Reading Reviews From Member: Yoshi_Kitten
  
121 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Yoshi_KittenA Godlike Science: A Man of Letters

1st June 2012:
Tagged ya in the "Review the Person Above You" thread in the Gryffie CR! ;)

Ok, wow. So this was... deep. Very deep, lol. Altho I didn't [i]quite[/i] get it at first, one quick re-read helped me to understand it better. The first man was Regulus and the second was... Remus?? What I don't get tho is why Regulus would be writing to Remus. I didn't think those 2 were ever on speaking terms, lol.

Also, I didn't get what he was talking about in his letter when he said: "get in, get him, get out." If he was talking to Remus, then where was Remus supposed to be going, and who was he supposed to get? I understand that you only had 500 words to work with, but that part, to me, was the most confusing thing of all.

The thing I liked most about this one-shot tho was that it really makes you think. The emotion within it was incredible, and the descriptiveness was amazing for so few words being used! Kudos to you for taking part in this 500 word challenge; you definitely nailed it! Can't wait to see you write more stuff in the future. :)

Author's Response: Bonjour fellow Gryffie~

I didn't actually realise how confusing the correspondence between Regulus and Remus would have been until I got reviews, which is extremely stupid of me. In my head it just seems perfectly natural. I promise to ask for a beta in the future so that I don't get wrapped up in IDEAS! and TONE! at the expense of confusing readers.

I was sort of trying to keep the first note ambiguous - succeeded, unfortunately - but my favourite version of the reason for it was relating to Sirius. I had this idea that Regulus was a good person even in '75 when they were all teenagers, and that he'd secretly help Sirius escape the madhouse that is Grimmauld Place; he'd tell Remus rather than any of the others because Remus is the quietest and least likely, in Regulus' view, to do something stupid. Sirius would never find out because he'd be too occupied by the conflict between him and his parents, and Remus would never tell him. I s'pose the note could relate to anything that Blacks don't do, really. (That is an unfortunate choice of words.) But anyway. You're absolutely right, I could have and should have done that better.

Thank you ever so much for this great review, you've brought to my attention a glaring error, which is the loveliest thing ever. I'm not a masochist, I swear. :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Yoshi_KittenDifferent Deviants : Hogsmeade Hookups

10th January 2012:
Hahaha, I love you PP! Your AN's always make me giggle, lol!! I really like this chapter. It's odd to see a Longbottom in Slytherin, but she certainly does have all the right traits to be in that house. Her little "outsider" quirks remind me of Neville. He IS her dad, correct? Just making sure I'm keeping track ok, lol... ^_^'

I really like the way you have written Aurora's character. I've not read too many personalities like hers before, so it's good to have a nice change. The fact that she is just 1 of 3 is also interesting, even tho she is set apart from the other two. I can't wait to learn more about Astra & Aiden as well!

There were so many other things here that sparked my interest, apart from Aurora and her family that is. Like Al's "nightmares" and the introduction of so many new characters. But most importantly I am dying to know more about this Psych-Ward scandal thingy... You're such a tease with your cliffhanger endings, lol! I know all about RL getting in the way of updates tho. My own story hasn't been updated in a YEAR!! But even still, I do hope that another update will be up soon tho... Pretty please?? ;)

Oh, and just so you know, I AM available to make a CI for this chapter whenever you are ready for it! I'm not filling anything else right now, nor have I entered any challenges lately. So just fill out the form and feel free to hit me up in the "Specific Artist" section at TDA whenever. :)

Hmmm... what else? Oh yes, as for my thoughts on pie; I'm actually more of a cheesecake person, truth be told. But Cherry Pie is definitely the best, if you're really gonna make me pick, lol!!! XD

Author's Response: So sorry I'm late in replying to this!!!

hehe Yes Neville is Aurora's father. She was just MADE for Slytherin. I had so much fun writing her. She has such a unique personality and she brings so much to the story (more to come in later chapters). She is one of three!!! That will be very important later. ;) You'll get to see a bit of Astra in the next chapter. Hope you like her too!! She's very different than Aurora.

Al's nightmares probably won't get discussed much more further than this. Though I might write a one shot about it in the future if enough people are interested. But for right now you'll just have to use your imagination.

Psych-ward scandal thing is BIG. Just remember it because it's not going to show up again for a few chapters.

I am working my butt off trying to get chapter four finished. I have about 500 more words to write and then I have to send it to my beta. So hopefully within the next month!!!

Thanks so so so much for reviewing this!!!

PP


 Report Review

Review #28, by Yoshi_KittenDifferent Deviants : Breakin' It Down

22nd April 2011:
Hey Robbi!! Thot I'd give this a quick read before I set out to make the Chapter Image for it... This chapter is REALLY GOOD, and such a great way to start off what I am now positive will be a fabulous next-gen. story!!! I love the first-person POV, and was shocked to hear that this was your 1st attempt at writing it! Your writing style is so great here that you almost seem like a natural, haha!! And I didn't really see any spelling errors, but there were a few missing commas in some places. So whatever you're doing; do keep it up hun! =)

The absence of some of the names I have become familiar with thru reading other next-gens (i.e. Dominique, Molly II, & Fred II) took some time to adjust too in the beginning, but the characters you have added in place of them seem to be really well thought out. I especially loved Wilfred, lol, but I cannot wait to learn more about each and every one of them as this story progresses... I also cannot wait to make Chapter Images for each of them as well - if you'll still have me after the 1st one gets finished that is, lol!! =P

There were SO MANY other things about this that I absolutely loved tho... Like the new History of Magic teacher, Henrick Henwick, (very creative name btw) and the way that Proff. Binns got blown away by the wind - too funny, haha!! Roses personality is addicting, and I love her sense of humor too! I also enjoy the way that Rose acts like she can't stand Scorpius sometimes, like when he smirked at her in the beginning, and yet she is so obviously into him, lol! I sense that the 2 of them will end up together very soon, no? ;)

I promise I will get started on the image for this chappie ASAP!! I have already added this story to my favorites, and will be eagerly awaiting your next update soon, haha!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review!!! You get a cookie!! *hands cookie*

I'm so glad you think I made a good first attempt at first person!! I tried so hard to make it sound okay, so I'm glad my hard work paid off :) I hate commas DX hehe

Molly is here.and Fred is just Wilfred XD I excluded Dom, Lucy, and Roxanne (all girls) in favor of some boys! XD Oh and Technically I just changed Fred to Wilfred and made him a girl lol. I wanted to do something a little different and I hope my changes pay off.

Wilfred!! She is SUCH a cool character and I can't wait to write from her perspective (another funny/humor/fluff chapter). :D

Henrick, ah my brainchild. You will see lots more of him (as he is the only teacher I have planned out XD) in upcoming chapters :) Binn's story will also come back to into play later!!

Rose!! She was so much fun to write, I absolutely had a great time incorporating her character and personality into her homework assignment :) Hehe Rose is a little frustrated with Scorpius (because obviously she's head over heels for him but doesn't want to admit it), but the frustration will be to her advantage later ;)

Scorpius's POV is up next!! ;) You'll enjoy it I'm sure ;)

Thanks again for the review!!

PP


 Report Review

Review #29, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: Arriving At Hogwarts

18th April 2011:
Oh for the love of god, I just realized that I accidentally put some of my comments for this chapter in my review of the last chapter, lol! Oops!! I just read 2 chapters back-to-back and so I got mixed up. So everything I said about Ron in my last review SHOULD HAVE been stated here, lol!! Oops!! ^_^;

I guess I'll take so me time here then to say a few more things about the last chapter, since I already talked about this chapter back there, haha!! One thing I wanted to point out was how Aaron kind of reminded me a little of Draco, the way he was always teasing her like that. Stupid git. Oh well, I suppose there has always got to be one of those kids in every school, no matter where you go, lol!

The transition between her 1st year and 6th year was also very nice and smooth. I thought that you did a really nice job with that and it doesn't feel anywhere near as rushed now!! Great work, and kudos to your Beta as well! Beta Readers make the word a far better place, as far as I am concerned, lol! I know that I would certainly be lost without either one of mine, haha!! ;)

But anyways, moving onto the correct chapter now. from what I can remember, this chapter seems to be pretty much the same as it was before for the most part. I was glad to see that you did make an author's note about the language thing at the beginning of the chapter. It was a whole lot less distracting that way, haha!!

I also find it really cool to be reading about Hogwarts from the perspective if someone who has no idea what all of it is about yet. I mean, she doesn't even know who Harry is yet, lol! This is why I love HPFF so much, you know? Because thru reading & writing, we can rediscover Hogwarts and the world of HP thru our own characters, and in our own way!

And even tho I already know all of the faces and all of the places, I absolutely love being inside of Jayde's head here and watching as she makes the same discoveries that we made thru Harry over 10 years ago when SS came out!! So thanks for writing such a fabulous story, my dear, and for coming up with such a marvelous character like Jayde Newsome!! She really is the best, and I cannot wait to learn more about her character as she grows and learns to control her new-found powers, haha!! =)

Author's Response: Haha, again, the mix-up's totally okay! I'm glad the transition between her school years was much smoother, and I totally agree that Betas make the world a better place!!

And yes, Aaron IS a bit like Draco, and I'm glad you caught on to that; that'll be a major factor in events that take place later on!! *winks* And yes, there's always someone like that everywhere you go; at least, in my experience anyway.

And thank you for pointing out that the way I had the Author's notes was distracting! I'm so glad you did, so that I could go back and change those things while I was changing everything else!

And I totally agree, it's amazing to re-discover Hogwarts through the eyes of another character. Some stories I've read stick strictly with the originals, but still add in another character we didn't know about and give you a whole new view of what happened in the series; it's amazing!

Awww, thanks for saying my character's marvelous!! I promise, there's more about her and her powers in the coming chapters!!

Thanks SO MUCH, Deana! *hugs*



 Report Review

Review #30, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: Dunamase Institute of Magical Learning

18th April 2011:
Ok, wow, I said I wanted more detail about the school and you certainly did deliver in that department, lol! Well done!! I love that you went back and took a little bit of extra time to paint a more clear picture of what Dunamase looks like in the reader's mind. The school feels really homey, and I like it a lot. It's no wonder poor Jayde didn't ever want to leave there. :(

I still cracked up at the Irish spat between Ron and Hermione, lol. That is so like Ron. Oh, and Idk if I mentioned this before, but I also love it how she keeps calling Ron "Ronald" in her head, lol. I would love to hear her call him Ronald out loud, because Mrs. Weasley is the only other one who ever calls him that, haha! :p

Your line spacing and paragraph format has greatly improved, which makes the overall flow much, much better now. You are improving hun, and I still love this story so much! Jayde is so unique and original. You are doing a fabulous job my dear, keep it up!! =)

Author's Response: Haha, now I see what you mean about the mix-up! It's totally okay though sweetie, whichever chapter the reviews are for, they're still amazing and I LOVE YOU for them! *hugs*

I'm so glad you liked the more detail about Dunamase; I did that JUST FOR YOU! I'm glad it came across as 'homey' too, that's what I was aiming for; a small little school that's quite a bit different from Hogwarts.

I'm so glad that you get the whole Irish arguement; FINALLY someone gets my dry, sarcastic humor, lol! Haha, I was going for that whole "new person, call them what they're introduced to you as" thing with her calling Ron "Ronald" in her head; I didn't realize until just now that I didn't show her calling him Ronald out loud, haha!

I'm SO glad I took your advice and took the time to go back and edit these chapters; for the line spacing, description, and everything else. Again, thank you SO MUCH! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #31, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: A Difficult Decision

17th April 2011:
Hello Jayde!! I have a bit of free-time today (finally) and so I've decided to sit down and read a few of your newly edited chapters, haha!! =)

First of all, let me just start by saying WOW!! This was so different, but in a really good way, lol! I mean, it was like reading something out of a different story entirely! You have improved SO MUCH girl, this was amazing!!!I love how much more detail you've included here, and the dialogue flows together so much more smoothly now.

It's the little things; like adding how much the Goblins terrified her, and putting in little details about the wand shopkeeper's squeaky voice and height, that make the story so much more rich. It definitely came across as far more real this time, and Jayde seems a lot more relatable now, that's for sure. Not that this was a bad chapter before, because it wasn't, not by a long shot! But this new version is just amazing!! You've gotten SO much better Jayde, and I am so proud of you hun!! *hugs*

10/10 - because you deserve it after all the hard work you have clearly put into this, haha!! I can't wait to see what all you've added in when she goes to Dunamase too, haha!!

~Deana~

Author's Response: Aww, Deana! *SQUEE!* You're gonna make me cry!! Thank you SO MUCH for reading and reviewing! I'm really, really glad you thought this was an improvement!

I have to give a LOT of credit to my Beta; she's absolutely amazing! *Does happy dance* Yay for the story being more rich and real, and for Jayde being more relatable!!

*Hugs back* You're making me blush! I really almost cried when I saw the last bit, with the 10/10 up there and your explanation. You have NO IDEA how much you really just made my day, dear!! *Super hugs*

THANK YOU SO MUCH!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Yoshi_KittenIn Which There Is No You or I: Five

24th February 2011:
Hello again! Sorry it has taken me so long to finish these reviews for you. I have been working a LOT of overtime at work these past few weeks... But now that I have a day off, I can finally leave you a couple more! :)

Oh wow, I totally did not see that one coming!! It is so horrible to think that her sister and brother-in-law are dead, yet it was so wonderfully written at the same time! I am assuming that this is Voldemort'/s work, no doubt? Is this, perhaps, the event that made her decide to join the Order of the Phoenix and want to fight back?

I felt so bad for Hestia in the last chapter too, tho I kind of had a feeling that she would end up being the reason that Hera and Ryan would meet. Her sister was kind of acting like non-12+ word there tho. I mean, instead of talking the time to notice that her sister was clearly crushing on this guy, instead she only focused on herself and what SHE wanted. So to me, Hera seems kind of like the preppy, spoiled, selfish type. And poor Ryan - caught in the middle of 2 sisters like that, haha! ^_^'

That being said, I still did not wish to see either of them dead. Poor Hestia. Not only does she have to live with the fact that she cheated with her sister's husband, but now they're both dead too so she will never have the chance to make amends with either of them. I wonder what Hera and Ryan did to make the Death Eaters come after them tho. That part has me curious. What were they being tortured for? Information? I don't know, but I hope I will find out...

Your writing is beautiful. Short and to the point, yet wonderful and chalked-full of description and emotions all at the same time!! I have developed a sort of love for this story, and despite everything that has happened, I still kind of hope that it has a semi-happy ending for Hestia.
10/10 -- Keep up the great work!! =)

Author's Response: You are right on with that idea about why she joined the Order! That was the original point to this story, so it's great that you picked that up.

As for Hera, she is just... used to getting what she wants, and what she wants more than anything is the perfect family. Unfortunately, she never stopped to think about what anyone else wanted :(

Ryan was tortured for information specifically about protection magic, as this takes palace between GoF and OotP, so he is still trying to figure out how to get around the protection magic that Harry has at the Dursley's.

I'm glad you've grown to love this story and thanks for reviewing!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #33, by Yoshi_KittenIn Which There Is No You or I: Two

17th February 2011:
Hello! RoxiMalfoy from the forums, here to begin this review swap!! Now I know I said that I would leave a review on the first & last chapters, but the first one was rather short, so I decided to just combine the first 2 chapters into 1 review! :)

In chapter 1: I thot that the introduction you gave was very good, and I liked how it introduced us to the main characters. I never knew Hestia had a sister tho - or did you just make that up? If so then you did a really great job naming her. Hestia & Hera go together well. They totally sound like sister names, lol! I am interested in knowing more about this affair tho, and what drove her to do such a thing to her own sister. I'll try not to be too judgey of her character tho, until I've heard the rest of her story... The tense thing was a little weird for me at first, so I'm glad you explained what was going on in an Author's Note at the end of chapter 1. I was getting used to it by the ending tho, and I actually quite like the layout of this a lot. It's unique and totally unlike anything I think I have ever read on this site before. Great job! :)

And now for the chapter 2 notes: Your description of everything was fantastic, and your attention to detail is amazing! I especially loved her first reaction to the library, and the room itself was very cool to read about. I loved how she was all shy one minute, but then the next she was so talkative when she realized that they had something in common. Ryan really seems like a sweet guy, and I am really liking his character a lot so far! The dialogue between the two was so natural, and I thot that it flowed really well! And the way you're using the magic here is so unique, original, fresh and fascinating. I especially like the way that it directly connects us with the Potterverse. So many stories out there tend to be so "mugglized" and they leave out the usage of magic altogether. Stuff like that always bothers me, so I'm glad to see that this one seems like it'll be filled with lots & lots of magic!! =)

All in all I think this story is excellent, just based on the little bit that I have read so far. It's original and it holds the readers attention, so well done!! I have added this story to my favorites now, and I can't wait to read more! You are an excellent writer, so I'm sure the rest will be just as great as this! 10/10

Author's Response: It's funny you should say that they sound like sister names, because both names are from Greek mythology, where Here and Hestia are sisters! I'm glad you like the layout, because I know it can be confusing!

The magic Hestia and Ryan worked on is very important to the story even if I don't touch on it too specifically. I've always wanted to add a bit more history into the magic used in stories, so I'm happy that you liked that!

So happy you enjoyed it and I'm so sorry it's taken me this long to get to responding to this! Thanks for the review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #34, by Yoshi_KittenThey All Fall Down: III. Murder the Third

16th February 2011:
*Gasps* That dirty little cheater; there is NO WAY he's the "good guy" that everyone keeps saying he is!! AND OMG VICTOIRE IS DEAD?!? That is so horrible! Who would do such a thing!! Holy cow, I really have no idea what to think here... At first I totally thot it was Teddy, I mean, I was SO SURE that it was Teddy. He has the demeanor and sketchiness of a killer and everything! But then, why would he kill his own wife in cold blood like that? I mean, I know she's a spazz and everything, but she is still the mother of his child. Now, I could see him offing the Ex Death Eaters because, well, they are the reasons he grew up with no parents. So it would make sense for Teddy to have a grudge against them... But Victoire? What really good motive would he have for that - other than the fact that he was unhappy with their marriage? =/

So now I am starting to think it was Roxanne, especially after the killer directly said that Victoire was getting in the way of everything. She does seem to have the most motive in the case if this particular murder. (Or maybe that's just what you want me to think, lol! ^_~ ) But I just can't see why she would kill McNair and the other Death Eater tho. Like I already said: Teddy would make more sense for those killings. Hmm... maybe she just copied the first murder to kill Victoire, so that that way her death would just get blamed on the serial killer instead of coming back on her. Could there possibly be TWO killers in this, but everybody just thinks it's the same person doing it??? Or maybe they're both in it together; like Bonnie & Clyde, and they somehow planned all of this, lol!!

I'm just making wild guess here, because I really have NO idea at this point, lol! I guess I'll just have to read on to find out what happens next!! ^_^' This is SUCH an awesome story Melissa, and you are a genius for writing it!!! 10/10

~Deana~

Author's Response: Hey again!! I love reading all the speculations here. :P Imagine me sitting and steepling my fingers laughing an epic villain laugh. :P I'm so appreciative of your reviews and apologize for having taken so long to answer them.

 Report Review

Review #35, by Yoshi_KittenThey All Fall Down: II. Murder the Second (Revisited)

16th February 2011:
Back again!! I really liked the character development in this chapter. I think that James, so far, is my favorite out of the three of them. He just can't be the killer; he can't be, lol! There is still something about Teddy that doesn't sit right with me... All that talk about becoming famous - more famous than Harry Potter, and wanting to be a celebrity and get recognized. I don't know, but his thirst for the spotlight kind of makes me uneasy about him. That; plus he's cocky, and has an attitude, and to me it doesn't seem like he takes his job all too seriously. Teddy also had more opportunity than anyone else that was there to wipe their only witnesses memory clean. I mean, he was there talking alone with the guy, and his mind didn't go blank until he looked up and (probably) recognized (or was about to recognize) Teddy's face. It was a little bit TOO convenient, if you ask me...

Forgive me if I am making the wrong accusations here, but Teddy comes across as the type of person who only cares about himself, his needs, and his wants. But I suppose I'll just have to wait and see about him I guess, haha! Oh, and I forgot to mention in my review of the last chapter that James' girlfriend seems really sweet. Is she by chance the daughter of Seamus Finnigan? If so then that's really cool; I like the connection you made there with your own OC. I hope nothing bad happens to her in this... This story is SO good Melissa! Thank you SO MUCH for requesting it, cuz Idk if I would have found it any other way. I LOVE this, and I can't put it down!!! 10/10 =)

~Deana~

Author's Response: I'm all about character development, and tend to always end up writing character studies without plots. :-/ this fic as wayyy outside of my comfort zone. Kara is Seamus' daughter. I'm glad you like this story!! I'm planning on starting to write the sequel soon so I hape to see you when it is posted!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Yoshi_KittenThey All Fall Down: I. Murder the Second

16th February 2011:
Hey Melissa, I am finally here to review as promised! Sorry it took me so long to get to this... So let me just start by saying WOW! What a gripping beginning you have here!! I mean, whoa, this was so thrilling! And your description right at the beginning, when you were talking about the alleyway, was great. Everything here was written with just enough detail, and yet it was all still very shot and simple. I really liked that a lot! :)

This sure does make James look pretty guilty, lol! But then again, Teddy's character seems like more the "murdering" type, if you know what I mean. Cuz what was with him staring at the wall like that? What was on his mind, besides Victoire's nagging, hmm? He did seem awfully distracted... I guess I'll just have to wait until the end to find out tho! I am hooked on this, and I cannot wait to read more!! =)
10/10

~Deana~

Author's Response: Heyyy. Thank you so much for your review. :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: Routines

8th February 2011:
This was such a good chapter; Jayde's powers are SO fascinating!! I'm so happy she's finally starting to get the hang of it. What she did to make it snow in the Great Hall was so cool! :)

I think that the prospect of having another grand ball at Hogwarts is an interesting one. I can't help bit wonder what Professor Trelawney's big prediction was tho, haha! I love it how unenthusiastic Jayde is about all of it, and how she's not so much of a girly-girl in this. She cracks me up, lol! And OMGosh, her dress sounds SO beautiful... I'm almost inspired to make another chapter image for you now- one of her in a purple dress, lol! ^_~

Ooh, Jayde has a secret admirer, haha!! It's probably Draco, isn't it? I keep wondering when and how those two are gonna get together, cuz I just know it's going to happen here eventually! It's inevitable - pun intended, rotfl! Keep up the awesome work Jayde, you are such a great writer!! =D

Author's Response: ANOTHER review! You're too awesome! :-) I'm glad you think Jayde's powers are awesome.

Honestly, I meant Dumbledore's speech about Professor Trelawney's prediction that there will be a ball that "changes the fate of the universe" to be one big joke..basically, Trelawney gave this prediction and Dumbledore didn't believe it, but used it as an excuse to throw a ball anyway. I'm actually considering, during the editing process, changing things around a bit and making the ball one of Slughorn's parties instead.. but I just can't decide! Jayde's a bit like me in her "non-girly-girl" ways, lol. The dress is beautiful, though, I've got an image saved on my computer of what it looks like, if you want to see it. Yay for me inspiring you to make another chapter image!

Yep, Jayde's got a secret admirer! I can't tell you if it's Draco.. it'd ruin it! LOL! Yes, it is "Inevitable"! Thank you SO much, Roxi!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: Stormy Weather

8th February 2011:
Hey Jayde, I'm finally here to review this edited chapter!! Sorry it took me so long to get to this... RL sucks sometimes, lol! ^_^'
Anyways, I must say that my favorite part about this was the bit you added in about her playing in the snow. That was SO freaking cute, especially when she was trying to sneak up on the owl, lol! I don't know if this was intentional or not; but by adding in that part there, it helped me to see why it snows whenever she is happy later on in the story. :)

Another thing I loved about this was Ms. Fitzpatrick's reaction to Mrs. McGreggor, lol! It was so realistic, and so very in character for how I imagined her. This was a million times better than before, I cannot believe how much you are improving! I am SO glad you are taking the time to go back and edit these first few chapters; it's like a whole new story now, lol! And whoever your Beta is for this, tell them they're doing a super-fantastic job, cuz I didn't spot any grammar errors or misplaced/missing commas at all!! This is SUCH a great story hun, I can't wait to see what you will change/remove/add in the next few chapters as well!! =)

Oh, and BTW, I might be a little bit biased in saying this here... but the chapter image you added at the beginning of this looks pretty great too, haha!! =P
- A well deserved 10 outta 10, for sure!! ^_~

Author's Response: Awww, Roxi! *Tears*

You just made my day. No, really! I had a horrible day at work and then I come home to find this review?! Awww! Thank you so much!

I agree, RL does suck sometimes :-( I'm just glad that you thought it was an improvement! Yay! I was aiming for "cute" when I wrote in the bit about her playing in the snow.. she really loves snow, which is why it snows when she's happy..because snow makes her happy! LOL! It wasn't really "intentional", but once I added that bit I realized that was a perk!

Haha, yes, Ms. Fitzpatrick's reaction was very 'in character' for her, I'm glad you liked it! *Does happy dance* I'm so glad to hear I'm improving.. I'm seriously crying right now, no kidding! Yay for it being a million times better and like a whole new story! My Beta is amazing, I'll pass your compliments along to her! I'm going to re-submit chapter 3 tomorrow :-)

Teehee! *Speaks in sarcastic, high-pitched voice* Now why would you be biased about the chapter image?? Lol! I think it looks amazing, myself! Thank you SO much for the 10/10, and the review! I LAFF YOU!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Yoshi_KittenKeeping the Secret: Secret Friends

23rd January 2011:
I saw in your status that you only needed one more review to get to 100, and thot I might do the honors, haha!! (It's RoxiMalfoy from the forums, btw!) Ok, so let me just start off by saying how cute this was!! I have never read anything with a young Peter Pettigrew in it before, but I think you did an awesome job of capturing how I would have imagined his personality to be at that age. I could totally see him being the quite, shy kid before he went to Hogwarts and met James, Sirius & Remus. I mean, after all, he was always the quite one among the 4 of them too; wasn't he? ^_~

As for your OC; OMG, she is adorable!! Her family seems really sweet too, and I especially liked her older brothers, lol! I come from a big family too, so I could relate with all the sibling rivalry as well, haha! I also liked how you described Peter as being slightly envious of their closeness as a family too. That fits in very well with the character we all know he one day grows up to be. Speaking of which; the fact that his father was so strict is a very good insight as to why he may have grown up to be like that. So I thought that bit was very well done!

Another thing I really loved about this is how it all takes place within the Magical world. Everything was wizard related; like the dung bombs in the shower (lol), the boys asking to use the floo network instead of the car, the obvious muggle prejudices that Peter's dad showed, etc... A lot of the stories I've real always seem to be too mugglized, lol. (Is that even a word??) This story, however, does not seem to follow that trend; a fact which I really like a lot!! =)

You have captured the innocence of a young child here beautifully, especially with Deora. Everything from the mud on her face when she first got home to the bickering with her brothers was so perfectly characterized for a 10 year old. I felt so bad for Deora there at the end, the poor girl... Which brings me to: the Plot!! I really, really like it a lot! I especially enjoyed how it all ties in with the "Secret Friends" chapter title as well. But that could just me tho - I tend to like it more when the title of a chapter is actually mentioned somewhere within the chapter itself, haha. ^_^'

Overall, this story is off to a magnificent start, and I cannot wait to read more!! I can't guarantee that I will be able to review every single chapter tho, but I will certainly be adding this story to my favorites and finishing it out as I find the time to read more!! I really love Deora, and I cannot wait to see where you go with the rest of this story; especially once they get to Hogwarts!! We all know what house Peter gets sorted into, but I can't help but wonder which one she gets placed in as well. My hopes are with Gryffindor, but I guess I'll just have to read on and see, lol!! XD

And by the way, since you asked for favorites in your note at then end, THIS was my favorite quote here::
-- "Awe, Didi! Don't be such a party pooper!" Albert cried out immediately dropping his prior pretense of innocence. Then he added, “although, you do smell like poop."
I really like her brothers... They sortta remind me of Fred & George, haha! -- 10/10 =D

Author's Response: Hiii ohmygosh i'm so sorry for the super late reply especially considering you took out the time to write such a long review for me and being my ONE HUNDREDTH REVIEW for KtS!!! But I hope you know how I sincerely appreciate this and that all of your compliments have instnatly gone to my head ;) haha I'm really happy you liked this first chapter and I'm so glad I was able to characteerise them as well you as you had said! Thanks a billion!!!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Yoshi_KittenFilthy Attractions.: Bonnie Ralph’s biggest fault.

12th January 2011:
Hey, it's RoxiMalfoy from the forums - here to review for you, as promised! The plot you have here is really good, and your Original Character definately has potential!! I think all us girls have been in her position at least once before, so she comes off as relatable and real in some ways, which is good!! =)

However, as other reviewers have already stated; this story needs to have a major revision BIG TIME hun. Miss Writer has already pointed out the majority of the things that I noticed, so I won't mention them again. One thing I will mention is the ending of the chapter. It didn't really feel like an actually ending. There was no finality to it, it just sort of cut off in mid-conversation. Another thing is that I almost feel like there is enough content here for the prologue and chapter 1 to be two separate entries. That is just my opinion tho... Also, you may want to put actual summaries along with the chapters out on the story page, rather than just saying "Read & Review". If you need help with this, there is an excellent Help Needed section for summaries at the forums!!

Sorry if I seem too picky but, as a first impression I got, it just didn't look like you put very much thought into this at all - judging by the Story Page - which is void of any summaries, apart from the one at the top. Seeing stuff like that will put off some people from reading, which is what you DON'T want, so I just thought I'd mention it...

On a more positive note, I like the fact that this has more - erm- 'adult' themes behind it. (At least I think that's the word I'm looking for, lol!) Your characters are real and that Dean seems like he's on the road to become one of those people whom we all love to hate, lol! Idk if that's what your plan is, but that was the impression that I got, haha! This story has really good potential to be something great, once you get it all fixed up! So I would strongly encourage you to find a Beta Reader. I'd offer to do it, but I'm already Beta'ing 2 stories at the moment and am slightly overworked, haha! ^_^'

I will be back to review more when I have some free-time again, I promise! Keep up the good writing! :)

Author's Response: thank you so much.
no dont apologise for being too picky, i like that you give me advice and feed back.

i have a beta now and its all getting worked on, and i will look into getting summaries in for chapters.

I'm re-doing it all, so how about i PM you when it is all fixed and as you said when you have free time you can have another read over it.



 Report Review

Review #41, by Yoshi_KittenDuck and Cover: The Sound of Settling

9th January 2011:
What's not to be pleased with? This chapter was brilliant!! In fact, when I think of all the words that could describe how amazing this was; dull is the LAST thing that comes to my mind. So STOP being so hard on yourself, cuz you are an excellent writer!! Oh, and by the way - Hi! It's 'RoxiMalfoy' from the forums - just thot I should introduce myself, lol! ^_^'

My favorite was the sausage part, haha! I literally laughed out loud at that part, and then I took my laptop out of my room to read it to my roommates. They all laughed as well, lol! Avery's character is brilliant; I love her! I really like how awkward and shy she is - it makes her seem real, as well as relatable. You really seem to know her inside and out, so she translates well! :)

You seem to have a way writing comedy, and you make everything flow together so smoothly. The only thing I noticed that was distracting is that you forget to use commas in some places. Like here for example; after Sirius says James always picks the crazy ones, there should a comma after the word"person" here:
"Even though he was putting down me as a person there was a playful glint in his eyes that made me think that even though he completely thought I was mental, he was amused."

There were a few others as well, but it's nothing that a quick read-thru won't fix up! I REALLY like this story so far!! The plot is very original and unique, and the story is hilarious!! You also seem to write James & Sirius really well, so I cannot wait to see what you do with Peter & Remus! BTW: I know this was in the last chapter, but I really liked how you made Peter seem so sweet when Avery was telling us about the way he treated his girlfriend. UGH! I loathe it when people write marauder stories that exclude Peter - that is like my BIGGEST pet-peeve, lol! So at least you haven't 'conveniently forgotten' that there are 4 Marauders, haha! XD

Anyways, I have added this story to my favorites, and will be reading the rest of it as I have time! Like I said, I think this is completely Brilliant, haha!! Great work!!! =)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, hi! I can't tell you how excited I was when I saw this review in my unanswered reviews I was like OH MY GOD. Epicness! And you're too nice to come over and read my little story!

I'm so happy that you like Avery and that you find it funny! I'm worried some times my sense of humor is a little too out there but people seem to be getting the humor and nothing makes me more excited :) Especially when people say they can relate to Avery and that she's a good OC. But I think that every author is hard on themselves! It comes with the territory of the job.

I'm glad you think I'm good at comedy, I'm worried some times it doesn't flow but your encouragment has put the biggest smile on my face! : D that's me! And yes, I have to get these chapters beta'd hard core, I'm siriusly slacking in that department and I need to get on it!

I'm glad you like it so much, and I'm glad you think I write James and Sirius well. Considering I'm not a guy I'm worried they'll sound too feminine some times (especially in later chapters when I go into their POV's) but so far I think I've kept their masculinity in tact :P And I needed to make Peter sweet, I wanted to really get into his character in this story. So often, like you said, people completely abandon him. But he WAS a Marauder so he did have merit to his name. And as the story progresses I slowly start unveiling the moments and characterizations that will inevitably lead to his betrayal.

Thank you a hundred bazillion million times for this lovely, wonderful review! You are amazing!!! Hope you like the rest of the story!!! : )

~Lauren


 Report Review

Review #42, by Yoshi_KittenInevitable; It Had To Be You: A Jayded Past

8th January 2011:
Well now that the cat's outta the bag; I suppose I can review under my normal name now, lol! It is I; Yoshi_Kitten (AKA: RoxiMalfoy) and in this case, formerly known as Santa!!! You're a really good guesser ya know, lol!! I had so much fun being your Secret Santa, Jayde, I really did. The people who put it together did SUCH a fantastic job. Had it not been for the SS deal, I probly never would have met you, or never found this fantastic story of yours!!!

But OMG, now THIS is what I'm talking about! Now you are really telling the story thru Jayde's perspective, rather than just showing it. The difference here was phenomenal!!! The emotion was ten times better, the build at the end was great, and you honestly could not have cut it off at a more perfect spot!

The description all throughout this chapter was entirely fantastic; you can really tell where you've put so much thought into it. For example: I love the fact that you added in so may more references about the weather patterns throughout the day, and I also liked how you took the time to describe Gorey, Gloria and Mrs. Fitzpatrick's physical appearance a little bit more.

Your writing has improved SO much Jayde, I am really proud of you! I cannot wait to see what you have done in your edits of the next few chapters as well!! No matter what happens dear, you should never, ever, NEVER give up on this story, lol! You seriously are doing great, and you can only keep getting better! Keep up the fabulous work hun!! I am giving this new & improved chapter a well deserved 9/10 - for being descriptive, drawing the reader in, and then making them want to come back for more with the awesome cliffhanger at the end! Fantastic work!! =)

~Deana~

Author's Response: EEEP, Deana! I'm glad I guessed your identity right, otherwise I'd have felt stupid for posting on your profile!! I enjoyed you being my secret santa, you're amazing! I agree, the people who put together the Secret Santa thing did a great job! I know! I'm so glad we met! And awww! I'm glad you like my story that much!!

YES!! *Pumps fist in air* Oh my gosh, I'm so glad to hear that you think this is an improvement!! *Does happy dance around the room* I really tried to take the advice you gave in your reviews and I'm gad to hear it worked!!

I'm sooo glad to hear my writing has improved!!! I'm going to submit the new and improved chapter 2 right now, along with the chapter image you made me!! Aww, thank you so much! I promise, I won't give up! And thanks for the awesome rating and all your fabulous reviews and graphics!!



 Report Review

Review #43, by Yoshi_KittenWhite Lie: In which obvious things are pointed out.

10th December 2010:
Oh. My. Goodness. She really has gotten herself in WAY over her head here, hasn't she? If this doesn't go well, she should just pretend to quit her fake job, lol! I like how Penelope and Athena's friendship is slowly developing here. The two of them really seem to make a good pair. They have each other's backs, and I like to read best friends like that! :)

The only thing I've found that comes across as being a tad bit unbelievable and slightly out of place so far is the iPod thing (which is correctly spelled with a lower-case i and a capital P by the way). I know she's been hanging around Muggles and all, so it makes sense that she would know about them and maybe even have one, but I don't think Oliver would know about them. He hasn't spent as much time in the Muggle world, has he? How many years after the war does this take place exactly, and had iPods even been invented at the time? I know it's your story and you can wrote it however you want, but you still might want to check into that because using iPods in a Post-Hogwarts era fic just seems... off. If this were a next gen, however, that would make a whole lot more sense. Sorry, but it was just something I noticed.

Also, I am seeing a few left out words here and there, as well as a few missing commas. But a quick re-read through and I'm sure you'll catch them too. They really aren't too distracting, and I still know what you meant by it.

It was so nice of Athena to play along and train Penelope so that she could take over her job for the night. I don't know if I'd ever let one of my friends fill in for me at my job tho, lol! But I don't think the 2 of them will have any problems getting away with this, given the crowd that's there and all... I've been wrong before though, lol!

Oh, I cannot wait for Oliver to show up and see her there! The plot of this story seems to be really good so far! It is definitely keeping my interest, and I can't wait to read more! Keep up the great work!! =)

Author's Response: I have an explanation for Oliver and it's coming up in another chapter that can't come soon enough. He has a roommate who's a muggle-born and who showed him everything, and this comes up in another chapter so please keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Yoshi_KittenWhite Lie: Larry Rotter and The Sociable Pebble

10th December 2010:
Hello! So NaNo is finally over and, as promised, I am here to review your story for you!! Sorry it's taken me a few weeks to get to this, but thanks for being patient with me... Now on with the story!

This is actually pretty good! I really like your characterization of Penelope. You have made her very relatable, and her funny insights make her believable as well, so great job there. I love the way she kept referring to Oliver as "hunky back boy" until she finally found out what his actual identity was. And OMGosh, the "JESUS CHRIST BANANAS" line made me laugh SO much!! I'm probly gonna have to use that one some time now, lol! =)

Also, I found it extremely clever of you to make Penelope the one to introduce Percy to his future Muggle-wife Audrey. I don't know why, but I loved that little connection to cannon there quite a lot actually, heheh! I also like the fact that you named her friend Athena Greengrass... If you think about it, Astoria and Athena go together really well, so props for that connection too!! :)

This is a great first chapter, and the ending was terrific. I don't think you could have chose to cut it off in a more perfect place. You're very good at keeping one's interest, I'll tell you that! Because now, of course, I HAVE to keep reading to find out what she tells him, lol!! ^_~

Author's Response: OMG you remembered! I almost forgot about it! How was NANO? I actually found the line Jesus Christ Bananas from the book Dreamcatcher by Stephen King (that book was AWESOME). Athena has this Sirius Black relationship with her family so I'm going to try to include some family drama. and I'm REALLY glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Yoshi_KittenWeasley Recipe for Moving Day: Life Adventures

15th October 2010:
I found this little one-shot to be quite adorable, because I think that Ron & Hermione make the cutest couple. I think the way that you wrote the two of them together here was totally believable. Both of them were perfectly in character, which made this feel almost like it was right out of one of the books! And the flash-back of their wedding night was a brilliant touch. It sounds like they had a very romantic wedding! I'm so glad that you have them moving next door to Harry & Ginny too, I thought that was a nice touch. *sigh* What can I say? I'm a sucker for happy endings, lol! I hope you did well in the challenge, cuz this one-shot was GREAT! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review just made my week! I appreciate that you liked it and I'm so glad you thought they were in character!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Yoshi_KittenStarving Artists: Hedonism is our Middle Name

20th August 2010:
Hello, I'm back again!! (Oh, and I guess I don't mind it if you call me Yoshi, lol! My username on the forums id different tho... It's RoxiMalfoy...)

"I don't Exist" (Rotfl!) OMGosh, I had a friend back in Middle School who used to answer "I exist" every time they called her name for attendance, lol, and that just reminded me of her! :)

Ok, so I read this chapter last night before I went to bed, and I was too tired to leave a satisfactory review back then... So here I am, back today!! Anyways, I did have some small errors to point out to you then, but I can't seem to find any of them now. Sorry! I think with a quick read-thru tho, they shouldn;t be too hard to spot... ^_^'

Oh dear, Lucy certainly is making a name for herself there, isn't she? Poor Scorpius!! You can't help but laugh at him, lol! But still, I hope he doesn't stay mad at her forever... I had a feeling the poem was going to be about Rose tho, before she even read it. Either Rose or her, lol! Oh dear, it would have been REALLY awkward if it had been about her, lol!! -_-'

All in all this chapter was pretty good; probably my most favorite so far! I really like how we got to see a lot more of all the characters personalities! I think Raven is really starting to grow on me, lol! I can't wait to see what Lucy gets herself into next!! =)

Author's Response: Ah! I recognise you now! Well, Yoshi/Roxi, hi again :D

REALLY! Ah, sorry, that made me do a bit of gasping and pointing at the computer screen there. You know a real life Brooding Nameless One! How did the teachers take that? Not well, I presume, unless they just got used to it.

Aww, I'm glad you came back to leave a review! Eh, small errors seem to be my forte. I sit and write and proofread about five hundred times and they still slip through. I'll have a look again if I ever re-edit these chapters, but I'm pretty keen to just bash on ahead with this so I can get it up ASAP (:

Oh, gosh, so awkward that the universe itself would have imploded under the weight of the awkward. Nah, I think Scorpius' main concern is Rose right now, or, rather, trying not to have a panic attack every time anyone so much as thinks about her. He'll get over Lucy's hijacking of the poem. I expect Gwendoraven's made him put up with much, much worse!

I love writing Gwendolyn/Raven, although her name is one whole heap of difficulty to type. She's good fun :P

Thank you very much for the review!

PS.


 Report Review

Review #47, by Yoshi_KittenThe Exchange: Alternatives

19th August 2010:
Hello!! First off, let me apologize for taking so long to get back here and review the 2nd chapter. I seriously had every intention of reading this after I snagged you last night... The problem: I fell asleep at my computer at 5:00 in the morning, lol! *headdesk* (and I mean that quite literally, haha!) FAIL!! XD

So anyways, here I am today, wide awake and ready to continue reading this interesting little story of yours!! OMGosh, I absolutely love how their nickname for McGonagall is McG, lol!!! That made me laugh every time they said it!! =)

Julia really seems to know her stuff doesn't she? Goodness, I can't imagine the amount of research you probably had to do to write all that... It did get a bit -er- wordy towards the end there, but I understand that it's all necessary. The only thing I would suggest is that, when she is telling him all of that, maybe break the paragraphs up some. Like, instead of having 1 long paragraph, make it into 2 smaller ones.
Take this paragraph for example:

"The blood types identified by Muggles are A, B, AB and 0. The blood type indicates which antibody a person has on the surface of their erythrocytes, which are more commonly known as red blood cells, meant to deliver oxygen to bodily tissues," the girl said and took a sip of her coffee. "There is also another system of blood group classification - it is called the Rh blood group system. Individuals that have the Rh factor, the most immunogenic D antigen of the Rh blood group system, are defined as a 'positive' group and the ones that do not are the 'negative' blood group. This factor was discovered in 1939 by doctors Philip Levice and Rufus Stetson, but later - in the 1990's - their work was re-tested in our laboratories and the results were quite interesting."

You could easily break that up by starting a new paragraph right there after she pauses to take a sip of her coffee. You don't have to, of course, but you might start losing people half-way through it if you don't. I myself found it somewhat difficult NOT to skip to the the end of that paragraph... I even caught myself skimming over parts of her speech sometimes, and had to go back and re-read over it several times to understand it because of that...

Sorry if I'm being picky. I really am just trying to help, cuz I do believe that it is a VERY interesting idea for a story! I really don't want to see you lose reads over something that is easily fixable... So if you just edit some of those longer, more bulky paragraphs, I really do think that it'll make it much more easier for people to read!

I mean, this has definitely caught MY interest, that's for sure!! I am highly curious right now as to how she disproved that theory. It all sounds very fastening! And ooohh, I wonder if this man is one of those guys who the blue jay saw talking in the forest?!? Must read more to find out I guess, haha! :)

Author's Response: Firstly, thank you for such a LONG review! And I fell asleep at my computer a few times during this year's HC too, so don't worry, you're not alone on that!

Julia is quite the scientist. She does tend to talk a lot about the medical aspect of things, but I'll try to make it a bit, well, boring. Maybe putting in some questions from Mr. Brent or making him interrupt her monologue...? I'll try to figure something out!

And thank you for complimenting my plot idea! It means the world to me to see that people like it, because things like Julia's monologues can easily be fixed. So thanks a gazillion for pointing that out!

And you might on to something there... But I can't tell you what it is!!! xD


 Report Review

Review #48, by Yoshi_KittenFaerieland: Chapter 2- Looking for Special Things

18th August 2010:
Aww, I love how Teddy reacted to Faerieland! I also love the way you described it that day. You are really good at descriptions and painting a picture with your words, you know? So I'd like to see more description and imagery like that in the future! -_~

Their banter back-and-forth on the was there was so cute! I really like how he seems to understand her. Their relationship keeps getting stronger, and you really do have a way of showing that off beautifully! I love it that he writes to her while he's away at school, how sweet! :)

Another thing I really liked about this story is how short and sweet your chapters always are. It really does make for a refreshing quick read when your in between jobs and only have a few minutes to spare, lol. ^_^'

I'm adding this story to my favorites and cannot wait for an update!!
10 outta 10 for all the cuteness, lol!!! =)

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! You have NO idea how flattered I am right now. Imagery and dialogue are usually my favourite things in a story, so I'm glad mine worked out!!!

... I love Teddy. Just saying. Yeah. :)

Thanks so much for the awesome review!!!
kbhg

p.s. sorry for the LOOONG wait for a response... :P


 Report Review

Review #49, by Yoshi_KittenFaerieland: Chapter 1- Dreamer

18th August 2010:
And again, another sweet chapter! I really liked the progression in this. Like, you can tell how the characters have matured from the prologue. I mean, they're still sweet and innocent little kids, sure, but you wrote them in such a way that you can definitely tell that 5 years have passed. For one thing, Teddy seems to be past the whole 'girls have koodies' stage now, lol! And for another, Victoire seems like she's a lot more acceptant of her surroundings. :)

The only thing I would suggest is that you move that author's note to the end. Is it funny that Teddy gives her a Teddy, lol! But having that side-note there is a distraction form all the cuteness that is your story! So maybe you could move it to the very end, and then perhaps expand the not to ask people what they think/thought about your story... Just a suggestion.

Hmmm... I wonder what Teddy will say when she takes him to her special place? Guess I'd better read the next chapter to find out, haha!! =)

Author's Response: I did move the author's note, which was in there by accident and I hadn't even realized! Thanks for pointing it out!

Glad you enjoyed this!

-krazyboutharryginny


 Report Review

Review #50, by Yoshi_KittenFaerieland: Prologue

18th August 2010:
OMGosh, that little girl in your chapter image is so CUTE!! Oh, and I loved the sparkley banner, lol!

Well, first of all, I really love the title of this story! The summary is pretty unique too! I love how sweet, innocent and imaginative she is at 5 years old... Children are so adorable at that age, lol! This is a very good start. Short, sweet, and simple, but done in such a way that it captures one's interest! I love it! *Clicks Favorite Button* =)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! That really means a lot!!! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>