Reading Reviews From Member: krazyboutharryginny
412 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginnyturn to dust. : five.

4th November 2015:
Hey Erin! I saw that you wanted some feedback on this, and then I saw the Remus/Sirius tag and I was like "YEP TIME TO READ" so here I am haha.

Linguistically, this entire thing is absolutely stunning. Like, it took my breath away. (Literally, after I read 2 I had to stop for a minute to take some deep breaths and get my emotions under control.) And I can definitely understand you finding this overwhelming emotionally while writing. There is SO much emotion crammed into so few words (I didn't want to say "crammed into" because it sounds like it doesn't fit - it does, it's amazing, I'm in awe, but I couldn't think how else to word it).

Now, here's the thing with the PoVs. I got 1 and 2 easily. At 3, it got harder. The first line suggested that it was Remus' PoV, but I think that I was thrown off by the timeline - it sort of jumps back to their school days for a minute, and that had me a bit confused. And then, as far as I can tell, 4 is Voldemort and 5 is Dumbledore, but I had to look at the tags again to make sure I wasn't imagining things/guessing wrong. I think my problem there was that you had 3 Marauder point of view sections in a row, then suddenly it was from Voldemort's point of view, which is quite a leap. This is probably just me and the way my brain works/makes connections though. If anything, maybe you could put some additional separation between 1/2/3 and 4/5?

I'm not sure if any of this is helpful, but I hope it was! And I want to make sure it's absolutely clear that section 2 absolutely CRUSHED my poor Wolfstar-shipping heart :( In just 100 words you managed to capture so much of what I imagine about their relationship and in such a poignant way. I'm blown away.

Overall, this is VERY impressive and I was completely in awe while reading it. Amazing work, Erin!


 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginnyEidolon: Yellow Cotton

29th October 2015:
Hello! Here to leave my review for our swap :)

This is kind of one of those stories where I go to write a review and just don't even have words for how wonderful it is, and just end up kind of squealing and gushing...

Your use of language is absolutely STUNNING. I'm in awe. Your descriptions are beautiful and very evocative. Using the description of the red wine to transition into talking about blood, and then from talking about blood to talking about family, was completely brilliant and had me hooked right away.

This is such a sad story because it's so real and so complicated. You can definitely understand James' reasons for leaving (more on James in a second), and at the beginning you don't really fault him. You can tell how resentful he is and that he has really been hurt, intentionally or not, by his family. Then you get to Albus' letter, and you realize that his family hasn't intentionally done anything to hurt him, and that they're all hurting too - that his leaving has profoundly affected their lives and their relationships - and it's just heartbreaking, because there's no "right answer" to the problem and no easy solution.

I was very relieved and happy that James decided to go to Albus' party, especially because of how Albus said in his letter to Teddy that he would give up if James didn't respond. But then he just seemed so miserable, not even a little bit excited to see his younger brother, and everything was so tense with Hannah, and then he ran away from George and... :( I don't know where things will go from here, I really don't!

Now, I said I had more to say about James, so here it is. I was really not expecting it to be him. Reading the whole first chunk, I thought it would be Albus. That's always how it is in fanfictions - James is the wildly popular older brother and Albus is the black sheep of the family who ends up bitter and resentful. I suspect this was somewhat intentional, judging by your careful avoidance of names in the text and the summary. When I realized it was James, I was actually really excited because I don't think I've EVER read a fic that placed James as the black sheep, or where he was an academic, before this one.

So yeah, TL;DR- you have an incredible way with words, you've very effectively tackled something painful and realistic and complicated, and you've done something really unique with your characterization. This is just absolutely amazing and I hope you post a new chapter soon!


 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginnyGoodbye, Love, Goodbye: Sirius, Sirius, Sirius

28th October 2015:
Hi! Here for our swap!

Okay, so, I had to read this when I saw it on your AP because I LOVE Wolfstar! And I knew that it would probably make me sad (as so many Wolfstars do) but I read it anyway, and I'm super glad I did! Even though it did, in fact, make me sad.

Sirius is my favourite character, so when I think about Wolfstar it's often framed through him. So it was really awesome to read this more Remus-centered Wolfstar. I absolutely love the language you've used, it's so powerful and really invokes the sort of feelings of longing and helplessness that one gets in this sort of situation (suffering in the closet over a crush on a friend). (I speak from experience lol)

"You always assumed you would be the one to disappear, to crumble under the weight of monstrosity and lash out in a desperate struggle for escape." OUCH! This is an absolutely stunning sentence, one of the most striking ones in the entire story. I feel like it captures perfectly this element of Remus which is often underexplored - this sort of self-loathing.

I absolutely loved the addition of the italicized text in the brackets. I thought that really enhanced the story, almost made it feel more personal? I'm not exactly sure how to describe it but yeah, I really liked that!

Your descriptions and language are so evocative and powerful, conjuring not only images but also lots of emotions. Your characterization of Remus is, in my opinion, spot on. The ending of the story, whether it's read as Sirius' death or his arrest, is absolutely crushing as a result. I'm very impressed with this! Amazing job!


Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

I LOVE your review, especially because I feel like I've gotten a lot of feedback focused on the back-and-forth aspect of the story, but you just treated it like any other story, which is so helpful!

I completely agree with you that Remus isn't always as fully explored as he could be. I'm so glad you liked that sentence, and the way I wrote him.

Really, thank you so much for your super kind review! *hug* I'd love to swap again :)
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginnyMARAUDERS: The One With The Very Merry Little Christmas

24th October 2015:
Heya Lauren! I'm here with my review for October's review swap :)

I'm very glad we ended up partners, and I was super excited to read this story. As I'm sure you know, I absolutely love the Marauders, and I was really happy to get to read a story about them for the swap.

This fic is very sweet and was a super fun read. There was no major drama or anything like that, just loads of cuteness and revelry! Woohoo! :D

I adored the way you wrote James' parents and how they were with James, they were pretty much exactly how I imagine them personality-wise and their interactions were just lovely. It was clear they adored their son and that he loved them just as much. There was some lighthearted teasing from both ends but that happens in loads of families and was totally believable, and didn't detract from the caring atmosphere.

Peter getting stuck inside the turkey! Ew! That's so disgusting XD Totally something I can see them getting up to though.

I was reading this on the subway (I had it preloaded on Chrome, I didn't have wifi on the subway lol) and I was smiling so much and trying not to laugh out loud at the story the boys told about the Quaffle. The way it was written was very true to their characters and it seemed like the way they would actually tell the story.

The quiz was a very interesting idea, and I was surprised that the girls won! I thought since Sirius and Marlene dated and James had that huge crush on Lily that they would know more and would win. I could see what James was going for with his sneaky phrasing when he set up the bet, though, and so I wasn't worried about the outcome.

The cheesecake! Oh no! Poor Marlene! Everyone was so nice about it though. XD

The secret santa scene was also lovely and very in-character. I was grinning my face off about Remus buying Sirius leather pants and him being so excited about them. All the presents were very well thought-out and I was super impressed that you managed to select them so well. Also, Sirius' present for Lily (with James' influence) was so sweet. I was actually quite surprised when she kissed him and wasn't expecting it at all, but I thought it was a very cute moment and it fit perfectly.

The ending was just as sweet as the rest of the story, especially with James kissing Lily's hand and with Sirius and Remus napping together. (I admit I was disappointed that there wasn't a bit more Wolfstar, but you know me ;) and the Jily was so cute that it more than made up for it.)

As for criticisms, the only thing I have is that there are a couple of places where the wording is a little awkward or the grammar/spelling is a bit off (e.g. at one point James' mum says "mouthful" where it should've been "mouth full") but it was all very minor and didn't detract from the story at all.

The FRIENDS references, I didn't notice, but I've never watched the show so that's to be expected.

I really loved reading this and I'm super happy we were matched for the swap! Wonderful work, Lauren!


(P.S. holy cow this is a long review. Possibly the longest one I've ever written. Oop.)

 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Change In Friendship

18th October 2015:
Hehe, it's going to be fun reviewing this on reread :P

Poor Abigail. She's so confused just by James being nice to her, and all he's doing is saying hello. Her self-esteem is so low in these earlier chapters and it makes me so sad for her :(

Ugh. Michelle. She's horrible. She keeps saying things trying to undercut any happiness Abigail feels. It's quite vicious, honestly, and it's really not helping Abigail's self-esteem problem. But it's good that here she's kind of recognizing what Michelle's saying for what it is (jealousy) and not getting worked up about James. Although unfortunately there's that moment where she's worried she's overreacting. Urgh, I just wanna hug her!!

And James! He's such a total cutie. When he said it's "incredibly cheeky" of him to ask for some spare parchment, I actually giggled. I could imagine the hopeful sort of look on his face and just! Awww! James... *heart eyes*.

I love this story so much! I'm really sorry it's taken me so long to leave another review and I hope I'll be able to leave another soon!

(btw... the House of Horrors is REAL!)

 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginnyPurification: Purification

1st October 2015:
Hey Kenny! It's been a while, but now I'm here to leave a review for the Red Vs Gold Review Battle in the CR. Team Gold!

This is definitely a really interesting story. You've brought a lot of unexpected elements into it, which is something I've noticed a lot in your work. For example, the charms that Hermione had created for herself and Ron. That kind of physical protective charm is something that's definitely underexplored in the book, so it was super cool that you incorporated them into this story.

Having Ron be under the Confundus Charm was a clever move. It kept the reader in suspense, wondering what had happened that he was forgetting. It was a little unclear, though, why he was with Harry and Neville in the Forbidden Forest, but then he was also portrayed as working at Weasley's Wizard Wheezes - was he an Auror and working with George part-time?

I also have one small suggestion. I think you should mention Bellatrix's ghost a little earlier in the story. At the beginning of the story you talk about it a lot more ambiguously, just mentioning the spirits of Death Eaters, so I was taken by surprise when you mentioned Bellatrix by name. Maybe you could say something like, "As Harry lay on the forest floor, a mad cackle echoed through the trees", because I think that even implying Bellatrix's presence without necessarily naming her would be effective.

Overall this is another cool story with an interesting plot and details. Great work, Kenny!


Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! Long time no see! I'm waiting for your third story, too.

The plot popped naturally in my mind in one Sunday morning. I'm sometimes in the similar situation as Ron's so I could start writing the first sentences.

Oh, thank you for your nice suggestion! I'll definitely add some descripitons about Bellatrix. I'm planning to edit this before Halloween. This story suits the story challenge well.

Your question is right. Ron was going to quit Auror's job after Hermione got pregnant in my story. He had been helping George from his trainee's time.

About the charm Hermione invented and the meaning of the title, "Purification" are based on Shintoism, I mixed the magical world with the ceremony performed by a Shinto priest, they have a common point in driving out evil spirits.


 Report Review

Review #7, by krazyboutharryginnyForget Me Not: bloom and wither

7th September 2015:
Hi Adi. Here with the other review you wanted!

How many times can I say "Adi, your writing is stunning and I'm in awe" before it gets old? :P I feel like that's all I say in the reviews I leave for you! But you are just such an amazing writing. Honestly, I aspire to write as well as you do.

This story gave me a lot of complicated feelings, to be honest. I could feel Scorpius' frustration with Rose and understand it, but at the same time I know how hard it is to leave an abusive marriage and the statistics around that and everything. So I was a bit frustrated with both of them, and Al too. Like, Rose was making some bad decisions, but that doesn't mean that she wasn't worth saving - or at least trying to save. Gah!

So yeah, this was a really thought-provoking story for me. It really got me thinking about loyalty (so you were successful on that front) - what it means to be loyal, how far loyalty should go, stuff like that. It feels like Rose didn't stay loyal to Scorpius, but Scorpius did sort of betray her and convinced himself that that was loyalty. But then, maybe he just has a different view of loyalty than I do, you know? So it was really interesting.

If I could offer one suggestion, it would be to put your A/N at the beginning. I think I personally would have benefitted from reading what you said about writing loyalty in a different way before I read the story. As it is now, I read the story, read your A/N, and then started thinking about loyalty and what it means, whie if it were at the beginning I probably would have been thinking about it while I read.

But yeah, this story is really impressive, as always, and you are just such a fantastic writer!

(2/3 prize reviews)

 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginnyshe's thunderstorms: she's thunderstorms

6th September 2015:
Hey Adi! I'm FINALLY here to leave you one of the reviews you requested as a prize from my writing challenge during the House Cup. I'm so sorry about the delay.

As usual, this is absolutely fantastic. You're such an amazing writer, Adi! I'm so in awe of you. You have a real way with words and everything you write is so poetic and beautiful. It flows so smoothly that it almost seems effortless (although I'm sure that you worked really hard on this piece, of course). One line that I found particularly striking was "You laughed in the face of war, head tipped back, youth escaping your lips." Just amazing!

I thought at first that the pairing for this would be Neville/Luna, because it was kind of ambiguous at the beginning as to who the narrator is, but at the end I started to think maybe it's Dean? (The references to art are what made me change my mind.) I love how by writing from his point of view you actually managed to focus the story more on Luna than him, because the reader is seeing her from his eyes.

It was really clear that the other character was Luna right from the beginning (made obvious by the references to Nargles and other such creatures) and I thought you did an excellent job of writing her. The "she's cannonballs" section was particularly striking, as the rest of the paragraphs described her in a way that was a little more framed by the feelings of the narrator (if that makes sense). Also, I thought the wanderlust Luna was feeling was almost palpable, as you wrote it so beautifully.

I'm really impressed by this story (as I always am with your work) and thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

(1/3 reward reviews)

 Report Review

Review #9, by krazyboutharryginnyIsabella: A Midnight Surprise

5th August 2015:
Red vs Gold review battle - team Gold!

Hi Kaitlin!

I'm finally here to keep reviewing this awesome story!
I think you've really done such a fantastic job with this so far. This story is so richly detailed and gives great insight into Mexican culture. I love the differences that you've created between magical society in Mexico and magical society in Britain. For example, the custom is to start magic school at 13, rather than 11. Also, it's law that anyone with magic has to go to school.
My favourite thing in this chapter was the explanation that Isabella has magic because she is descended from a line of magical Aztec warriors. I think that's such a cool idea.
Isabella's father's backstory is so sad, and it made me think of Dumbledore's story (with Ariana and everything). It's obviously a lot different, but that was just what came to mind. I hope Isabella's mother will forgive him and come to accept his and Isabella's magic.
I'm super glad Isabella stood up to her parents like that, even if they got mad at her for it. That was brave of her and it's great that she knows what she wants and is willing to stand up for herself.
Looking forward to the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #10, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to the Team

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Reeaally quite nitpick first: saying "increasingly more difficult" is redundant. You can just say "increasingly difficult" or "more difficult".

1. I have absolutely no idea. I'm also wondering if I missed something with the Shrechovitz family? Sweets told Rhea that "it's a touchy topic" - what is? Why?

2. This seems like far too much for anyone to handle! I think she should come clean with her friends and tell them what's going on with her. I also think she should stand up to her parents...

3. I think Dom will tell Freddie - I have no reason to think she wouldn't. And I hope he goes and talks to Sweets. I understand that he's upset about Lucy, but it still seems very rude not to even go talk to Sweets and tell her he'll be unable to meet with her for a while.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to the Negotiation

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

1. Again, I think it's quite inconsiderate of her parents to do this. But I suppose they have their reasons. It just seems to me that they could have found a better solution, and that they're taking Sweets for granted.

2. I'm not sure. Freddie seems like an alright person, but also a bit self-centered and easily distracted. Hopefully Sweets can keep her patience with him.

3. Kane and Sweets seem cute together. I think he maybe has a bit of a crush on her. But I really like their friendship.

4. Now I'm really worried about Alana! Kane is literally acting like he thinks she's going to die! What is going on?! It's a sweet idea, but it's definitely one I wouldn't think to do, let alone put in place, unless I was POSITIVE my friend was going to die!

5. I really like Sweets, for the reasons I stated in my last review.

One small issue in this chapter is that there's a few places where words seem to be missing (for example, "and all traces of amusement from the previous show that Kane and Mocha put on."). Other than that, though, it's great and I enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to Ancient Runes

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hi Leigh. Since you have specific questions, I guess I'll answer them!

1. Freddie is different than I was expecting. In earlier chapters Sweets was talking about how she likes him better than James, so I certainly wasn't expecting him to not even know her name. But I guess they'll get closer as the story progresses. As for Dom, we didn't really see enough of her in this chapter for me to have a comment, but I like the general picture of her that I've gotten.

2. I can see why Sweets is upset. I think it's quite inconsiderate that her parents would ask her to do that. I wonder what she'll say to them?

3. Adelaide seems nice, although I wonder why she was upset. Again, we didn't really see enough of her friends for me to have a detailed opinion. All I know is that Mina doesn't seem very nice.

4. At the beginning of the chapter I was beginning to worry that Alana has an eating disorder, but this is also very worrying. It's especially scary that she went to both Muggle and Wizarding doctors and they couldn't find what was wrong with her.

One other thing: It's really cool that Alana's Hawaiian!


 Report Review

Review #13, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to Hogwarts

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hi Leigh! I'm finally back to read more of this!

Oh, Sweets is such a fun character to read about because she just seems like such a lovely person! She's happy and giggly and seems like the sort of person who could change your whole mood just by smiling at you.

I like Kane too. And Lily! She's one of my favourites, I think, because like Sweets she just seems cute and nice.

I do have a couple of tiny criticisms. One is that I don't feel saying "naturally blonde curls" is necessary - if you just said "blonde curls" I personally would make the assumption that the blonde was natural because we have no reason to think otherwise. I don't know, it's not a big deal but for some reason that really stuck out to me. The other thing is that the sentence "Platform 9 always reflects that of a battlefield" is a confusing one. I understand what you mean but I think you could probably find a better way to word it.

Overall I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #14, by krazyboutharryginnylove and lycanthropy and other institutions: institutionalisation

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh, this is absolutely stunning! I REALLY shouldn't have read this for the Amazing Race, but I didn't notice the word count when I clicked on it, and by the time I realized how long it is I was hooked, so here I am.

You've done an incredible job characterizing Remus and Sirius, I think. Sirius' temper and his struggles to contain it, his emotional walls and his faux-confidence; Remus and his desire to please, his caution and worry, and the way he gets just before the full.

I also think you did an excellent job with Peter, sort of planting the seed of what's going to happen in the end with his fear over the realities of the war and his frustration with Sirius and James.

I think you captured the spirit of the Marauders as a group brilliantly and there were a lot of funny lines when you were talking about group dynamics and such. The nicknames for James and Sirius (pre-Prongs and Padfoot) made me laugh.

I really enjoyed this, it's so moving and a really effective exploration of relationships (Wolfstar, Jily, and the Marauders as a group).


Author's Response: Hello Kayla! ♥

Thank you so much for stopping by my page and reading this story! I hope it didn't take up too much of your time as you were in the middle of a HC review race! ♥ Thank you for leaving me such kind comments too, and I'm always really happy whenever a Remus/Sirius fan reads this; I really tried to do the ship justice and I appreciate feedback from Wolfstar shippers! ♥

I do enjoy writing Sirius a lot - probably a little more than Remus, because he's so much more openly flawed. There's goodness in him, but there's also plenty of potential for darkness. And gah, Sirius has so many issues. Remus, too! These characters are so filled with drama. :P

And I'm glad you mentioned Peter. I loved writing Peter in this fic, exploring his character at more depth, which I've never done before. I ignored James a bit in this story in favour of Peter, because I think James does get plenty of attention in other fic.

Aww, I'm glad you like the way I portrayed the Marauders! That's a huge compliment, and it's something that worried me. These are such popular characters and I felt a bit overwhelmed at first, wondering how to get the group dynamics right. Your comments are hugely reassuring.

Thank you for your amazing review, Kayla! This made my day, absolutely!


 Report Review

Review #15, by krazyboutharryginnyI am, I am, I am: I am, I am, I am

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh, this is stunning! I'm not sure if I'm write about this, but this seems to me to be a story about dealing with mental illness. That's how I read it. I loved that you threw in a couple of tiny details to let us know what time in Rose's life this is (like mentioning Ravenclaw tower). I also love the whole metaphor because this is pretty much exactly what dealing with a mental illness feels like (especially with the added pressure of school).
My one small suggestion would be to bring the clouds in more at the end. The part near the beginning that was talking about how she liked to look at the clouds but never got to do so for long really grabbed me and I wish you'd connected back to it more. You do MENTION the clouds, but you could go further and bring them back up earlier. Maybe talk about how she can look at the clouds for as long as she wants and doesn't have to worry about the waves or something.
Overall, this is a beautiful story that I really enjoyed reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by krazyboutharryginnyAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

This story is a very interesting take on Luna's character. She never struck me as a person who would approach fears/the dark like that, but your reasoning for it really worked. I absolutely loved the whole section talking about Luna's mother - the idea of Luna seeing her mother in things related to death is a really sad one, although she obviously doesn't think of it like that, and really unique. I always thought Luna liked the Thestrals because they were misunderstood like her (sort of like why Hagrid likes monsters) but you went deeper than that and made her see her mother in them.
Really interesting story! Great work!

 Report Review

Review #17, by krazyboutharryginnyEvent Three- A Wolf's Best Friend: there is more to come

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

Oh, why did I do this to myself?! I knew that if I read this I could end up sad, but here I am anyway, writing this review and CRYING.

You're such an amazing writer, Adi, I'm always in awe of you. You have such a way with words and always manage to write JUST the right thing at JUST the right time. You also portrayed both Remus and Sirius perfectly in this (as well as Peter and James at the end). Oh, I'm tearing up again as I write! This is madness!

So since we're on the topic of me crying, I figure I should let you know the moment when I burst into tears, as that's always something an angst writer wants to know. It was "May you rest in reckless wonder, you big black dog". And it then increased significantly at "in prayer that you found James at the other side".

Remus is a character that I'm afraid of tackling, but you've pulled him off perfectly here. His grief is overwhelming and palpable. I think the way you have him imagining conversations with Sirius is really effective and gives the reader the feeling that he's kind of lost and doesn't know what to do with himself now.

The paragraph that starts with "Boredom is an infection" absolutely KILLED me. I think it's one of the best ones in the story. It kind of sums up the tragedy that was the last 2 years of Sirius' life.

The flashback at the end is brilliant and had me smiling through my tears.

Ugh, okay, I'm out of words! I can't even express how fantastic this is. Again, you're SUCH an incredible writer, and I feel like my reviews never do your work justice.

Amazing work on this, Adi.

(I'm still crying btw)

 Report Review

Review #18, by krazyboutharryginnyWhen the Axe Fell: When the Axe Fell

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Well, this was a tough read, but I probably should have expected that!

Your writing, of course, is stunning, as always. The first paragraph especially is very vivid in its descriptions. I could totally picture the scene as I read it.

Sir Nick is a bit of a comical figure in the books, so it was interesting to read this really dark story about him. We're told how he died in the books, but the fact that his head wasn't completely severed is a source of humour. I'd actually never thought about how agonizing that experience must have been. This definitely made me reconsider, especially since the event is described in such graphic detail.

I actually feel quite bad for the executioner, as he seems really remorseful at the end there and embarrassed that he made such a silly mistake (not sharpening his axe). Also, that would be a really gross thing to participate in, so there's that. My sympathy towards him is limited, though, because the whole thing is so barbaric and he's a willing participant.

The people I couldn't connect with at all were the spectators. Why would you go watch something like that for fun?! *shudders*

Anyways, Sian, your writing is fantastic. You're so talented!


Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! *hugs* Ah, you found one of my oldest stories, I thought everyone had forgotten about this :P

Unfortunately it was going to be a tough read - I tend to enjoy writing angst far too much *hides* But thank you for your compliments on my writing - it's so sweet!

Nick really is more of a comical figure in the books but I love reading things from this period - which in England was actually an incredibly difficult period to live in, if you're involved at all politically - but I really love taking minor characters and exploring them further in a way that I haven't seen before. It helps bring them to life a bit more for me and this is probably my head canon now, for how Nick died.

The executioner was one of those wonderful characters who just came from nowhere and wrote himself! Before I wrote this I had no idea of him being anything important to the story but I can't imagine how a seasoned executioner would make that mistake, and I also can't imagine that something going that badly wrong for someone so inexperienced wouldn't have an impact on them.

I know that it's horrible that people were spectators, and that the executioner had trained for that job - it's one of the reasons that I'm glad I don't live in a time when that's considered normal!

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your compliments! ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginnyIn Every Stitch: Eight

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Lizzie! This is absolutely wonderful!

You have captured Molly Weasley's character perfectly here! Every reason she had for knitting the jumper for Harry made total sense and definitely seemed like something Molly herself would think of.

I loved how she would think of 1 reason with each stitch. It was almost like she was literally knitting her love into the jumper! I'm not sure if that was intentional, but that's the way I read it and I really liked it.

Also... "8 jumpers, 8 children"?! That's fine, I didn't need my heart or anything!

There was one thing that really made me smile. Right at the beginning, Molly is thinking about how sometimes her children complain about the colours and the itchiness and whatever else. But what we see in the books is that they all wear the jumpers, even when Molly isn't around to see them/have her feelings hurt if they don't wear them. Even Ron, who doesn't like maroon, still wears his jumper. I think they really understand what the jumpers mean and that they really appreciate them.

Anyways, this was a lovely little story, and I think you did an excellent job of characterizing Molly and exploring her motivations.


Author's Response: Kayla!!

First of all, Eeek! I love it when you review my stories! They always make me so happy!

Secondly, it's so relieving to hear that you like how I wrote Molly. She's one of my favorite characters, and when I was writing this I was terrified that I was totally going to mess her up. SO THANK YOU!

Thirdly, yes, it was definitely intentional. It's actually something I do when I'm crocheting something for a friend or loved one. It makes it much more than an object, but a piece of you that you're giving to someone else. Which, in my opinion, makes it priceless.

Hehehe, sorry, but I'm going to enjoy the fact that you've got feels. I think it's a good thing. ;)

Your point is actually SPOT ON! I didn't write it in because I actually wanted to see if anyone else connected the dots. All of her kids actually do complain about the sweaters at some point - but, they still wear them. It's something that I noticed from the first time I read the books, and I think that says a lot about the Weasley kids.

Thank you for reviewing!! You're AWESOME!

 Report Review

Review #20, by krazyboutharryginnyDo Not Argue With An Idiot: Chapter One

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Aw, I think this is such a cute concept. Honestly, reading the summary I thought that this would be Sirius and Lily bonding over something stupid that James did, but I really like this too.

I'd never considered before that both Sirius and Lily have siblings that they once were close with that they don't get on with anymore. That's so sad and it definitely makes a lot of sense that that would be something they could connect over. They both understand what it's like and can relate.

So many people write Lily as this stick in the mud who refuses to break any rules, so it was refreshing that she told Sirius she wouldn't tattle about the Invisibility Cloak and that she drank some Firewhiskey.

The idea of Regulus and Petunia getting together is too funny. Strangely, aside from their opposing views (Muggle-hating vs Wizard-hating), I expect they'd be quite a good couple - Petunia is very neat and tidy and proper and Regulus is quite proper too, I imagine, because he had a very formal upbringing.

This story was funny and really nice to read, good work!


Author's Response: Go Go Gryffindor!!

Thanks so much for the fab review!! That's made my day.

Haha I'm pretty certain they would also bond over something stupid James does, that's entirely possible I would say.

I saw something on pinterest that made me think this might be the case, I think Petunia and Regulus are two sides of the same coin in a way; both completely prejudice against something they don't understand.

I never bought Lily being a complete stick in the mud. She'd have to have a sense of humour to go out with James! And put up with the other three! She's really fun to write with a bit of a rebellious streak.

Thank you so much again, I'm really happy you enjoyed

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by krazyboutharryginnyWithering: Withering

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Gina, this is beautiful. In this single chapter you've managed to capture such a wide range of emotions. I'm really impressed.

You've captured James and Lily's characters brilliantly. We see more of James because the story is more from his point of view (although it's third person) and he's written so well. How cooped up he feels, his recklessness, how he just wants to make Lily smile - it's all so perfect. We see less of Lily's thought processes and such, but she's quite well done too. Also Sirius! His concern for his friends and how he poured so much effort into doing research and trying to help them - definitely true to his character.

There are a lot of really beautiful moments in this. The biggest one, of course, is when James, Lily, and Harry all go outside and stand on the porch. It was just so poignant. Another was at the end, when they were holding each other and talking about the afterlife and James was thinking of his parents. It was so sad but it definitely felt very in-character for them as a couple.

This is a sad story but it's really beautiful and well written!


 Report Review

Review #22, by krazyboutharryginnyfour thousand, two hundred and ninety three (and counting): one

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh my goodness. My heart is breaking.

You've done a really amazing job on this story. You've written Sirius' emotions so powerfully. His anger and self-loathing are so intense. I could really feel his pain as I was reading.

The part that got to me the most was definitely when Sirius saw the date on the guard's paper and realized that it was Harry's first day at Hogwarts and he'd missed it. I honestly almost started crying. Something about that line was just so powerful. I think it maybe has something to do with how, in the books, we're sort of given the impression that all Sirius thought of in Azkaban was Pettigrew and getting revenge - but if you look beyond the surface we see that that isn't true, because his motivation for escaping was the knowledge that Pettigrew was in a position to hurt Harry. So I loved that you showed him actually thinking about Harry and feeling bad about not being there for him.

And the ending! I'll admit, you got me. I thought he was counting how many days he'd been in Azkaban, and I literally gasped when I realized that wasn't the case.

This story is really good, I'm so impressed!


 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginnyPain Makes You Beautiful: Rated Mature for themes and content.

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Pix, I am lost for words. This is incredible. I can't figure out where to start.

Sirius is so raw here. You take all of his flaws, his instability, his weaknesses, and you drive them home. The worst part is that this story is from his point of view and so we know that this is the way he sees himself, that this is what he thinks of himself.

We also see Remus through his eyes, and see Remus' flaws, but these are excused/justified. Sirius brings up Remus' pain every time he is rejected or is hurt by something Remus does. There isn't really such justification for himself.

I love the bluntness in the narration. Like, yeah, there's a lot of description and metaphor and prose and such, but it still manages to be blunt. Then there's other parts that are just flat-out blunt, minus the other stuff (A lot of these parts have to do with Dumbledore).

The ending killed me. We see in canon that Sirius blames himself for James and Lily's deaths, but there's something about reading the words in his POV that makes it more painful.

Again, this is absolutely incredible. Really amazing job, Pix.


Author's Response:

Lost words seem to be a thing for this. I understand.

I think Remus and Sirius see each other's pain, and it's what brings them together. I couldn't get over the swearing that came out when I first started writing this thing. I don't even use swear words in my head as a general rule, so my first instinct was to censor Sirius. But I think if I had, this would have lost a lot of its edge, so I just let him go at it. He's mouthy and edgy and just... ergh. He's a mess.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginnyWhat Can't Be Done: Chapter 1

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

I think this is one of my favourite stories by you. You've done a really good job of capturing Hermione here!

First of all, it's definitely 100% believable to me that Hermione would keep trying and trying to pass House Elf legislation, even though it seems that almost everyone thinks she's crazy for it. That's sort of what she was like in the books with S.P.E.W. so it definitely made sense to me that that sort of determination would carry through to her Ministry career.

Second of all, the Remus Lupin Werewolf Protection Act! My heart! Again, writing legislation like that seems 100% like something Hermione would do. I've seen the idea of Hermione creating werewolf protection legislation brought up a few times, actually, and it's one of my favourite headcanons. So I was really excited to see a story dealing with that idea, and this didn't disappoint!

I liked that you slipped Kingsley in, too ;) I know how much you love him and I think that that was a nice little nod. It's wonderful that he was so good about the rights of magical creatures.

I enjoyed this a lot, Kaitlin! Great job!


 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginnyA Late Night Swim: A Late Night Swim

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hiya Kaitlin!

Aw, this is a nice little story. I think you've written Dennis Creevey quite well. This seems pretty accurate to the way that he's written in the books.

There were some really great lines in here. My favourite was the one about Hogwarts' towers poking holes in the clouds. That's such a cool and unique description and I was really impressed by it.

Haha I love that the Giant Squid is named Bessie! Of course Hagrid is familiar with the giant squid and has named it.

One criticism I have is about the actual part where Dennis falls in the water. It just reads quite calmly to me, whereas that's a situation where he'd definitely be panicking. Maybe a bit more description there might help - you could talk about how the freezing cold water makes him feel (like it makes him seize up or something). Even something as simple as using some exclamation points might help.

Overall I think this is a nice little story, and Dennis Creevey is written in an adorable and likeable way. So good job!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>