Reading Reviews From Member: purplewings721
  
84 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplewings721And Capers Ensue: Missing!

1st October 2012:
Cupcake forensics - bahahaha! I swear, this story just keeps getting better with each chapter. It makes my day whenever I see this - or any of your stories, really - update. You deserve every Dobby/award/review you get, because you are just absolutely brilliant. The next chapter needs to come out ASAP, because this cliffhanger is pure evil. And, I really miss Scorpius... even though he's only been gone for one chapter. But that is one chapter too many. Excellent job!
- Camila :)

Author's Response: Eek, thank you so so much :3 This review totally made MY day. I'm such a terrible updater, so I'm just like blaaargh, I hope no one's been waiting too long. Scorpius is unfortunately missing for a bit, but I think I'll be able to make it up later ;D



 Report Review

Review #2, by purplewings721Outcast: Thestrals and Karma

18th July 2012:
This story is absolutely hilarious. I love how Molly has this huge vandetta and grudge against her gran, and blames everything on her. She's so snarky and irresponsible - she fits 'Slytherin' perfectly. And the fact that she's not only a squib, but a Wotter as well. Poor girl, that's gotta be rough. Although, I'd love to know what her cousins' reactions would be once they found out.

I love this line:
Oi! We're not a nation, lady! What's wrong with 'classmates'? Honestly!

Brilliant!

Oh, and I love how Timothy wants to be called "Moth". I couldn't stop cracking up at that. And the bowler hat/slips of paper! Hahaha, I almost wished that they would've stuck with it.

I've noticed a few errors with the dialogue (mainly because I've just been made aware of it in my own story as well). For example:

“Right.” She said sharply. should be "Right," she said sharply. The only time a pronoun needs to be capitalized after dialogue, is when it's I or a name. The forums have some great topics about grammar and dialogue that have really helped me out. Just a little tip. :)

Anyway, I really love this story and how orignial it is. Please update soon!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Awh - thank you very much. Molly is bitter - there really is no other explanation! She has no - or very little - luck. You'll definitely learn about it - though Molly has a few tricks up her sleeve first. ;)

Ooh! I didn't know that (I'm learning every day :) )! I'll fix that after the next chapter update!

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review and I'm really glad you're enjoying Outcast.

Keira :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by purplewings721F r e a k.: Kate Makes A Friend

18th July 2012:
So, I'm really liking the characters in here. I love how Kate's a photographer and that it makes her a freak. I'm also a photographer (or aiming to be one, that is) and I know how it feels when people look at you weird because you take candid photos of random people. Oliver is also very interesting - his snark and insightfulness compliments Kate lovely. Plus, tatoos are something I've never really seen on a character before. Adds a little spice.

Oh, and I totally ship Kate and Al. Outcast and popular guy? I love it - even if it can be a bit cliche. Although, you do an excellent job of not making it feel all cliche and over used.

There were a few typos and errors, which could easily be fixed with a quick run through and editting, and that's pretty much it.

Update soon!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! It makes my day to get reviews like these :)

Yes, Oliver adds quite a bit of spice to our Kate's life.

Yay for Kate/Al shipping! Kale? Katebus? We'll figure it out ;)

Update's coming soon!


 Report Review

Review #4, by purplewings721The Pineapple Conspiracy: Chapter 2

18th July 2012:
I'm really sad that this story doesn't have more reviews. :( Well, I'm here to fix that!

This is actually really interesting. The idea that the Ministry has gone to the other extreme - forbidding anyone to mention bloodstatus - as a way to prevent another war happening is very intriguing. Most Next Gen fics are very light hearted and more humor-centered (or the ones I read, at least) but I also like the possibility of there being another war and that the danger and conspiracies haven't ended.

I'm also really enjoying the characters. Dominique/Scorpius is one of my favorite Next Gen pairings and I'm really looking forward to see their relationship develop.

Good job and please update soon!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review, purplewings! So far, I'm trying to build up more backstory about why the Ministry would have gone to this extreme, and what the drawbacks are--which I think may take some time. I've got part of chapter 3 already written (in which some old characters will come back!) and hopefully that'll be up soon!

Thanks for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #5, by purplewings721Task One Challenge: Level Two Mission: Obstacles

18th July 2012:
First off, I want to congratulate you for winning the best overall. It was truly well deserved.

You are a master when it comes to description. Everything was so wondefully detailed and written out, I could feel myself being transported into the story. Normally, that's really hard for me to do with fanfiction, but this was amazing. You have a true gift for writing.

I highly enjoyed Neville in this. He was very in character, having both that nervousness to him that we all know him to have but as well as the bravery that he proved to us all he was capable of. And oh my goodness, I loved that last line he said to Ron. Hilarious!

Excellent job and again, this really was a well deserved win.
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Camila! I'm so happy you liked the descriptions, and also Neville. I must say, I never admired Neville as much as I do now after he's been chosen as Gryffindor's champion. He's such a brave person, and so good-hearted. I'm glad I got the opportunity to write about him.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by purplewings721Even After: Prologue

18th July 2012:
I have to admit that this is the first Founder's era fic that I've ever read and I'm pleased to say that I rather enjoyed it! I like how you established Will and Helena's friendship as the basis for their relationship. It was a very sweet way of doing it and I liked the innocence of the him reading her a bedtime story. I also like how you've kept the Grey Lady's "angsty" and rather solemn nature that we see in the books. I'm looking forward to reading more of this and see how the rest of their relationship develops. Lovely job!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Camila!!! :D I'm still drooling over your banner. Well not really but you get the point :D Awww thanks love. I was told it was a bit confusing, so have to edit it a bit but other than that, I'm going to twist it a little bit :D I love to do that. Bear with me to the end :D

*Hugs*


 Report Review

Review #7, by purplewings721Task One : The Dragon of his Heart: The Dragon of his Heart

18th July 2012:
Hi there! So, I have this goal where I want to review as many stories that I made a banner for as possible, and with the second task up, I figured now was a great time to start it. Yeah, now onto the review.

Oh my, you had me close to tears with that diary entry. And I typically don't cry when I read fanfictions, so kudos to you. I really love how even though Frank's dead, you were still able to create such a strong relationship and bond between him and Neville. It was very touching and the emotions so raw.

There were some typos throughout, mainly letters left off of words and such. But yeah, other than that this was excellent!

Gryffies for the house cup!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Aww Camila thanks. Your banners are the best. And they suit my stories... sooo well :D Thank you so much for the review. Like I tell everyone, I cried while writing :D Hehe I'm an emotional freak. But if you cried as well, then maybe I hit the jackpot (Finally) Hehe thanks for the review love. Be prepared to be attacked by requests ;)

*Hugs*


 Report Review

Review #8, by purplewings721Task One Challenge: Protector: The Protectors

18th July 2012:
Hey there! So I figured that my first review for the second task should go to my BLLL partner and voila! Here I am.
Alright, well I just want to say that I really like how this is told through a mother dragon's point of view. I've never read a story like that before and I'm very impressed. I really enjoyed that first part with Delilah and her baby. Her reaction and dedication to keeping baby Calla safe was so beautiful and emotional. It was so very human, and until I read the description of her covering Calla with the wing, I thought that this might be about Hannah Longbottom and her child or something.

There were a few typos I saw, for example:
Neville shuddered at Charlie's words, but his yes remained glued to her.
I believe you meant eyes, right?

And oh my, break my heart why don't you? Poor Delilah. Just when I was really starting to get attached to her and she dies. Taking pages out of Miss Rowling's book, now are you? Haha, but no seriously. You did an excellent job with her character, and it's amazing how you managed to make a dragon a character. The only thing I wish there was more of, was an explanation as to why Neville was there in the first place. But since this is a one-shot that was mainly focused on Delilah, I guess it's not that important.

Anyway, very lovely job you did here and go Gryffies!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review ♥ this was a very fun PoV to write the story from.

Delilah :( I was sad, also. But I couldn't figure out any better way to end it :(.

Thank you again so much BLLL partner ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by purplewings721Clash: Stupid

11th June 2012:
So, you are brilliant and this story is amazing. Man, you had me laughing my freaking bum off throughout the entire thing. There were so many awesome one liners I cant even pick which ones I liked best. Gah I just love this story. Oh, and that whole first part of the chapter where it was describing the difference between stupidity and idiocy - genius, absolute genius. And completely spot on. I love Freddy in this. And Dom. And Aggy. And pretty much everyone.

Once again you did a marvelous job. Have fun on your vacation and please update soon!
-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by purplewings721Something About James Potter: Simply Learning a Lesson

12th February 2012:
Emma, you are freaking awesome, you know that? I just love all of your characters. The Ponds are down right hilarious, and James is to die for (JGL truly is the ultimate James II poster boy - those dimples!). I mean, that bit about him chucking the first years into the lake? HOLY FREAKING CRAP THAT'S GENIUS! Like, I'm really jealous that I didn't come up with it. Where do you get this stuff?

And I love Rory, even if she does have swot-like tendencies. Her little quips and wit are just wonderful (loved that little Beckham reference... and the Sherlock/David Tennant/every other geeky reference that you throw in there).

Seriously, this chapter (as well as those lovely reviews you left me) have made my day. And to leave you a review littered with well-deserved compliments is the least I can do to repay you. Wonderful job, and please update soon!

-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by purplewings721Something About James Potter: Simply All Aflutter

6th December 2011:
That's a pretty lovely chapter image you've got there, wink wink. (Haha, sorry I couldn't resist. I swear I'm not that conceited.)

You are just absolutely amazing! I love your humor and characterization and pretty much everything. Rory is lovably frustrating and James is still as adorable as ever. The fact that you use Joseph Gordon-Levitt is just icing on the already magnificent cake. Dominique is also really fun to read, and I love how you write Ginny - very in character she is.

Love this story and I cannot wait until your next update! Awesome job!

-Camila :)

Author's Response: I agree, it's such a gorgeous chapter image! I absolutely love it. (And thank you for making it! Seriously.) (:

Eep, thank you! -flails- Seriously, it means the world that you said that. I'm always wondering if I've done a decent job of writing things or if I'm just writing a rambling crack fic. It's such a relief to know I've done something right, so thank you! OH LAWD, JOSEPH GORDON-LEVIT. ICING. ICING. Mmm, yes he is.

Thank you so much for your absolutely fabulous, fuzzy review, Camila. I feel like such a fluffy, happy pillow now thanks to your kind comments. (:


 Report Review

Review #12, by purplewings721Something About James Potter: Simply Corking

6th December 2011:
I love, love, LOVE your portrayal of James II! He's so adorable and lovable, and just the ultimate nice guy with the right amount of mischievousness to him. Rory needs to cut him some slack ;).

It's so nice to see a story where James is actually the sweet and happy-go-lucky kind of guy I picture him to be. I mean, I get why some writers would make him all dark and cynical and brooding, but to me, this makes more sense. Maybe it's because that's how I portray him in my own story.

In fact, your writing reminds me a bit of my own - I hope you don't mind me making the comparison. I dunno, I guess I just like seeing someone with a similar writing style. You have a uniqueness to it as well, don't get me wrong, but there's just a smidgen of familiarity that I feel like I can relate to. I'm probably not making any sense, am I?

Well, yeah. Another wonderful job, so kudos!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so thrilled you do. I try to write him as I see James I, but a bit sweeter. However, he has his snarky moments as well (occasionally, there's a grain of truth when Rory yells insults at him), but he's predominantly a genuinely nice guy. (Gosh, Joseph Gordon-Levitt is SUCH a poster boy for James. -dreamysigh-) But yes! I definitely picture him as sweet and happy-go-lucky. I love the brooding Jameses, too, but he seems more real to me as this slightly dorky chap filled with hope and mischief. (If that makes any sense.)

No, not at all! I absolutely love your story The Middle - how have I not reviewed it?! After I answer this, I'm going straight there - and any comparison to your writing is seriously flattering, because your style is so brilliant and snarky and generally amazing. (:

Again, thank you for such a wonderful review, Camila!


 Report Review

Review #13, by purplewings721Something About James Potter: Seeemply Magnifique

6th December 2011:
You are an absolutely brilliant writer, you know that? Seriously, I love your portrayal on the Next Gen characters, as well as your OC's. Rory's mum is the best! (Loved that little "Skins" reference). Everything is so believable and just wonderful.

-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by purplewings721Something About James Potter: Simply All a Dither

6th December 2011:
First off, let me say that I'm loving the whole Rory Pond/Doctor Who tribute you've got going on there. Very nice touch. Second, I love how this is like a parallel of Lily/James except with out all of the cliches and over dramaticness. You put a nice twist on this, and it really is a breath of fresh air compared to all the rest.

-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by purplewings721Weather for Ducks: The Coven

6th December 2011:
Talent show - nice touch. And the Inverness lot sounds like fun. I like how intimidated of black turtlenecks the town is, and of artsy people in general. No wonder Scorp and Lucy were so unwelcome. By the way, the lack of sentimentality in their relationship is hilarious. Love how awkwardly perfect those two are for each other! Excited to read more, especially about that talent show. Lovely chapter, yet again!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Haha, well, I've found that, generally, people get quite intimidated by troo artsy people. Like, I tell people I'm applying to art school and they're like 'whaat...but you're clever...you'll starve at art school...' Nobody understands us. We are hipster and we suffer for our art, and I am digressing a wee bit here.
Hee, I am an extremely unsentimental person. Really glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by purplewings721Weather for Ducks: Elgin Regrets

24th November 2011:
Scorpius is definitely a Luke kind of guy, fo' sho'. Haha, I love it when people throw in Star Wars references (or any kind of geeky reference, for the matter) into their stories. And this wasn't boring at all! Maybe not the same level of crackyness as your other chapters, but it's still very entertaining.

Can't wait until your next update!

-Camila :)

Author's Response: The force is strong with Scorpius. Paha, now I have mental images of Yoda trying to train him and him being too weedy and languishing in a pit of misery until Lucy (as a jedi knight, obv) comes to rescue him. I just...I just like Star Wars quite a lot. I might go listen to the soundtrack now, heh.
Aww, thank you for saying so! Hopefully the crack will pop up soon. Thanks for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by purplewings721Weather for Ducks: Escapism, Miss Weasley

24th November 2011:
I love how they blame everything on London. So typical of them, yet so awesome as well. The idea of Lucy writing for Witch Weekly is just plain comical. I can't wait to see how her "book" turns out. Loved that bit about Scorpius ending up with all of Lucy's cheap makeup on his face. Poor guy.

Anyway, another lovely chapter which I enjoyed and I can't wait to read the next one!

-Camila :)

Author's Response: Lucy and Scorpius, forever in search of a scapegoat...and, yeah, Lucy, as a troo hipster, is probably pretty offended at the thought of working at something as /mainstream/ as witch weekly.
Thank you so much for another fantastic review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by purplewings721Weather for Ducks: The Dartboard of Destiny

24th November 2011:
OH MY GOSH YOU ALREADY STARTED THE SEQUEL!!!

Seriously, you have no idea how flipping excited I am to read this. I love love LOVED Starving Artists, which I'm sure you've figured out by my last review and I'm just so freaking happy to see that you've already got this up (and the prequel, which I plan to go back and review as well).

Scorpius and Lucy remain to be my favorite pairing/characters ever in the history of Next Gen fanfictions. Those two are so adorably awkward and perfect for each other! I liked how they decided to put their fate in the hands of the darts (even though darts don't have hands).

You are absolute brilliance and I can't wait to see where the rest of this story goes. Aaaah! Again, really happy that you got this up so fast!

-Camila :D

Author's Response: Oh hey!
Heee, glad you're excited! Prequel...the prequel is kind of boring and angsty D: this is where I get to unleash my cracky mind once more >:D
Haha, it's always been my favourite next-gen pairing simply because I dislike scorose and...um...idk. But I didn't want to tell people that when I was writing SA because it totally gave away the end :')
This is magic. Darts can totally have hands. And feet. Like little dart people.
Thank you so much for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by purplewings721Starving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

15th September 2011:
I'm honestly upset that this is completed. I don't think I've ever stuck with a fanfiction from beginning to end like I did with yours. I kind of slacked with the review, but that's just because I'm a lazy person.

Anyway, I loved everything about this story. I love your writing style, your sense of humor, your characterization, your creativity. I love the extensive metaphors, incessent rambling, and witty dialouge. I love Lucy, and Scorpius, and Al, and Tarquin, and Gwendoraven, and yes, even Rose. I love how you went against the grain and didn't portray Rose as the "super awesome lovely" character like in every other NextGen fic. I love the idea of a Wizarding art school and well... I just really love this story. Like, I don't think I've ever loved a fanfiction and its characters as much as this one. Seriously, kudos to you.

And I'm so excited that it's not completly over. And that you like the idea of a trilogy. And even when you've finished those, I know that I'll go back and reread them. And I don't think I've ever reread a fanfiction. So that's saying something.

I'm going to miss your writing while you take a break, but you deserved it. Seriously, this was the most amazing story I've read on this site. Ever.

And I guess the only thing left to say is thanks for writing such a wonderful story. So yeah.

-Camila
:)

Author's Response: d'aww! It had to end someday, the end was nigh *sombre music, ceremonial cowbells, etc*

Thank you so much! Yes, Rose - Rose is a funny one. Now this is over I can admit that I'm a Lucy/Scorpius shipper fo lyf, and I tend not to like Scorose because it's just...predictable. I feel like it's just next-gen Dramione. That said, there are good Scoroses out there, and some very original, very funny Roses. I just...not a fan of the pairing in general. /shipper rant, haha.

Trilogy...like lord of the rings, only with 99% less dwarves, elves, swords and gandalf. I'll keep the orcs. Nobody loves the orcs.

Thank you so, so much for saying so ♥ ahh, you're making me blush! ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by purplewings721Clash: Falling

24th September 2010:
Awkward indeed! Ahahaha, I loved this. Poor Agatha, always finding herself in these kind of situations. Although, the whole catnapping plan was pure genius. You did an excellent job describing everything, which I am immensely jealous of.
I did notice one thing, and that is that you spelled "un pocco" wrong. It's actually "un poco". The double "c" is used in Italian, not Spanish. ;) But other than that, this was awesome and I can't wait for your next update!
-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by purplewings721Breaking the Quidditch Code: Underground Tension (and Squiggles)

7th September 2010:
Holy hell, is correct. You weren't kidding when you said that this chapter was going to be a doosy! Aaah, I'm so excited that you updated! This was so awesome!
Yay for Javery! And snogging buddies! And for James finally realizing that he and Avery are meant to be! The grotto was definitely a good idea, and no you're not the only that wants to go to one. Seriously, after reading this, it just makes me want to go to one too.
And I liked that bit with Bink and Meta - it was cool seeing more about their secret relationship. Although, I would like to see Meta's side of it. I actually like their relationship, strangely enough, lol.

As for my favorite line:
I had to keep Lily and Al away (losers didn’t have their own friends)

Bahahaha, the subtlety of that just cracked me up. Dang, I love James. Alright, well update soon please? Awesome chapter!
-Camila (:

Author's Response: Oh, yes. Doosy is right. This chapter was full of drama llamas! That's for sure. Glad you liked the grotto. It's starting to go to winter and I think I need one of those in my apartment building. I'll write a James-esque memo to the management.

A lot of people are really interested in their relationship. We may see a little more of Meta's side, though I haven't hashed it out completely yet.

Love that line too. Love.It. It actually plays into something in the future too.

Thanks so much, Camila! I am actually working on the next chapter right now! Thanks :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by purplewings721I Love Lucy: Cross my heart and hope to die...

24th August 2010:
Yay, update! Hahaha, I love how Christian (awesome name btw) turned out to be her boss. Although him actually being a Muggle would've been hilarious, I'm glad Lucy didn't have to perform a Memory Charm. Especially if she was tipsy - that definitely would not have ended well.
I like how Sarah's plump - it sort of takes away the whole stereotype Mary Sue American girl that most FanFic authors write about. Her name and dirty blonde hair also suit her, and she sounds pretty realistic.
I like the sound of Cour de Chevalier - it sounds so pretty, and I really want to know more about it's history. Awesome chapter Miranda, and I can't wait to read more!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: It most defenitly would have been hilarious, him being a muggle :)
I am glad you like Sarah, I am Canadian but I thought that would be a little too much of a Country name drop haha.
Thank you so much for the long review! It means a lot!
xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by purplewings721The Silence of the Night: we all break sometime.

22nd August 2010:
This.
Is.
Amazing.

Seriously, I was tearing up as I read this. It was so beautiful, and heart breaking, and emotional, and lovely, and just plain awesome. I'm in love with your work, really I am.
You're such an impressive writer!
I really liked the relationship between Dominique and Victoire in here. It wasn't perfect, but it was sweet. Especially during the "Depression" part. That scene in the bathroom was so sweet, yet so sad, but I still loved it. And my heart pretty much broke when I read that last line. Gah, this was just...
Wow.

A kajillion/10
-Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by purplewings721Some Serious Issues: Gotta Get Back To Hogwarts

22nd August 2010:
Yay update!
Alright, so I'm really liking this Adam character. I loved that little history lesson - his father got trampled by a thestral? Lovely. Hahaha, I really love that Lucy's such a whack job. I can't wait to read more of her. And Molly is hilarious and quirky as usual. This was a fun chapter, even if it was a bit of a filler, but we all need those every now and then. Can't wait for your next update!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Yay review!
Good, I wasn't sure whether I liked Adam enough to keep him in here (he went through about six or seven edits before I finally settled on this version). I just had to add that bit about the thestral. It was just the perfect and abrupt end to the history lesson.

Yeah, this chapter was a bit of a filler, but it helped introduce a few key elements/characters (such as Adam, Michael Morrison's love problem) and helped develop Molly's character. Wow. that made me sound smarter than I probably am...

Thanks so much for your review and... the end!


 Report Review

Review #25, by purplewings721What use to be...: Friends Forever

21st August 2010:
Aw, this was really beautiful! This is the first time I've read a fanfic that centered around Ginny and Luna's friendship, and I have to say that I really enjoyed this. The beginning was so sad, but very well written. Although I'm not a fan of the Harry/Hermione shipping, or anything that's off canon, I still like this. It was very lovely, and I'm glad to see that you decided to write about something that isn't so typical to see. Or at least, in this much depth.
Keep up the fantastic work!
-Camila :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!!! This was definitely one of my favorite stories to write. It was kind of just a side story that I wrote for fun, but I really liked it in the end. I always feel like their friendship is so under played (as well as hermione and ginny's). I wanted to write this to just show how unique of a friendship they really had. They're definitely friends that I want to see written in more depth in the future. Thanks for the review again! It meant a lot.
Love,
Am. Ginny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>