Reading Reviews From Member: long_live_luna_bellatrix
  
638 Reviews Found

Review #1, by long_live_luna_bellatrixHero: One Day at a Time

3rd May 2016:
Hiii! I finally made it! And I'm so glad I did.

First of all, I think that counting by "Gryffindors" is so clever. I know it's a tiny thing, but it makes so much sense, and it's those tiny details that I love about a story. Also, I loved how much information you got across just in the first interaction Hero had with her dad. I could immediately digest her family dynamic, her value in her academics, and the fact that something went down this past summer...

You introduced Emory and Theo so smoothly. At first I was thinking, "Oh no, too many names!" but Hero's conversation with Emory immediately settled everything for, as I learned about Emory and Theo's relationship and the fact that something had happened to make Hero very nervous about seeing Theo.

The way you introduced Tom Riddle was SO great. The line, "the same smirk that played on his lips like he knew something you didn’t," is a pretty simple one, and yet it felt so fitting to me. Like I didn't need any more description other than that. Plus, with Tom, the plot thickened even more! It's so neat that he came home with Finn as a friend. It's hard to picture Tom Riddle visiting friends in the summer! And yet he must have!

I'm dying to know what happened with this Noah (he drowned??!) and also what happened between Hero and Theo... Gah, I'm just dying to know everything! Also, the line from Finn, “That you made out with a Muggle or that you killed him?” was so... chilling. And yet also kind of darkly humorous, you know? Like how casually Finn flips it out.

The only thing I can think of to suggest for this chapter is maybe fleshing it out in some way, whatever that way may be. Most of your paragraphs are relatively short, which of course is totally fine and likely part of your writing style, but if you were interested you could perhaps go through and see what other small details you could slip in to bring things more alive. Especially given that we're in a different time period, any context clues to remind us of that could be helpful and super interesting. For instance, more attention to what people are wearing, or perhaps snippets of conversation Hero over hears from other students about what's going on in their lives at the moment...

Then again, I loved how quickly the chapter moved, and how much suspense it created so effortlessly, so there's no need to bog it down too much! I guess I'm a little torn in terms of the question of adding more or not. But regardless, I thought it was SUCH an intriguing chapter, and I will definitely be reading on! (Even though I'm a terribly, terribly slow reader. Very sorry about that!) I can't wait to see more of these characters– Hero, Theo, Finn, Emory, Tom... I've only caught glimpses of them here, but they all seem to hint at more depth to come. Great, great job Bianca!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by long_live_luna_bellatrixHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 5 : Back to the Burrow

6th March 2016:
Hi! I'm back again, to continue non-anonymously, and this time for the HPFF Review-a-Thon!

One thing you did really well at the start of this chapter was reminding the reader right away that even though Harry has arranged for something absolutely momentous to happen, wizard-goblin relations are by no means instantly smoothed. It's not that I was expecting that to happen or anything, not at all, but I do think it was an excellent choice to get into that right away with the moment with Bill and Slimshanks at the beginning. It was a sobering reminder to the readers to not get too comfortable yet! Following that up with Alicia's reaction worked really well too, in her case as a contrast to the goblins' reactions from earlier chapters. Once again, none of this is coming as a surprise-- more as a, "Wow, I'm not sure if I'd have thought of that myself or not, but it makes so much sense I can't imagine it any other way!" type moment.

"Gringott's has two t's by the way..." Hilarious line. I love the small bits of humor sprinkled in here.

The moment with the photograph of Harry and Lighsthefire was lovely. I thought it was great how you suddenly pulled way back from the present to comment on how famous the photo would become-- it really added a gravity to the moment. Plus, it's such a Harry thing to do-- to do a totally selfless and kind thing, of his own accord, not meaning for anyone to see, and then for the evidence to be preserved for all time. I think this is the kind of thing that used to drive Ron nuts when they were in school together!

The moment with Mrs. Weasley's knee jerk reaction was a little surprising, but it also goes to confirm everything I said above about this not being an easy task. Why did you choose for her to be the one with that reaction, out of curiosity? I think I can picture it-- a woman raised in an entirely magical household, imbued with a wizarding prejudice totally unconsciously... But I'd be curious to hear more of your thoughts.

It was nice to see some of the more light-hearted reunions and family/friend moment as well. I thought Harry and Ginny's reunion was lovely, but perhaps also a little overemphasized. It was very cinematic, but also read a little as if they'd been apart for years and years, rather than what was perhaps a few weeks? It might help if you focused more on their dialogue in that moment, and less on the usual "lovey-dovey" things like brushing hair out of the other person's eyes.

And wow! That prank! I have to say, it was absolutely up to the twins' normal standards. Bravo. It was incredible. However, I admit that I found it a little confusing in the moment in terms of what was physically happening. I think my confusion began with the strange word Harry thought of when George "choked"-- I still don't entirely understand what that means. It kind of distracted me from what was going on. Then I guess I never truly thought George had died, given his goofy dialogue where he almost slips up on the floating/standing bit. And I wasn't sure if you wanted me, as a reader, to be fooled or not. Perhaps the whole thing would be helpful if you could include some more of Harry's emotions throughout: his horror, his shock, a sudden moment of grief before suspicion... Then I as a reader will know how to feel too.

Overall, however, it was another excellent chapter, and I think it was nice to move settings too-- it helped the story also feel as though it had crossed a major bridge. I'm still really enjoying it!

Author's Response: I thought that there would be so many different reactions to this event which is really ground-shatteringly momentous in one way, but really quite prosaic in another; all that is happening in one real respect, is that another eleven year-old girl is going to Hogwarts. The reactions of Humans (and goblins too) would run the full gamut from ecstatically happy, through 'so what', to 'it'll doom us all.' So I tried to fit different reactions to different characters in a logical manner. Half-bloods, especially if they have been brought up more in the Muggle world, probably wouldn't care that much. Muggleborns would probably care even less. So I used the presence of Alicia, who for my purposes I've made a half-blood, to illustrate this. Bill, who has a long history working with goblins, has long thought it unfair, but just accepted it as the status-quo not thinking that it could ever be changed. Slimshanks is worried about what it might do to those humans who worked for them or with them willingly whilst they were 'second class' so to speak. Now that goblins will be allowed to use wands, will these human wizards suddenly turn on them?

So yes, not everything will be smooth sailing, but in a year or two, when it's just one little goblin girl with six more years of study to go then I think things will calm down.

I like that idea of a captured, private moment, something which was done without thought of how it might appear to anyone else. I can see it appealing to people like Mrs. Weasley, honest and good people. An older person, who has seen more than his fair share of evil, comforting a younger person who is scared of the daunting challenges of the future. That it is a human and a goblin is irrelevant in the wider scheme of things.

As to Mrs. Weasley's reaction, what you said is fairly spot on and there is not much more to say, except for two things. I think that hers would be the standard reaction amongst the majority of people brought up in the wizarding community. It would be just one of those assumed little prejudices that they had all grown up with. Once they get over the initial shock, I then think that they’d come around to the fact that it isn't really so bad after all. For the purposes of my story I just had to have her experience the highs and lows in very quick succession. For most it might take longer. For instance, I can see a politician as canny as Slimshanks, organising another photo op at Christmas where Lightsthefire publicly and warmly thanks all the witches of Britain who have written to her in support (even if in reality there hadn’t been many). That sort of thing would win over the readers of Witch Weekly in a heartbeat.

And the second thing, remember when Sirius was revealed at the end of GOF? It was Mrs. Weasley who jumped and exclaimed at his presence. I was remembering that aspect of her character when I wrote her reactions.

Oh yeah, the reunion is a bit over the top and I like how you called it cinematic as that was my intent. I kind of like it though. One thing with it, that perhaps I wrote too subtly, was that Harry had been holding himself back from her a bit too much; emotionally speaking. He had all this stuff that he wanted to do, felt that he needed to do, and like he was prone to do in the books took it upon himself and left the others out of it. I tried to show Ginny's reaction to that here, and we will find out Ron's in an upcoming chapter.

I always thought it was a natural thing to have Fred come back as a ghost. So if he did then I felt sure George would use it in a prank somehow.

Thanks for the cc: there is a crucial place where Harry's reactions should be detailed, I will go and amend it. Was eldritch the word you got stuck on? It basically means magical and occult. Also the audience was meant to be fooled by the prank, but also to receive all the clues that Harry did that it wasn't real too.

And yes, it does feel like a turning point for the story, which it should be.


 Report Review

Review #3, by long_live_luna_bellatrixNot My Own: The Ultimatum

8th February 2016:
I love the amount of thought you put into the differences of perception between Remus and James. Remus' heightened senses seem like a natural thing to choose to mention, and it's really interesting to see James grapple with it. The part about his dreams was also fascinating. It feels like you've thought of it all, down to every moment of Remus' existence!

I'd be really curious for more of a description of the hovel Remus and now James lives in. Of course from James' horror, I can tell how derelict it is, but I still had some trouble fully visualizing it. Is it a literal shack, with walls and roof and door? Is it some kind of tent? A mattress under an overhang? I suppose all we know of it know is abstract concepts-- how horrible, unlivable, etc. it is-- but I'd something like a little more concrete, if that makes sense. It doesn't need to be a lot, because obviously it's just one moment in the chapter, but you can never go wrong with specific details.

One other question-- early in the chapter, you mention that it's odd for Remus to have a place of his own and that the other werewolves roam freely. Yet later James goes to a place that is clearly Rhea's home. Would you be able to clarify a little what you meant by Remus' "different" habits? What does it mean to have a home base versus to roam around?

I love that you jumped right into a tense situation in this chapter and put James on the spot. It's so awful to see him grappling with this request, all the more awful because he has to act on Remus' behalf! It's such a tough situation, and I really felt for James. You've done an excellent job at moving the story along at a gripping pace.

Again, I really appreciate the dialogue. Every character has a least a slightly distinct manner of speaking, and it betrays their different backgrounds, goals, etc. That attention to detail is definitely something that can pull a story up to the next level.

On the whole, another great chapter! Congrats again on winning the first round of "Guess the Present"! I've enjoyed this story and I will try to return to it, but don't worry if it takes seemingly forever; life gets busy over here and unfortunately reading and reviewing tends to be what gets left behind when things pick up. But you've definitely created an engaging start! Good luck with this story!

- Sarah

 Report Review

Review #4, by long_live_luna_bellatrixNot My Own: The Switch

8th February 2016:
Hi there! Congratulations on winning the first round of "Guess the Present"! For your superb guessing skills (seriously, I would never get any of those photos correct...) you have won two reviews! I decided to visit your WIP as I found the summary intriguing, and I thought it might be nice to get both reviews on the same story.

I have to say, this was a fantastic opening chapter. It both set up the rest of the story efficiently as well as got me totally hooked in everything going on in the moment. This feels like such a possible canon situation, for so many reasons: the need to protect the Potters, Remus' supreme loyalty to James, Dumbledore's superior magical skills... It all just fit. I was truly touched when Remus and James were talking to each other for the first time in so long. When James said that he was still counting the days, well, my heart melted. What a perfect detail to include to demonstrate how much he cared and still cares for Remus. And the fact that they need Remus to do this not only because of his defensive skills but also because of how well he knows James... Gah, it just all fit! So good! Although, now that I think about it... If the Potters were already under the Fidelius Charm, weren't they already completely isolated from the world? Who would they need to fool, besides Harry?

One thing you got spot on was Dumbledore's manner of speaking. Everything he said sounded exactly like the Dumbledore we see in the books! I know it's a small detail, but it really enhanced this chapter for me. (Plus the mention of the lemon square! Hilarious but also true to canon) Especially in stories that divulge from canon but try to do so in a believable way, grounding things in canon characterizations is so helpful. Remus and James also felt so real. Remus especially; I can totally see him taking on such a difficult role in the Order, and his descriptions of life as a werewolf were heartbreaking. They reminded me a lot of the way we hear him talk about himself in the Half-Blood Prince.

The switch itself was really well done. The descriptions of Remus felt in James' body and vice versa were so fascinating! Again, felt true to canon. It was also just so, so interesting to think about how different lives weigh differently on different people, and we probably don't even notice it, nor could we ever actually, physically understand what everyone else goes through.

The whole chapter is made that much more interesting because, as we all know, Lily and James are not going to make it. Judging from your summary, I'm guessing Remus goes down in James' place. So heartbreaking! I'm not sure if you're going to jump directly into the future or not, but I would be curious to see what it's like for Remus to live as James in the Potter house. That could be really interesting.

I think my only suggestion for this chapter pertains to the beginning. I guess I understood that Remus was pretending to be the mole and was alienated as a result, but I was less sure what he was doing in the meantime. If they didn't know who the mole was, and he became the outcast of the Order, who was he talking to? What was he doing in the werewolf community? A small amount of clarification on that matter might be helpful so that readers can ease into the story smoothly. And maybe I'm just forgetting something from canon that I'm supposed to already know.

Overall, this was an excellent first chapter, and I'm really curious to see what happens next!

- Sarah

Oh, P.S. Did you have any particular way of coming up with the name of the switching spell? I'm always curious about backstories for those, because oftentimes people have them but can never explain them in the story's text.

Author's Response: Oh wow! I wasn't expecting two reviews! I was thinking maybe one or something else like MTA questions or a profile bomb so getting two reviews is like super exciting! If smileys existed on here I would very much be inserting the super exited smiley with the big eyes. Anyway I love this review and coupled with the other it has like made my day!

I am so glad that everything fit. There is nothing I hate more sometimes than to have a story where it makes 0 sense why the characters are doing the thing they are doing. So for you to say it fits perfectly makes me really happy. Though, with your question about isolation and needing to fool another, the answer I believe will come in the 3rd chapter. While hiding there are still Order meetings and I don't think either James or Lily would want to entirely give up the fight either.

I have to say you deeply honor me with your compliments to Dumbledore! I do worry I get him wrong at times particularly now knowing that he's got some ulterior motives at times when it comes some of the things he does. Fortunately there wasn't too much that he had to push. (Also I'm glad you liked the lemon squares! It was a fun little touch I enjoyed adding.) As for Remus, you have made my heart swell with pride. Remus is my true HP joy. I feel like I have spent far too much thinking about him and what goes on in his life and how it was like for him. Though I suppose that comes with having RPed him and written him for over ten years now. So your most gracious compliments make me feel all squishy inside.

I am glad the switch translated well! You are right on Remus going down in James' place. It was something that wasn't easy to write in the later chapters. With that said I didn't jump ahead and while I know you've read chapter 2, chapter 3 we get to see Remus in James' shoes. It felt only right to show some of that and kind of help set up and remind people of canon a little bit before delving into the future too much and people going "wait what?" I think I do a fast forward of time in chapter 5 I think. I could be wrong it's one of those things that the story blurs together, I know the events that have happened but the breaks are less clear in my memory.

As for descriptions, you are not the only one who has mentioned that. Descriptions is a weak point on my writing and something I desperately need to work on. This of course includes going back and making said edits on this chapter but I kind of want to finish the story before I go back and make these edits because I can easily fall into an editing rut and never advance the story. So further edits aside from typos or simple grammar mistakes I'm kind of saving for once the story is complete. (At least that is the hope and game plan.)

With the switching spell, I invented it oh so so long ago. It is hard to say what I did. Usually what I do for spells I look at what the spell does and then search these key terms in a Latin dictionary (Google for the win here) and then combine bits and pieces of the words to make a new word that sounds good and appears pronounceable. What words I combined here I do not remember.


 Report Review

Review #5, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #11

29th December 2015:
Hi again!

I was a bit confused by the opening scene, to be honest. I couldn't tell why everyone rushed for the doors as soon as Griffths fell. I wondered if people thought she'd been taken down by Dark Magic or something-- that was the only reason I could see for everyone fleeing. I hate to say it, but I feel like sports crowds are pretty enthralled by bad injuries. Everyone has to stand up and try to see through the mess of doctors and wonder about what's wrong and all that. And then the people who support the injured player's team are moaning about the setback, and the people who are against that team are secretly a little pleased. And Quidditch is a dangerous sport, with Bludgers and all, so injuries have got to happen all that time. I understand that this was an injury of a different magnitude, but I find it hard to believe the game would just be over, and the fans would pour out. They'd paid money for their tickets, after all. I feel like the scene might have made more sense if there was some formal announcement over the loudspeakers about temporarily suspending the game, something to indicate that there will be a big enough delay for people to get bored and go home. That, or maybe everyone stays, but Roxanne is so upset that Louis decides to take her home and they're the only two that leave.

Moving on, though, I LOVED the brief mention of Tinsworth. For some reason I'm constantly curious about the odd intersection of Muggles of wizards-- there must be so many interesting hybrid moments, like the ones in the town you described, and I find them fascinating. I know I've written about a shop that caters to both Muggles and wizards before, and I really like your take on it too. Small moment, but an exciting one for me!

My hatred of Miranda is just so... complete. You've really made her into a piece of work. I squirm so much whenever she's talking, and when Roxanne finally got a small strike back at her, I was thrilled. I was a little surprised at Violet's role in that section of the story though. At times she seems to be totally separate from the Miranda/Roxanne tiffs, and just there for entertainment. At other times, though, she seems to be genuinely on Roxanne's side. I have trouble figuring out why she could be rooting for Roxanne while still sitting back and watching the poor girl get so much abuse. I can see how someone who is truly there listening just for the fun of it could possibly root for the underdog while still wanting to see all the drama, but I still just get this sense that she really is sympathetic of Rose in a way beyond wanting the underdog to win in a battle.

So, so excited to finally hear more about the Jane mystery. You've been stringing it out for so long! Not to mention, I'm ready to learn more about Fred too, and maybe some more progress with Daniel... I really applaud you for juggling so many plot threads at once. You've done an admirable job. Wasn't Fred involved in some illegal potion mention a couple chapters back? Could that be linked to the newer illegal potions mentioned in this chapter? Maybe this is all even more entangled than I ever thought...

Great job on this chapter, nothing new there! Gonna do my darndest to get more caught up!

Author's Response: Hello!

Again, an exceptionally good point :P I feel like sometimes I really need someone to sound all these plot points off before I start writing it, because you're the first reader/reviewer to even mention that. I think you're right in thinking that it's more normal for people to be craning to get a view of the scene, but I kind of imagined it as people panicking about what was happening since there was no reason for it to happen - it was a bit different than just an injury. I'll definitely review that and try and edit the reactions to make more sense when I get chance to go through this story again.

Tinsworth was really fun to write about! It wasn't something I'd really planned to include, but one of those details that came to me when I was writing. I always enjoy including them because I find those details so interesting, but I do worry that other people won't. Now I want to read your story too!

Miranda is just... ugh. I don't think I've ever created a character that I've disliked as much. She's a bit like Umbridge, I guess, and I would be lying if I said that she isn't partly inspired by someone I know, as well. I don't think Violet is really rooting for Roxanne, exactly - more that she does enjoy her entertainment from their tiffs, but at times sometimes she thinks that Miranda goes too far. She's in a position where she's not afraid of stepping in and saying something, but a lot of the time she chooses not to so that she can have an easier life.

Juggling all of the different plotlines is something I've actually been really worried about! When I first began the planning for the story, Jane was spending a year in Australia for some unknown reason, and half of the side-plots didn't exist in any form, so I'm glad that there's enough happening in the story to keep you interested and that it doesn't feel like something one-dimensional.

I've said this each time now, but I do genuinely mean it: thank you so much for supporting this story and leaving such thoughtful and detailed reviews. It means a lot to me that anyone would take the time to do that and it's so encouraging to think that someone's still reading and enjoying this. Thank you so, SO much for these fantastic reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #10

28th December 2015:
Aagh, sorry for being such an erratic reader. Would really like to make more of a dent in this story!

First off, maybe this is just an example of me being slow, but I feel like I'm only just beginning to appreciate how cool it is that this is a story about a murder mystery from a journalist's perspective. Don't laugh! I mean, obviously I know that that's what this is about. But it's just a unique place to be in for this kind of story. I've read plenty of detective novels before (I really really like this one set of companion novels by Tana French, I can't recommend them highly enough if you're into murder mysteries) but they're always from the point of view of the person assigned to solve the case. Here, we're getting it all from someone who also wants to solve the case, but who also is getting extremely little information from the actual people who know the case's details. You've done such a nice job with moving the story forward even though Roxanne is privy to so little on the murders. I'll chalk this "revelation" up to the fact that I'm returning to this story for the first time in two months.

I hate Miranda so much! At least villains are complex and interesting... she is just awful. (Not to say she's totally one dimensional! She's just, you know, a more minor but also more immediate foe than the real bad guys in the story) I was so mad when I read the line about her grabbing Roxanne's notes and then not letting Roxanne touch hers. You've really picked out some telling details to reveal her true colors.

I was intrigued about the moment where Roxanne mentioned that Miranda seemed disinterested in the case, and that such an attitude was out of character. For a moment I was confused, but then I thought: Okay, she must be putting on a show of disinterest for Roxanne, and trying to lead her on the wrong track, so that Miranda can pounce on some real information and keep it to herself in order to get all the glory. But then it was even worse than I expected when she got Roxanne thrown off the story! God, I was so upset.

I do find it a little strange that Miranda's the only one on both stories now, though. You'd think that now that the two biggest stories of the year are going full force, Higgins would at least replace Roxanne with someone else. I'd imagine he'd choose his true top writer and put him or her on it.

There was one image that was an unexpected and subtle bit of beautiful imagery: "as he folds his long limbs into his tall chair, I get the distinct impression of a spider curling up in its web."

I liked that you broke up the intenseness of the case and the dreadful surprise of Roxanne being thrown off the story with a more light-hearted Quidditch match. You wrote it really well, I was just about as on the edge of my seat as the characters. I liked how you wove in bits of backstory about the things, like the Cannons' one good player or the expectations for the game-- they all fit in fluidly with the actual action. And you even ended the chapter on a dramatic note that was unrelated to the main plot! You always seem to sneak something in there. ;) Well done.

I guess the real question now is what's going to happen to the case, in Roxanne's eyes, now that she's been formally removed from her role in it. I can only imagine, given that I'm not even halfway through the posted chapters, that she's going to get back in somehow-- and in a fashion that gets her right in the heat of things. Wouldn't want to read twenty chapters of her getting tiny snippets of information about nothing, would we? No, I feel like she's either going to get back on the story itself, by somehow ousting Miranda or getting a leg up from someone like Richard, or that she's going to find another way into the case. Something will happen with Daniel, maybe? That could be an interesting angle. That's kind of my hope, but, given that Roxanne is a journalist and a good deal of this story is invested in her journalistic career, my bet will be that she finds her way onto the story again. Can't wait to find out!

All in all, this was another great chapter, no surprise there. As always, the characters have been a joy; a good plot is one thing, and you definitely have that, but there's no way I would still be here if I weren't deeply invested in the characters as well. (Speaking of characters, still waiting to find out about Jane!!) Looking forward to digging even deeper into the story. I'll be back soon!

Author's Response: Ah, is it strange that I'm actually excited to be replying to this in a sort of reasonable time frame, since it's only a couple of days since you left it? :P

Ooh, I'll definitely have to check those books out - they sound really good, and I love a good detective story! I'm really pleased that you like the way that we get a very different perspective on this story with Roxanne being a journalist rather than a detective in the centre of the case; I've read a couple of stories and novels with private detectives and such who haven't been entirely privy to the police investigation, but none with a journalist trying to solve the mystery, so I'm glad that it seems unique but makes sense at the same time!

Miranda is really awful and horrible. She's seen Roxanne as a threat since she really joined the paper and hasn't let up in her campaign against her since then... but at the same time she's a very clever and shrewd woman and knows how to get what she wants from life, whether that's to date popular guys or, in this case, get Roxy thrown off the story.

That is actually a really good point. Ugh, I hate how many plot holes appear in this story without me even noticing them, but thank you so much for pointing them out!

This chapter was actually one I was really looking forward to writing when I planned out the story. Even though I've never written a Quidditch match before and I was nervous about writing it, the whole scene was fun to write and I liked including Louis and Dom here, and the little details about the match too.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm not sure if you realise how grateful I am or how fantastic a reviewer you really are, but thank you so much for supporting this story and taking the time to leave these reviews!


 Report Review

Review #7, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #9

17th October 2015:
Wow, I'm sorry for my abrupt disappearance. Here I am, reviewing your last chapter and saying that I really look forward to reading each new chapter of this and that I can't stop thinking about it and then... I disappear. Truly, it had nothing to do with the story. :P I just got slammed when I went back to school and kind of faded away for awhile. But I'm going to do my best to fade back in now. And the first thing I'm doing on my way back in is returning to Jigsaw!

So anyway, here I am again. I love Roxanne's continuing ambition right at the start of this chapter. That line that she's going to be the one to find the link between the murder and the disappearance was fantastic-- all confidence. I really like this girl!

Small typo, just so you're aware: "The only ones who’ll benefit financially from his death are a number of Muggle charities, and it’s unlikely that they were involved; he has *non* family to speak of."

I like the way this story is beginning to play with the boundaries of the definitions of both journalists and detectives, and keeping an eye on where they overlap. On the one hand, you have the media, a profession often viewed as biased and intrusive. Then you have this image of the detective, who's usually more respected and more intelligent. And here you have Roxanne, technically a journalist but toeing the line of detectives and mystery solving. I don't know how much of that is intentional or just a natural extension of Roxanne's characterization, but it could be a really neat tension for you to play around with more if you're not purposefully doing it already. The references to Roxanne reading mystery novels and enjoying solving them halfway through were what initially caught my eye.

Loved this moment: "I had to resist the urge to point out that Armstrong’s death is an even bigger mystery that still is nowhere near being solved, over a week after his body was found. He had been rather tipsy by that point, after all." Pretty typical, hilarious nerd moment, when the doctor is more excited by the mystery substance than the mystery death. Made me smile.

Hmm... Odd that Fred darts suspiciously into an apothecary moments after Roxanne muses about illegal potions. Coincidence...? Or incriminating...? Guess I'll have to wait and see.

I think you tackled the complexities of the conversation between Roxanne and Daniel really well. At first I was a little surprised that you thought Daniel would be willing to talk casually about the case at all to Roxanne, but you quickly made it clear that there were a couple lines he couldn't legally cross and that he was trying very hard to keep them in place. And you also did a nice job of invoking Roxanne's genuine curiosity in the case rather than some evil journalistic greed to land a scoop. If anything, all of that shows that there is some basic level of trust between the two of them, even if, professionally, they're limited to what they can discuss.

At the same time... Throughout Daniel and Roxanne's conversation, she does a lot of analyzing. Most of it seems to be either analyzing his physical movements or expressions and then interpreting (which shows us how well she knows him) or otherwise she's worrying about and overanalyzing everything either of them does in order to try and see where their relationship stands. I totally get that Roxanne must know Daniel well, and I totally get that anyone in her situation would do the same amount of overthinking and overworrying. But at the same time... As a reader, I began to wish there was a little less analysis, just so that I could try and interpret some of the things on my own. It seemed like every single time either character opened their mouths, Roxanne was thinking about something and we heard about it. I wonder what would happen if, from time to time, you just gave us two to three lines of dialogue without any added inner monologue, and let the reader run with it. Just a thought. And I'm sorry that this semi-contradicts what I just said in the previous paragraph. :P I'd be happy to talk about in more detail if you ever want to, or if I notice it again in later chapters.

That said, the two dramatic endings in quick succession worked really well. The interruption from Paul Jordan was really well done, such a quick change in pace that really got things moving. And then the real chapter ending, well, of course that's exciting too. And I'm thrilled that Richard called Roxanne personally, instead of just waiting for Miranda. Neat!

Anyway, I hope this is the start of a much more regular bout of reading and reviewing, and of more regular time spent on hpff in general. Looking forward to the next chapter. Great job with this one!

Author's Response: Honestly, you have nothing to apologise for ♥ I know exactly what it's like when uni gets on top of me, and my updates haven't exactly been consistent lately either, nor have my responses to these reviews. Thank you for coming back to this story, nevertheless!

I think that Roxanne is definitely starting to become more confident in this story - she's often so doubting and unsure of her talent, but the opportunities she's had so far are giving her some belief in what she can do. It's really fun to write about.

There's a lot of things to play around with when it comes to the distinctions between journalists and detectives, and I'm aware that I'm kind of reversing the traditional roles a little bit here with this story, which is fun to do. I think there's definitely some sort of overlap between them and it's fun to play around with - I'm not sure how much more I really go into it, to be honest, but it's cool that you noticed something I've been playing with a bit!

As for Fred, well, I couldn't possibly comment...

I think for Daniel, it's kind of strange because up till now he's had Roxanne there and been able to talk to her about the cases that are going on if he needs to. A lot of the time he wouldn't reveal so many details but she's aware of a lot of things already, so it's quite easy for them to slip into that routine again which they're so familiar with; there are lines he can't cross though. I think he knows Roxy well enough to trust that she's not going to write about it for the paper, but it's still a difficult conversation at times.

No, that's completely valid and I'm seriously so grateful for the CC here! I'm always really aware that I can improve as a writer (because nobody's perfect and I'm very far from it), and this extended narrative is something I'm not really used to keeping up for a novel-length story. The fact that there's too much analysis on Roxy's part makes a lot of sense to me, and I can understand how that would be frustrating as a reader because I'm telling you far too much. In the more recent chapters I've written, I've definitely tried to pare that down and be a little more concise (I'm aware that I have a very verbose style :P) so hopefully that works, but thank you so much for those comments because I'd never even have noticed if you hadn't pointed it out. If you get to the more recent chapters and think that there's still too much analysis I'd really appreciate you telling me so I can work on it more! ;)

I'm glad that the two dramatic endings in quick succession worked! I always worry about whether it seems like too much, especially when I use multiple cliffhangers in a row, but I'm glad it worked here.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed reviews on this story - they're really so fantastic!


 Report Review

Review #8, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #8

30th August 2015:
Back for Piece #8! Also, congrats on your latest update, it's always satisfying to be able to post a new chapter. My goal is to be able to get to the point where I can be the one to leave the first review on a new chapter-- we'll see how I do, depending on your writing speed and my reading speed, but there you have it ;)

You continue to do such a nice job with your portrait of the life of a journalist. I'm not a professional journalist or anything, so I can't exactly critique you on that, but I do continue to enjoy the little details you tack onto various parts of Roxanne's job. When you mentioned the reactions of Upton's friends to her digging, I really felt like I understood her predicament. And when you described Roxanne churning out an article even though it had no new information and was pressing a point that she didn't really believe in, I felt like I got a little bit of a look into the way that the media can push things out of proportion.

A pretty minor point-- when Roxanne is talking to her dad about his business, part of the dialogue was oddly repetitive. First, he mentions something about Bonfire Night then jumps to Skiving Snackboxes, but then a moment later, he jumps back to Bonfire Night as if he hadn't already mentioned it. I don't know if that's just something that popped up because you wrote the conversation in more than just one sitting, but as a reader, it feels a little disjointed.

Overall, I think you handled the family scene very well. That moment when George intervened, with the comment about how important family is, was a really poignant one. That said, I am a little confused by Fred's behavior. It seems very... blunt? I guess I'm surprised at how hostile he's being in a family setting. I'd imagine him to be a little more polite, for the family's sake-- for instance, being curt but not silent with Roxanne, and then, maybe when the parents leave the room, that's when he gets super surly and uncooperative. But I'm not exactly an expert on family feuds, and I still enjoyed reading it, so I guess I'm split.

I was SO nervous that Miranda had gotten to start covering Roxanne's story! And even now, as I assume the two disappearances truly are connected, I'm nervous that they're going to be competing for a single slot on a story. I'm also incredibly curious that you brought up blood status again... Either something very nasty is going on with these disappearances, or you're leading us in the wrong direction on purpose. :P

And WHAT is going on with that final scene? Gah, just when I think I'm on top of everything, you pop something else in. My first guess is that it has something to do with how odd Jane has been acting, and that Jane could be the young women in question. But that's pretty much a shot in the dark.

As always, I feel like I only have good things to say about your writing. Reading this story has been part of me slowly involving myself back in hpff after being pretty absent for awhile, and for the moment this is the only story on the site that I'm reading... Earlier today I found myself thinking, Gosh, I really can't wait to go and read the next chapter of Jigsaw! I'm honestly treating it like any physical book I'm reading, with me really looking forward to coming back to continue getting know the characters. So you should definitely know that you're doing something right here.

Author's Response: Ah, that would be wonderful! There are about seven chapters left to post, I think, and I had aimed to have the whole story completed by now, but life got in the way so it may take another few months for me to finish...

I'm not a professional journalist either - and I've never even studied it or anything - but I'm glad that it seems believable and you like the way that I'm portraying Roxanne's work as a journalist. There are certainly quite a lot of moral predicaments involved in journalism, I think, and she's facing those more and more now she's reporting on a story that isn't just a minor, insignificant piece.

Again, thank you so much for pointing that out! This whole story needs editing, I'm sure, particularly these chapters as I didn't take as much time on them before posting as the first couple, and when I get chance to go through these reviews are going to help me so much on pinpointing the parts I can improve. I'll be honest and say I hadn't even realised it jumped around like that, so I'll definitely try and change that.

I imagine Fred as quite a stubborn character, and even though his behaviour might seem a little surprising, I think he's in one of those moods where even his parents' influence can't really temper his attitude towards his sister. That sort of thing definitely happens in my family (though not usually with a family feud, luckily!) so I'm hoping it's not completely unrealistic. I will definitely have a look at that aspect too, though, because I really want people to be able to relate to this and for it to make sense.

I couldn't possibly say whether or not the blood status is something you should take note of, could I? That would be giving far too many things away... ;)

Thank you so much! Honestly, I can't tell you how much your lovely reviews mean to me, even though I've been so terrible replying to them. It's making me so excited that you want to keep reading this story and I hope you keep enjoying it. Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by long_live_luna_bellatrixto the end of time: New Friends

28th August 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the BvB tag!

I enjoyed the way you opened the chapter. I thought it was amusing how you portrayed the whole Great Hall being really attentive to the Sorting Hat's song, with the first years only feeling half-hearted about it. To me, that really indicated how nervous Parvarti was about the whole thing-- understandably.

You also did a nice job of getting into Parvarti's nerves about her and Padma getting split up. It wasn't something I had considered before-- what it would feel like to be Sorted into a different house than your twin-- but you reminded me of how scary that could be. I would have loved even more detail about Parvarti and Padma during that section; a little more background information on their relationship would have been nice. For instance, are they the kind of sisters who stay up late whispering to each other at night? Or the kind that silently have each other's back? Do they consider themselves extremely similar, or not? That last question in particular could have been handy to explore when Parvarti was wondering how they'd be Sorted. Maybe she assumed they'd be together because they were so similar, or maybe she was freaking out because she knew just how different their personalities were.

However, I can understand if you want to keep the emphasis off Padma given that the story is about Parvarti and Lavender, which brings me to my next point. I also would have loved to see a little bit more of Lavender before the chapter ended, especially if you prefer to not delve too deep into Padma and Parvarti's relationship. How about more details on what Lavender looked like? Or how she was acting? Was she oozing confidence or was she quietly enthusiastic? Did she look at ease or was she still soaking in her new surroundings? I would have been very content to read more about her-- anything you think it's worth knowing. :)

My finally suggestion is a little less specific... When I clicked on your author page, I noticed that this was a short story collection. So I figured I would try and read your most recent chapter, since it has so few reviews compared to the first chapter, and I thought that since this was a short story collection it wouldn't matter. But when I started reading I still felt like I was in the middle of the story. So I came back here. I suppose this isn't really a suggestion so much as an observation... Obviously it totally works to have a short story collection that is meant to be read chronologically. But it might be cool, especially if you'd like more feedback on later chapters, if you revisited some of those chapters and revised them so that they could stand alone more. Like I said, this is totally not a necessity, but it could be something to keep in mind. And maybe I'm the only one who would ever have wanted to read it out of order. But I figured I'd mention it.

Anyway, overall, this was a sweet first chapter. First years are so adorable, especially on their first day of term, and i loved seeing how you envisioned Lavender and Parvarti becoming friends by Lavender comforting Parvarti after the Sorting. You did a great job describing Parvarti's feelings, and also capturing Lavender's warmth. Lovely job!

-lllb

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

This chapter was actually extremely difficult for me to write. I think I wrote the fourth and fifth chapter first and then came back to this because I had no clue how to describe their Sorting since we really never got to see one in the book. There definitely could have been more about Padma and Parvati, but since this is mostly about Lavender and Parvati, their relationship gets explained in later chapters.

I even almost forgot to include Lavender in this chapter by the time I got down to the bottom, so she definitely could have been included more. But I figured with Parvati so focused on Padma and the Sorting, a brief glimpse of Lavender felt right for her focus.

Originally, this story was supposed to be much shorter and be little snapshots of the relationship, but once they left Hogwarts, it all began to read more like a connected story. I could switch it, but a short story collection seems like a better fit than a short story or trying to make teh chapters stand alone more. But thank you for pointing it out, I'll definitely keep it in mind if I do revisions in the future.

Thanks again for the wonderful review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #10, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #7

25th August 2015:
Hi again! I'm back!

First off, I think it was really interesting that you had some Muggles be present at the crime scene. A small thing, I know, but I think I may have already mentioned that I find wizard-Muggle interactions fascinating, and this is just the sort of thing that makes a lot of sense; of course Muggle are going to stumble over wizard crimes from time to time. It was a nice touch.

It's also so cool the way you're weaving all of the Next Gen children into this! I love how Roxanne runs into her cousins wherever she goes-- it's done so much more subtly than the usual "The Potter-Weasleys run around Hogwarts together making mischief" stories. It's really interesting to see all the jobs you've dreamed up for them, and how they seem to get slowly pulled into this case no matter what.

Once again, you've done SUCH a good job portraying all the nuances of Roxanne's emotions. I feel like I get her so much. The way you have her thoughts jumping around when she talks to Dom, the guilt and the desire to solve the case all jumbling around... It's so good!

Yes, Dom thinks like I do! The jealousy scenario seems like a very possible one. Still, Jane's extended absences do seem a little odd.

I'm really curious about how Richard has been doing throughout this chapter. I was so frustrated when Roxanne didn't get the chance to respond to him before Mockridge came out! You're doing such a good job of continuing to bring back the smaller characters, and reinforcing their unique roles in the story. It makes the story that much stronger, having a familiar cast of supporting characters who pop up every now and then to really round out a scene.

Wow, that death ended up being extremely chilling. The "T" on the hand is just... frightening. Really reminiscent of the Dark Mark, even if it's on a victim instead of one of the attackers. Of course we, the readers, have understood for a little while now how dark this mystery really is, but seeing it through Roxanne's eyes makes it that much creepier. So, good job on taking what is almost old information for us and making it feel fresh.

A word on the first sentence of Roxanne's article: "The body that was yesterday discovered, washed up on Coombe Beach, nearby to the Armstrong residence, has now been formally identified as that of Mr Malcolm Peter Armstrong, aged 42 years." The sentence just seemed very... long. Lots of commas and all that. It was good in that it did what the opening line of an article is supposed to do, and introduces all the most relevant details in one go, but I feel like there could be a smoother way of writing that sentence. Something like, "Authorities have identified the body of Malcolm Armstrong, 42, which was discovered last night on a beach near his residence in town X"?

Gah, as if enough hadn't already happened in this chapter, now you bring up ANOTHER disappearance! No way! And this one's so odd as well... Who are Abbott's superiors, and why is she going against their wishes in reporting this? Why is she so upset? How is this connected to Armstrong? Ahhh.

Well, it was another extremely strong chapter, and I'm only getting more and more invested in the story as it continues. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi again! And thank you for returning to this story!

The interactions between wizards and Muggles are really interesting to me, and I love working out how the two worlds live side-by-side. I think some fics forget how small a wizarding community (relatively) exists in Britain and so it's always fun to weave the two worlds together.

Yay, I'm glad you like the way I'm writing the Next-Gen children into this story! I really wanted them to be mentioned (I mean, it wouldn't seem like fanfiction if it was just a cast of OCs, would it?) but I didn't want to just throw a load of the characters in because I could. I'm pleased they seem to be placed appropriately and that you like seeing them drawn into the case with Roxy.

Roxy's so fun to write - I'm really enjoying her as a character and it's so fantastic that other people like her too.

I think you're probably the first person to notice anything about Richard's behaviour in this chapter (at least to comment on it) - obviously I can't say much but it might be worth keeping an eye on...

That's a really good point, thank you so much for that! I don't have a beta reader (mostly because I'm so inconsistent with writing and updating) so sometimes it's really easy to miss your own errors and mistakes. It's really helpful when you point things like that out!

Yes, another disappearance! You'll get to find out more soon, but I'm so pleased you're still enjoying this story. Thank you for yet another fantastic review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: A View to a Kill

22nd August 2015:
It’s so interesting to see things from Corbin’s perspective a little… Really humanizes him, especially for me, when I know what things will look like from Scorpius’ perspective in the future. At the same time, he’s still so harsh with Scorpius… and at the same time as that, I know I’d be upset if I were in Corbin’s shoes and I learned that my boyfriend had hooked up with someone else when I was away, especially before we’d talked about being exclusive. Both Albus and Scorpius are trying so hard to have it all, and I’m worried that they’re going to hurt the other people in their lives.

Once again, I really feel for Rose. You did a really nice job of showing her to be acting more mature, what with having the guts to apologize to her parents and also to come up with a compromise. But, with the bit about the cost of the trial business, you also reminded us that she’s still quite young! I find her to be a really appealing character overall, including her mixture of immature and mature.

That’s crazy news about Brandon! Not at all what I’d expected! Well done there ;) And here I’d thought he’d gone off and gotten wounded in a duel or something. I like how James is quick to keep Albus on his toes the moment Albus seems to waver on his commitment to Brandon. And it was also funny when Albus pointed out the lameness of James’ girl-seeking skills.

Once again, another great chapter balancing the multiple storylines here. I’m so curious to learn more about Brandon’s daughter! I imagine it’s incredibly challenging for someone like Brandon, who seems to have it so together, to jump from one life into the next. Then again, it doesn’t matter how together you are or not—having a child fall into your lap would throw anyone for a loop.

I’d love to see how Albus gets along with a little kid. From what James says, it sounds like he’ll be great at it. :D

Anyway, this is the last of the reviews that I was able to do in time for the baby shower. However, I will keep popping back to continue this story! I'm really enjoying it so far and I'd let to get to the end. Hope you've enjoyed the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: Live and Let Die

22nd August 2015:
Hahaha, when Rose started asking Lily about her love life, instead of the words “no one” I saw, “NOT one,” as in, there were multiple men. And I thought, dang Lily, way to go! But never mind :P. Also, I laughed pretty hard at the line “I just don’t look at them when I’m trying to—”

I’m beginning to think the character I can empathize most with is Rose. (For starters, my love life isn’t nearly as complicated or exciting as Al’s or Scorpius’!) Getting out of school and trying to find a job that means something to you is just about always going to be pretty tough, and I don’t blame Rose for being frustrated. That said, I don’t think comparing herself to Lily is good for her; Rose is the one in the normal situation, and Lily’s just very lucky to have a job she likes that’s on track to get even better.

There’s one typo I found: “This was the first fancy date Albus and he wanted it to go well.” Seems like there’s a word or two missing there.

I thought Albus’ nervousness in a nice restaurant was a nice touch. He comes from a family with at least decent amounts of money, I’d think, if not better than decent, but this showed that he’s still naďve about a lot of things in the adult world. It’s interesting that both Scorpius/Corbin and Albus/Brandon involves a more nervous party and a more mature, sophisticated party. I’ll keep an eye out for more links between the two couples.

But oh no! Brandon never showed! I wonder if it has to do with the case he was talking about last chapter… I don’t think he’s the kind of guy to stand up Albus unless he’s in physical danger somewhere. (I should clarify that I’m writing these reviews for the most part as I read, so you got this reaction before the final scene of the chapter.)

I’m worried about what Corbin’s reaction to Scorpius’ news about Albus will be. But even though I already said that I prefer Al/Brandon to Al/Scorpius, I have to admit I liked seeing them together here. The line about Scorpius feeling more at ease than he had in a long time made me think more about them. And I guess there is something to be said about being in a relationship with someone where there’s 100% comfort. That sort of familiarity with someone else can be really, really nice. So now I’m conflicted! Ahh…

I loved the comment about Lily walking past Albus with a massive platter of food. Nice touch!

But Brandon… Noo… I really hope he’s ok! Can’t wait to find out.

(Love the song Live and Let Die, by the way!)

 Report Review

Review #13, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: In the Waiting Line

22nd August 2015:
Yes! I was right! Rose was going to Scorpius’! The conversation they had was so interesting, so many bumps throughout it. It felt like there was a lot going on and there was all these misconceptions they’d had about each other’s past… I felt like I learned a lot about them in that very short period of time.

I loved the comment Arthur made about Muggles making flying cars! I think a lot of people forget what time period they’re dealing with when they’re write Next Gen, and that little mention of something futuristic made me pretty happy. :D Then again, we are getting awfully close to the date of the epilogue now…

I like that as this story develops I’m getting into the storylines of all these different characters. At first I thought it was going to be primarily about Albus, featuring his interactions with Brandon and Scorpius. But I love that I’m not only getting things from Scorpius and Brandon’s perspectives, but that I’m now getting more about Rose too! You’ve done a really great job of weaving them all in and out together, and it’s so interesting to see their stories from their point of view as well as being talked about by others. So much going on!

Why did you choose for Brandon to be related to a canon character, Savage? I can’t remember anything about the original Savage other than the name. Wasn’t he also an Auror? Or no? I recognized the name when you first mentioned it but I’m getting more curious. I’m also curious about this case Brandon is working… I love a good romance (or four, or five, or however many love triangles end up in this story) but I also love to hear about the characters jobs. Scorpius’ in particular, as a potioneer, sounds so cool. And of course Rose’s ongoing job struggle is interesting as well. I really hope to learn more about their careers as this goes forward!

 Report Review

Review #14, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

22nd August 2015:
Here with another baby shower review!

I caught one typo early in the chapter: “We should let this breath before drinking it” should probably use the word “breathe” instead. Incidentally, Scorpius’ comment a moment later about how the wine had probably breathed enough to be drinkable gave me the sense that Corbin could be a bit of a snob. But once again, I might just be getting that vibe because I know how things with Corbin turn out.

Corbin is subtle, though. After their conversation about Albus, Scorpius seemed reassured that it wasn’t a big deal, but I wasn’t. So manipulative on Corbin’s part, to act controlling and then take it back. Leaves Scorpius feeling like everything is okay, but leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth. I think you’re doing a great job with Corbin overall. Right now he just seems like a slightly arrogant guy who treats Scorpius really well 98% of the time and maybe slips up on the other 2%.

So excited that Albus and Brandon are going on a date! I think it’s much better for Albus to go ahead with that than to get tied down by his past with Scorpius.

Also, I loved Ron’s line toward the end- “Well it’s a dull but… important job” Haha. Hermione is right, Rose isn’t acting like an adult, but Hermione’s not so understanding either. My guess is that Rose ran off to Scorpius, given the comment about how his parents treated him… Which would be interesting, because they also have a history… Guess I’ll have to just wait and see!

Another really nice chapter!

Author's Response: You have a good point with Corbin being a slight snob. I mean, the wine comment is osmething a lot of people will say given the right wine but he's a bit condescending about stuff like that.

He has to be subtle when it comes to normalizng his controlling habits. If he were full on control guy, no one would want to date him.

haha, Ron's humor is always fun to write into stories. You're def. reading Rose's intentions the right way there.

thanks for another awesome review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #15, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: Such Great Heights

22nd August 2015:
Happy baby shower once again!

Rose’s description of Ron and Hermione fits how I imagine them as parents. I can totally see Hermione thinking that her children are as ambitious and energetic about work as she is, and coming off as overbearing as a result. I can also easily imagine Ron not being great at confronting her about things—but I hope for Rose’s sake that he manages to.

Wow, I can’t believe Scorpius kissed Albus! I mean, I can understand why Albus went in for the kiss, but I was surprised that Scorpius returned it. I suppose they do have a lot of history, but still.

It was so funny listening to Brandon talk to Rose about her job woes… He IS a really good listener! No wonder Albus wanted to be more like him in the last chapter. I was a little surprised at how suddenly their relationship popped up though. I already know how she’s connected to Scorpius, and I deduced from her conversation with Al earlier in the chapter that they get along well and keep each other caught up on their lives. So it only makes sense that she’d at least know who Brandon is… But this seems like they’re friends, or at least acquaintances, outside of their connection to Albus as well. Is that correct? I wasn’t really sure.

I’m really curious about how these relationships begin to evolve… I feel myself rooting for Brandon and Albus over Scorpius and Albus, but at the same time I know where Scorpius’ thing with Corbin is going and I don’t exactly wish that on him. I’m looking forward to getting to know the characters better!

Author's Response: yay! you're here for another chapter :D

I'm so glad you like Ron and Hermione as parents. Hermione does seem a bit overbearing but it does come from a place of caring and well-meaning. :-/ I do doubt Ron ever becomes very good at confronting interpersonal issues unless things get very out of hand.

Both of them are quite conflicted at this point. Um, they keep up the conflict for a while.

Brandon and Rose formed a somewhat friendship after he dated Al the first go around. For Rose it was a "I really like your ex and I'm gng to be friends with him" convo with Albus at some point.

You'll see a lot of evolution over the next few chapters!

Thank you so much for a lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by long_live_luna_bellatrixTrue Romance: New Slang

22nd August 2015:
First of all, happy baby shower!!! I hope you enjoy these reviews, as well as the rest of the celebration!

Since I’ve already read Winding Road, I’m afraid I only know too how well how Scorpius’ new relationship is going to go. Poor guy. I’ll be curious to see how it goes though, and how Albus learns what’s happening (assuming he ever learns, which I think he will. I think it would be really interesting to watch for Scorpius’ warning signs and seeing when Albus finally catches them, and then how he approaches the subject).

I thought it was interesting how Albus thought back to Brandon as a template for how to act. It speaks to how much Albus must look up to Brandon, if he thinks he’s worth emulating. Yet another relationship I’m definitely curious to see playing out.

You did a really good job at showing Albus grappling with conflicting emotions. He was upset about Scorpius’ new boyfriend but tried to hold his emotions back in front of James; his stomach “lurched excitedly” when he heard Brandon’s voice, but then when he spoke he sounded awkward and uncomfortable. I definitely got a really interesting picture of Albus’ emotional situation at this point in his life.

I wasn’t expecting that trick at the end with James inviting Brandon to meet them! Interesting! I like what I’ve seen of Brandon so far, but I’d definitely like to get to know him better. Albus has so much going on now, with these two guys who are sort of out of his life but also definitely still a spark for him.

Overall, this was a really enjoyable first chapter. The writing flowed so well, and I feel like I got a good introduction to a lot of characters without it ever feeling rushed or anything. I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes!

Author's Response: I'm completely fascinated by teh idea of someone reading this after reading the one shots that follow. I hope it's cool to see some of the preceding relationships as they grow.

I do think Brandon was a huge role model for Albus when they first dated and he kind stays in that position for a while with him.

I often worry that Al just seems kind of aimless but it's very reassuring to hear that his conflict comes through. ♥

You'll definitely get more of Brandon in future chapters. and the trick with James is kind of silly but it's the kind of thing I could see a sibling doing.

thank you so much for a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #6

17th August 2015:
Haha, the cafe where Jane works is so gross. Like, you nailed that "unappealing" atmosphere right on the head. But it was also kind of funny. Like, who would ever want to spend time in a shop with a deaf, aggressive old woman who serves gray, lukewarm tea? Bleck.

I do feel a little bad for Jane. Roxanne's job situation, while (until recently) kind of dreadful, is at least understandable: as a reporter, you have to pay your dues with the small stories before earning the big ones. But being several years out of school, and splitting your time between working at an awful cafe and cleaning rooms at a bank? That's definitely not what anyone envisions for themselves several years out of school.

You're still doing a fantastic job with the whole Daniel thing. I really feel like I'm in Roxanne's skin when she's dealing with him: the awkwardness, the hesitation, the longing, the uncomfortable collision of the closeness of their past with the current distance between them... all of it feels so real. My first thought when she ran into him and he agreed to talk was, "Wait! If that happened to me, I'd be so flustered because this is spontaneous and I haven't had time to plan out my speech in my head yet!" And then I thought maybe I was getting a little too into it. :P Plus, I'm sure Roxanne has been going over what she wants to say for days.

I was SO happy when he said they could try to be friends. I know Roxanne's heart was a little broken all over again, but I was thrilled. It has to be a step in the right direction, right?

And fantastic job on the end of the chapter. It makes it that much more exciting that this development happened when Daniel and Roxanne were together, and that they're even Apparating to the scene together! Lovely job of bringing us back from Roxanne's personal life toward the main mystery too.

Don't think I'm going to forget about Jane, though... There's clearly something happening and while I don't feel like she'd directly connected to the disappearance, something funky is clearly happening.

Great job, as always!

Author's Response: Isn't it though? I mean, I'm not exactly sure how it's still open and it was really fun to imagine it and describe it, even though it's not the nicest place for Jane to have to work. And you're completely right about Jane - it's not the sort of life you envision for yourself five years after leaving school, still without any real sense of direction, but I really wanted to show a realistic portrayal of life for twenty-somethings in this story because I think so often in fic they're just in the job that they want and have an ideal life, whereas that isn't true to real life.

I'm glad you like the way I'm writing and developing the situation with Daniel! Roxy has definitely been rehearsing all the different possible things she could say to Daniel - almost since they broke up and she's got used to the idea that it's more permanent than she imagined. It makes me so happy that you're able to put yourself in Roxanne's place and experience it all as if you're her!

Thank you again for another wonderful review, and I'm so pleased that you're still enjoying this story!


 Report Review

Review #18, by long_live_luna_bellatrixChai, Pakoras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Pakoras, and a Friend

13th August 2015:
Wow oh wow. I'm not even that much of a fluff person, but I really, really, really, loved this. Neville and Hannah were just... amazing. You captured all their love with just the right amount of humor and dorkiness, and it worked so well.

I loved so many lines in this story... whether because they were funny or just beautifully written: "she was in London, running the Leaky Cauldron with an efficiency and practicality that would put many an army to shame. It was sort of sexy." “'Hannah.' The sound of rich chocolate and warm familiarity wrapped around Hannah" "If this were a dream, she was pretty certain that he wouldn’t be wearing pyjamas – or anything, really." "I’m going to be married to the sexy Matron, too!” "In some ways, his years as an Auror had prepared him well for all the drama, the teenage angst, the wrangling of semi-dangerous plants, and the definitely-dangerous humans that were part of his job description."

Also, all the talk of food made me hungry. Way to go on that one. My mouth was just watering the whole time Hannah was cooking.

I've wanted to write about Neville and Hannah for awhile now, and I've even considered writing something about Hannah deciding to become the Matron at Hogwarts, but now I don't think I'll ever quite think of the idea again without picturing this story. I loved how they interacted with each other. The dreaming parts were pretty adorable.

One thing that caught my attention was the fact that both of them clearly missed each other very much-- that's what a lot of the story is about, really-- and yet when Hannah mentioned applying to be the Matron, it took a long while (at least, longer than I'd expected) for either of them to mention the fact that if she got the job they'd work in the same place. Maybe Neville is just totally selfless and wouldn't bring that up before Hannah did, but I felt like it would have been nice to at least hear him think about that even if he didn't say it right away.

Anyway, this was just such a lovely story and I'm so glad that I stumbled upon it. It was wonderfully written-- I loved the tidbits about the ultra-prepared house elves too. Well done!

Author's Response: Yayayayayay! I love it when people who usually don't read/like fluff read these stories and still enjoy it. That means so much to me. Thank you!

Wow! So many favourite lines! I'm really pleased!

Seriously, the real reason why I wrote this series is to make people hungry. It was the best decision that I wrote each story whilst I was hungry myself :P

WRITE IT. I'd read it :) There needs to be more Hannah (and Neville) out there in the world.

I was a little worried about how long it took me to get to the "I miss you heaps" part of the story. In the end, I chose to delay it - and I agree, it was a LONG time coming here - because it felt like it was something that they'd already discussed to death. They've been living like this for quite some time now, and although as readers this is the first time we see them in this situation, they've been here before. Writing the characters that way didn't feel like they were achieving anything productive by it. That's the only reason it comes up in the story so late.

Thank you so much for this very lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #5

13th August 2015:
Great start to this chapter! I have no idea what the scene means, but I like it all the same. The plot thickens, I guess...

I'm so glad the story about Daniel is finally out! I'm not sure how much longer I could have waited patiently ;) But it all makes sense now. This just goes to show how complicated things can get when you've got handfuls of cousins everywhere with their own baggage, and one drunken mistake just kind reverberates out through the family. Poor Roxanne! Although it does seem fishy, what Daniel was doing, being out late and all. I wonder if I'll ever learn more about that...

And oh no, why is Jane avoiding Roxanne?! That can't be good... I can't see her being jealous of Roxanne's big story, but what else could it be? Not a connection to the story? I don't know. Don't think that one slipped by me, I'll be looking out for answers!

So yeah, basically, I'm just really impressed that you had this 4500+ word chapter that was all kind of back story (minus the opening scene) and yet it was still really interesting the whole time and left me feeling like I couldn't possibly have read it as fast as I did. It was great to simultaneously learn more about Roxanne's past but also to get a look at her relationship with Lucy. I like Lucy-- a lot. Everyone needs some bluntness now and then.

Anyway, I liked this chapter and am looking forward to seeing the mystery progress. I like that you include snippets of the articles that Roxanne is writing; it's a good reminder of how this story began in the first place. Plus it mixes things up a little.

I'll be back again soon to read more! I have to say, I've done review tags on and off for awhile, but I've never R&R-ed a chapter of a story only to go through and know that I'd have to keep reading and reviewing. I guess maybe with review tag I usually stick to people's one shots, but this one caught my eye... Plus your recent one shots seemed to have enough reviews that I thought you'd appreciate them on this story more. Either way, I'm really glad I found this!

Author's Response: Those scenes are meant to be as ambiguous as possible, to be honest, so I'm not exactly sad that you're not sure what it means yet. Maybe once the story is finished, it'll be easier to make sense of what's happening in these scenes.

Haha, I'm glad that the story about Daniel came out at the right time! Originally I had planned for this reveal to happen in the fourth chapter but it got put back a little. There'll definitely be a lot more information about Daniel and Roxanne in the rest of the story :)

I couldn't possibly say why Jane's been avoiding Roxy at the moment... :P Though I have to say, it's really nice having a reader who's so observant about little details like that!

One thing I always worry about in this story is whether or not there's enough action and plot happening in it, even though I think the backstory and some of the 'filler' chapters are necessary for the plot development and character development too. I'm so glad you like Lucy (she's so fun to write) and that you found the chapter interesting!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story so consistently - I'm so excited that you're interested enough in it to keep coming back, even after review tag!


 Report Review

Review #20, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #4

12th August 2015:
Another very solid chapter. :) I'll just hop in and go through the thoughts I had on it, because I was kind of noting them down as I read.

This line: "‘Excuse me.’ My voice is smooth, spinning in the air like sugar." Once again, for all her nerves, when Roxanne has to act fast some instinct seems to take over. She evaluated these employees and she tailors her attitude toward what she sees-- smart going on her part! (By the way, if I ever mention Roxanne but use the name "Rose" I apologize in advance, please don't judge me. I don't know how many times I've accidentally written Rose already and had to delete it. I don't know where the habit's from but it appears to be there)

What a cool idea to have a Pensieve at the office of the Prophet! I really like that, it's a great way to get around the note taking thing. I definitely wouldn't have thought of that. It is also a pretty sneaky way to get around people's nerves about being recorded, as you mentioned.

That part with the captive though! That's so intense. You threw it in at just the right time; just when Roxanne uncovers a rival at the Prophet, you show us that this isn't a simple disappearance, and it's much darker than originally thought as well. Crazy. It's interesting that this is the exact sort of dark thing that Roxanne has never encountered but that was classic Voldemort stuff back in the day. (Another apology: I feel like my tense switching is all over the place in these reviews, so sorry about that...)

It's really funny how George treats his new employee behind the counter. It's also another example of how I feel immediately connected to every character I meet, and this seems like such a George thing to do as well. It's nice to see him both as lovely dad but also as nefarious as ever. This is a grown up George that I like.

There was one typo i saw, when Roxanne mentioned Knockturn Alley to her dad: "recently they’ve tried to distant themselves from it" instead of "distance."

I loved pretty much all the tidbits about Roxanne's parents, whether it was the note about the coffee drinking habits of her mother (what a clever thing to include, it never even occurred to me that the Weasleys are tea drinkers) or the last line of the chapter itself.

Once again, great, great job!

Author's Response: Hehe there is no judgement here at all - you're not the first person to call Roxy 'Rose' either, if that helps :P I think it's probably because she's not so often written about. Her instincts do definitely take over here, to be honest, and I think that she needs to have some more confidence in herself because of moments like this.

I'm so pleased you like the idea of having a Pensieve at the Prophet! It's not something I'd even thought of before writing this chapter (actually, I hadn't planned out any of this chapter before writing it...) but I'm glad you like the detail. Adding in little titbits like that is a lot of fun.

It's great that you liked the scene with the captive too! Again, it isn't something I'd really planned before writing it, but I'm so glad that you think it worked where it was in the chapter and what it showed of the disappearance.

Yay, I'm so glad you liked George and Angelina! I hadn't planned to write them, like I said, and since I tend to write minor characters and avoid those that are written about more in the books or fanfiction, I was a bit nervous about them. I'm really pleased you liked them here.

Thank you for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #3

12th August 2015:
Hi again!

I think what I'm enjoying most about this story so far is the characters. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan of the plot and how it's progressing too, but it's the characters that really have me at the moment. You've done such a wonderful job with Rose, I already care so much for her and can empathize with her challenges. I'll come back to talking about her later. But I also love the cast of characters that's slowly coming into view around her. Whether I'm getting mad at Miranda on Rose's behalf or falling a little in love with Andy for looking out for her, or just watching what's happening with Obediah and Amanda, everyone feels so real and so fascinating. Love it. (In particular, I was so, so satisfied watching Miranda get put in her place)

I noticed that you opened up the chapter with a headline: "Businessman Missing". I wonder, is there a reason you stuck with such a succinct headline? Given that it's a front page story, it should have enough space on a newspaper page to earn a longer headline, and a snappy headline would make the beginning of the chapter just that much more interesting.

One of my favorite lines of the chapter was this one: "I realise that now, it’s not even the chance of promotion that is driving me forward – it’s the story itself. There’s a chance that I might find out what happened to Malcolm Armstrong before anyone else, and I want to – have to – solve this mystery." It spoke so much about what this case will become to Rose. I loved learning about this new motivation of hers because it makes her even more genuine than before. Maybe it also betrays a little bit of how fresh a reporter she is; I'd imagine that with reporting, maybe like with medicine, after a while you can't personally invest yourself in every single story you get because it becomes exhausting and counterproductive. But I love it all the same.

This was another interesting moment: "At the sound of my voice, Lily’s brown eyes seem to instinctively find mind, however much she’s trying to pretend that I don’t exist. When I see how wide they are, I know that I’ve hit the mark." For me, it demonstrated that Rose might have a natural instinct for reporting. If she got to the heart of the matter in one question, imagine what she'll do in the future... Plus, it was neat that she mentioned that even for her question last chapter, the fact that Mockridge refused to answer it indicated that it was an important question. Yay Rose!

Finally, I think you're really skillfully weaving Rose's personal struggles into the main story about the disappearance. Between the appearance of Lucy and the ending of the chapter (what an ending!) I'm still so curious! Not to mention all the Daniel stuff, of course.

Great job!!!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm not going to be offended at that at all - thank you so much, in fact! I think I've already said that I did come up with a cast of characters (the main ones, at least) before I started writing this story, but when I was writing, some of them really came to life and new characters got introduced. I'm so pleased that people like the different characters that have been introduced in the story so far and the way that I've portrayed their personalities!

I wrote this chapter so long ago that I'm not really sure if there's a reason I chose that headline, other than not being able to think of anything better :P I'll have a look at that though, because that's a really good point - thank you for mentioning it!

The mystery is definitely going to become something very important to Roxy, and I'm glad you saw how that line foreshadowed some of the things that are going to happen in the future in this novel. It does betray how inexperienced she is too, I think, because you can't afford to invest yourself in every story that you report if you're going to become a proper journalist, no matter how difficult that is to avoid.

Roxy does have some really good instincts for reporting - she's got a lot of talent for it, and I think there are several things that show that she has a lot of potential but she's not always ready to believe in herself yet.

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #2

9th August 2015:
Exciting second chapter! I was immediately drawn into it. I can't say I have any great guesses about the nature of the disappearance, or where the mystery will lead, but I'm enjoying it quite a bit.

You did a really great job with Roxanne in this chapter. I was totally immersed in her character. When Roxanne asked her question and Mockridge refused to answer it, you captured Roxanne's ensuing embarrassment SO WELL. I know this was a tiny moment in the chapter, but I had been hoping Roxanne would ask a question, and I was so proud of her when she did. And when she was ashamed that she got nothing out of Mockridge, well, I really felt for her. This is something that I feel like I've gone through so many times, that everyone goes through: being new to a situation, trying to put oneself out there, just a little, and getting shut down. The worst part is feeling like you've failed-- in reality, no one else really notices because it wasn't that big a deal, but you feel like everyone is judging you. You showed all of that in just a couple sentences. For me, it just captures the essence of Roxanne's mindset for the chapter.

And then, more about Daniel... I'm glad you tossed him in there too, right after mentioning it in the first chapter. So that people like me who sometimes read too fast won't forget about him. :P That whole scene with him was well done, and we still know so little about what happened with him...! I'll just have to wait and see, I guess.

I was also interested by Roxanne's attitude toward Richard... The first time he's introduced, it feels like just that, an introduction. But then Roxanne takes the time to notice how seriously he takes his work... Potential romance? Potentially important character? I'll keep an eye out for him...

Overall, this was a great chapter, and I had a good time reading it. I'm looking forward to seeing Roxanne develop as a reporter and as a person.

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you're still enjoying the story, and that you found this chapter exciting too!

Roxanne is one of those characters that's really grown as I've been writing her, and I'm so pleased that other people like her too. Roxy's so unsure of herself here, and she's in a situation that she feels she should be prepared for but then she's thrust into it and doubts herself. I'm so pleased that you could relate to that (not because you've felt the same way of course, but just because I think that's something a lot of people experience and I'm glad you could identify with her because of it).

I couldn't decide for AGES how long I should wait before throwing Daniel into the story, and it felt like this chapter was the right one for him to first appear in. You'll get to know more about him in a few chapters.

Richard is one of those characters who barely mattered when I first began planning this story, but he's kind of blossomed as I've been writing and he took more of a role here than I intended. I'm glad you're interested by him, though!

Thank you so much for another fantastic review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by long_live_luna_bellatrixJigsaw: Piece #1

8th August 2015:
Hi there! I'm really glad I clicked on this story. It's evident that this is a carefully written first chapter, plenty of attention to detail, so I can only assume that the rest of the story is like that as well. I feel like I have a good introduction to Roxanne through her situation at work, but I'm also intrigued by the other things you hinted at, like the tension with her family and this man Daniel.

Loved the way you ended the chapter with our first real taste of drama (well, scratch that, second: the first couple paragraphs were certainly dramatic). A long way from exploding teapots! In general, I think the way you set up the whole chapter was well done. Sandwiching the slower, more introductory parts between bits of excitement, and throwing in those hints at family turmoil along the way too. The only part I can't quite account for is the long conversation with Violet Toots (I find the name amusing, I hate to admit it-- I promise I'm not a ten year old boy! Is the surname from canon? I couldn't tell, the way you referenced Violet's father implied that it could be). I wonder if Miranda's disappearance has something to do with Roxanne's first story...

It was also interesting that you've thrown some magical phones into the mix. How did you come to that decision? Are the phones going to come into play more farther in the story? Or was it simply that you (like me) can't understand why wizards have all the magic in the worlds at their disposal and the closest thing they have to instantaneous communication is sending talking Patronuses to each other? (I also enjoyed the wizards' distrust of Roxanne's phone in the bar. That I can totally see happening when wizards integrate Muggle technology into their world)

Overall, the writing was extremely tight, and I definitely enjoyed myself. Curious to see where this goes!

Author's Response: Hi, lllb! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to all these wonderful reviews you've left me, but I really am grateful for them and your support for this story!

This first chapter was one that I reworked quite a lot before I published it, and I'm really pleased that you think it's a good introduction to the story and the way that I set up the different sections in relation to each other. I kind of wanted to have a lull between the opening paragraphs and the dramatic ending, with something more mundane - a taste of Roxy's everyday life - happening, so that the reader gets to know what her life is like usually.

Violet Toots is meant to be (in my head canon) the daughter of Tilden Toots, who's a canon author - I'm glad you liked the name (and it is amusing, it's okay :P).

The magical phones were something I thought about introducing for quite a while in the story - I'm aware it's something that a lot of people have strong head canon for. Part of it is definitely that I can't understand how they didn't have a more instant form of communication, but they will also come to play more of a role in the story. I just wanted to introduce them in a plausible way and I'm glad you liked the wizards' distrust of them, too.

Thank you so much for this great review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by long_live_luna_bellatrixWinding Road: Finding Home

8th August 2015:
Hi, I'm stopping by for the BvB review fest. When I scrolled through the thread I clicked on Ravenclaw authors' names that others had mentioned reviewing, and when I came across your penname, I realized that I didn't know if I'd ever read any of your stories. So here I am. :)

I know nothing of the larger universe in which this story is set, but I can let you know that it read quite well as a stand alone story. It even made me curious to read more of what you've done with these characters. Scorpius came across as really well developed, and there were hints of deeper stories with Albus and Brandon that were interesting too. As you mentioned in your A/N, this is just a single moment in Scorpius' recovery. And for a single moment, it was quite powerful. I felt privy to Scorpius' confusion, to his determination to get better to take his Healer's advice while simultaneously struggling to control his continuing fear. It was also interesting to see the different roles of the people around him; he was cautious but truthful with his parents, more open with his friends but by no means "cured" when he was with him.

This might sound ridiculous, but I appreciated the simple fact of Scorpius being able to cry throughout the story. Crying seems to be such a taboo thing for men, in private or in public, and you acknowledged Scorpius doing both. It was refreshing to have the tough guy stereotype brushed away, and, in fact, to have no reference at all to Scorpius feeling like he had to "man up." It added to the power of the story's statement about the long, hard road to recovery.

There's really nothing more I can think of that your story needs. The writing was beautiful; I see so much in-your-face elaborate writing on this site, a lot unnecessary vocab, etc., and here I loved that I got all the details I needed to picture the scene without drowning in dense prose. Not that dense prose is always a bad thing, but, well, I guess I'm just to say that I enjoyed it ;) The only thing that caught me up was that at first I thought that Corbin appeared too fast-- but then I looked everything back over again and acknowledged that I was probably just reading too fast. You did set it up with Scorpius mistakenly seeing him once, after all.

Anyway, really great job with this, and I'll try to come back again and dip my toes into some of your other stories!

Author's Response: !!! Your review just tickles me! I always feel like the stories I write in this universe fall flat for people who haven't been with the characters from the first story I wrote about them so I never really think of them as standalone but I'm glad this was a good read without the backstory stuff. Albus, Brandon, and Scorpius do have quite a well developed history together which I've written a ton about. I'm even more happy that you felt Scrpius's emotions through this, it was such a hard piece to write from the emotional perspective.

I didn't really think about that with him crying. You're right though, men really don't get a chance to cry in public and when they do it's a bit taboo.

I get what you mean about people putting too much into the prose. This is a pretty basic narration (I think I tend to go for straightforward narration most of the time).

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #25, by long_live_luna_bellatrixFor the dancing and the dreaming: For the dancing and the dreaming

8th August 2015:
Hi there. I'm stopping by for the BvB review fest, and I'm really glad I stumbled upon this.

It seems like this point in time is one we don't see that often for the Weasleys; it's post Arthur and Molly falling in love and getting married, but before they have a gaggle of children getting underfoot. And when I realized that this was going to about them moving into the Burrow, I couldn't help but smile-- what a great idea! And Arthur's disparaging line about the little house being a "burrow" was perfect, well done with that.

I think you did a good handling Arthur and Molly as young, new parents. You captured that balance between worrying about making ends meet but also trusting that love will get one through hard times. I can easily picture Molly and Arthur balancing those two things time and time again in the early stages of their marriage-- and probably beyond.

You also included a nice amount of small details to add to the story. The remarks about the toaster and the decreasing patronage of Molly's pub brought everything to life. Normally I'd suggest that this story could use even more of those details, to expand our knowledge of the universe in which the story is set even more; maybe more details about Bill as a child, a hint into if Molly and Arthur are yet thinking of another baby, etc., but I do believe that this works quite well just the way it is. It's a sweet, touching story, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Well done!

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I agree that the story could be fleshed out... recently Arthur and Molly has been all I think about, so maybe sometime I'll write them a longer fic;)

Thanks again!
-Georgia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>