Reading Reviews From Member: krazyboutharryginny
  
307 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginnyBurned by Ice: Frostbite

25th April 2015:
Hey! I'm here from the review tag thread on the forums!

This story is really cool. To be honest with you, it isn't quite "creepy", but it was definitely a bit disturbing and kinda haunting.
Helena Ravenclaw is a character that I've never thought to explore much. From the books, I always kind of thought she was a bit of a brat. But here you gave us some really interesting insight into her motivations and her character.

The idea of Helena lying there dying and thinking of the riddle from the doorknob is one that I think will really stick with me. It's very interesting that she considered her answer to the riddle her greatest failure - and it's a detail that gives us so much insight into her psyche. I also like how you included details that really made it clear how much she was focusing in on thinking about this - like the number of syllables and words in the riddle.

So yeah, this is a really great little story that has me lying here thinking about mortality and stuff :P It's made me want to look into reading more about this character. Great job!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginnyHarry Potter and the First Mission: Life Still Goes On

25th April 2015:
Hiya Kenny! I'm here from the Review The Person Above You thread in the CR!
I've already read this chapter, of course, since I beta'd it. However, I wanted to read it again for fun. When beta reading, it's hard to focus on the overall story because you're fixing the small details.
This is a really enjoyable first chapter. You've got a lot going on here, but it doesn't feel awkward or rushed. It makes sense to me that things would be very busy but also very emotional the day after the Battle, so the fact that there are many emotional scenes in amongst more practical scenes really worked for me.
I LOVE Harry and Ginny's interactions. My favourite part of their talk was Ginny's "There was always the silver lining" line. What a great and touching way to connect this to the books!
I think you've characterized McGonagall really well here. The fact that despite her exhaustion she still spoke in a crisp voice was a great detail to include.
The idea of having Bill help seal Dumbledore's tomb is such a cool one! It's not something I would have thought of myself, but it totally makes sense.
Awesome job on this first chapter, Kenny! You've really laid out the groundwork for this novel here and made me interested to see where the stories goes. I can't wait to beta the next chapter!
-Kayla

Author's Response: Wow, Captain herself left review! What a surprise! I'm really lucky that I got you as a beta. You're really awesome! At the same time I can't stop admiring my fellow gryffies. All you guys are brilliant.

The plot of this story, as I said in the forums, I simply wanted to read good Auror stories after the book of 7 by J.K.Rowling. I think she set Cormoran Strike Crime Novel for us, but my hunger for the sequel after the book 7 is still exists. Perhaps I imagined that there should be Auror story strongly when I read the book 5 that indicated Harry might be an Auror in the future.

Yeah, I'll do PM you about our next chapter!
:)Kenny


 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginnyDark Energy: Dark Energy

22nd April 2015:
This is so beautiful! It's descriptive and poetic and everything that I can't get enough of. Yeah, it's 90% metaphor, but unlike some stories that are like that, I understood what was going on - who was who, what the setting was, and all that. I think you've done a really impressive job on this.
This is so sad, though. Most Parvati/Lavender fics I've read had happy endings, even if they were angsty stories. But this story really made me feel like the two of them couldn't work out :( Then again, maybe Lavender can heal and move past the stage she's at right now, and let Parvati in? Hey, you know what would be cool?! This same story from Parvati's POV! You could honestly make this into a really awesome one-shot collection.
Great work on this fic!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginnyDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
There's a lot of stuff I really, really like about this first chapter. My favourite thing is that Sirius is still alive. I think you've done an awesome job of showing what Sirius and Harry's relationship would have been like if it had been allowed to develop further.
I also love the changes you've shown in Harry's personality since the loss of his son. The line "Harry Potter was no longer so Golden" totally captured my interest. The fact that he himself if aware of the ways in which he's changed is great. It's almost scarier, in a way? When characters are unaware of the ways in which they are changing and becoming more vicious, you get a sense that they're just out of control. When they're aware of it, like Harry is, it's more frightening because they're obviously still in control, but their minds have gone somewhere dark.
That scene with the lilies was so beautiful and touching. It's hard to get a sense of Devlin from the opening scene aside from the fact that he's very brave. That scene showed that he was a sweet and thoughtful little boy.
I'm interested to know who this Death Eater is, and whether he's really unimportant, as Harry thinks he is, or whether he's something more. I think I'm going to come back and continue reading this when I have time.
Awesome first chapter!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginnyA white, white world.: A gurgle of clarity.

15th April 2015:
Hey Kiana! I'm here for our review swap! Sorry, I know you said you'd prefer one of the first 3, but this fic really caught my interest, so I hope a review on this instead is okay.

This is obviously super sad, given the subject material. There are some bittersweet moments, too, mixed in with the ones that are just plain ol' sad. The ending with Neville had me almost in tears, honestly. Another example is how Frank makes Alice smile, even though she can't remember who he is.

I actually don't think I've ever read a story about this subject from the point of view of Alice. I never really questioned this, because that point of view seemed difficult to pull off, for obvious reasons. But you've REALLY pulled it off here. Your use of repetition to illustrate Alice's mental state was super effective. I also loved the way you brought colours into it, and the way that colours = Alice's entire world - because, really, that would be how it felt, I think. Hospitals are so drab and colourless, and I think I would start to feel so trapped after staying in one for even a day. I can't even imagine having to live in one for the rest of my life. It seems so believable that the presence of new colours would be really meaningful and a big deal.

I think you did a really fantastic job on this story, Kiana. I'll have to R&R some of your other work when I have a chance!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla! It's fine, as this review is really lovely and I'm glad that it caught your interest :)

Haha, yes, I had such a strange mix of emotions going through me whilst I was writing this because at once I was almost crying because Alice's life is so sad, but then she can still have happy moments too, so I felt very, very conflicted :P

Aw, thank you so much! I've only ever read one other story from this point of view before and it really was excellent so I wanted to give it a go myself as Alice has always intrigued me. Aw, thanks, I think colours are the most vibrant parts of life and are the things which make you remember everything so I thought it made sense it would be the one thing she could cling to.

Aw, thank you so much for this lovely review, it really made me smile! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginnyJumble: HodgePodge

14th April 2015:
Hiya Kaitlin! I'm here from the Red Vs Gold review battle in the CR! #TeamGOLD!

I have really mixed emotions about this. Not about the quality of your writing, of course - it's excellent, as always! Just about some of the stuff you described in the story.

It was this line: "For the first time in ages, Harry felt like The Boy Who Was Alive, not just the shell of him that was left after the war." It made me so sad! Like, James Sirius had already been born and he'd gotten married to the love of his life and he still felt like a shell of himself... that's horrible. Not unrealistic, just very sad. But I'm happy that he's starting to feel better through flying again :)

This story actually aligns very well with a headcanon of mine that I hold particularly strongly. I do think that Harry would have become an Auror immediately after the war - but not out of any sort of remaining desire to work in that field. He would be driven by the same sense of obligation that we seem him feeling throughout the books - the feeling that he is responsible for everyone's safety. I think working as an Auror would be horrible for his mental health, because he'd have PTSD from the war, and he'd drive himself to the brink of a breakdown before Ginny manages to convince him to quit. I'd never really considered what he might do afterwards, and now it seems so obvious - Quidditch.

Whoops, sorry for the long tangent /blushes. The point is, this story is bittersweet, but I find it totally realistic and really enjoyed it! Excellent work, as usual!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla,

I'm so glad you picked up on the current of bittersweet feelings underneath the descriptions of flying. Harry is absolutely conflicted. While I think he loves Ginny and his son, I think here are definitely some demons he's battling still. Hopefully, Quidditch can help fight some of those demons away!

I'm so excited about your headcannon! Ours seem to be perfectly inline. I pretty much imagine Harry exactly as you've described him.

Thank you for stopping to leave me this lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #7, by krazyboutharryginnyStarving Artists: New Horizon

14th April 2015:
Hiya Kevin! I decided to leave reviews for all the members of my CTF team, and then I decided that you deserved one too! You put so much effort into organizing and refereeing. You are truly awesome.

I love this! Second person is a hard thing to pull off even passably. Here, you've done more than that. You woven it together with first person almost flawlessly. I could picture everything, even if it was only a vague image (before I figured out that "you" was Dean) - a smile (halfway), hair whipping behind while riding a broom... etc.

Oh, speaking of riding a broom! I LOVE the way you wrote all the Quidditch stuff! I could never make sports sound that poetic!

Poetic stories are my favourite kind to read, and my favourite kind to attempt to write. But I don't think I've ever pulled it off as well as you have here (at least, not in a Harry Potter story... other fandoms, maybe!). The language you've used is so descriptive and beatiful. It's honestly captivating.

Oh, also: the idea of a Victory Day being established is an interesting one. I think that it would be an important piece of helping the Wizarding community move on from Voldemort's destruction, but I can also see it being taken too far and being harmful (aaahhh now I'm getting plunnies!! Make them go away, I don't want to steal your idea! And I don't have time to write more fics yet, anyway! :P)

So yeah, I loved this! It's beautiful! Amazing job, Kevin!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Howdy Kayla! Thank you so much for this review and for your enthusiastic participation in the game! Not so long ago the whole concept was a pipe dream that I was never really sure would work and I'm glad that despite some hiccups it mostly has!

Now on to the meat! This was a really interesting story for me to write because it started with me wanting to write something cool for Sian that fed on her love for minor characters. Since I wanted to write more about Rionach (the female) already, I took that route and paired her with Dean, which gave me the art element that I bound over to sport as an art form to for the overall feel and the title.

Victory Day, for its part, is just part of my headcanon - owing I guess to the aftermath of WWII and V-E and V-J day and so many other veteran celebrations around the world. I'd written it once before from Harry's POV as a place where I tried to plant a red herring about the killer's identity in a story before and I thought it would be neat to get a lighter, less jaded take on it as part of this (plus added drama to Dean/Rionach first hitting it off).

I'm REALLY glad to hear you enjoyed it and I thank you enormously for the praise. I don't know if I could quite recapture something like this, but perhaps I'll try one of these days.


 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginnyBirthday Gift: Birthday Gift

14th April 2015:
Hello Molly! I'm leaving reviews for all the members of the Accio Attackers, as a thank you present for being so awesome! I bet you can guess why I wanted to review this story of yours ;)

I'm not sure why, but I actually don't think I've EVER read a story depicting this scene from Ginny's point of view! This is a really fantastic interpretation of how she must have been feeling. I'm impressed, and so happy that I decided to read this!

"I understand, but it doesn’t make it any more bearable." Sigh... sadly, I feel like this is something that everyone experiences to an extent. You've really done a great job of capturing how this sad reality is playing out in this specific situation - which is a more extreme one than most people face, probably.

"I’m not giving me to him. I’m taking him, because I need him." I absolutely LOVE this line!

GAH!! I actually completely believe now that this is what Ginny intended to happen with Harry in her bedroom, and I'm SO upset that it got interrupted. Then again... imagine how much harder it might have been to have to leave each other and be separated. :/

I really loved this, Molly. Awesome job!

-Kayla, aka Oliver
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

 Report Review

Review #9, by krazyboutharryginnyAn Eye For An Eye: Vengeance

14th April 2015:
Hello Grace! I'm leaving reviews for everyone on the Accio Attackers, as a thank you present for being so awesome!!

So, Sirius Black is my favourite character, and the events of Halloween 1981 are ones that I think about a lot. I always think about how things could have been so different if only Hagrid hadn't taken Harry, you know?

I really like what you've done here. I was super duper happy (while also super duper sad) when Sirius thought of James as his brother ("Harry was the last living trace of his brother and the woman he loved") - their close and brotherly relationship is one that I feel really strongly about.

Also, I enjoy your characterization of Wormtail here. A lot of people make him sort of snivelling and pathetic, and say he just joined the Death Eaters out of fear, etc. You showed us a different Pettigrew here, and one that I find a lot more believable. So, kudos to that!

I also adored the way that Sirius interacted with Harry. It broke my heart though... if only Hagrid hadn't taken Harry! Harry would have grown up loved and Sirius wouldn't have gone to Azkaban! *sniffles*

Anyways... great fic, Grace! It made me sad, but I enjoyed it nonetheless!

-Kayla, aka Oliver
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

 Report Review

Review #10, by krazyboutharryginnyBlackwater Side: Blackwater Side

14th April 2015:
Hello Kenny! I decided to leave reviews for everyone on the Accio Attackers as a thank you present. I chose to read this story - I bet you can guess why? (spoiler alert: I love Harry/Ginny.)

So, there are some grammar and spelling mistakes in this, but I'm not sure if you already have a beta. So I'm just going to comment on the fic itself and ignore the technical stuff. If you don't have a beta, I'd be happy to go over this with you. You could PM me on the forums if you'd like.

An Auror Quidditch Team! That's such a cool idea! I definitely want to read Harry Potter and the Broomstick Makers now.

I love all the thoughts that Harry was having about Ginny while listening to the song. You managed to capture so much of what I love about Harry and Ginny's relationship - for example, their shared love of Quidditch, and her understanding of his anger (and ability to deal with it and calm him down).

I think you've done especially well with Harry's character here. Putting two pounds in that girl's guitar case strikes me as something he would do without hesitation. Another very "Harry" moment was when he didn't want to organize his messy desk.

Awesome work! I love this!

-Kayla, AKA Oliver
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

Author's Response: Thanks,captain :D ,Kayla. Your comments mean a lot for me.

When I took a step in this site at the first time, I was a little at loss how many Dramione shippers existed. I don't hate the story itself but I was just overwhelmed by the numbers of authors, you cannnot miss the banner with Hermione and Draco when you click the recently added stories. They are as many as the stories about next generation.

So my story is one of things to raise a question how the HPFF stories should be like.

I've guessed you also love Harry/Ginny ship from your name, so I'm very honored with your wonderful comments, thank you very much! I'll do PM later.


 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Precise Hour: Eggs and Owls

14th April 2015:
Hiya Nadia! I decided to leave reviews for everyone on the Accio Attackers as a way to say thanks for being awesome!
I really, really like this fic. The details in it totally brought the setting and your characters to life. For example, Abdullah really came to life for me - I could picture him in my head as I read, acting out what I was reading.
I would like to know a little bit more about Sahar, though. Is she, in fact, magical? Or did she just have an owl fly through her window and go "Okay, I guess I'll roll with this"? You know what I mean? Then again, I suppose there is supposed to be somewhat of an air of intrigue and mystery around her.
One tiny little issue I had here was with the formatting. I think the readability would be much improved if you made a clearer distinction between different chunks of text where a lot of time has passed, just by adding an extra space. For example, between "Hassan Mostafa had fallen in love" and "He knew he wasn't supposed to go near her", you could add another line break to signify that time has passed.
Formatting aside, I definitely enjoyed this fic! Very nicely done!
-Kayla aka Oliver
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

 Report Review

Review #12, by krazyboutharryginnyThrough the Half-Moon Spectacles: Preparing for What is to Come

13th April 2015:
Hey Alishya! I'm leaving reviews for all the members of the Accio Attackers as a thanks for being so awesome during CTF. Even though you decided to withdraw, you still were such a huge help, and I felt that you deserved a review too. So here I am!
This is such a super interesting concept! I've read stories ABOUT the Hogwarts portraits, but I've definitely never read one from the point of view of a portrait. I'd always thought that they would have the same sense of time and everything else as a living person was, but honestly, it makes so much more sense that they wouldn't. They're just enchanted paint on canvas, after all. I'd also DEFINITELY never considered the idea of them being to communicate with each other like that, without speaking. That's a really interesting idea! And it would certainly come in very handy in a situation like this, with the school under the control of the Death Eaters.
I'd like to continue reading this, and I hope you upload the second part at some point.
-Kayla
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

 Report Review

Review #13, by krazyboutharryginnythe earth and the sky: the earth and the sky

13th April 2015:
Hello! I'm reviewing all the members of our CTF team as a way to say thanks for being awesome!

Adi... this is a really, really beautiful piece of writing. Just absolutely stunning. I'm going to try my hardest to leave a 1000 character review (my new goal for all reviews :P) but I am honestly lost for words.

I don't even like Draco Malfoy. But here, you showed me Draco Malfoy changing, and becoming a better person, and I ended up really liking him. (Wow, that like... totally doesn't even come close to describing what a whirlwind of emotions I was going through. I can be too concise for my own good.)

Seriously though, Adi. There were several points where I just had to step away from my computer and breathe (heh). Not even because I was sad (although that happened SEVERAL times) but because I was just having so many EMOTIONS and I felt like my chest was going to burst open. I started crying at a few points - though, granted, that can happen quite easily with me.

I just cannot emphasize enough how absolutely beautifully done this is. I could feel all the pain, suffering and loss so intensely, and same with the love and the growth and the healing. You managed to completely draw me into this story. Draco and Astoria's relationship felt so real - especially with the details you included, such as how Draco never thought Astoria's voice was particularly nice, but he missed it so much after he lost his hearing.

OH THAT'S ANOTHER THING. (I'm so sorry I just have so many FEELINGS and I keep losing track of myself!!!) The explosion!! I know there was a TW for it at the beginning, but by the time it happened I was HOPING and PRAYING that nothing bad was going to happen, that it was just a warning for some kind of flashback to the Battle of Hogwarts. I was DEVASTATED when I was wrong.

I feel like I'm starting to get sort of rambly and incoherent. To sum up: Amazing. Beautiful. This is intense and poetic and made me feel every emotion under the sun.

Is this the one-shot that won the Golden Paw Award? Because it deserves it a million times over.

-Kayla
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

P.S. This is officially the longest review I've ever written at over 2000 characters. Feels appropriate that I'm leaving it for you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by krazyboutharryginnyA Friend's Gift: Prompt 3

13th April 2015:
*waves* Hello Jess! I'm leaving reviews for everyone on the Accio Attackers, as a thanks for being AWESOME!
This is absolutely adorable! I used to ship Neville and Luna, but recently I've been thinking that I like them more platonically... Either way, though, I truly think this story is fantastic! The fondness Neville has for Luna comes through beautifully. I'm not quite sure how to put this, but... it's like you're seeing Luna through Neville's eyes, and the way you experience her character in this story is coloured by the love he feels for her? Aaahhh I'm sorry that made absolutely no sense :$
Anyways, I also love the details you've included to highlight how close they are, like them both thinking Hannah would like the same ring. It's also so adorable that Luna wore her lucky wedding colours in hopes that it would help Neville choose a ring. That's just SO Luna.
Poor Tom though! That's so sad :( Is that included in your other stories? I need to know if there's somewhere I can look to find out what happened to the Leaky Cauldron!
Anyways, super adorable fic, Jess! I love it!
-Kayla aka Oliver
#AccioAttackersAreAwesome

 Report Review

Review #15, by krazyboutharryginnyLegacy: Legacy

13th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here from the Red vs Gold Review Battle in the CR! #TeamGOLD!
So I've never read a Founder's Era story before, and this was a really new and cool experience for me. This fic is so good! I absolutely love your characterization of Helga - how she is not afraid of death, and just wants to protect the legacy of the school. I also loved the relationship between her and her husband, Owain - so loving and understanding. Of course, I suppose that's sort of inevitable, after 50 years of marriage!
One thing I found really interesting about this is that, since Helga is the last surviving Founder, we sort of heard about the other Founders through the descriptions of their children? If that makes sense? You could really feel her sadness about the path Salazar had gone down, and her fondness for Godric came through when she was thinking of how his children shared some of his traits.
I do have one small criticism (although I hardly feel qualified to give it). I was a bit surprised that there was no mention of the Sorting Hat at all.It seems like something that should get a nod, even in passing, you know? Because it was created to help preserve the legacy of the Founders. Obviously, that legacy couldn't be preserved by JUST the Sorting Hat, but I think mentioning it would add a bit of... realism, I guess? And connection to canon? *scurries and hides* sorry!
I really loved this! Amazing job.
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #16, by krazyboutharryginnyBruises: Terror

11th April 2015:
Whoa! Kaitlin! This is admittedly really hard to read (emotionally, I mean, not in terms of your writing), but it's super good.
While reading this, I had no idea what was going on. In terms of this fic, that's a REALLY good thing. I was just as confused as Caroline, and that combined with the creepy setting had me super nervous.
Obviously, the truth of the situation is completely horrifying. It's good that you kind of slowly revealed what was going on. I got more and more anxious to know the truth of the situation, and more and more suspicious of her parents.
(Sorry if none of this makes any sense - I'm super tired :P But I really did enjoy reading this, and I think it's very well done. Thanks for linking me!)
-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla,

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this! I was so excited to get a review on it!

Oddly enough, I'm glad to hear that the confusion built for you as it did for Caroline. I was hoping that the disoriented feeling would come across to the reader.

The truth of the situation is definitely horrifying. I initially came up with a rough version of the ending and then kind of worked backwards leaving little breadcrumbs to it.

Thank you again for checking this out! I hope you got some rest!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #17, by krazyboutharryginnyLady Mondegreen: Conversations with a Portrait

11th April 2015:
Hey Lizzie! I'm here from the "review the person above you" thread in the CR :)

I'm actually pumped to read a Lia-centric fic! I was reviewing your other fics for CTF and I really, really enjoyed her character. I love the way you've written her here - I think you've done an awesome job of making it ABSOLUTELY CLEAR how angry she is. The detail that she ended up getting lost was a good one to add, as it definitely enhances her character - she's prone to getting lost at the best of times, and was so angry that she walked into a wall.

"“Lady Mondegreen.” She said, rolling her eyes. “But you can call me Lady M.”
Lia was taken aback. “How did you know my name?”" Mm... I think you missed something here. I went back and reread the previous few paragraphs a few times, and I'm still lost, so...

If I can be completely honest with you, I think your summary could use some work. I was very taken aback by it, but in a way that made me sort of hesitant to read it. When I got to the line "We're portraits. What else is there to do?", my immediate thought was that that would make a much better summary - in fact, when I clicked on the story and saw it as the chapter summary, I went "Ohhh, this story's about a PORTRAIT?! That's awesome! I wanna read this!". I think it would be a much better "hook", if that makes sense. Maybe you could put the line that you currently have as the Story Summary, and make it the chapter summary? Just switch them around?

Oh man! Lia sure does have a quick temper! I feel a bit sorry for Lady M! :P

Speaking of... I love the character you've created here in Lady M. You've done such a great job of describing Lia's feelings about her, as well as her actual appearance. I can picture her vividly, and REALLY like her. And the fact that she's a real person! I was genuinely taken by surprise, and eagerly kept reading.

"Lady M had made the same realizations as time wore on, and she’d discovered that trivializing a teenager’s struggles did nothing to help. If it was important to them, and they were willing to share it with her, then she’d find a way to make it important to her too." What a FANTASTIC couple of lines! This is a sentiment I agree with strongly, and I actually grinned at reading it here, especially when it's put so brilliantly!

It's awesome that Lady M managed to get Lia to reconsider her conversation with James, just by having awful hearing! XD

This is a really funny little story. I truly enjoyed it. I think it would be super cool if you could find a way to have Lady M make an appearance in How I Met Your Father!

-Kayla

Author's Response: KAYLA!!

Your review literally made me jump around for joy!!! Thank you so so so SO much for all of your wonderful comments and REALLY good advice!

I guess I didn't think about how that line could come across as a story summary. And you're completely right! The line you suggested is definitely a better hook *forehead slap*. Sometimes I get so excited I don't think everything through.

Also, thank you for pointing out that you're confused by how Lady M knows her name. I went and reread it and I guess I didn't clarify that very well! I'm definitely going to edit that a bit.

I love Lia, personally, she's my favorite character. I've got so much fun stuff planned for her. And not to worry, Lady M will make an appearance in HIMYF, but in some really subtle ways ;)

That part about Lady M making a teenagers problems important...that is 100% my mother. I don't know how many times I heard that growing up...and for some reason, it just seemed perfect for Lady M to say it...since she's seen so many teenagers in her "lifetime".

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and CC!! I'm going to continue my happy dance in a moment...
LL


 Report Review

Review #18, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Unexpected Guest: The Unexpected Guest

10th April 2015:
(Hi Lauren! I typed this out for CTF, but Molly ended up attacking this story before me... But I figured I may as well leave my review anyway! So...)
LAUREN! WHY! IM SAD! IM SO SO SO SO SAD! AND IM WELL AWARE THAT NONE OF THIS WILL COUNT TOWARDS MY LINE COUNT BUT I DONT CARE BECAUSE IM SO SAD!
*clears throat* Okay. First of all, I absolutely love that George wouldn't allow his mother to talk him into a traditional funeral. Honestly, because of who Fred was as a person, it feels like a traditional dark and somber funeral wouldn't have helped anybody grieve properly, if that makes sense.
I absolutely adore the idea of Lily having all this pent-up doting and just fussing over Fred. (I also like to think that when Fred got to heaven, he totally geeked out over getting to meet THE Mr Prongs! lol)
You've really captured the absolute tragedy and the unfairness of Fred's death. George's emotions are handled really, really well here. They're believable, and they're DEVASTATING. It was cute and all when Fred and George were talking, but also just completely heartbreaking - the way they instantly slipped back into their old flow, for the last time.
You have some really great lines in here, too. My favourite was definitely "Well, grease my hair and call me Snape", and I loved the ear puns. They added a little bit of lighthearted humour to a very sad fic - which is perfect, considering who it's about!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginnyOil and Water: oil and water don't mix

9th April 2015:
Wow! Adi, this is amazing. It's absolutely beautiful and poetic. You've got an amazing flow going on here, and I totally got sucked into the story that you were telling.
I was worried that this might be a little cliche - I've seen the "[blank] and [blank] don't mix" thing so many times before, and the two people almost always end up resolving their differences and getting together. I was pleasantly surprised when that didn't happen here. You were a bit blunter with your metaphor, if that makes sense? [blank] and [blank] don't mix, they never will, and this relationship is not going to work.
I love how this is so full of detail, yet sort of devoid of a bigger picture (Oops, that sounds like a bad thing - I promise, it's really not!). I honestly can't even tell from this if it was set in a universe with or without magic, and honestly, I LOVE that. It's just a glimpse into a life, a glimpse into a relationship dynamic, an exploration of emotion. That sort of story is one of my favourite types of stories to read (and write!) and this particular story is beautifully done.
Amazing job! Good luck with the challenge!
-Kayla (for the Red Vs Gold review challenge #TeamGOLD)

 Report Review

Review #20, by krazyboutharryginnyto the end of time: Just a Phase

9th April 2015:
Aw NO! Poor Parvati :( I feel so bad for her. Even if she weren't hiding a secret like that (which I know from personal experience can be very scary), I always am so uncomfortable in situations like that. I really felt so bad for her.
I'm wondering now if we're going to get a one-shot about the twins! I would love that. Padma seemed to be suspicious, and it would be super interesting to get to read a conversation between the two about Parvati's feelings for Lavender.
I'm loving this! Keep up the good work!
-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey, Kayla! I'm glad you like this so much!

I'm awful in these situations too, so writing this scene was all too easy haha.

And if everything here goes to plan, then there definitely will be some sort of conversation between the twins at some point!

Thank you again for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #21, by krazyboutharryginnybad blood: one; prologue

8th April 2015:
Jess! I have been SO excited for this fic :D I'm so glad you got the prologue up.
It makes me very nervous that Ginny didn't tell the doctor about the lack of magical disturbance. I hope that she loves Lily the same as her other children :(
Excited to see more of this!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #22, by krazyboutharryginnyPerseus Andromeda: An Empty House

5th April 2015:
"She was a shell of a woman in a shell of a house" - what a fantastic line! This really sets the tone and mood for the rest of the story beautifully.
This story is so sad. The imagery is very vivid, which really makes Andromeda's pain and heartbreak much more palpable. I love the connections you made to the original myth of Perseus and Andromeda - how clever!
I'm so glad Harry brought Teddy to her, and that things started looking up at the end!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginnyMistletoe Mishaps: Christmas Trickery

5th April 2015:
(I typed this up for capture the flag and ended up not needing to use it, but I figured I would leave it anyway!)
Alright, there's a couple of mistakes in the first few paragraphs. "Them" is typoed as "htem", "one" instead of "on" when they go downstairs, and you've said "balmy" instead of "barmy", I think? Sorry, just some nitpicks.
But moving on from nitpicks - this story is HILARIOUS! Sirius is my favourite character as of late, and I think you've captured him perfectly. I can totally picture him coming up with that prank - and, upon his return to school, bragging about it to the other Marauders!
I also love your portrayal of Andromeda, and how she was acting suspicious.
Another thing: I love the overall idea of the annual Christmas ball. That totally seems like something that would happen with the Pureblood crowd.
Great fic!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Bronze Feather: Chapter Two

4th April 2015:
Ahhh! The second chapter answered NONE of my questions and gave me new ones! I'm so excited to see where this is going!
-Kayla

Author's Response: Ahh! Answers in the next chapter, I promise!

 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginnyThe Baby In The Closet: Epilogue

4th April 2015:
Aw!! This is so cute!!
I'm so happy because this is such a lovely and nice ending to this wonderful story, but I'm also sad because it's over and I had such fun reading it :( But, if it had to end, I'm glad it ended this way.
I really did love reading this!
-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla.

I'm glad you came back to finish off this story by reading the final chapter, because I had been afraid that you thought that Chapter 10 was the last chapter. (Originally it was, in the manuscript, and then I thought of this final touch to finish things off so neatly.)

One would think that the subject of child abuse and its long-term effects could be a downer, but you say that you loved reading it and had fun reading it, and that makes me happy. It's not really ended, in the sense that it will be with Harry for his entire life, but now he knows that he can cope with it, and that's the important thing that he achieved in this story. Despite the sadness, there is hope for happiness in the future.

Thank you so much for sticking with this long story all the way to the end and for writing so many nice and often helpful reviews!

Vicki


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>