Reading Reviews From Member: elegantphoenix
  
92 Reviews Found

Review #26, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Time, Stars and ‘Panda-who’s?’ Box

31st May 2010:
Oh, poor Artemis! It's only been a week since James left, and he's already found himself someone else! He is SUCH a bloke! But, ah, well, I think that what will happen next is Artemis is going to waltz in, see them together, and blow a rather large fuse. I haven't the foggiest about who his new victim is, but I'm sure you're going to conjure up another OC that we'll all despise anyway (for not giving Artemis one more go!).

As for Ella's sister, I thought that she was very wise and Mother Nature-y here. She's really calm and understanding, sort of like Madam Pomfrey and Professor Sprout. But then she's got an edge, too, like when she was trying to prove Albus wrong about his generalization about Hufflepuffs. I think they're perfect for eachother, really. I knew from the moment he said "Hey, your the Hufflepuff seeker" and her response was a sort of flirty "And you're the Gryffindor seeker". SQUEE!! I would have never thought of that. :D

I think I've answered all the questions? Well, on that note, I shall be off to read the most recent chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Ice, Hurt and Electric Shocks

31st May 2010:
1) Here is what i WANT to happen next: I WANT Artemis to have a sudden epiphany, like the hand of Merlin coming down and slapping some sense in her, then she gets up and calls out to James, he stops and looks round, a confused look in his eyes, before BAM! Artemis kisses him and they live happily ever after. But that's not going to happen, is it? ):

Well, it was worth a shot.

2) Hmpf. I don't think I'd like to yell at her. I think I might've wanted to yell at her before I started to feel sorry for her, but she is being a bit selfish now. She doesn't have to be scared! James loves her! That would be enough to wipe the fright off of MY face. I feel so bad for him. I have a very small feeling in the back of my mind that he's going to run off, too. And he's going to meet up with Apollo and they are going to be together in the throes of love. While the girls, you know, deal.

3) "Sometimes it's better to hurt than to feel nothing at all. Then at least you know you're alive." Well, won't you look at that! She really is ARTEMIS JONES, THE WISEST SEER OF THEM ALL after all, isn't she? I loved that line. It was really deep, and it definitely hit home for me. OH! And then where she blamed the fluttering in her stomach on rancid oatmeal! It was so funny, but so denial! Haha. (P.S. I think you should add a fifth question about favorite moments! That would be loads easier to answer than quotes, but that might be just me.)

 Report Review

Review #28, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Pessimistic Poopyheads, Twin Radars, and Dom’s Sandwich of Death

31st May 2010:
1) I have absolutely no idea what's going to happen next. I never do, and you surprise me every time :) Always (at least for me) not knowing what's going to happen before it does (I've ruined a lot of books by guessing what's going to happen at the end... and being right).

2) I'll try and swing by soon. Everyone's author's page needs a bit of love, right? *hint hint* :D

3) I wasn't really disappointed by the Rose bit, but I did laugh at the end of it when Scorpius said "Can I snog you now?" LOL. That was too cute! But it's pretty funny how protective James and Fred are of her (and the rest of the ladies of the Potter-Weasley Clan). No dating till they're thirty?! NO! Hahaha.

4) I think that if Artemis had a favorite color, it would be a golden, almost hazel color... oh, wait, isn't that the same color as James' eyes? WHAT A COINCIDENCE. Or is it... ;)

5) As I was reading the part where Dom shows Artemis that she's showing, I immediately (for what reason, I couldn't tell you) thought she was having a boy. So, I think it should be a boy. In saying that, I think his name should be Astraios (Trae for short) William (after her father) Weasley. Astraios is the god of stars and planets, if you were wondering.

But, if you made the baby a girl (which I wouldn't mind, either) I think the name should be Aura Fleur (or Artemis, tee hee :P) Weasley.

6) I don't think I have a favorite quote, but the most hilarious scene was when Dom was trying to get the boys and Artemis to come with her to the kitchens, and was failing miserably, but then when she said "But I'm pregnant" everyone jumped out of bed and scrambled out of the dormitory like it was on fire. Even Jason offered to carry her! Hahahaha. That was fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #29, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Staring Contests, Quidditch Games, and Bipolar Disorder

31st May 2010:
First, I would like to say I SO CALLED THAT FRED WAS GOING TO BE RPATTZ. Now that that's been said... onto the actual review. ;)

Actually I'd like to say that I, in fact, think that Fred is much cuter, just because of how you describe him in the story (not because he is depicted as Robert Pattinson.. blech). I would like to yell at Artemis and James because... too much suspense! I haven't any reason to yell at ScoRose, because they aren't really an item yet anyways, and we don't know all that much about them. I think the bet/arrangement/'opportunity' between them is that he got her on the quidditch team, but I'm probably wrong... ):

Well, that's all I've got. Yay! I've made it to chapter ten! Only three more to go... D: Write more soon!

 Report Review

Review #30, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Computer-Fights, Bunny Slippers, and Dumbledore’s Sexy Portrait

31st May 2010:
I really liked the idea of the whole computer-IM-fight in the middle; all of your screen-names were so funny - and perfect! It really brought out each character without all the fluff of description floating around, which was sort of... refreshing? I don't know, I just liked it. I would also like to add that I like the level of protectiveness that all of Alex's friends have when it comes to her relationship with Matt, and seeing as she ALWAYS succumbs to his every whim/demand (I mean, coming back to her common room at FOUR AM?!) I think she should have backed out the minute he freaked out about her being with Jason when he was comforting her. I thought that was a bit... much.

Anywho, I think my favorite line/quote in this chapter was during their IM session during their Family Studies class when Jason was like "James, you hate the Cannons". Hahaha. So funny.

OH! And before I forget, I really liked Ella's screenname. Mostly because at the end it says DOOM. Tee hee. Nuff said. Off to chapter... what number is this? Eight? Blimey. Well, yes. I am off to the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Tension, Confessions and Intense Hair Stroking

31st May 2010:
I kind of feel like screaming at Apollo. Yeah, definitely Apollo.

He's a terrible person, leaving Dom like that! Tears stung at my eyes when he told her he didn't want the baby! I felt so bad for her then, and then wanted to join in on the moment she had with James and Artemis. They're such good friends (and so totally and completely PERFECT for eachother, might I add..). She needs to give in already! I'm practically going mad with her running away from him every time he gets close! Darn you, Artemis!

10/10, naturally. :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Awkward Silences, Broom Closets and…Doodie

31st May 2010:
If could be a character... I'd be Artemis. And I'd date James. But that might just be my enormous obsession with them getting together talking. :P I think my favorite scene was when Ella was trying to get Alex's attention at dinner. Haha. That was great. Oh, and the bit where they were in Potions and Artemis named the beetles. Hee hee. :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Scarring Information, Wise Words, and Essence of Dom Snot

31st May 2010:
Hello again :)

This chapter was fun. Artemis and James forever and ever (even if she hasn't accepted it yet)!!! Oh, and one of my all-time favorite quotes from this story is whenever Artemis threatens us with the "I KNOW YOUR FUTURE" line. Hahaha. Gets me every time :D. But one of my favorites from this chapter was the line that went "...I could have gotten an ugly brother that no one wanted...". LOL. You are a comical GENIUS. *bows down to your awesomeness*

 Report Review

Review #34, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Lemonade, Tarturus, and Swine Flu: The Inner Ramblings of Artemis Selene Jones

31st May 2010:
I KEEL YOU.

Hahahahah. Thanks to you, I will be going around saying that to all of my friends for the next three days. But, in other news, this chapter was pretty awesome. Again, I liked the interactions between Missy - erm.. (thunder clap) ARTEMIS JONES, THE WISEST SEER OF THEM ALL - and her friends. ;)

 Report Review

Review #35, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Quidditch Matches, Giving Up, and Mentally Unstable Quidditch Captains

31st May 2010:
Haha, needless to say, I LUUURVED this chapter. Like, a lot. My favorite (or one of them at least..) line was where Dom got excited about them doing the full name thing again. :D Oh, and Hugo flipping out about having to run twenty laps round the pitch had me rolling! Oh, poor them... having a maniacal dictator as their Quidditch captain.

10/10!! :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by elegantphoenixDéjà Vu: Visions, Full Names, and Silent Conversations

31st May 2010:
Wow! That was absolutely brilliant! I don't think I've ever read that much in one sitting, but I'm glad I took a chance and did it today! Very comical. I love how you characterized Artemis through both her words/thoughts and actions. And to be quite honest, I'm excited for what will(/might) happen between her and James.

Alright, well I'm off to chapter two! :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by elegantphoenixAshes and Dust: Prologue

26th May 2010:
First, I would like to say YAY! A sequel! I'm really excited for it, as I loved the first installment TbF. I'm very glad to have stumbled upon this.

This Leo character seems really believable, like a cop who takes his job very seriously and doesn't see the point in sugar-coating things (or at least that's what vibe I get from him). He seems very loyal as well, to Cybil mostly. Oh no! He's going to go after Draco! :( Well, I suppose that's all I have to say, but overall, a wonderful prologue! I'm intrigued, and pressing the favorite button now! Can't wait till the next chapter! :)

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Hello Nadhira!
Thanks so much for the kind review! I'm so, so glad you enjoyed the first chapter of the sequel. I really wasn't sure if I should continue this storyline after TbF finished, although to be honest, I really missed the characters.

Yes, Leo is a tough, tell-it-like-it-is cop. He certainly doesn't sugar-coat things, as you mentioned. And unfortunately for Draco, Leo is also relentless when it comes to the pursuit of justice, as was Cybil.

Again, thanks for everything. It was wonderful hearing from you. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted within a week or so. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #38, by elegantphoenixHe did, eh?: He did, eh?

19th May 2010:
Wow! I'll be honest, I only came across this by scrolling down the page and saying 'well this looks interesting' and, well, it was! I loved the idea of writing a story that can be read both backwards AND forwards (though I preferred it bottom to top :P), but I can't see myself ever attempting such a feat. Brilliantly written. :)

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Hello!

And thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and yeah...bottom to top has a much more morally correct ending. It was quite a feat, but I think if you want to try it, go for it! I'm sure it would be wonderful.

Thanks again!
Miranda


 Report Review

Review #39, by elegantphoenixBad Dog.: II: The Flocking Geese Inn

14th May 2010:
The last line was great :D

I liked this chapter, again for the interaction between Paul and Dorian, and then the added element of danger in the bar. It was interesting to see that Paul wasn't afraid... probably because she truly believed that Dorian wouldn't actually hurt her? Clearly, he didn't want to, since he'd actually look her in the eye whenever she spoke to him.

Oh! And I loved the whole butt-kicking scene, where Paul kicked him and Mr Baldwin knocked him out with a door. That was priceless! :)

Keep writing! I shall await the next chapter eagerly!

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

 Report Review

Review #40, by elegantphoenixBad Dog.: I: Lichen

14th May 2010:
I've always been a sucker for a good vampire story, and, well... this looks like it'll be a great one ! I really liked the interactions between Vaughn and Hannibal, compared to those between Paul and Dorian. The way you described and characterized them made them very real to me, and the added humor here and there was a good plus :) The name Paul for a woman is interesting; I never would have thought of that myself, so nice choice. I like how different that is.

Well, I'm off to the next chapter... 10/10

 Report Review

Review #41, by elegantphoenixClementine: Overuse of the word creep

11th May 2010:
Ah, I loved it ^_^ Clementine (erm.. Kitten :P) seems like she'll be quite a character, as well as her assortment of friends. I'm looking forward to seeing where this rumor about Clem and Luke will lead, as well as how the date with Avery will go.

I'll keep an eye out for the next chapter. This seems like it'll be a fun story :)

Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Hello C:
Thankyou so much for reviewing, It's geat you like my story ^__^

The next chapter will be up in the next week or two, C:


 Report Review

Review #42, by elegantphoenixChapter Thirty-Five: Great Hangleton’s Ballroom

11th May 2010:
Hi, boysof_p0tterfan509 from the forums here with your review! Sorry it took so long, life's been busy!

Thanks for taking on my challenge! As I'm feeling a bit lazy, I'll guess that your object was a doll. Well, I think you did quite a good job with it. I liked the fact that Merope was there with Tom, sort of guiding him and revealing the things he had been oblivious to in life. I was a bit surprised that he hadn't been upset about the fact that Merope had used a love potion on him to make him love her, but I still liked the one-shot. Something tells me that there's more to this, but whether there is or not, well done :)

Overall, the only things I spotted were a few spelling mistakes here and there, but that's it. Thanks again for giving the challenge a go!

9/10
Best,
Nadhira

 Report Review

Review #43, by elegantphoenixOpening Her Eyes: Opening Her Eyes

18th April 2010:
A lovely one-shot, if I do say so myself.

Hi! It's boysof_p0tterfan509 from the forums here with your review! :)

First, I'd like to say that I'm glad you gave the challenge a go. You incorporated your object nicely, giving it meaning especially to your character. I also liked the way that Tonks had accepted her death, after her struggle in the coffin. All of her senses were going, but she still managed to let them go, if that makes sense?

One thing I wanted to point out was that, didn't Bellatrix die in the Battle of Hogwarts too? If I remember correctly, Molly Weasley killed her ^^, But maybe Tonks died before Bellatrix and hadn't known that she had been killed too, so that makes more sense. :)

Well, overall I thought the entire thing was well-written and sweet. Thanks again for taking the challenge; I think you did well with the character/object I gave you.

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yeah, Tonks didn't know that Bellatrix was dead yet. :)

I had fun with this challenge, thanks for creating it :D

Once again, thank you for all the compliments, they are so happy-making!

LoveLoveLove,
silver ink


 Report Review

Review #44, by elegantphoenixOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 4

18th April 2010:
Oh Lilith, always causing trouble.

Another great chapter :) Not much to remark upon, except that I really liked the connection between Dean and Caitlyn. They seem pretty alike, and so do Riley and Sam. The line about Melanie's ex being 'nuttier than a fruitcake' made me laugh.

I just realized that there isn't another chapter :( I can't wait until you update again, so update soon! Till then, I'll add this to my favorites. *clicks button*

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Haha, that she is. But then again, she is a demon. XD

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed that. Yeah, they all have things in common with each other that will be revealed as the story goes on. Haha, I'm glad you liked that line! She was a fun character to write, for the brief period she appeared.

Nope, chapter five is not quite done yet. Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I will update as soon as I can!


 Report Review

Review #45, by elegantphoenixOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 3

18th April 2010:
Woo! Snooty pants Caitlyn and her brother Riley need the Winchesters' help. This should be interesting... I liked the way you showed their interactions with eachother when they tried to explain what happened to Nat and David, from their different POV's. But frankly, I think they're both right. Hm... Oh! And I liked how you used Legilimens to show that Dean was telling the truth and make them admit to needing the Winchesters' help. Nice way to keep the story flowing.

Well, I'm off to the next chapter. :)

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Haha, that's the first time I've heard her discribed that way, but I can see why you said that. She can come off that way, but she's got problems that will be revealed later on that she must work through. Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed their interactions.

 Report Review

Review #46, by elegantphoenixOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 2

18th April 2010:
Oh, for once the Winchesters are way out of the loop, I see. Must be frustrating. But very much intriguing. At first, when Vicky said "You're one of them?" I truly thought she was referring to David as being a hunter, but now, looking back, I realize that she didn't actually know that the Winchesters were hunters. Whoops. Haha. Well, another wonderfully intriguing chapter. Off to read the next one!

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: That they are. But they will be in the loop within the next few chapters. Haha! XD Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and so glad you left yet another lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by elegantphoenixOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 1

18th April 2010:
This was a great first chapter, I must admit! Maybe it's just because I'm an avid fan of Supernatural, or because the way you've written this is so riveting and vivid (or both :P) but it makes me want to read more! And I will, just as soon as I've finished up this review :)

Overall the description was what I liked the most, because you gave me a real feel of where everything was taking place, who the characters were, etc. I liked how you captured Sam and Dean as well, because as I read it, I could picture them talking and acting the way you described. Very nicely done.

I did see a spelling mistake or two (i.e. 'Huston' should be 'Houston), but I'm sure you've already noticed that ^_^.

Anyway, I'm off to read chapter two..

10/10
Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Yay! Another SPN fan! Woo! Well, either way I am glad that you enjoyed the chapter.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. And I am glad that you were able to picture Sam and Dean doing what I wrote. They are such amazing characters and I would hate to mess them up. So I thank you for telling me that, make me feel better. XD

Oh, I guess that is one both my beta and I missed! Thank you for pointing that out for me!



 Report Review

Review #48, by elegantphoenixThis Is Hell: This Is Hell

13th April 2010:
Hi! It's boysof_p0tterfan509 from the forums, here with your review! :)

This was very well written to say the least. I liked how you used a lot of description and imagery, and conveyed a lot of Voldemort's bitterness through his thoughts, especially when he was a baby. I loved the way that you incorporated the balloon, and how all the thins that were happening to him made his hell... well, hell. Especially Bella. :D She never gave up, even in death, huh?

I'm not sure if this was your intention, but in the beginning I sort of got reminded of Bellatrix by the balloon, and how it would bump his shoulder and follow him around to no prevail. It was funny how he tried to get rid of her by allotting the task of eliminating the balloon for good, and the bit of suspense when it wouldn't appear for a few minutes.

The idea of making him age in reverse was very clever. I quite enjoyed this; well done :) Thanks for giving my challenge a go!


10/10

Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you, I'm pleased that you thought it was well written. Ha ha, yes. He did not like that so much. Ha ha, yes, very much so. Nope, I see her as being very persistent. Even in death.

Ha ha, oh yes. I thought the smiley face put him over the edge a smidge. Hehe, yes. She was almost there. She was going to get her kiss, but thankfully the balloon arrived. Well, thankfully if you're Voldyshorts, I don't think Bella liked it so much.

Thanks, I'm glad you thought so. I'm also enthused that you enjoyed this. No problem, it was fun writing this.

Guten Abend,
Linders ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by elegantphoenixFollower: Forever a Follower

8th April 2010:
Hmph. I wish it had been longer, but it was a good one-shot in it's simplicity; very straightforward. Anyway, I think you did well showing how Regulus was not as "Black as he's painted", by showing his bravery in standing up to Voldy and switching the lockets, then sacrificing himself. Very moving.

I also enjoyed how you made a very convincing explanation on how Regulus was a follower, and how he accepted that, right to the end.

Plus, I've always liked Kreacher. So kudos for making him seem like a bit of a hero (or rather, just a loyal companion) here. :)

It makes me sad that Regulus had to die, but it was his fate.

A great one-shot.
10/10
- Nadhira

Author's Response: Thank you very much. (: Moving? That's a great compliment.

I tried really hard with his explanation; I'm glad you thought it was convincing.

Aw, I love Kreacher too. (:

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D
-Jasmine


 Report Review

Review #50, by elegantphoenixHeart: Chapter 1: What you see is what you get.

7th March 2010:
Very nicely done.

Hello, it's boysof_p0tterfan509 (finally) here with your review!

I really enjoyed this adaptation of King Lear. I have not read the play myself, but just last week my teacher discussed this bit of the play in English, so I have the gist of what's happening. I think that you captured each character beautifully, especially drawing out the differences between Andromeda and her sisters, making her almost an outcast amongst her siblings.

There wasn't much to criticize here. You write very well and I'm glad you decided to give my challenge a go :) I'll be sure to look out for the next chapter of this as I'm really interested in where it will lead.

10/10

Best,
Nadhira

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much!
I thinks it's really weird how many parallels you can draw between HP and Shakespeare. Thanks so much for the review and the next chapter will be submitted as soon as the one that's already in the queue is done :)
Kero


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>