Reading Reviews From Member: Tallis
  
7 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TallisTill Kingdom Come : Running To Stand Still

2nd September 2010:
Hey there,
I just wanted to say hi and that I think your stories are wonderful. When I found this one and saw that it had a prequel, I just had to go read it so that I would know the background/history, lol. The last few chapters of this one in particular have really meant something to me, seeing as I am in a situation very similar to Rose. Your little author's note at the end of the chapter really hit the head on the nail about how I feel every now and then. I mean, I was eight weeks along when I found out I was pregnant, and up until a month ago (24 weeks-ish) I was still freaking out. It didn't necessarily mean I wasn't happy about having a baby, but it wasn't planned, wasn't something that I really wanted. My boyfriend was shocked, too. Honestly, though, it changes. I'm still scared about the future and don't feel ready for it at all, but we're going to make it work. Ahhh, listen to me getting all sentimental >.< I just felt this overwhelming need to comment on the similarities, lol.

Anyway, I love the story! Keep up the magnificent work and update again soon! :]

-Tallis

Author's Response: Thank you! I think it's great that you are doing it even though it wasn't part of your plan. My inspiration for Rose's pregnancy and her attitude towards it has come about through my best friend, who is 18 weeks now. She's really scared but she's making a go of it and I'm really proud of her. I think people like you and her are very admirable. So I'm taking Rose on a similar journey. I hope everything goes okay for you, I can't wait for my friend to have her baby - I'm going to be Godmother! Good luck, Katy

 Report Review

Review #2, by TallisOnce Defied: Back to Reality

31st December 2009:
Once again, a lovely chapter added to a lovely story. Wonderful job! And thanks for the very informative reply to my previous review. :D

Author's Response: Hi Tallis!

I'm really glad you liked the chapter. It's very nice to hear that it wasn't as bad as I thought. :P You're very welcome for the previous reply, as well--hopefully it satisfied your curiosity vis a vis the banner. Like I said, it was a very nice review, and I was happy to respond to it and answer your questions!

Thanks for coming back to review again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TallisOnce Defied: Sitting in the Trees

28th December 2009:
So, it was just the other day that I happened across your lovely little fic here, and, to tell the truth, I wasn't really looking to read a Lily/James fic at the time. In fact, the only reason I took a peek inside was your banner. I was curious about the actors used to portray James and Lily and was hoping you had mentioned that. BUT, when I began to skim through the first chapter, I couldn't help but feel intrigued. I noticed that you are an incredible writer. There is just something about the way you write that made me want to keep reading. And so I did. And let me tell you, I absolutely love your story. It took me about two days to get through the chapters you have, and I only went to work because I had to. If I had had my way, I would have skipped just so I could have kept reading.

I just want to say that you're writing skills are amazing. You have an incredible talent for keeping the story flowing smoothly, and keeping it interesting, something that I happen to be struggling with. Your characterizations of James, Lily, Sirius, and the whole gang are very realistic, and while there are some differences from the normal, I find that I like your versions of these characters and their relationships so much better. Overall, I absolutely adore this fic, and I cannot wait until you update again. Don't keep me waiting!! :P

Until next time,
Tallis

Author's Response: Hi Tallis! I really loved reading your review, so thanks for taking the time to write it.

I guess it's true what they say about banners helping attract people to your story! :) I'm so glad that you happened to click on the story and found something about it that you liked. I'm so flattered that you think I'm a good writer, and that you love the story enough to read it straight through like that. (I'm very glad you didn't skip work, although I can feel your pain there. I often I find things that I would much rather do than go to work!)

I'm always uncertain about whether I'm making the story interesting enough, or whether I'm keeping continuity as I go along, so thank you very much for those compliments. It's so great to be able to get outside opinions, because (like most other people) I'm always my own worst critic, so I can't rely really on my own opinion of my writing all the time.

I'm really happy that you like the characterizations of the characters, because that's something that's really important to me. I tried to spend a good chunk of time figuring out their personalities based on what we know about them--which isn't much! :) I'm really glad you like the differences from their typical characterizations. I know people are pretty attached to seeing these characters one way because of fan fiction!

I'll try to update sometime within the week. Oh, and to satisfy your curiosity, the people in the banner: the girl is Erin Chambers. She usually has pretty orange-red, curly hair, and there are only a few pictures of her with darker hair. The guy, who has been used in many, many other banners, is Gaspard Ulliel. There were about two pictures of him with glasses, and I just couldn't stand using an actor who didn't have glasses for James! He does look pretty different with them on, though.

Thank you so much for the review, and I look forward to what you have to say about the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TallisLady Malfoy: The Real Lady Malfoy

4th November 2009:
I absolutely love this chapter! From what I can tell, you've managed to take a different approach to what might have happened after Voldemort's demise and give it your own twist. Draco seems like such a complex character and there must have been so much thought put into him and what his back story was before you began to write this story. And the fact that Cassius is Voldemort's kid...well I didn't see that coming. I was like, "Oh. My. God. No way!" Not even kidding. But, once again, I absolutely adore this story and I cannot wait until your next chappie is posted. *hint hint* That little preview you have there is making me all anxious. Post again soon!

P.S. - And I totally just noticed that you signed at the end of your A/N "erin". That's my name, too! :]

 Report Review

Review #5, by TallisThe Memory Box: Chapter XXVI

20th June 2009:
Oh. My. God. A cliffy! Ugh!

Anyway, this chapter is amazing. Way beyond amazing. As I've stated before, I love your characters and have fallen completely in love with all of them. You do a wonderful job and I can't help but feel as if I actually know them. Strange, I know.

One of my favorite parts of this chapter was:

"And little monkeys!"

"Monkeys?" asked Lily turning to Dumbledore and taking Harry, "And I thought you Marauders were bad."

"House elves," said Dumbledore with a chuckle, before settling behind his desk, his eyes alive and twinkling.


I thought that was very clever, and not to mention completely hilarious. And then all the information given in the beginning of the chapter, I wanted to cry so much!! Poor Sirius! It's horrible that he's had to suffer so much because of Peter. :[

Anyway, I know this wasn't very constructive at all, but I just wanted to let you know that I absolutely adore your fic and can't wait for the next update!!

-Tallis
10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by TallisThe Memory Box: Chapter XXV

26th May 2009:
To start off, I absolutely love this story. I just recently started reading, and it took me a good week to get through and up to this point. First, let me just say, I LOVE your writing style. You do a wonderful job with descriptions, characterization, and dialogue, which is like everything. Second, the plot you've created here is completely unique and amazingly addictive. And thirdly, to emphasize just how much I love your characterizations, I've fallen in love with each and every one of them, especially James. He's by far my favorite, followed closely by Marlene and Cassion and Isabella, and practically all the others. I also like how you connected this story, weaving it into OoTP with the older Remus and Sirius. Pretty much, I love the entire thing to bits. Keep up the amazing work and I look forward to regular posts to keep my addiction satiated.

-Tallis

 Report Review

Review #7, by TallisConventional Wisdom: Frazzled

14th February 2009:
It's certainly interesting! I'm intrigued to find out what happens next as well as get some more information on..well, everything! You seem to be a very talented writer and I can tell that you've got a plan for this story, and I'm definitely looking forward to reading more!! The only thing that bothered me, and I really mean this is the ONLY thing...you see, I'm actually an Italian student...and don't hate me, but it's actually spelled "Ciao!" I know, I know, I must be some uptight spelling freak, but that is the only thing that bothered me. So, that's got to be good, right? Anyway, just so you don't think I'm some crazy person - I love the story and I will be looking forward to you updates!!

-Tallis

Author's Response: Oh no! I don't hate you at all. In fact, I'm rather happy that you pointed my mistake out. I feel like a total idiot, but at least I can correct it. So really, I thank you for not only pointing out my mistake, but for reading and reviewing! Thanks so much Tallis!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login