Reading Reviews From Member: justonemorefic
635 Reviews Found

Review #1, by justonemoreficIn Full Bloom: Statices, for Remembrance

11th November 2015:
I don't know why I kept thinking Lorcan delayed a whole year when he only delayed a week or so, disregard that. except now they're going to be split apart nooo

“It kind of looks good on me.” this is by far the most optimistic he's been, which is how I know how much of a lie it is

FAT DRAGON!!! tiny! FAT! DRAGON! *U* I love that Lysander KNOWS she's reading this and outright greets her and tells her to pass it to lorcan; like, it's not even that she's reading it, he knows she's holding it,

“I’m betting a galleon that that sounded a lot better in your pretty head,” Oh sure James Sirius Potter, I'm sure sentences like that just float out of your mouth all charmingly like that to every girl you meet in flower shops. “Is it to profess your unyielding fancy for me?” Stahp, JSP, staaahp. And I knew the sunflower would save him when he started talking about dementors, and I remember what she said in the first chapter and it's happening. Sparkly sunflowers saving lives!!

LUNA AND ROLF. wah, they too are adorable. Also grumpy lorcan comparing healer robes to a dark mark lol.

;^; to this though: But we both can’t look at each other in the eye and say yes.
this fic is like rolling in a field of flowers and then tearing up from allergies.

♥ ♥!!

Author's Response: I still have a lot of feelings about Lorcan going to Healing School so hang on *grips handle bars*

HAHAHA I'll have you know it looks BAD in a adorkable way.

Fat Cuber is fat and sensible Lysander is sensible. I actually imagine a lot of Fat Cuber Dragon hovering over flowers with tiny wittle wings puff puff puffing out smoke and such. Magic is wonderful.

And yaaay, JSP! Always smooth with them ladies. Hah and yes, the sunflower saver! Dementors were all like, RUN THERE IS A SUNFLOWER

I don't know about whether the flowers are heroes or villains but we'll see where their loyalties lie MUAHAHA

Thank you so much for the reviews Gina! You make me feel loads better. Here, I'm pretty sure there's a herbal medicine for those allergies and if not, pretty sure B&S will concoct it for you

u is amazing \(*u*)/

 Report Review

Review #2, by justonemoreficIn Full Bloom: Planting Ideas

11th November 2015:
Lorcan has every right to roll around guffawing tbh, she is a BISCUIT SHOP feat. flowers, like all those dj remix songs that are dj feat singer. and aww seroius lorcan. I want to squish them because he is soserious when he's serious. Like >:[ you know I like grumps. But it is a very good idea, Lorcan, thumbs up.

lorcan in a flower crown AND A CLOUD THAT RAINS FLOWERS you are suffocating me in cute. also laughing because he made the clouds rain HARDER AND THE FLOWERS HURT and HE SNORTED A FLOWER. see I called it they are going to injure each other so much they will super regret not going to healing school.

this is very responsible clubbing, your gran would nearly approve, B. (plot twist: gran parties hard here every night)

;A; omg drunk lorcan saying things, they pierce my heart. their codependence is bittersweet and I know they have to learn to live apart eventually but after they learn their independence-y stuff just smooosh back together pls. just *lifts both of them* *smoosh*

Author's Response: I don't know why you gave such faithful reviews STOOOP OR I'LL BUILD A SHRINE (idk why i thought that as a threat)

Lorcan's Lorcan. The most sane person in this story and yes, flower crown and flower clouds and flower rains THIS FIC SCREAMS FLOWERS RUN

Zombies are so last season. Flowers are the next things to haunt you down.

Oh and *rubs hands together* we'll see about the smooshing. although for all i know, those two are like two peas in a pod AND NO ONE SHOULD LEAVE THE POD

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemoreficIn Full Bloom: Blossoming Openings

11th November 2015:
the ultimate downtrodden: no profits but worse NO BISCUITS. And let's be real here, four square tins is NOT a three-month supply. B, you don't have to lie to us. however that is a very varied biscuit selection and I commend her for that.

count on friends and nice shopkeepers to buy pity flowers :D and also warm her heart enough to lift the hex off lorcan, who will no doubt get injured enough in this year that they'll highly regret not going to healing school. one is a fixer-upper and the other chucks flying biscuit tins how can anything go wrong?

omg flower buckets creeping into your personal space TRUE STORY i have a friend who is afraid of plants because they grow when you're not looking... forever... creeping... toward.. you.

baww bloom and her crush; i feel there is a metaphor involved crushed flowers at some point in this story -- 'OF COURSE I WOULD HAVE YOUR BABIES,' BLOOM NO.

Once a fangirl, always a fangirl, B. There's no escaping it. and ahh lorcan and james know each other this is too much


"There was something weird in his voice." LORCAN NO


Author's Response: There's nothing worse than NO BISCUITS and I've learned that from Julia HAH But yeah, I don't know who Bloom is kidding APPARENTLY NO ONE and yes, that's her. Hogging all the biscuits she puts her green fingers on

I know! There was a school fest in our Uni one time and everyone set up a booth and no one else outside school went to the booths and so we have to pity buy everything from each other's booths just so we can have profit IT WAS RIDICULOUS and it's where I got the idea.


Nah, I'm sure those three will just be all BLOOM YES JAMES YES and LORCAN...well, I'm pretty sure Lorcan tells himself LORCAN NO all the time

GINAA u is luff

 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemoreficIn Full Bloom: The Flowering Alternative

10th November 2015:

I would like to imagine that B just chucks entire trees into a cauldron, Lorcan smacks a spoon around a cauldron, and magic happens. That's what herbologists and potioneers do, right?

Wah, he missed healing school for her (I mean, like, probably for her, right?). NO LORCAN, THAT'S DUMB AND IRRESPONSIBLE. This is not free-spirited like your mother, young man. I know she'd let him get away with it too.

:3 muggle and wizardy things blending together eyyy

'add flowers to your miserable pathetic life' lorcan why

bless these idiots, they're going to spectacularly fail, aren't they? in a good, life-learning way, but spectacularly.

♥ WHAT A CUTE STORY I know you like your Fitzsimmons, Dianne; I hope it's a good muse for you.


That's a disaster! They're a little OC so I imagine a fight on who gets to chop the trees more straighter and it's game on. But yep, Lorcan likes smacking his spoons--this statement was a little odd



There's is nothing to move on from! But I would like to say, thank you, Gina even though I basically went squealing around the room and my dog thought I was weird and he chased me.

Oh and you know my Fitzsimmons obsession! Welp! It is so far but feels are feels and they can kill.

I'm moving on to your next review~

 Report Review

Review #5, by justonemoreficDevilish Delights, Wicked Ends: EPILOGUE

4th November 2015:

This is so your magnum opus. Diya and I were freaking out over it in a car ride a month back. I was telling her what it was like during that looong year of your grudgingly writing this, and all I really wanted was you to finish this, no matter what came out of it. You had to get this story out for sanity's sake, to get the twisty Hogwarts ensemble story out of your system, and I was afraid if you didn't finish this, you might not finish something for a very long time.

Reading it bit by bit, in the pieces you sent me, I never had much of a grasp of the story or characters, and it hadn't mattered. But what's fascinating how much the very same writing worked in context. I mean, of course it would, but for me, reading having read a scattered chunks of the fic already, it was very impressive, and a testament to how complex and entwined all the threads are. After the initial setup, it's very very impressive that it's not confusing at all to follow the threads. The writing is verbose, but it works. There's a purpose to the madness, and it would not be the same slowly unwinding tragedy without it, where we get to spend so much time living in each character's story. There's a inevitability, a promise that everything will resolve in a way, however messy, and you show us so much of it, but still manage to keep cards close when it matters. My non-fandom friend who's reading this loves how dramatic everything is, and the more I think about it, I do, too. Because in retrospect it may all seem silly, as it kind of does as Sybil reflects in the epilogue, but in the momen it'd feel exactly as dramatic as the story seems, with the characters living every moment like they'll be ostracized in the next.

And god, the characters. We love our terrible characters but we want them to tiptoe along the line of goodness really; that spark of humanity that makes everything hurt, because otherwise it'd just be a game. And it seems like such an essential thing--because it is never just a game, and therefore it must always hurt for someone, somewhere--but it's rarely done right. The greatest surprise when I finished this is how much of this story is Antigone, Ophelia, Damian, Findlay, and the others, and depending on how one chooses to read it, it is their story; they are certainly the heroes. The story does not glorify the actions of Sybil and Albus at all. It is a petty struggle and it only leaves casualties and I love that we get to spend so much time amongst the fallout.

Sybil and Albus, I love the commitment to their madness. I remember their first confrontations, the dialogue was so self-absorbed and special snowflake, and it was perfect. I always believed that great, powerful people get there by being kind of well, crazy. One doesn't get to a god-like position without being the first believer. It's easy to ask why everyone jumps through hoops for these two, but they hold a special kind of charisma--that crazy kind of confidence and faith--and I never doubted their power or their ability to wield it. Though I identify with Sybil, I wasn't invested in her changing for herself as much as her changing for the sake of her friends. On her own, she isn't a tragedy; she's a pity. But with her friends beside her, she can be something human; she can hurt. They see her fully in ways she's can't--a different kind of faith--and they are the ones I want to believe.

There's a lot of things I haven't said because we've said it so many times before, but you know how much characters like Sybil and the gang mean to me. This story is a million things I normally don't like, but maybe it's just a sign that they're never written right, definitely never one with characters I identify with so much. It may be chock full of our guilty pleasures, but this is a plainly amazing political-thriller-drama in its own right, just set and casted in unorthodox ways, and I flail into the night because this is a story that should be published or adapted onscreen but it is not.

I think if you ever lack faith in writing, to look at DDWE again and admire it. Just scroll through the words and admire it all, because it's so wonderful. AND COMPLETE. And it took a long time, but you did it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by justonemoreficHunter's Moon: Hunter's Moon

19th July 2015:

Sirius is so excited to lose both his hands. I love how absolutely stunned he is that his friends don't want to. He is just TALKING THROUGH James and Remus I LOVE THIS. I don't know what you mean, Celeste, when you say you can't do humor because you do it in this awesome subtle snickering way--SIRIUS ARE YOU STILL THERE. Calling down from the staircases like a banshee.

OH. SNAP. Lily telling it like it is. You’ve done nothing to deserve it. All the other Prefects have been cleaning up the mess you and your friends have been making for years, and suddenly they’re supposed to listen to you.” I LOVE IT. I love that this is addressed. I have no idea if this is normally addressed but I love that Lily takes this so seriously because, I would too, Lily. Oh how bitter I'd be if some snotty Potter just swooops into the same position as mine, as if he's done! The work! To deserve it!


REMUS ;-; I am vaguely interpreting this the Sirius/Remus way jsyk. But also James is so precious omg I’ll make sure of it, even if I have to wear a damn wig and bleeding marry you myself. Bless. I do love James when is he fierce about his friends.

Awww, they're finally getting to know each other. I can feel the weight of the war talk; you always know how to handle heavier subjects just right. It's never purely terrible and grim; I can tell these are teens living in a war, who don't quite know what they're getting into, who don't know how to talk about it, who are seeing soldiers and deaths for the first time, who are unsure of how fearful they should be.

Omg the crush talking, it's so awkward and cute and I love that Lily kind of had a thing for Snape and Sirius briefly because everyone has those two week infatuations and I never understood why those hardly ever get mentioned?? “Hell, even Peeves would fancy the two of us if he spent enough time with us.” / “Thanks…I think…” I love how unabashedly weird your James is, like he's not at all charming here, he's just socially awkward it's wonderful.

Also 'In apology, I offer you any vital organ you like, except my liver, since that’s the only one I use these days.' and 'What d’you mean ‘we’? You’ve been gabbing away, all on about your undying love for a man who hosts a dandruff colony on his head.' He is too much.

Ugh, the end ;_; It's a bit of a serious note but you're so good at them. I looove how you wrapped up the Marauders with the counting of the days and their animagus forms (poor Peter). Here, especially, I see how their forms reflect their personality.

You've always been my favorite slice-of-life writer because you know how to write growing up and leaving us that anticipation for the future while also enjoying the present. A little hope, a little dread, a lot of life. ♥ THANK YOU SO MUCH CELESTE. I'M SO GLAD YOU FINALLY WROTE THIS :333

Author's Response: Ok. Finally. Responding to this.

Thank you for the review! Seriously, I hope you didn't feel obligated to do it. I just wanted to write a thing for you and the thing ended up being this thing.

;___; you're so nice when it comes to my humor. Thank you for humoring (har har) me! Also, yes, Sirius has to repress his love for arsony 90% of the time, but refuses to do it for Jily related reasons (the worst reasons, according to him). He would happily lose a hand or two (or three--he's more than willing to sacrifice the hands of the other boys) in the pursuit of mischief.

Lily is my spin on like...being pissy, but being pissy for a good reason. That's where I think she gets totally ruined in fanon by being turned into a ginger scream machine.

I'm not much of a Sirius/Remus shipper but I have no qualms if you wish to interpret it that way. More of Remus/Tonks and Sirius/Lack of sanity shipper myself.

Yeah! James is supposed to be awkwardly charming. Like I don't think people who are super charming in fiction can be that charming in real life. What does a normal person even say to nonstop witty retorts and dangerous levels of bombast? There would just be eye rolling and awkward silences, which is what I was trying to go for. James imo was way too fun to be a soapy romantic hero; he would have to win Lily over his way and that may or may not include a lot of stupidity and puns and such.

Poor Peter indeed. Sometimes JKR really isn't that subtle with who she screws over. Here's Pettigrew, the future traitor, the least physically attractive one, least intelligent one, barely got into Gryffindor. Also, his animagus form is a rat! I tried to make him seem more human though, what with his own fears/hopes/girlfriend, etc.

Ily Gina, thank you for reading and thank you for always being super lovely, funny and supportive!

 Report Review

Review #7, by justonemoreficDevilish Delights, Wicked Ends: V. Resurrection

7th July 2015:
Ok I already like this chapter more than any of the previous ones because of all the relationships we get to see, but most of all ROSE. R O O O O O S E.

"She could tell the difference between refusing to answer due to residual pain (and there was some residual pain) and refusing to answer due to principles" SHE KNOWS FROM EXPERIENCE. Ophelia asked for the worst, and damn. Faaav scene so far.

Author's Response: I read all the extended o's as making Rose into Roose which makes me think of Roose Bolton... and you know what, I feel like Rose Weasley and ASOIAF's Roose Bolton would understand each other. One would kill the other pretty quickly, but I think it would be a dignified death. Respect until the very end, and even beyond. Which is to say, ROSE. And Ophelia, my baby. This is a highlight scene/chapter for sure. So delighted you like it :')

 Report Review

Review #8, by justonemoreficDevilish Delights, Wicked Ends: IV. Terror

7th July 2015:
your names are going to be the death of me.

HE'S HER BROTHER right, I forgot about that. SCANDALOUS. and STUPID, stupid Damian.

pls as if mafia can ever be handled outside of family, Roman. I adore their fear of their mother btw.

"That was what they all said before they fell into their death and morality spirals, wasn’t it?" lol. just lol. Sybil you see your own foreshadowing, come on.

ugh caspar. stupid face.

ew thackeray. that last scene, lawwwd NOW we're getting dangerous. This is why he's the strongman. HE DOESN'T THINK TWICE DOES HE. I'm now immensely interested in his fears, because something drives that viciousness.

Author's Response: I'm surprised you're still alive after all these stupid stories with more stupid names ;) There's always more stories to write and more names to pull out of last-century obscurity, never fear.

I love the Vaisey kids together, I should have done something with all four of them. (And Georgiana too, of course). Any mafia family has to be somewhat afraid of the mother, right? Especially if she isn't even in the mafia herself. I think Roman is the one thinking that line though, yes? Sybil obviously sees it too, but she wouldn't articulate it so unambiguously, to herself or otherwise.

To this day I am STILL surprised people like Caspar so much. I shouldn't have mentioned the Sam Claflin faceclaim to you. Thackeray on the other hand, I kind of unabashedly love him. WHAT on EARTH could possibly drive him, I wonder???

(Hint: he's complex, our adorable strongman Finlay. Everyone's complex! That's the story, everyone! You can close your laptops now).

(I still have reviews to respond to, so I won't... but, you know).

 Report Review

Review #9, by justonemoreficDevilish Delights, Wicked Ends: I. Luck

6th July 2015:
ok i swear I partially reviews ch 1 somewhere but I don't know where it went. STILL ADORE THE OPENING LETTER. it is so sybil. I know the ride I've signed up for (or do I?).

I also love the word haberdashery and would not have known what it meant if not for context clues. Dear god Sybil, you're like one of those people who give ridiculously good gifts that no one else can top, and they resent you for it. Ugh, Slytherins.

antigone/ophelia/scorpius hyperion/albus severus bad name love triangle tho. wizards are so tragic and last century.

Theatrical characters give me life--Sybil craning her head like a giraffe, chugging boiling hot chocolate like a stone-faced veteran. "Isn't this funny" she said cooly, as if her mouth didn't have second-degree burns.

oh sybil you are going to get into so much /more/ trouble than what your family backstory/foreshadowing says. and it will begin because of hot chocolate.

"There were whispers in Slytherin that Potter’s control of the school echoed His reign, in times made dark by things like, oh, murder, Petrification, monsters, et cetera." thank you for making my albus = tom riddle dreams explicit *u*

ugh mafia men. all words. only good for free drinks rlly.

anyway you already heard the rest of my comments on this so ♥ onto the next one!

Author's Response: I actually kind of hate the opening letter. The whole first chapter is kinda cringey for me, because it's sooo stylized in the literal diction and syntax in a way I know the rest of the story isn't. (The plot, obviously, is really stylized/heightened though, and as you know, I would not have it any other way).

Slytherins are the worst. Which, as you well know, makes them the best. And forget last century, Slytherins with those names are so four centuries ago at least. Or more, with Antigone. I am not a fan of the classic Greek tragedy plays, except for the names it gives us. Sybil may have missed her calling as a stage actress. But I don't think she'd take direction very well. I wonder why that is.

Let's talk about how I still don't technically know what the hell Albus' mafia does. For next time though: Albus as literal dark lord. How much fun would that be???

Thank you for doing this you OBVIOUSLY DIDN'T NEED TO BUT :')

 Report Review

Review #10, by justonemoreficYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 2

2nd July 2015:
I am still ever amazed at how you write Luna's dialogue because she would totally say things like "That meant a lot, actually. You’re the one I would blame the least." and she just tells it like it is, really.

heheh rolf. Ew Draco why would you order olives. "even - somehow - Herbology." - "somehow" herbology I see.

How do you describe flats so succinctly??? Because that is a talent. I'm like, this is a room and it has furniture. I looove the mess that is her flat; it's got her personality in it, with the scarves and childish trinkets and the olfactory grenade!!! tangerine. I love that term.

"All those colours really drain you!" - i am now imaging a black and white Draco with a neon tattoo.

Ooh OOH, LUNA YOU'RE SO BOLD. also laughing at the fwoopers that keep coming up, now *I'm* thinking of fwoopers. Draco you have to steel yourself or you'll never become Inception!Draco.

The kidnapping is agony. I love how he remembers the manor in HER vision of it, Also: "His dream-sister, his prisoner, whose spindly, clammy hands would jerk him awake" and the ‘Have you come to kill me?’ line WHICH I REMEMBER.


"the evening up until that moment seemed garish, false, staged, as if the drinks and the smiles and the friendly chatter had been a performance." NOPE. I THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE THE CASE, BUT I FORGOT UNTIL THE END AND PUNCH. TO THE GUT.

♥ why do you do this hurt

 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemoreficYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 1

2nd July 2015:
JULIA YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE except you should have, because then the world has more Julia writing.

Clandestine meeting with Theo, are you sure this isn't Inception!Draco. Poor bb, he is all the colors that he shouldn't be ;^; GREY like his moral compass.

THIS WOULD HAPPEN. Harry would be too busy to mind Draco. You know I kind of live for the recap-paragraph in Draco stories that tell me exactly how miserable his life has been in recent times. I'm like, ok let's see how much the author likes watching Draco suffer. AND DRACO WOULD NOT SURVIVE PRISON, NOPE NOT ONE BIT. Omg get a love heart over the Dark Mark, great idea Theo.

ok I guess it isn't tattoo artist luna but I'll take this businesswoman tattoo artist!! Oh please no, not a Pansy heart Draco. Maybe a rainbow butterfly. Those are cool. "Somehow he felt he would prefer to be seen as a Death Eater than as the man with the Hippogriff patronus." -- Draco stop having fashion issues and just get a tat already you are going to jail, this is not the time to be self conscious about your patronus! Ah yes, a dementor to suit his personality. He too likes going around kissing random people and sucking their happiness from them.

"It wasn’t like he could ever ink over the fact that he had been a Death Eater." ;_;

TATTOOIST'S ASSISTANT HUZZAH! I always love your Luna, so to the point, exactly as quirkily mysterious as canon Luna, and you know no one ever gets that quite right. BISEXUAL LUNA YAAS! "‘I don’t like girls,’ Luna said. ‘I like people. But I rather think you wouldn’t have known that either." I just love everything that comes out of her mouth.

"it was a scratch, really. It was a scratch compared to the pain upon pain of the war." ;A;

"she resembled a pallid, pliable plant of sorts, like something potbound that had grown spindly for lack of fresh soil." also ;A; and A+ plant metaphor, I'm sorry bonsai!Draco will never die

"She didn’t like to be touched, he suddenly thought." WHY. WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS TO ME JUILA.

AND THE ENTIRE APOLOGY SCENE IS PERF, you know how to make Luna's and Draco's lines hurt respectively because of the characterization you set up for them and you can do so much with a few lines of dialogue and a desperate tone.


 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemoreficHamartia: one.

24th April 2015:
YOUR PUREBLOOD FIC YAAAS. Gonna start throwing your fic back at you: "I did not realise that my primary audience was myself, and that they would not care either way" ouch. Am getting a they-wouldn't-care-at-all vibe here.

I love that the mum was SO SURE she'd be Ravenclaw, oh, oh how wrong she is. HOW FAR YOUR DAUGHTER WILL SPIRAL THAT SHE HAS THIS STORY TO TELL. And I love that despite the brevity of the childhood backstory, it is very informative and swift, with a few questions in its wake.

I LOVE ATHENA'S INTRODUCTION.: "She looked like a hard frost on a winter morning, her skin like marble and her eyes an icy blue; and she introduced herself with the air of knowing she was every bit as divine as her namesake. W O W OK. NOT SURPRISED SHE'S THE MOTH TO THAT FLAME.

♥ you will PREVAIL over this story

 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemoreficThe Ages of Love : The Ages of Love

10th April 2015:
Just wanted to pop into a fic fresh from the queue, and I saw yours; I've always wanted to read more of your stuff :D This is absolutely lovely. So whirlwind, like Oliver and Katie are running through life but at different speeds. I'm super fascinated by timing in romances; bad timing is one of my favorite quiet tragedies. You got me on both ends--sort of cheering for them while also seeing the foreshadowing for what it is, and I love love love the very last scene.


 Report Review

Review #14, by justonemoreficThe Present Hardest to Find: Hunting for a Present

15th January 2015:
Eee, hullo! I am hunkering down to enjoy this. It looks like a Neville/Hannah; I haven't read many of those, but it seems like there'd be an infinite amount of cute stories with them.

That woman is carrying a stew casually down the street; I like her fashion. Also the ruthless nature of DIagon Alley during the holidays. How inconsiderate of people to slip and fall and become roadblocks. There's shopping to be done!

Poor Neville; he's so responsible, professoring so young. Already giant spiders are wreaking havoc on his plants. And d'aww, his crush on Hannah is cute! I'm glad he has enough taste to not give her a Umbridge Cat plate. A shopping trip date, omg, that is actually an excellent idea Neville. If he's smooth, he can totally cover up the fact he has nooo idea what to get her xD You go, small confident Neville voice!

Ooh I wonder what he did get her. When I think of Neville, I think of remembralls and chubby cheeks. Forever a first year to me.

...HAHA, he got her the manure smelling boil plant, oh Neville you smooth charmer. Not every pub lady appreciates rare smelly plants; Hannah definitely one of a kind. I bet she feigned not knowing how to take care of it just to spend time with him.

Thank you so much for this oneshot! ^__^ I love it!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Neville and Hannah are such a cute couple that it's a shame we didn't get to see more of them in the books. Still, that means fanfiction writers have more room to write them as they see fit, right? :)

Oh, yes. So inconsiderate of those people. It should be illegal to slip and fall down during holidays. ;) Especially if you're carrying that evening's dinner!

Call me crazy, but I'd like an Umbridge Cat plate. I simply adore anything cat related. :p I think Hannah would have said yes to a shopping trip date regardless of how smooth Neville was because it's Neville who's asking her, after all. :)

Hannah really is one of a kind. I'm certain that Neville could have come empty-handed and she would have appreciated it nonetheless. And she would most definitely jump at any chance to spend time with Neville... preferably alone. :D

Thank you so much for reviewing this! I'm so glad you liked it!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemoreficA Christmas Cat: Buying a Kitten

11th January 2014:
I'M EXCITED. I saw your PM earlier in the day, but I wanted to wait until I left school to read it.

I remember seeing the preview posted in the thread, and I cackled and knew I was going to love it. I would heartily commend flower pot craft. Sacrifices need to be made in the name of art; for great art, it's necessary. Hugo's just wise for his age.

I'm imagining this train of very uninterested children at Hermione's shopping trips, being dragged from store to store with an ever-growing pile of bags (because buy in bulk and save money!). Poor Rose getting Apparition-sick; I wonder if she likes the floo any better.

CAT! :3 Hugie, that is an adorable nickname. At this point, I'm feeling like Hugo's a bit of a family pet, too. Knowing cats, I'm going to bet that cat will own Hugo rather than the other way around. Heee, I love Rose's independent research: She had spent an entire afternoon breathing steadily underneath the Christmas tree to gauge whether a kitten would be able to survive a night underneath all the baubles and branches. That is some forward thinking. I bet it's quite scratchy under there too, that's solid commitment.

every single animal had made it their personal mission to make as much noise as they possibly could - They're all saying I love you, pick me pleeeaaase.

Ooh a Kneazle! Of course Hermione would approve. I read too fast and I thought that Fluffernutter was some sort of wizard candy bar and then I thought Hermione was going to feed it to Ron, oh dear. But I sorted it out. And of course Ron can't use a toaster, I don't think I've found a single wizard who can.

Hugo is me when I want something. Rose, Rose, Rose, hurry my present is suffocating under the tree xD Oh, I bet Hermione was sneaky with the presents; parents would so do that. I wish I could remember more of my childhood to remember all the times my mom must have done this. And dawww the ending was absolutely fluffy with Fluffie! I'm totally jealous of Hugo *___*

♥ thank youuu ^__^ I absolutely love it. I loved the cute bits of Ron/Hermione and Rose's eagerness the most, and it was lots of fun getting to the end to see Hugo's final reaction!

Author's Response: AHH THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS LOVELY REVIEW! I've been sitting on it for two days because I have no clue what to say. :P

Hehe yeah, the preview was one of the first bits I set in stone. Flowerpot craft is very fun, even though I've only done it once. One of the reasons I gave art up was because of all the sacrifices I had to make. :P

Bahaha, that was based on my aunt's shopping trips. She walks very fast and very quickly and is extremely fussy over her food. :P Your imagination is spot on, I can completely imagine that! And yeah, I don't think Rose is a huge fan of Wizarding travel methods in general. :P

YAY! Hehe. xD Hugo is the youngest and most coddled. And haha, I'd say your prediction is a good one, pets always seem to eventually dominate their owners rather than the other way around! Rose's independent research is one of the things that made me giggle like a loony while writing this, I'm glad you liked it! She was very determined, and when she's determined she doesn't give up easily.

Daww, now you're making me feel bad that Rose didn't pick every animal in the shop, which is kind of ridiculous, but it would have been cute! Rose the Walking Petshop.

Yep, Hermione was the first to agree. And wow, that would have been a pretty crazy story! Glad you got it all sorted out, heehee. And Ron is about as adept with a toaster as he is with a telephone.

Bahaha yeah, I think Hugo is everybody when they want something. Parents are definitely the type to do that! I remember mine did, on the years that we weren't just having a free-for-all under the tree, that is. :P And yay, you found it fluffy! I was hoping it would be fluffy and not obnoxious. ;) Hehe, be jealous. Be very jealous.

I'm so glad you like it! Ron/Hermione is a lovely ship, one of my favourites, and I'm so happy you liked Rose, and Hugo's reaction. :D Thank you so much for this mega review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by justonemoreficgladly beyond: in your most frail gesture are things which enclose me

8th December 2013:
ARRRGHHH I LOVE EVERYTHING YOU WRITE??? HOW DO YOU DO??? THINGS??? I haven't read a fic properly in months and I've forgotten how to give reviews. I did that thing again where I jumped into the middle of a story because I was curious and I found myself scrolling up to get more context until I gave up and started at the very start. TWICE YOU HAVE DONE THIS TO ME.

You have this wonderful talent of getting me invested in your characters quickly. That's how you sell a fic from the middle of a story--start reading anywhere and I GET your characters. A little bit of humor or conflict, and always something new learned. Your voice for your characters are always pitch perfect, and omg I loved the cursing duo here. I don't know how to describe it exactly, but you're really good at showing vs telling and writing just enough dialogue. There are so many subtleties. I can tell so much just by the way Rose talks or what Scorpius remembers about her (sometimes it isn't what Scorpius actually remembers that's important, but why he chooses to remember that out of everything else). Lily, I love your Lily. I love her pretend-boyfriend lie and how she said it and that sentence of Scorpius considering taking her out for a drink. Just! All! The details!!

♥ ♥

Author's Response: ZMVCJZHUNCII GINAAA ♥ ♥



Bawww I'm just flailing like a drowning duck at your many lovely flatteries, because ugh ugh, I know that some people know me for my heavier descriptive style, but TBH this is the kind of thing I enjoy writing best...FLANGST. Ahh, I"m glad the characters resonated with you, even from the middle! I do that as well with stories, read from some random chapter in the middle and see how it sounds like, though I haven't done any proper reading for months now, just a oneshot here and there.

CURSING DUO, yes that's them perfectly. The two of them were such fun to write; I dunno, they're a little bit alien, sometimes rather snooty, quite alike, with a bit of intimacy problems, a little bit distant from each other. I dunno; I imagined this as a kind of half-frustrating relationship, the one where nobody makes a move, and things just linger on and of course the two are so isolated from everyone else, so there's quite a bit of stasis in their starting to ramble.

And Lily! Ahaha, she just happened. She wasn't going to feature strongly, but then she's the kind of strong character who really insists that she have a bigger role, and oh well, I love her as well. I've been trying to decide whether or not Lily is lying about that new boyfriend of hers, so I guess your review has helped me make up my mind. Lily's LYING. And not bothering to be very convincing about it, too.

YAY THANKS FOR THIS MWYJCJHAMESOME REVIEW, GINA! Srsly, you leave the best reviews EVER. ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by justonemoreficA Brief Description on Life as a Ghoul: My Long Awaited Opportunity

16th July 2013:
An acting ghost? Count me in :D Especially such a sassy one. When I read Leonardo DiCaprio as best new actor, I remembered what years we're dealing with - Titanic years, eh? :D

Omg poor fool Ron, surrounded by conspirators and Hermione. Oh dear, he'll be the butt of things. HA I love that idea - the ghoul pretending to be Ron. He's acting for the sake of good too, the best acting :D

Any great actor has to make sacrifices in the looks department if they want to succeed I was once told, so I guess this would be my sacrifice. And I suppose he'd be thinking, plus my first role would be of this eejit, but I'm sure he thinks he can play dimwittedness well.

I just love the general condescension - kind of like the flavor you get with Lockhart's dramatic flair: I nodded my head eagerly; my opinion of this ginger clan had risen greatly. I suppose the ego follows the spirit in the afterlife.

♥ Such a fun read!

Author's Response: Bahaha, I actually had to research that due to being a baby/toddler for a large part of the 90s so I understand why you had to think about that :P

I know he just naturally has that role for some reason! I did feel a little mean, but it was so much fun too! Yes, though having the Death Eaters as the audience must have been pretty scary!

Yup! I don't really get why he looks down on playing Ron, that would be my dream role!

Of course the ego follows on! It works for Nearly Headless Nick, after all ;)

Thank you for this fabulous review and I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemoreficThe Cusp: Time

16th July 2013:
Celestee I've missed your writing ;A; This is such a beautiful moment. You always have the best use of color (did you ransack the paint tab section of Home Depot, hem hem).

This is my favorite bit: "the familiar scent of her mother adding garam masala on saffron, creating a painting within their dinner, could feel the thrill under her skin when she’d heard “Gryffindor!” for the first time, could see the ocean of colors at her first Quidditch match." along with the scene where they landed in England the first time, "the decaying hospital building in Madras where she was born, of the grey airplane they’d boarded, of their first apartment, of the grey hairs on her father’s head that he now slicked down with coconut oil" and her mother listening to the radio. I'm probably forgetting a few. But these descriptions are so steeped in culture and nostalgia; I can see a whole childhood pass with a sunset. Ugh i always read your fics to remember how to description.

Oh, and the detail of Padma and Parvati's interaction at the very end :3 The nudging! Is so cute! Maybe it's the sunset and the cooking, it all leaves me kind of warm.

♥ miss your writing, I have to still read 'This Time With Us' ;A;

Author's Response: GIIINA I logged back in just to respond to this because this review made me all nostalgicy T^T

I miss your writing too! I PROMISE to finish Capers this summer - it's even on my summer to do list heh. Thank you for your kind words on the writing too! You're kind of my go to person for snappy dialogue though :3

Thank you thank you thank you~ I hope school and life are going well for you! And I hope you get to This Time With Us whenever you can! ^^

 Report Review

Review #19, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Summery and Summary

15th July 2013:
"they’d definitely exceeded his admittedly low expectations." That's all he wanted, I'm sure. I love that it's enough to impress Aurora, knowing how tight her hair bun is.


Oh Archie, your purebloodedness is showing -- fifty pound note. You could buy the blender.

Whoa, whoa whoa, he told her about the fake sim version of them and he wasn't creeped out I'D BE CREEPED OUT (not that I haven't done it the same, hem hem). But dang Archie, you got yourself a gem there, hold on and cast a sticky glue charm on her and never let go. Especially when you go out in Sponge bog Square pants socks, lawd.

“You seem not to have inherited the business gene,” Archibald drawled, glancing at the counter, “I’ll pretend I think you’re of wizarding origin, your class continues to laugh at me behind my back, you get the money and then you split it,” HA. And again, I say I am most approving of your use of bets and deals.

SEE I THINK AFTER THE WAR, THERE WOULD'VE BEEN AN UPSURGE OF STUDENTS NAMED HARRY POTTER, I wanted to make that joke myself, but I never go the chance.

c: Heee, it's been such a fun read, Helen. This is one of the best humor stories I've read, definitely the best 12+ one 8D CONGRATS ON FINISHING THIS, SORRY FOR TAKING SO LONG TO GET HERE. ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Don't stop the partaay

15th July 2013:
"Vicky, I know the concept of deceit is mostly above you, and I’m not expecting a Poker Face here, but you might do better if you stopped showing McDonald your cards." and "And Vicky, do not eat the poker chips." Vicky is seriously on fire (will she be literally on fire? wouldn't doubt it, with this talk of thermodynamics)

Oh my god he's considering teaching actual physics, of all the things, this might be the craziest ARCHIE DON'T DO IT.

“She’s writing her extended project on Twilight,” Archibald grimaced, “and how the supernatural is portrayed in sensationalist young adult novels.” ... Along with the several pages of fanfiction Gina had found on the internet. And the six other books she’d referenced. I AM JUST GOING TO PRETEND IT'S ME :D Oh wait, no can I be dom with her sheep puns, that is actually really impressive. "the shear extent" I am rolling, Helen, rolling. Considering Archie's penchant for punning names, she ought to get full marks.

HAH THEY CHOSE WHITNEY HOUSTON Well, can't fault them for a classic, I guess? Right, I ought to do more than throw your fic back at you - but that paragraph was such a perfect drawl of his thoughts.

“It’s the milkshake, Professor,” -> WHEN I READ THIS I WAS WHISPERING TO THE SCREEN *finish the line finish the line -- yes* And then HE QUIPPED BACK.

AWWW. AWWW HELEN, OMG THAT SPEECH, I'M GETTING TEARY (half from laughing the Professor’s borderline inappropriate love of muggles is still ongoing, She’s blatantly too good for him, oh god the squib thing isn't over yet). On the whole, he wasn’t sure whether or not any of the above had been a compliment or merely a string of insults masquerading as something positive. I'm not sure either, Archie, I'm not sure either.

♥ THIS WAS THE BEST almost conclusion TO THE SCHOOLYEAR :3

 Report Review

Review #21, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Parashoot-me-now-please

15th July 2013:
“I didn’t tell them to jump off the astronomy tower.” -> Oh dear, this beginning. The things it bodes.

"as Vicky was a little too confused by the whole concept of a cinema to move onto any other electronic entertainment and, as far as Archie knew, most Muggles had stopped leaving the house after the invention of the Wii sport" -> BAHA, oh I love that you use this fic to commentate on Muggle trends; it's so hard to do that in HP fic.

"“Art Museums and National Trust houses,” He said pointedly, “but then I am middle class.” -> SNORT. And the commentary continues. And then "Vicky looked like she was about to ask what ‘middle class’ meant" seriously you're on a roll, Helen. I've gleaned a bit about Brit politics from Julia so I can nod along with these attitudes.

Oh god, how did you go from modern art to parachuting Archie, how, how.

The lead up to Kevin was just the best, I could actually sense the dread trickling down his forehead in little trickles.

"They didn't... die" I AM DYING. "And he had to explain how the parachute worked in detail because, otherwise, if they tried it they’d definitely die." AT LEAST HE'S SEMI-RESPONSIBLE? :D

"Not great, but they’d probably have only been one death max. And James might have caught that body. And surely someone would have thought to immobilise the crap out of the falling body." I realize I'm throwing your chapter back at you right now, but I just have to emphasize that this chapter is GOLD. It's ok, Harry fell like a hundred feet. He only lost all his bones.

♥ ♥

Author's Response: GINA.

I was nearly crying writing this chapter, ngl. I had the first line and I was like I LIKE THIS STRUCTURE IMMA DO A THING WITH THE STRUCTURE and than I really liked doing the thing with the structure and basically I'm quite proud of how this chapter turned out so I like the regurgitation of the chapter because it makes me smile and what not.

IT'S NOT HIS FAULT. ahha. they set him up but obviously the connection between modern art and parachuting is a very real occupational hazard.

You're making me miss Archie, damnit. And I am SO VERY GLAD you get the Brit politics bits and pieces because because because I actually have no reason but the first bit remains.



THank you for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: A Good sport

15th July 2013:
"particularly because Neville was a genuine hero" -> aw, he remembers, even in the midst of important professor prank/betting business. I don't know, Neville love just makes me happy. OH NEVILLE YOU ARE SO EAGER, I could pinch your probably-wrinkly cheeks. Fences! Industralising revolution!

Ha, Aurora gets things done, I like her. She also gets Archie into Situations, so. Oh dear, a Muggle Studies brigade of student volunteers, I can see where this is headed. *Here's hoping for exploding basketballs*

“Without blackmail?” -> I like how this is the immediate concern.
“in the name of closing the gap between Wizarding and Muggle culture for the generations to come.” -> YOU GO ARCHIE! even if you are mostly hypnotised by certain womanly wiles.

Can I just say that I am in perpetual appreciation for your use of bets and side dealing and wheedling and scoops. Every student and professor for himself.

“Archie,” Dionne said, lips pursing as she turned towards him, “I hadn’t realised we were married with several children.” Oh dear they went all out.

AND A KISS ON THE CHEEK! From the hottest prof in Hogwarts, according to the school newspaper. Now it's canon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Regular Dom-foolery

15th July 2013:

GO RAVENCLAW Archie. I don't recall if you mentioned his house before, alas I forgot then, if you did. Omg Archie and Dionne have so much common. Dang it, I forgot what a space hopper is again *googles*

Ohhh dear, locked in a broom cupboard, we know what that means. professors, yes I am exactly right. I'm still in high belief that pranks are 1000% funnier from Archie because he's cast with RDJ. 'Teaching' and 'treachery' aren't far off lexically, you know.

“You’re coming out of the closet!” Miss Barbie declared. -> SNORT

AW I mean it's kind of sweet that they'd save his job so quickly. "his sixth years seemed to assemble themselves into a legitimate group of protestors and burst out into the corridors yelling things about the freedom to use Space Hoppers and occupy whatever broom cupboard they wished to occupy." oh my god this is the actual best, of all the protests, I would join this one. You know how I'm a fan of large mobs occupying Hogwarts.

"Apparently the idea that Archibald would keep Muggle, and therefore extremely volatile, explosives in his office was a little too believable for Sinistra to dismiss." Explosions are why you're loved, Archie.

“Currently, Miss Skively and Mr Weasley are attempting to convince Aurora that a legendary incident involving a Space Hopper was actually their fault, rather than yours.” SEE THEY'RE ACTUALLY DARLINGS.

Oh I've missed Muggle Studies so ♥ A bunch of eejits, all of them. Must finish the rest!


I think this is the first time his house was mentioned, actually. He has a touch of the Hufflepuff about him, but someone so... nerdy. Well, it had to be done.

HA YES ALL THE MOBS GINA. And broom cupboards. I'd forgotten how much fun I had writing this and now I'm sad that it's over all over again.

there's something special about closet jokes and explosions and space hoppers and such and THANK YOU FOR RETURNING YOUR REVIEW IS GREATLY APPRECIATED (as are you)


 Report Review

Review #24, by justonemoreficThe Last Venture: The Last Venture

14th July 2013:
I've read a few oneshots of the Prewett brothers before; I love what ideas people come up for them. I think this is a good fleeting moment - action can be difficult to write well, as it's all about timing and emphasizing exactly the right descriptions. I get a good idea of the scene immediately - I rather like your beginning with a 'Come out and fight!' It immediately sets up conflict and mood.

We know they're going to die, of course, so when Fabian whispers 'Cradle to grave' I'm starting to hold my breath because I know this is the last stand.

I would've loved to see more at the end - the beginning was quite well paced but I think i just needed one more 'oomph' moment at the end to herald the beginning of their end. I like Gideon's 'Avenge us' though, I think you make good use of sparse dialogue.

Good, quick read! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemoreficWe all fall down: We All Fall Down

14th July 2013:
Oooh, I learned about the true meaning of the ring around the rosy song long ago. I absolutely love it, and I love that you're using it as inspiration! I like the beginning the best, when you're setting up the scene with Lily, and you introduce the coldness of the room and her skin.

I was worried for Lily for a second, as plagues tend to be contagious for that's how they spread, but I wonder how this one spreads if it's not. I like the idea of a wizarding plague though, I hardly ever see stories with that idea.

I think their dialogue could be stronger and more impactful, so it can contribute even more to the story. I actually kind of like Rose's last line being Hugo. It's a little out of the blue, but it makes me wonder on my own, what he means to her. Lily also is mostly an observer in this story, and her thoughts tend to repeat toward the end. Some variety would help bring the fic together as a whole :)

Hope that helps!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>