Reading Reviews From Member: shenanigan
  
70 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shenaniganCrowning Dust: and in my arms shall apples rest

8th July 2012:
alsjfklsdjflksdjflj this is one of the most amazing pieces on hpff. i am beyond words.

 Report Review

Review #2, by shenaniganBathing in Roses: The Art of Iciness

29th July 2011:
OH MY GOD ALBUS IN A DRESS. ALBUS. IN. A. DRESS. CELESTE WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME.

i absolutely /loved/ this chapter. june is so frustrating and endearing all at the same time, i always find myself cheering for her even when she's doing something stupid. and i still want her to end up with albus, despite all his condescension and iciness and toolery. when they were sitting on the doorstep in the snow and he was being slightly less of a jerk to her. it was amazing. i really want them together.

anyways, fantastic chapter as always! keep up the good work, i really love june and all her crazy antics!

Author's Response: YES ZOEY, SHUDDER FROM THE ALBUS IN A DRESS-NESS. (Look how it rhymes!)

And thank you so much! Really, it means a lot coming from such a well-known rom-com writer that you like this story. Albus is a complete jerk, June is an idiot, but they somehow have some chemistry all the same.

Thank you so much for reading, Zoey!

Celeste


 Report Review

Review #3, by shenaniganMy Entirely Ridiculous 7th Year, as told by me, Nymphadora L. Tonks : In Which N. L. Tonks Digs Herself a Hole of Stupidity

29th July 2011:
I will admit, as a diehard Tonks/Lupin fan, i had been a little reluctant to read this. But after hearing so many good things about it, I decided to give it a go and i absolutely loved it! You've made a very likable character out of Tonks, and regardless of who she ends up with, the reader will always root for her. Your characters are really interesting, and I'm dying to know more about Charlie. Please don't stop updating! Fantastic job!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, you heard good things about it?! I can't believe people read my silly little fic nor that they tell other people about it. Especially you, with all the stories you've written!

I don't honestly mind Tonks/Lupin... Lupin's my favorite marauder. I guess the rebellious, anti-canon part of my brain entertained the notion of Charlie/Tonks and ran with it.

Thank you very much for the review! Updates are definitely in order, I wrote one of the most important parts of the story the other evening so there's definitely going to be updates as frequently as I can get them up. You'll definitely see more of Charlie and more backstories.

Again, thank you so much for your praise! You've flattered me far too much ;)


 Report Review

Review #4, by shenaniganThe Middle: A Little Less Seventeen Candles

25th July 2011:
I loved this story when it first came out, and I still love it. Minnie is brilliant--I love her characterization (the werewolf thing under the bed. Classic!), her sass, the way she puts up a strong front. It's all really good. Also, you have a lot of unique ideas (the charm necklaces, for example), which shine clearly throughout the story. Most of all, I love the relationship between Minnie and James. You've littered this chapter with little hints and memories that have really fleshed out the bond between them. It's fantastic.

Please update soon! This is an amazing story and it looks like a lot of people love it! I'm excited to see what comes next!

-shenanigan

Author's Response: Okay, first off, I just want to say how freaking excited I am to get a review from you. I absolutely love your stories, and hearing that you love mine as well is just... yeah. It's pretty dang awesome. Alright, I'm done with my fangirl moment.

I'm so glad to hear you think Min's brilliant. Characterization is possibly my favorite part about writing, and Minnie's definitely the one I've put the most work into. So it's nice hearing that all of that's paid off.
Concerning Min and James' relationship, part of the reason why I rewrote this story was because I wanted their relationship to be more detailed and shown in the story. I feel like the old version didn't have as much of it in there, and to me, that relationship is really important for the plot of this story. And it's pretty good to know that I'm not the only one loves the pair of them.

Thanks again for your review, and the next chapter is well on it's way.
-Camila (:


 Report Review

Review #5, by shenaniganLittle Red: two sisters, dark and light, red and white

28th June 2011:
that last line is chilling.

oh my god. my heart was pounding when i read it. that was INCREDIBLE.

this fic was just so good, what with the imagery, the wording, the fact that it could be interpreted in so many different ways... everything was so eerily vivid. you really did succeed in writing something horrifying (horrifying in the best way possible, that is). i could hear the scary movie music in my head as i was reading this. it was just...wow. i'm blown away.

fantastic job. this piece is gonna stick with me for a long time.

Author's Response: eee thanks so much ♥

It was odd for me, because I had become accustomed to the words and mood, so I had no idea how other people would read it, but to know it provokes that sort of reaction :D :D

Thank you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by shenaniganChasing Madness: Why, Merlin, why?

5th June 2011:
I really like this! The free-for-all race to the cafe was hilarious, and Rose's internal monologue-ing never fails to make me smile. Please update soon!

Author's Response: I have lots of fun with Rose's internal monologue. She thinks a lot like me, so it just kind of flows naturally.

I'm so glad you like this; I love Clash (who doesn't?) so I'm so happy to get a review from you!

Wow, I sound like a raving fan girl. But thanks for the review, and I'll update as soon as possible (:


 Report Review

Review #7, by shenaniganJoke's On Me: Prologue!

1st June 2011:
i quite like this so far! the premise sounds really interesting and i'm eager to see where it all goes :) keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by shenaniganThings Unforeseen: Everywhere

9th March 2011:
i love love love this story. your characters come alive and it's just...really good. i'm so excited to see what happens next, please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by shenaniganGrowing Up Gilderoy: Superior In Every Way

12th September 2010:
Oooh, I love this. Lockhart's inner thoughts are hilarious in a sad, delusional way. You can't help but shake your head and laugh at the same time. Or I can't, at least.

I love where you're going with this. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by shenaniganSix Months, Three Weeks, and Two Days: December the 8th: Five Months, Three Weeks, and Six Days

26th August 2010:
Quit your day job and become a published writer immediately! Seriously, I love this story. It's a perfect mixture of wit, romance, and just a hint of drama. I'm addicted :)

Update soon! 10/10

Author's Response: Ah, thank you SO much! Seriously, I'm such a big fan of your work (Clash has me in stitches at practically every other word), so forgive me if I'm a wee bit starstruck. Quit my day job, if only I could - but I am just a poor college freshman :P I'm glad I've got you hooked, and seriously, this review left me grinning like a crazy person :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by shenaniganGold: O These Laws To Abide To!

17th August 2010:
Not gonna lie, when I saw that you updated, I legit did a happy dance right then and there. This story is quickly becoming one of my favorites.

Anyway, great chapter as always! I'm glad that Scorpius & co. finally got the telling off they deserve. It made me happy :)

Update soon!

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Wahoo, glad my story can make you do a happy dance! :D

Hehe, 'Scorpius & co." I like that lol. :P

Thanks for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by shenaniganAccording to Plan: Flying Broomsticks and Un-Dates

9th August 2010:
Ah, Shiv's first jealous guy! I'm so proud... *wipes away tear*

Nice chapter as always! I really love the bits of humor you throw in here and there, they really brighten up the story! I love Shiv and can totally relate--I probably would of wound up going to Puddifoots too. I'm terrible at saying no to people :/

And Anish does seem perfect, though for some reason I keep on imagining him as that Kevin G guy from Mean Girls XD

10/10

Author's Response: i know! i'm proud as well.

thanks so much! i'm still amazed that anyone finds my sense of humor funny. ha, i think that's probably why she said yes.

hahaha, kenny g! that kid was just weird. i don't quite see him that way, but to each his (or her) own!

thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by shenaniganIvy and the Art: Ivy and the Art

24th July 2010:
I love this. I really, really love this. So much, in fact, that I can't even express it in words. My favorite line:

"He was shouting to the gods and Pansy was staring."

Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Author's Response: I think this is a great pairing. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by shenaniganGold: Two hands Are Not Enough For Five Mugs

23rd July 2010:
NO! :o
Things are about to get interesting...

Please update soon! I really love this story, it's very realistic and not cliched at all!

Author's Response: Hey there!!

Wow, I'm glad you don't think this story is cliched!! I think cliche-ness (is that even a word? :P) is one of the hardest obsticals for a writer to overcome, so thank you for the wonderful compliment!

Thank you so much for the review! :D I hope you likes what's in store. ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by shenaniganLike A Soda Can: Sprite

20th July 2010:
It's good... But there's a little glich. Albus says he doesn't know Alice's name, but just before that he called her 'Miss Alice'. So it kind of doesn't make sense. Other than that, I like this so far, and I can't wait to see what happens next :)

Author's Response: Actually I've had a lot of comments on that "glitch." It's not really a glitch, per say. Alice could be, and this is very loose here, but it could be a nickname for something else. The elf called Albus "Alby" so in his eyes, "Alice" could be a nickname for a much longer and complicated name. Except it's not. BUT Albus doesn't know that! (;

Keep reading, it's going to get exciting!!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #16, by shenaniganAccording to Plan: Apologies, Or A Lack Thereof

10th July 2010:
Okay, so I just read this whole thing in one sitting and I have to say, I am absolutely in love. With just about everything: your characters, your humor... basically this whole entire story. It's new and refreshing, not to mention totally hysterical.

This line in particular killed me: "And he plays cricket, though you probably dont know what that is."

Huzzah for cricket-playing Indian boys! Huzzah for Shiv's tangled web of lies! And, most importantly, huzzah for you, my friend, for writing such a brilliant story! 10/10

Author's Response: wowie wow wow.

i always get really giddy with excitement and awe when an author who is much better and more popular than me reviews my little story. and your review was so perfect and wonderful and thank you so much! i love everything you said, and i especially like that you like the characters. and i'm probably not making a lot of sense, but thanks for reviewing! it made my day. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by shenaniganGinger Snaps: A Gargle of a Day

27th June 2010:
Ahh, I really like this so far :) It's great, and all of your characters are so original... The only little nitpick is this:


Fondly I ask him, 'Did you ever get a chance to talk to Dominique?'


You might want to change the 'him' to 'Des', because it's not very specific, and at first I thought she was talking to Nate.

But other than that, wonderful chapter! I'd love to see more interaction between James and Ginger!

10/10

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much! I'll definitely change that, I see now that it was confusing. Oh, believe me, there will be plenty more interaction between those two *smiles deviously* I'm so glad you like my story, I'm a huge fan of all of yours :D Thanks again, love!

 Report Review

Review #18, by shenaniganPesky Parchment : Pesky Parchment

11th June 2010:
I've seen this story floating around, but I just haven't gotten the time to read it! But now I'm glad I did :) It's hilarious!

Author's Response: I'm glad you gave it a chance! Thank you so much :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by shenaniganGinger Snaps: First Encounter with Banananuggets

7th June 2010:
I quite like this so far... It definitely strays away from any cliches. And the title is hilarious!

Keep up the good work :) I'm eager to see where you're going to go with this.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you don't think it's cliche! I was so worried about that.

And oh my gosh thank you so much :D What a lovely review.
-silver ink


 Report Review

Review #20, by shenaniganNormal: A Day of Dinosaurs and Daisies

6th June 2010:
I love this. First off, the novelty of the summary alone (I mean really, HP kids in New York? That's comedic gold right there) was enough to get me to read an AU story. And I rarely read AU stories. Seriously. I think the last time I read one, it was the second ice age. Humans were still making their food over open fire.


Anyway, back to me inflating your ego. This story is amazing. The idea is completely original, your characters are fabulous, the writing supreme... Basically, just look up the word 'fantastic' in a thesaurus and that's your story right there.


Update soon! I'm really excited to see what you have in store for this. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you. What a fantastic review! Definitely one of the best I've ever gotten. I must admit I wish others felt the same as you, at least in terms of just leaving a review...any at all...seeing as that you're the only one who reviewed :/ But thanks a bunch for taking the time to do so. I have another chapter already written of this story so I'll probably upload it some time soon, but I must admit that if I don't get much more feedback for this story than this...I might not be so inclined to continue any more than that. Bleh.

But 10/10?! Yikes, you must be crazy! But thank you so much! And thanks for the fabulous review :) Fantastic in the dictionary? Me? You must be nutso, but I really do appreciate the kind words. They're why we post on this site, no?


 Report Review

Review #21, by shenaniganif you could save me: the long farewell of the hunger strike

25th April 2010:
Molly, I really love this. It's so perfect and beautiful and subtle - and those words don't even come close to describing this right, but they're the only ones that come to mind. That last line at the end... And the bit of dialogue... Just... Wow.

What I like about this is that it isn't angst and heartbreak shoved into the reader's face. It's a description of a normal, realistic relationship. And yet you write it in such a way that makes it extraordinary.

Some parts confused me a little (the thirty pieces of Charlie?) but instead of being a negative thing, it actually made the story more special. The reader doesn't know everything, and that gives a sort of secrecy to the piece. Like we're only getting a fleeting glimpse, not the whole story. It makes it precious.

This piece is something you hold in your hands, but not too tight, because it's delicate and beautiful and you don't want to break it.

God, that last line still gets me. So, so beautiful, Molly.

xx
Zoey

 Report Review

Review #22, by shenaniganOne Day: It will happen

17th April 2010:
Rachel, I absolutely adore this. It's just so beautiful, so sweet... You can practically taste every word on your tongue. Your writing in this is just jaw-dropping. Some of the description you used turned me green with envy.

For example: "A whisper cuts through his head but the words twist and melt on the tip of his tongue. Agape, he forces his hanging mouth shut with a sharp mash of teeth on shattered letters."

That would have to be one of my favorite lines. The concept itself is so original (shattered letters? only a genius could think of that). The writing is so real, you can practically feel Dean's loss for words. I know it certainly left me speechless.

To be honest, I was kind of putting this review off. I didn't know how to do this story justice. It's just so beautiful, so adorable, and so...enchanting, really. I want to rip the words off the screen and hug them close.

In short, you are amazing, and I am eagarly awaiting a next chapter.

xx
Zoey

PS. Please don't kill off any of the characters. I don't think I could bear it.

Author's Response: Okay, this has taken me a while to reply to but I've really tried to do it so many times - it's just so difficult to reply to a review like this.

I don't think - after 'The Silence of the Night' - that there is any scope for you to be jealous of me!

That line - the shattered letters - was the one I struggled with most. I paused on that for a good five minutes, trying to find the right way to describe it and I'm quite pleased with the outcome (though 'genius' is a ridiculous idea)

Oh don't be silly. If a review takes me longer than a couple of days to reply to, you know you've stunned me. This review was just completely stunning and amazing and I can't thank you enough.

I will anyway:
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOUUU!!!


xx

PS You're safe (for now) on the character killing ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by shenaniganLa Lavande: A Train of Scarlet and Survival

17th April 2010:
Jane, I literally devoured this chapter. I read every word, hanging on each letter, until the very end. And when I finished, I went back up to read it again. I just... I love this story. I don't know why. Maybe it's the characters, maybe it's the writing, but something about it makes me jump at every update.

In my opinion, this chapter was kind of a - for lack of better word - filler, but I think that's just fine. You managed to summarize everything without being too vague or too hasty. Though next chapter, you probably want to have more detail/dialogue to make the story "fuller" and to keep your writers from organizing an angry mob. Because we all want MORE! *brandishes pitchfork threateningly*


Oh, and the alliteration was absolute love. I think that would have to be my favorite part. The way you write... Dominique's character just shines so clearly. And I think that her going to Beauxbatons was very feasible. I've seen many stories with the same idea, so I didn't think it was the least bit far fetched.


Okay, so I'm going to wrap this up now, but all in all, this was an amazing chapter, and please update, update, UPDATE soon :)

Zoey

Author's Response: Lovely, lovely Zoey ♥ You flatter me far too much. I mean, you say things like this and then I go off and read your work and spasm with jealousy :P. It means such a lot that you're enjoying this though.

Filler it is, but to be honest, I don't exactly know what this whole thing is. I mean, to me, it's not a proper WIP and I'm not quite sure why. It's almost just a little thing on the side that I like to write for something different. That's why I'm so surprised that you're enjoying it so much! Hahaha, I'm hoping to shake things up a little in the next chapter, although, how I'm going to do that is yet to be determined :P.

Is it ridiculous that I didn't notice quite how much alliteration there was until you said this? It sort of is XD. I'm a ridiculously big fan of using it though, especially when attempting to be vaguely poetic.

Hahahaha, my exams will probably prevent updates until... July? -hides- Thank you so much for reviewing though!


 Report Review

Review #24, by shenaniganLove Is All You Need: Love Is All You Need

10th April 2010:
Hi Elena, it's Zoey from TGS!

Let me start off by saying that I really, really enjoyed this. You write emotions very well. Nothing came off as unnatural or forced, and your writing had a nice flow to it. Instead of jumping from sadness to anger to love, you eased into every transition and made it more smooth - does that make sense?

I don't usually read Remus/Tonks, but the squeeness of this was just... adorable. The ending was so cute, without coming off as cheesy or corny. Instead, it was kind of defiant, in a way. The reader really gets the sense of Remus and Tonks's love, and how strong it is in the face of darkness.

Anyways, great job and excellent work! I really enjoyed this :)

Author's Response: Hi Zoey,

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

I'm also happy you thought my transitioning was well blended. I try and write what I see in my head, but as 'real' as I can possibly think of.

I think the hardest part about DH was Remus/Tonks's relationship and their death. So hopefully this honours what the fans think of their relationship. It wasn't perfect, but they really loved each other :)

Thank you for choosing to read and review this one.


 Report Review

Review #25, by shenaniganScorched Blossoms: Deception in fragility

7th March 2010:
Jane, my fizzy foot friend! Words cannot express my love for this. It's just... everything. From the character to the idea to your writing, it was all so beautiful and broken and lovely... Just... Gah.

I loved the bit with Remus at the end.. Remus who is more bruised and battered (and better) than Charlie. I think that has to be one of my favorite lines.

I also liked how you had a sort of omniscient perspective to this. Especially in the last part: Charlie is (in his own remarkably bad judgement) selfish beyond his. It was a very cool twist to the piece, and it gave the reader a different, more practical (for lack of a better word) viewpoint to look at this with.

All in all, I am so honored to have helped inspire this, and the whole thing was just amazing. Beautiful job, Jane!

Zoey

Author's Response: UGH, HPFF DIDN'T LET ME LOAD MY RESPONSE. I suppose it's karma for taking so long to respond to your review XD. Sorry about that, Zoey!

To hear that you liked this means so much to me, as I am in complete awe of your work. You really didn't have to review, but I really appreciate that you have ^_^.

I have to admit that I liked that too XD. I was on a little bit of an alliteration spree when I wrote this, lol. It was interesting trying to do justice to Charlie, Tonks and Remus in this piece, as I like all three of them and there was no 'bad' guy. I loved writing it

Oh, I'm glad that you liked that! I'm very much a fan of third person and giving the reader a deeper insight into the piece, almost as if they're more in tune than the characters themselves. I didn't really know if that came across though, so it's lovely to hear.

And I'm honoured and thrilled that you took the time to review! Thank you SO much, Zoey. I'm really glad that you liked it XD.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>