Reading Reviews From Member: RonsGirlFriday
  
657 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RonsGirlFridayA Little Moon: moats and waterfalls

21st August 2011:
Oh Celeste. ♥

Please write more Ron/Hermione (actually, please just write more EVERYTHING). Your writing is so beautiful and natural at the same time, and I think you're able to get these characters and their interaction right while also bringing a really poetic feeling to it that a lot of people wouldn't be able to pull off - because frankly, when people try to get too poetic and schmaltzy with this ship, it just comes off as OOC and overdone. As much as I love R/Hr, and as much as I love writing them, they can be really difficult to get right.

Like I said when we were Skyping at the most unholy hour of 3 AM, I really love when this ship is written without actual romance per se. Their closeness and the way they understand and relate to one another - where you can see the feelings brewing but not actually being expressed in an overtly sentimental way - is part of what makes this ship so appealing. Traditional "romance" with this ship is, to me, not as satisfying.

So I really like the direction you chose to go with this. On the surface they're just arguing about something completely stupid, and Ron is having a weird reaction to something very trivial, but you can see the subtext and it's so touching.

I really loved the part when she asks him, "How do you even know it's me?" and he responds, "Don't you know when it's me?" Because we all know that she DOES know when it's him. It's a really lovely illustration of that kind of connection I think we all wish we could have with someone.

Well done Ronmione makes me seriously happy - it's such a rare thing to find, and that is sad. So I was so glad to read this. All sorts of warm and fuzzies.

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: Oh Melanie.

I'm still embarrassed this is one my author page, but I'm fearing your general Ronmione wrath and I like the banner too much to delete it off and sent it to the scrap where it belongs.

Skyping at the most unholy hour of 3 leads to some strangeness - most of which was culminated in this one-shot. I squeed pretty hard at the traditional romance bit, which was exactly what I was writing against (before I remembered this was set in fifth year and probably has nothing to do with my abilities - they didn't have a romance at that point in the first place! Sigh.)

Sending more warmth and Ronmione love and fuzzies your way!

Celeste


 Report Review

Review #2, by RonsGirlFridayThe Left Side of Tomorrow: The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
Susan, this is beautiful (and that banner, too, might I add). What gorgeous language. The last line is fantastic. The whole thing was so moving, the emotions were palpable. The characterizations are excellent, especially when you consider that these are their younger versions, which we don't know a whole lot about - maybe Tom, from what we learn in HBP, but still that doesn't mean we know anything about how he'd act in a situation or relationship like this. You bring a lot of nuances to their characterizations.

And I love the last section - it adds some extra punch and brings everything full circle. Just amazing with that quote you pulled out of DH. Fantastic.

Melanie

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you for this, Melanie! It's wonderful to hear these compliments from you, whose work I admire so much. To have gotten a review from you is a huge treat! ^_^

What do I say to all of these compliments? O_O I'm glad that the characterizations were canon, as that's always the hardest bit about writing these younger versions of canon characters - one has to take into account the mistakes of youth and a general amount of immaturity as well as whatever historical events are shaping their lives. It's like calculus with characters, or something similar.

I wasn't at all sure about that last section, so hearing that it turned out is a great relief. It was tacked on late into the writing process because I couldn't think of how to end this. The earlier version of this story had Moody instead of Tom, and that ending was clearer for some reason. But like my older Tom/Minerva, I felt the need to link who they were with who they became, especially in this case because of the linked settings - the same place, only 50 years later. The sun still rises and sets, but the people beneath it have changed with time.

Thank you again! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by RonsGirlFridayPhoenix in the Ashes: Daring to Dream

14th August 2011:
Adorable Percy/Penny! Be still, my heart! I'll admit to you I was actually stalking the collab entries to see if there were any Percy fics - and here you are! Yay.

Great job writing him. He's so awkward and stiff and chivalrous and...and... *squishes Percy*

Wood's line made me laugh. Out loud. I don't know why. "...or were you planning on sleeping under the table?" It's just one of those lines, you know? Just great timing and delivery, and funny because of who the line is directed at.

Just so cute and fluffy and a great read. :)

RonsGirlFriday
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #4, by RonsGirlFridayPhoenix in the Ashes: Mirror Image

14th August 2011:
This is a really interesting look into James' mind. A lot of people don't give him enough maturity and heart and soul when they write him. Sure,, he was a joker, but he was forced to grow up very quickly, and he was a smart guy and very loyal and caring.

I wish the mirror theme or reference had been carried through a little more, used at the beginning or something - because it seemed like the only reference to looking in a mirror was at the very end. But, that said, I really liked the message.

And Sirius' line - lol. Love it. Sounds like exactly something he would say!

RonsGirlFriday
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFridayPhoenix in the Ashes: More Skill Than Luck

14th August 2011:
Well, darn you, Eldy.

He'd walk through hell on his hands for you, but he'll never crawl for you.

I read that line and just stared slack-jawed at the computer for a moment because it's just so perfect and so true. And it's one of those lines I wish I'd written, you know? Because it's awesome.

*huff*

So, I don't want to write an entire review based around one line (though I think I've probably done that before). I really enjoyed this. The middle portion - which I guess was kind of a flashback/dream thingamajig (I'm using technical terms now) - was kind of jarring at first because I was like What is going on here? Why are we back in HBP? Danger, Will Robinson! But then I figured it out and didn't have to execute and emergency landing. I got it, 'cause I'm smart like that. :-D

But anyhow, you know I love reading your Ron/Hermione because you're so fair to Ron and fair to the ship. Whenever I read something anti-R/Hr I die a little bit inside, but whenever you write R/Hr a fairy gets it wings. Or something.

And I still love that line. *huff* I say! *huff* (I kid.)

RonsGirlFriday
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFridayPhoenix in the Ashes: Heartily Curious

14th August 2011:
I love it! I love it because it's about Ollivander, and because McGonagall is in it - and she's so clever, I love how you wrote her and the lines you gave her. What a fascinating ook at what would have prompted Ollivander to get into the study of wandlore. The last two lines are wonderful. You packed a lot into such a short one-shot - gave us just enough information to make it all make sense, but leaving enough to the imagination. Really awesome. :)

RonsGirlFriday
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #7, by RonsGirlFridayPhoenix in the Ashes: Crawl

14th August 2011:
It turned out that loving something didn't mean you'd actually be any good at it.

Man, truer words have never been spoken.

This is fantastic. You really seem to get Neville. So many wonderful lines here, so many heartbreaking descriptions of how he sees himself. The part about hunching his shoulders like he's trying to avoid being seen - that's pretty much exactly how I picture him, though maybe not so much in DH and post-DH.

I think JKR said that Neville went directly into Auror work with Harry and Ron? I could be mistaken, though, and anyway, I like your version just as well. :)

This is very well written, a lot of great lines here I can't even begin to quote. The last paragraph and the last line...wonderful. This just gave me a warm and fuzzy feeling all over. *love*

Great job, Tanya!

RonsGirlFriday
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFridayAnd Capers Ensue: A Biscuit a Day Keeps the Slytherin Away

12th August 2011:
"Shameless baby-making"! *giggle*

I fell officially in love with your Fred with this line: Fred shuddered at the idea of little tangled-hair Beas running around his feet, all equally unhygienic and ADD.

And I love the tricks for getting out of trouble. So very true. Not that I would know.

I'm loving the cast of characters so far, by the way. You're not just acting like the Weasley grandkids are the only next gen-ers who exist. :-)

Melanie

RonsGirlFriday (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: :3 Fred is woefully unloved; I'm not terribly nice to him hee, putting him in unfortunate situations of responsibility, although he's improved over subsequent edits.

-whistles- not that I would know either.

I LOVE HUGE CASTS. It shall be my downfall, I swear. I'm working on the adding-more-background-characters like JKR did.

more ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by RonsGirlFridayAnd Capers Ensue: Begin with a Bang

12th August 2011:
Gina!

I've been saying I was going to read this for how long now? The better part of half a year?? Shame on me. *offers flowers and cookies*

I was hooked about two lines in. Your writing seems so effortless, and the humor so natural. For some reason, "We've alliterated better" made me laugh a lot. One of those lines I read and wish I'd written it, you know?

I love your Fred already. I love when he's not written exactly like his dad. Smarty-pants Fred is my favorite. Reminds me a bit of how I write him. Your Fred almost struck me like Hermione a few times in this chapter.

I am so looking forward to reading on!

xoxo
Melanie

RonsGirlFriday (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: MELANIE YOU PROBABLY JUST BARELY REVIEWED THIS AND THEREFORE MY RESPONSE MIGHT SEEM CREEPILY STALKERISH BUT HOMG! YOU REVIEWED THIS!

I am like pulling away from my keyboard in aweee. You are like the queen of effortless humor and next-gen Fred. I think reading TMW influenced quite a bit of how I ended up writing this. That and Community. :D YOU ARE ON MY LIST OF INSPIRATIONS.

I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE WHAT YOU THINK! I'll turn off my caps now.



 Report Review

Review #10, by RonsGirlFridayFree: Free

11th August 2011:
Long time, no see, my HPFF idol! :-D

I, for some reason, have a weird aversion to Rose/Scorpius. I can't explain it. It's like having an allergy to peanuts. Really no good reason. Maybe it's the way they're usually written. But anyway, I wanted to read this because, having read Just Another Midnight Run, I love your Rose and your Scorpius. And this didn't disappoint. It's very sweet, and I'm a sucker for prequels, sequels, and so forth.

I sort of want to read more about them in their early dating years - and funny enough, less out of interest in the pairing and more because your Rose just amuses the heck out of me.

But one reason I really liked this was that now I know a little more about your Scorpius, not just what we see from Rose's POV a few years later. And he's so realistic. Bored and not really sure what he wants out of life - but you haven't crossed over into making him some emo caricature (not that there would be anything wrong with that - as you know, I love me some exaggerated archetypes).

And I love that he loves show tunes.

This also reminds me that I need to read A Weirder Shade of Midnight. Free time doesn't exist these days, but I need to find a block of time to just sit down with a bag of biscotti and read the whole thing straight through. At the end I'll be very fat but laughing a lot. :-)

I really enjoyed this. The very last section, though, made me go, "Elaborate! Write more! Novel! Mini-series! Lifetime made-for-TV movie!" I'd also like to know what she said to the giant squid.

Great job, as always.

Melanie

RonsGirlFriday (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Hey homie! I'm glad to see you back online, and I feel quite proud that you came to review one of my stories in your non-copious spare time :D I love your writing, so I'm always happy to hear what you think of my stuff.

I have to admit, I actually never liked the Rose/Scorpius ship much. At this point, I like them the way I write them, but in general, it's Dramione-lite to me, and I hate Dramione. But somehow I wound up writing two Scorose novels. Not sure how that happened haha. I love a good prequel too.

I thought briefly about doing a Rose-during-school short story, but I find the school setting less interesting these days. I think I've been a grown-up too long haha.

Scorpius and his show tunes, oh my... Poor guy, it's hard to be a straight guy trying to get a girl when everyone assumes you must be gay, I'm sure. I'm glad you liked his POV. I thought it was fun to show Rose the way he sees her, instead of just how she sees herself. I wrote another one-shot in his POV, did you see? A Weasley Christmas, it's called.

Thank you so much! Once I get my butt in gear and write a bunch on Sparks, I'm going to be writing a different kind of Rose/Scorpius that will mix their points of view. Should be fun, I hope you'll like it ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFridayTogether, Unbreakable: Always

11th August 2011:
Rachel, my love, my light:

Imagine my excitement when I, after - ahem - maybe slightly stalking your MTA thread, clicked on the link to your archive page to see what fantastic things you've written since I disappeared off the face of the earth a few months ago, and saw at the top of your recent stories a Ron/Hermione fic with a brilliant tag line. The squee reached a pitch only dogs can hear.

/creepiness

It's not romance, it's love. Brilliant. This is the reason I love this ship. They are not really romantic - in fact, as individuals, they're probably two of the most unromantic characters you could imagine. But the appealing thing about them is their bond and friendship and how they support each other through everything.

And I'd just like to remark on how well you've written Ron here. He is, as you know, my favorite character, and I love writing him - but, that being said, I find him a challenging character to write when it comes to feelings and emotions. It's so easy for a writer to either oversimplify him by not giving him enough emotional depth, or to make him wildly OOC by making him express too much emotion or having him express it in a flowery way. I think you've found the right balance here.

Stop writing things I wish I had written. :-P

Seriously, though - so glad to be reading you again!

xoxo
Melanie

(And for purposes of the review fest:)

RonsGirlFriday (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Melanieee ♥ You can stalk me whenever you like, my love.

It's so true in my mind. I just can't picture them going on dates - especially not in the early days. They know so much about each other and understand each other far more than either would probably care to admit. Their relationship was great to write.

Wow, that means the world from you. I think I was surging on the wave of having just watched DH and reread it and desperate to carry the story on just a little bit longer. It came relatively easily. I wanted this moment to be this release of emotion that he would probably never allow anyone else to see. He just wanted to see her and have someone who understands there.

I'll stop when you do ^_^

Thank you, my lovely. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it :D


xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFridayScorpius Malfoy: Hot or Not?: Scorpius Malfoy vs. Tom Riddle

13th April 2011:
Brilliance, Gubby! I laughed out loud quite a few times while reading this. Unfortunately, I can't really quote my favorite lines, as they're not exactly 12+. But I will say I had a huge "YESSS!!" moment when I reached this line:

"My name is Scorpius Malfoy. You killed my father. Prepare to die."

I have never loved you as much as I do now. :-D

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFridayScorpius Malfoy: Hot or Not?: Those Tacky Pearl Gates

13th April 2011:
Why am I only now reading and getting involved in this?? What has my life been about up until now??

This is such a great prologue, Jo! Sets the tone nicely. Oh, Scorp... what a winner. -_-

I think this is my favorite line:

All in all, it was a decidedly unpleasant surprise one fine summer's day, for Scorpius to step off the sidewalk, pocket mirror in hand, and rather than the traffic stopping for him, a bus running over him and killing him instantly.

Snerk. XD

I am so excited for all the coming chapters.

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #14, by RonsGirlFridayWhere Our Echoes End: To Drift As We Do

13th April 2011:
I am drooling, Celeste, over your beautiful use of words.

She had a softer, sweeter voice than he'd presumed and stardust in her eyes. The nights in the dungeon had given her a parched rasp like a cut of the wind, but in reality, she sounded like silence.

Dean hadn't known her. Not really, not much, and never enough.

One step to the left or one look away or one moment where Luna didn't and Dean didn't and so they didn't become.

I love the not-really-but-maybe thing going on here with this pairing. I won't call it a ship, because it's not. This one-shot is so touching and poignant because, as you put it, they weren't even really friends - they were two people thrown together in a terrible time, who just shared each other's company and drew some hope from it.

Luna, while slightly a nutjob, has such a purity and innocence about her character that it's wonderful to see other characters reacting to her, not in the typical judgmental way, and drawing hope from her.

This is so wonderful. I adored this chapter.

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: I am drooling, Melanie, over this gorgeous review. But your reviews tend to do that to me just in general. ;)

They're not a ship, but I like telling myself that they could have been, though that likely wouldn't have worked out. Dean/Luna have had chemistry since DH for me. And Luna, while still the nutjob, has always been lovable to me, so hopefully she came off that way again. :D

ILY and thank you for the amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by RonsGirlFridayThe Power of Love: The Passion of a Thousand Suns

22nd March 2011:
So much win, Sarah. So. Much. Win.

I don't know how many times I laughed out loud while reading this. Please allow me to quote the various lines that made me crack right up:


He was looking angsty. What makes it even more angsty is that he didn't know what he was angsty about.

^This is one of those lines that I'm going to be in an hour-long strop about because I didn't come up with it. XD


We have paused for about fifteen minutes to explore their appearances and back-stories in too much detail, but they do not seem to notice.

^I love breaking the fourth wall. I love it.


We are suddenly in present tense. Prepare for lots of switching.

^I truly love you.


Despite the cold grey eyes and cold white-blond hair and incessant use of turtlenecks, he was such a warm individual.

^OF COURSE. -___-


"Cannons go 'boom boom'," the batty old lady next door shrieked. Until that moment, she had been hiding in the chimney.

^This actually made me laugh so hard that Mr. RGF looked at me like I'd lost my mind. He's still looking at me like I'm a nutcase.


And two months later (because calculation doesn't matter in AU), Cho gave birth after a series of words describing how much it hurt. It was a little girl (of course), and she was twelve pounds (holy crap), nine ounces, and had very long hair and brown eyes and smelled like rainbows/orchids/waterfalls/Brazilian plants because she never had any dirty diapers. She was a miracle child.

^Snerk.


So much humor. So much satire. So much love. Beautiful, glorious Cedric/Cho/Draco/Batty love.


Melanie

Author's Response: Oohhh thank you!

I shall write you a poem in response to your gorgeous, mysterious, beautiful, intoxicating, shimmering, weeping, elephant review:

If you sat in a lampshade,
Would it tip over?
Is a nickname for Darth: "Vade"?
I have a four-leaf-clover (not really)
This soup is oily.

-fin-


 Report Review

Review #16, by RonsGirlFridayThe Battle of the Pitch: The Battle of the Pitch

15th March 2011:
Why am I blanking on what exactly happened to Harry in this 2004 storyline? Was it a hidden Crematius Curse left over from a few years earlier?

Anyway, this fic was a lot of fun to read. What I really like is how you actually have built a whole universe of fics, and you have your timeline and everything fitting together in a cohesive way, one big body of work. I really admire that. You apparently don't suffer from the same literary schizophrenia that I do. XD It was good to finally read about the Battle of the Pitch I'd heard referenced in Crusade.

Looking forward to reading the remaining couple of fics - very soon, I promise! :-)

Melanie

Author's Response: Yep. Harry got hit by a dark object that was cursed. Crematius curse, to be exact. He'd received an anonymous owl, tipping him off that a dark object was hidden in a clearing. the message also contained a picture of the locale, which is what Harry used to Apparate there. He went without a partner (which was stupid) blanketed the area with strong revelio spells which triggered the Crematius. Once he was hurt, he didn't have the strength to Apparate or cast a patronus. He let his gaurd down and it cost him. This backstory is outlined in Chapter 3, during Harry's talk with Death (although we didn't know, at the time, that it was Death he was talking too)

Really glad you enjoyed Pitch; its starting to vy with Crusade as my favorite.

Thanks for the praise of the Crusadiverse. I hadn't planned out all these tales in advance; in fact, I haven't written them in chronological order, as you know. Would've been a lot easier if I had. Its been hard to stay within my own "canon."

I may not suffer from your flavor of "literary schizophrenia", as you put it, but rest assured, I'm more than laiden with my own. LOL!

Melanie, its always a pleasure when you drop by. Really, this was a great surprise. I do hope to see you again and am waiting impatiently for the next installment of "The Morning Waffle," which is thoroughly HYSTERICAL. I HIGHLY recommend it!

Well, I hope to hear from you again soon; there are more Crusadiverse stories yet to be written. Currently I'm toying with a collection of one shots to flesh out the rest of the Guerilla war and I've started to plot out the final Crusadiverse story, which will take place much later in the quartet's lives, in and around the time they become grandparents.

Again, it was great to hear from you and thanks for all the stupendous reviews!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #17, by RonsGirlFridayThe Battle of the Pitch: Out of the Ashes

15th March 2011:
Death!! I love it! That's such a cool touch, actually personifying Death the way it was done in the Tale of the Three Brothers - making the personification "real" in the context of this story.

Author's Response: Ah, the Death reveal. I'm so totally psyched that you think that works. I thought it would be great fun. That is, Harry has dodged the old cloak-wearing meany for so long, he's come to collect. In Person. Yikes!!

I also thought it fit well with the Tale of the Three Brothers; it was fun to treat it as if it were a true story and not a parable.

Thanks again!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #18, by RonsGirlFridayThe Battle of the Pitch: Count The Ways

15th March 2011:
Dear me. Awkwarrrd. XD

I actually love Percy to death. He's my favorite Weasley dude after Ron. He's quite complex, but also very good one-dimensional fodder for humor, as here. As much as I think the guy would have loosened up after DH, maybe I don't think he'd have become quite as frivolous as he was here (Percy + skinny dipping = error, does not compute, contact your service provider... haha... and also, if for some godawful reason I ever stumbled across one of my brothers without clothes on while I also didn't have clothes, let me tell you just how fast I'd be running in the opposite direction... ugh, bad image...) - but anyway, we're in your mind here, not mine! (Your mind, man... that's one spelunking expedition I'm not sure I want to go on...) XD

I must say, though, I don't think I'll ever get tired of the Ron/Hermione trope where a furious argument turns into furious snogging. Sometimes it's a bit over-the-top, but they are an over-the-top couple, and they really just beg you to be almost satirical with them at times.

On to a serious point I actually wanted to make in this review: You really have a knack for coming up with interesting action-centric plot points, crazy spells and magical tactics, etc. I love this thing where the curse is triggered by Revelio. I'm always looking forward to seeing where you go with your plot. Your action-adventure substance is some of the most creative I've read.

Melanie

Author's Response: Hehehehe.

Percy. I think anyone, once they find the right companion, can do some pretty OOC things. Everyone gets thrown off kilter by love and Percy is no exception. Although he was hesitating introducing Audrey to the fam, given her prodding, he was willing to take a little swimming excursion at what was supposed to be an empty Burrow. Ooops.

As for Ginny's reaction, remember she's the youngest daughter in a family filled with boys. I can't help but imagine that she's gotten more than a little used to being comfortable around her famlies nudity. Think about it. the Burrow ain't that big, very little privacy. This of course begs the question as to why Percy wasn't as inured to this situation as Ginny. Answer: Percy is Percy. LOL! He's got more Prewett in him than Weasley, hence his mortification (and "redification").

The Ron/Hermione fight that turns into an allout snog is one of my favorite parts here. Really really pleased you liked it! There's nothing I find as much fun to read or write than one of their fights, especially if it ends like this (there's a bit more of this kind of thing in Chapter 4).

Thanks so much for the praise of the actiony stuff.

"...some of the most creative I've read."

Wow! Ok, severely swelled head here. Can't thank you enough!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #19, by RonsGirlFridayThe Battle of the Pitch: Horseshoes and Handgrenades

15th March 2011:
I like how you're structuring this, with the scene involving Harry at the beginning and end of each chapter, and the scene involving earlier events in the middle. Transitioning from one scene to another using the dialogue is a nice touch.

Author's Response: Thanks!

It was ridiculously easy to do for the first three chapters. However, by chapter four, the transitions got so difficult to do, I nearly scrapped the whole story and started over from scratch.

I had two different plot bunnies fighting it out in my head. One was of Harry, stumbling down a road wounded. The other was the story of what happened at and just before the Battle of the Pitch. Since I hate working on more than one story at a time I decided to combine the two. The result is the story as it is now.

Thanks again!

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #20, by RonsGirlFridayThe Battle of the Pitch: The Reckoning

15th March 2011:
"Merlin's loaded dice." Bahahahaha.

So I'm here and reviewing - I figured I'd start with book 1 of the Crusadiverse and go in order. Can't tell you how coherent my reviews will be, as it's past the middle of the night and I can't sleep, so what better to do than review? But I'll give it my best! :-D

Melanie

Author's Response: Hey Mel!!

Didn't expect you, but really glad you came. Coherent, incoherent, makes no difference to me. I'm a review trolip. LOL!

"Merlin's loaded dice" I liked that one too.

Eldy


 Report Review

Review #21, by RonsGirlFridayLovely: sweetheart

10th March 2011:
I love how I really don't feel I can trust Rose. She won't just spit out what her motive is here. Four chapters in, and I'm still wondering, guessing, wondering some more... This whole thing is really well crafted, Gubby - moving the plot along while really not giving away anything at all. I'm eagerly awaiting the next update!!


Melanie

Author's Response: I don't deny that Rose is an unreliable narrator. The concept of the unreliable narrator is actually something that fascinates me and it's been great fun exercising that in this fic. Again, most of the reason why there is no clear motive (other, of course, than her crusade for "the truth" and for Clara's "death") is because even I'm not entirely sure where this is going. But I'm so, so relieved that even in the uncertainty, you enjoyed it at all. Thanks so much for the reviews and I will update as soon as I can!

*hug*


 Report Review

Review #22, by RonsGirlFridayLovely: honey

10th March 2011:
Well, the three guesses aren't helping, because I have no clue what's going on - but I like this story for just that reason! Never in my life can I hope to have as much subtlety as this (and if you don't intend it to be subtle, and you think it's really obvious what's going on, then that just means I'm dense, and I can't actually rule that option out - either way, you win.) :-D

Rose is very puzzling to me. In the first chapter I thought she was a psychopath. Then she started seeming disconnected, almost antisocial (which is not actually antithetical to psychopathy, anyway) - and then here she started seeming more engaged, especially with all that talk about how she can be "intense." I like what you're doing with her character so far.


Melanie

Author's Response: The "three guesses" in the last line is a reference to the other time(s) "three guesses" has been used -- which means that Clara is the reason why Dominic and Rose have not touched. But the subtlety you mention is only because I have an only slightly better picture of what's going on than you do. Seriously, I make up a lot of this as I go. (No, it's not supposed to be obvious because [and I can't stress this enough] I don't know exactly what I'm doing. I have a vague framework but nothing more concrete.)

Rose is a psychopath, I agree completely. But keep in mind that this chapter and the previous one are told in flashback. Flashback Rose is not as psychotic as Narrator Rose. She isn't exactly antisocial, but she's not a part of the mainstream of society, if that makes any sense, because she's sick of the pettiness of it. She wants to be above it, but this drama sucks her back in, I think. She engages in societal interaction when she wants to or when she thinks it's useful. And when she does engage in it, she can be, cough, intense.

All this analysis of Rose's character is making me think. And I like thinking more, even though I may well find a plot hole or dig myself into a grave. But it will have been worth it! *hug*


 Report Review

Review #23, by RonsGirlFridayLovely: baby

10th March 2011:
Teenage drama on steroids, no? XD

Kidding. I found this while creeping around your author page, because I've decided it's very shameful how little of your stuff I've read and reviewed, and this really looked mysterious so I had to read it.

In a really weird, twisted way, I love your narrator (whoever it is - don't tell me). Completely creepy and psychotic. I don't read nearly enough dark stuff. I'm looking forward to the rest. ♥

Melanie

Author's Response: Yes, actually! Very much so! That was my whole angle with this fic: the exaggeration of the Mean Girls-type fanfics with the rivalries and social politics and whatnot.

Oh, the narrator. Narrator gives me a lot of trouble all the time now, but in this first chapter, the voice is really clear and creepy. Glad you love the voice, though, since I wasn't sure that would actually be a reaction, you know? But dark stuff is love. Unsure of whether this is love, but I'm so flattered that you thought of me in the first place and stopped by at all.

*heart*


 Report Review

Review #24, by RonsGirlFridaySuch & Such: A Story About Love (Among Other Things): V: Funeral Rights

10th March 2011:
Whoever gave Wood the right to have babies should revoke it.

Yes. XD

Though, I am kind of in love with the Wood-as-a-single-dad idea. Kinda incredibly hot, no? And how much am I falling in love with the idea of Oliver/Penny? A lot, that's how much. Please make it happen? -puppy dog eyes-

I'm always so jealous whenever I read anything by you, Rita. Everything is smart, snappy, and sparkling, and terribly addictive. ♥

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review

Review #25, by RonsGirlFridaySuch & Such: A Story About Love (Among Other Things): IV: The Dashing Mr. Bartie

10th March 2011:
This was the ancient times before women were allowed to be single, happy, unattached and still be a writer for the Daily Prophet without their mother breathing down their necks for grandchildren.

I seem to be carried away. Let me give it one more try:

This was the ancient times when love and desperation did lead to marriage.

There we go.


Ha!!! That's awesome, Rita. Probably my favorite part of the whole chapter. Along with young Mr. Bartie's right fit bum, and the limerick Penny made up (which I thought was hilaro, by the way). And also this line:

Besides, I remember hallucinating this with ten Guinness and an apple pie in me. It was bound to be terrible.

I can't decide whether I want to be Penny, or whether I want her as a friend. Either way, it would be awesome.

xoxo
Melanie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>