when I saw that you had updated :D

Author's Response: Things are indeed beginning to look up! Ingrid will crop up again in a few chapters' time. Glad you like her! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by hpgrlEnchanted: Wallflower

3rd January 2013:
Love it! It's the perfect resolution to kyle and luka's relationship :)

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by hpgrlOff the Rails: thirty-two

10th December 2012:
Hi! I just found this story the other day- and I'm just glad I didn't find it during final exams last week, because then I definitely wouldn't have gotten any studying done! I've been reading it for the last two days. I absolutely love how distinct all your characters are and how detailed all the quidditch aspects of the story are. I feel so bad for James, and I hope someone takes pity on him and helps him soon :/ please update soon!

Author's Response: I feel your pain about stories distracting from exams, because I had the same thing a few months ago. Except, I actually DID find the story in question during my exams, and was reading it even the day before one exam. Fantastic prep! Anyway, I'm really glad you're enjoying so far! I want the secondary characters to be more than just wallflowers so it's good that you find they're developed well. And I've spent a long time developing the Quidditch side of things too, so that's very satisfying as well. Things begin to look up for James soon, promise! Next chapter is in the queue so should be up soon. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by hpgrlSlow Metabolism: The Fat Lady

3rd May 2012:
hi! that was an interesting chapter. It felt like there was a lot progression in the audrey/Hugo relationship- between Hugo's grades going up and Audrey having an emotional breakdown. I especially loved that we got to see Audrey speak up for herself. I love how original the revenge plans you come up with are! I was confused that you kept on referring to Audrey graduating in a month- or taking the NEWTs in a month. Doesn't she still have six months or so left?

Can't wait to read about the hogsmeade trip!

Author's Response: I actually feel bad when I get reviews now BECAUSE IT'S SO HARD TO UPDATE. I don't know where my muse has gone, seriously. But thank you so much! It was intentional to make them both do better in their classes, to prove that they make a good team and that they're good influences on each other (: And thank you re: the plans haha. The part where Audrey says she's running out of plans = me. I honestly have no idea where I'm going with them. But I just hope they work! And the NEWTS aren't in a month, but prep will start once they're back from the Christmas holidays. That's what I meant! Again, thank you so much for continually reviewing, it means a whole lot to me! I'M GOING TO WRITE TODAY I SWEAR.

 Report Review

Review #9, by hpgrlThe IQ Team: Floor One

27th April 2012:
hi!! I loved this chapter even more! I kind of wish it was longer though- I'm very interested in seeing how the relationship between James and Merryn unfolds, and I already love the cast. Tom is awesome :D

-looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Heyy, thanks! I was rushing a little with this one, which is why it's shorter. Tom is brilliant, I have to admit! I want a Tom (: Updates should be... expected at some point but maybe not in the next month or so, I'm afraid.

Tasha


 Report Review

Review #10, by hpgrlThe IQ Team: A Reunion of Sorts

27th April 2012:
Hi!! I love this! keep writing :D and I'm off to the next chapter (though I should be studying for finals :P)

Author's Response: hii, thank you! Ahh, don't let me distract you from finals... which is exactly what I'm doing to myself :3

 Report Review

Review #11, by hpgrlMemories of Hogwarts: The Start of Lessons

26th March 2012:
Hello! I think this is my favorite chapter so far. I love how we get to kind of re-explore Hogwrats for the first time through Harriet's eyes. And I love the little things she notices that never occurred to me, like how uneccesarily large Hogwarts is :) my favorite part was the muggle studies class- it was some awesome stuff, how did you come up with it all? That there's magic inside everyone and there aren't really any pure bloods left. It's really interesting.

Author's Response: Hi again :) Good to hear from you! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and particularly glad that you picked up on the little things - these are mostly things that I noticed reading the books and wanted to use them.
Muggle Studies is my favourite bit too. All the stuff in there just seemed to make sense to me. A bit of genetics knowledge and a bit of imagination got me there! Thanks for the review. I'll see you at the next chapter when you have the time!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by hpgrlWhite Lie: Seduction (and how to fail at it)

21st March 2012:
It's not a crummy filler chapter! and that's not a lie :D I really enjoyed it. I love Chester, and her editor is all uncaring and mysterious- can't wait to read more on that!

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad you liked it at least. :) Thanks for the great review. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by hpgrlMemories of Hogwarts: Beginning Again

5th March 2012:
I gotta say, these chapters are considerably longer than the ones in the last story- and it's great :D Matty kind of reminds me of Ernie Macmillan- he just seems so self-assured. I love the feelings your descriptions evoke- the whole first-day of school anxiousness and excitement, it all feels so genuine and real. I also love the whole cast of characters we're getting introduced to and I can't wait to read more about them. I'm kind of hoping there will be drama and friendships/enemies- that sort of thing. They don't seem to have met anyone evil (Malfoy-ish in first year), but I'll reserve that until I read further. Everything is going pretty smoothly- and I'm looking forward to reading more about any hardship Harriet may have faced...so I'm really looking forward to next chapters (so glad they're already written!) and I shall see you next chapter :D well written and interesting as always!

Author's Response: I'm glad you appreciate the long chapters! So do I, as I am finding I have far too much to write about...
You'll definitely get to read more about Harriet's classmates - some will obviously play a larger role than others but they'll all be there. And don't worry, drama (and Malfoys!) are coming soon.
Thanks very much :) I shall look forward to reading your next review!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by hpgrlMemories of Hogwarts: First Impressions

28th February 2012:
Hi! I loved this chapter! I love the description of the common room with the notice board and all the other things- it sets a warm aura to the whole place. I also love the interjections from the grandchildren and their own thoughtful reactions. Harriet is a great storyteller :D the way she talks is so storytelling-ish and dramatic. But I felt at times that she was speaking too maturely to an audience of little children, but that just might be me :-)

Author's Response: Hi! Good to hear from you again :) It's nice to see reviews pop up when I'm not expecting them, so thanks!
I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. I shall keep in mind what you said about the audience - it's something I have been considering myself, and I'm trying to find the balance between getting across the whole story and keeping it age-appropriate for the children. I'll try to take it down a little!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by hpgrlVoldemort's Christmas Surprise: Voldemort's Christmas Surprise

27th February 2012:
Hi! review tag :D

First of all, I love your characterization of Voldemort - the perfect, sulky ex-Dark Lord. I also loved the interjection from all the other dark lords (especially Saruman and the fact that the White Witch was getting a lion for Christmas :P). The style of writing is very matter-of-factly, which works perfectly with the humor. I felt like the ending was kind of out of place- like I would've like to see a reprisal from his flat-mates or that he had been able to make enough to get a new flat mate - something that could connect the other events in the story together. Besides that, I thoroughly enjoyed that and found it really funny! Great job ^_^

Author's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed the concept! So I know I wrote that you can read them in any order, but I think the ending makes more sense if you've read the other stories. One of the recurring themes of the series is Harry always turning up to mock Voldemort. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by hpgrlTricks Of Telling : August Four; 2002

25th February 2012:
Hi!! This if for the review swap :D

I don't really watch Doctor Who, but I'm familiar with the premise of it and have watched one episode like a decade ago :P So I could follow along. I love the first line, it really kind of puts you into the thick of the action from the start and it's an interesting, kind of funny line. The whole chapter flowed well, I think there could have been more description of the scene or the room she was in so that it could feel more real to the readers. But, apart from that, the story idea is intriguing, and I love that you're going to slowly unfold it for us backward with every chapter. And that Harry is carrying through for Hermione. Great Job!

Author's Response: Hi! Yay for review swaps!!
WHY DOES NO ONE WATCH DOCTOR WHO! At least your familiar with it. thank you! Yeah, I may go back & edit this chapter and add a few more description and imagery.
Thank you!!
Jaz


 Report Review

Review #17, by hpgrlSlow Metabolism: A Hard Day's Night

22nd February 2012:
Another awesome chapter! I'm a bit in awe of you updating skills, do you already have everything written? I can't wait until the Christmas chapter! I loved Hugo being all brave in this chapter. I noticed that you mentioned Uncle Fred instead od Uncle George though :D I think it's going to be funny having Audrey on a diet, and I love how Hugo keeps complementing her, it's so cute. I'm already shipping Hugo/Audrey, though it's probably too early. She going to transform then Hugo is going to fall in love with her, then they're going to live happily ever after ♥

Can't wait for next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha well I said I'd try and get a chapter up every day [: No more updates for something like a month though, because exams are just eating me out. ARGH Yeah I will fix that >< This is what happens when you write fanfic early in the morning. You forget which ones have died and which ones are alive. Lol as for the last bit, no comment, can't give away any plot here :) Thank you so much for the review, I really look forward to people's opinion on the plot/writing so this is great! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hpgrlSlow Metabolism: First Wicket

22nd February 2012:
The poem was so funny! and McGonagall, and Hugo asking Audrey to come over for Christmas after only two days of hanging out, and the whole Roger Davies scheme- it's all pretty awesome stuff. Looking forward to the next chapter and how the next prank unfolds. I also love the small hints of mystery--like how the people on the Tosser list are going to be trying to figure out who's next. It has the feel of a good murder mystery - that is without the killing :D

Author's Response: was it? i thought it was awful lol. yeah well, what can i say about hugo. he's very .. forward lol. argh that's really just great to here and i'm glad it's keeping everybody on their toes :D i'm so thrilled that it's coming out well, really. thank you so much for reviewing, it really means a ton!

 Report Review

Review #19, by hpgrlSlow Metabolism: Strategy

22nd February 2012:
I loved this chapter! I love how hugo and audrey just click, and seem to always be on the same wavelength. I'm starting to wonder if Hugo has any other friends though, cause now he always seems to be hanging out with Audrey. The Tosser list is pretty ingenious, and the whole plot is exciting. It's going to be great getting through each prank and each person on the list. Great job! now off to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: ahhh your reviews make me so happy XD thank you so much; i'm beginning to get used to writing the audrey-hugo scenes. i'll try and introduce something later re:hugo's friends, i know it hasn't been very clear. thank you so much, i'm so excited that you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by hpgrlMemories of Hogwarts: The Sorting Hat

21st February 2012:
Hi!!! Sorry it's taken so long to get here, been extremely busy with school. I'm currently in a physical chemistry class, and your story has brought me comfort and kept me awake through the class :) I was pleasantly surprised at having grandma Harri narrate everything, but it's so beautifully done, and the grandchildren are so very cute :D and she married Hugo? That is adorable! Are we going to get to see that develop? I really hope so. I absolutely loved your description of Hogwarts, it was so wonderfully written. I'm looking forward to getting through these chapters, though it may take a while. But I'll definitely be back ^_^

Author's Response: Welcome back! Don't worry about how long it takes you to get back, I am just impressed at your willpower to keep going with school. I wish I was not as easily distracted from my own work!
I'm so glad you like it so far, especially the Harriet/Hugo pairing. I love it too, and definitely that will develop quite a lot throughout the story. Thanks for reviewing and I shall look forward to your return, whenever it may be!

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by hpgrlWorth More: Worth More

19th February 2012:
Hi! this is for the review tag :D

Firstly, I loved that the story wasn't set up linearly, but we had to kind of piece it together as we moved along. I also loved your characterization of both Remus and Tonks and thought both were pretty spot on. The scene played out so realistically- though I got a little lost when she began punching him, mostly because I didn't expect it, but it fit in with the rest anyways :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Yes, I like assuming that my readers are smart because they usually are so I didn't think I needed to spell it out. (Yes, you are in the category of smartness.)

I can see it on the hitting part but I'm glad you were able to fit it in!

Thanks!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #22, by hpgrlSlow Metabolism: Exploding Snap

19th February 2012:
Hi! This is a great first chapter, and I absolutely love Audrey, her cynicism and basically everything about her. It's only been a couple thousand words but you've already got me sucked in. It was the title that attracted me, so kudos for that. Hugo is also very well characterized, and I love how natural and realistic their interactions have been up to this point! Great job! And I'm looking forward to seeing how this story unfolds :D

p.s first reviewer!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was all very much experimental, so it's great to hear that it's working out! Thank you so much again, this really means a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by hpgrlJourneys on the Hogwarts Express: Epilogue

31st January 2012:
That was such a heartwarming ending! It made me feel all warm and happy inside :D and I love that you ended it off with yet another train journey, and we got to see, subtly, how much Lily and Harriet's relationship had progressed. I love that Harriet is in Gryffindor, and that she feels part of a family. She reminds me of Harry so much, and the way you write her- it's great! Thanks so much for writing, and I'm looking forward to the sequel!

Author's Response: Aww thanks :) Warm and happy is such a good effect to have on people! I'm so glad you like Harriet and I love that you think she is like Harry too.
'Memories of Hogwarts' will begin publishing in about a week, hopefully, as I'm planning to post the first chapter in the next couple of days. Thanks for all your support and reviews :)

Alex :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by hpgrlThe Art of Surviving.: Burn out.

30th January 2012:
I loved this chapter! The dynamic between Lily and James and their back and forth relationship at the moment feels just so real. You write Lily as such a genuine character, with great depth and flaws that make so much sense, and James is just so James- if that makes sense. I also loved the small references to Mary and the effect she still has on them all. Thanks for writing, I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! LIly is definately a bit messed up and not really herself at the moment, but thats what life happens I guess. Thank you for the lovely review and I'm very glad you're looking forward to the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by hpgrlJourneys on the Hogwarts Express: Lily Luna Potter

26th January 2012:
You go Lily!! I'm so proud of her! She totally shut that guy up, and I can start to see the more confident, fiery aspect of her personality coming through. And awww! The interaction between the siblings is so cute! Albus especially. I love how heartfelt this whole story is, and it's such a nice parallel between the girls' journey on the train and their own personal journeys. they've both changed already and I can't wait to read what houses they get into. Great job! Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Yes, go Lily! Woo! I'm proud of her too :) Thankyou so much for you review. The epilogue is in the queue now which I hope you will enjoy - you will find out how the Sorting goes but for the story of their times at Hogwarts I am writing a sequel which I will start publishing pretty much straight away. I didn't want to overstretch myself on my first attempt at fanfic... I hope you like the final chapter and thankyou so much for all the reviews and support.

Alex :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>