Reading Reviews From Member: krazyboutharryginny
  
438 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginnyPersephone : Persephone

20th May 2016:
Hello Gabbie! I'm here for our swap! Sorry this is so late.

So I wanted to read this story because I read Sanctuary (which you will be getting a review on ASAP btw!) and I really wanted to read more of your Audrey/Percy.

I always imagined Audrey as a very proper lady, someone pretty similar to the way that Percy was in the books. It never occurred to me that it might be really good for him to marry a woman who wasn't like that. It also never really never occurred to me that he might be quite different after the trauma of the war. So it was really cool to read this (and Sanctuary) where the perfect woman for Percy would be this firecracker with a rough background.

I think you've made Audrey into a really interesting character, and you've also made me care about Percy where, to be honest, I didn't before!

There's a lot of really great stuff in this one-shot. I really loved that you made Audrey and Fleur friends, and that we were given some insight into Fleur's background and relationship with Bill. And I really liked that even though Bill was disapproving of Audrey and the two of them didn't really get along, he was willing to look after her and be gentle with her/nice to her when it counted and she needed it. I think I would have been quite surprised and found it OOC if he hadn't to be honest.

I loved how gentle and sweet the scene at the end was, with Percy and Audrey and their newborn daughter. It was really heartwarming. But I have one bit of CC, which is this - at the beginning, and when she went into labour, Audrey seemed to be at least nervous, even scared. I would've liked to see a bit of a resolution to that, if that makes sense? It's not really mentioned how she actually feels holding her daughter in her arms, you know? So maybe you could add something about that?

Overall, this was a really lovely one-shot with a very refreshing take on these characters! Great work :D

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginnyTraitorous Hearts: An Unwelcome Visitor

20th May 2016:
Hiya Penny! Here for our swap! :D Sorry I'm a bit late with this!

I'm very impressed with this chapter! Something about the way that it's written is so striking. The descriptions are really vivid, and you've included so many details that really build up the story and make it a lot more engaging. We're given a sense of the current climate of the wizarding world without a whole lot of exposition, and same thing with the atmosphere within the Greengrass home.

You haven't really given us all that much solid information about the specifics of what's going on - Astoria's mother has died, her family's loyalties are in question, Malfoy is a Death Eater, and beyond that we don't really know too much. But you've given us enough, and dropped enough hints, that it draws us in. It's all very intriguing, and I definitely want to know more about the situation.

I briefly mentioned your descriptions, but I wanted to talk about it a bit more. The language you use is just stunning and really goes above and beyond. An example would be how, instead of saying that Lavinia's eyebrows were furrowed, you said that her "frown was a fissure between her eyebrows" - that's such a creative and unusual way to put that, and that sort of description really elevates this chapter.

My favourite part was this:
"It was incredible how a dress could be a political statement--how so much subtle meaning could be worked into the threads and knots of colour that she really just wanted to rip off her back and burn. It was a load of rot, the lot of it.
As far as she was concerned, it was green for Greengrass--that was where her loyalties lay."

And I also loved the bit when Astoria was rude to her House Elf when she would normally have been polite - it was a simple and effective way to build up the atmosphere of Malfoy's visit and even the climate outside the Greengrass home.

Great work, Penny!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla! No worries!

:D Thank you so much for saying that. I work super hard on the descriptions, so it always means a lot to me when they're appreciated. And you just said such kind things, and even pulled out a specific example? How lovely of you! Ooh, and a favorite quote, too. You're spoiling me ;) I'm really fond of that line, too, because it was a fun way to very quickly say a lot about Astoria--she knows how to play the game, but that doesn't mean she likes it. She has her own priorities--her family--and doesn't care a bit about the rest of it. And it was a chance to write in a little peek at the fire and anger under all that steely control she has. I'm just so glad you enjoyed it, because it's one of my favorites, as well.

I'm glad you're intrigued! Since I set out to make this story part Mystery, I really wanted to make sure that the first chapter didn't give away too much, but just dropped hints. This fic is, in large part, about secrets, so I wanted to have it open with that feeling that there's a lot going on under the surface.

Oh, Filly. Astoria's relationship with her House Elf was one of the most important things I knew about her, right at the start. We may not yet know what kind of person Astoria is, but at least we glimpse that she's got a decent side to her. I was a little inspired by Regulus Black's affection for Kreacher. We know that Regulus made a lot of mistakes, but it was Voldemort's misuse of his House Elf that drove him to sacrifice his life to try to bring Voldemort down. And I imagine that there could have been more Purebloods like that. I mean, we really only see a few examples of the House Elf/Pureblood relationships, and it's usually pretty awful, mostly because we only ever see Elves who are matched with pretty terrible people (with the exception of SIrius, whose treatment of Kreacher is terrible, but is also complicated by Kreacher's brainwashed spewing of his abusive late-Mistresses vitriol). But in my headcanon, most Pureblooded kids would be raised at home, rather than sent to a Muggle primary school. I imagine House Elves functioning as tutors and nannies--sort of the governesses of the Wizarding World. Many Purebloods would probably leave for school and grow up to continue to think that House Elves were beneath them, but I think some would hold onto that bond. Astoria is one of those.

But yeah, it would be a *terrible* idea to reveal that you considered your House Elf an equal in the "Magic is Might" era, so Astoria has got to keep that under wraps. Tense times, for sure!

Thanks so much for this super encouraging review, Kayla! I really appreciate it!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginnyStranger: 15.5 Years Old

19th May 2016:
Hi Kaitlin! Here for our swap, and also because I've been eager to finish reading this story!

Aw, I really like this chapter! I'm so happy Millicent had the strength to go talk to Madame Pomfrey, even though she wasn't sure how it would turn out. I really like the way you wrote Madame Pomfrey. In the books, she always came across to me as quite brusque, but I always felt that she truly cared about the students in her care. I think that this chapter was a totally realistic portrayal of her.

I'm really relieved that the meeting went so well and that Millicent has some resources now. There's quite a big jump in her age between this chapter and the next, so I'm really eager to continue reading and see how far she gets in that time!

I think what's remarkable about this story is how well it creates sympathy for a character who is presented in the books as unlikeable and sometimes cruel. I say over and over again how awesome a job you do of exploring and expanding minor characters, but I think this is the most exceptional example of that skill.

Another great chapter - wonderful work, Kaitlin!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 2

11th May 2016:
Hi Meg! Here for our swap! :)

I can't believe I'm so far behind on this story! I need to catch up as soon as I'm done my Golden Paws reading and voting!

I really liked this chapter! It was so heartbreaking at the beginning, how Mary felt like there must be something wrong with her. It wasn't really surprising, but it was definitely sad. I'm really hoping that these events with Lily will help Mary see that there's nothing wrong with her at all!

I'm actually quite surprised by how much happened between them just in this one chapter! Based on the last chapter and the title, I was expecting a cute, chaste little kiss, maybe as a dare or something! I certainly wasn't expecting this! I'm really wondering where the two of them will go from here, and I'm so eager to keep reading and find out!

Also, omg! Remus and Sirius! Omg. I squealed a little. I love it!

This is another really great chapter, Meg! This story is awesome and I'm enjoying it a lot! :D I'll be back ASAP to continue reading!

Lots of love,
Kayla

 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginnyThief: Scones And Jam

6th May 2016:
KAITLIN!

Oh my goodness! I am so proud of you! You did it! This is such a huge accomplishment and it has been truly amazing getting to watch you complete your 100-challenges challenge.

I absolutely love this story, and I think it's a really great one to wrap up your personal challenge with. You're been such a valuable member of Gryffindor house, and really are a true Gryffie, so I think it's awesome that your 100th challenge entry is this story celebrating Gryffindor traits. I've consistently remarked on your talent for taking minor characters and fleshing them out, and it feels really fitting that that's something you've done here. You've also done such an incredible job with description in this story.

I actually think this is one of my favourite stories you've written! I am really, really impressed by this - and by you, and your completion of your amazing goal!

I also just wanted to say thank you so much for being such an amazing friend and housemate. You're honestly an inspiration - it is just fantastic that you managed to accomplish this, and in so little time! You're a wonderful author and an even more wonderful person and I'm looking forward to seeing more from you after this 100 mark!

Lots of love,
Kayla

 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginnyDetermination: The First Day

4th April 2016:
Hey Kaitlin, here for our swap!

So I know I constantly praise your originality, but it really can't be said enough how incredibly imaginative you are. All your stories are so different and many of them are concepts I've NEVER seen done before. That's certainly the case with this story. There's the basic idea - I don't think I've ever seen a story about the first female Auror before - and then there's the fact that the first female Auror is Neville's grandmother! That is just so wonderful and creative, and this story really highlights your imagination and your knack for fleshing out minor characters.

I think this first chapter is really, really well done. You've got me completely hooked already. The scene at the beginning was particularly well done - I could imagine the chaos perfectly in my mind's eye.

I'm very glad that Augusta is going to have an ally within the department (assuming that Bertram really does have good intentions). Especially after seeing the way she was treated by everyone from the general public to the M.o.M. security guard, it seems like she could use all the friends she can get - although she's certainly very tough, I can't imagine all that negativity and anger towards her would be very good for her mental health :P

There were also some really good details thrown in here, such as the mention of the Minister's discriminatory hiring practices.

I'm so excited to see where you take this! Please let me know as soon as you post a new chapter!

Hugs!

-Kayla

(P.S. Do you need a banner for this? I'd be happy to try to make one, as long as you'd be satisfied with a banner at my current skill level!)

 Report Review

Review #7, by krazyboutharryginnyA Box of Chocolates: One: In Which Penny Eats Something Strange

3rd April 2016:
Hiya Lizzie! I promised free reviews - sorry it took me a little longer than I expected to get here, but here I am!

Ohhh... I think I know what's going on here. Oh dear! What a mess. I think I'm going to have to read chapter 2 right now and see what happens next tbh :P

So I don't think I've ever read a story from the point of view of a Muggle best friend before. Which isn't necessarily to say that no others exist, just that it's a new thing for me. And I really liked it! I think it definitely provides a really intriguing new angle :)

You already know how much I love Lia, so I don't need to say much about that. But I also really like Penny - she seems like a very good match for Lia, friendship-wise, although we only really see her properly for half of this, as after that she's... uhm. under the influence.

I'm really curious to see where this will go. I'm really just assuming that Penny's under the influence of a love potion, but if I'm right, I wonder whose chocolates those were that contained it and why they had them... Love potions are really horrible, in my opinion, so I wonder what will happen in terms of reactions from whichever two the chocolates didn't belong to (did that make sense?).

Anyways, this is wonderful, Lizzie! It's been way too long since I read something of yours. As usual, your dialogue is witty and entertaining, and your word choice is snappy. Your writing always has such a unique, fun tone!

I'll be back for chapter 2 sometime, hopefully really soon!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!!

Oh, boy, this story is one giant mess that only gets messier as things go on! Trust me, this is only the tip of the iceberg. Hopefully you'll still like this story (and me!) after you read the next chapter!

I'm really glad you liked this so far, though!

There really aren't that many stories written from a Muggle POV, period, but I guess that comes with it all being HP related and all. I think that's why I was so interested in writing this story!

Lia! I'm so glad you like Lia! She's one of my favorites too!

I'm so HAPPY to hear you like Penny too! She's certainly grown on me as I've written her, so I'm glad that comes across in the story!

Yeah, that did make sense, and you're right in that love potions aren't a good thing, at all. So, it's needless to say that the reactions to this aren't going to be positive.
(Oops! Spoilers!)

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad that you liked this story, and THANK YOU for leaving such a lovely review! It really means a lot!
Lizzie

P.S. Sorry if this response is a little weird. It's super late and my brain is fuzzy and I'm on my phone. XD


 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginnyStranger: 15 Years Old

2nd April 2016:
Hi Kaitlin!

So I believe I mentioned this in my last review, but I really like your portrayal of Pansy in this. I love how you've made her a sensitive person and a really good friend, giving her dimension that we don't get to see in the books.

I also really liked that in this chapter you touched on gender roles and made it very clear that what Millicent is feeling goes beyond discomfort with a gender role. That area is where I see a lot of confusion when talking to people who don't really understand this stuff, so I think it was a great idea to include that bit of dialogue.

I'm so happy that Millicent has begun to come to terms with all of this, and has true friends there for support. I hope Madame Pomfrey will be able to help too!

I think you're doing a good job on this so far and approaching it from a way that is accessible for people who might not know much about trans issues, so kudos on that! :D I'm excited for the next chapter and to see where you're going to go with this!

Hugs!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #9, by krazyboutharryginnyColors: Blue

13th March 2016:
Hi Stefi! Thanks for swapping with me :)

So, embarrassing admission - I totally meant to read this when you mentioned it in the review you left for "edges", but I'm just getting around to it right now :( I wish I'd come sooner because this is amazing.

I honestly kept getting the shivers while reading this. The song is obviously so full of metaphors and description, but you really took it and made something new. It's still very descriptive and poetic and full of beautiful metaphors, and it feels true to the song, but it doesn't feel like it's taken the song and copied it, if that makes sense? Like it still feels very original!

I'm very neutral about Scorpius/Rose, but this story had my heart breaking for them. You did an amazing job of pulling me in, even as their situation and relationship deteriorated. I sort of knew it was going to go that way from the start (probably because I know the song) but I was still sucked into the spiral and I was so, so sad at the ending (although I must say that the second last section was the one that inspired the most feelings inside of me. I'm not sure how to describe it, but I could sort of feel the desperation of their situation and I felt kind of desperate too. IDK if that made sense).

So yeah, this is an amazing story, Stefi. It's written so beautifully and there's powerful emotion in your words. Fantastic job!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hello Kayla!

Thanks for the review. Sorry this response is so late. I'm happy you liked this because I think 'edges' is such a masterpiece.

I'm so happy you thiught this fit well with the song. This song really told a story, you know? It told this really great narrative and I wanted to do that justice. I'm happy to hear that you think I achieved this!

I think the second to last bit was the hardest for me to write too. It was a challenge ti depict drug abuse and addiction in this way. Its very coded language, but I think its clear what drugs they're using and the severity of each one. I really wanted to make the blue potion the really powerful one.

Anyway, thank you again for taking the time to reciew my story! It really means the world to me.

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #10, by krazyboutharryginnyLike Fire: Like Fire

10th March 2016:
Hiii Julie! Here for our swap! I'm sorry it took me so long to get here. :(

Okay, so! I absolutely LOVE this. I honestly could not stop smiling all the way through it. Everything about it is just perfect, from characterization to dialogue to tone.

"Best friends move in with each other and end up together" is definitely something I've read before, but this story still felt so fresh and engaging. I think it's probably because you did such an amazing job with your portrayal of the characters and their friendship. Dean and Seamus were both just perfect, and this is kind of a sidenote but I thought you did a great job with Luna too! She can be a hard character to get right, and I'm honestly so intimidated to even try writing her, but you did a great job with her.

The dialogue was funny and endearing and clever. I honestly kept grinning and smiling while reading. Probably my favourite part was right at the end:

“So, if I told you I’m in love with you, you’d say…”
“Well, I sure as hell wouldn’t run out of the bloody room with a pillow in front of my—”

THESE DORKS! omg, I love them. I love this so so much!

Also, good call with the format (switching back and forth between the night before and the morning after). I think that worked out really well!

Thanks so much for the swap, Julie! I'm adding this to my favourites!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Muggle Studies Project

6th March 2016:
Hiii Tammi! Here again for the HPFF Review-a-thon :)

Abigail has such a big crush on James and it's SO cute!

I honestly love James, the way you've written him is great. In lots of stories, James II is kind of a playboy jerk. In this, he's still sort of fun and cheeky and mischievous, but he's not a mean or rude person at all. In fact he is kind and friendly, and his jokes aren't mean. It was so cute how he got so excited about the television and just started rambling on to Abigail.

I kind of said this in my last review, but the view Abigail has of herself makes me so sad. It's not so obvious in this chapter, but her low self-esteem sort of shows at the end when she thinks that James would run away from her if he knew she liked him. She doesn't even consider that maybe he likes her and that he's sort of seeking her out to spend time with her by sitting next to her in class. :(

I think the idea for the Muggle Studies project is brilliant! I'm always interested to see what other authors come up with for things like pranks and class projects and the like, because I'm seriously bad with coming up with that stuff! Great job on that aspect of this chapter :)

You do such a brilliant job on this story, Tammi, and I really enjoy reading it. I'll leave another review ASAP :)

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #12, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Four Hour Nap

6th March 2016:
Hey Tammi! I'm here to leave a review for the HPFF Review-A-Thon :)

Ugh! I hate Michelle so much, she is such a pain. It really hurts my heart that Abigail thinks she needs to continue being friends with her. I wish she would realize that other people care about her and want to spend time with her. (Like Isabella! I really like Isabella, she's so cute and nice.) But at the same time, her self-esteem is so bad that I can see why she doesn't realize. I'm just so sad for her. :(

LOL at Abigail accidentally napping for 4 hours. I totally do that sometimes, and it really doesn't help at all! It always makes me feel so much more lethargic.

Also, as much as I dislike Michelle, I also sort of feel like I would be the same way about Lucien. Like, I actually agree with what Abigail about what she said about him, but if I were in Michelle's shoes I would probably complain about him all the time :P That probably makes me a bad/annoying person. Oops.

Anyways, I really REALLY love this story and I'm sorry it's taking me so long to review! I will be back asap - maybe even later today, for the review-a-thon!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #13, by krazyboutharryginnyCount the Ways: Chapter 1

11th February 2016:
TAMMI! YOU ARE BRILLIANT!

This story is fantastic! I loved it so much! :D

You have done such a perfect job with Sirius' characterization! Now, we all know that I love to write Sirius, but we also all know that I invariably love to make him suffer (*shakes head at self*). However, you have done an amazing job of capturing his happy side! You got his sense of humour and drama queen personality down to a tee!

Your own wonderful sense of humour really shone through in this, and there were so many lines that made me laugh out loud :D James, Sirius, and Lily were brilliant together, their interactions were just really well done.

Also, your Harry is so good in this. I thought you were very true to his character, and I loved his sassiness (which he was clearly picking up from Sirius ;) ).

And! Diagon Alley Primary School! That's brilliant, honestly, I absolutely love that idea. And Remus as Harry's art teacher - already a brilliant concept!

Speaking of Remus, he was excellent too. I loved his dry line about his desk, and the cheesy "masterpiece in my office" line!

*sighs happily* I love these ridiculous boys (and Lily of course) and you have done such a brilliant job with them - and with this pairing - in this story! :D A+ dialogue, A+ characterization, and A+ internal dialogue from Sirius!

Brilliant work, Tammi!

-Kayla

Author's Response: YOU ARE BRILLIANT KAYLA!

I had so much fun writing this! So I'm glad that you liked it. I love that you make him suffer, it's so entertaining. :D

He is such a drama queen, I agree.

Harry is so sassy, which he does get from Sirius, you're right.

I think that Diagon Alley primary school is in my headcanon now!

Thank you so so much!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by krazyboutharryginnyTessellate: The Beginning

10th February 2016:
YES I LOVE THIS!

*ahem*

Hello.

I saw you posting about this on Twitter, I think, and then just now you posted a link and I was so excited to come check this out! I really like this first chapter and I'm so pumped to see where you go from here.

Lucy is a really unique and interesting character. I loved that you showed us her unusual thought processes (e.g. wanting to do an examination on the physics of Oz's hair). I also loved her obvious crush on Divya Singh. (I really need to read more stories about gay girls because they make my heart sing.)

I thought you did quite a good job introducing the many OCs in this chapter and giving us a sense of their personalities. However, I did find it slightly difficult to keep up with who was being referred to, as there were some switches between first and last names (e.g. Divya Singh sometimes being referred to as "Divya" and other times as "Singh"). I usually managed to figure out which character it was through context clues, but it distracted me and pulled me out of the story while I figured it out. Maybe the first time you introduce each character you could use their first and last name, or be consistent with which one is being used by other characters.

I'm really excited to see further development of all the characters in this, as they all have huge potential. And I'm looking forward to seeing Lucy and Alexandria's relationship develop, too!

Love this!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla, thanks so much for the review!! I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story.

I've been hyping this on twitter a little too much I think...I need to stop doing that. Glad it hasn't disappointed so far though! :)

I'm glad Lucy comes off that way-- I couldn't tell if it was fun/interesting or just annoying to write her like this. Ah her crush on Divya...so obvious. We'll see where that goes. ;) (Side note: I started this as an entry for the femslash challenge, but then I disappeared into a black hole of homework, and now I've continued the story. I flirted with the idea of switching away from femslash, and then I was like, no, representation is important and why wouldn't Lucy be gay? And here we are.)

Thank you so much for your comments on this!! I really appreciate this feedback and I'm going to go back and edit it a bit to make it easier to follow. I've been thinking about the characters so much that it wasn't something I was thinking about as a reader, or how it would come off.

Thanks again for your enthusiasm! I hope you continue to enjoy it when I get around to writing more of it. :P

--J


 Report Review

Review #15, by krazyboutharryginnyYou Don't Own Me: Don't

7th February 2016:
Hey Rose, here for our swap.

I hope it's okay that I decided to R&R this story. It has a lot of reviews already, but I saw that it had won first place in a challenge and I really wanted to check it out.

This story is so powerful. It's painful and raw, and it manages to be pretty tasteful in describing horrific abuse, which is quite the accomplishment.

I thought it was really effective how you sort of laid out the abuse cycle early in the story (tension - argument - assault - assuage - comfort) and then, when we actually saw an episode of the abuse take place, you sort of used those parts of the cycle as headers (? I didn't describe that well at all, but yeah).

Your writing was so evocative and I really had an uneasy feeling in the pit of my stomach while reading this. Especially when Scorpius defended Corbin, to others or himself, even though you could tell he knew in his gut how completely wrong the whole situation was. From what I know, that's very accurate to what actually happens in abusive relationships, but it just was so difficult to read Scorpius going through that.

You did an amazing job of accurately depicting an abusive relationship, especially the isolation aspect (how abusers cut their victims off from friends and family). I was so relieved when Scorpius reached out for help and when Albus immediately responded. I also absolutely adored how Rose insisted on accompanying Albus, and that Harry went too - he may have a bad past with Scorpius' father, but that was something that Harry would absolutely do.

This was a really difficult story, but it had amazing moments of hope, and a such a hopeful ending. You really did such an excellent job on this piece, Rose.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #16, by krazyboutharryginnyStranger: 12 Years Old

3rd February 2016:
Hi again, Kaitlin!

This was another very well-done chapter. Again, I didn't notice anything wrong with the way you talked about trans issues (although, like I said, my experience is limited).

So obviously puberty is kind of a weird time for everyone, but it's clear that Millicent's experience is going beyond that standard weirdness. Also, I'm pretty sure most girls hate something about their bodies and want to change something about the way they look, but again, this goes beyond that (especially with the context of the last chapter).

I really liked that you made Pansy sort of a sympathetic character in this. (Millicent too, of course, but Pansy is someone who is more actively antagonistic in the books.) You really have a knack for taking minor characters and giving them new depth and dimensions. It's something I really, really admire about you!

I think you're doing a fantastic job with this story so far, and it's probably one of my favourite works of yours that I've read. I'm excited to read more!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

I'm glad that you think this was ok. You know far more about trans issues than I do.

Puberty is indeed a weird time for most people and I definitely agree that most young women want to change aspects of their figures (which is sad in its own way). I definitely do think that some of what Millie is feeling is teenage angst, but I think there is definitely a deeper feeling of discomfort in her own skin. I think that she's starting to discover that her mind doesn't fit with her body.

In my mind, Pansy wasn't always a jerk. I actually imagine her being quite nice with her fellow Slytherins and Purebloods. I only think she would've been horrible to people she was raised to be prejudiced against.

I'm so thrilled that you like this so far. I promise more updates are coming soon! As of March 31st, this will be on a regular update schedule.

Thanks for all of your support!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #17, by krazyboutharryginnyStranger: 7 Years Old

1st February 2016:
KAITLIN! (I can't do emojis in reviews but imagine that that :wub: emoji is here like 10 times)

First of all, I'm so touched by your incredibly sweet dedication. You're so awesome and I'm really lucky to have you as a friend!

You did SUCH a good job on this first chapter. I definitely didn't notice anything wrong with it (although I am 100% not an expert). Although I don't have personal experience, this seems to me to be a realistic portrayal of the way a child would experience gender dysphoria. I thought that her tying her hair back out of her face was a really good touch.

Even aside from the dysphoria aspect of this, I thought you did such a great job capturing the mindset of a child. I could clearly picture Millicent standing there guiltily while Tinka searched her bedroom. So really awesome job with that!

I was kind of whatever about Millicent's mom (like, I didn't like her but I didn't hate her guts) until I got to "Keep resisting and I will petrify you and put them on you myself", at which point I was STRONGLY reminded of my Walburga and was filled with some serious (heh) dislike.

Anyways, AWESOME job on this chapter, and thank you again for the lovely dedication. Seriously, that means a lot, especially coming from you.

Hugs!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!!!

Oh good! I'm so glad.

*wub*

I'm glad that this seems realistic to a child going through gender dysphoria. I figured it would show up in simple ways, like a dislike of girlish clothing or a desire to dress like an older brother.

I have to say that I had a few moments of my own like that when I was a child...hiding something and then getting busted by my mom.

Millie's mum isn't a shining example of being a parent, but I also truly believe that at this point, she isn't really aware that her child is trans. I think she just thinks her child is being a pain in the butt for no reason, hence the frustration. But yes, the petrification does cross that line.

Thank you for the lovely review and for all of your support!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #18, by krazyboutharryginnyAzkaban: Firestorm

30th January 2016:
TEAM GOLD!

Kaitlin, I am so impressed with this first chapter. Your concepts are always so original and compelling, and this one is no exception.

I absolutely love the idea of Draco Malfoy as a lawyer. I don't think I've ever seen that done before, and I think it's such a cool idea.

I also happen to be a fan of stories where the Potter kids struggle with their parents' legacy and living up to expectations. It's sad, but unfortunately I feel like it could easily be reality :/ Although, Lily committing murder is DEFINITELY something I've never seen before. I'm very interested to learn what happened there and see what direction you take it in.

The combination of those things - Malfoy as Lily's lawyer - THAT's certainly going to be interesting! There's so much potential that's clear in this story already and I really hope there'll be a new chapter soon (although I know how busy you are with challenges and such).

Oh, one other thing - I liked the detail you included about the Dementors being removed from Azkaban, but that there was still a lingering feeling from their presence.

Great job on this first chapter, Kaitlin! I'm so excited to see where you go with it!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

Thank you so much!

I think Scorpius Malfoy would be an excellent lawyer.

I know what you mean. It's sort of a pet peeve of mine when they are all perfect and everything is rainbows and sunshine. Honestly, kids that grow up with that much fame would probably struggle with it.

I plan to build quite the interesting world here and really hope that my writing will live up to the potential of the start.

In terms of the next update, as of March 31st all of my WIPs will be on a regular update schedule with bi-weekly posts.

I love that you picked up that particular detail.

Thanks for the lovely review and I hope you'll be back to read more!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginnyRetribution: Capture

30th January 2016:
Kaitlin! It's been way too long since I stopped by your AP - I'm so behind! Anyway, right now I'm here for the red vs gold review battle, and I'm on TEAM GOLD!

So I was really curious to see where you'd take this challenge, seeing as (like you said) we all know that Bellatrix is evil. I was quite impressed with the direction you decided to take it in - showing how brutal and vicious Bellatrix was as a teenager at Hogwarts, even toward her own sister(s).

There were a lot of elements in this that really showed how twisted Bellatrix was. There was the viciousness towards her own sister of course, but I was almost more struck by her violence and hatred towards people who were practically strangers. It made sense for Bellatrix to hate Andromeda, even though it was misguided and over-the-top hatred. It even made sense for her to hate Ted, based on her bigoted ideology. Her hatred towards McGonagall -and how violent it was - was what really stuck out to me.

Your use of language was really good in this. It truly revealed the depth of Bellatrix's hatred and just how evil she was. The way she kept referring to Ted as "it" was an especially good touch.

Great work on this story and this challenge, Kaitlin! I think you handled your prompt in a really effective way!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

Yeah. When I got assigned Bellatrix I was sort of like "What do I even do with this?" How can I make Bellatrix even more callous and cruel?

I feel like Bellatrix is a pretty hateful person in general. I never got the impression that there were many people she liked at all. In fact, I always thought she only tolerated most of the Death Eaters.

I'm so glad that you noticed that particular choice of language. I thought it would be fitting for Bella to really dehumanize muggleborns.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #20, by krazyboutharryginnyLoose Lips Sink Ships: I Know Places

14th January 2016:
Hey Ellie! So sorry that it took me so long to get here. I've had this open in a tab since you gave me the link, but only just got an opportunity to sit down and read it!

I think you did a really great job on this! I know it's your first Wolfstar, but you did such a good job exploring and portraying Remus, Sirius, and their feelings towards each other, that I honestly wouldn't have guessed if I hadn't known going in! I loved the entire first half so much, with the two of them running from the Death Eaters - I thought you did a wonderful job describing that, I could picture the two of them running together in my head. That sort of scenario has always been one that I find really fitting for this pairing.

Another thing I really enjoyed was the scene when they had just gotten out of the Thames and were sort of dealing with the shock of almost dying. There was this feeling of desperation when they kissed and also I liked how, when Remus perceived that Sirius was rejecting him, he was too tired to really register the significance. I thought that was really well done and realistic. I think my favourite line in this whole story is this one:
"My emotions tipped over the edge ages ago, my fear of his rejection drowned on the water."

For a little bit of CC: there were a handful of sentences and word choices that I found a bit clunky/awkward.
"The contact of our flesh lit a fire inside me that I didn’t want to squelch anytime soon." The word "squelch" in this sentence is really not sitting right with me and actually kind of drew me out of the story for a second. Maybe "put out" or "extinguish" instead?
"For more than once in my life, I was grateful for the lack of a full moon." This is just kind of clunky. Maybe "Not for the first time, I was grateful..." or something similar?

That small bit of CC aside, I thought this story was wonderful and that you did a great job with your first attempt at this pairing! Excellent work!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!!

Don't apologize, this was quick and more than I expected, thanks for your kindness and the review in general :D

I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot, and felt all the realistic aspects of what I was exploring here with Remus and Sirius. I always see them on the run too, and it's just such a visceral way to write them. I'm glad you saw the scene in your head, running is an awkward thing to write because it's a thing you just do haha.

I love CC, and appreciate your comments! I think you're 110 percent right and I have fixed those sections (along with some other bits that weren't as smooth). This is what I get for writing and posting something withing three hours without reading it over haha.

Thanks so much, I enjoyed your Wolfstar too btw ;)

Cheers,
ellie


 Report Review

Review #21, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 1

11th January 2016:
MEG! I cannot BELIEVE it has taken me so long to get here and read this story. I know I've told you how much I ADORE the concept, and I've been so excited to read the rest of this since you sent me that snippet. /hangs head in shame

Anyways, I'm here now, and I have SO MUCH to squee about!

First of all - I'm so honoured that you would dedicate this chapter to me. That really means a lot (I can't put hearts but imagine there's a gajillion of them right here).

Second of all - I recognize so many of Mary's feelings and emotions about Lily, and I just want to hug her and tell her it's all going to be okay! You wrote it all in such a real and vivid way. It honestly hurt my heart :( I really hope she'll be able to move past the feelings of "wrongness/badness" soon.

Third of all - omg I'm running out of coherent things to say. I just loved this. I think it's written so fantastically, I loved all the descriptions and I thought your word choice was really excellent. There were a couple of very minor grammar/spelling mistakes, but they were few and far between, and didn't detract from the story at all.

Just. Omg. Mary reading Hogwarts: A History all summer. Bonding with Lily because she did the same. How she wasn't intimidated by McGonagall at home, but was at school. All these little details made Mary such a real and wonderful character.

Also, I had a good giggle at "that rude boy with the long hair, his name was Sirius Black". My rude, long-haired baby :') I swear he grows out of it, Mary! Mostly!

Anyways, you did SUCH a fantastic job with this first chapter, and I absolutely cannot wait to keep reading!

Love and hugs!

-Kayla
TEAM GOLD

 Report Review

Review #22, by krazyboutharryginnyNine Years: May 1st, 1998

10th January 2016:
Hi Emma! Here for our swap! Sorry it took me so long to get here, but I'm here now!

Oh my gosh, I absolutely love this. Fred/Lee (or George/Lee, tbh) is a pairing that I love but seriously haven't read enough of. There's so much about this that I enjoy and it's just really well done! The way the two of them come together in this is just fantastic and I can see this as something that would actually happen behind the scenes of the last book.

I loved your characterizations of Fred and Lee. I liked that we saw Lee's more serious side in his fear for the safety of Fred (as well as Katie, Oliver, the Quidditch players, etc). Almost on the flipside of that, I loved Fred's recklessness and his enthusiasm over the dragon.

Oh my goodness, I was so upset when I got to the end and realized what was going to happen in the near future. That this would be the last time they'd ever be together like this. That Fred was about to die. My heart honestly dropped into my stomach. I think that you ended it in a really powerful place.

Other things that I loved:
1) The Quidditch players helping out. Such a cool and wonderful idea that we didn't see in the books.
2) The whole situation with Lee being self-conscious about his body/looks, but not really feeling that way here with Fred. I think that's something a lot of us can relate to and I thought you handled it beautifully.
3) I thought your style/tone was great and very fitting for this piece. There was sort of a solemn and melancholy vibe about the whole thing that worked really, really well for me.

I'm definitely going to read and review chapter 2 asap! I love this, really great work :)

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

I haven't read any Fred/Lee before so let me know if you have any recommendations!

I'm really glad you found Fred and Lee believable. Writing Fred's a bit scary because JK writes him so wonderfully and I obviously can't do him justice, so it's a relief that you liked him!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginnyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Father’s Old Textbook (Prologue)

23rd December 2015:
Hi Kenny! I'm here for the Red vs Gold review battle in the CR. Team Gold!

As usual, this whole chapter is so interesting and unique. You're honestly so creative and all your stories have ideas in them that I would never ever think of myself. I don't think I've ever seen someone write Draco Malfoy as a Potions teacher at Hogwarts. I thought that was really interesting, and it was so neat how the exchange between him and Albus mirrored the scene between Snape and Harry in the first book. Also, I liked how Rose was similar to Hermione and had her hand in the air, eager to answer questions.

Most of this chapter is about Albus' potion class, but I loved all the mentions you slipped in of Albus' family/home life. One detail I particularly loved was that the kids had second-hand textbooks even though the family has lots of money, because Ginny wants to live a simple life. My other favourite detail was about Ginny teaching Albus the Bat-Bogey Hex after he was chased by reporters. With these passing details, you manage to reveal so much about the Potters as a family. It's really awesome!

Great job on the prologue, Kenny! I'll be back sometime to keep reading :)

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! I'm so happy to see you come back to my story! It's always fun to read your feedback. I feel jealous at the same time that you can write such an insightful review. I wish I could write review like you do!

Talking of Draco, I've read some stories where he was a Potions professor or Potions shop owner but they were Drarry. You know what they are like. I didn't want to trace the same plot like them, I wanted to create another world, a kind of real mystery like J.K.Rowling's other works.

I'm also happy to hear you agree with the idea about Ginny's way of bringing up her children. :)

I'll read your new story as well! Keep writing, Kayla!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginnyStar-Crossed : Party

19th December 2015:
Hello there! I'm here to leave a review for day 17 of the advent calendar :)

This story is off to a really great start. I admit, I was a bit hesitant to read a Filch romance - it's not a very appealing idea on the surface, is it? But at the same time, the fact that you even thought to do something like that made the story intriguing.

While reading, I was truly impressed by how much depth you brought out of Filch's character, and how sympathetic you made him. You managed to make Filch, a side character in the series who has basically no depth in canon, into this well-rounded character with friends (well, a friend, at least), an intriguing backstory, etc.

The story itself is very well-written. I didn't notice any problems with either the grammar or the plot :)

Your OCs are also excellent. Elodie and Todd are both well-crafted and vibrant characters.

I'm very interested to see what happens between Argus and Elodie, and I'll probably be back to continue reading sometime!

Great work!

-Kayla
Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for stopping by! I understand your doubt, he's not a nice character at all, but I always thought there had to be something that made him this way!
Thank you very much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginnyHow I Met Your Father: Chapter 8: The Ultrasound

17th December 2015:
Hi Lizzie! It's me again! I'm here for the Red vs Gold review battle in the CR, and I'm joining you on Team GOLD!

I said this in my last review, but I totally love the relationship between Scorpius and Rose. It's so lovely and supportive. He's already such a huge help to her with this pregnancy and I imagine having him onboard will continue to make things easier as the story progresses :D (although... I could be wrong... /worries).

Awww, poor Roxy with her crush on Xander. I wonder what will happen there?! Cause it seems like he really likes Dom :(

Rose's scars got to me on a personal level unfortunately. I suppose we'll be learning more about that later in the story. I'm glad that Scorpius and Madame Bones left it alone when she asked them to, though.

I loved that Madame Bones was actually using a machine to perform the ultrasound. I like to think that the Wizarding World would pick up and adapt some Muggle technology after the second war, and I love when I see stuff like that in stories :D

I'll review the next chapter soon! Great work, Lizzie!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!

Yay! You're back!

Mwahahahaha. Yes, Rose and Scorpius do have a wonderful relationship... but I won't lie, there are some troubles ahead. :)

Ah, Xander... Unfortunately in the rewrites I'm doing for this story, I'm not sure how much of Xander's storyline will actually make it through. :( Don't worry though, he's not going away completely!

Rose's scars are DEFINITELY a sensitive subject, and a pretty big hint that not everything is as it seems in Rose's life. Where they came from and what they mean will come out eventually.

I wasn't actually sure whether or not I should include a machine for the ultrasound, but at the same time I couldn't come up with any spells that made sense for it, so I'm glad that you like that inclusion! I totally agree that the wizarding world would've begun incorporating Muggle technology into their world after the war though... it just seems like something that would come naturally after enough time.

Thanks again for R&R'ing Kayla!! :D
Lizzie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>