Reading Reviews From Member: ravenclaw_princess
  
629 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Four Years Later

5th December 2013:
Very nice. I did find the time jump a little fast at the beginning of the chapter. It took a while for me to settle into the new time and place, work out why Draco was there, what was the relationship, what had happened between them. But the details did fall back into place as I continued to read.

You call Rose and Albus twins. I was wondering if you were meant to write Lily. Also, I'm pretty sure they aren't twins, but don't quote me on that.

The writing as usual was lovely and I'm loving the story. I like awkward Draco :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Coming to Terms

26th November 2013:
Good old harry, being the voice of reason. Hermione was obviously hurt, and while at the beginning it felt like she was over reacting but you nicely started to break down her emotions to the real core of her hurt, and this is what usually happens when someones trust is broken.

I like the awkwardness between Draco and Hermione, also it was good to see just a touch of Draco anger every so often. And i'm definitely intrigued why he doesn't carry a wand. Well done

 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Coward

26th November 2013:
Ahhh...this is a nice chapter, it built up well to the little cliffie. Its still got an air of mystery about it too. I like it. and now to read on as I have to know what this horrible girl has done.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Forged in Flames

11th November 2013:
I'm loving this. I'm totally getting my Dramione fix. The hug was nicely done and the awkwardness afterwards was very well crafted. Its nice to see the moments building up and while at this stage, there is nothing beyond friednship, you can see the trust developing and the enjoyment of each others company.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Fragile Friends

11th November 2013:
Very nice chapter. It was good to see some action coming in and a bit of a pebble in the road which is setting things off course. It's getting quite exciting :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Moving On

3rd November 2013:
It didn't feel rushed to me :) This is a slowly developing relationship after all, and I think you nicely summed up what had happened to bridge the gap and showed the developing feelings of each character. I'm liking this more truthful Draco.

I'm intrigued with Draco's activities while wandless. I'm looking forward to finding out what he got up to...

 Report Review

Review #7, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: The First Thread

3rd November 2013:
Aww...that was the cutest little chapter. that was a very sweet moment Hermione and Draco just shared. For as much as the accident changed Hermione's life, it also changed Draco and he has to heal as well. It's so cool to see him working through all the emotions that the nights event and watching the slow change in him.

I like how you showed Hermione at the beginning of this chap. Grief is so personal and different for everyone. I like how she's now moving forward and remembering her time with Ron, rather than dwelling on the loss. It worked really well.

Lovely chapter as always.

 Report Review

Review #8, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: A Conversation

24th September 2013:
I like this chapter and I thought the characterisations were good. Hermione would have so many emotions going through her that its understandable that she has constructed strong walls to try and protect herself.
Draco shows hints of his old self but his more genteel manner is starting to shine through. He's aware of his mistakes of the past and is learning to control his triggers.
Hermione's reaction to him is believable. She's vulnerable and would hardly want someone around her and her son who have cause her so much pain. His recent actions cannot erase all the previous years pain and Hermioen will need time to see the genuine Draco.
Nice work.

Author's Response: Thanks, J :)
I'm glad that the character development is evident in Draco and that Hermione came off as believable.
As you know, I strive for believability with this ship!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Air

9th May 2013:
Nicely written as always :) It was a well crafted transition from the her darkest days to moving forward again. Sometimes it takes a good wake up call to remember that life continus and Jacks health gave her this.

As always, your writing was beautiful and delved deep into Hermione's troubled soul. I could really feel for her, the grief, the guilt, the overwhelming emotions. Well done.

Author's Response: Jacqui! Thank you so much for stopping by! You make me smile. I'm sorry you have a cold right now but am happy because it means you have time for my story and your writing! Yippee!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ravenclaw_princessA Brief Description on Life as a Ghoul: My Long Awaited Opportunity

10th February 2013:
Hehe, this is really hilarous and so clever. You certainly made a little mentioned character into someone with a huge personality. I liked his internal monologue and how much he looked down on the Weasleys as of inferior intellects, especially because you know the Weasley's are looking back at the ghoul and thinking the same thing.

Its a well crafted story and seems quite a plausable way of getting the ghoul to impersonate Ron. I think he could win that Oscar. Anyway, brilliant story. I was looking for a laugh and this story delivered.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad that you found it funny as that was my aim! Yes the ghoul was rather forgotten in the books, so here's his chance to get more of the limelight, and I think he liked his time in it. I'm glad that you liked the mirror thoughts, as you're the first person to actually pick up on it, and I thought it would be cool to do!

Yay he can get his oscar! Thank you for leaving such a great review :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by ravenclaw_princessDiamonds: .

13th January 2013:
Wow, that was absolutely breath taking from the very first paragraph. So much imagry, so much passion and emotion. Its an amazing piece of writing.

I feel Hermione's despair. I imagine those first few years after the war were so tough on everyone as they wrangled with their emotional scars. Hermione's grief and longing seem so real, as well as her will to stay. It's like she can't quite let go of who Ron used to be.

I love how you described diamonds, I'm not much of a fan of daimonds either. Emerals are so much better :)

I didn't read who the pairing was in this story, the summary completely drew me in. I could see it being Harry (green to match his eyes) or Draco (green for slytherin). Either way, it's beautiful and I feel I can pick which either way I wish it to go.

My only minor point would be to put punctuation in her thoughts at the end as it runs together and is a little hard to read. Other than that, spelling and grammar are really good.

Well done. This is a beautiful piece of writing.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ravenclaw_princessCarelessness: Lost in Darkness and Distance

6th June 2012:
Hello, I'm here for the review tag.

I found this piece quite sad. Its a nice reflection on loving someone who is lost and will never be there for you any more and how much losing them changes you and your own perspectives on love, life and lose.

The pain that the characters were suffering through swelled with the tone of voice and sentence structure you used, adding emphasis to their emotions. Be careful though not to make your sentences too long as the meaning starts to get lost. There was a very long one when Remus was thinking about Sirius.

Nice, story, but very sad. Its a shame to think that Tonks loved Remus so much but he didn't love her the same way back, and while she was with him in person, he wasn't really there at all.

Author's Response: Hello taggy-person.

I think you might be the only person to call this 'nice' - it's pretty messed up, really - but I know what you mean. Thank you. I wasn't intending to get all philosophical with this fic, but it seems to have happened anyway.

That giant sentence about Sirius was intentional, as I found that splitting it up into shorter, more palatable sentences didn't really create the rhythm that I wanted to. However, I do generally try to limit the huge sentences, because I think I'm the only person who likes them. It's a shame, really, but what can you do? :P

It's sadder in canon, I think. He just seems to outright hate her, especially in DH. My Remus is messed up but he's not *that* messed up.

Once again, thank you for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ravenclaw_princessA Man Barely Breathing: Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

4th March 2012:
Wow. Utterly breathtaking. Draco's heart break was so wonderfully depicted I could just about feel my heart breaking with him. I loved how your took us through their romance and their path to divorce, it showed how happy they had been, but how easily things can go awry.

I love your use of language and imagery and the whole story flowed seamlessly. I wonderful first chapter :)

Author's Response: Ravenclaw Princess,

What a wonderful review. Thank you so very much.

I wanted to show that they were happy without spelling out how the got together. It was keeping the relationship going that was difficult.

And in real life, 'happily ever after' is a bit unrealistic as relationships can be tough, but as depicted in this story, the storms people weather can actually bring couples closer together and grow stonger. It can happen.

On imagery... thank you so very much for this comment. I was at an outdoor party once and the people held it in an 'outdoor living space' of a grand gazebo. It was gorgeous and so I thought it would be a wonderful gift for Hermione and most certainly something that he could afford. ;)

Oh and that picture he gave the judge... I wanted it to almost tell the story... her gazebo, the path to his mother's grave, and them finally holding hands.

So thank you so much for that comment. It really warms my writer's heart.

You give me wonderful compliments.

Thank you!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by ravenclaw_princessInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

16th February 2012:
Aww, this is so completely adorable. I loved it from the first sentence. It was so cool seeing Luna through Rolf's eyes. He didn't see her as peculiar like every one else, but her saw her as Luna, a beautiful, innocent girl who was so easy for him to love.

I love that Rolf tried, unsuccessfully I might add to quantify his love and try to explain it. But love just is, sometimes there is no way to explain it and he seemed to know this.

Luna was really well characterised. I loved the little moments when she was chasing the boys, and when she was in the lake. Can I just add...super adorably cute *squee*

The ending, especially the last line, was amazing. It really summed up their love and relationship. Love just happened for them, they just fell inexplicably in love :)

Awesome story. You are such a talented writer and I love the imagery and use of metaphor that you always weave in. It makes every story so enjoyable to read.

Author's Response: Thank you! I took on Rolf's POV because Luna seems too unique to try to even attempt to share headspace with :)

Yay for loving Rolf and Luna! I had SO much fun writing the little scenes between Luna, Rolf and the boys so I shall join you in Squeeing!

I'm so glad you loved it! I definitely went for making this just plain fluffy beautiful love-stuff and it makes me happy to hear that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by ravenclaw_princessBend or Break: Wake-Up Call

13th February 2012:
Good on Draco. I loved it when he stormed up to Hermione and told her what he thought. There comes a time when you need to come out with the cold hard truth, how ever painful it might be. I'm so glad that Draco was there to snap some sense back into Hermione. I'm also so happy he wants to help her.

It's interesting seeing Draco living without magic. I think it will do him good, to be at the very bottom and have to work himself back up. He's living life the hard way, so hopefully he stops taking things for granted. After what he's been through though, I'm pretty sure he wakes up everyday thankful to be alive.

Good job. I really love this story. The characterisations are so powerful and their emotions so deep. You are such a beautiful writer. I cant wait for the next chapter x

Author's Response: Hi, Jacqui! I thought Draco would be an appropriate person to shake her up (and not just because this is a Dramione). Yes, there's a reason for the lessened use in magic and we'll see that at some point in the doing chapters!

Thank you for loving this and I'm very happy that the people are coming along nicely.


 Report Review

Review #16, by ravenclaw_princessOf Wolves and Wizards: Caught

13th February 2012:
You do action packed so well. I was totally enthralled the whole way through. I thought they had him there, but no. He had to get away.

Vic has grown so much from the start of this story. Naturally, she's still terrified, but she is fighting back and using some good common sense to help her survive.

Good job. I can't wait for the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #17, by ravenclaw_princessIn Truth: Clean Break

13th February 2012:
This was such an emotional story, I loved it :) I was completely captivated from the first paragraph and couldn't tear my eyes away.

Ginny's emotion seemed so raw and so real. You could see her struggling through her grief and losing the battle against her tears. She was a mess, trying to cope with every passing day but not knowing when the tears would come, only that they would.

There was some very lovely metaphor, especially about the bone and I liked how you came back to it at the end. It tied the story together nicely. The language and description was very poetic and it just all worked together so well.

I loved it :)

Author's Response: I'm very glad you enjoyed this! Because this was one of the first pieces that really meant something to me and reflected a feeling I was unsure if I could recreate properly. But it seems as though I really get that raw emotion, which was my whole intention. I wanted the pain that follows loss, even months later, to reflect here.

I also like how you word brought up 'not knowing when the tears would come, only that they would.' Because that is a really true setiment to this, in life. Really a great line!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed this!

~Grimmerz


 Report Review

Review #18, by ravenclaw_princessLucy: Lucy

3rd February 2012:
I was drawn to this story because it didn't contain dialogue. You don't come across them very often and I was curious.

I really loved it. For such a short piece, you can really fell Lucy's self pity. She hates everything about her life, yet she doesn't possess the courage to change it. You see her in the now, but there is mystery surrounding how she got to that point, all you see is her misery, but not the spiral into it.

There were a few typos, but the story flowed pretty well. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review :D
I know. I am thinking about how to put in her backstory more. But I'm glad you can feel her emotion.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ravenclaw_princessWorth the Risk: Ready

14th January 2012:
Well done on a really good final chapter. I like how you put in a few twists so Hugo's fate wasn't known until the end, although I did believe that he would live.

You've done a really good job on this story and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I love the characterisations and the relationship that developed between Ly and Hugo. It was also really well written. Great work.

Author's Response: Hugo living was a last minute decision. I planned from the very beginning to have Hugo die, but in the end I just couldn't do that to Ly. I'm just a sucker for a happy ending. Plus I need Hugo for my sequels and ghost Hugo just wasn't right.

Thank you so much for reviewing this story. I've loved reading each new one you send! :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ravenclaw_princessWorth the Risk: Hiding in Plain Sight

14th January 2012:
Ooooh, that was very dramatic. Good job on this chapter, it was full of action and drama. I like how it ended, because you can only assumed Hugo's fate...there is still a chance for him. It was quite emotionally charged as well, what with Hugo going to Harry, and then Ly and Hugo at the end. The strength of feeling between Hugo and Ly really came through. Well done.

Author's Response: Drama I feel I can do, angsty, crying drama. But action? big no, I think. So thank you. Ah, Hugo's fate... It seemed a good idea to let you guess. I couldn't say whether or not he died because I didn't know myself.

Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #21, by ravenclaw_princessWorth the Risk: Game Over

14th January 2012:
Good job on this chapter. I was expecting the action to happen when they were out on the town, and just when I thought they were safe, Ly went and got himself captured :) Hugo is probably going to try and play the big hero now. Awesome job. I can tell this is building up to a very exciting conclusion.

Author's Response: I think I chose to have it happen the next day when they were supposed to be safe because it was expected to be while they were out. Predictable is no fun. LOL.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by ravenclaw_princessWorth the Risk: Breaking the Rules

18th December 2011:
This isn't going to end well, I can tell. It's a shame Hugo is just so irresistibly charming. Poor Ly never stood a chance against him.

I liked the little revelations about Ly's crush and Hugo's insecurities that he was never noticed, unlike his cousins. It gives depth to their characters.

Great job on this chapter. I'm looking forward to seeing where this is heading because I'm sure trouble is brewing.

Author's Response: Yeah. Bad Hugo for being so loveable. :P

Yes, trouble is coming. :(

Thank you for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by ravenclaw_princessWorth the Risk: The Truth Comes Out

18th December 2011:
Aww, this was such a heart wrenching chapter. There were a lot of plot revelations too which kept things interesting and moving. It must have been so awkward when Harry walked in.not to mention embarrassing.

It was really sad when Lysander said goodbye. It would have been such a shock and betrayal to find out that Hugo was one of the 'enemy'. It was very sweet though when he came back at the end. It showed the depth of the love the two share.

There were a few spelling and grammar issues but nothing major. The story flowed well and I love the emotion that was put into the dialogue. Good job.

Author's Response: Definitely awkward and embarrassing. Hehe. Loved writing it, though. :P

You just can't say no to Hugo. Leaving is not an option for them, because they love each other too much. Must must stay together forever! ;)

I'll get to the errors soon.

Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by ravenclaw_princessThe Meaning of Lonely: The Meaning of Lonely

15th December 2011:
This is a sweet and meaningful story. I really felt Luna's loneliness. She was wonderfully characterised and I love how you brought in the 'imaginary' creatures and also her fathers influence on Luna's perceptions. I think this is a true perception of what it would have been like for Luna before she met Harry; she did seem quite alone before they met, with everyone avoid her and her eccentricities.

The song/poem was really nicely used with this fic and accompanied it rather than stop the flow. The whole story was well put together. Grammar was also really good.

I just want to go and give Luna a big hug now. Well done. I really enjoyed your story.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, I'm really proud of it and so it makes me really happy to see that someone enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by ravenclaw_princessHopeless: Hopeless

15th December 2011:
This story is so intense and masterfully written. There is so much personification and imagery throughout the whole story that you really feel like you are there. Azkaban comes alive in a very dark and depressing way, and by setting such an atmosphere, it makes it so easy to believe the fear and the despair of the character.

The dementer was so creepy, but so wonderfully constructed with your words. I love hoe you described the kiss and I was slightly terrified to continue reading. It was also interesting to note that you're writting style changed after the kiss, with more repetition of words and phrases. It was like you were reading it with the lost mind of the character.

I like how the character remains anonymous. While I also really wanted to know who it was, it really just showed that once in Azkaban, you are kind of forgotten. You become just a body in a cell.

The only tip I have is that in the first paragraph a lot of the sentences end with two descriptors such as pale, thin hands. While I love the description, I thought the sentence structure just needed to be changed up a bit so it didn't become too repetitive.

Absolutely amazing story though. It was such a powerful and enjoyable read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Azkaban has always intrigued me, and it was really interesting to imagine being inside of it because you never really get an inmate's perspective. The closest someone came to describing it was Sirius and even then, it didn't completely tell the tale.

Slightly terrified? Not sure if I should be grateful or apologetic. :) After the Kiss, I figured she would kind of be an empty shell and I should write it accordingly, as I'd already wrote the story third person but still inside her head. I'm glad you noticed!

Oh, yeah. That's totally what I meant by keeping her anonymous. I mean, it's not like I couldn't think of a name or anything. That would be dumb. *cough*

I just checked on it and you're correct. I'll change it soon, thank you so much for pointing it out to me! I love constructive criticism, it's so... constructive. *dance*

Thanks so so much for the review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>