Reading Reviews From Member: redherring
  
650 Reviews Found

Review #1, by redherringGhosts: Ravenclaw

22nd September 2012:
I'm not a big reader of Founders era (I've got nothing against it, I just... don't, really :p) so I haven't read much about Helena Ravenclaw before, but I really enjoyed this.

I like your writing and felt that the style was very appropriate for the time period, both in narrative and in their speech. There were some really great lines in there too - I especially liked "a storm brewed under her blank face", I just thought it was really descriptive of her emotional state, and very sinister at the same time, hinting at the betrayal she is about to commit. I also really liked the details of your story, like the idea of the power of the diadem and the fact that eventually she could barely think for herself, and the idea of her wandering the forest luring in travellers with her beauty.

I did feel that maybe less-is-more with regards to the dialogue in the section about their death. That's probably my only criticism, though.

That ending is BRILLIANT. I really loved that last line, absolutely genius. It sort of surprised me, seeming really abrupt and sudden as it interrupted her private musings, so I thought it was good that you could make the reader feel surprised along with Helena. The Baron's use of 'not quite' again was witty, while also feeling rather ominous. I also liked that it touched on the idea of how difficult it must have been for the Baron and the Grey Lady to live (well, exist) in Hogwarts together for all those years. Must have been slightly awkward, I would imagine.

Great job with this! I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your awesome review! I'm always a fan of constructive criticism, so thanks for pointing that out, i'll take it into account :D
I'm glad you liked my story, thanks for taking the time to review!
~Gill


 Report Review

Review #2, by redherringThe Giant Squid: The Giant Squid

11th September 2012:
Hi! Firstly, thank you so much for entering my challenge! Secondly, sorry it's taken me so long to get round to your reviews, I can be rather forgetful.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this! I really like the way you've brought Blaise and Dennis together. I thought it was a creative and moving situation you've put them in. I liked the way you connected their two sections with the "he is broken" / "he is lost". It shows that these two people who seem to have nothing in common are not as different as you might think.

On that note, I liked that you didn't have Blaise as just another Slytherin who ran away. I've always found Blaise an interesting character, and as he wasn't that close to Draco and the rest, I think it's completely plausible that he would have stayed behind. I like the idea of him trying to redeem his house - Slytherins don't have to be the bad guys! I loved this line - "shrunken hearts still beating" and I think it was much more interesting to have Blaise saying these things about Slytherins than someone from a different house. But at the same time, he was still Slytherin-ish and I liked the slightly snide/exasperated remark he made about Harry only being dead about five minutes.

While there are plenty of post-war-mourning stories out there, I felt like this had loads of original touches. I LOVED the idea of the phoenix monument, with it being 'reborn' every year. That felt practically canon - I can really see it actually being there. I loved the way you used the Giant Squid, too - it was nice to have some humour in there. And the bantering about Umbridge, and Dennis as a first year in the lake, was funny but really quite poignant as well.

I spotted a couple of typos: "his brother dies" (I assume should be 'died'); "sunshine that one sees in early may" (needs a capital letter). Overall your grammar/spelling/etc seemed pretty good though, which is always a plus!

Something I was a bit confused by was Dennis saying that Colin wouldn't be seen in the same group as Ron, Luna and Neville. Why those three? I feel like it should either be the three main heroes (Harry, Ron, Hermione) or those who stayed behind at Hogwarts and faced Snape and the Carrows (Luna, Neville, Ginny etc). The mix of the two sets feels slightly odd.

Anyway, a really good read! I really liked what you did with the characters I gave you, and it definitely made for a very moving story.

~ redherring

Author's Response: Ok. So i tried to respond to this about five times and pressed cancel instead of submit every time *facepalm* *herpderp*
So anyways, thank you so much for reviewing!
(it might be longer than the story its self xD)
I'm glad that the ways i brought them together seemed plausible. They're at different ends of the Hogwarts spectrum, so it took me a while to think of a circumstance in which they might meet. I was so happy with the characters that you gave me!
I love the interesting little side characters, we know almost nothing about them, so we're free to make anything up :D
I'm glad that Blaise came across as slightly snide (that was my voice speaking through him there. i mean, for most of us, death is permanent). I try very hard not to fall into house stereotypes, so I always try not to vilify slytherins.

I'm glad you liked the phoenix. I've read tons of stories with monuments, and the idea (obviously) springs from the original order of the phoenix. I thought it would be a statue that might very well exist in the potterverse.

Thanks for the corrections and constructive feedback! I will work on editing/correcting those bits.

Thank you again for the awesome challenge!
~Gill


 Report Review

Review #3, by redherringFive Ways It Could Have Ended (and one way it did): Five Ways It Could Have Ended (and one way it did)

24th June 2012:
I absolutely love this. Admittedly, as a diehard Remus/Sirius shipper, I am slightly biased, but even so. I liked that their relationship wasn't the sole focus of the story and you explored some really interesting ideas. Each segment had so much impact for something so short - it's brilliant what you've done in so few words. I honestly don't understand how this story doesn't have about fifty more reviews.

I really like the style this is written in, quite simple and matter-of-fact, but still with a lovely flow and a lovely feel to it. I really felt like you got into the head of each character you used in this, and that really came across in the section in their narrative. Gah. I'm probably not making much sense here, I'm still on a post-brilliant-fic high. All of this is meant to be very complimentary, though.

Each of the scenarios made so much sense, as well, and I think that's one of my favourite things about this. Each one of them could actually have happened. Often in "what if?" scenario stories, you're just left sitting there thinking um, well, that would never have happened... but here each one made perfect sense and was very real.

I think two and five were my favourite ones. In two, you really got into Walburga's character (I loved the little "idiot child" interjection), and the idea of Sirius being sent to Durmstrang is a really good one. The idea of Remus and Sirius having to fight each other is heartbreaking, but I loved that you didn't go too OTT with it. The simple "Remus will return home. Sirius will not." has much more impact than lots of dramatic emotional description would have, and that's something else I love so much about this fic. Similarly in five - "They kill Remus anyway". Simple, yet completely heartbreaking. Again, that one was very realistic. Of course Remus would try to hold out, but anyone would break under that kind of torture.

Anyway, loved it! Really, really did. (I've probably used the word "love" a ridiculous number of times in this review, but never mind.) My new favourite one-shot, I think :)

Author's Response: Oh. wow. I am seriously blushing so hard at this review! Thank you so, so much for all your kind words, and for reading. Hugely appreciated! MJ xx



 Report Review

Review #4, by redherringCollateral Damage: Greater Good

21st June 2012:
Firstly, that banner is love. Oh, Jim Moriarty. Secondly, I absolutely love this take on Peter! The idea of him actually being very clever and playing it down is just so... creepy. Really manipulative, as he's playing the whole lot of them all the time. He was rather chilling, actually. I can never decide just what my head-canon is about Peter, but, having read this, I really can see him being like this.

I also really liked your portrayal of the future Death Eaters as a bunch of misfits. Bellatrix, especially - that was definitely the most interesting take I've ever read on Bellatrix as a teenager. The idea of a bit of Bellatrix/Peter is fascinating as well, I loved that. On the one hand, it is so very wrong, but on the other, it's really intriguing and I now really want to read loads more on it (though something tells me I may struggle to find many Bella/Wormtail stories out there...) Just one mistake I noticed about that, though - I think you referred to Bellatrix marrying Rabastan, when actually she was married to Rodolphus.

Really interesting piece though, and I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: When I was requesting the banner, I asked myself, who would be the perfect mind-twisting psychopath.

The answer is obviously Jim Moriarty.

When I started this one-shot I felt bad for Peter, I knew he was evil but I felt that he was so much more then the just the stupid boy that followed the others around, and so Peter Pettigrew the psychopath was born, and he is now my head canon.

And so is teenage Bellatrix who wears glasses, was never accepted in society because of them. I believe that Voldemort was the only man who approved of her and that's why she swore he undying loyalty to him. Because he showed her how much better she could be.

Bellatrix/Peter is so wrong it's right. :)

I'm glad you liked this! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by redherringLightning Bolt Scar: Famous

21st June 2012:
I really love what you've done with this idea. For one thing, I just thought Neville was perfect in this. He was just so adorably Neville-ish in this story, even more awkward with being famous than Harry is in canon. I felt so sorry for him and at the end there was just that pure moment of squee as he started talking to Ron.

I really liked what you did with Harry, as well - being immediately popular and just generally a bit cocky. He was very like James - like a son James would have raised, I suppose. I also liked the idea of James and Sirius being famous aurors who put Snape in Azkaban, and even though it broke my heart just a little to have Remus as the supposed traitor, I thought that was a nice touch as well.

I really love it in AU stories when everything is thought out properly like that, and you've clearly thought about how lots of different people and their lives would have been affected if Neville was the Chosen One rather than Harry. A lovely piece of writing, I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Harry had the sort of personality where he could be bewildered but also take it in his stride, whereas Neville is just so utterly hopeless in social situations that his anxiety would just be heightened by carrying around a scar of that sort. I felt so bad for him and wanted to give him a hug.

Harry's characterization is a lot like the glimpse of James we saw in The Prince's Tale, in their first year on the train - how he had the air of being well-taken care of, and maybe even spoiled.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by redherringMagnolia Street: Tuesday

21st June 2012:
I love this already! Lysander/Scorpius is a great pairing, and not one I think I've ever read before. The set up is also an intriguing one - I don't think I've ever read a story about a herbologist before (other than with Neville as Herbology professor). I also really loved Lysander's thoughts and observations about everything, and especially about Scorpius.

SCORPIUS MALFOY
Head of Supernatural Resources


That really made me giggle for some reason. It would just be brilliant to be able to give out a business card with a job title like that.

Anyway, really great start, and I look forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! Your review is so unexpected (and perfectly lovely)!

I dunno why I love Lysander/Scorpius so much. Maybe it's because, in my head, they are complete polar opposites. I think they'd get along nicely, and I'm glad you seem to like them too.

I'm really pleased you like the setup! Honestly, it took a few weeks to really wrap my head around how I was going to start it. I mean, it's hard when you've got an entire story planned out to actually sit down and write the first chapter, you know? Anyway, thanks for mentioning it.

You know, that kind of makes me giggle too. :) I don't think it's intentionally funny, but I like the way his name is in ALL CAPITAL LETTERS. I would LOVE a business card like that.

Thank you so, so much for the review. Your kindness is just... overwhelming. I'm very flattered, and I hope you have a marvelous morning/day/evening.

xx Rin


 Report Review

Review #7, by redherringneither created nor destroyed.: i.

22nd November 2011:
Wow. So, so beautiful. I wish I could write like this! I loved how you described his feelings about the war, his obsession with the man he killed, and especially the effect the war had on some of the other characters. Parvati was particularly affecting, I thought.

I really liked this line - But he is a Gryffindor, and Gryffindors see morality in black and white. / He killed a man. There is no grey. Just... wow.

Best one-shot I've read in ages. Loved it!

Author's Response: I have to say, that is one of the lines I'm most proud of, so I'm glad to see it had its intended effect :) I think that the effects of the war on these young people is so interesting, and we didn't get to see it at all in canon, which is why I wanted to write about it a little. Thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by redherringStarving Artists: Minimalist Art Party

4th November 2011:
I think the only appropriate word here is YAYOMGWELLFINALLY. I just love them! Plus, the idea of "Scorpius" and "foxy smile" in the same sentence is utterly, utterly brilliant. I'm worried about this spanner in the works in the next chapter though - I'm not sure how I'll cope emotionally if these two don't get a happily ever after...

On a more random note, I loved this: Scorpius staring at me like I was a loon. Tarquin laughing. Brooding Nameless Barry brooding.

I love BNB! Every time he's mentioned I just giggle. And I especially loved him in this chapter - I mean, he DANCED. Wow. Love him. And I must confess I've been secretly shipping Brooding Nameless Barry/Frances, though I don't suppose it's going to happen. Heartbroken :(

Brill chapter though! (obviously.) So excited for the rest of the story.

Author's Response: HELLO AGAIN. Well, every next-gen needs a foxy Scorpius at some point. It's like a law or something. Oh, and, well, me and my spanners in the works...

BNB has a small yet hardcore fan following, I have observed. Also, really? I've been shipping Barry/Lettuce, personally. Perhaps for a one shot for a rainy day...

Thank you for another review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by redherringStarving Artists: Obscurity is Overrated

1st November 2011:
I've only just got around to reading this story - shocking, I know (the idea of Andrew Garfield as Scorpius on a banner should have had me reading this long ago) - and I must confess I was just planning on leaving a monster review in the last chapter because I'm lazy, but omigod I couldn't leave this chapter without commenting on what I have to say is the funniest line I have read in a while -

'Call them off!' he cried. 'Call them off! I'm getting papercuts!'

That had me in absolute hysterics, just really tickled me. Obscure Henry and his Gap Yah was brilliant too.

I probably won't remember to leave another review until the final chapter (laziness... it's a curse, honestly) but I do absolutely LOVE this whole story. It's such a good idea, it's absolutely hilarious, and it's one of those stories where you find yourself really caring about all of the characters, because you feel you really get to know them. Love it!

Author's Response: Awh hey tharr!

Hee. I must admit that I do like the mental image of that - twas in my head all the way through writing this...

Pssh. Reviews. No worries. Thank you so much for reviewing, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it (and it's good to hear from you again! Your reviews are so lovely~). Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by redherringUgly Glory: Running

25th July 2011:
I think this is a really interesting take on Regulus - I like the idea of Kreacher being so important to him. That one line on its own was really good, really simple and blunt - "He was mine." Regulus felt really young there, possessive in quite a childish way, which I thought was good as, after all, he was just a teenager. It also gets across the... fondness? loyalty?... he feels towards Kreacher though, of course, which was a nice contrast after you stated that no one else is particularly important to him.

I liked your portrayal of Regulus in general, actually. The way you opened was quite brave, if that makes sense - you just make him seem absolutely awful. You didn't really redeem him by the end, either - he had our sympathy for the fact that he was going to be killed, of course, but then he had to go and start talking about pureblood supremacy. I mean this in a good way, by the way - most Regulus stories I've read will do their best to show him in the most positive light they can, despite his Death Eater ways (I'm guilty of this myself), so this was rather refereshing.

Oh and also, this is a really small point, but I really liked him thinking that maybe Sirius would be reinstated on the family tapestry. It's a really interesting thought.

Overall, great story! One very, very small thing annoyed me a bit though - you said "# 12 Grimmauld Place". Just a personal preference, but I find it's better to write numbers out fully in words. Sorry, I'm being picky now, but as I've said, I really rather enjoyed it. Great read!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm so glad you liked it!
You know, I never even thought about putting Regulus in a redeeming light; I was just trying to explain why he turned away from the Death Eaters in my mind.
I'm glad you liked the "He was mine" bit- I had a little struggle with Regulus caring for him so much because after all, don't we know that purebloods feel that house elves are beneath them? I'm glad it turned out nicely.
I think I will go back now and change the address. I never know which way to write it.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by redherringThe Dark of Night: IV

30th May 2011:
I think Albus is probably my favourite of your characters, which is saying something as they're all pretty-darn-brilliant. I love how they're all so flawed, but realistically so, not in a "oh, well, my character needs flaws so as not to be Mary-Sue, so I'll just throw a couple in there" kind of way. The relationship between all three of them is very interesting too, especially as there's something very uncomfortable about it, with Albus always being on the edge and simply watching Scorpius and Elodie without actually having proper interaction with them. Your writing is, again, beauuutiful.

Completely brilliant, again!. I'm hoping for an update soon ;)

Author's Response: Albus has been portrayed with so many different characterisations: ladies' man, super foxy awesome hot lad and just a bit of a meh kinda guy. He's very interesting to write, and I wanted to make him completely different to everything I've ever read about him. I wanted him to be a nobody, a recluse. A bit of a loser. I also think that he's a bit of a sociopath. He's so silent and observant, it's almost unnerving. He's got such a close connection with Malfoy and Elodie - but not friendship-wise, but simply physical. He shares a dorm with Malfoy; he must see him everyday, talk (bit loosely phrased) everyday, but they never really connect. Albus knows all about him though. He's odd.

Thank you for all your lovely comments, and I sorry I literally just over-analysed Albus for you. You could write about him in various English exams, whatever, whatever. Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by redherringThe Dark of Night: III

30th May 2011:
Another brilliant chapter! I loved Albus' introduction, and your portrayal of him as well - I always think he suits being the quieter, more reserved brother. What I think I liked most about that section, though, were the dysfunctional!Potters. That's something that's really quite rare in fanfiction, for them to be seriously, properly dusfunctional, anyway, not just in a humorous way. It was really interesting to see them described through Albus' eyes with such distaste, to see the negative side to them. Oh, and I'm really rather sad that Arthur's dead :( That was really moving, mainly because you told us it so simply, so quietly, not making a big deal of it. Loved it!

Author's Response: Yeah, usually you get the 'oh look Ron is angry for Rose because she's been having an illicit relationship with Malfoy' kind of look on the Weasleys, and especially the whole 'look they are all together for happy times as a family'. I wanted the pretense of a happy family - they are meant to be perfect and lovely and what not - and I supposed that it what Harry and Ginny think they have. They also think that Albus is just shy - they try to encourage him. They feel they have to make a special effort because he's so different. Albus isn't as stupid as they think though, and their apparent approval of his Slytheriness just comes off as patronising - which it is.

And yeah, Arthur's dead. I felt really sad writing that bit, actually. I was contemplating making a bigger deal of it though! Thanks again for your lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by redherringThe Dark of Night: II

30th May 2011:
Ok, wow. I read the first chapter of this a while back and for some reason didn't then continue with it. Having read this now, I have absolutely no idea why not. This was just brilliant! I love your characterisations of both Scorpius and Elodie and their relationship is fascinating. The way you kept showing snippets of their story, the way you're gradually explaining their history together was fantastic too. Your writing is just gorgeous too, all the dialogue very realistic, the description completely brilliant, especially at the beginning with Scorpius wandering through the dark house alone at night... all very eerie and I loved it!

Author's Response: I had massive qualms about this chapter actually. I was seem to have my characters have an argument in the second chapter of all my fics. I don't know why, I guess it's just an easy way to reveal relationships and plot lines and emotions and that. Plus they are SUPER fun to write. I love banter. I also wanted to incorporate some memories/flashbacks whatever, just so I could reveal more backstory for all you lovely readers. ♥

Thank you for all your lovely comments, and for coming back to review! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by redherringMemento: VII

26th May 2011:
Brilliant, brilliant ending! I must say I was a little anxious before starting this chapter - when you've read and loved a really wonderful story and then the ending is just a bit meh, it's like the world's ended, but this was just perfect. I can't think of a better conclusion to the story. I'm glad you decided against that inconclusive ending though, but at the same time it's great that you didn't have Draco professing his undying love for Astoria and proposing on bended knee or something in some awkwardly cliche scene. That final section was perfect, though. Loved it.

I may have to go and stalk your author page now to catch up on everything I haven't read. I've read about half your stories, I think (and In Dreams and Starving Artists have been on my to-read list forever), but anyway, there's my afternoon sorted! xD To conclude, I've enjoyed this story a ridiculous amount and am insanely jealous of your writing ability. Thanks so much for writing it :D

Author's Response: Argh, I hate it when that happens! Haha, yeah, when writing this ending chapter I was basically sitting with my fingers hovering over the keyboard, thinking 'oh god, what if I write a rubbish ending? What if everyone hates it?' - so I came up with an inconclusive ending in the idea that people could come up with their own version, kind of like a 'choose whether you ship draco/astoria or not' thing, haha. But that was really lame, so I scrapped that. This was written in such a rush though, I tell you. It was probably the only section of the fic I didn't make a note for. I just sat down and wrote it with no idea of where I was going D:
Thank you so much for your reviews on this story -they've been really lovely and put a smile on my face ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by redherringMemento: VI

26th May 2011:
Ok. Wow. The obliviating thing? Best. Idea. Ever. So, so genius. Them having the same argument again and again, her justification of "well-I-love-you-so-I-had-to-obliviate-you"... just wow. When Astoria said, "This always ends with shield charms on your part" I got chills, actually. The whole idea of her being able to manipulate him in that way, to be able to have such control over his life, was just so... chilling. Amazing. A really brilliant idea, one I'm pretty sure I've never seen done before either. Must read the next chapter right now! I'm rather sad it's almost over though :(

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. It's the biggest plot twiiist and shouuut I've possibly ever written and I was so terrified of it going wrong, so, wow, I'm really glad you approve, haha! I really wanted to set Astoria up as such a nice and lovely person, and then have her turn out to be mega manipulative and really actually quite horrible - I mean, this is Draco Malfoy she's going out with. She's got to be a tough one. So I suppose the utter reversal here...yes, chilling is kind of what I was going for. I'm really glad you liked it ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by redherringMemento: V

26th May 2011:
Loved the Draco/Blaise banter at the start - 'What, it's all about kneecaps? Come off it, Draco.' The Draco/Astoria interaction was lovely too - the whole thing with the sunflowers was adorable and the tree-climbing wonderfully Astoria-ish.

I'm rather worried about this "Mount Everest of angst and misery". I think this might actually be as far as I read last time around, though I thought I'd read more. Even though I'm a firm believer than Drastoria's should, on the whole, be angsty and dysfunctional (as you said, Draco = tortuous angst. So true, so true), I think I love your Astoria and Draco too much for that! Oh well, I'm sure I'll manage to keep reading somehow x)

Loved it, again! Very, very excited for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Blaisey Blaise. He is rather fun. He's the light comic relief in this melee of angst.

Ah, yes, the mount everest of angst and misery - with the benefit of hindsight, you should be very worried. It doesn't bode well. But that's just true to form - Drastoria should be, as you said, angsty and dysfunctional. He's a tortured soul of epic proportions with some pretty dodgy views.

Glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by redherringMemento: IV

26th May 2011:
Sooo... I read this a while back, reviewed a few chapters, read the rest of the story but completely forgot to review. My bad. So now I'm reading this all again and actually doing the decent thing and reviewing this time x) Hi again!

Anyway, I'm loving this just as much as I did the first time around, possibly more, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how it ends as I didn't get that far last time. Plus, your new banner is TO DIE FOR. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Did you make it yourself?

Sorry, tangent. Anyway, wonderful chapter, absolutely loved it! 'Yeah, we kind of slept together-' - oh, Draco, Draco, Draco. Think before you speak, man. Pansy's reaction was priceless though, I loved reading that whole bit.

Author's Response: Hi again! I love hearing from you every now and again, your reviews are always lovely ♥

Yeah, I did make the new banner. The old one was so lovely, but I'd taken it from the UFG thread at a time when the story was still in the early stages, and it didn't really suit it anymore. I was revamping a few old banners, so decided to make a new one for this too. Glad you like it (:

Oh, draco - bigmouth strikes again.

Thanks very much for the review! Really glad you enjoyed it (:


 Report Review

Review #18, by redherringMonster : Monster

23rd May 2011:
I really liked this! It was a really interesting way to approach the Remus-is-a-werewolf topic - I'm pretty sure I've never read anything like this, where he's coming clean to Lily. Actually, I'm not sure I've ever read any stories about Remus and Lily, except where they were being shipped together, even though in canon isn't Remus supposed to say that Lily was there for him when no one else was, or something like that?

Either way, this all felt very canon, not just because Remus and Lily both seemed very in-character (though they certainly did), but because the setting was so casual, so normal, just two friends having a conversation. It was all very realistic, even if they were talking about werewolves, but hey, it's Hogwarts x) I loved that you had Lily say she wanted to be a Healer, as well, I can really imagine her wanting to be one.

A very enjoyable read! (Even if I was awwwing for Remus the whole way through.) Great job, Linders!

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so glad that you liked this so much. I figured at some point she would have to find out - I mean how could you be married to a Marauder and not know that his best friend was a werewolf?

Ha ha, yeah, that's true - I do think he does say something along those lines. But I prefer to see them just as friends. Very few people seem to make those Lily/Remus one-shots feel canon for me.

Aww, thanks! I'm glad that you thought so. I know that the plot isn't exactly riveting, but not every story could be full of war and excitement. Sometimes, people just have conversations like friends as you mentioned. I'm glad that you picked up on that, I'm certain that is what Lily would have been had she lived.

I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it, and thank you so very much for the praise! I really appreciate it very much. :)


Linders


 Report Review

Review #19, by redherringPrecision: Precision

23rd May 2011:
I really liked this! I loved the terse, sparse style, it worked really well, and your characterisation of Severus was probably one of the best I've read. Showing the two different time periods was very effective as well - I especially liked the almost childish petulance and naivety of some of what he was saying in the first half, the way in which he had simplified his problems: There were no rules. People were two things, and two things only. Popular. Unpopular. And that last line - gahh, poor Sev! Really powerful. Great stuff!

Author's Response: Aww, thankyou! I did try to be sort of... poetic? in the style, and it's good to know that it flowed alright ^_^

I was hoping that my characterization was alright... It was fun doing the three stages of Snape :) I felt he'd feel sort of... confused? I mean, because he'd wanted Hogwarts to be perfect for so long, and it was ripped out of his grasp by bullying.

Thanks, I do always try to have a strong last line, but most of the time they turn out corny, so I'm glad you liked this one :)

Thankyou for this awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by redherringLittle Lion Man: Little Lion Man

17th May 2011:
Firstly, great song choice! Little Lion Man = definitely one of my favourites. You used the lyrics brilliantly too. I love Snape/Lily and you wrote them really well - I especially liked when Lily was constantly thinking 'Mudblood' but wasn't willing to say it out loud, it really showed how much it had hurt her. Severus was wonderful too - hurt, awkward, even a little bit vulnerable, but he still felt true to canon. When he hurt, he wanted the world to burn. He'd burned her. - ohhh that line just killed me! Poor Sev :( Love it though, brilliant work!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm so glad that came through - I wasn't sure if the Mudblood was too much!

Hooray! This entire review made me smile so much, thank you! I'm so, so glad you enjoyed it, and thank you a million times over!
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #21, by redherringCarthage: dido

8th May 2011:
I must admit to being a closet Sirius/Lily fan. It's one of those ships that I really feel I shouldn't like, but I just can't help myself. And I absolutely loved this! All three charcters are very intriguing and the style you've done this in is just gorgeous - the short sentences, short lines, the fact that it was quite dialogue-focused... just wonderful. It made it feel quite sparse (in a good way!) because there was less to detract from the characters, the emotions. Love it! Can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: I felt that way, too, like pairing James or Lily with someone other than each other was a violation of some rule of natural order. But I'm glad you gave this a try and even happier that you enjoyed it! The style I was rather nervous about, but I did it because I like back-and-forth dialogue more than description at the moment. It was meant to feel sparse (but yay for a good way). I'll put up the next chapter when I'm done with my exams and stuff, which should be soon. Thanks so much for stopping by, dear!

 Report Review

Review #22, by redherringBefore the Tales: The Story of Beedle the Bard: Before the Tales: The Story of Beedle the Bard

8th May 2011:
Wow. This was just... magnificent. Beautiful. Your writing was so gorgeous, Beedle's character so brilliant, and the idea for the story so, so original. Just amazing. I'll stop now because I'm running out of complimentary adjectives, but you're clearly a very talented writer and I absolutely loved this!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was fun to write :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by redherringHe was Harry: He was Harry

3rd May 2011:
Wow, I think this is the closest I've ever come to tears while reading fanfiction! Honestly, I just found it really, really moving. Ginny's emotions were so strong and vivid, and the fact that they were often quite simply and plainly stated was really effective in contrast to the detailed description (which was really brilliant, by the way).

As well as being moving though, there were some really quite horrific moments actually, reflecting the horror of all the deaths and the battle. Images of her fallen brother, still grinning in death - this line I found really quite sinister, but really, really powerful. Just brilliant, honestly.

You also may have converted me to Harry/Ginny :P I can sort of go with it in the books but I very rarely read it in fanfiction. I really enjoyed this though and the way you portrayed their relationship - it was realistic but powerful as well. Wow, I've used powerful an eccentric number of times in this review, but actually that's a pretty good way of summing this story up, in my opinion. Great stuff!

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much, love! That means so much to me, especially hearing it from you - I read the latest chapter by the way, I love Henri/Apolline so much it hurts. Haha. But anywayy, I was actually really worried about this, I was worried that I'd write Ginny and Harry wrong, or get the details of the battle mixed up - something which seems to irritate people so much. I'm so happy that people seemed to have enjoyed it, it really takes a weight off of my shoulders, in a way.

I actually hoped to achieve that, to make it bitter sweet in the way that whilst Ginny had also gotten Harry back, the love of her life, from the dead she also had lost her brother and so many people she cared about, people who would not be coming back. I didn't want to make it seem like they had been forgotten, and I'm glad it seemed - well, sinister. It was mostly intentional, so thanks, love :) I'm glad you picked up on that.

And really? I'm actually more of a Harry/Hermione shippper - but shh, don't tell! Haha. I just always wanted to know what Ginny's reaction would have been, how she would have handled it so I could not help but write my own interpretation of what I thought might happen when they were reunited. I'm so happy you liked it, and this review has really made my day - so thank you, so much.

Allie x.


 Report Review

Review #24, by redherringTom's Troubles!: Tom's Feelings!

16th April 2011:
Hahahahahaha! Loved it xD Completely hilarious! I really liked how this went in a different direction to a lot of the other 'worst story' entries - a Voldie/Hagrid fic is definitely not the kind of thing you expect, and that just made it all the more hilarious! Is it just me or is the Brian in his name sound really hot? - so funny! Great stuff :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! This review made me laugh :D I wanted to make it different and if I say so myself it turned out good :D Voldie/Hagrid is definitely different :D It's just how Brian sticks out something just made me write it :P Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by redherringBroken: So it ends so it begins

9th April 2011:
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I've just read all of this in one go (as it's three in the morning I probably shouldn't have, but hey xD) and I've loved every chapter of it! Brilliant work (thought from you I'd expect nothing less) and I'm now off to examine your author page and catch up on everything I haven't read :P

Author's Response: thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. i am really pleased you enjoyed it!!

xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>