Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
1,844 Reviews Found

Review #26, by adluvshpUnravel. : Pansy.

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Oh no, this was terribly heartbreaking =( I didn't realise I could feel bad about Pansy so much. I really sympathise with the poor girl. You've characterised her very well.

I like how you described what she goes through. The way the entire narrative showed how she had to be in control of every little detail, from the number of steps to the number of pieces of apples - it's such a methodological life she is leading. Even the glimpse we get into her relationship with Draco shows the routine, the effort, the methodology.

I did not expect the ending bit - about her having the eating disorder. It was very sad and made me feel for her. The self-crticising, the constant emphasis on looking good and comparing herself to her mother. It made an interesting insight into her mind.

Great descriptions, amazing flow, and very powerful narrative. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #27, by adluvshpDon't Forget Me: My Hero

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was amazing, very chilling and haunting. The idea of Albus taking the blame for James' crime is so heartbreaking.

The way you describe Albus' resentment, his pain, his frustration, it really is very well done. And omg, I can't believe James killed Rose!

Now I'm very curious to know the backstory. Why did James kill Rose? How come Albus took the blame?

I do find it sad that poor Albus feels so unloved though. I don't see Harry discriminating between his children so it's probably bitterness from Albus itself. Yet, he takes the blame, believes in James, waits for him to tell the truth. And that shows such an amazing relationship between the two brothers.

All in all, this was very beautifully written. Conveyed so much in just 500 words. I feel really sorry for Albus and I am also intrigued to know what happened.

The descriptions stood out here with words like "golden child" , "crowned black sheep" and destroy everything I touched. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #28, by adluvshpShattered: Chapter 1

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Aw, this was really sad. I never gave much thought to Barty's childhood but you've made me sympathise with him here. The idea of him not having his father's attention, due to his father being such a busy Ministry professional and always putting work before anything else, makes sense and you definitely portrayed it well.

The setting was really sweet with the whole Birthday thing but the way things turned out was pretty awful. It must have been traumatising for a child to hear his parents fight like that. I liked how his mother stood up for her child though, and she event hit her husband, now that was interesting. Of course things ended badly.

But in the end, it was nice of Barty (child) to comfort his mother. Him saying he didn't want his father anymore was quite tragic though. Thinking about it, it seems like his childhood/relationship with his father must have been a contribution to him turning to the dark arts.

All in all, you wrote this very well and it's a great start. I loved the characterisation and narrative.

 Report Review

Review #29, by adluvshpFifth Christmas: Fifth Christmas

21st June 2015:
Review Tag!

Aw, this was very sweet. I like how this is from the point of view of a character we don't read much about. You've expressed her pain and grief over the deaths very well, and it makes sense that it'd be so fresh after so many years, especially on a holiday like Christmas.

The whole Christmas season was captured wonderfully in your narrative. The decorations, the buzz of the city centre, the entire festive feel came through nicely. I liked how the barista was so nice to Susan too - it happens on such good days =)

I liked the over all characterisation of Susan and the insight into her thoughts. I felt for her and wanted to hug her. It was a very bittersweet fic and I liked it. Good work!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Heya Aditi! Thanks for swinging on by!

I'm really glad you liked this. I guess because there's a lot of scope with Susan Bones' character I could technically do whatever I wanted with her story, but I did want to write something that sort of considered all that was going on in the wizarding world as she was growing up. I'm glad you liked this :) also, I love the Christmas season so I really enjoyed writing about it! :D

xxx


 Report Review

Review #30, by adluvshpTwisting In The Wind: Free

21st June 2015:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR KAITLIN! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

My god, this was a sad little piece. I do love Neville/Luna as a couple so it broke my heart to read this. I do like the narrative you presented here from Luna's point of view. It was quite believable. Her wanting to "fly away" and Neville needed stability makes sense. You presented their break-up in a very sad, bittersweet way, showing it's the right thing in a sense and I liked that.

All in all, such a sad, lovely little piece. Very well-written, I must say! Good job! And happy birthday once again =)


Cheers!
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #31, by adluvshpKnight Takes Queen: Bishop

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Wow, another interesting insight into Rowena's mind! I was thinking the merman would make an appearance again though, haha.

I liked how this chapter provided a backstory. Showing a glimpse of what her life was like before. How she feels different, wants to be free, and then when she had realised she was "cursed". These moments were all beautifully explained and showed some great emotion.

And I liked how in the end she's happy. She found her solace. You definitely give great insight into her mind and I love her personality. It's nice that she concludes magic must have some good in it. It makes sense that at this period of time she wouldn't have known whether it was good or not and yet slowly grows accustomed to it.

And the being yourself bit at the end, just perfect. All in all, great descriptions and lovely characterisation. Loved it!

Author's Response: Hey again, Aditi! :) Thank you so much for stopping by - and for coming back, too! :)

Thanks - I'm so glad you liked it! :) Though haha, yeah, no more merman :P It was hard, though, to get the scenes I wanted to include to fit the prompts without being too long, though, so he couldn't have appeared again :P

Yeah, I really wanted to delve into more of her past, after discovering some of it in the first chapter and getting a lot of headcanon around it because the ideas I had sort of came, and I love history so it was something I couldn't quite let go of, haha. The religious element particularly was something I really wanted to include - and helpfully it tied in nicely with the chapter title, too :P

Thank you so much! I really wanted to make her happy (especially considering what we know happens to her later on in life) and to show some of the wisdom she's famous for, too - even if it is about herself.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it was so lovely to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #32, by adluvshpKnight Takes Queen: Rook

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Wow, this is very, very interesting. The idea of Rowena Ravenclaw with a merman is very unique. I loved your descriptions in this one, with her standing on the rock. The surroundings and scene are described wonderfully.

Then her emotions as she sees the merman, dives into the lake after him for curiosity and then wonders if he is going to harm her. It makes sense that it is a time when they didn't know of merman existence and she didn't know what he'd do.

The attraction the two feel towards each other is surprising, interesting and very well-written. Again, your descriptions just totally hit the mark and I was reading it enraptured. The ending bit is the sweetest, her smile and the rainbows and stuff.

Great work!

Author's Response: Hey Aditi! :) Thank you so much for dropping by! :)

Thank you so much! :D I'd always wanted to write about a merman, so when the chance came up with the prompts for last year's House Cup, I just couldn't resist to include one - and Rowena was an obvious choice coz, 'Claw pride and all - so it sort of formed itself as an idea :P

Yeah, I really loved the idea of kinda referring back to the idea of curiosity and discovering and kinda cleverness other than wisdom for Rowena - given she's meant to be a bit younger. Especially given the historical time frame... :)

It's not quite attraction, like romantic attraction, but it's definitely a kind of draw - like between people who like the same things, and have the same qualities, you know? I liked kinda the inference it could give about 'creatures' being closer to humans than we think :P And thank you so much - I'm just so glad you enjoyed it! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #33, by adluvshpkisses-blood-valentine: Ballad of Evvie and Bernie

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

I loved this. The 'nonlinear' narrative is wonderful and works very well. I enjoyed the relationship between Bernie and Evvie- it was very well-written. Bernie and and Beny's relationship is also nicely done. You do cover the dynamics in characters and their relationships perfectly.

The inclusion of the death eaters was an interesting touch. And it makes me think of the way all their relations will be impacted once they find out.

The emotions came through beautifully throughout from pain to anguish to love. Evvie's death was very heartbreaking. The disjointed writing style worked well here.

All in all, I loved it. Great job! Interesting plot and good narrative.

 Report Review

Review #34, by adluvshpDarkness: Darkness

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

I want to cry after reading this but I'm glad it was a happy ending, of sorts. It's interesting how you took Rowle and his wife as characters here. I've barely read anything about them.

Rowle is pathetic as a husband and I feel so sorry for his wife. She wants motherhood and he wants to "take care of it". Ugh. And how keeps putting her down, saying she isn't ready is awful. The way their marriage slowly slips away is sad. I liked the small light moments though - like her cousin's visit.

The ending was good in a way. He died, she could finally live freely. Have what she wanted. Live in peace with her daughter. And it's nice how she names her after the sun - as her daughter brings light.

All in all this was a beautiful story. There was great character progression and it gave me a lot of feels with beautiful descriptions. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #35, by adluvshpMalfoys, Marshmallows and Congas, Oh My!: Malfoy, Marshmallows and Congas, Oh My!

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Haha omg Selene, this was hilarious! I loved your characterisation of the OC Selene (it's awesome your username is after her). She was a quirky little Slytherin. Her dates with Draco were very funny indeed. Him trying to see how many marshmallows he can stuff made me laugh. And to imagine Lucius doing the same thing is just crazy.

The bit where Voldemort and his wife are dancing is another amusing one. I laughed out loud there. And then Draco sashaying to the music like that. Ghosh, you sure can write some pretty hilarious scenes.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this. Lovely OOC characterisations which were totally fine and superb descriptions! A fun, cute little one-shot.

 Report Review

Review #36, by adluvshpWaiting on You: Waiting on You

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Aw this was very sweet. I liked how Albus was not used to waiting, being Harry Potter's son he always got what he wanted. But then the irony that he always felt boxed in, people seeking his attention etc and he didn't like it was interesting.

It made sense that in these circumstances he was attracted to a boy who didn't care about his last name. And Albus didn't care about the Malfoy name either. The struggle to come out as gay was also very nicely shown. Even though this wasn't from Scorpius' point of view, I could understand his nervousness.

The ending bit was sweet as the boys decided they were ready. If you love someone, you don't need to hide it and I'm glad the two understood that - and Albus got what he wanted, or well who he wanted. Their pairing is cute and you definitely showed this in a nice way.

 Report Review

Review #37, by adluvshpWaltz: Waltz

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Oh this was just beautiful. I loved it so much. The idea of an OCD Rose and a stuttering Scorpius is very interesting and unique and I loved how your portrayed them. Their imperfections completed each other and in a way they managed to ease their flaws a little when with each other.

Your insight into Rose's thoughts is very nicely done and I just loved reading this. The whole idea of Scorpius and her being friends, of her scheduling the day, doing the waltz, repeating everything three times and stuff fell in place and worked well with the personality.

It was cute how Rose felt kissing was gross and what she said about the germs made me chuckle. Scorpius' nervousness and awkwardness and him asking if it would be really so awful to kiss him, was very sweet and touched my heart. Aw poor adorable Scorpius.

I was rejoicing when they finally kissed and how Rose enjoyed it. Her describing it as symmetrical was amusing and yet it felt right to her and was sweet. Oh and I liked how the magical mistletoe sparkles those who refuse to kiss with glitter - and how it would of course bother Rose.

All in all, this was a very sweet, cute little fic and I loved it. It was amazing. The ending line was the best - Her life is a waltz, they both understand. But he can learn to dance. Rose and Scorpius really are perfect for each other.

 Report Review

Review #38, by adluvshpThe Ibis Winked: The Ibis Winked

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was awesome, I believe I've never read a story about Ron's time in Egypt before so this was a unique plot idea. What I enjoyed about this was how in-canon Ron was.

I could definitely see him being bored by the history of the tombs and stuff and thinking about Hermione who'd enjoy it and thinking of sending Harry and Hermione post cards. You captured his thoughts and personality spot on.

The moment when the statue winked at him was a little comical and it made me smile. Ron's curiosity and amazement was also believable and the way he couldn't take his eyes away from it was interesting.

The statue speaking to him was very, very interesting. It was sweet how it said that Ron has the knowledge his friends will need. How Ron didn't associate himself with wisdom and learning. And him saying Hermione is the brilliant one made sense.

His confusion at the statue was awesome and I loved how it foreshadowed and Ron was just arguing with it. Very much in-character and a missing moment of sorts, I enjoyed it! Incidentally, I never thought of statues speaking/foreshadowing but it fits well in the wizarding world.

 Report Review

Review #39, by adluvshpResolution: Resolution

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Wow, this was very interesting, I liked how you wrote this about Celestine Warbeck. I have never read a fic about her but it is quite interesting to get an insight into a wizarding celebrity.

I liked how this started off with Celestine feeling tired and drained. How she was not enjoying the banshee singers in the background anymore. How she felt she was getting old. Her weariness came across nicely and it was also believable.

The resolution that she will do less tours and stuff also was realistic yet by the end, where she feels this is what she had been made to do, it makes me wonder whether she can actually stick to the resolution. Despite her having a moment of weakness earlier, I think she loves music and it is her passion and she wouldn't leave it - and you showed all that wonderfully.

In such a short fic, your characterisation of Celestine was nicely portrayed and I could connect with her. The little details such as the use of "sonorous" and banshee background singers and the way a performance is staged in the wizarding world, all made the theme work very well. I enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #40, by adluvshpNoise: Noise

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was so very sad - an alternate reality where Neville turns into a werewolf. I loved the broken segments with dates. It was a good writing style that worked well with the theme.

The darkness, the despair came through beautifully. Neville's waking up in the hospital, disorientated, was very nicely done. His Gran's despair also came through well even if it was shown for a brief moment.

I liked how Neville thought of Lupin while transforming. It showed he was alone and he wanted someone, something. It was very touching indeed. The idea that the mind is the last to go is very interesting. He could feel everything and that was terrible.

Your descriptions of the pain were very real and yet sensitively handled without being too gory. The whole scene was set beautifully and all in all I really liked it, especially the final sentence with the "furniture snapping and fabric ripping" as it painted some wonderful imagery. Tragic but wonderful. Great work.

Author's Response: It was very sad. It was sad to write, but I do enjoy writing angst. I'm glad you liked the broken segments. That was something new I was experimenting with and I'm glad people have liked it.

I'm glad I explored Neville's gran's reactions. She's such a strong woman who's been through so much tragedy. And she'll get through this, as will Neville.

I had to have Neville think of Lupin. He's the only werewolf Neville knew. I'm glad you liked the descriptions. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by adluvshpStrings: Strings

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was very, very sad! Your characterisation of Remus is spot on. The pain he feels at the death of his friends is very real and very well-written.

The second segment with his transformation without his friends was just tragic. It was physical pain and emotional pain combined together and it really made my heart ache. The way he hurt over Sirius' betrayal was the worst and I just wanted to cry reading that.

The interaction between Remus and Dumbledore was spot on. You wrote Dumbledore's dialogues very well. The faint hope Remus had when Harry was alive and he thought maybe he could live with him was very sweet and touching. Dumbledore saying Remus is always welcome was also very sweet and believable.

The last bit was just terrible. Poor Remus, so alone. It made sense he'd go back to Shrieking Shack. The whole "strings were broken" was really nicely woven into theme and struck a chord with me. All in all, loved it. Can I hug Remus?

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you read and reviewed this! This is one of my favorite of my fics I"ve written.

I love writing Remus. I'm so glad you liked his characterization. I've always found Remus's reaction to James & Lily's deaths a sort of "missing moment," so I tried to fill it with this.

Writing Dumbledore always makes me a little anxious. He's such a great character and it's difficult to do him justice. I'm glad you liked his lines.

Remus was really alone after this. I'd love to know exactly what he did during those years, whether he ever went to check on Harry from a distance or anything. The "strings" line is one of my favorites from Paper Towns and it fit so well.

Yes, please give Remus a hug! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by adluvshpLie to Me: Lie to Me

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Oh my, this was very heartbreaking. I liked the alternative reality where Tonks didn't know Remus was a werewolf and they were in a relationship and Remus had lied to her. It broke my heart to see poor Remus berating himself for lying to her and how Tonks after all didn't care whether he was a werewolf or not.

Her backstory that her boyfriend had cheated on her was very sad. It made sense as to why she hated lies so much and why she chose to leave Remus at this point. Remus' surprise at the fact that she cared about the lying bit and not the fact he was a "monster" came across very well. Your characterisation of him was spot on.

The ending was of course very heart breaking with Remus thinking he lost the woman he loves. But I sure hope they make up and Tonks understands him. The idea of the lies protecting him hurting him was very beautiful and interesting and the song overall worked well with the narrative. Loved it!

Author's Response: It was so sad to write this. But the song fit it so well so I had to do it. I definitely wanted something besides Remus's lycanthropy to drive them apart and the lying thing worked. I hated having them split up in the end since they're my favorite ship, but the song sort of needed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by adluvshpI'm Sorry, Mama: One

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Ow, this was so very sad. From the very beginning, you captured the sad/dark/creepy theme of the story very well. The idea that he felt unloved by his mother even as a child is very heartbreaking. Losing a kid can mess up mothers at times and I think you portrayed that interestingly here.

How that affected the kid was of course very tragic. When his mother said, "it should have been you, not Michael." That was very very shocking and very upsetting. How could a mother say such a thing to her own child. But then again, because of her emotional/mental state it makes sense.

The ending scene where the mom is dying is very touching. At first I thought he would kill her, as he so clearly hates her, but the violent haze passed. And in the end he was just a son to his mother. He let her haver her "peace".

The last sentence was definitely creepy. He after all didn't mean the "not hurting" part. And "ding dong the witch is dead." What a crazy family in a way. And you captured it all wonderfully.

Good work!!

 Report Review

Review #44, by adluvshpBall Date: Proposals

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Ginny's characterisation here was great. I loved your portrayal of her and her emotions came through really well here, from her excitement for the Ball to her initial annoyance at not being able to attend because of being a third year.

Neville's awkwardness was adorable and you captured it spot on. It is exactly as how I'd imagine him asking her out for the Ball and him blushing and flustering totally worked. It was so cute and a very realistic moment.

Ginny's joy at finally being able to go and wanting to tell Hermione was very sweet. It showed the bond between the two girls. The ending bit was cute too with Ginny fantasising about the ball night and worrying about her dress and stuff.

All in all, lovely little missing moment that I enjoyed reading. Your plot idea, descriptions, and content was great. And overall the narrative worked really well as it was quite simple and felt it was from the point of view of a thirteen year old.

Good job!

 Report Review

Review #45, by adluvshpThis is How You Love Her: This is How You Love Her

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Oh my, this was very sad, only because we know the outcome - Cedric is going to die. He realises in the end he loves her but he never got the chance to tell her.

His worry for Cho fading away after he wins is interesting. I never thought of it that way. I also liked how included that little segment where he is remembering the morning of the task - how both he and Cho knew he will win and she will "sink in his victory".

The description of the events in the Maze are also well done. The action, the intensity of the scene comes through nicely especially when Harry saves him from the spider monster thing.

You've described Cedric's emotions wonderfully throughout, from nervousness, fear, worry to conviction and happiness. I really enjoyed reading this - this last account of him is great. And the second person narrative worked very well here too.

 Report Review

Review #46, by adluvshpSweet Sorrow: Only A Memory

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was very sad - well it didn't started out sad but it did in the end. I assume it was Harry she was talking about - with the eyes staring into being her own. That means James was dead.

Your descriptions here are beautiful. From the detail of the coffee, to how it makes her feel, to the detail of James and Lily's antics at school - the "red and gold" and the "P" and the "marauders" - those words conveyed a lot and it was an interesting way of informing the readers about which bit of their life they were reading and what's going on.

It was also nice to see Lily's gradual falling for James. It makes sense that she'd be drawn to him once the war bits started and she saw how much he fought for what he believed in and what's right and that was good.

The "something missing" analogy was also beautiful and I guess she was talking about Harry there too.

All in all, loved it! Great job!

Author's Response: Yes! It is Harry Lily is talking about in the end. Yes, James was the one who only died.


Oh thank you! They're my very part of my description out of the whole one-shot.


Thank you, thank you again! Ever since writing this one-shot, seeing Lily fall for James is the best part of their relationship. :P



Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to read and review!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #47, by adluvshpStrangers in the End: Where is Home

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was very well-written. Your descriptions are amazing and I loved the beginning bit where you're describing his feelings like somersaults in the stomach, and the beating heart as "The beating organ between your ribs".

The idea that Hermione's mother, even though she lost her memories, is still "looking for the missing pieces in her life is very touching - and makes sense." It made me so sad when she addressed her daughter as Mrs Weasley.

Oh my ghosh, when she addressed her as Hermione, I thought for a second her memories are back - but then I realised she's sort of "insane". And when you explained about the car accident, it made sense. It is really very sad that Hermione wasn't able to reverse the spell she had placed. It is also very heartbreaking that she had to become their caretaker to spend time with her parents.

All in all, very beautiful, sad little one-shot. It's an interesting plot as I've not come across a fic dealing with Hermione's parents' aftermath (the memory spell unsuccessful) before.

Author's Response: It's great that you said my description was amazing, and the beginning part with the beating heart especially!


It is sad to watch one who doesn't recognize the other, whether in fiction or in real life.

Well, she's not insane per say... I don't know if you read my author's note, but Mrs. Granger had Alzheimer. I believe it's common that those with that disease recognize their loved ones, even if it's very brief. It was mostly in relation of what happened with my grandmother.



Nevertheless, I'm happy you enjoyed reading this, and I'm grateful you read and leaving a review!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #48, by adluvshpThere Is a Light That Never Goes Out: even after all this time

12th June 2015:
Hello! Here from Slytherin to review your story for the House Cup 2015.

Oh dear, I'm going to cry. This was just beautiful. This is one of the few fics I've read where besides Snape's love for Lily, her feelings for him are also explored and I think you nailed it.

The short snappy paragraphs worked perfectly. The way you described them as light and dark, and throughout made comparisons was lovely.

I especially loved the bit where Lily compares how she cannot forget Snape the way she can't forget Petunia - and how he compares that he cannot forget her the way he can't forget the abuse of his father. They're both comparing it to broken relationships and it's perfect.

The scene where Severus lets her escape makes so much sense and it made my heart bleed. Lily finally forgave him - but of course they could not be even friends anymore for their different paths.

The ending segment brought everything together with "always". It sometimes comes across as cheesy but here you fit it perfectly.

All in all, I really loved it. Great descriptions, amazing characterisations and lovely, lovely writing style.

 Report Review

Review #49, by adluvshpStargirl: naming

12th June 2015:
Hello! Here from Slytherin to review your story for the House Cup 2015.

I loved this! Your characterisation of Luna is spot on. You really got into her head and did her character justice.

The beginning bit was very touching - how Luna was afraid of forgetting her mother. It is natural to happen because she was only a kid when her mom died, yet her fear and her desperation came through believably and wonderfully.

The idea that it was Luna's mother who had taught her the names, who had induced her to believe, is very sweet. It makes sense how Luna clings to these beliefs always - they're almost like her mother's legacy to her.

The name "Stargirl" is very sweet and I like how Luna's mother called her that. That was a very nice little detail and it fits Luna's personality in a way.

Her encounter with the thestral is beautifully written. Luna's emotions during the scene were very well described. You also got Hagrid's dialogue and tone perfectly so kudos for that.

The ending just broke my heart. So many deaths. And the way she named the thestrals was so heart breaking. So tragic yet bittersweet ending.

All in all, this was very well written. Your descriptions were beautiful and powerful, and characterisations perfect. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #50, by adluvshpEvent Three: One Promise: One Promise

12th June 2015:
Hello! Here from Slytherin to review your story for the House Cup 2015.

Aw, this was very, very good sweet. I loved your characterisation of Lucy and Raisa. We didn't see much of them since this was a short fic, but from the little I saw, I connected with them and it made me smile - perhaps more so because I've friends whom I haven't seen for years too.

I love how you built this up with the promise to see each other again - how you described the fading of letters and even Christmas cards. It is very plausible and it happens as life gets busy. Yet, how both of them turn up to meet at the promised time and place is very sweet.

I enjoyed the backstory you gave - of how they became gradual friends somehow and then had to go their separate ways after Hogwarts. It was realistic.

The best bit of this story was "Lucy had no idea why she had been nervous before, or why she had been uncertain about today. It didnít matter that they hadnít seen each other for years, or that the last letter theyíd sent to each other was over a year ago."

It makes so much sense, because with true friends, with people you really connect with, no matter how much time has passed since you last met, whenever you do meet, it's going to be like you were never separated (again speaking from experience).

So, you captured that purity and beauty of friendship here amazingly well. It was a simple little one-shot but very feel-good, touching and sweet all the same. I don't know what else to say except Great Job!

Love,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you very much for dropping by to review my fic!

I'm really glad to hear that you could kind of relate to the story, and that you liked what you saw of the characterisation. I also try to ensure my stories are mostly realistic, so it's great that you found the sequence of events very plausible!

I definitely drew on some of my personal experiences with this story, although there are a couple friends from my past who I have lost touch with... I kind of wish I had made some sort of promise with them years ago like Lucy and Raisa did! Thanks so much for reading and for leaving me such a lovely review! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>