Reading Reviews From Member: Dilys Derwent
  
289 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dilys DerwentWording is Everything: Wording is Everything

19th August 2011:
Definitely the most apt title of a story I have read. :) I really enjoyed it. Short, but funny. One of the hardest things I find to do in a one-shot is providing enough information and shape to a character, especially a new one, to make the reader sympathise or *insert emotion you need* with them and ultimately make the story make sense. In a longer story you can spend time doing that but here you managed to do in a few short lines. James was down just through the prank. Lily down in her rant. Wonderfully done. :)
I love "I'm effing Sirius!" A brilliant line. I couldn't help but say the more... serious word in my head (that pun was intended). :P
Well done!
Dilys

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
I'm glad you liked it. The idea just popped into my head one day. Siriusly. :]


 Report Review

Review #2, by Dilys DerwentUnderage: 5 Ways Ginny Weasley Secretly Helped to Defeat Voldemort: The Headmaster's Office

18th August 2011:
I think I prefer the first chapter. But that is not to say I don't like this, it was just more long-winded and thoughtful. I really like the whole concept, I always wondered what was going through Ginny's mind throughout the 7th book. I think these moments are intriguing and seem to make so much sense. I am interested to see what the other moments are. :)
Dilys

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dilys DerwentAll those ships that have not been: Harry/Luna

18th August 2011:
That was wonderfully fluffy. I think you got Luna down perfectly and even Harry although I still can't quite work out in my mind how the empty feeling would make him act. I do think you've done it faithfully.

I really liked it. I just looked back at it and I like it more and more. It's quite simple (not in a stupid way but a fluffy way), but usually that's the hardest way to write. It had the perfect amount of speech and description, which seems a silly thing to comment on but I've never noticed how much that ratio affects how much I like something or not. :/

I normally don't like fics about immediately after the Battle or other ships, but I guess this is the exception to prove the rule! Or something. :P I look forward to more.
Dilys

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for your review! All those nice comments I've received for this story so far make me so happy. :)

The speech/description ratio is not something silly to comment on at all. I've actually been wondering about it many times when writing and am always afraid of getting it wrong, so I'm so glad that you thought it was great!

The next story will be Neville/Ginny and I hope to have it up sometime during the weekend. :)

Have a nice day!
Ilona


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dilys DerwentEndless.: prove it.

16th August 2011:
*sniff* That was beautiful. And funny. HOW DO YOU DO THAT?! I am jealously shouting at you. In a nice way. :) Best sentence: "Lily has boobs." One of the insane boy-moments. :P But it was sweet and sad and so beautifully written. Congratulations. :)
Dilys

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dilys DerwentJust a Dream: Speak Now

14th August 2011:
Ooh that was lovely. :) I'm not the biggest fan of song fics so having the lyrics in there kind of bothered me but that aside I really liked your writing. Their conversation at the end was wonderfully written, you had really thought about their every movement even the smallest and in those kind of moments I think it's best to do so. Makes it more intimate. :) Well done!
Dilys
p.s. I now feel like an iced tea which is weird since it's been years since I had one. :(

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dilys Derwent:

14th August 2011:
Ahahaha! That was brilliant! I agree, Remus Lupin is sexy. I loved at the beginning Harry was whining about the Triwizard Tournament. And also her throwaway comment about sending prank love letters to Snape. Inspired! :D It was such good perviness. Usually the perviness is reserved for Sirius or James but I much prefer Remus. You teased so much at the end. I thought they were going to kiss! Shame. :P
Dilys

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dilys Derwent:

14th August 2011:
Well, Mona is now my favourite original character of any story I have read since... ages, at least. :P "Dry wit and slightly raunchy" definitely fits! I love her and your writing. I can't think of anything bad to say about this to be honest. I do have the best image of Sirius in leather trousers now! And I'm impressed that you made more of Peter. So often he is there in fics but never says anything but you managed to show him as less bright and the suck-up he is in the books. Brilliant! If you do make this into a chapter story I would definitely read it, I think you have something going there with the Mona/Remus (and I mean that not as a pairing but the friend relationship type thing... if that makes sense. :/) and the James/Lily lines on the side of Sirius/Mona. I need to read more of your writing now! :D
Dilys

Author's Response: Isn't Sirius + leather a great image? :P

Peter is by far the hardest character to write. He's so flawed and unlikeable (as a person and as a character, at least for me) but you don't want to write him as this exaggerated sort of idiot either. He's a tricky one for me.

I do have some ideas for Lily/James, Sirius/Mona and even Remus/Mona (right, not as a pairing) so I hope I can find them time to expand this story! Thanks for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dilys DerwentIf Wishes Were Fishes: Inconvenient Truths

12th August 2011:
I welled up at the end with Lily there. I feel so sorry for her. :( Which goes to show just how good this is. I couldn't hate Celia more, stealing James from his rightful girl *grumble*. I can imagine Lily accidentally letting slip to James that she knows he's an animagus, which could break their third (I think we're up to that) truce. :P Love Sirius and Remus as well. They aren't as insane and unbelievable as in some stories. I much prefer this since I can imagine your portrayal of them to grow up to be the Sirius and Remus in the books. I'm really, REALLY curious about this wishing well. So if Lily and the others could figure it out soon... please? :D
Keep writing!
Dilys.

Author's Response: haha aw thank you so much! I sometimes tear up a bit while writing Lily just because I've definitely been there with all the emotions. And I'm glad you like my Sirius and Remus! I'm really trying to make all the characters here real and believable and I'm glad that's coming across :) I'll have more up soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dilys DerwentI Think I'd Like That: I Think I'd Like That

12th August 2011:
I liked that. I liked most of all how you wrote James as humourous but taking protecting Sirius so serious (no pun intended :P) and I loved how excitable he was at the beginning. The only line I didn't particularly like was: "There's sunshine and flowers and my mum's cooking and happiness." I liked the bit about James' mum's cooking but I think maybe if you'd put something different instead of sunshine and flowers because at that point he is being serious. Maybe Quidditch and something would have worked a bit better. Overall rather cute... in a manly way of course (It is James and Sirius after all :P) Well done!
Dilys Derwent.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Reviews like this make me SO happy!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dilys DerwentJust to See You Smile...: Epilogue

14th September 2010:
i stopped reading anything a while back but ive just come back and am so pleased i have to find this finished. and finished to perfection. i have read a fair few fics on the night James and Lily died but this is by far the best: even the tying up of your own characters loose ends fitted in wonderfully and whilst you stayed true to how JKR described it you put your own flair in. the whole story is brilliantly written and i must say the cutest fic ever! congrats :D
Dilys

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dilys DerwentSimply Jane Smith: "Don't call me babe!"

6th September 2009:
loved the ending. i also love sirius' character in this. keep writing and update soon!
Dilys :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dilys DerwentObscure: Killing Butterflies. Chapter Ten.

6th September 2009:
masquerade?! oh that should be a fun chapter. macks life really isn't going to plan at all; i think she might just need a hug. i feel sorry for remus but i am also extremely angry with him for the way he is acting; i just want to kick him up the backside. humph. anyway, can't wait for the next chapter!
Dilys :D

Author's Response: :) Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dilys DerwentJust to See You Smile...: Chapter 19: Whipped and Wonderment

23rd August 2009:
lol. i would never expect lily to ask james out but i liked it. and Sirius and peter are so totally whipped. i love remus.
Dilys :D

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked the twist! :)
Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Dilys DerwentTrapped.: Wishful Thinking

18th August 2009:
in this i just want to kill the marauders, well mostly sirius. i can't believe she told regulus that she loves him. lol. that is going to take some explaining! i don't remember what the old banner looked like but i'm pretty sure this one is beautiful. can't wait for the next chapter!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: That's great! :D A lot of people forget how cruel the marauders used to be, so a little hate here in there is only fair. I'll submit as soon as I can. Thanks for the review!
~serenade


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dilys DerwentUnmanagable Mischief: My Brain is Sick

18th August 2009:
drew has a terribly dirty mind, but it was hilarious. great chapter. keep writing and update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: lol, yes she does sometimes, which is yet another extension of me unfortunately...tho i don't think i delve as deep as she did, lol
i shall keep writing and update soon! thnx for reading dude!! luv reviews! ep! lol thnx again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dilys DerwentObscure: A Complete Mess. Chapter Eight.

18th August 2009:
argh! stupid Mack. brilliant chapter, wonderful kiss. update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: :) Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dilys DerwentGossip Witch: Cheaters Never Win and Winners Never Cheat

11th August 2009:
brilliant. Lily is lucky she can lie well, if i were in her position someone would have guessed by now. i love sirius and his net. just a thought; have some gossip from ravenclaw and hufflepuff because the last two have been slytherin. update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! eah- it is good she can lie! I love Sirius and his net too, haha. And don't worry. Lily likes to get gossip from all 4 houses. The next chapter should be out within the next couple of days, since I put in in 5 days ago, so stay tunned:)
~hpf14


 Report Review

Review #18, by Dilys DerwentSimply Jane Smith: Friends

11th August 2009:
no Jane but i liked seeing what james and lily were getting up to. keep writing and update soon!
Dilys :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dilys DerwentJust to See You Smile...: Chapter 18: Love and Lust

11th August 2009:
that was so cute but a cliffhanger?!?! great kiss though. you better update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! :)
The next chapter'll be up very soon!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Dilys DerwentFantasy: Chapter Four. Pathetic.

11th August 2009:
brilliant chapter as always if a little short. but it was cute.
Dilys :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll try to write longer chapters. haha.
-love-
LM


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dilys DerwentHeirlooms: Compartment

9th August 2009:
good first chapter. i don't generally read next generation fics and never ones with teddy lupin in them. he is a character you can generally take to be anything you like and i think he's interesting here. Ellinor sounds it too. i really want to find out more about her family and everything so i'll keep reading :D
Dilys

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dilys DerwentThirteen: Thirteen

9th August 2009:
that was really good. as in really really really brilliant. it was slightly depressing but what can you expect from something written from Azkaban. it was really well written and perfect really. i loved the paragraph about James and Sirius ideas about loyalty especially the line: 'Lived and breathed the belief that it was the highest dishonor to question a mate's loyalty.' it makes complete sense that the James from the books thought like that. wonderful one-shot. congratulations!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the nice compliments. I love constrasting the differences between James and Sirius. Since I mostly write the pair in one-shots, I never really get to develop them the way I want to. Although, I am working on one story that focuses solely on their relationship which I am extremely excited about. Thanks for the lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dilys DerwentMistake: Queen Of Your Heart

9th August 2009:
this is such a brilliant story. i like how you picked Remus to be the one to be attacked because it's normally lily or james that gets it. i always liked remus. i hope Sirius and jazz get through this, they do make a good couple. and james really needs to kiss lily soon :P anyway, keep writing and update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! Your words really do mean a lot to me :) I'll be updating as soon as each chapter is validated so keep your eyes open for any new chapters!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dilys DerwentOne Last Year: Chapter 4

9th August 2009:
oh how much i detest cliffhangers. great story. can't wait for the next cahpter so keep writing and update soon!
Dilys :)

Author's Response: thanks so much for reading! i will update asap. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dilys DerwentKeep Holding On: Welcome to My World

8th August 2009:
a good first chapter. it is a tad confusing but i have read some things where i had to read them 3 or 4 times just to make heads and tails of them. i like valencia and manny and valencia's relationship with wood. i think you should definitely carry on.
Dilys :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>