Reading Reviews From Member: justonemorefic
  
622 Reviews Found

Review #1, by justonemoreficA Christmas Cat: Buying a Kitten

11th January 2014:
I'M EXCITED. I saw your PM earlier in the day, but I wanted to wait until I left school to read it.

I remember seeing the preview posted in the thread, and I cackled and knew I was going to love it. I would heartily commend flower pot craft. Sacrifices need to be made in the name of art; for great art, it's necessary. Hugo's just wise for his age.

I'm imagining this train of very uninterested children at Hermione's shopping trips, being dragged from store to store with an ever-growing pile of bags (because buy in bulk and save money!). Poor Rose getting Apparition-sick; I wonder if she likes the floo any better.

CAT! :3 Hugie, that is an adorable nickname. At this point, I'm feeling like Hugo's a bit of a family pet, too. Knowing cats, I'm going to bet that cat will own Hugo rather than the other way around. Heee, I love Rose's independent research: She had spent an entire afternoon breathing steadily underneath the Christmas tree to gauge whether a kitten would be able to survive a night underneath all the baubles and branches. That is some forward thinking. I bet it's quite scratchy under there too, that's solid commitment.

every single animal had made it their personal mission to make as much noise as they possibly could - They're all saying I love you, pick me pleeeaaase.

Ooh a Kneazle! Of course Hermione would approve. I read too fast and I thought that Fluffernutter was some sort of wizard candy bar and then I thought Hermione was going to feed it to Ron, oh dear. But I sorted it out. And of course Ron can't use a toaster, I don't think I've found a single wizard who can.

Hugo is me when I want something. Rose, Rose, Rose, hurry my present is suffocating under the tree xD Oh, I bet Hermione was sneaky with the presents; parents would so do that. I wish I could remember more of my childhood to remember all the times my mom must have done this. And dawww the ending was absolutely fluffy with Fluffie! I'm totally jealous of Hugo *___*

♥ thank youuu ^__^ I absolutely love it. I loved the cute bits of Ron/Hermione and Rose's eagerness the most, and it was lots of fun getting to the end to see Hugo's final reaction!

Author's Response: AHH THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS LOVELY REVIEW! I've been sitting on it for two days because I have no clue what to say. :P

Hehe yeah, the preview was one of the first bits I set in stone. Flowerpot craft is very fun, even though I've only done it once. One of the reasons I gave art up was because of all the sacrifices I had to make. :P

Bahaha, that was based on my aunt's shopping trips. She walks very fast and very quickly and is extremely fussy over her food. :P Your imagination is spot on, I can completely imagine that! And yeah, I don't think Rose is a huge fan of Wizarding travel methods in general. :P

YAY! Hehe. xD Hugo is the youngest and most coddled. And haha, I'd say your prediction is a good one, pets always seem to eventually dominate their owners rather than the other way around! Rose's independent research is one of the things that made me giggle like a loony while writing this, I'm glad you liked it! She was very determined, and when she's determined she doesn't give up easily.

Daww, now you're making me feel bad that Rose didn't pick every animal in the shop, which is kind of ridiculous, but it would have been cute! Rose the Walking Petshop.

Yep, Hermione was the first to agree. And wow, that would have been a pretty crazy story! Glad you got it all sorted out, heehee. And Ron is about as adept with a toaster as he is with a telephone.

Bahaha yeah, I think Hugo is everybody when they want something. Parents are definitely the type to do that! I remember mine did, on the years that we weren't just having a free-for-all under the tree, that is. :P And yay, you found it fluffy! I was hoping it would be fluffy and not obnoxious. ;) Hehe, be jealous. Be very jealous.

I'm so glad you like it! Ron/Hermione is a lovely ship, one of my favourites, and I'm so happy you liked Rose, and Hugo's reaction. :D Thank you so much for this mega review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by justonemoreficgladly beyond: in your most frail gesture are things which enclose me

8th December 2013:
ARRRGHHH I LOVE EVERYTHING YOU WRITE??? HOW DO YOU DO??? THINGS??? I haven't read a fic properly in months and I've forgotten how to give reviews. I did that thing again where I jumped into the middle of a story because I was curious and I found myself scrolling up to get more context until I gave up and started at the very start. TWICE YOU HAVE DONE THIS TO ME.

You have this wonderful talent of getting me invested in your characters quickly. That's how you sell a fic from the middle of a story--start reading anywhere and I GET your characters. A little bit of humor or conflict, and always something new learned. Your voice for your characters are always pitch perfect, and omg I loved the cursing duo here. I don't know how to describe it exactly, but you're really good at showing vs telling and writing just enough dialogue. There are so many subtleties. I can tell so much just by the way Rose talks or what Scorpius remembers about her (sometimes it isn't what Scorpius actually remembers that's important, but why he chooses to remember that out of everything else). Lily, I love your Lily. I love her pretend-boyfriend lie and how she said it and that sentence of Scorpius considering taking her out for a drink. Just! All! The details!!

♥ ♥

Author's Response: ZMVCJZHUNCII GINAAA ♥ ♥

WHAT EVEN IS THIS REVIEW. CAN IT EVEN BE RESPONDED TO.

THANNKK YOOUUU ♥

Bawww I'm just flailing like a drowning duck at your many lovely flatteries, because ugh ugh, I know that some people know me for my heavier descriptive style, but TBH this is the kind of thing I enjoy writing best...FLANGST. Ahh, I"m glad the characters resonated with you, even from the middle! I do that as well with stories, read from some random chapter in the middle and see how it sounds like, though I haven't done any proper reading for months now, just a oneshot here and there.

CURSING DUO, yes that's them perfectly. The two of them were such fun to write; I dunno, they're a little bit alien, sometimes rather snooty, quite alike, with a bit of intimacy problems, a little bit distant from each other. I dunno; I imagined this as a kind of half-frustrating relationship, the one where nobody makes a move, and things just linger on and of course the two are so isolated from everyone else, so there's quite a bit of stasis in their relationship...am starting to ramble.

And Lily! Ahaha, she just happened. She wasn't going to feature strongly, but then she's the kind of strong character who really insists that she have a bigger role, and oh well, I love her as well. I've been trying to decide whether or not Lily is lying about that new boyfriend of hers, so I guess your review has helped me make up my mind. Lily's LYING. And not bothering to be very convincing about it, too.

YAY THANKS FOR THIS MWYJCJHAMESOME REVIEW, GINA! Srsly, you leave the best reviews EVER. ♥ ♥

teh


 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemoreficA Brief Description on Life as a Ghoul: My Long Awaited Opportunity

16th July 2013:
An acting ghost? Count me in :D Especially such a sassy one. When I read Leonardo DiCaprio as best new actor, I remembered what years we're dealing with - Titanic years, eh? :D

Omg poor fool Ron, surrounded by conspirators and Hermione. Oh dear, he'll be the butt of things. HA I love that idea - the ghoul pretending to be Ron. He's acting for the sake of good too, the best acting :D

Any great actor has to make sacrifices in the looks department if they want to succeed I was once told, so I guess this would be my sacrifice. And I suppose he'd be thinking, plus my first role would be of this eejit, but I'm sure he thinks he can play dimwittedness well.

I just love the general condescension - kind of like the flavor you get with Lockhart's dramatic flair: I nodded my head eagerly; my opinion of this ginger clan had risen greatly. I suppose the ego follows the spirit in the afterlife.

♥ Such a fun read!

Author's Response: Bahaha, I actually had to research that due to being a baby/toddler for a large part of the 90s so I understand why you had to think about that :P

I know he just naturally has that role for some reason! I did feel a little mean, but it was so much fun too! Yes, though having the Death Eaters as the audience must have been pretty scary!

Yup! I don't really get why he looks down on playing Ron, that would be my dream role!

Of course the ego follows on! It works for Nearly Headless Nick, after all ;)

Thank you for this fabulous review and I'm glad you liked it!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemoreficThe Cusp: Time

16th July 2013:
Celestee I've missed your writing ;A; This is such a beautiful moment. You always have the best use of color (did you ransack the paint tab section of Home Depot, hem hem).

This is my favorite bit: "the familiar scent of her mother adding garam masala on saffron, creating a painting within their dinner, could feel the thrill under her skin when she’d heard “Gryffindor!” for the first time, could see the ocean of colors at her first Quidditch match." along with the scene where they landed in England the first time, "the decaying hospital building in Madras where she was born, of the grey airplane they’d boarded, of their first apartment, of the grey hairs on her father’s head that he now slicked down with coconut oil" and her mother listening to the radio. I'm probably forgetting a few. But these descriptions are so steeped in culture and nostalgia; I can see a whole childhood pass with a sunset. Ugh i always read your fics to remember how to description.

Oh, and the detail of Padma and Parvati's interaction at the very end :3 The nudging! Is so cute! Maybe it's the sunset and the cooking, it all leaves me kind of warm.

♥ miss your writing, I have to still read 'This Time With Us' ;A;

Author's Response: GIIINA I logged back in just to respond to this because this review made me all nostalgicy T^T

I miss your writing too! I PROMISE to finish Capers this summer - it's even on my summer to do list heh. Thank you for your kind words on the writing too! You're kind of my go to person for snappy dialogue though :3

Thank you thank you thank you~ I hope school and life are going well for you! And I hope you get to This Time With Us whenever you can! ^^


 Report Review

Review #5, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Summery and Summary

15th July 2013:
"they’d definitely exceeded his admittedly low expectations." That's all he wanted, I'm sure. I love that it's enough to impress Aurora, knowing how tight her hair bun is.

HEE THEY'VE MOVED IN TOGETHEr.

Oh Archie, your purebloodedness is showing -- fifty pound note. You could buy the blender.

Whoa, whoa whoa, he told her about the fake sim version of them and he wasn't creeped out I'D BE CREEPED OUT (not that I haven't done it the same, hem hem). But dang Archie, you got yourself a gem there, hold on and cast a sticky glue charm on her and never let go. Especially when you go out in Sponge bog Square pants socks, lawd.

“You seem not to have inherited the business gene,” Archibald drawled, glancing at the counter, “I’ll pretend I think you’re of wizarding origin, your class continues to laugh at me behind my back, you get the money and then you split it,” HA. And again, I say I am most approving of your use of bets and deals.

SEE I THINK AFTER THE WAR, THERE WOULD'VE BEEN AN UPSURGE OF STUDENTS NAMED HARRY POTTER, I wanted to make that joke myself, but I never go the chance.

c: Heee, it's been such a fun read, Helen. This is one of the best humor stories I've read, definitely the best 12+ one 8D CONGRATS ON FINISHING THIS, SORRY FOR TAKING SO LONG TO GET HERE. ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Don't stop the partaay

15th July 2013:
"Vicky, I know the concept of deceit is mostly above you, and I’m not expecting a Poker Face here, but you might do better if you stopped showing McDonald your cards." and "And Vicky, do not eat the poker chips." Vicky is seriously on fire (will she be literally on fire? wouldn't doubt it, with this talk of thermodynamics)

Oh my god he's considering teaching actual physics, of all the things, this might be the craziest ARCHIE DON'T DO IT.

“She’s writing her extended project on Twilight,” Archibald grimaced, “and how the supernatural is portrayed in sensationalist young adult novels.” ... Along with the several pages of fanfiction Gina had found on the internet. And the six other books she’d referenced. I AM JUST GOING TO PRETEND IT'S ME :D Oh wait, no can I be dom with her sheep puns, that is actually really impressive. "the shear extent" I am rolling, Helen, rolling. Considering Archie's penchant for punning names, she ought to get full marks.

HAH THEY CHOSE WHITNEY HOUSTON Well, can't fault them for a classic, I guess? Right, I ought to do more than throw your fic back at you - but that paragraph was such a perfect drawl of his thoughts.

“It’s the milkshake, Professor,” -> WHEN I READ THIS I WAS WHISPERING TO THE SCREEN *finish the line finish the line -- yes* And then HE QUIPPED BACK.

AWWW. AWWW HELEN, OMG THAT SPEECH, I'M GETTING TEARY (half from laughing the Professor’s borderline inappropriate love of muggles is still ongoing, She’s blatantly too good for him, oh god the squib thing isn't over yet). On the whole, he wasn’t sure whether or not any of the above had been a compliment or merely a string of insults masquerading as something positive. I'm not sure either, Archie, I'm not sure either.

♥ THIS WAS THE BEST almost conclusion TO THE SCHOOLYEAR :3

 Report Review

Review #7, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Parashoot-me-now-please

15th July 2013:
“I didn’t tell them to jump off the astronomy tower.” -> Oh dear, this beginning. The things it bodes.

"as Vicky was a little too confused by the whole concept of a cinema to move onto any other electronic entertainment and, as far as Archie knew, most Muggles had stopped leaving the house after the invention of the Wii sport" -> BAHA, oh I love that you use this fic to commentate on Muggle trends; it's so hard to do that in HP fic.

"“Art Museums and National Trust houses,” He said pointedly, “but then I am middle class.” -> SNORT. And the commentary continues. And then "Vicky looked like she was about to ask what ‘middle class’ meant" seriously you're on a roll, Helen. I've gleaned a bit about Brit politics from Julia so I can nod along with these attitudes.

Oh god, how did you go from modern art to parachuting Archie, how, how.

The lead up to Kevin was just the best, I could actually sense the dread trickling down his forehead in little trickles.

"They didn't... die" I AM DYING. "And he had to explain how the parachute worked in detail because, otherwise, if they tried it they’d definitely die." AT LEAST HE'S SEMI-RESPONSIBLE? :D

"Not great, but they’d probably have only been one death max. And James might have caught that body. And surely someone would have thought to immobilise the crap out of the falling body." I realize I'm throwing your chapter back at you right now, but I just have to emphasize that this chapter is GOLD. It's ok, Harry fell like a hundred feet. He only lost all his bones.

♥ ♥

Author's Response: GINA.

I was nearly crying writing this chapter, ngl. I had the first line and I was like I LIKE THIS STRUCTURE IMMA DO A THING WITH THE STRUCTURE and than I really liked doing the thing with the structure and basically I'm quite proud of how this chapter turned out so I like the regurgitation of the chapter because it makes me smile and what not.

IT'S NOT HIS FAULT. ahha. they set him up but obviously the connection between modern art and parachuting is a very real occupational hazard.


You're making me miss Archie, damnit. And I am SO VERY GLAD you get the Brit politics bits and pieces because because because I actually have no reason but the first bit remains.

yes.

Ahem.

THank you for reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: A Good sport

15th July 2013:
"particularly because Neville was a genuine hero" -> aw, he remembers, even in the midst of important professor prank/betting business. I don't know, Neville love just makes me happy. OH NEVILLE YOU ARE SO EAGER, I could pinch your probably-wrinkly cheeks. Fences! Industralising revolution!

Ha, Aurora gets things done, I like her. She also gets Archie into Situations, so. Oh dear, a Muggle Studies brigade of student volunteers, I can see where this is headed. *Here's hoping for exploding basketballs*

“Without blackmail?” -> I like how this is the immediate concern.
“in the name of closing the gap between Wizarding and Muggle culture for the generations to come.” -> YOU GO ARCHIE! even if you are mostly hypnotised by certain womanly wiles.

Can I just say that I am in perpetual appreciation for your use of bets and side dealing and wheedling and scoops. Every student and professor for himself.

“Archie,” Dionne said, lips pursing as she turned towards him, “I hadn’t realised we were married with several children.” Oh dear they went all out.

AND A KISS ON THE CHEEK! From the hottest prof in Hogwarts, according to the school newspaper. Now it's canon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by justonemoreficMuggle Studies: Regular Dom-foolery

15th July 2013:
HELEN! I AM BACH!

GO RAVENCLAW Archie. I don't recall if you mentioned his house before, alas I forgot then, if you did. Omg Archie and Dionne have so much common. Dang it, I forgot what a space hopper is again *googles*

Ohhh dear, locked in a broom cupboard, we know what that means. ...co-conspiring professors, yes I am exactly right. I'm still in high belief that pranks are 1000% funnier from Archie because he's cast with RDJ. 'Teaching' and 'treachery' aren't far off lexically, you know.

“You’re coming out of the closet!” Miss Barbie declared. -> SNORT

AW I mean it's kind of sweet that they'd save his job so quickly. "his sixth years seemed to assemble themselves into a legitimate group of protestors and burst out into the corridors yelling things about the freedom to use Space Hoppers and occupy whatever broom cupboard they wished to occupy." oh my god this is the actual best, of all the protests, I would join this one. You know how I'm a fan of large mobs occupying Hogwarts.

"Apparently the idea that Archibald would keep Muggle, and therefore extremely volatile, explosives in his office was a little too believable for Sinistra to dismiss." Explosions are why you're loved, Archie.

“Currently, Miss Skively and Mr Weasley are attempting to convince Aurora that a legendary incident involving a Space Hopper was actually their fault, rather than yours.” SEE THEY'RE ACTUALLY DARLINGS.

Oh I've missed Muggle Studies so ♥ A bunch of eejits, all of them. Must finish the rest!

Author's Response: GINA HULLO THERE ITS SO VERY GOOD TO HAVE YOU BACK.

I think this is the first time his house was mentioned, actually. He has a touch of the Hufflepuff about him, but someone so... nerdy. Well, it had to be done.

HA YES ALL THE MOBS GINA. And broom cupboards. I'd forgotten how much fun I had writing this and now I'm sad that it's over all over again.

there's something special about closet jokes and explosions and space hoppers and such and THANK YOU FOR RETURNING YOUR REVIEW IS GREATLY APPRECIATED (as are you)

-Helen


 Report Review

Review #10, by justonemoreficThe Last Venture: The Last Venture

14th July 2013:
I've read a few oneshots of the Prewett brothers before; I love what ideas people come up for them. I think this is a good fleeting moment - action can be difficult to write well, as it's all about timing and emphasizing exactly the right descriptions. I get a good idea of the scene immediately - I rather like your beginning with a 'Come out and fight!' It immediately sets up conflict and mood.

We know they're going to die, of course, so when Fabian whispers 'Cradle to grave' I'm starting to hold my breath because I know this is the last stand.

I would've loved to see more at the end - the beginning was quite well paced but I think i just needed one more 'oomph' moment at the end to herald the beginning of their end. I like Gideon's 'Avenge us' though, I think you make good use of sparse dialogue.

Good, quick read! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemoreficWe all fall down: We All Fall Down

14th July 2013:
Oooh, I learned about the true meaning of the ring around the rosy song long ago. I absolutely love it, and I love that you're using it as inspiration! I like the beginning the best, when you're setting up the scene with Lily, and you introduce the coldness of the room and her skin.

I was worried for Lily for a second, as plagues tend to be contagious for that's how they spread, but I wonder how this one spreads if it's not. I like the idea of a wizarding plague though, I hardly ever see stories with that idea.

I think their dialogue could be stronger and more impactful, so it can contribute even more to the story. I actually kind of like Rose's last line being Hugo. It's a little out of the blue, but it makes me wonder on my own, what he means to her. Lily also is mostly an observer in this story, and her thoughts tend to repeat toward the end. Some variety would help bring the fic together as a whole :)

Hope that helps!

 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemoreficDate Night: She's the Boss

14th July 2013:
Oh it's been wayyy too long since I've read Ron/Hermione fic, especially Ron + Muggle things fic 8D bahaha, I love this description: "Hermione's lips were sealed tighter that a goblin's greedy grip. It all annoyed him, and he felt his face getting redder and redder, as red as the two muggle call-boxes they had just passed." It's such a hilarious, almost grotesque image xD Really, all of Ron's passive anger is the best. "Something Shaky" - omg, I love that too. "It had been alright, he supposed, but he didn't really get it."

"She took his hand then and led him on down the street like a kindly mother might guide a troubled child." Oh dear, I feel like this is a regular occurrence for Ron while Hermione's around, whether there's a surprise or not.

AHA, she's taking him to a theater. He can tell because of the popcorn, that is such a Ron thing to do omg. It's like how his Amortentia smells partly of bacon. "he found that he liked them quite a lot, sometimes more than the movie they had come to watch" I TOO GO TO THEATERS FOR THE TRAILERS c: That's because they're all the best bits.

THEY'RE WATCHING HARRY POTTER. Ohoho I didn't see that coming.

That was great! Pure silliness, I loved it :D

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it, this story was such a chore to write. I never have that much trouble with these little stories, but this one was just evasive and maybe even a little abrasive on my poor ole, aching brain.

It was a lot of fun to read afterwards though, and I am so glad of that. Ron and Hermione are my favorite pairing, and its always good to write something around one or both of them.

Very glad you enjoyed this little piece, and thanks for the R&R.

Ken


 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemoreficBliss: One

14th July 2013:
Hi! I thought I could be your first review!

I see your first chapter is a lot about introducing your main character; I get a pretty good idea of what her family is like and what she likes to do. I rather love Oliver Wood :D and Quidditch stories, even if I personally have as much abilities in sports as a noodle. I like the idea of her mom being friends with the Potters! The Weasley/Potters did have humble beginnings.

I see a lot of description scattered through the story - her brown hair and eyes, and then about her house, for example, and then some sentences about her housemates. It might be a good idea to separate these descriptions and not tell all of this information at once, and spread it out through the story instead :) We don't need to know everything about her quite yet - it's still the first chapter!

I also see some usages of numbers like 3 story and 15 minutes, and these should be written as 'three' and 'fifteen', unless they're something special like Platform 9 3/4.

Aah, train meetings. I already like Shelby from her little bit at the end. It'd be nice to hear more about her housemates right in those ending paragraphs, actually!

Hope this helps as a first review ^__^

 Report Review

Review #14, by justonemoreficAcceptance: Memories

14th July 2013:
I saw this fic didn't have any reviews so I thought I'd look in! :) I love Luna. Reading this line: "Ever since the Battle of Hogwarts, most students now knew the previously invisible force that pulled the carriages to the castle." makes me think of how the students must know more and more because more of them have had brushes with death. I like how you wrote her dialogue, the last line of hers especially: "They aren't here to remind you of their deaths. They're here to remind you of how they lived. Of how you should be living." It's a rather nice way of thinking of thestrals! I've always been fond of them myself.

The scene changes were a bit quick - I'd love to feel a bit more of the forest in Luna's PoV as the thestral comes in, and feel some suspense as Neville enters the scene. I'd also love to see more of Luna herself and maybe how her life connects to the thestral personally, via her own past experiences, and maybe some of her thoughts about Neville, since the end implies a bit of romance. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm really glad you gave me those suggestions to because I'm going back to edit the one-shot to add to the word count and to the story between Neville And Luna. They're really great suggestions. And I've always thought that the thestrals were misunderstood and I wanted to give people a reason that they were there. Thanks again for reviewing and I hope you check back when I've edited it.

~Rintunes


 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemoreficYoung and Beautiful: Young and Beautiful

14th July 2013:
I've come to really love Fleur after the books, and I wish I appreciated her more as a champion while I read the series. Your opening endears us to her quickly, and I think there's something very honest about it, like she's tired and she just wants to spill out her thoughts. I think there are some times that sound a little awkward, either from some unevenness in her voice or grammatical errors ("if the prospects of a real relationship entered the scene, they were gone before I can blink." -> prospect, I could blink), but otherwise I get a good feel of what she's like.

Aah, I love that Bill remembers her for being a Triwizard Champion! And then brings up Harry hehee, he's so up to date with Hogwarts happenings. I would've liked to see more small scenes with them in the middle. I think the bits about Fleur's appearance could be tied in better during the dance scene - maybe described in a different way. Right now I'm only reminded at the end of that scene. Though I understand it's for a challenge, I think this oneshot could work well focusing more on their romance, too, and not just Fleur's looks!

It was good to read about Fleur again! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by justonemoreficRosewater: Rosewater

14th July 2013:
I haven't read a Bellatrix fic in ages. It's so serene compared to what I'm used to, and I suppose in her madness, she must have had memories, wishes, and nostalgia stored somewhere. I love the focus on decay - "a host to languid tendrils of dust and age" - it kind of reminds me of the old manor houses in Gone With The Wind falling into disrepair with the war, and Southern royalty losing their wealth. Especially with lines like these: "There was elegance in antiquity, that she knew. Elegance in the old world and it was the old things that mattered." In Bellatrix's eyes they were like royalty, she was taking back what was hers.

I like the quiet build up - she's taking this long stroll around the manor, but with such war-heavy thoughts ("Order could only be restored through force"). She comes to life with the perfume - representing her, I would think. They're strong, musky things, difficult to get rid of. She blooms again after being freed, to take her place beside her master. It's wonderful imagery!

Lovely one shot! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by justonemoreficGoodness, Gracious!: Goodness, Gracious!

14th July 2013:
I still remember the first time I read this fic, I was rolling. It made me love Lockhart for two thousand words - and he was the most grating character ever (for a reason). You totally captured the pompous git at his most self-absorbed. OF COURSE he would have a tower of portraits ALL OF HIMSELF, and all complimenting himself. And then his not-so-slight fascination with Snape and his flowing robes and flowing greasy hair.

Of all professors, Lockhart definitely tops the list for 'most likely to be overpowered by little girls.' "I spun on the spot and marched down the corridor before realizing that I was going the wrong way. Again, I spun and took off down the corridor in the right direction, doing my best to ignore the not so subtle snickering of Filch." I love how everyone around him is laughing at him but he's so oblivious, because that the only way his PoV would go. He gives seductive winks to McGonagall - that whole conversation was brilliantly characterized.

Another fav line: "The idea of a woman not finding me attractive, or at least worthy of attention, well, it was unprecedented. It was unheard of. And I was pretty sure it was illegal in at least five countries."

And the ending, of course - goodness gracious! Baha, I'm not sure that knock into the wall would've made him any more of a dunce.

I always love coming back to this oneshot to revel in its silliness! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemoreficShipwrecked: In Which Hagrid Does Some Banging

6th June 2013:
So I saw the summary and chose this as my post-dinner fic, and this is as good as some post-dinner wine (and it seems it's always post-dinner in the staff room of debauchery).

And I don't have much to say other than a lot of cackling and snorting. Professors are my favorite people and drunk non-sexual professors YES, gossiping over Trelawney's visions, YES YES YES. Tom always brought the biscuits omg. Hardly twinkly Irish Dumbledore omg. ALSO I NOTICED THE CHAPTER TITLE AT THE LAST MINUTE O M G

♥ you carry the crazy well

Author's Response: Haha, it *is* always post-dinner in the staff room! What a great way to put it. I'm so glad you chose to read this, and thank you for leaving a review!

Cackling and snorting was my aim, so that's great :P you picked out my favourite jokes!

Oh and, why thank you! I've been carrying it a long time ;)


 Report Review

Review #19, by justonemoreficA Lightness: not quite her name

2nd May 2013:
oh I love this SO MUCh. My favorite thing is when authors dig way past canon and write something that has reminders of the original material but is wholly their own. Lavender - I've grown a huge soft spot for her over the years amongst the Harry Potter minor characters. I could hear her voice throughout so well, light and dreamy and hesitant at first breath, but then wildly courageous and alive. I'm not the best at gushing over writing styles as I am with characters, but your words are like poetry, but the kind that I can imagine coming from Lavender Brown. They fit and flow with her voice, which is a very rare quality when it can easily go over the top and sound like some poncy narrator.

I did a little wooop over the bits with Ron, because as much as I like Ron, he treated her terribly as a boyfriend and he can't complain about having an annoying girlfriend when he's mooning over another girl and was pretty piggish. Looking at how the silly things like Won-Won started so innocently, omg that was hilarious. I love that in the end their break up wasn't a Big Deal in this story and Lavender tried and griped to the girls and that was that.

And the bits of talent revealed in the eyes of Trelawney and Firenze, and just the whole general cast. Everyone was more human (or centaurish, I suppose) which is such a necessary quality in a fic about war, at least framed in this way. I was invested in everyone. In the books, it's easy to brush off Trelawney as batty, the Patil twins as annoying, and Firenze was forgettable for me, but here, I wanted to listen. Here, they were important.

And there's also this delicious mess, in that wonderful slice-of-life way, of conflicts and questions and relationships that tangle with each other and ebb in and out of Lavender's focus that is really hard to manage, but you got that tangle out in a story and turned it into a life - Lavender's life. I feel like I keep saying the same thing, but I just really want to tell you how much I appreciate how this story feels like I walking through her life with all the important details and insignificant details that feel important because of the way she tells it - and that's the magic right there.

It's 2:30am, so I'm off to sleep and I shall leave you this verrry rambly review~ oodles of love love love ♥

Author's Response: edhkajobgisdfk mmphsgf

OK will try to speak some english now

I start hyperventilating every time I get a surprise review for this long rrrammmblyy story of mine :O And eagh, your review touched upon some aspects of the story that are quite dear to me ♥ I love Lavender quite a lot too :) But I can't find many fics in which Lavender is treated seriously during her Hogwarts years. And I enjoy writing her precisely for all that idiotic Won-wons and her somewhat embarrassing relationship with Ron (during which he was a real meanie - I totes agree with you on this) and all the trivial stuff she goes through e.g. her pet rabbit dying. I really really like writing these sorts of slightly idiotic characters and sort of giving them depth and making them into very normal people with lives so normal that it's extraordinary. Eep, not sure if I'm making sense.

This story actually ballooned out of control :P I have plenty of deleted scenes. But basically, yeah, it's Lavender moving through different stages of her life, and through different relationships (family, friends, romance, not-romance).

AM SO HAPPY YOU THOUGHT THE LANGUAGE FIT WITH HER VOICE ♥ I was /trying/ my best not to sound too poncy! I stuck to really really simple sentence structures and probably went overboard with the sentence fragments in some parts.

And yay, the other characters caught your attention too! This is such a huge compliment for me that gaaahkjs. I worked pretty hard to make sure that the minor characters in the fic weren't /too/ marginalised, even if Lavender is the main focus. And I'm glad that the Patils, Trelawney, Firenze all had a rightful place in this story.

omg thank you sososo much for this wonderful and absolutely unexpected review! And for all the amazing praise you've snowed down on me ♥ Absolutely made my weekend!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #20, by justonemoreficThe Fluttery Whimsy: Ginger People

16th April 2013:
So it is my job to deliver the ship names that Julia and I have thunk, that is 'Grugo', 'Grego', 'Huta', 'Huga', and 'Huggreta', which sounds like a spiffin' (I am so appreciative of the word spiffin') dragon.

This is such a cute start c: I love Greta's general 'tude to whole Wazz-lees (there are so many of them), and I've been waiting for a Muggle point of view that doesn't make a big fuss of things, where magic's nearly normal and just a ~weird thing your sister does~. I've already projected myself on her because I am the little sister, and all little sisters share the same grumbly disposition to anything their big sister does, not to mention me meeting new family is like, -cautiously slides from view-

I noticed Astrid (they have such COOL NAMES and don't get me started on Hansel, who I hope has a poster of Jeremy Renner on the side of his cage) says 'Greta' quite a lot in conversation. Also, I think you could consider moving some of the information from the dialogue into non-dialogue descriptions. The conversation in the beginning runs a bit long in places and I can see there's a lot of characterization you want expressed, and I think some of it would be better relegated as Greta's internal thoughts, which would also break up some of the other dialogue and flesh out Greta more. Descriptions have a different feel than dialogue; you tend to get more of the narrator's voice and they don't seem like forced chatterboxes, and you also get the chance to flesh out the world you want to build. For example, everything about Greta not taking things seriously, instead of repeating it in dialogue, bring up a recent example of when Astrid last accused Greta of that. Maybe think of Hansel so it foreshadows the rabbit's introduction.

THAT WAS A REALLY LONG PARAGRAPH SORRY AND I BET YOU'RE WONDERING WHY ME AND JULIA ARE CREEPING ON YOU BUT UH, WE DON'T REALLY HAVE A GOOD ANSWER FOR THAT. UM YEAH I HOPE YOU STICK AROUND -salutes- HPFF COULD ALWAYS USE SOME FRESH BLOOD c:

Author's Response: Two brilliantly detailed reviews in two days? The universe is spoiling me. Seriously, this is really good for my ego in a very bad way.

I want to start with how glad I am that you mentioned all that about the dialogue, especially the bit about her not taking things seriously. I've been sort of annoyed by that since I wrote it, but I couldn't figure out some way to get around the repetitive feeling of it while retaining the importance and not interrupting the conversation flow (which to be honest, is pretty lacking anyway).

GAH CHARACTERISATION. God I know I'm too obsessed with it. It can be a tad suffocating when I just mash it all up and shove it down your throat, can't it? Thanks for pointing that out, it's already been very helpful.

I feel like one of the things I lack as I writer is knowing how to properly mix dialogue and description. There's another bit I've written that I know is too heavy with description, and I've been trying to make the language lighter to make up for that, but maybe I'll just try adding some dialogue to break it up. Your advice works both ways, and that milady is some talented advice.

So I had to Google Jeremy Renner. I now have further evidence that the bubble I live in must seem very strange indeed to those I will both affectionately and cautiously term 'outsiders'.

LOL at Huggreta, honest. I'd no idea they would be shipped from chapter one. There's some information Huggreta shippers should probably be privy to sooner rather than later, but I shall delay. Though I'm really not sure if it's better or worse that way.

You need no excuses to creep. I creep on both of you, and now the creeping has been returned. I will consider this retribution.

(As a side note, you should be very impressed that I contained my fangirling in this review response. Because I think you're the spiffinest of the spiffy spiffins. That is all.)

I would also like you to know that if telling me to stick around was some reverse psychology voodoo intended to scare me away, IT HAS FAILED.

Take a second to wrap your head around that.

Yeah. BAM.


 Report Review

Review #21, by justonemoreficDragon Breath: A Very Weasley Christmas

12th January 2013:
I poured my tea and brought up a plate of monkey bread and pretending that it's Christmas so i AM PREPARED.

Coming out of the shed, so that's what the kids are calling it these days eh? I kid, I kid, Albus. Are you sure that's a broom, Hugo? We haven't had sight of Scorpius just yet -- ok I'll stop now :'D

Gigglesnort, tisn't a proper hiding place if it isn't horribly uncomfortable. Stop with your sense, Hughs. I am missing my childhood already. Avoiding adults because they always have questions and fuss and want to feed you things that don't taste very good; I know that feeling. ELBOWS AND SO MANY BROOMS, well it is a Quidditch playing family, and poor downtrodden Scorpius is going to die, let me love him ♥

Albus is going to be a pirate at this rate.

agfkjahg downtrodden Scorpius again in the sea of redheads. They are going to eat him alive with their freckles. They can't hate you Scorpius! You're too adorable!

Albus is such a bad-idea ringleader. Love for him too. Love for Hugo for being a sassy sensible-head who doesn't know who Pete is.

omg guffawing: There was already an immense number of Weasleys, and with the amount of noise that they made when all of them were together, it sounded like there were twice the number that there actually was. Even the quietest Weasley was louder than the average witch or wizard; projecting your voice was a necessary survival skill learned at a young age in their family. THIS IS VERY TRUE OF CHINESE FAMILIES. I have this theory that the Chinese are trained to be loud because of their restaurants. Our average voice level is shouting.

Not the whole Voldemort killing thing - because that was pretty cool oh Albus.

Besides, the way he saw it, people with ridiculous names need to stick together. you know my love of close spaces, broomstick jokes, and terrible names so well ♥

Ooh ooh, my bad idea senses are tingling. Of course Albus doesn't even bother to read the label. As all good Gryffindors don't -- EXPLOSIONS. MULTIPLYING EXPLOSIONS. You are tailoring this to my heart. Oh those silly boys. Why would you leave that lying around Geooorge.

“Hush! Your negativity is going to make us visible!” BEST LINE.

Charlie was the cool uncle YOU SERIOUSLY PUT IN EVERYTHING I LOVE. Also, Charlie is very right, it is not a proper Weasley family function without its accidents. It'd just make people antsy waiting for it.

I LOVE YOU. ♥ It was adorb and askgjhag and I could squish the three of them forever and ever. I felt so spoiled reading it, having all of my favorite things and then some in one fic c: you are magical. Thank you so much!

Author's Response: asjfkal;sw monkey bread now it really is Christmas!

(if I had been drinking tea that would have been the point where I spat it out oh my god)

There is no such thing as both an effective and a comfortable hiding place. Science. (I also have the avoiding adults down to a science.) Also Scorpius very much appreciates the love. ♥ He could use it.

Albus Severus Potter, Pirate. It has a certain ring to it.

confession: I think downtrodden Scorpius is my favorite Scorpius.

Everyone in my family is super loud, too! Only I'm not really sure what our excuse is. I think mostly everybody just likes the sound of their own voice.

Close spaces, broomstick jokes, and terrible names are the best ♥

Gryffindors don't need to read labels! Reading labels is for Hufflepuffs! (bless them) ALL THE EXPLOSIONS.

I couldn't resist writing Charlie in because Charlie is the best Weasley. -nods- And I imagine it would. There's like an accident quota that needs to be filled or something.

I'm very glad you liked it! I had a great deal of fun writing this yay so thank you for giving me the opportunity to! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by justonemoreficRun: Newcomers

3rd January 2013:
OOH PEOPLE GOING MISSING !!! PEOPLE GOING TO WITCHING EEE. A LOGBOOK THAT WAS STOLEN. Please be Colin and Orla ferrying people to Witching.

IT IS.

This ending is everything I wanted and more. It's. Like this thing of beauty you frame in a museum that lots of tourists stop by and snap pictures at. You're the Lourve, Sarah. The Lourve. And I read that thing about Orla's photo earlier, and I think I forgot to mention it amongst my need to keep reading. But it's chilling to think of how all the worlds combine so seamlessly, like Fred and George switching, obviously you can't just /tell/ people there are universes unless you want a zillion Doctors going about. Cliodna's almost like a bit of a queen over her world, no? And I think I can find a lot of reasons why things happen if I think of it that way. I must, I must train myself not to think of CC as a finite death, but a small bubble of a world itself, like Witching.

Sarah, you've pretty much rewritten my entire HP headcanon. like, this is beyond perfection, I love you to a million gazillion bits for making it possible for me to read and experience this. I had high expectations 'cause you're Sarah and you blew those all to pieces.

one final ♥ for run.

Author's Response: Yarr, they are ferrying everyone to Witching! NUMBER ONE CLIODNA'S CLOCK RULE: BROKEN.

snortsnortsnort

Baww I am the Lourve. I will just bask in these compliments. I'm so happy you liked this story and you've rec'd it many times and I can't even tell you how floaty that has made me. (h) (hug) (h) I know that does not work here but it's all in the sentiment.

There were a lot of loose ends that needed tying, and I tied up as many as I could (but not everything, because in a span of two months everything reaching resolution would be unrealistic. Rowena is doomed to her love square forever.). And you're right, Cliodna's the queen of her little universe. She detached from wherever she sprung out of and planted her flag on this little two-island chain. And she's pretty much the god of it.

REWRITTEN YOUR ENTIRE HP HEADCANON, HOW DOES ONE RESPOND TO THAT. I just. I can't. -ded-

You are just the best. I lurve you to pieces and admire you so much as a writer. You're one of my favorite authors on this site so to have you enjoy something I've written is supes rewarding and gives me many squealy feels and can I just strangle you with my lurve because I feel like doing that just reading all of these fabulous reviews again. I know I'll continue to come back and reread them, too.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by justonemoreficRun: Rules of the Prize

3rd January 2013:
walk quickly lol.

ooh OOH IS FRED FIGURING OUT SOME MYSTERY. because I hope there is still more people who can find out. But I love that he just sort of spends his time looking around because, I dunno, I kind of just hoped he would. Feeling alive and all that.

Haa, loophole. Still got it, Fred. Awww, HE WENT TO DELIVER TONK'S LETTER c: omg you are giving me such happy endings right now, Sarah. And Narcissa reunited with Andromeda feels feels feels.

AAH AND HE'S HOME HE'S HOME. Ohhh, 'lost' :c that's where it's been this whole time. CC really is a place for that, no? The lost.

“There are rules that comes with this. I am very clearly breaking them right now, talking to you. I’m not supposed to be seen or heard or anything.” I hear him saying this so casually like 'oh might be thrown in the depths of hell and such. I think. Mayhaps.' And he's got to leave George behind because that's the way death's got to be, but I hope he finds some sort of loophole in the punishment, because that's the way a Weasley's got to be.

OMG IT'S GEORGE OMG. !!! !!! ! !! ! WUT.
YOU'VE ONLY GOT 2000 MORE WORDS HOW ARE YOU GOING TO WHAT.

WITCH. WIIITCH.

Author's Response: Some people were kind of upset that Tonks didn't win because she couldn't deliver the letter, but this is so, so much better because she still gets to have the letter delivered but there's none of the pain that comes with seeing her baby and then having to turn around and leave. And obvs if she'd won, she wouldn't have been able to sneak in and hold him because Andromeda and Narcissa are both there and she most likely would not have had the nerve to reveal herself to them.

Lost. :( Which is what the clock will say for George now.

SWITCHING PLACES. PLOT TWISTS 5EVER. My goal was to give the readers whiplash to the point of death.

~


 Report Review

Review #24, by justonemoreficRun: Evanesco

3rd January 2013:
I want to strangle so much of the crowd right now but at the same time I AM SO DAMN CURIOUS ABOUT EVERYTHING ALL THESE LOOSE tHREADS. I am so incoherent I cannae even leave a review.

WEEPING FOR COLIN AND i'm actually really happy Tonks doesn't have to go because I was at least prepared for Colin to go with my rampant predictions.

OH MY GOD THEY'RE MAKING A BREAK FOR IT. AHHH dfajkdfgab While citizens of Cliodna’s Clock could not swim out to sea past eight feet, the boats designed to transport people to the island were immune to this rule WHUT.

OH AND THIS IS WHAT JULIA DREW. SWIMMING UNDERWATER. I GET IT NOW.

if there was no in-between that we can remember leaving, then that means that we’re still in it. YES MY THEORIES!!!

AHHH THEY CROSSED OVER. LAV! EILEEN! DORCAS!!! -- WAIT. PAUSE EVERYTHING. I GET IT NOW. I GET IT. THE WINNER IS THE LOSER. THE WINNER IS THE ONE WHO DOESN'T WANT TO RELIVE THE EARTH ANYMORE.

And now I snuck a look into reviews and saw that there's a million universes and COLIN IS LIKE A KEEPER OF THE KEYS AND HE IS WITH ORLA AND EVERYTHING IS GOOD c:

Author's Response: And they're making a run for it! Last-ditch attempt to survive! Woo!!

THIS IS WHAT JULIA DREW INDEED. ♥ Wouldn't it just be the worst if they got down there and there was just nothing there. And they're like...well...good try. So they have to turn around and go back. That would not have been a good ending. I think readers would have tied me to a stake and burned me.

YOUR THEORIES!!! ♥

The winner truly is the loser. You think you're winning with the 24 hours but the other person, the one who prepares for death and has no choice but to accept it, passes over to a place where they're alive again. No more tournaments. THE FOG HAS LIFTED ~



 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemoreficRun: Fight or Flight

3rd January 2013:
ok i'm crazy but I kind of just started getting super emotional at the start of this chapter knowing one of them will probably be dead at the end of it. I HAVENT EVEN READ ANYTHING. I read like victus and mortuss -insert sobbing-

ahem, anyway. the jelly memory bit, already loving it. I'm imagining fred swimming through jello.

COLIN'S ALREADY DEAD, WHAT? dude I am just on edge reliving the battle itself. AN ERROR. THERE IS A GLITCH IN THE MATRIX.

OH MY GOD. TONKS IS IN. THE MATRIX. THAT'S WHY. andg kjaglg excuse me while the tears fizzle out my laptop circuits YOU ARE TEARING MY HEART IN PIECES. Remus is a great everything, as I said before, and so is Tonks. Tonks is a great friend, fighter, and mother.

lol do I see you ridiculing a bit of the DH plot holes a la choice of battleground? ;D wait I'm sobbing.

AAAH BUT STILL WHO WILL WIN? BECAUSE THERE IS STILL ALL THOSE DARNED RULES. -raises all octopus arms like julia-

Author's Response: -pat pat-

Fred swimming through jello. Gina you provide the most hilario images, I will forever imagine him in jello now. Swimming past little bits of fruit. Eating some of it. Doing a cannonball. Okay I'm done now.

A GLITCH IN THE MATRIX. !!!

And it's Tonks!!! Eee! See, this was an unfair twist because it was supposed to be definitively Colin vs Fred. But to my credit readers can go back to the previous chapter and see where they switched places. :3 I think I was wearing an evil mustache the whole time I wrote this novel.

I CAN'T HELP MYSELF. I JUST CAN'T. I see a soapbox to go stand on and point out plot holes and it is too tempting not to say it.

I will keep you and Julia in a fish tank and you can be my octopuses. Octopi. Octopia. I will feed you bits of seaweed even if that's not what you're supposed to eat and call you Squishy 1 and Squishy 2.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>