Reading Reviews From Member: person
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by personIgnite: Embers

3rd November 2013:
You are amazing. Thank you for your beautiful writing. I look forward to your next story please? :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The next story will no doubt be out very soon, a direct sequel to Ignite. Cheers for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #2, by personMarked: The Price of Living

24th September 2012:
I agree, the story would make a great short story if you ended it here. I'm not sure whether lengthening it would make it better overall- perhaps it is one of those stories that are best left short. BUT I am also selfish, and don't want it to end! You are such a great writer anyway that you'd no doubt be able to do amazing things with it. So, I vote, carry on! :D

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for your thoughts and opinion. I'm still really up in the air about it, because there are other projects I would like to start on, but this one has turned out to be more fun than I was expecting.

I'm also really glad you're enjoying the story. Thanks for taking a moment to review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by personRun: Newcomers

6th September 2012:
:o That was one of the best (if not THE best) fanfictions I have ever read. It had everything in it- drama, action, romance, thriller/suspense, and most of all, originality. I LOVED how you alternated the action chapters of each round with little 'intermissions', some of them almost like beautifully written oneshots, and the way you effortlessly wove so many little backstories and backgrounds to all the characters. You made every character real, and it's amazing how you stayed faithful to the books, yet developed the characters in your own way too. So many details included in all the intermissions, yet never did it sound like mechanical descriptions. Argh, there are so many things I loved about your story-I could go on forever!! Oh and another thing- the way you skip between the various characters' viewpoints is awesome- so much potential there to be confusing, but with your writing it was so clear what was going on all the time!
I can't quite remember the chapters I like BEST, but one or two stick in my mind- one earlier on about Snape's love for Lily (there are countless oneshots out there on this topic, but the way you wrote it was out of this world), and also Blue and Bronze- the underlying tension in that chapter due to the upcoming final round, and the way it permeates everything and everyone who lives in the place. The way Snape is cheered up by Rowena (I LOLed at the woman tripping over the pothole! reminded me of a time when I watched people step in a pile of dog poo when I was little! I still feel ashamed of it now...)
It's funny; it makes so much more sense that there's a place such as Witching...although from the beginning it was clear that Cliodna's Clock was supposed to be kinda like 'heaven', and the Grotta 'hell', I always got such a dull impression of Cliodna's Clock. It was a place where people just carried on living, and carried on their same petty prejudices and disagreements, and it felt like all the days were the same, same, same, with the tournament being the only thing that broke the monotony of the place. I always pictured the place with a perpetually gray sky- light, but cloudy, and the buildings slightly rundown. It was particularly during...I THINK it was the Blue and Bronze chapter, with the little morning scene at the Lupins? While it was describing a relatively happy and peaceful time for the couple, I still got so many negative connotations out of that little scene! I can't pick out the small details that made me feel this way from memory and I'm too lazy to check back, but it just felt to me so...depressing and slightly foreboding...not sure if you meant to give your readers that feeling when you write that; maybe I'm just reading into everything WAY to closely hehehe! But while it may have been your 'intermissions' I enjoyed reading the most, it was the overarching storyline that I liked the most; the way the 'action' chapters drove everything forward. I was almost too scared to read your last four chapters today; I was so worked up about the loser! When you first introduced all the contestants, I was hoping that someone like Pettigrew or Crabbe would come second place; then it wouldn't be too painful. But then as each round came and went, the losers were ALWAYS totally unexpected, and I was always rendered speechless and stunned at the end of each round. Fred and Colin being the final ones, in the Battle of Hogwarts...I terrified at what might happen. And Tonk's impersonation was such an unexpected twist! (though I feel like I should have seen it coming...) But I needn't have worried; you did a beautiful happy ending (it's not that I would've hated you if you did a bittersweet/sad ending, but the happy ending's made me so much happier! :D ) My jaw dropped when "Fred"'s ear (or rather, the lack of it) was commented on, and I realised what had happened! And also the way Mrs Weasley saw the twins talking; that brought tears to my eyes. Phew, I've probably gone over the character limit for this review, I suppose that's what happens when I hold off reviewing until the very last chapter. I hope everything above makes sense, but I wouldn't be surprised if it didn't; I've kinda jumped all over the place, and included entirely too many exclamation marks in an effort to convey my excitement and gushing-ness of this review! Oh yes, and one last question: did you always plan for the ending to be like what it was? Or was there an alternate ending that was competing in your head when you were writing the story? Ok, that's it for now...you have an absolutely beautiful writing style, and this is my favourite story out of all your work on this site so far! Much love and thanks for many hours of good reading!
person.

Author's Response: It has taken me shamefully long to answer this review. I find the long, lovely ones the most intimidating to respond to. Oh my goodness, what to address first? I'll start with the end - your question. It was always meant to come down to Fred and Colin, but for a while I did debate whether or not to pass on Witching and have Colin properly die. But since I needed Colin to get that photograph to Spinner's End via the shoe in the wrong door, I couldn't take that route anyway.

I'm so pleased with everything you said about Cliodna's Clock. On the surface it's supposed to be this deceptively nice place, but as it turns out not having to work or worry about war or do /anything/, really, does not equate nirvana. Their lives are so boring and essentially meaningless, and the only break in the monotony is the races. People wonder why anyone joins up, but I think that's why. You'd get so bored out of your mind after a year of doing absolutely nothing that a little bit of risk would start to sound appealing.

This is my favorite thing I've written on the archive, I think, and I couldn't be happier about the response it's gotten. I still can't believe how many people have read it and enjoyed it. It was so much fun for me to imagine all of the details that would go into such a place, and what life would be like, and to have readers explore it along with me was the most amazing experience. I'm so thankful.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by personThe Quiet Outcast: Hugo Weasley: Part II

5th June 2012:
Wow. Thankyou for an amazing story. Skimming over your other HPFF stories, I agree that you have come a long way, this story is really something else compared to your other work. This last chapter was perhaps my favourite- everything you said in the AN is so true, and this story, this chapter, particularly, reflects what you said. I love how you had just the right amount of cliche in this chapter-I started rolling my eyes (but in a happy way!) when Nolan started dishing out the extra points, but burst out laughing when it earned Hufflepuff only a third placing- the cause for celebration in that is itself a reflection of some of the themes in your story.
I love how your story is so original, and really reveals a different side/perspective on the characters compared to other nextgen fanfictions. And also how you effortlessly tied in Ron's insecurities into this chapter.
The story has come a long way since it first began, and your writing has too.
Thankyou for the story, it was amazing to read.

Author's Response: Oh, you could not be more right; my stories have definitely come a long way. This last chapter has been in my head ever since chapter one; I always had plans for Ron and Hugo, always had Hugo and Connie being together, and always had Hufflepuff finishing in third. It was the way I always wanted it to end. Your words have been unbelievably kind and extremely comforting. Your reading and support for this story mean so much to me. Thank you, so, so much! I can't say it enough.

 Report Review

Review #5, by personMyself and Others: Prologue: Before Growing Up

28th April 2012:
Nice start so far, hope the rest of the story and the plot line is just as good ;) Only thing that bugged me and made me nearly not click on this story- 'tendency', NOT tendancy! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't believe I missed that! And thank you for reviewing, I hope you enjoy the rest of it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by personSouthern Cross: The Hogwarts Kids

3rd March 2011:
this story is priceless!! I cracked up when I read that kakapos are used as the mailing system.
Very interesting spin you've put on everything, I'm really enjoying it!! I did cringe and bleed a little inwardly when I found their exam results are graded Excellence/Merit- I DO hate NCEA, haha :P
And I'm so glad that FINALLY!! there are some NZ language/landmarks after all that British and American stuff. Always hated doing Kiwiana/NZ authors etc at school, and never imagined I'd be so happy to see something NZ oriented...

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying it and understand all the references! Though I'm trying to make it understandable for all audiences, obviously there are things that only Kiwis would really get, so I'm glad to have a few of you among my readers :D Wait till you hear more about the school system...It is basically wizardified NCEA :P And I'm with you on the British/American references, though thery're excellent stories, there's nothing quite like a good slice of Kiwiana. *sniffs and begins humming national anthem...*

 Report Review

Review #7, by personResurrection: Chapter 4

26th March 2009:
aaarrgghh-*THE SUSPENSSSE*, please update soon, im really enjoying this :)

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by personCrimson Darkness: A Proposal

8th March 2009:
wow
just followed through the whole story and it. is. amazing.
i really like how you built voldermorts character, and how the plot seems really balanced between drama and action.
you are one amazing author. :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm happy that you gave my story a chance! I worried about balancing action chapters and dramatic chapters, so it's good to hear that you like the way the plot is unfolding. I'm so flattered that you like my writing! Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by personOur place: A visit too late

1st March 2009:
nice, veeerrry nice :) but sometimes i felt that the descriptions of the way she spoke broke up the flow a little, but wonderfully written :)

Author's Response: Oh ok, I'm try and work on that. Thanks for the review and critism, I'm glad you liked my story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by personHermione Granger and the Death Eater's Baby: Train Ride

19th January 2009:
loved it, thought it was hilarious, the portraits' personalities really entertaining, just awesome!!

wow, the others' reactions were so horrible!! is it realistic for them to be so nasty?? i mean, they always seemed like such nice friends...i guess people can change, hehehe

I reckon just be careful that it doesn't get too unoriginal with the hermione/draco getting together thing though, its really good now but if it becomes a main focus of the story then i reckon this story might become too much like other hermione/draco stories which would be really sad since the main idea (of the deatheater's baby) is so different!!

just my thoughts, please ignore them if you disagree with them, but great work!! I absolutely loved it!!

Author's Response: lol, thanks! Don't worry, it won't be completely centered around dramione!

 Report Review

Review #11, by person Contrition: Contrition

8th January 2009:
Two words: Just. Amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login