Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: melian
  
516 Reviews Found

Review #26, by melianThe Lark and the Nightingale: Chiara Nightingale

18th April 2017:
Well that was a really interesting start to a story! I loved the nod to Shakespeare at the start Ė it took me by surprise but it totally worked. And Romeo as a werewolf?? Took me by surprise, but hey, why not make those star crossed lovers magical? And why not have him a werewolf? Because, of course, those two NEEDED additional difficulties put in their way, right? *giggles*

Then, I admit, the jump to 1976 also took me aback. But, you had the link to the prologue with Mrs Nightingale speaking in Italian and, of course, the whole werewolf thing. Which Chiara doesnít know about yet, I admit, but I assume itís there somewhere. Otherwise, why make the connection in the first place?

(As an aside, thanks for putting the translations of Italian in the main text, rather than as footnotes. Makes it so much easier to follow the story when youíre not scrolling up and down all the time.)

I see the usual crowd in the Marauder era Ė Alice, Mary, Frank etc. Though, is this seventh year? The canon nerd in me feels the need to point out that the Marauder crew started seventh year in 1977 Ė eleven years old in 1971, so first year then, second year 1972 etc. Then again, if this is sixth year then feel free to ignore me. Iím a pain with that sort of thing, Iím afraid. My apologies. ;)

Anyway, this is an intriguing start to a story. Nicely done!

Cheers Mel

Author's Response: Hello, Mel!
Finally here to answer all these lovely CTF reviews! :)

Glad you liked the Romeo and Juliet premise. :) Yes, the poor two needed more difficulties... :P Obviously, there is a reason behind it all.

There is a link between Chiara and the Romeo and Juliet's story. (And Remus' lycanthropy, of course, but that's accidental...)

This is sixth year, I don't know why but I like to set stories in that time... (and don't worry, I'm super precise when it comes to dates, too...)

Glad you enjoyed this start, and feel free to come back anytime! ;)

Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #27, by melianThe Letters to No-One: The Letters to No-One

18th April 2017:
Isobel, this was beautiful. And heart-wrenching. Iíve not read a lot of fics set inside Azkaban Ė I suspect because they are too dark and many people canít write them. Indeed, Iíve only tried it once, and I have generally written Sirius at just about every juncture I can think of. Azkaban, though, is perhaps too great a challenge. Itís hard getting into the mind of someone in that situation, isnít it?

Youíve done a really good job at this one though. I love the title Ė co-opting a chapter title from Philosopherís Stone and repurposing it for your own purposes here. Thatís a great idea and one I wish Iíd thought of. And the idea that one of Siriusí methods for keeping himself sane, apart from becoming Padfoot, was to write letters. It didnít matter if they never found their intended recipient, because it was the action of writing them that was important. And then, him saying that he is deliberately leaving the name and address vacant because he doesnít want their secret to be out, that's beautiful Ė and heartbreaking. Because if they did love each other like that, it would be awful to not be able to share that. With anyone.

I liked the confusion about Peterís death, too; how he couldnít work out how heíd done it because his wand hadnít vibrated and he hadnít cast the killing curse, wouldnít have in a public place like that, when it was the last spell his wand had cast. We of course know what happened, but of course he thought he had killed Peter. Iíd never really thought much aobut it (more the fool me, obviously) but yes, of course he did. Heíd killed Peter and that was why he was in jail. Murderers get what they deserve, right?

(And yes, I totally stole that line from your fic. It was so poignant I couldnít resist.)

Great story. Really got me thinking. I may have to go back now and read it again.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #28, by melianLegos: Legos

17th April 2017:
Lego! The scourge of parents all around the globe! I love how you brought Lego, of all things, into a wizarding story. Something mundane, yet instantly universally recognisable, like that is brilliant. Lego. Draco tripping over Lego. The pain is real.

I admit I laughed out loud at this one. You managed to keep our two main characters totally in character, which is unusual for a Draco/Luna fic. Heck, keeping them believable at all in a Draco/Luna fic is a fair effort, to be honest. But you have Luna and her creatures, and her quiet conviction that she knows best, whether it be about the Crumple Horned Snorkack or the best sort of toys for her child. And Draco would know nothing about Muggle toys so he'd just go along with it, to keep the peace. Yes, it's hilarious. :D

I do wonder though why you chose Draco and Luna for this particular piece. Yes I know the author note says you like that ship, and that's fine, but really it would work with just about any ship. So long as there's a child involved, of course. Then again, if you just wanted to write Draco/Luna then why the heck not use this plot bunny? It's brilliant and it's so REAL for anyone who has ever stepped on a piece of Lego. (And if anyone says they haven't, and they live somewehre Lego is readily available, I would tend not to believe them.)

All in all a very charming one-shot. Good job!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #29, by melianThe Clock: The Clock

17th April 2017:
Aw, Renee! The feels! Obviously any George story that's immediately post-war will be like this, but you really hit it, didn't you? And me in a public place reading it too. I hope you're ashamed of yourself.

To be frank, getting into George's head just at this point isn't easy. I know because I've tried it. The grief, the sense of loss, not only of part of himself (because let's face it, those boys were extensions of each other) but also loss of future, of what he had expected his life to turn out like. It's hard. It's heartbreaking. And you nailed it.

This got pretty dark when he was thinking about suicide, saying the only reason he didn't really entertain that possibility was due to respect for his mother. That's tough. And it's also honest. We've all had feelings like that, even me, and I"ve had a pretty blessed existence. But I've been known to think, this is how people feel when they take that step, and it was only due to love for my family that I didn't take that thought any further. And George is exactly the same. It's dark, but like I said, it's real. And that's what makes it so powerful.

All in all I thought this was a really moving and thought provoking one-shot. Extra kudos to you for managing to fit so much into so few words. I think its brevity made it all the more moving, to be honest. Good work!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #30, by melianThird Time's a Charm: Two Stars, One Constellation

17th April 2017:
Well, Bianca, this isnít the first Scorbus Iíve read as part of Capture the Flag, but itís one of the sweetest. Awww. I just want to reach over and pinch both their cheeks.

The start of any relationship is fraught, isnít it? The will they respond, what if they donít think of me that way, what if I embarrass myself, will I ever hear the end of it, all that sort of thing. And when itís a same-sex crush, itís worse because you have the additional hurdle of sexuality. If Iím gay/bi/whatever, are they? Or are they sworn hetero? In this case, when the object of his affection Ė Albus Ė has a history of dating lots of girls, youíd have to feel like the odds are stacked against you. Yes, Scorpius, I feel for you. I really do.

The details in this were what got me though. Noticing the five oíclock shadow. The fascination with Albusí fingers, putting him off his homework. Fingers? Theyíre not usually seeing as alluring. When you have a hopeless crush, though, you do start to find things like fingers alluring. Just about any skin, really. Iíve been there, I totally get it.

And then Ė the relief that it turned out okay. That Al didnít run for the hills, or push him away, or anything like that. That he considered the idea and even found it appealing. You captured it spot on.

Great work, Bianca. I really enjoyed reading this one. :D

Cheers Mel

Author's Response: Aw Mel thank you so much! This was my first Scorbus so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #31, by melianMeet Me When It Rains: Meet Me When It Rains

17th April 2017:
Wow. Iím going to be honest here Ė Iím such a canon girl that Iím not normally a fan of people shipping Lily with anyone other than James. I donít go for stories that pair her with Snape, or with Sirius, or with Remus, or with Peter, or anyone else from that generation. I still have trouble with even the idea. But this Ė youíve made me re-assess.

I mean, Iím familiar with the idea of Remus being in love with Lily. Thatís been floated around since Prisoner of Azkaban came out. The way he talks about her could certainly have been love, even romantic love. Iím cool with that. But the idea of it being reciprocated Ö well letís just say itís not how my interpretation of Lily goes. This, though, this is believable. I love the little details youíve put in, like the violin, or the fact James left his trunk open so the others could steal his Invisibility Cloak if they needed to, right down to Remus acknowledging he would never have sanctioned this. And of course not.

And the rain thing. The tattered umbrella (she liked being just the right degree of wet, hahaha), the trysts at the edge of the Forbidden Forest. It was beautifully done. Right down to the recognition that when she decided to share that sensation with James rather than with Remus, it meant the end of their illicit affair. Poignant. Devastating. Yet inevitable.

The only thing that galled me when you called them Head Boy and Girl, when canon says that James was Head Boy. I can get it as AU, where Remus was made HB, but it drew my attention as it was really the only thing that really did divert from the canon we know. This could have happened Ė except for that bit.

Otherwise, a really intriguing and well-written story. Well done!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #32, by melianLoyalty: Loyalty

17th April 2017:
Well that was a really interesting read. I donít think Iíve ever read Founders era before, which is probably my loss, but I confess I never even thought of a romance between Salazar Slytherin and Helga Hufflepuff. This is probably really common in Founders era fics, but yeah, it took me by surprise. Again, probably my loss. It was a very interesting premise, though, to have Salazar thinking about his legacy at Hogwarts and whether or not his relationships with the other founders were irretrievable.

His dismissal of Helgaís love was, too interesting. He laid the blame on her Ė she should not have loved that part of him, she should not have seen him as a candidate for redemption. She should not have looked upon the Basilisk. Okay, it might be a bit much, blaming her for her own death like that, and you probably didnít mean for it to come off like that, but it did strike me as that. Perhaps because it felt like Slytherin was trying to absolve himself of responsibility. Yes, he was horrified that she had died that way, that the first person to succumb to the Basiliskís stare would be her, and he returned to the castle to close up the Chamber, but there wasnít really much regret there. He could have killed the monster. He could have redeemed himself to the spirit of Helga Hufflepuff. But he chose not to.

Overall this is a really powerful piece, and Iím glad Iíve read it. And now I probably need to seek out more Founders fics to see if any others are like this. Great job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #33, by melianFlames, Smoke, Disaster: Treacle Tart

17th April 2017:
Aww, Sam, that was adorable. From the panic Dean feels when he first gets home to the dead flowers at the end, I was totally hooked. Seamus was characterised like he is in the movies Ė prone to making things blow up Ė and it suited this perfectly, because who else would stuff up a spell for baking like that? (Nice touch, by the way, having different magical processes for baking and for other cooking. Iíd never have thought of that but it works so well.)

And Dean, being the peacemaker, seeing beauty in what Seamus thinks is ruined Ö that was just lovely. Perfect anniversary behaviour, because in that situation who wouldnít want to make their partner feel better, to have them see that you love the fact that they put in all that effort, whether or not it turned out the way they had intended. I think weíve all been there and you captured it wonderfully.

The juxtaposition, too, of the fright at the start to the sweetness at the end was great. When I read Dean opening the door to the smoke, and panicking that there had been a tragedy even though the war was over, I never thought it would be the bundle of fluff at the end that it was. So that was really nicely done, because a lot of writers wouldnít be able to carry that off. Great job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #34, by melianWaiting on You: Waiting on You

17th April 2017:
Erica! This was really sweet.

I know what you mean about your first attempt at slash. I did mine only recently Ė well, first attempt at slash where it was the main pairing Ė and itís not an easy thing to start on, is it? I think itís probably like writing sex scenes, though, in that once youíve started, the more you write the easier it gets.

I must say too that Albus and Scorpius are such a cute pairing that itís hard to leave them be, is it? I mean, if youíre going to start writing a same-sex relationship, then theyíre probably the ideal ones to start with. And youíve done such a good job! I really buy the nervousness, the apprehension, the conviction it wasnít to be, and then the revelation that Scorpius is in fact ready to try it out. Itís so SWEET!!! And I mean that. Itís not nauseating, or over the top, or fluffy as a duck, or anything like that. Itís just the start of something that could be beautiful.

The other thing I really liked was the bit at the start about what it was like to be Harry Potterís son. I know that a lot of next-gen does explore this, but youíve covered so much in such a succinct way that it really strikes a chord with me. The only thing that grated was the use of the word ďbenefitĒ when Albus was thinking about being boxed in Ė ďanother benefit of being Harry Potterís sonĒ. It grated because it felt like Al didnít see it as a benefit. Maybe you were using sarcasm Ė that can be hard to pick up in the written word Ė but I was thinking maybe ďside-effectĒ would work better. Feel free to ignore, though, as itís just my opinion.

Overall a lovely piece about the nervousness that precedes the beginning of a relationship. Really beautifully done.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #35, by melianHis most faithful follower: A deathly end

12th April 2017:
Ooh, Bellatrix in the final battle! Iíve read so many battle stories (and written a fair few myself), but never have I seen one from Bellatrixís perspective in that final scene where sheís duelling Molly.

Youíve got her arrogance down pat, Iíll give you that. The sneering and the absolute conviction that no one would be able to challenge her. Even her recognition that she actually had a fight in Molly Weasley Ė or ďthe blood traitorís motherĒ Ė was grudging, nothing she would ever admit in public. After all, she was Bellatrix Black Lestrange. No one got the better of her.

I think you chose the best quotes from the canon, too, for this little insight. Obviously thereís the classic Molly line, but also the one about Fred was well chosen I thought Ė it was designed precisely to hit Molly where it hurt, in her maternal love. Of course, Bellatrix had no idea about maternal love, did she (Cursed Child notwithstanding)? I think thatís always a good parallel to draw, and youíve done it well. Itís subtle enough to make me think you may not have done it intentionally, but that doesnít matter, does it? You had the same result regardless :)

And then, that ending. Ooh! Voldemort raising his wand on Harry Ė we know what he wants to do, and where you leave it makes it sound like Molly is subjected to an AK. Of course, we know sheís not, but you really have that sense of foreboding there. In fact, Iím going to have to get the book out now to remind myself how exactly that did go down. *hunts for her copy of DH*

All in all a very good and intriguing one-shot. Well done!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #36, by melianLoony: Loony

12th April 2017:
Hi! What an interesting portrayal of Luna!

I really struggle with writing Luna. I keep going back to that quote from JKR where she says that the key to her is that she really doesnít care what anyone else thinks of her. Thatís a difficult thing to portray, because itís so alien to most of us. We all care what others think in some way, shape or form; Luna doesnít. It makes her unique, and it makes her, in my opinion, incredibly hard to write.

You, however, clearly donít suffer from that problem.

This is Luna down to the ground. Her observations, her thoughts, her unique way of looking at the world. She sees a lot more than people give her credit for, and she has her own way of interpreting things. And youíve managed to get her down pat. Excuse me while I start a fan club, or something ,because yeah, thatís just so hard to do.

It was interesting trying to identify people in this. We see Ginny, of course, but then again sheís referred to by name Ė the Weasley girl. (I wonder at the ďyoungest Weasley girlĒ Ė it could be because sheís the youngest Weasley and sheís a girl, but we know there hadnít been any females born in the Weasley family for generations so it just rolls off the tongue wrong. At least, it does for me.) The uncomfortable boy Ėwas that Neville? It seems to fit him, as in his fifth year (Lunaís fourth year) he was still trying to find his place. Iím not sure that he really found it until seventh year, but certainly by the end of fifth he was much more comfortable. And Harry Ė yes, of course we know Harry. Everyone, even Luna, would know Harry. But he saw her as an equal. And that felt like a stepping stone, a landmark in her life. Because, for the first time, her own thoughts would be as one with the rest of the world, for that at least. Luna doesnít care about the rest of the world, but now, the rest of the world cares about Luna.

Loved it. Great job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #37, by melianMonsters and Miracles: A Blishwick Christmas

12th April 2017:
Aw, Bianca, isnít that just the cutest thing!

That was simply adorable. The prankster cousin, the thing that goes bump in the night Ö and then, the mental image of a ten year old boy and an attic ghoul stringing Christmas lights around the room in an effort to make things more festive. The realisation that everyone deserves an opportunity to celebrate Christmas if they want to, regardless of who or what they are.

Your characters were very well developed here. I get the feeling from your author note that itís not the first time youíve used them, which makes things easier, but honestly, setting up good original characters in a story this short is never an easy task, yet youíve managed it with flying colours. Well done you! I felt like I knew Sebastian and Finn, and even your secondary characters Ė Hero, Briony, heck, the ghoul Ė were well rounded. Itís a tale of insistent innocence Ė Finn is determined to scare the living daylights out of his cousin, but his cousin is determined to enjoy the season regardless. And going up to find the ghoul? That took bravery. I donít know why but I had it in my head that Sebastian is a Hufflepuff (perhaps because a lot of the stories Iím reading today seem to be about Hufflepuffs, for some reason), but that was more a Gryffie trait. Going up to investigate even though youíre terrified? Fantastic. I was cheering him on all the way.

All in all a really lovely one-shot and a great read. Looking forward to reading some more of your work once CTF is finished!

Cheers Mel

Author's Response: Hey Mel! No, it's not the first time I've used these characters, they're from another story :) I'm glad you liked it, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #38, by melianPeriphery: Introduction

11th April 2017:
Iím glad you put that explanation in the postscript about it being AU, because my canon nerd was itching all the way through this. Marlene dying after Lily and James; Sirius not being in Azkaban in December 1981 Ö But itís AU, so Iíll forgive you.

Having said that, Iím strictly a canon girl, so any foray into AU feels slightly weird to me. So bear with me if I miss things or have trouble with anything.

This is an interesting look at the life of an Order member after the fall of Voldemort. Thereís a bit of PTSD in there, isnít there? The not eating, hiding away, not wanting to talk to anyone. I assume Chloe is a Muggle-born, from the discussion about the sheep fence Ö so thatís something else she needs to deal with Ė parents and friends who donít understand her world and what sheís been going through, so that sense of isolation would be tenfold. Geez. Poor thing. It sounds like she was living in Godricís Hollow, or frequented it, prior to October 1981, so she canít even go home there because itís been blown up. Too many memories. Too much trauma. I donít blame her for not going back.

There were some really nice details in here too. The number of lies she told her mother. The detail of the heating spell that sheíd only put on herself, not the whole house. The yearning to use magic in a Muggle house. It was all done really well.

And Ö that ending! I donít think I need to say more. All I can add is that I hope thereís an explanation, one that would make sense of someone like Sirius using an Unforgivable on Marlene McKinnon.

Geez. Iím still in shock.

Well done.

Cheers Mel

Author's Response: Hahaha, I'm sure as someone who followed canon so wonderfully in their own story, this fic might be unnerving for you! Personally I'd rather use fanfiction to explore what could have happened than adhering to the rules. Thank you for taking the time to read, though.

You're totally right about the PTSD. We hear so much about the Order and how they were heroes, but they were like any other soldiers battling, and dealt with seeing their friends die and--in many cases--having to kill others. JKR set the story up pretty nicely for being the "good guys" and the "bad guys," but it's rarely so black and white in real life. Chloe is a member of the Order who also doesn't want to be involved in the war, but unfortunately allowed herself to be goaded into it by a friend she admired, and is now alienated in both worlds.

Hehehe, the ending is pretty awful, but I am getting such a kick out of seeing everyone's reactions. Now we only have to wait 15+ chapters before finding out, wow!

Thanks again ♥


 Report Review

Review #39, by melianPretty Little Thing: Pretty Little Thing

11th April 2017:
Well, that was a really interesting story. Septima is, of course, Professor Vector, I assume? And our narrator Ė well, it could be Madam Hooch, or maybe itís not. It doesnít actually matter, does it? Because the relationship Ėor, really, the lack of relationship Ė between the narrator, the ďpretty little thingĒ, and Septima is of course centre stage here.

I really got her nervousness, her trepidation in coming to the school as a professor when she had so recently been a student. In fact, with the short time between the two, at first I wondered if it was Snape who was telling the story. That was nixed, obviously, but when a fic is told in the first person like this you do spend some time trying to get some context, some hint as to whose story youíre reading. In this case the name doesnít matter Ė itís the young new Flying professor whose mind weíre peeping into, the one who once loved Septima.

Actually, scratch that. I just read your summary again. How did I miss the Rolanda Hooch reference??? *facepalm*

(As an aside, this has me puzzling about names. Septima of course refers to the number seven, but it also brings to mind Septimus Severus, the Roman Emperor. Maybe that was why I thought it might have been Snape. Funny how your mind plays tricks when you read, isnít it?)

Iím very curious to know what happens next here. It works well as a standalone piece, obviously, but I wonder how long her resistance to Septima would have lasted. She did a great job of standing up to her, of staking her claim to her professorship, of showing how sheíd matured Ö but there was still that longing there, wasnít there? Would she eventually act on it? What was Septimaís take on it all? This is going to bug me all night now.

Anyway, great one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #40, by melianFlames of Calamity: Brave.

11th April 2017:
What a great story! I was hooked from the start. I admit it took me a while to figure out who the narrator was, but that was your intention, right? Maxine is of course an OC, but our heroine here is Susan Bones. It was a really interesting look at the final battle from the perspective of someone who wasnít a major player, or someone even mentioned in the books in that scene. Fleeing to the dungeons, waiting patiently (yes, a Hufflepuff trait, as you said), then having Zacharias Smith, of all people, talking her into continuing the fight once Maxine had died. What made you decide on Smith? There were others you could have chosen, other Hufflepuffs ... but maybe you wanted to write his redemption. Heís a rather intriguing character in many ways so I donít think I blame you.

My memory of the final battle is rather hazy and I donít remember if FiendFyre being used in the dungeons is canon or not, but frankly it doesnít really matter. Itís believable enough to be part of the story as we know that particular weapon was being used with abandon elsewhere in the castle. What I did like, though, were the little details you put in Ė the fact that the person attacking her was a Snatcher, for example, or the idea that she just went to the DA meetings to learn things, and she hadnít expected to actually have to use those skills in real life. That was what the Gryffindors did, not the Hufflepuffs. She wasnít meant to be brave.

So yes, this has made me think about the battle in a different way. And thaíts a good thing because itís helping me with my WIP Ė an added bonus!!! Lol. Great piece of writing; I really enjoyed it.

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #41, by melianEnchanted: A Trace of Fruity Aftershave

9th April 2017:
Hufflepuff? I must admit I didn't see that coming. I've not read a lot of next-gen but what I have read puts people in Gryffindor, Slytherin (usually Al) and Ravenclaw (Rose). I've not seen a Weasley or Potter person in Hufflepuff yet. So that threw me, I must admit. Well done. I'm not always easily thrown.

I like the little hints of each character you put in there. Louis smells of fruity aftershave,a nd to be honest I think that's more than enough reason to stay away from him. Especially if your sense of smell has been heightened due to another sense going kaput. Roxanne, as Fred's sister, is a prankster; clearly Fred is too, emulating his namesake uncle. Though I imagine his father would encourage that too. James is arrogant, which a lot of people put him at so that was easy to pick up. And Lucy means well but hs other priorities. I'm very curious, just between you and me, to know what they are.

And then we have Ciaran. He's still an intersting character, and to answer your question I do enjoy his internal monologues. His thought processes are a little off-beat, but that makes him all the more endearing. His absolute lack of sex drive (that we've seen so far) is also interesting, as even blind people tend to want to know if their preferred gender finds them attractive. Clearly Roxanne isn't Ciaran's taste ... I wonder now who is.

Anyway you certainly have me curious enough to read on, though RL is coming in now so I"ll have to take a break. Still, an intriguing start though!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #42, by melianEnchanted: Patience is a Virtue

9th April 2017:
Well this is a really interesting start! The character of Ciaran really intrigues me - it's very rare that we see a person with a disability in fanfic, and a Muggle disability at that. I have wondered before how someone who doesn't have use of their legs, for example, would ever get around Hogwarts, and here you are putting a blind person in that very situation. Well, not the no use of the legs, but having a disability. You know what I mean. And the way people around him deal with it is fascinating - Lucy is the helpful one, who tells him where the toast is and makes sure he doesn't spill tea on himself, whereas Jackson is the one who deliberately moves things around to stuff him up. Cute.

Jack's absence is also interesting. I liked how he fell off a cliff, and then Ciaran's response to it - literally, "what a day to fall off a cliff". Made me laugh out loud. He's got a pretty dry sense of humour which I think will make him a rather endearing narrator. That and the self-deprecating sarcasm, like we should be jealous becuase he's the only one who's allowed to have a quill make notes for him. I liked it.

Still, it did interest me that Jack had broken his legs and that was keeping him away from school. It had to be a recent injury, right? Because otherwise he would have gone straight to St Mungo's and been released an hour or so later. But then I guess if he was with Muggles or Muggles found him, then calling 999 would be the obvious thing to do. So maybe I'm reading too much into it.

Anyway, it's a good start to a story. I look forward to reading on. :)

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #43, by melianTo Prevent An Unfortunate Series of Events : Unrelenting

8th April 2017:
Hi Meg! Thought I'd drop by to see what's all the fuss was about. Everyone seems to be talking about this story, hahaha.

Anyway. I'll say right out that time travel is not usually my thing. It's cliched and the fish out of water thing usually runs its course in about 3 chapters. This, though, is more promising. I've learnt why Hermione was sent back (to stop Peter Pettigrew from going rogue) and I also know how she plans to do it (telling Dumbledore about the Horcruxes). The dalliance with Sirius, which I assume will happen given you've laid all the ground work, will be a distraction but I'm sure she'll get there in the end.

There were some cute aspects to this chapter too I thought. Hermione accepting she will get yet another invitation to the Slug Club is one of them. The slip of the tongue that has her calling Lily "Lily Potter" is another. And Hermione asking is she would be allowed to murder someone on her first (or was it second?) day is a third. It's this kind of attention to detail that makes people want to read on.

And so, what's next? Sirius is indeed unrelenting - he has found what he considers to be a worthwhile challenge in this new girl. James is of course also unrelenting (see how I'm using your chapter title here? Teehee) but we expect that in a Marauder era fic. And Hermione certainly has ​her work cut out for her.

I thought this was a very interesting snippet from what is probably an even more interesting story. Once this crazy month is over I might even get a chance to come back and read it all. Lovely job!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #44, by melianHer Favorite Holiday: Her Favorite Holiday

4th April 2017:
Oh, how heartbreaking! That was just the sweetest, most adorable story about Molly and Arthur, and then you went and did that to me. How dare you!!!

In all seriousness, though, that was an awesome twist. I totally did not see it coming. What with the memories of Valentines DAy and the engagement of Teddy and Victoire and his thoughts as he saw everyone leaving the florist and the reaction of young Alexander to him leaving early to see Molly, that really was not what I was expecting. Though, I guess, coming from you that shouldn't surprise me. REally well done and you got maximum impact. And then to say it was the first one he'd faced alone ... well that brought tears to my eyes. Very well done, madam, extremely well done.

Overall you've just done a really good job at evoking so many emotions. There is romantic love and familial love, work and play, love and death. It all weaves itself together so beautifully even as it's tearing your heart in half. It's been a long time since I've seen these themes done so seamlessly and I think this story will stay with me for a long time. Beautifully written and so eloquent. Loved it. Wished there was more of it.

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #45, by melianIrrevocable: Irrevocable

4th April 2017:
Aw, Rita! This was lovely. I'm not a Snily fan, myself, but I can see how you could read this story into the canon. Or, even if you didn't, that's cool too. I'm aware that not everyone is a canon nerd like me, hahahaha.

You had me going at first, though, with the dream sequence. I'm sure that's what you were going for, of course, but that doesn't make it any the less dramatic. Because the affair was believable, even if that wasn't initially what I had thought the weekly meetings were about. (Yes, okay, that's my Snily prejudice coming out again, I admit it. I just thought it was a platonic thing. So yeah, that kind of threw me ...)

And seeing James as the safe and logical choice, well that kind of threw me as well. Because that was never how I saw their relationsihp. But in this context, yes, I can get that. Especially because James had money, and Severus didn't, and that would make a huge difference, especialy if Lily's family hadn't had much to start with. (And that was the image I got from Snape's memories, rightly or wrongly.) Riches can be very seductive. So yes, from that perspective he is the safe and logical choice - which is something I never thought I would say. See? You've got me re-assessing my whole understanding of the Lily/James relationship.

Sigh.

In other words, this was really well done, to make me reassess things like that.

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #46, by melianNot My Own: The Ultimatum

4th April 2017:
Hi! Here for a CTF review!

Well. This was intense. I admit I didn't read the first chapter and so it took a little bit of time to figure out what was happening, but I got there in the end. Must be something, becoming a werewolf, mustn't it? I confess that things like the heightened sense of smell had never really occurred to me, but then again I can't say I've ever given much thought to what it must be like to actually become the wolf. This is probably because I"ve never written a fic that has required that, but that's my loss, by the looks of things. It makes sense, given the lupine nature of the beast you become, that you would become more sensitive to things like smell, but having it spelled out like this really made me think.

And Rhea. An original character, I expect, but a good one. There would have to be a second in command in the werewolf ranks, wouldn't there? After all, Greyback isn't infallible, as we learned in the Battle of Hogwarts. So someone like Rhea would have to exist, but again, I'd never thought much about it. YOu clearly have. She's an interesting character, and I can tell you've given her a lot of thought, even from that small taste you've given us. And that ultimatum! Heavens. I don't blame James for baulking at it, but I can totally see where she's coming from. No killing? Fine. Just bite someone. So easy for someone like her or Fenrir; so impossible for someone like James or Remus. And so perfect for this chapter.

This is really intriguing. Once CTF is over you might well see me back again to see where it leads. :)

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #47, by melianOnly Yesterday: Only Yesterday

4th April 2017:
Awww, this is just gorgeous. The prospect of your daughter getting married will of course bring back all those memories of her as a teenager, as a child, as a baby, and you showed that really well. I suspect all parents have the tiniest of conflict (or perhaps a large one) when their children start taking these steps as adults, and I could feel Ron's trepidation. Yes he was proud of his daughter, and yes he was happy for her, but he still thought of her as his little girl. And that's normal.

Of course, that's also something young Scorpius will have to deal with, but then again when you marry into the WEasley family I suspect you'd have a good idea of what you were getting into.

I find it interesting that we dont' get much of an idea of how Hermione is feeling at this point, but that's okay. She would have had her moments of pride and solidarity (I can so see them bonding over the size of the library at Hogwarts) and really, she can be very business-like when there are things to get done. It wasn't for nothing that JKR described her as the brains of the operation, whereas Ron was the heart. And that's what we're seeing here. Great job!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #48, by melianApple Island: water's edge

4th April 2017:
Ah. What a fabulous story! The hopelessness of Andromeda comes through tangibly, like I can almost hold it in my hand. And the missing time! I thought at first it was a perspective thing - time on Apple Island moves at a different pace to that on the rest of the world - but then I realised it was just symptomatic of Andromeda's daily struggles, her being lost in the past. Yes it had really been eight years since Teddy and Victoire went missing; yes Molly really had been dead for a year; and yes poor Audrey was sick of telling her that her grandmother (not mother) was dead. Magical Alzheimers, if you will.

I also liked the characterisation of Teddy and Victoire as free spirits, going to wherever their whim took them at the time and forgetting to get in touch with anyone who might have missed them. I haven't read a lot of next-gen stuff and as such I dont' have a very solid idea of their personalities, but that really works for me. I have no idea why, but it does.

And Andromeda. Poor Andromeda. Making tea for people who will never come; losing touch with reality as she falls further and further into her own head. The kelpie was a nice touch too. I thought at first it was a Thestral but the kelpie really worked, and the idea of Apple Island intrigues me. I'm fascinated that this is the translation of Avalon - something else I know very little about, I"m afraid - and the way you took this little-known fact and built this whole story around it is incredible. I think this is how I will see the elderly Andromeda from now on. Brilliant job.

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #49, by melianThe Internal Monologue of Louis Arnaud Weasley: Faustina

4th April 2017:
Wow. I feel like I need a dictionary just to read this. Are you sure you're not a Ravenclaw?

This was a really interesting read. The idea of someone who was injected with Thestral serum as a child - as Louis says, what sort of parent would even consider doing that to their own child? It's a fascinating what-if, though - as hypotheticals go it's certainly one of the more intriguing I've come across, fan fiction or otherwise. Interesting, too, that Faustina describes herself as deformed, yet that's not how Louis sees her. I'm not sure it's death, as Louis surmises, so much as perspective perhaps? Is it that she really is cured/de-flawed, somehow, or is it just that this is how Louis sees her? It could easily be either and I kind of like how it was left open like that.

I liked also the idea of being raised by scientist Muggles, and her rejection of science (because that was what made her what she was) was overcome by the simple act of being loved by someone who practiced it in a different way. Maybe that was what took her to Hogwarts, too - the prospect of being accepted for who and what she was. That final scene certainly gives that impression.

A very well written, thought provoking piece. Nice work!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #50, by melianJust Friends: Change

4th April 2017:
Aw. This was so sweet and fluffy I feel like I 'm going to sink right into it. I really like the idea of Dean and Lavender, probably because they both felt a little under-developed in the main canon. I'm not blaming JKR for this as I know she had backstories for everyone, but they just didn't get a lot of page time, notwithstanding Lavender's fling with Ron in sixth year. This is a really nice exploration of them both, though, a few years after the battle. That makes them both that little bit more mature, that little bit more sure of who they are and what they want out of life, and don't you think that just makes all the difference?

That being said, though, you never really grow out of the nervousness and apprehension that comes with trying out a new relationship. Especially when you're friends first, because you risk losing that friendship. And you've captured that to a T I think - Dean stumbling over his words, misunderstanding Lavender's reaction - you've got the whole thing down pat. That's not as easy to do as some would think so well done on that.

All in all this was a really nice little one-shot and one that I'm glad to have stumbled across.

cheers Mel

Author's Response: Yes, I know what you mean - they were kinda under-developed and I had so much fun building upon their personalities here, so am happy you liked it! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>