Reading Reviews From Member: LilyFire
  
478 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LilyFireOut of Time: Too Much Time

28th February 2012:
The beginning of this story is amazing. I just want to keep reading and reading and reading...you've got a great start. I'm not quite sure what it's about, since I don't like to spoil stories for myself, but it seems like it's going to be wonderful.

I love Lily so much-her voice is very real, and the story is too (well, you know what I mean). If this were a physical book, I wouldn't be able to put it down.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for trying out this story! I'm glad to hear that you've liked the first chapter and want to keep going - there's really no finer compliment to receive for a story. ^_^

I think I know what you mean about the real-ness of the story, and it means a lot that you find the narration and story real in that way. :D Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #27, by LilyFireAfter We Fall: Chapter One: Prologue

25th February 2012:
Snape? But...he's dead...but...

I think that is an interesting concept. Why did Lily want to know if that was Snape? So many questions are running through my head right now. I don't know whay to say, other than this is a great first chapter to what is probably a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's my first time writing a true mystery and I'm glad the first chapter worked well in setting up lots of "questions." Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #28, by LilyFireThe Time of Day: The Time of Day

25th February 2012:
So...he's a vampire? And she is too? That is interesting...And this story is really amazing too. I liked it alot. (Wow, that really.got.the statement across). It was wonderfully written, the words, images, everything flowing together so beautifully...And the concept was amazing. I kept trying to figure out who the little boy was, but I guess he's no one we've met before. I know its just a oneshot, but I would love to see more of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. They aren't actually vampires, though I like that idea. It's meant to be an afterlife story. The little boy is Snape right after his death, with Lily being there to help him "move on." The fang marks on his neck are meant to be from Nagini. I'm glad you liked it either way.

 Report Review

Review #29, by LilyFireDeliverance: Prologue

25th February 2012:
Wow. Just wow. And did I mention-wow? This is good-great actually. The description is amazing and this is a very powerful opening chapter. I can see this story going so so far. Its beautiful in a way.

Im not the best at grammar or spelling, but I did notice you left the word if out of here " along the floor behind them as were they carrying a heavy load of garbage".

And I think you meant chorus when you wrote course here, " . There was a course of something, a whisper in her head."

Those are really minor thing though, something you would notice in a read through. Im really excited to see what the next chapter brings!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much for your wonderful, wonderful review! Thank you for your points, I'll make sure to correct them ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by LilyFireLegend: Hello, Goodbye

24th February 2012:
It's certainly interesting, that's for sure. I can't say I've ever read a story like it at all. I think you're characters are every unique too. I have never read a story with Scorp or Al like this :) Like I said, it's interesting, and could go to great places.

Author's Response: Thanks! I actually was surprised to hear that, for me, Al will always have low self esteem. Thank you for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by LilyFireVital: Chapter 9

24th February 2012:
This is as good as I remembered! I don't know why I stopped reading it before, and I'm really sorry for that. I loved everything about this chapter. I really don't have a complaint at all. I like you Frank and Alice too, they're such full characters. And the way you ended it was great. I can't wait to see what Simion says if/when she asks about Oliver.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you still enjoy the story, even after a break. There's no need to apologize though- I know that I often forget about stories because of real life, or some other distraction.

Wow, that's some serious praise! Thanks -blushes- I really do enjoy writing Frank and Alice, honestly, I like writing most of the principle characters in this story.

The question of Oliver is discussed in later chapters!

Again, I appreciate the review--hopefully, you still want to read more of Vital after this chapter!


 Report Review

Review #32, by LilyFireSurvival of the Fittest: Survival of the Fittest

23rd February 2012:
I don't even know where to begin. It's amazing. This story is so brilliantly told, the characters grasped so well, the description so perfect-what can I say?

Your word choice is amazing, and the way you thread the words together so smoothly, one simply leading to the other as if it was the most obvious choice, is an envious trait. There are published authors who can't write as well as you.

I think it's brilliant-I don't know why it wouldn't feel right. I love it so much, you've done an awesome job!
~Lily

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's wonderful that you think so highly of this story, its characters and its description. I really tried with the latter to create this atmosphere of opulence and dread - a strange combination, but it helped to have Dobby there exploring the room, as Peter wasn't capable of seeing much. Then the two witches - I really liked writing them! I should do it more often - they're fantastic characters with a lot of complexities that are fascinating to explore. :D

*blushes* That compliment is amazing and I don't know what to say other than a giant thank you in loud, squeeful tones. And I can't thank you enough for enjoying this story as much as you have. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #33, by LilyFireThe Surprising Life of Hermione Granger (in depth version): The Surprising Life of Hermione Granger (in depth version)

22nd February 2012:
Its certainly different than anything I've read before. I can see it possibly turning into a.great story, which I'm sure you will do! :)

Author's Response: This is an indepth version of the story that I did for my writers duel entry. One or two people who had reviewed it during that time had commented that though it was good, it might have been better to expand it and do more chapters which I've done.
Thanks for the read and review.


 Report Review

Review #34, by LilyFireRemembering You: The Fall

21st February 2012:
It's a very emotional piece, and I like the way you show how Lucius really feels about his family. I think you may use the names a little bit to much in dialogue. I know I don't usually say a persons name when I'm talking to them every sentence or two. Maybe try adding the names after the dialogue, like "he said to Draco" and what-not.

And these lines switched to first person, "Mummy!Ē Draco ran into our bedroom,and pounced on the bed. I wrapped my arm around Narcissaís small waist,and she didnít move from the bed."

I thought maybe you'd like to fix those. I know that's easy to do, especially if you're use to writing in first person.

Again, this story is good and emotional, and I think the flashbacks are very effective.
~Lily

Author's Response: Awesome(: thanks! Hm--I'll be editing that! Sorry,I don't really think about it!

I know,I know *Sigh* it's been pointed out,and I haven't gotten to fixing it. You see,I'm sure you've heard me say I've been writing an OC for six years, and it's been in first person.Always. Anything I've written--besides this--has been 1st person. So this,is kicking me directly in the ba-donkey-donk!

Thank you for the awesome review!

xoxo

Ever



 Report Review

Review #35, by LilyFireFlutterby Daffodil: Flutterby Daffodil

21st February 2012:
The ending was surprising. While I figured she had gotten out of the fire, I didn't expect her to be in the office so much as someone had found out about her or something. You've written a good story.

I did notice that you sometimes repeat things in a single sentance, like here: As he neared his desk, he saw that there was something on his desk" when instead of the second 'desk' it would have been more effect to say it. But other than that, I think you've done a good job :)
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you for this great review :)

~webeta123


 Report Review

Review #36, by LilyFireKingdom Come: Kingdom Come

20th February 2012:
I loved it. The entire thing. The flashbacks are great, I think. Like I said, the very first one and the one following confused me a bit, but once I figured out they were all connected and such, it wasn't a bit deal.

The others were great too. I like how you showed different parts of Teddy's life, just different things about him, and Victoire, Fred, and the others :) The one's with him in front of his mom and dad's grave were really good (and if that was before Fred died, maybe a little foreshadowing of what happened?)

I love how you did this story though, with the 'main' story being in the flashbacks, but I wouldn't mess with a single word. It's a brilliantly written piece and...You've done and amazing job.

~Lily

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, I really am. I'm glad the confusion didn't last, I think it's to be expected at first.

(I know I already explained this, but there was one flashback before Fred died, probably a few years before that, and then one after. The sections in present tense are chronological, so it runs on from after the funeral.)

Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by LilyFireLetters to L.C. : Gryffindor's Insane Girl

18th February 2012:
I think your flow is pretty good, as far as your concern there goes :) I think this has the potential to turn into a hilarious story :) And your main character is interesting, to say the least :P
~Lily

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! i really appreciate it. I was really worried about my first chapter, being as how I didn't introduce Lenny all that well in it. again, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #38, by LilyFire"Against My Father's Wishes": Prologue

18th February 2012:
It's a good start chapter to get the readers attention, and a great lead in to whatever it is you were wanting to do with the story. It would be great to see some of why Draco is making him chose and all, though :) But you've done well, especially with expressing the tension, and your characters are hard to say, with such a small glimpse :)
~Lily

Author's Response: Thanks Lily! :)

I'm really pleased that you think this is a good start, because it's something I'm hoping to follow up soon. :)
Hopefully you'll see more from the characters when the next chapter gets written. :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #39, by LilyFireAct of Vengeance: Death.

15th February 2012:
Wow, this is a very powerful opening chapter. It's short, but the length fits what you have done so well. I love how you've set it up. The flow and description in this chapter are wonderful! I love how you've made a post-dementor Azkaban. I can see the dememtors effect lingering, long after they are gone. You have a great start to what is sure to be a great story!
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

I'm really pleased you liked it, and that the length wasn't an issue.
The Dementors leaving a mark are something that just seemed to work, so I ended up using that. :)

Thanks again! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by LilyFireAll That Glitters : Beginning of the End

15th February 2012:
You're character seems very strong. She seems almost as if she's being forced into this, but also like she's choosing it at the same time. (I'm not sure how to else to explain it. I'm not saying it's a bad thing either-just a general observation I'm sure will be explained in a later chapter).

I really like her though. And I like that we're seeing someone on the other side of the war (besides Regulas, Snape, and Peter, that is, since we know the basics of their story). I like the fact that she's a female Death Eater. I know some people say Bella was the only female, but I can't see that being true.

The flow is great, it really is. Like I said, I can't really tell if she's chosen to be there or if it's been forced upon her, but that doesn't ruin any of the story. It just adds a bit of mystery. Like this line, "I wanted to vomit, preferably on them," makes you think she doesn't want to be their, but then she chooses to kill this innocent (or not so innocent) person. I think this story is going to be great!
~Lily

Author's Response: Hi LilyFire,

Thank you so much for your thoughts and i really appreciate you liking my chracter so well. It is indeed explained later on about her feelings towards the war and the situation she found herself in.

I thought it would be interesting to see the DE's from a different persepective as well and it is definitely lacking in a female voice but if you remember that one conversation where... (was it Sirius or Hagrid that said this) that was saying that at one point it seemed like there was more people turning dark than there was light. I sort of wanted to explore that kind of idea and I don't think they could have ever said that if females weren't involved as well.

Thank you again for your comments and thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #41, by LilyFireWhat really happened in the broom closet Neville?: Thank you Slughorn!

15th February 2012:
I think it's a cute story :) It has such amazing potential to even become longer, I think, if you wanted it too. You could do another part where Harry and the lot is bugging Neville and/or Luna about what happened :)

I do, however, have a few things I think should be pointed out. Your spacing is off, especially at the end where there is a huge gap of blank space. Maybe putting less returns when you're submitting the chapter could take care of that :)

Also, you capatalize summer. If it was the name of a person, it would be fine, but since you are refering to a season, it doesn't need to be capailzed.

The next thing I thought I should point out-- Why are Harry, Neville, Ginny, and Luna in Slughorns class? Ginny and Luna are both a year below Neville and Harry, which means they would never have classes with them, and Slughorn's potions class was only for those who made an E or above on the O.W.L.'s, which Neville wasn't in.

But like I said, it's a cute story, and I think if you fixed these few things, it could be even better!
~Lily

Author's Response: Thanks for the idea lol it's wired you should mention about making it longer, I actually thought that a few days after I put it up!

I'm definitely going to sort out the spaces when I edit it. And I'm thinking about getting a beta so hopefully all that stuff should be sorted out.

Thanks for pointing it out about the classes! I hadn't even thought about that to be honest. I'll try and work something in.

Thanks so much for the lovely review


 Report Review

Review #42, by LilyFireThe Asylum: The Asylum

13th February 2012:
So, I started out with Bellatrix in mind, and then switched to Luna, but...it was none of those! I think it's a brilliantly written piece. The emotion is wonderful, the pacing and emotion and feeling (or lack there of) was great. The description was near perfection. You needn't worry about the flow either, it was wonderful. I saw her in Azkaban, trapped their for whatever reason-and then she wasn't. She really was in an asylum. It was brilliant. I don't know what else to say, other than you've done an amazing job!
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #43, by LilyFireAzkaban: My Darkness.

8th February 2012:
This story...I mean...I don't...brillant. I love your characters, and your story, and this chapter, and just everything. Its great. There are a couple typos, but they take nothing from the story. Its wonderful.
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Ahha, I love this story and writing this story and it makes me /so/ happy to know that someone else is enjoying it too! I'll comb back over and try to find a few more of those typos. Thank you :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #44, by LilyFireFix you: Prologue

8th February 2012:
Its interestimg to say the least. Your characters are very random. It was an interesting thing you did with the nicknames, but why are all of marys friends claws?

Author's Response: Hi Lilyfire!

It's a pleasant surprise to get a review from you. Thanks! I am glad you liked my character's names.

About Mary? She is more into arts and therefore ended up being friends who love arts as well. Her artsy friends are incidentally from Ravenclaw.

Thank you for the reading and reviewing my story, Lily! It really means a lot. :)




 Report Review

Review #45, by LilyFireLetting Go: An Old Face

7th February 2012:
Wait, so is Teddy 10 now? She's been living with her mom for 10 years? *slightly confused* Other than that, I love this story. It's brilliant, and I *almost* wish I had thought of it :) I can't wait for chapter 3.
~Lily

Author's Response: Teddy is nine; it's been, like, ten years since she started seeing Remus, I was counting before Ted was born, too. Tonks stayed at home to be with her mum; Andi would still have family and would't be alone after Ted died, she'd be there to look after Teddy while Tonks was at work. It was a sad, emotional time and neither wanted to leave, but their Black pride wouldn't let them say it... :P

If you have any questons, feel free to ask. :)

Thanks for the review. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #46, by LilyFireChild of the Moon: Chapter II: The Act

5th February 2012:
Sorry it's taken so long to leave a review! But I really like this chapter. I feel like with this, everything is set up and ready to go, and the last line was very powerful. That is the way to end a chapter!

I have no complaints with this chapter. I love your characters, and Ris is brillantly defined. I feel like you really have a good solid character with her. And this story is still fantastic. I'm excited that we're getting into the.plot now. You are doing an great job.

~Lily

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken so long to reply to your review! Honestly, as long as you read I don't care how long the review takes to get there :P Especially when they're so nice! I guess all I can really reply with to that is a big hearty 'thank you!' I'm currently struggling to make the next chapter as good as that one, wish me luck ;)

 Report Review

Review #47, by LilyFireDreamland: What?!

28th December 2011:
Dude, you had me grinning the whole way through! Really, this was great! I laughed the whole way through. The weirdness makes sense because of the dream :) Nice story :)
~Lily

Author's Response: Woo! I'm glad I had you grinning! I am just starting to write humor, so this was an early attempt at it! Thank you! :D

Mike.


 Report Review

Review #48, by LilyFireThe Count: The Count

22nd December 2011:
That''s so bittersweet, but I love it so much. I love how you wrote it, it's wonderful! You've done an amazing job! I don't have any particular favorite part or a complaint. Just...wonderful.
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you! I actually wrote this while high on painkillers after wisdom tooth surgery, so I'm surprised it worked out as well as it did haha

 Report Review

Review #49, by LilyFireReminders : Reminders

22nd December 2011:
MERRY CHRISTMAS! I'm your Secret Santa on TGS :) And so, here is part of your present! :D Now, onto the review. :P

You met your goal. It was very poetic. Was this the second part to Grace? I can see it being that, even if it wasn't. Your writing is so great, it really pulls the reader in. And this story was great too. I don't know if I had a favorite part. I like how you compared them, so seemingly different, but when looked at, perfect for each other. It was another great piece.
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #50, by LilyFireSky: Remember

22nd December 2011:
Heartbreakingly beautiful. That's how I would describe this story. Poor Charlie. I feel bad for him, but at the same time, I wonder why he just didn't tell her that he wanted her and why he didn't just stay with her or go back when he realized this. I loved it though, just as I've loved every one of your stories I've read so far :) You really do a magnificent job.
~Lily

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>