Reading Reviews From Member: Stella Nightingale
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Stella NightingaleDeepest Star of Night: Chapter Seven

13th May 2009:
Hi there, Laur here from the forums sorry about the delay!
I love marauder stories, I just always think they're great and I always enjoy reading them. I found the OC characters in your story very fun and totally realistic I think everybody stayed in character which was great, cause the canon freak I am loves it. I'm def interested in reading more of your story it's very interesting, and very well done with the dialogue and the description!


Great Job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I am glad that you like it!!! I am also a fan of marauder stories (obviously) LOL. It is honestly my favorite era!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Stella NightingaleHow to tame a Marauder: Putting out fires

13th May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums - SO sorry about the really long delay! Right, what I've enjoyed most about the story is the dialogue is very strong and portrays the characters wonderfully I often find in Marauder fics that the dialogue just lacks that special something and I think you've done an awesome job at creating a terrific story, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Laur! I really appreciate your taking the time to read it all (I realise it's rather long) and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the feedback on dialogue too, it's nice to know that the way I'm imagining the conversations to go is realistic and engaging. Cheers, Mel.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Stella NightingaleDoes My Ring Burn Your Finger?: Does My Ring Burn Your Finger?

9th May 2009:
Hi ... Laur here from the forums with your review.
I really enjoyed this I think I really enjoy reading Regulus as a character and it was really cool to seem them both portrayed. the descriptions and characters were great and I really thought you did an excellent job!



Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much! I love Regulus too, I don't think there's enough of him in fics. :) Thank you so much and thanks for the review and your time!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Stella NightingaleBlurring the Edges: Prologue

5th May 2009:
hi, Laur here from the forums!

oh, I am really intrigued to keep reading this. I thought the description, and opening was great and then I got to the last line and I was like oooh! ha, really cool I quite liked how you did! I've never read a McGonagall/Riddle fan fiction before but I'm quite looking forward to reading yours - for sure!
I really thought it was excellent and you have nothing to worry about keep writing, really looking forward to reading more!

10/10!

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much! Pretty much no one seems to have read a McGonagall/Riddle story, so I'm really looking forward to exploring the pair and sharing the story with everyone here. I'll let you know when the next chapter is up, for sure. =]

Thanks for the review, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #5, by Stella NightingaleSummer Solstice: The End Where I Begin

5th May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums!
well for starters, great job! I really enjoyed this I even laughed out loud a little. and also I don't mind slash at all, so no worries. I really liked this cause I think I don't really enjoy reading Teddy/Victorie and I thought everything about the story was really grand. I thought the characterization was great not even as Teddy and Andromeda (though that was great too) as a grandson and grandmother as well, it was just really spot on. I remember when my friend came out and the hardest person to consider the thought of it was his grandma - really, I thought this was so excellent, clever, funny, and just really well done!

great job, 10/10!

Author's Response: Hi, Laur :)

Aww, thanks so much! It really means a lot that you enjoyed it. And I'm especially glad you thought the characterisation was good - I was worried that both Ted and Andromeda were a bit... off, but you've totally reassured me!

Thanks for the great review!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Stella NightingaleTruth: Asphodel and Wormwood

5th May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums with your evening news, I mean review (also that was really lame, and I apologize)
Right, I for one love Regulus as a character and think you portrayed his character really well. You could sense that he has doubts about everything, and I like this because you could picture it to be perhaps one of the driving points for him to become the R.A.B on the note that Harry and Dumbledore find. I also like how both him and Snape although marked by death eaters have the compassion you know they were capable of. and also however Regulus still referred to the word mudbloods - because as much as you imagine him to changed I always imagined he was still set in his ways a little bit. but really, I think you did a great job no complaints here! I'm sorry to say I don't know the song though!



Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review (it's all good. :)), and I'm so sorry it took me so long to reply.

Thank you! It's my first Marauder fic by myself, and my first ever working with Regulus, so I'm glad that I was able to get all of my points across clearly enough. I really love him; he was such a flat character at first, and then the cave and the locket, and BAM! he's got about forty different dimensions. It's great.

It's a great song, but I suppose a little off putting if you aren't Japanese. :P

Thanks again for such a great review, I really appreciate it!

♥-Ai


 Report Review

Review #7, by Stella NightingaleDance With My Father Again: Dance With My Father Again

5th May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums!
oh-my-word, that was so upsetting I almost cried - and I never cry. I love father-daughter relationships and I thought this was so excellent. in your areas of concern I thought this was just going to be another one of those stories, but this was actually wonderful. I really enjoyed reading this, and it was so sad cause you knew it was coming, I really liked your Ted Tonks I thought he was perfectly done, everything was accurate, the description was really well done, really really perfect!
For the summary I don't know I kind of like it, because its simple and really suited for the story.
Great Job! 10/10!


Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm really, really glad you liked it, and I'm sorry it nearly made you cry. Thanks for addressing everything I asked about ... thanks!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Stella NightingaleA Summer Thing: Pompous Gits

2nd May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums leaving you with a review!

I really enjoyed reading your story I thought it was a great start, I really enjoy reading about other characters that are canon in the HP world and aren't like Harry, or Ron, etc.

I think you did a great job, and I'm looking forward to reading more. I love me some Oliver Wood, haha, really though fantastic job! love it!


Laur, (10.10)

Author's Response: Yeah, in terms of fanfiction I do feel that there is more to expand upon some of the minor characters, in growing as a writer because there's more artisitic freedom there.

Glad you like it! Hehe, Oliver Wood is pretty awesome. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Stella NightingaleC'est La Vie: Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

2nd May 2009:
Hi, it's Laur again from the forums. Just got around to finishing your story and have found it pleasant and fun to read. I like your OC and think she has an interesting spin and fun personality. She has depth, and I think you've presented her quite well.
Overall I found you did an excellent job, and hope you keep writing!



Author's Response: I'm gald you enjoyed it!!! Thank you sooo much, I was definatly most concerned about Ang being totally unbelievable. :)
Thanks, thanks, and thanks again for you time and reviews!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Stella NightingaleC'est La Vie: Mon Ange-My Angel

2nd May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from ze forums. I think your opening was very well done and it certainly captured my attention that I was really intrigued and wanted to read more.

I think there could have been a bit more in the second part of this chapter it felt a bit rushed once they were aboard the Hogwarts Express, but other then that I think you did a great job and I look forward to reading more.


Laur

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that it got you interested!
Okay, I'll keep that in mind, thanks for pointing that out!
Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Stella NightingaleThey Couldn't Stop the Voices: They Couldn't Find the Opportune Moment

2nd May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from the forums finally getting around to reviewing your story! right! on to the review, I think you've done a fairly good job in description and giving the story substance and a sense of direction. I really liked that I could picture things and it wasn't just about the dialogue or the grand effect of things it seemed like you really took your time with creating a very good fan-fiction.
I think with the characters I think perhaps more so James than Lily is a bit lacking in the dialogue sometimes it just seemed a bit unrealistic in the sense it seemed a bit I don't want to say rushed more so a bit lacking of what I always found James to be. but I think the chemistry between Lily and James is great and it really is very good!
really I think you did an excellent job! and good luck writing your next chapter, would love to see more.


Laur

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the chapter. I see what you mean by James lacking...er, personality/energy or something, but I think his caution around Lily is explained by the events in previous chapters. Thanks for your advice, though, and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Stella NightingaleWorthy: Doubt and Consequences

2nd May 2009:
Hi, right Laur here ... again. very sorry about the mix up! Right onto really reviewing your story!
I for one am never like crazy about the romance it slowly burns my robot heart, but I think your story was written very well and it made me really emphasize with the characters and I always imagine it must be so hard to write Draco/Hermione I think you did a great job!

It had so many twists and turns and it just wasn't about the romance there was so much more substance and I really enjoyed reading it. I really do think you did a fantastic job at creating a story that has so much more then most I've been reading. You captured the characters so well, I like how Draco's written and I think Hermione has so much like passion it's great.

really well done, and again sorry about the mix up!


Laur (10/10)

Author's Response: Thank you Laur. It's always great to convert someone to Dramione. I had to do more than the romance. First I enjoy mystery more than anything. Second - DM had to make such a journy as a character which I think after the war, he is more than ready for. For HG - I always felt that Ron would hold her back but someone ambitious and confident like DM could have a great influence on her. Passion with a deep caring is definitely what I want for these two. You can see a little of my influence from Shakespear. Plot and character growth is the most important thing for me.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Stella NightingaleWorthy: Don't Tread on Crisalide

2nd May 2009:
Hi, Laur here! Sorry it took forever just wanted to make sure I had the time and the chance to read your story!

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Stella NightingaleBattle Cry: No Need to Say Goodbye

1st May 2009:
Hi there, Laur from ze forums reviewing for you.
I really thought Teddy going into the army was an interesting concept for a fan-fiction and you wrote it quite elegantly. I thought you did a great job! Poor Tedz though, but you could really understand his feeling for wanting to do something more.

Love the song as well, and I think you captured everything quite well.


Great Job!

Laur

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked this. I was a little scared to put something so muggle as entering the military in this story, but if you liked the way I incorporated it, I guess I did an okay job. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Stella NightingaleMarch: Chapter One

1st May 2009:
Hi there, it's Laur from ze forums reviewing for you!
so far I quite really like the way you started this story leaving us wondering what happened, very sneaky! and you're right nothing ever good happens in March, it's my birthday month as well! I quite like the way everything was described it was very nice and emotional and a really great start, love to see what happens next!
great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! It's really appreciated!

It's actually a one-shot, just a snippet of Lily/James in an imperfect state (something I rarely see); however, it may be expanded at a later date.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Stella NightingaleRelatively Speaking: Prologue: Neville and Ginny, Close-Up

30th April 2009:
Neville/Ginny, very interesting! Really looking forward to seeing where this goes I think your prologue opened up the story nicely and catches your attention.

I really love Neville as a character and I think so far you've captured him quite well, and even though Ginny isn't my favorites I think you've got her down as a character quite well. It does seem perfectly picturesque with Ginny and her life in the epilogue maybe she was craving something more? Was the perfect life perfect? Hmm, well def think you should continue! great job!


Laur (from ze forums!)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I honestly love Neville/Ginny and thought that I might as well write them.
I definitely know that I want to finish this though it's been ages since I wrote it. I definitely know I need to edit it more, though. Thanks.
---Carla


 Report Review

Review #17, by Stella NightingaleStars and the Moon: Pancakes for Two

30th April 2009:
awe, Remus is way cute. I'm finding the flow of the story is going quite nicely, and you can def are getting to know the OC. great job keeping it up, there were a few spelling mistakes but I read before you didn't have a BETA and to be fair it doesn't really bother me that much!
erm, tidbit I think about the pancakes I haven't found to be too popular in England (I'm American studying here so I would LOVE to find them) but so far, no luck at any cafes! I've had pancakes on pancake day here but the kind of pancakes that's just flour, milk, and egg and they eat them with sugar and lemon juice. erm, lol if that helps, lol sorry! but things like that don't bother me either!

I think you're doing great, and keep up with the amaaazing story!

Author's Response: Yeah, I actually JUST got a beta. She's a fan and she jumped on the opportunity. Lol :) so hopefully next chapter will be more polished.

And pancakes... eh. Minor detail. I just love pancakes :) AND YOU ARE SO LUCKY TO BE STUDYING THERE! Seriously. I'm hoping to do a year abroad and go there. Liverpool or something :) cos that's where the Beatles are from!

Thank you so much for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Stella NightingaleStars and the Moon: Once Upon a Time

30th April 2009:
Oh! I'm mos def loving the symbolism up in this story and it's done perfectly not cheesy or anything. So far I think your OC seems really interesting and like there's something more there! the concept of the story reminds me a bit of The Lovely Bones, have you read it?

Anyway, so far great job!


Laur

Author's Response: I actually read The Lovely Bones a couple of weeks ago. I also have Alice Sebold's other book that was based on her life, Lucky. Very, very good books.

I actually didn't realise at all that this was anything like that, but now that I think about it - it kind of is. That's okay though, because I love that book.

I'm glad you like my OC. I was freaking out because I made the mistake of posting the first (unedited) chapter of this on fanfiction[dot]net, and she ended up on pottersues! People are so rude there.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Stella NightingaleJust Because: Fear Of Falling

27th April 2009:
Hi there!

I think this chapter has progressed since the last one I see you noted you worked a lot harder and I think it really shows! I just found myself getting confused with the last one with dialogue and grammar mistakes, but the plot and the story is running very smoothly. I find your OC to be absolutely brilliant, and think she's really fun and neat. I'm quite excited to see where the relationship between her and Oliver are going to go.

keep up the good work, and great job!


Laur

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm overjoyed that you like it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Stella NightingaleThe Importance of Being...: Patient.

27th April 2009:
Hi there!

so far I've enjoyed your story and I certainly think it's entertaining. Lyla is an interesting character, and I've found the plot flow quite steady and enjoyable.

I think the only criticism I have is with the dialogue it doesn't seem to flow as well with the rest of the story and sometimes can be a bit confusing.

otherwise I think you're doing a great job, and would def like to read more!

Author's Response: Thankyou! =]

 Report Review

Review #21, by Stella NightingaleRemember Me: Recollections

27th April 2009:
Hey! Great story I really enjoyed reading it. I think the portrayal of Lily and Snape is created very well, and it's very believable and accurate to what I find their characters to be in the books.

I myself have never been a Severus Snape fan, but I always found it quite sad that he could have had something with Lily but he destroyed it by calling her a mudblood, and it seems right that the would still both be bitter towards the event. It's sad to see him just picturing the life he maybe could of had with Lily as she goes on about James, and he's stuck as a deatheater, and etc!

I think your story is great so far, and I think you've done an amazing character portrayal!


well done!


Laur

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the very sweet review. I'm glad that you've enjoyed it so far and don't completely hate Snape. I'm the same way as you about him, it's the Lily thing that keeps me from completely hating him lol. I'm glad you liked the portrayal of them and the story so far. I hope you keep reading and continue to enjoy it. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Stella NightingaleMonkey and Dragon Tail: Chapter 2

26th April 2009:
Hi there! So far I'm enjoying reading your story. for some reason, I really enjoy the bond between Regulus/Sirius I like knowing their past and what went wrong, and etc. I like your OC's they're really quite nice and believable characters. I hope you keep updating, I'm very interested in knowing what will happen next!

Brilliant Job!



Laur

Author's Response: Hey Laur, thanks so much for your review and I'm glad you liked it thus far. Writing about the relationship between Sirius and Regulus was one of my favorite parts. I will definitely let you know when I update next, which should be soon. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Stella NightingaleMon Ange Sous La Pluie: Viva La Vida

26th April 2009:
Hi, I really enjoyed reading your story. I found the writing to very well done, and perfectly descriptive. I really found myself being able to connect with Lucius and Narcissa, and I think you've created accurate traits to their characters and it was all really well done.

I think it ended so well, and so in this going to be an entire new story you're posting up or just new chapters? Sorry, I'm always confused. But, I really liked this and def would love to see what happens. Great job!

Laur

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes the end leads into a story in the anthology several stories later. Many of my stories have it where Lucius redeems himself bit by bit. He still is capable of naughty deeds but directs them at deserving parties.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Stella NightingaleSkeptics and True Believers: Sirius, Don't Be a Hero

24th April 2009:
Hi Emo Mist, I've finally read all the chapters and am up to par on the story! I hope you don't mind I'll start reviewing from here on out on the new chapters ... well so here goes!

Well lucky Ms. Tessa winning over the likes of Remus Lupin and Sirius Black! To be honest I think she's a very appealing OC and has a good background and story - mos def not a Mary Sue! Or typical girl you find running around with the marauders most authors portray. I think you've done an amazing job so far and have created a great story!

I do have one question earlier on in the story Remus seemed so quick to tell Tessa about his 'furry little problem' after quickly befriending her cause I think it was mentioned they never really had a full conversation before. Remus seemed reluctant in the books to have told anybody it was the boys who figured it out and still wanted to help me. I was just wondering did he just tell her cause he really likes her or anything else?


but otherwise I think everything else is great and hope to see another Remus chapter around maybe even a Lily or James one! Love it!

Author's Response: Ahhh. Thank you :)
About Remus - I realise that I made him tell Tessa way too soon, but I really wanted her to know so there was that bond of trust between them. Plus he likes her! Haha.
Thank you so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Stella NightingaleSincere Corruption: The Beginning

23rd April 2009:
Wow! Terrific, if I do say so myself. I quite dig the idea of what happened on the other side and think you've done a marvelous job and described everything perfectly. I quite liked that you drew upon the fact of their loved ones lost, and everything they cared for lost - you never really feel for the Death Eaters I think in some ways JK does try to show it, but I loved reading this and thought it was excellent!
great job, from Laur!

Author's Response: Wow that is so great to hear. Thank you so much for all the kind words about my story. It is great to hear that you liked it so much. I have always love the Death Eaters, they are amazing, and I worked really hard to capture some emotion for those that were lost during the battle. Thanks for the review~

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>