Reading Reviews From Member: GrayLady
  
147 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GrayLadyVersicolor: I'm Good to go, and I'm Going Nowhere Fast

3rd January 2010:
O my gosh! I jumped up and down and nearly fell off my bed when I saw there was another chapter. It's refreshing to see the semi-animosity between Harry and Aldan hasn't disappeared completely. And I officially adore Lupin.

On the down side, I am sad that the series won't continue. But, you can't push what isn't there. I know that well, considering all the brilliant ideas I've had that just could never quite make it to print.

10/10

Author's Response: Oh, Aldan could certainly never let go of his little mini-rivalry with Harry. He's a bit of a stubborn little child. A tiny bit jealous, too.

I hate it. I hate all the brilliant ideas that never get down. :(


 Report Review

Review #2, by GrayLadyAn Ocean of Coffee: An Offer of Hope

2nd January 2010:
That kinda sucked for Cedric how Cho came in so happy and everything. But now he's joining the Order! Yay! And at least he'll have someone close to him involved.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by GrayLadyAn Ocean of Coffee: Just Live

2nd January 2010:
Love this story already! I like how it's part AU, part canon. And Adam and Marty may end up being some of my favorites. Gotta have my comic relief, and what better way than a pair of fun-loving, girl-obsessed teenage boys.

10/10

Author's Response: I remember, before I started this story, having such cravings to write a Cedric/Hermione, and realizing that the best, most interesting way to do it would be to have him live and be AU... but I don't want to drift away from Cedric's character. I hope that I'm doing him justice, that if he had family and friends like I've given him he might have made the same choices...

Marty and Adam are fun, and definitely a package. In my plans they're fairly different people, but they keep on blending into the comic relief characters you like. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by GrayLadyOh, Brother: Oh, Brother

2nd January 2010:
That was so sweet. For a while, I thought Claude was his imaginary friend that he wished was his brother. But towards the end... I started crying a little bit, I'll admit it.

10/10

Author's Response: I think I'm going backward through your reviews, because this is one of your earlier ones, but thanks for all these wonderful reviews! I really appreciate them. :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by GrayLadyBad Habits: Bad Habits

1st January 2010:
I swear, I didn't forget. Real life and NaNo and more real life all got in the way. But here is the beginning of the promised reviews.

That was so freaking hilarious. The moment he said Snivellus I knew it had to be a Marauder, then I went back a few lines and figured out it was James. And then Snape heading to Godric's Hollow to confront him? Priceless. Absolutely priceless.

10/10

Author's Response: Ah, of course, because I won your challenge, that's where the reviews are from! Don't worry, clearly I forgot too! Thanks anyway, I'm definitely behind on many earlier challenge promises as well. Some of them are just plain embarressing...

But anyway. Thanks a bunch, I really, really enjoyed writing this one shot, so I'm glad you find it enjoyable as well. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by GrayLadySome Intelligent Conversation: One

29th September 2009:
This was...wow. Intense. You captured the dynamic between Harry and Ginny with the conflict over the potential of losing the other versus never getting their son back. I also think it's cool that you did your own challenge with this as well. I'm almost scared to take on my own challenge. I think I'll do it in a month, when people have forgotten and I won't put the challenge tag on there. I can't wait to see how the coming novel turns out.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the mini-plot. =P XD Your challenge was awesome, and it just happened to match nicely with my own. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by GrayLadyVersicolor: Take a Chance and Make it Big

29th August 2009:
Poor Aldan. I think his voices are a lot more violent than Anna's. Hers may have ordered her around as well, but I don't think they were exactly name-callers.

Will has issues. That's all I have to say about that.

It's kinda cool to see the Sorcerer's Stone events through someone else's eyes. (I loved the comment about how Aldan would lose if he had to play chess for his life.) And Aldan's plan to top them was HILARIOUS!! Who knew the squid was friendly? And now he's Lavender's boyfriend! That's so adorable. If he's the one who comes up with "Lav-Lav," that might make me laugh or gag. Laugh because at that age it's cute. Gag because I never like the name "Lav-Lav."

I'm so exhausted. I put my summer reading homework off until the last minute, so spent three weeks before school started reading and analyzing poems and reading and finding quotes and writing a paper on this book. It was a good book, but I hate summer reading projects. Now the first week is over and I can take a break.

Until I go spend all day tomorrow doing my weekend physics, government, biology, and calculus homework. But at least I got my Saturday off!

10/10

Author's Response: Lav-Lav IS a bit creepy, doesn't matter who it's coming from. Though it would be very Sirius-esque if coming from Aldan.

Oh no . . . Summer work. Something I also have not started yet. I'm trying to get out of this procrastination thing for my senior year, but it's not going so well so far.

Calculus . . . A word that makes me shudder and want to hide under my bed . . . XD


 Report Review

Review #8, by GrayLadyFever: Fever

23rd August 2009:
This was great. I was laughing by the end of the first paragraph. Rose showed a bit of her mother's bossiness in there when she was hinting that she wanted Scorpius to ask her out. And then his nerves and reactions were absolutely priceless and pretty realistic if I say so myself. I like that Scorpius is so shy in this whereas in a lot of fics I've read he's a total player. This was so adorable!

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I don't believe in typcasting Next Gens into being their parents, or being in a certain house, or whatever, so I'm glad Scorpius seemed all right to you. Great challenge! I was determined to combine it with Ilia's, and it turned out to be harder than I thought. Plus, I'm don't generally go for light, fluffy writing. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by GrayLadyNikki Scott's List of Reasons Not to Fraternize with James and Albus Potter: Reason 15, Detention 27

1st August 2009:
O. My. Gosh. My face is actually purple from trying not to laugh since my mom is napping and I don't want to wake her up. What got me started was Nikki practically murdering over the turkey and then Chief Crapping Bear?

I'm surprised I didn't pass out from lack of oxygen.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #10, by GrayLadyVersicolor: Back In Black

19th July 2009:
Will is so different from the rest of them. He's gonna be a Ravenclaw or something, isn't he? Because that would further remove him from the family.

I love Aldan. He's great. He's been at Hogwarts fifteen minutes, and he's already jumped in the lake and been threatened with a detention by Minnie.

Definitely Sirius and Anna's son.

So the lack of attention span is genetic? That explains a lot. I'm guessing since he got that from Anna, he got some form of sensitivity from Sirius. The foul-mouthedness came from both. And Remus has definitely been teaching him tricks.

I repeat, I love Aldan.

10/10

Author's Response: Will . . . Will is Will. He's a bit different, and there are a number of reasons.

Aldan is definitely one of my favorite characters to write. It's kind of like getting to write all my favorite characters into one person. You know?



 Report Review

Review #11, by GrayLadyVersicolor: I'll Give a Little Bit of My Life For You (Ye - Wait! What?!)

6th July 2009:
New chapter! So now they are engaged. That is going to last a long time. But I love the way Sirius did it: distraction. It is like that thing where you say silk three times then ask what a cow drinks. (No, not milk. Water.)

They just have to ask before throwing dinner around? I wish by parents were that awesome. Maybe not at a young age, because then I would have to employ the same rule with my kids when they are that age, but now, when I eat outside. Even if they would just let me poor mini chocolate chips straight out of the bag and into my mouth (Mom caught me and gave me a bit of a telling off).

William will not eat dessert? Well if Anna had an affair to produce him, it definitely was not with a Marauder. No Marauder can pass up dessert.

Moony would be an awesome shrink, magical or Muggle. He is just good like that.

Yay, Star Wars! I actually saw the original three for the first time this last weekend. Some kind of Force of July Weekend. I refused to watch Episodes 1 through 3 because I wanted to watch them in the order in which they premiered to the world.

Return of Fun Facts! So Oliver has a little sister. That is cute. Sirius mooning the Aurors who tried to arrest him is so hilarious, as is he and Anna taking pictures of a stuck-to-the-door William.

This was an especially hard review to write because the site hates me (and I do not know if it is just me) and puts a slash in with every apostrophe. So I did not use any apostrophes. Did you know there are a lot of apostrophes used in modern language?

Well, there are.

10/10

Author's Response: Yeah. Anna and Sirius really are crap parents. But, at the same time, they\\\'re really not that bad. That\\\'s one of the things that will become apparent in the future.

William does eat dessert, sometimes. When he\\\'s not in a foul mood. But he\\\'s also the one to let Anna back into the house when they lock her out (because they still do) to make cupcakes.

Dude! That\\\'s what I did! My friend told me it would make so much more sense to watch Episode I first, but I outright refused to! (And then I DID get really confused like she predicted . . . But then I watched them zillions of more times and caught on.)

Oh! Yeah that slashy thing! I think it only appears the one who\\\'s writing whatever. Because that happens to me too, but I can\\\'t see the slashes you\\\'re talking about.

By the way, I sent you a message of the forums about the co-authoring thing. It may not have gotten sent due to all that fuss with the forums a week ago. Just wanted you to know I sent it. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by GrayLadyTwo Wizards, One Ring, and Absolutely No Plan At All: A Late Night Talk

3rd July 2009:
The Marauders responses to the threat Hermione made against Ron were priceless. My favorite was:


Mr. Padfoot bids the magnificent maiden good evening, and is inclined to think there is nothing more entertaining than a young witch giving a young wizard a good kick in the arse. Mr. Padfoot believes Mr. Prongs is well acquainted with this fact.

Mr. Prongs thinks Mr. Padfoot is a stupid sod-head.


That is just so who they were. (Sorry, I am a total Marauder fangirl who is currently wearing a shirt that says Wanted: Marauder, Age 17.)

The proposal was so hilarious and blatheringly romantic. It is absolutely him.

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out those lines -- they were really fun to write! The Marauders are awesome, I agree.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by GrayLadyRemembrance: That's Life

1st July 2009:
Okay, so I clicked on Complicated Hexagon because it sounded good, and now I have spent the last nine hours jumping up and down and screaming at the computer and running to my room to scream in my pillow and recounting what I had read so far to my mom while we cooked dinner and only leaving my chair for food and the bathroom and attempting to strangle fictional characters through the computer screen (this last is very difficult and was a great source of amusement for my mother).

So, yeah, I REALLY liked this story.

And now there is a happy for now! It may not be a happy ending, but it is a happy for now.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #14, by GrayLady17 Things I'm Not Allowed To Do At Hogwarts: Rule #6

26th June 2009:
I LOVE this story! I've searched "things not to do at Hogwarts" on Google so many times to find different lists, I can mentally compare lists and lengths of them (I've found one that is 586 long).

I'd love to co-author this with you. Just PM me on the forums (I'm under the same name) so we can set things up and we're not going back and forth about this in reviews. I'm out of town this weekend and have a babysitting job starting up on the sixth, but until then and most evening after then, I'm here.

Author's Response: Oh, that's fantastic! I'm thrilled to hear you're a go for it! I think co-authoring with someone will motivate me to finally finish this . . . I'll go PM you now. :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by GrayLadyVersicolor: There's A Ghost in This Room, I Think I'll Name It After All Of You

25th June 2009:
Love the opening. Love the summary. I could already see Aldan and Remus getting close back when they had that brownie batter food fight.

How could William be missing the "fun" gene? I blame Sirius. He just had to give him a semi-normal name. Ever notice how the awesome people are the ones with awesome names? William is so...traditional.

And speaking of names, does Remus have a daughter who goes by her last name? And if not, who was in charge of naming that poor little girl, Anna or Sirius? I would have thought they'd go with Minnie.

"Or something that isn't Minnie?" That was hilarious. I almost fell out of my chair laughing.

Can't wait!

10/10

Author's Response: Well, William is an interesting case . . . You'll get to read more about him later.

Lupin is Anna and Sirius' as-of-yet-unborn baby girl. And, of course, Anna is the sick-soul that named her kid that. Typical.


 Report Review

Review #16, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: If I Ever Have To Go Through This War, Then I'll Survive

25th June 2009:
What's really sad is I think I was more excited about this chapter than I am about the Half-Blood Prince movie.

That was truly a fitting end to their story. Anna showed her emotions to Sirius and they decided to remember the good times instead of focus on the bad. That's how I do things. If it doesn't make you happy, why dwell on it? Why not go out and do something to make you happy?

And I can't believe they shagged in the woods.

Wait, yes I can. They're them.

And now, to destroy my sorrows at this fabulous story being over, I turn to the god of all breakfast foods, chocolate (in the form of a giant chocolate chip muffin), to be enjoyed with the first chapter of the sequel!

10/10

Author's Response: Haha, I'm pretty psyched for the Half Blood Prince. I think it looked really good . . . My friend told me I'm delusional. But in all honesty, we both are . . .

I figured the ending was really fitting. I mean, I had to wrap everything up nicely, and what a better way to do it than vulnerablize (I just made that a word) Anna and then have her snap back and have to comfort Sirius?

Haha, yeah, they would. I think Sirius is lucky to have such a sex-obsessed girlfriend/almost wife-type person.

Ooo! I SO want a chocolate chip muffin right now!


 Report Review

Review #17, by GrayLadyAcrimony: Happiness

25th June 2009:
Yay, happy ending! I love happy endings. They're just so...happy.

I'm not particularly eloquent this morning.

Ooh, "eloquent!" There's a nice word!

And then they get engaged!

10/10

Author's Response: I'm a happy ending kind 'o girl. Sometimes I hate to admit it, but I'm a sucker for a happy ending.

Ooo! That is a fancy word! Especially for the morning.

By the way, you wouldn't be interesting in helping me co-author one of the stories I do - 17 Things I'm Not Allowed to do At Hogwarts? Would you? It was my fun little side project and it's kind of turned in my fun little abandoned side-project.


 Report Review

Review #18, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: This Is Quick But Not Quite Painless

23rd June 2009:
I LOVE YOU SO MUCH RIGHT NOW! YOU HAVE NO IDEA! I was crying seeing Sirius sent to Azkaban and all I could think was, "She's dreaming, isn't she? This is all a dream and she's going to wake up and think of how it could have happened." And then you had her waking up in bed and I was like, "NO! Why did I have to be right?" But then you said that he WAS saved and always had been and that made me squee like I haven't squeed since they got together and now I'm rambling and my mom is looking at me weird and reading the review over my shoulder but I don't care because I am SO FRICKING HAPPY RIGHT NOW!

Yay for AU!

And now Anna has even MORE voices in her head. They are going to drive her up the wall.

On an even more positive note, I have now reviewed every chapter of this story! Go me!

I need a new obsession.

10/10

P.S. Because of my re-reading, I noticed that back during their first start-of-term prank, when they were escaping, they went in the Room of Requirement and there were pictures on the mantle of two boys and two girls. I'm guessing the two boys are Will and Aldan, but who are the girls? Are Sirius and Anna not going to be able to keep their hands off each other AGAIN? I guess I should be glad they have Star Wars, otherwise they might never leave their bedroom.

Author's Response: I just couldn't do it . . . Like I said, I knew from the first word that I wouldn't be able to kill Sirius. He's just too special to all of us.

On that positive note - Wow! And let me say thank you! Because I have seriously enjoyed reading each and every review. They've all been incredibly entertaining. :D

See! Re-reading always brings you to things you don't notice! Yes, yes . . . I planted those there on purpose. Unfortunately, I cannot tell you exactly what happens, but I'm sure can deduce . . .


 Report Review

Review #19, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: On This Perfect Day, Nothing Can Go Wrong

23rd June 2009:
I'm almost crying. This is the first time this story has made me cry. I knew that it would be the end because I saw toward the beginning that it said Halloween. So I stopped and reviewed every other chapter that I hadn't reviewed so I could postpone the sad and focus on the happy.

It almost seemed normal for a while there. With Truth or Dare. That was a great Dare for Anna. Connie's reaction was priceless.

There was so much foreshadowing. James thinking how Anna would be a handfull in the coming years. Sirius telling James that everything would be all right. And James saying he would die happy.

It's breaking my heart. I knew they would have to die and my mom even just said, "You already knew this would happen." That doesn't change it being sad.

10/10

Author's Response: Ohhh, is that why you ended up going back? (Which, by the way, I appreciated and was very much entertained by.) :D

I know. I purposely stuck a lot of foreshadowing in this chapter. It kills me in class when teachers sit there and point out all this ridiculous symbolism that you KNOW the writer did not put in there to be symbolic.

However, I did put that in there on purpose.

I hate that . . . Knowing something will happen and not being able to do anything about it. :(


 Report Review

Review #20, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: You've Got a Friend In Me

23rd June 2009:
Smacking people up the back of the head is always more fun than a silencing spell. It lets out frustration, in a semi-constructive way (it gets them to shut up).

If only Anna had actually said what she was thinking for once instead of putting the filter up. It all could have ended happily.

"I'll withhold sex!" Did she really think that would work? Really? These are chocolate cupcakes we're talking about here. They are sacred. No chance of her getting back in until they're cooked.

It was still a really funny attempt. Bet the neighbors weren't expecting to hear that. Especially not if they knew it was over cupcakes.

10/10

Author's Response: I love smacking people in the back of the head. :D Except for the occasions when full-on pummeling is in order. Like the other day, when I pinned my friend to the ground and punched him till he nearly cried . . . But there's no reason to bring that horrible little scene up. XD

No . . . There was no way Sirius would let her back in. And even if he was going to do it, the others wouldn't let him. Besides, everyone in that house would know that Anna couldn't withhold sex. Not the new, super-horny Anna, anyways.


 Report Review

Review #21, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: Goodbye, Old You, When Love Is True

23rd June 2009:
I love little kid Oliver. That is one of the funniest things I've heard in a long time. I'd probably laugh hysterically like Anna and think about how he found out about it later.

Yay, Bria and Greg got engaged! And so did Darren and Connie! They make such a cute couple.

And I totally called it a few chapters back when I said Darren would continue to be a gentleman until Connie just broke and jumped his bones.

10/10

Author's Response: I really need to find a little Oliver . . . Hopefully I'll have a kid like that one day and he'll be just as inappropriate. :D

Yeah, you can't be going out with Darren and not want to do it with him. He's just too damn good-looking.


 Report Review

Review #22, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: Tomorrow Will Shine Again Golden

23rd June 2009:
That is such a cute story. I can't really see anyone now trying to hang Sirius by his pants from a torch bracket. Then again, I can't really see James being scared of people or Remus acting awkward around a group of girls. Peter seems to be the only one who hasn't really changed much.

How different things could have been if they continued to call their group the Misfits instead of the Marauders.

10/10

Author's Response: Man. It would be so weird. I'm sure the 'Misfits' wouldn't exactly instill laughter and fear into peoples eyes.

 Report Review

Review #23, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: I Never Want to Let You Down or Have You Go

23rd June 2009:
I am so glad that Sirius took down Snape. That was completely evil of him to say about Anna and I don't like when people are mean about Anna. He deserved a pummeling.

Sirius just needs a perpetual cold shower around Anna. But I think if it started raining while he was hanging out with her, he wouldn't be able to take eyes off certain areas that are more noticeable when covered in a wet, white shirt. And that defeats the purpose.

10/10

Author's Response: That's true - it was a very uncool thing of Snape to say . . . Anna is not a whore! (She's a very nice lady . . . ROFFL the Hangover.) :D

Haha, that would be an interesting cold shower . . . One in which Anna was with him . . . I see a hilarious scene for the sequel!


 Report Review

Review #24, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: So What Did You Think I Would Say?

23rd June 2009:
Did Jason basically just encourage his little sister to go out and get pregnant? That is not the type of behavior one normally sees from a big brother. Then again, Jason is not a normal big brother and Anna is definitely not normal.

Why didn't Sirius just start strutting around completely naked? That would have made more girls happy and gotten him more detentions than decking James.

I went to this one restaurant and my family ordered the Roman Orgy, which is like a giant platter of brisket and pork and chicken and bowls of potatoes and carrots and all this fruit like grapes and melons piled up on a platter. Then I texted all my friends to tell them I had had a Roman orgy. They just wanted to know who all was involved, where was I, and could they come join. They are total pervs.

10/10

Author's Response: I don't think he quite meant to encourage that, but, in essence he did.

I personally wouldn't have minded if Sirius did that. Or . . . Have you seen the Proposal? It's that new movie with Sandra Bullock and the best looking man to ever grace this earth - Ryan Renolds. Now I would DEFINITELY not mind if he decided to walk around completely naked . . .

Haha! Your friends sound fantastic! In all honesty . . . I probably would have replied something like that, as well. ;)


 Report Review

Review #25, by GrayLadyPolychromatic: I Never Thought That You Could Break Me Apart - You Caught Me Off Guard (Darren Has Tact)

23rd June 2009:
I think Darren had the right idea. Revealing your illegitimate child to the one person you can trust while they are so incapacitated they can't yell at you for your stupidity.

That's how I break it to Dad that my report card grades weren't the best.

That was so sweet that Sirius took care of Anna. They're back on the road to being best friends!

So Jason knows Sirius's story and Anna's story. I bet he really wishes he could just send them a joint letter that says, "Just snog already!"

Or maybe that's just the Marauders.

10/10

Author's Response: I think everyone can learn something from Darren . . . He's really a smart bloke, when his head isn't up some girls skirt.

No, I could definitely see Jason doing that too . . .


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>