Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: SpottedZebra
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SpottedZebraOf Heart and Home: Of Twizzlies and Light Sabers

28th February 2010:
I loved it! The 'kiss' touch was perfect. I was smiling almost all the way through, especially the part in the car. That was too funny.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: An offer too good to refuse

22nd February 2010:
Another great one! Keep it up!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, so pleased you enjoyed it! Like my author note said I haven' t been all that thrilled with these last few chapters, but they did need to be in there so hence my apology. But, if you thought it was still good, then that's definitely a relief. Thank you! *wipes forehead* Things will pick up shortly though, as a reward for being patient through this little bit.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by SpottedZebraDear Lily: Dear Lily

19th February 2010:
Awh!!! Little butterflies in my heart :D

So cute! This was a charming little one-shot. The style you used was structured and choppy (that a lot of people attempt but fail at) and you really worked it! I think it really added to your story. I really enjoyed it.

So cute ;) Great job!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much!!! :D I wasn't really sure if it was going to work, choppy or not, but I think it did :) I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

Thanks again for the review!

~Emily~


 Report Review

Review #4, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Another birthday

17th February 2010:
Cute chapter again!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, not one of my strongest chapters I'm afraid, but it was kinda cute I suppose. But fear not, there will be more action shortly so hopefully the lead-in to that doesn't feel too much like filler. Thanks for the review! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by SpottedZebraLOVE & BROOMSTICKS: Bludgers, Llamas, And Bad Haircuts

13th February 2010:
Haha, another fabulous chapter! I can't wait until Frank and Jessica get so mad at each other they have to make out. It's coming.

And James...*sigh*. Lily needs to work that situation out. Can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Hahah, who even thought an argument could turn into snogging? I love fanfiction ;] Thanks for reviewing, love. And if you want to keep up with my updating process, visit my blog!

 Report Review

Review #6, by SpottedZebraOf Heart and Home: Of Cabs and Galleons

13th February 2010:
Yay! So glad to see this new story up! I'm excited to see where it goes; you certainly have a way of creating interesting settings!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: The war finds Hogwarts

4th February 2010:
I've got to tell you: You are amazing with your updates. I think you've out-done, out-updated, and out-mastered every other fanfic author when it comes to this craft.

Good chapter; I can see some plot movements, even if nothing too dramatic happened. It wasn't a thriler, but still, I found it enjoyable to read and a fair distraction from my homework! I especially like when the dorm girls have their girlie moments about their guys -- it's really realistic. Have you considered hooking up Laura's friends with any guys? For being beauties, they've sure been single for a while!

Great job again,
S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Ah, updates. It's a symptom of having the whole thing written and wanting to get it all uploaded as soon as possible ... it's already been almost a year since I started posting it so it's taking a while. But thank you for saying that! *beams*

Yes, like you said, not much really happened in this chapter, well not to Laura anyway. I'm sure Lily or James would think it was very eventful! But yeah, it was rather filler-y, which was why I wasn't so thrilled with it.

As for getting boys for Charlotte and Martha, well Martha's only been single for two months so that's not such a long time. As for Charlotte, well the Charlotte/Remus thing is more widely known than she realises, and how many of the boys at that school do you think want to get on the wrong side of the Marauders by hitting on one of their girls? Everyone saw what happened to Bernie when he asked Laura to the ball, for example. So that's going to have an impact.

Besides, don't you find that the really pretty girls actually get less boyfriends in general than you'd think? Something to do with being so good looking that no one thinks they've got a chance with them so they don't even bother asking. At least, that's been my observation - and it's my excuse!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Duelling lessons

24th January 2010:
hello again! i'm back into the roll of life and caught up with the story. trust is a tricky obstacle, no? lots of drama, but it didn't seemed rushed like many stories are. the internal arguments and doubts were well done.

can't wait until the next chapter!
S.Z

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for reviewing! :D

Yes, trust is a tricky obstacle, especially when Laura's already been the victim of trusting someone too much. But she is working on it, bless her.

I'm very pleased that you didn't think that it was overdone or rushed because I was a little unsure about ch44 and the argument at the end there, but it all worked out in the end so I guess that covers everything.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by SpottedZebraThe World, Biscuits And Sirius Black According To Nellie O’Neill.: Showers, Gertrude, Clive And Me

22nd January 2010:
Pff nooo! it ended too quickly! so short. Not happy... but I liked it :) can't wait for the next crazy, drunk, slightly odd Nellie update. This story makes me feel normal sometimes ;)

Author's Response: haha, it makes me feel normal too ;) I'm so glad you like it. I'm working on the next chapter at the moment :D Thank you so much for your review

 Report Review

Review #10, by SpottedZebraThe Art of Awkwardness: The Proposal

14th January 2010:
Ah! It was so beautiful! I'm still smiling. What a way to end The Art of Awkwardness!! :D
-S.Z.

 Report Review

Review #11, by SpottedZebraMy Lips Are Sealed: Day Seven

14th January 2010:
Ah! I loved it. So charming. I didn't expect Chapter Six to work out like that, but I think it worked out in the end. :) And definitely in James' favor!!
-S.Z.

 Report Review

Review #12, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Christmas

16th December 2009:
Wonderful! It was as mushy as pea soup and as fluffy as a newborn duck, but I really enjoyed it. That was my romantic moment to end off the year. Enjoy your Holidays! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!
-SpottedZebra

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Oh, gosh, I do hope I didn't go over the top with this chapter. It's so hard to get the balance right when you've got subject matter like this, but then again this is what happens at the beginning of relationships so it was important to include it. But you enjoyed it so that's a load off, it can't have been TOO bad. *grins with relief*

Have a great holiday too!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by SpottedZebraMy Lips Are Sealed: Day Five

12th December 2009:
Awh, totally charming :) I loved how hard Lily's trying! I'll get you a new chapter image soon.

 Report Review

Review #14, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Confessions

9th December 2009:
Hahaha a perfect "About bloody time" chapter. It was a perfect chapter, full of romance, sugar, and smiles. What a good way to start the Christmas holidays! Waiting for the next one. Oh, and Merry Christmas!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

Ah, thank you! What a lovely review! You thought it was a good way to start the Christmas holidays? How flattering. *beams* Actually, it's kinda nice that this part of the story is coming around at Christmas time, considering it's the silly season in the story as well. A nice coincidence.

And merry Christmas to you as well!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Snowballing

2nd December 2009:
YEAH!!! WHOO HOO! HIP HIP HOORAY! SING HAPPY DAY AND DANCE IN CIRCLES!!! SIRIUS MADE A MOVE!!

I am so happy -- after 38 chapters of patiently waiting, and at times, wondering if this was even a Laura/Sirius story!! ;) -- they finally make a move.

A bold move. A happy move. A move towards a relationship! Of course, I wouldn't believe that they can get away without some challenges, hardships, and misunderstandings, but I can believe the next chapters will be wonderful to read :D

Can't wait! Update soon!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

yes, you have all been very patient, haven't you! I'm most impressed. However, I will say nothing about your speculations as to what is to come - that is of course a closely guarded secret. But yeah, I hope you like the next chapter. I feel like there's all this anticipation about it now and I'm hoping it lives up to it all!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by SpottedZebraMy Lips Are Sealed: Day Three

28th November 2009:
Ooh! James was so cute. I just want to give him a big hug. Awh! And poor Lily. I totally understand the desire to win -- it's a perfectionist thing, i think. Well written though; Lily's stubborn-ness was a good point to raise!

Ok. Waiting for the next chapter!! :D
-S.Z.

 Report Review

Review #17, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: The worst news possible

28th November 2009:
I loved it! Thanks for updating, and I hope your re-writings of the starting chapters was refreshing. My favorite parts are when Laura is trying to figure out the mystery girl. Aand of course the whole ideal-Black-bride conversation -- that was entertaining as well! Perfect!!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Yes, the early chapters are now much better. Not brilliant, but no longer cringeworthy, so that's definitely an improvement. And a load off my mind, let me tell you!

I'm glad you liked the House of Black conversation - I thought it was important to throw it in and that felt like the best spot. I felt that we needed that bit of background on Sirius to make him make a bit more sense as a character.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Facing reality

12th November 2009:
Such a shame! But please enjoy those two weeks, knowing that we readers are tortured by the wait. A half-month. A whole 14 days! Oh, shame shame.

Anyways, onto the stuff authors care about. Good chapter! And a quick update! :) Poor Sirius. He just doesn't understand the girly insecurities stuck in Laura's head. And Laura doesn't realize he's sincere.

But, I do think it's cute how James is doing his effort to hook them up :) Late night chaperones are a brilliant plan. Thought that the part where Sirius was looking for mistletoe was a hoot, too... "unnervingly close to some of the very mistletoe he was trying to avoid"

Also, I liked the idea of the arguement between the Marauders -- that has to do, I presume, with the fact that Laura had her arms dangling about Remus, and Remus was holding her closely to his side? Hitting on another Marauder's girl? More misunderstandings. Hogwarts should offer a communications course.

Ok, well, I don't have much more to say. I will patiently wait until you update.
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again! Another lovely review, thank you :D

Yes, James is doing his best to get them together. He's not always subtle but he has a heart of gold so we can forgive him his imperfections.

And yes, you're dead right about the argument, that's exactly what it was about. Loyalty is pretty big with those boys so I can imagine an "I saw her first" policy being in effect, can't you? But yes, more misunderstandings. So much more fun that way! *evil grin*

Next chapter will be a little longer than usual to make up for the wait.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by SpottedZebraMy Lips Are Sealed: Day Two

11th November 2009:
Yay for the second chapter! It was totally fabulous. I'm glad you're having so much fun writing this cuz I'm having tons of fun reading it. Can't wait for the next chapter! I'm sorry the queue is nearly a week.

Waiting and waiting :)
-SpottedZebra

Author's Response: Thank you! The chapter images look fantastic, by the way. The next chapter is already in the queue, so hopefully it'll be out in a week!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SpottedZebraMy Lips Are Sealed: Day One

7th November 2009:
Hello! I'm so happy that this story is finally up. The banner looks better than I thought it would. Before I start flattering, you have one little typo: you wrote "dig yourself in an even deeper whole" in your last line. It should be "an even deeper hole"

Ok. Now onto the happy stuff :) This is fabulous. I looove it more than I thought I would! Click that favorites button pronto :) My favorite part is when James is talking to Lily's "direction". That made me laugh. I also like how furious Lily got at James' success. How long do you suppose this story is going to be? There are a lot of directions you could go with it!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks! I'll fix that as soon as the next chapter is validated. The story is seven chapters long, with each chapter being a subsequent day of the bet. I'm glad you like it so far!

 Report Review

Review #21, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Pubs, pranks and parties

6th November 2009:
Another great story! As much as I hate cliffies, it was an excellent spot to leave us hanging. I like the birthday party scene, although I wish we could have seen some of Sirius' obvious disappointment! Laura is oblivious. Lily was unfortunately absent in this chapter, but I understand that James is absorbing most of her attention.

Thanks for the update! I truly do look forward to your latest chapters.
-S.Z.

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, it's really funny, because someone else commented that they missed James in this chapter, and to be frank it hadn't really occurred to me that either of them were absent. But fear not, they both make another appearance shortly.

As for the cliffy, well yes, it was such a good place for a chapter break that I couldn't resist. Poor Laura. I really do put her through the wringer, don't I?

Next chapter will be probably Thurs or Fri, depending on when I get some me-time online.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by SpottedZebraThe Art of Awkwardness: The List

2nd November 2009:
Awh, cute!! I'm sorry this story has to end on such a sad note, but all good things much come to an end, no? But still, it's quite well written. I hope you're getting more hits now with the banner! I think your story deserves quite a bit more attention than has been recieved. It's one of my favorites. Keep writing!
-S.Z.

Author's Response: I'm hoping to come up with one more eventually that is a bit more positive, but I just can't come up with anything! Hopefully something will come to me.

 Report Review

Review #23, by SpottedZebraThe World, Biscuits And Sirius Black According To Nellie O’Neill.: Izzie’s Mentality, Barney, Fairy’s And Me

1st November 2009:
Hahaha. I just read this entire story today. Please update soon! I can't wait to find out about this blackmailing incident.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Revealed in Chapter 26 ;)
thank you x


 Report Review

Review #24, by SpottedZebraHow to tame a Marauder: Broomstick maintenance

30th October 2009:
Fabulous! Another great chapter. A bit of a longer wait, but hey! That's life. I especially like your little count-downs between Laura and Quivering Wreck. I also like how she's beginning to notice that Sirius is hanging about.

My favorite part was when James let slip he thought Laura might get a bit distracted on her way to the Pitch :) hehe. Too funny!

Thanks again! Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi again! Another lovely review, thank you :D

Yes, I too liked the Quivering Wreck count. Poor Laura feels like she's in way over her head. As for James, well he was rather surprised that they made it to practice at all. :D He's having a lovely time messing with Sirius though.

Glad you enjoyed it!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by SpottedZebraThe Art of Awkwardness: The First Date

29th October 2009:
hahaha, oh i wish i could see Lily's reaction! priceless. Sirius was hilarious!! your conversations were above and beyond. perfect!! best chapter yet! It could have been a story on its own. I'm still laughing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>