Reading Reviews From Member: krazyboutharryginny
  
403 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to the Team

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Reeaally quite nitpick first: saying "increasingly more difficult" is redundant. You can just say "increasingly difficult" or "more difficult".

1. I have absolutely no idea. I'm also wondering if I missed something with the Shrechovitz family? Sweets told Rhea that "it's a touchy topic" - what is? Why?

2. This seems like far too much for anyone to handle! I think she should come clean with her friends and tell them what's going on with her. I also think she should stand up to her parents...

3. I think Dom will tell Freddie - I have no reason to think she wouldn't. And I hope he goes and talks to Sweets. I understand that he's upset about Lucy, but it still seems very rude not to even go talk to Sweets and tell her he'll be unable to meet with her for a while.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to the Negotiation

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

1. Again, I think it's quite inconsiderate of her parents to do this. But I suppose they have their reasons. It just seems to me that they could have found a better solution, and that they're taking Sweets for granted.

2. I'm not sure. Freddie seems like an alright person, but also a bit self-centered and easily distracted. Hopefully Sweets can keep her patience with him.

3. Kane and Sweets seem cute together. I think he maybe has a bit of a crush on her. But I really like their friendship.

4. Now I'm really worried about Alana! Kane is literally acting like he thinks she's going to die! What is going on?! It's a sweet idea, but it's definitely one I wouldn't think to do, let alone put in place, unless I was POSITIVE my friend was going to die!

5. I really like Sweets, for the reasons I stated in my last review.

One small issue in this chapter is that there's a few places where words seem to be missing (for example, "and all traces of amusement from the previous show that Kane and Mocha put on."). Other than that, though, it's great and I enjoyed it :)

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to Ancient Runes

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hi Leigh. Since you have specific questions, I guess I'll answer them!

1. Freddie is different than I was expecting. In earlier chapters Sweets was talking about how she likes him better than James, so I certainly wasn't expecting him to not even know her name. But I guess they'll get closer as the story progresses. As for Dom, we didn't really see enough of her in this chapter for me to have a comment, but I like the general picture of her that I've gotten.

2. I can see why Sweets is upset. I think it's quite inconsiderate that her parents would ask her to do that. I wonder what she'll say to them?

3. Adelaide seems nice, although I wonder why she was upset. Again, we didn't really see enough of her friends for me to have a detailed opinion. All I know is that Mina doesn't seem very nice.

4. At the beginning of the chapter I was beginning to worry that Alana has an eating disorder, but this is also very worrying. It's especially scary that she went to both Muggle and Wizarding doctors and they couldn't find what was wrong with her.

One other thing: It's really cool that Alana's Hawaiian!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginnySweet Talk: Welcome to Hogwarts

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hi Leigh! I'm finally back to read more of this!

Oh, Sweets is such a fun character to read about because she just seems like such a lovely person! She's happy and giggly and seems like the sort of person who could change your whole mood just by smiling at you.

I like Kane too. And Lily! She's one of my favourites, I think, because like Sweets she just seems cute and nice.

I do have a couple of tiny criticisms. One is that I don't feel saying "naturally blonde curls" is necessary - if you just said "blonde curls" I personally would make the assumption that the blonde was natural because we have no reason to think otherwise. I don't know, it's not a big deal but for some reason that really stuck out to me. The other thing is that the sentence "Platform 9 always reflects that of a battlefield" is a confusing one. I understand what you mean but I think you could probably find a better way to word it.

Overall I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the next chapter!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginnylove and lycanthropy and other institutions: institutionalisation

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh, this is absolutely stunning! I REALLY shouldn't have read this for the Amazing Race, but I didn't notice the word count when I clicked on it, and by the time I realized how long it is I was hooked, so here I am.

You've done an incredible job characterizing Remus and Sirius, I think. Sirius' temper and his struggles to contain it, his emotional walls and his faux-confidence; Remus and his desire to please, his caution and worry, and the way he gets just before the full.

I also think you did an excellent job with Peter, sort of planting the seed of what's going to happen in the end with his fear over the realities of the war and his frustration with Sirius and James.

I think you captured the spirit of the Marauders as a group brilliantly and there were a lot of funny lines when you were talking about group dynamics and such. The nicknames for James and Sirius (pre-Prongs and Padfoot) made me laugh.

I really enjoyed this, it's so moving and a really effective exploration of relationships (Wolfstar, Jily, and the Marauders as a group).

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hello Kayla! ♥

Thank you so much for stopping by my page and reading this story! I hope it didn't take up too much of your time as you were in the middle of a HC review race! ♥ Thank you for leaving me such kind comments too, and I'm always really happy whenever a Remus/Sirius fan reads this; I really tried to do the ship justice and I appreciate feedback from Wolfstar shippers! ♥

I do enjoy writing Sirius a lot - probably a little more than Remus, because he's so much more openly flawed. There's goodness in him, but there's also plenty of potential for darkness. And gah, Sirius has so many issues. Remus, too! These characters are so filled with drama. :P

And I'm glad you mentioned Peter. I loved writing Peter in this fic, exploring his character at more depth, which I've never done before. I ignored James a bit in this story in favour of Peter, because I think James does get plenty of attention in other fic.

Aww, I'm glad you like the way I portrayed the Marauders! That's a huge compliment, and it's something that worried me. These are such popular characters and I felt a bit overwhelmed at first, wondering how to get the group dynamics right. Your comments are hugely reassuring.

Thank you for your amazing review, Kayla! This made my day, absolutely!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginnyI am, I am, I am: I am, I am, I am

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh, this is stunning! I'm not sure if I'm write about this, but this seems to me to be a story about dealing with mental illness. That's how I read it. I loved that you threw in a couple of tiny details to let us know what time in Rose's life this is (like mentioning Ravenclaw tower). I also love the whole metaphor because this is pretty much exactly what dealing with a mental illness feels like (especially with the added pressure of school).
My one small suggestion would be to bring the clouds in more at the end. The part near the beginning that was talking about how she liked to look at the clouds but never got to do so for long really grabbed me and I wish you'd connected back to it more. You do MENTION the clouds, but you could go further and bring them back up earlier. Maybe talk about how she can look at the clouds for as long as she wants and doesn't have to worry about the waves or something.
Overall, this is a beautiful story that I really enjoyed reading!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #7, by krazyboutharryginnyAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

19th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

This story is a very interesting take on Luna's character. She never struck me as a person who would approach fears/the dark like that, but your reasoning for it really worked. I absolutely loved the whole section talking about Luna's mother - the idea of Luna seeing her mother in things related to death is a really sad one, although she obviously doesn't think of it like that, and really unique. I always thought Luna liked the Thestrals because they were misunderstood like her (sort of like why Hagrid likes monsters) but you went deeper than that and made her see her mother in them.
Really interesting story! Great work!
-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #8, by krazyboutharryginnyEvent Three- A Wolf's Best Friend: there is more to come

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

Oh, why did I do this to myself?! I knew that if I read this I could end up sad, but here I am anyway, writing this review and CRYING.

You're such an amazing writer, Adi, I'm always in awe of you. You have such a way with words and always manage to write JUST the right thing at JUST the right time. You also portrayed both Remus and Sirius perfectly in this (as well as Peter and James at the end). Oh, I'm tearing up again as I write! This is madness!

So since we're on the topic of me crying, I figure I should let you know the moment when I burst into tears, as that's always something an angst writer wants to know. It was "May you rest in reckless wonder, you big black dog". And it then increased significantly at "in prayer that you found James at the other side".

Remus is a character that I'm afraid of tackling, but you've pulled him off perfectly here. His grief is overwhelming and palpable. I think the way you have him imagining conversations with Sirius is really effective and gives the reader the feeling that he's kind of lost and doesn't know what to do with himself now.

The paragraph that starts with "Boredom is an infection" absolutely KILLED me. I think it's one of the best ones in the story. It kind of sums up the tragedy that was the last 2 years of Sirius' life.

The flashback at the end is brilliant and had me smiling through my tears.

Ugh, okay, I'm out of words! I can't even express how fantastic this is. Again, you're SUCH an incredible writer, and I feel like my reviews never do your work justice.

Amazing work on this, Adi.

-Kayla
(I'm still crying btw)

 Report Review

Review #9, by krazyboutharryginnyWhen the Axe Fell: When the Axe Fell

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Well, this was a tough read, but I probably should have expected that!

Your writing, of course, is stunning, as always. The first paragraph especially is very vivid in its descriptions. I could totally picture the scene as I read it.

Sir Nick is a bit of a comical figure in the books, so it was interesting to read this really dark story about him. We're told how he died in the books, but the fact that his head wasn't completely severed is a source of humour. I'd actually never thought about how agonizing that experience must have been. This definitely made me reconsider, especially since the event is described in such graphic detail.

I actually feel quite bad for the executioner, as he seems really remorseful at the end there and embarrassed that he made such a silly mistake (not sharpening his axe). Also, that would be a really gross thing to participate in, so there's that. My sympathy towards him is limited, though, because the whole thing is so barbaric and he's a willing participant.

The people I couldn't connect with at all were the spectators. Why would you go watch something like that for fun?! *shudders*

Anyways, Sian, your writing is fantastic. You're so talented!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! *hugs* Ah, you found one of my oldest stories, I thought everyone had forgotten about this :P

Unfortunately it was going to be a tough read - I tend to enjoy writing angst far too much *hides* But thank you for your compliments on my writing - it's so sweet!

Nick really is more of a comical figure in the books but I love reading things from this period - which in England was actually an incredibly difficult period to live in, if you're involved at all politically - but I really love taking minor characters and exploring them further in a way that I haven't seen before. It helps bring them to life a bit more for me and this is probably my head canon now, for how Nick died.

The executioner was one of those wonderful characters who just came from nowhere and wrote himself! Before I wrote this I had no idea of him being anything important to the story but I can't imagine how a seasoned executioner would make that mistake, and I also can't imagine that something going that badly wrong for someone so inexperienced wouldn't have an impact on them.

I know that it's horrible that people were spectators, and that the executioner had trained for that job - it's one of the reasons that I'm glad I don't live in a time when that's considered normal!

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your compliments! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by krazyboutharryginnyIn Every Stitch: Eight

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Lizzie! This is absolutely wonderful!

You have captured Molly Weasley's character perfectly here! Every reason she had for knitting the jumper for Harry made total sense and definitely seemed like something Molly herself would think of.

I loved how she would think of 1 reason with each stitch. It was almost like she was literally knitting her love into the jumper! I'm not sure if that was intentional, but that's the way I read it and I really liked it.

Also... "8 jumpers, 8 children"?! That's fine, I didn't need my heart or anything!

There was one thing that really made me smile. Right at the beginning, Molly is thinking about how sometimes her children complain about the colours and the itchiness and whatever else. But what we see in the books is that they all wear the jumpers, even when Molly isn't around to see them/have her feelings hurt if they don't wear them. Even Ron, who doesn't like maroon, still wears his jumper. I think they really understand what the jumpers mean and that they really appreciate them.

Anyways, this was a lovely little story, and I think you did an excellent job of characterizing Molly and exploring her motivations.

-Kayla

Author's Response: Kayla!!

First of all, Eeek! I love it when you review my stories! They always make me so happy!

Secondly, it's so relieving to hear that you like how I wrote Molly. She's one of my favorite characters, and when I was writing this I was terrified that I was totally going to mess her up. SO THANK YOU!

Thirdly, yes, it was definitely intentional. It's actually something I do when I'm crocheting something for a friend or loved one. It makes it much more than an object, but a piece of you that you're giving to someone else. Which, in my opinion, makes it priceless.

Hehehe, sorry, but I'm going to enjoy the fact that you've got feels. I think it's a good thing. ;)

Your point is actually SPOT ON! I didn't write it in because I actually wanted to see if anyone else connected the dots. All of her kids actually do complain about the sweaters at some point - but, they still wear them. It's something that I noticed from the first time I read the books, and I think that says a lot about the Weasley kids.

Thank you for reviewing!! You're AWESOME!
LL


 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginnyDo Not Argue With An Idiot: Chapter One

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Aw, I think this is such a cute concept. Honestly, reading the summary I thought that this would be Sirius and Lily bonding over something stupid that James did, but I really like this too.

I'd never considered before that both Sirius and Lily have siblings that they once were close with that they don't get on with anymore. That's so sad and it definitely makes a lot of sense that that would be something they could connect over. They both understand what it's like and can relate.

So many people write Lily as this stick in the mud who refuses to break any rules, so it was refreshing that she told Sirius she wouldn't tattle about the Invisibility Cloak and that she drank some Firewhiskey.

The idea of Regulus and Petunia getting together is too funny. Strangely, aside from their opposing views (Muggle-hating vs Wizard-hating), I expect they'd be quite a good couple - Petunia is very neat and tidy and proper and Regulus is quite proper too, I imagine, because he had a very formal upbringing.

This story was funny and really nice to read, good work!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Go Go Gryffindor!!

Thanks so much for the fab review!! That's made my day.

Haha I'm pretty certain they would also bond over something stupid James does, that's entirely possible I would say.

I saw something on pinterest that made me think this might be the case, I think Petunia and Regulus are two sides of the same coin in a way; both completely prejudice against something they don't understand.

I never bought Lily being a complete stick in the mud. She'd have to have a sense of humour to go out with James! And put up with the other three! She's really fun to write with a bit of a rebellious streak.

Thank you so much again, I'm really happy you enjoyed

Soph xxx


 Report Review

Review #12, by krazyboutharryginnyWithering: Withering

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Gina, this is beautiful. In this single chapter you've managed to capture such a wide range of emotions. I'm really impressed.

You've captured James and Lily's characters brilliantly. We see more of James because the story is more from his point of view (although it's third person) and he's written so well. How cooped up he feels, his recklessness, how he just wants to make Lily smile - it's all so perfect. We see less of Lily's thought processes and such, but she's quite well done too. Also Sirius! His concern for his friends and how he poured so much effort into doing research and trying to help them - definitely true to his character.

There are a lot of really beautiful moments in this. The biggest one, of course, is when James, Lily, and Harry all go outside and stand on the porch. It was just so poignant. Another was at the end, when they were holding each other and talking about the afterlife and James was thinking of his parents. It was so sad but it definitely felt very in-character for them as a couple.

This is a sad story but it's really beautiful and well written!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #13, by krazyboutharryginnyfour thousand, two hundred and ninety three (and counting): one

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh my goodness. My heart is breaking.

You've done a really amazing job on this story. You've written Sirius' emotions so powerfully. His anger and self-loathing are so intense. I could really feel his pain as I was reading.

The part that got to me the most was definitely when Sirius saw the date on the guard's paper and realized that it was Harry's first day at Hogwarts and he'd missed it. I honestly almost started crying. Something about that line was just so powerful. I think it maybe has something to do with how, in the books, we're sort of given the impression that all Sirius thought of in Azkaban was Pettigrew and getting revenge - but if you look beyond the surface we see that that isn't true, because his motivation for escaping was the knowledge that Pettigrew was in a position to hurt Harry. So I loved that you showed him actually thinking about Harry and feeling bad about not being there for him.

And the ending! I'll admit, you got me. I thought he was counting how many days he'd been in Azkaban, and I literally gasped when I realized that wasn't the case.

This story is really good, I'm so impressed!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #14, by krazyboutharryginnyPain Makes You Beautiful: Rated Mature for themes and content.

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Pix, I am lost for words. This is incredible. I can't figure out where to start.

Sirius is so raw here. You take all of his flaws, his instability, his weaknesses, and you drive them home. The worst part is that this story is from his point of view and so we know that this is the way he sees himself, that this is what he thinks of himself.

We also see Remus through his eyes, and see Remus' flaws, but these are excused/justified. Sirius brings up Remus' pain every time he is rejected or is hurt by something Remus does. There isn't really such justification for himself.

I love the bluntness in the narration. Like, yeah, there's a lot of description and metaphor and prose and such, but it still manages to be blunt. Then there's other parts that are just flat-out blunt, minus the other stuff (A lot of these parts have to do with Dumbledore).

The ending killed me. We see in canon that Sirius blames himself for James and Lily's deaths, but there's something about reading the words in his POV that makes it more painful.

Again, this is absolutely incredible. Really amazing job, Pix.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #15, by krazyboutharryginnyWhat Can't Be Done: Chapter 1

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

I think this is one of my favourite stories by you. You've done a really good job of capturing Hermione here!

First of all, it's definitely 100% believable to me that Hermione would keep trying and trying to pass House Elf legislation, even though it seems that almost everyone thinks she's crazy for it. That's sort of what she was like in the books with S.P.E.W. so it definitely made sense to me that that sort of determination would carry through to her Ministry career.

Second of all, the Remus Lupin Werewolf Protection Act! My heart! Again, writing legislation like that seems 100% like something Hermione would do. I've seen the idea of Hermione creating werewolf protection legislation brought up a few times, actually, and it's one of my favourite headcanons. So I was really excited to see a story dealing with that idea, and this didn't disappoint!

I liked that you slipped Kingsley in, too ;) I know how much you love him and I think that that was a nice little nod. It's wonderful that he was so good about the rights of magical creatures.

I enjoyed this a lot, Kaitlin! Great job!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #16, by krazyboutharryginnyA Late Night Swim: A Late Night Swim

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hiya Kaitlin!

Aw, this is a nice little story. I think you've written Dennis Creevey quite well. This seems pretty accurate to the way that he's written in the books.

There were some really great lines in here. My favourite was the one about Hogwarts' towers poking holes in the clouds. That's such a cool and unique description and I was really impressed by it.

Haha I love that the Giant Squid is named Bessie! Of course Hagrid is familiar with the giant squid and has named it.

One criticism I have is about the actual part where Dennis falls in the water. It just reads quite calmly to me, whereas that's a situation where he'd definitely be panicking. Maybe a bit more description there might help - you could talk about how the freezing cold water makes him feel (like it makes him seize up or something). Even something as simple as using some exclamation points might help.

Overall I think this is a nice little story, and Dennis Creevey is written in an adorable and likeable way. So good job!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #17, by krazyboutharryginnyBurning Bridges: Boom

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Hiya Kaitlin!

I have been itching to review all your new stories for WEEKS, but I was saving them up for the next Amazing Race - so now here I am!

There are a lot of things that I really like about this story. I like the plan that Seamus came up with, where he used the shield charms to seal off the bridge. In the books I feel like he's sort of portrayed as a bit silly/not very clever (with his accidental blowing-things-up), but this plan showed that he actually is quite clever.

I also like what you've started to do here with describing Seamus' anxiety, such as saying that he had the urge to get up and pace, and that he was having trouble breathing (that should be "breathe", by the way, not "breath"). However, I do think that this story would benefit from more description, and that that would really heighten the tense atmosphere. For example, because Seamus is so anxious, maybe he would be hyper-aware of his surroundings - you could describe the crunch of the grass under his feet, the snapping of twigs nearby, the creaking of the bridge under the Death Eater's feet.

I enjoyed reading this and I think that some extra description could take it from good to great!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #18, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Volume II: Magical Figure Skating - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

There are so many things I love about this concept. #1 - magical figure skating #2 - TEDDY LUPIN doing magical figure skating. BRILLIANT!

So, #1 - magical figure skating is an absolutely brilliant idea and you've laid out exactly why in this story. The balancing charms on the blades would make everything so much easier, and the use of the wand to add theatrics is just awesome. The one problem I can see there is the risk of falling and impaling yourself on your wand or breaking it!

#2 - just brilliant. This is such a creative and wonderful idea that I can totally see Teddy dreaming up and executing in the way you described. I also just plain old love the idea of Teddy doing something so beautiful and graceful *sighs dreamily*.

I would have liked a bit more description of the skating scene, because it sounds like a really cool routine, but overall this is a really creative and enjoyable story that I really loved reading!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #19, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Volume II: Hide and Seek with Fred and George - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Aw, I really like this. Fred and George are very realistic children. They have difficulties with multitasking and with gauging situations.

Ron and Ginny were just adorable. I know they were the mischief-makers in this story and causing a lot of trouble for Fred and George, but they're tiny and didn't know any better, and they were just so adorable! I also loved that they were playing together nicely. I love the headcanon that they were very close when they were children.

It was so cute that Fred and George decided it was a good day after all when they got to play with their younger siblings inside, and the ending where Bill found them all asleep together was absolutely ADORABLE! I loved the last line too haha, great tie-in to the beginning of the story!

It was also clear how much the twins looked up to Bill, so that was really nice.

I enjoyed this a lot, it was simple and sweet.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #20, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Volume II: Under the Lake - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

To be completely honest, I don't think this is one of the best stories by you guys that I've read for this Amazing Race. I think it could have used a little more detail when Cedric was swimming to the bottom of the lake. He probably hadn't been in the lake like that before, it was an entirely new environment that was probably very strange and beautiful. I was hoping to see more of his thoughts on that.

I did like your characterization of Cedric though. You've written him as a very sweet, caring, and humble guy. I really like that he wanted to go back and help Harry out, even after Cho told him the hostages weren't really in danger. It was also nice that he thought he didn't deserve first (although I think he did).

It was also a really nice touch that when Cho's head was lolling, Cedric took care to hold her against him so that her neck wouldn't be injured or anything. That was really lovely.

This isn't a perfect piece of work but it's still a nice story.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #21, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Volume II: How can cleaning up become a game? - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Oh, I love the idea of Ginny and Angelina getting together to look after all the children, that's really lovely. It definitely sounds like a lot to handle. You did a great job of coming up with a load of different ways that the children could be getting into mischief. I loved it because even though they're Wizard children, all the things were similar to things I'd done as a child.

I liked what happened with Ginny and Angelina over the course of the story. At first they were understandably very frustrated and short with the children, but when they got a chance to sit down they really relaxed and were happy to let the children continue to play the clean-up game.

It made me smile when Rose tried to put away Molly's crayons. I don't really know why, I guess because I knew she meant well and was trying to help and I thought that was really cute.

I enjoyed this, well done!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #22, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Volume II: Irate Owls - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

It took me an embarrassingly long time to click on that the name of this was a play on Angry Birds. Seriously, I didn't even realize until the last line. I didn't even realize when you SAID "ANGRY BIRDS" IN THE STORY!

This is such a funny little story. I'm so impressed with how creative it is. I would never have thought to write about the owls at Hogwarts playing a game! Genius!

I absolutely adore the way you characterized Pig - so cute and funny! And that you gave him a last name, and a unique (completely HILARIOUS) dialect. It's got me sitting here thinking about owl culture haha. That's certainly something I've never considered before - but why not, right? Haha!

I'm actually so impressed with how creative this story is, and with how entertaining you managed to make a story about owls playing real life angry birds! Amazing!

I really enjoyed reading this! Your stuff is absolutely awesome!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Adventures of Moony and Padfoot - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Aaahhh I love this! Too cute!

Okay, so first of all, I love the backstory you came up with for Remus to explain why he hates the Game of Life. It made so much sense and was so sad. What on the surface seemed like a silly/petty hatred of a children's game actually has more to do with his insecurities and the issues presented by his lycanthrophy. Poor Remus!

Second of all, Sirius was wonderfully characterized in this. He was goofy, charming, and overdramatic. He even turned the cars into tiny dragons! I love it!

Third of all, Remus and Sirius are too cute! It's clear how happy they make each other and how much fun they have just hanging out or playing a silly board game together.

I also adore the fact that you mentioned how silly it was that the pieces were so binary, with the pink and blue and all, and that Sirius wanted to change it. Haha that's my Sirius!

I really really loved reading this!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: What Muggles Do for Entertainment - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Sirius is characterized so well in this. I can definitely see him impulsively deciding to live in the Muggle world even without knowing anything at all about it. I can also imagine him napping during Ted's explanation of the rules because he didn't think he needed to listen.

I'm glad that Andromeda put her foot down and managed to get Sirius to strike up a deal with her. I like her a lot, it's great that Sirius has at least one family member who's there for him and cares about him.

Ted seems nice too in this, I'm really glad that he was pretty patient with Sirius during the game instead of getting angry with him when he messed up.

It was amusing that for all his talk about joining the Muggle world, Sirius didn't seem to care about it at all when actually immersed in it. He slept on the underground instead of being fascinated by the technology, he didn't care about football, etc. It's also interesting considering that he actually does end up being more interested in Muggle culture later in his life.

This is a great concept and your characters are extremely well characterized. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginnyGame On: Just Don't Get Caught - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

This story is absolutely brilliant. Ginny is so in character. She's unwilling to enter into the bet with Andrew initially because he wouldn't join the DA, but then does agree to the bet because she wants to annoy Umbridge. That's the Ginny I know and love!

The last two pranks they pulled were fantastic. Honestly, I think that the toilet seat stunt should have won Andrew the bet, but at the same time I'm really glad that Ginny won.

All the other, smaller pranks were quite genius too. They're not as dramatic or funny as the last two, but you can also see how they could require a lot more imagination and cunning because of how subtle they had to be. The best one was wetting the chalk, I think, but the others were great too.

This story was funny, Ginny was perfectly characterized, and, of course, Umbridge getting pranked is one of the best things ever! So I really enjoyed reading this!

-Kayla

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>