Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
1,832 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshpHC Event 3 - A as in Sexuality: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Hey Liz!

Since you've reviewed for Slytherin for the HC, I thought I'd come by and leave you a complimentary thank you review =)

Ooh, I really liked this! You describe Dorcas' fears and nervousness very well. I like how she feels free after having come out to her friends and yet at the same time she wonders if things will change. It was sad that she didn't get accepted prior to Hogwarts but I liked the happy ending here and that she finally found good friends who didn't care about her sexuality =)

Great little one-shot! Enjoyed reading it!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshpDeceivingly Angelic: One

28th June 2015:
Hey Raisha!

Since you've reviewed for Slytherin for the HC, I thought I'd come by and leave you a complimentary thank you review =)

I really liked reading this! Your character Angel is very human and relatable. I like how she's in Ravenclaw and on talking terms with Luna. Her interaction with this "boy" is very intriguing. I wonder who he is and why is he so rude?

All in all, great start to the story! Cheers!

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: You are so sweet! Than you so much!
It's been a while since I've looked at this story tbh but if I remember correctly it's someone who is just naturally rude! A certain Slytherin perhaps... o.o


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshpSlowly Falling: Falling

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This was lovely, just lovely! What a sweet little James/Lily story. I liked how this started off with Lily hurt over Severus' words, of her and James not being on good terms, and yet Severus' words are what brought them together in a way.

The gradual change in relationship between the two was very well-written. I loved the little scene with Remus, Peter and Sirius coming to "help" Lily and she smiling - it was a very adorable moment. And something I could see James doing.

The ending bit was the sweetest. The Astronomy tower setting was beautiful and the way James sneakily let them stay, and then their kiss - it was just magical. I was smiling while reading it.

Your descriptions and characterisation were brilliant! I enjoyed reading this =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshpcrying lightning: Prologue: yesterday // let's head over to tomorrow

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was just beautiful! I loved your writing style here. The short, snappy paragraphs, the little brackets, the overall tone of the writing, worked very well. The theme was very interesting and was definitely powerful.

I liked how you didn't take any names here yet we could guess who the characters are, sort of. There is a certain intrigue surrounding the narrative at the same time and that was perfect.

Your imagery and descriptions were just marvellous. In 500 words, you expressed so much. And the whole connection with the game was very creatively done.

I especially loved the part about the firsts - the first murder, the first curse. That was some beautiful writing and clever thinking.

Really, I am speechless. Amazing little one-shot! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshpHamartia: one.

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This is a very interesting start to the story! I like how it's from the POV of a new Slytherin character, someone who is "willing" to be on the "dark" side, as it's a fresh perspective.

Your descriptions were simply amazing, and some bits really stood out to me like "(I learned this, too, was out of necessity, because of the sheer venom directed at us from self-righteous Gryffindors and Hufflepuffs with points to prove, and that Slytherin’s caustic reputation was self-defence)." and "I didn’t learn her name for another two years, but when I did – Athena Selwyn – I knew she would be my downfall."

Your characterisation was very good and I am instantly intrigued by her personality as well as somewhat connected. Her hiding her parentage, experience of being into Slytherin, meeting Athena, falling for her - it is all described very well. I am in love with the narrative and the writing style, it flows beautifully.

All in all, such a lovely start to the story! I'd love to read more. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshpAll Existing Matter: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This is amazing, pure amazingness. Wow, what an ingenious idea to combine magic with science! I love how you've introduced the concept of MASA and of everything being top secret. It is plausible that with the help of magic they can reach another planet within 3 months.

Rose's characterisation is very nicely done. Her nervousness, fear, thrill, it all comes through wonderfully and I can connect with her quickly. It's interesting that she's a botanist - that's a profession I've seen her in for the first time in FF.

The entire scene on the planet was very well-written. I enjoyed how Rose was thrilled by the new planet, how she was immersed in finding the plants. And then BAM, the mud, the shaking of the ship, and they left her. That was terrible, ghosh, what an awful crew. I am very intrigued to know what will happen to Rose now. Is she going to meet ET life? How's she going to survive without magic? Very interesting and I really want to read more!

Pleasure to have stopped by!

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshpRoses: Roses

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was beautiful, and also very sad, because the ending. Cries =(

What I loved about this was the recurring theme of the white roses. It was sweet how it started off with Harry visiting his parent's graves with his family and leaving the white roses then ventured into the past with Lily doing the same for her grandma.

It was adorable how James sort of got under her skin, giving her white roses every so often and slowly getting her to warm up to him. Lily's thoughts on that were fun tor read.

I was shocked when the bit about the journal came out but then it was cute how James asked her to marry him and everything worked out.

The wedding and the events following that were nicely written - it was an interesting sign that peter brought black roses. And then the ending with the roses wilting and there being black roses. That was the saddest.

Such a lovely little one-shot with great descriptions. I really liked it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshpThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

OMG WHAT? UMBRIDGE? THIS WAS ABOUT UMBRIDGE? I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT?! YOU WROTE A ROMANTIC ONE-SHOT ABOUT UMBRIDGE WOW. AND LOCKHART. OMG.

Okay now the hyperventilating is out of the way, I have to say, this was AMAZING! Your writing style was totally awesome and fit the theme of the story. I liked the way the little snippets of thoughts were put into the narrative too and they gave personality to Umbridge.

The ending of course was the masterpiece. Using her little signature cough was perfect. I suppose this was during their Hogwarts days so it's an interesting idea to have them go to the same school and Umbrige having a crush on him.

And "with your voice like molten galleons you pronounced proclamations, ‘pointless proclamations,’ others who were lesser said, ‘profound proclamations," BAHAHAHA. I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE.

Loved it really. Never thought I'd say this about an Umbridge fic but this was great!

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshpExpect the Unexpected: Prologue

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Ooh this was very, very interesting! I loved the mysterious feel to it with the fog and the still lake setting. It was all calm and serene until Pansy suddenly popped in.

Draco's shock and surprise came through nicely and then Pansy speaking in riddles was very intriguing. I wonder what she meant by emerald in the eye of the snake. This might have later significance, I'm guessing.

And then Draco got transported to the Room of Requirement. That's when I guessed it was surely a dream. Yet, Harry's arrival and their kiss was certainly abrupt (and intentionally abrupt, I'd think). It kinda made me chuckle but also curious to know the why behind the dream.

All in all, this sets an interesting premise to the story! Good descriptions and narrative!

 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshpslytherin will rise: you and me

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Oh, this was so sad, and beautiful, and heartbreaking, and also amazing! I can't believe you wrote this in the alphabetical manner. After I read your Author's Note, I checked and indeed every sentence did follow the order. And that's just amazing. Wow!! Unique writing style!!

The concept of this was lovely. I really liked how you wrote this from the POV of an unnamed Slytherin. Her characterisation is great, starting off with thinking how Voldemort would lead them to great things and by the end realising how bad it was. The bit about the plant comparison was amazing. It made me so sad that teachers didn't realise how Slytherin students were being mistreated by others.

And then the ending, gah so tragic. I loved your descriptions and use of language. Like "is it cowardly to not wish to fight your parents and friends on the battlefield? Quiet courage can be just as grand when it is needed." JUST BROKE MY HEART. Can't believe her love died at the end =( All in all, amazing story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshpFive of a Kind: Introduction - Dealer's Choice

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This was a very interesting little chapter! I like how Cormac is a professor at Hogwarts. That's something I wouldn't have envisioned. I wonder what he teaches, haha.

You have captured Cormac's personality pretty well. The annoyance at having to spend his day off watching kids in detention, the desire to flirt with the new girl or the bartender, are all quite plausible for him.

What I liked was the vagueness - you kept a certain level of intrigue here, not informing why the kids were in detention, what the Deputy Headmistress' scheme is and what exactly is going on.

And of course, having the Weasleys, Potter and Malfoy all in the same detention can turn out to be very amusing so I'm looking forward to checking out what is in store for them.

Your descriptions were good, nice characterisation and over all good plot!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Angie! Cormac I think is going to be interesting, although I haven't really decided what he teaches yet. And I'm glad you like his characterization, I always thought of him as a bit of a slimeball.

I do keep it vague because everything will be explained as the chapters progress. I do think the characters are going to be a lot of fun to explore and write, especially Malfoy, he's going to be one of my favorites in this, I can already tell.

Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm glad you liked the intro!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshpSturm und Drang : Freedom

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Ooh, a very good beginning to a Draco/Astoria story. I love how this starts off with the news article that gives a backstory of sorts. Draco's characterisation is believable too, yes he was pardoned but he's not changed overnight. His feelings about muggleborns etc still linger.

I enjoyed the setting you created here of the Manor, the calm atmosphere, absence of Lucius, Narcissa's singing. It was very nice and sweet. The idea that Draco has to do community service is interesting. I also like the concept of support groups/organisations helping Muggle-borns. The one about the war victims is also very plausible and it's interesting that Astoria runs it.

Great job so far. I am excited and curious to see what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshpUnravel. : Pansy.

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Oh no, this was terribly heartbreaking =( I didn't realise I could feel bad about Pansy so much. I really sympathise with the poor girl. You've characterised her very well.

I like how you described what she goes through. The way the entire narrative showed how she had to be in control of every little detail, from the number of steps to the number of pieces of apples - it's such a methodological life she is leading. Even the glimpse we get into her relationship with Draco shows the routine, the effort, the methodology.

I did not expect the ending bit - about her having the eating disorder. It was very sad and made me feel for her. The self-crticising, the constant emphasis on looking good and comparing herself to her mother. It made an interesting insight into her mind.

Great descriptions, amazing flow, and very powerful narrative. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshpDon't Forget Me: My Hero

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was amazing, very chilling and haunting. The idea of Albus taking the blame for James' crime is so heartbreaking.

The way you describe Albus' resentment, his pain, his frustration, it really is very well done. And omg, I can't believe James killed Rose!

Now I'm very curious to know the backstory. Why did James kill Rose? How come Albus took the blame?

I do find it sad that poor Albus feels so unloved though. I don't see Harry discriminating between his children so it's probably bitterness from Albus itself. Yet, he takes the blame, believes in James, waits for him to tell the truth. And that shows such an amazing relationship between the two brothers.

All in all, this was very beautifully written. Conveyed so much in just 500 words. I feel really sorry for Albus and I am also intrigued to know what happened.

The descriptions stood out here with words like "golden child" , "crowned black sheep" and destroy everything I touched. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshpShattered: Chapter 1

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Aw, this was really sad. I never gave much thought to Barty's childhood but you've made me sympathise with him here. The idea of him not having his father's attention, due to his father being such a busy Ministry professional and always putting work before anything else, makes sense and you definitely portrayed it well.

The setting was really sweet with the whole Birthday thing but the way things turned out was pretty awful. It must have been traumatising for a child to hear his parents fight like that. I liked how his mother stood up for her child though, and she event hit her husband, now that was interesting. Of course things ended badly.

But in the end, it was nice of Barty (child) to comfort his mother. Him saying he didn't want his father anymore was quite tragic though. Thinking about it, it seems like his childhood/relationship with his father must have been a contribution to him turning to the dark arts.

All in all, you wrote this very well and it's a great start. I loved the characterisation and narrative.

 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshpFifth Christmas: Fifth Christmas

21st June 2015:
Review Tag!

Aw, this was very sweet. I like how this is from the point of view of a character we don't read much about. You've expressed her pain and grief over the deaths very well, and it makes sense that it'd be so fresh after so many years, especially on a holiday like Christmas.

The whole Christmas season was captured wonderfully in your narrative. The decorations, the buzz of the city centre, the entire festive feel came through nicely. I liked how the barista was so nice to Susan too - it happens on such good days =)

I liked the over all characterisation of Susan and the insight into her thoughts. I felt for her and wanted to hug her. It was a very bittersweet fic and I liked it. Good work!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshpTwisting In The Wind: Free

21st June 2015:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR KAITLIN! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

My god, this was a sad little piece. I do love Neville/Luna as a couple so it broke my heart to read this. I do like the narrative you presented here from Luna's point of view. It was quite believable. Her wanting to "fly away" and Neville needed stability makes sense. You presented their break-up in a very sad, bittersweet way, showing it's the right thing in a sense and I liked that.

All in all, such a sad, lovely little piece. Very well-written, I must say! Good job! And happy birthday once again =)


Cheers!
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshpKnight Takes Queen: Bishop

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Wow, another interesting insight into Rowena's mind! I was thinking the merman would make an appearance again though, haha.

I liked how this chapter provided a backstory. Showing a glimpse of what her life was like before. How she feels different, wants to be free, and then when she had realised she was "cursed". These moments were all beautifully explained and showed some great emotion.

And I liked how in the end she's happy. She found her solace. You definitely give great insight into her mind and I love her personality. It's nice that she concludes magic must have some good in it. It makes sense that at this period of time she wouldn't have known whether it was good or not and yet slowly grows accustomed to it.

And the being yourself bit at the end, just perfect. All in all, great descriptions and lovely characterisation. Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshpKnight Takes Queen: Rook

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Wow, this is very, very interesting. The idea of Rowena Ravenclaw with a merman is very unique. I loved your descriptions in this one, with her standing on the rock. The surroundings and scene are described wonderfully.

Then her emotions as she sees the merman, dives into the lake after him for curiosity and then wonders if he is going to harm her. It makes sense that it is a time when they didn't know of merman existence and she didn't know what he'd do.

The attraction the two feel towards each other is surprising, interesting and very well-written. Again, your descriptions just totally hit the mark and I was reading it enraptured. The ending bit is the sweetest, her smile and the rainbows and stuff.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshpkisses-blood-valentine: Ballad of Evvie and Bernie

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

I loved this. The 'nonlinear' narrative is wonderful and works very well. I enjoyed the relationship between Bernie and Evvie- it was very well-written. Bernie and and Beny's relationship is also nicely done. You do cover the dynamics in characters and their relationships perfectly.

The inclusion of the death eaters was an interesting touch. And it makes me think of the way all their relations will be impacted once they find out.

The emotions came through beautifully throughout from pain to anguish to love. Evvie's death was very heartbreaking. The disjointed writing style worked well here.

All in all, I loved it. Great job! Interesting plot and good narrative.

 Report Review

Review #21, by adluvshpDarkness: Darkness

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

I want to cry after reading this but I'm glad it was a happy ending, of sorts. It's interesting how you took Rowle and his wife as characters here. I've barely read anything about them.

Rowle is pathetic as a husband and I feel so sorry for his wife. She wants motherhood and he wants to "take care of it". Ugh. And how keeps putting her down, saying she isn't ready is awful. The way their marriage slowly slips away is sad. I liked the small light moments though - like her cousin's visit.

The ending was good in a way. He died, she could finally live freely. Have what she wanted. Live in peace with her daughter. And it's nice how she names her after the sun - as her daughter brings light.

All in all this was a beautiful story. There was great character progression and it gave me a lot of feels with beautiful descriptions. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshpMalfoys, Marshmallows and Congas, Oh My!: Malfoy, Marshmallows and Congas, Oh My!

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Haha omg Selene, this was hilarious! I loved your characterisation of the OC Selene (it's awesome your username is after her). She was a quirky little Slytherin. Her dates with Draco were very funny indeed. Him trying to see how many marshmallows he can stuff made me laugh. And to imagine Lucius doing the same thing is just crazy.

The bit where Voldemort and his wife are dancing is another amusing one. I laughed out loud there. And then Draco sashaying to the music like that. Ghosh, you sure can write some pretty hilarious scenes.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this. Lovely OOC characterisations which were totally fine and superb descriptions! A fun, cute little one-shot.

 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshpWaiting on You: Waiting on You

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Aw this was very sweet. I liked how Albus was not used to waiting, being Harry Potter's son he always got what he wanted. But then the irony that he always felt boxed in, people seeking his attention etc and he didn't like it was interesting.

It made sense that in these circumstances he was attracted to a boy who didn't care about his last name. And Albus didn't care about the Malfoy name either. The struggle to come out as gay was also very nicely shown. Even though this wasn't from Scorpius' point of view, I could understand his nervousness.

The ending bit was sweet as the boys decided they were ready. If you love someone, you don't need to hide it and I'm glad the two understood that - and Albus got what he wanted, or well who he wanted. Their pairing is cute and you definitely showed this in a nice way.

 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshpWaltz: Waltz

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

Oh this was just beautiful. I loved it so much. The idea of an OCD Rose and a stuttering Scorpius is very interesting and unique and I loved how your portrayed them. Their imperfections completed each other and in a way they managed to ease their flaws a little when with each other.

Your insight into Rose's thoughts is very nicely done and I just loved reading this. The whole idea of Scorpius and her being friends, of her scheduling the day, doing the waltz, repeating everything three times and stuff fell in place and worked well with the personality.

It was cute how Rose felt kissing was gross and what she said about the germs made me chuckle. Scorpius' nervousness and awkwardness and him asking if it would be really so awful to kiss him, was very sweet and touched my heart. Aw poor adorable Scorpius.

I was rejoicing when they finally kissed and how Rose enjoyed it. Her describing it as symmetrical was amusing and yet it felt right to her and was sweet. Oh and I liked how the magical mistletoe sparkles those who refuse to kiss with glitter - and how it would of course bother Rose.

All in all, this was a very sweet, cute little fic and I loved it. It was amazing. The ending line was the best - Her life is a waltz, they both understand. But he can learn to dance. Rose and Scorpius really are perfect for each other.

 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshpThe Ibis Winked: The Ibis Winked

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was awesome, I believe I've never read a story about Ron's time in Egypt before so this was a unique plot idea. What I enjoyed about this was how in-canon Ron was.

I could definitely see him being bored by the history of the tombs and stuff and thinking about Hermione who'd enjoy it and thinking of sending Harry and Hermione post cards. You captured his thoughts and personality spot on.

The moment when the statue winked at him was a little comical and it made me smile. Ron's curiosity and amazement was also believable and the way he couldn't take his eyes away from it was interesting.

The statue speaking to him was very, very interesting. It was sweet how it said that Ron has the knowledge his friends will need. How Ron didn't associate himself with wisdom and learning. And him saying Hermione is the brilliant one made sense.

His confusion at the statue was awesome and I loved how it foreshadowed and Ron was just arguing with it. Very much in-character and a missing moment of sorts, I enjoyed it! Incidentally, I never thought of statues speaking/foreshadowing but it fits well in the wizarding world.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>