Reading Reviews From Member: pattybuns_hpf
  
116 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pattybuns_hpfClash: Epilogue

30th March 2014:
I cannot, for the life of me, ascertain why I hadn't come back to seek the last four chapters of this story. I just - oh my goodness - this is still one of my favourite next gen stories and I am now emotional about everything this story has put me through. I just love the gang of characters you've cooked up for us readers. Their relationships and everything are just brilliant. To be honest, I certainly never pictured Aggy being a Quidditch player in the end but I guess, in the many twists and emotional mind-blowing, people are just full surprises even fictional ones.

And the one last thing I wanna say from me to you is Thank You. Thank you for the rolercoaster ride that is Aggy's life. And that doesn't mean that I won't be coming back to read this story again and again and again.

 Report Review

Review #2, by pattybuns_hpfClash: Real

17th September 2013:
Oh god. I think I just died reading that. Speechless and I cannot say anything else other than: Oh my god, repeatedly.

 Report Review

Review #3, by pattybuns_hpfLate Nights: October: 1981

8th August 2013:
I very much loved reading these late nights of James and Lily. It was brilliant. I would desperately beg of you to continue but alas as I think about it, you've brought closure to what the idea of this story was all about.

I liked how you didn't go into chronological order with their nightly rendezvous. It was all jumbled but it seemed to connect after one another. Well, thinking of Lily and James spending time together at night and all, of course it's going to connect. Anyway, It was confusing at first but it somehow made sense to have the time jumping around. It was nice reading of their seventh year then to their first year and so on, and I congratulate you for making it seem so seamless a transition. I liked seeing the difference between the years. And also, the it kept everything interesting, I was always curious as to know how Lily and James interacted in the particular time you've set for them.

Oh gosh, I nearly cried in this last chapter. I was just so happy reading it and seeing how normal they looked and how great a family were. Still, that last sentence was a blow to my heart and it's really sad to think about the way they'd been so happy and then Voldy just had to come there and ruin it all. Oh well...

Thank you for this story, by the way, and it was truly a great read.

-Patty

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much!

haha, the jumbled-ness was completely unplanned! I just was too lazy to try and change it, so I tried to make each one link in tiny ways. :p

Thank you so much for this amazing review, it really means a lot to me. You have NO idea how big my smile was when reading this!

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by pattybuns_hpfDirty Blood: Leap of Faith

27th July 2013:
A leap of faith indeed! Oh, Lily, it was bound to happen that you'd be the one asking instead.

That was a breath of fresh air and different, by the way. I usually find it so cliche when it's Lily asking James out, but from the way you were going about this story, I rather liked it. Good on James for finally giving Lily the confidence of doing it herself. It really was what she needed.

Also, I very much liked how you made their relationship, not so necessarily only about their fancy for each other but also the social issues it caused on the minority who witnessed their exchange. And it was not just Snape that Lily worried about there, but also the whole of the Slytherins.

Oh yeah, the one thing that bothered me in this chapter was that you made Mary MacDonald a pure-blood when in canon she's a muggle-born. However, it's not thoroughly so bothering because I also find it interesting. So, why the change?

Anyways, on to the next chapter I go now. :)
-Patty

 Report Review

Review #5, by pattybuns_hpfDirty Blood: Assumptions

26th July 2013:
I did not expect that kiss. I mean, yes, I was predicting it would happen, but not quite there. Oh well, it was bound to happen. I very am curious on how they'll get on from that. I do hope Lily will see that James really does care despite her being a muggle-born.

Again, I very much like how you're making the issue of blood statuses really significant in the relationship of James and Lily and Lily with the whole of the wizarding world. It feels so much like the olden days where noble high society were the important people while those of little wealth were tossed aside. Oh my, this is going good.

So, anyway, on I go to the next chapter!

-Patty.

 Report Review

Review #6, by pattybuns_hpfDirty Blood: Respect

26th July 2013:
I very much like how you're incorporating the issue of blood statuses into the story. I rather liked reading Lily's worries and understandings about it. It is an issue that is sometimes exaggerated or not mentioned at all in other fanfics I've read. From what I am reading in this chapter, it's real and an issue that cannot be ignored because it is happening.

Curious as always, on to the next chapter I go. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. I really wanted to focus the story on blood, because sometimes it gets completely ignored. And I think the bigger picture of how messed up the society was, really makes the whole thing more tragic.

 Report Review

Review #7, by pattybuns_hpfDirty Blood: Prejudice

26th July 2013:
You've got a good start of a fantastic story going on here. I am very curious to where it leads. So here I go on to the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #8, by pattybuns_hpfRecognition: Recognition

18th July 2013:
Bravo! My gosh, I totally felt all the Jily madness in this one-shot. I loved it. It felt like a sugar rush after I've eaten a chocolate with copious amounts of caffeine in it.

I very much liked the middle part of this story, it was very well written and I could just imagine them in my own little world the way they'd be so terrified of finding themselves in love. I've read many Jily fanfics but this is the first that is well developed in ideas one small chapter. You made me feel all the emotions all at once in so little amount of words. That was when Lily found out her parents died. You placed a subtle clue that the bluntness of one word triggered in me the emotions she would have also felt. I've always see James as the comforter. Not only he be brave enough to chase after Lily and be a total idiot but brave enough to be her emotional rock.

I don't really care how it felt hasty in the end, like a big sprint to the finish. It was a good finish, though, and I can't stop smiling from it all.

Anywho, you've got a great writing style and it's captivating. I would very much love to read more from you.

-Patty

 Report Review

Review #9, by pattybuns_hpfHallowed: The Tale of the Three Brothers

18th July 2013:
This is an interesting rendition of the tale. I do like where this is all going, but I can only guess where it will all go after their encounter with Death. You tell me because I am intrigued and would love another chapter of this. I also like how you've written the three bothers. It's great that you've established the differences between them like you've experienced something like it before. And the era in which you're writing. I do love those stories that have that medieval/olden times feel on them.

There were a few bumps on the flow of the story but it did get me to the end wanting for more. There were a few sentences that didn't quite make any sense and I thought weren't so necessary to a paragraph. BUT overall it was a good read and a good start for the adventures of Ignotus. As this is my first story about him I would really love to see how you go about this story.

And I don't think I'll be able to keep my eyes off from your story's banner and chapter image. They're truly beautiful and eye-catching for many miles around. Nice choices on the brother's faces, I can totally see them playing the Peverell brothers if ever there was a movie.

Anyway, I'm definitely following for another chapter. See you around. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by pattybuns_hpfFernweh: Sunset

17th July 2013:
With them speeding on the road, you got me scared quite a bit.

You write well, by the way. It holds a lot of potential. Some sentences weren't finished but I got what you were trying to say. I can just imagine what it felt to be free on the road just as Lysander gave the opportunity to be to Dominique.

 Report Review

Review #11, by pattybuns_hpfBathing in Roses: Bathing in Roses

26th August 2012:
I seriously cannot string together a perfect sentence right now. It had taken me several tries to sort out what I am feeling before actually writing this. I first followed this story all those months ago simply because it featured Hufflepuffs, which I don't see much of it here in this site to read. Then it turned out to be one of the best story I'd ever read. It was original. It had Albus. It had humour. And of course it had June Bernard who I came to adore throughout the duration of the story. Thank you for this marvelous read, I hope that sequel comes quite soon for me to read.

 Report Review

Review #12, by pattybuns_hpfIf Wishes Were Fishes: Wish Upon a Fish

19th August 2012:
I have been with this story since, I think, half-way through or around when it was in it's first ten chapters and have been in love with it since whenever I started to follow. It had gotten me very curious since reading the prologue. Your story is one of those that had interest and something to keep reading for. It had made me laugh and happy and simply in love with how you wrote James Potter. He's swimmingly one of the best written James Potter's I've read in all the years I've been reading Jily fanfiction. So yes on top of all we know about him you gave him depth. This story also made me cry several times that I knew with that amount of tear-inducing chapters that I'd be so attached to this story. Seriously, if a story makes me cry or emotionally feeling many feelings that I don't really know why I am then it's a story worth reading.

I wish I could go on but I don't want to bore you with repeating myself of how much this story is a BRILLIANT AND WONDERFUL MASTERPIECE. Yes. I think I'll go now before I start going on and fill this space with capitalized words that would most likely scare you...

Yup. Okay.

THANK YOU FOR THE MARVELOUS READ! xD
-Patty

Author's Response: Oh goodness you're so sweet! Thank you so much! I cannot even begin to explain how much all of the support my readers have given me means to me. I'm so glad you like my James too. I didn't want him to just be the lovesick boy pining after Lily, he's a PERSON and I wanted to give him a little more depth. I'm glad you liked the story, thanks SO MUCH for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by pattybuns_hpfSouthern Cross: Decisions and Departures

8th January 2012:
You've really done justice to everything Kiwi. I love this story because I can totally feel what Adelaide is feeling about homesickness. New Zealand is home and home is where the heart is as it says in the first chapter's title. This story made laugh and realize how Kiwi I am when it come to telling people about New Zealand. And you what, I'm proud to be a Kiwi. ;)

Author's Response: Oh yeah. I wrote those homesicky chapters while I was feeling homesick, so I hope they were relatable for that reason :P And you've just repeated everything I've been realising over the last few weeks - NZ is home and I'm so proud to be a Kiwi and to have been able to share that with readers :) Thanks for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #14, by pattybuns_hpfSouthern Cross: The Grass Is Always Greener

21st August 2011:
Love it as always! Can't wait to read on who is going to be selected.
Keep up the great story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'll try and update as soon as I can :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by pattybuns_hpfTurning the Tables: I'll Be There For You

10th March 2011:
Again, I like it very much. It's interesting and fun to see more of Corinne and her world. It's always great to know who the character is before jumping into the deep and heavy plots of what Corinne is about to endure. I love their friendship, Corinne's and Dom's, it's like mine although not so much hyperness for me.

Keep it up! I hope to see another chapter soon!
-Patty

Author's Response: thanks for reviewing it made me smile :)

It's good to know you like Cor and Dom because my main goal was to make them believable.

Next chappie should be up sometime next week!

-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #16, by pattybuns_hpfSouthern Cross: The Hogwarts Kids

4th March 2011:
I love it. I do. It's awesome. It's funny. It's so kiwi. xD Haha. But man, I didn't expect the exchange students to be Rose and Scorpius and them both being Ravenclaw. But I like it. It's something else different from all I've read of the next gen.

Anywho, I'm still excited for another chapter, so do keep updating! =]

-Patty

Author's Response: Thank you! I was aiming for the Kiwiness :P I've never read any Next Gen with either of them in Ravenclaw so I figured I'd do something a bit different. Thanks for the review, next chappie should be up in a week or two :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by pattybuns_hpfClash: Off-kilter

28th February 2011:
Yikes. Just yikes... I'm actually scared of what might happen next, but also craving to read it, too. Aggy's dilemma is one full of complication that I cannot even comprehend where you're taking this character to. She's still a mystery to me as Potter is.

-Patty

 Report Review

Review #18, by pattybuns_hpfTurning the Tables: Didn't Steal Your Boyfriend

25th February 2011:
I think it's great. But yes I agree, it's not the most original idea. Apart from that, though, I like it. I'd really love to read the rest of this story. I'd like to see how Corinne will cope when she sees James and Fred. I'd also would like to see their reactions on Corinne when they've realized who she is.

-Patty

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!
I'm trying to make the story as original as I can, with this idea in place, so hopefully I'll succeed in that. :)
next chapter should be up next week I'm thinking!

-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #19, by pattybuns_hpfSouthern Cross: Home. Apparently where my heart is.

24th February 2011:
I really like the idea of this story. It's intriguing especially how it's New Zealand. I live in New Zealand, by the way and I've got to say I'm quite excited on how this story will turn out.

-Patty

Author's Response: Thank you! I've never come across another story set in NZ, I had to write one :P

 Report Review

Review #20, by pattybuns_hpfOf Love, Lies and Loss: Victoire

20th February 2011:
Aww... That was so sweet. So sweet, in fact, that this was probably the best interpretation of how Teddy and Victoire got together. =]

Author's Response: Oh wow. Thank you! That's very sweet of you to say. I'm glad that you enjoyed it! ^.^ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #21, by pattybuns_hpfOf Love, Lies and Loss: Hugo

20th February 2011:
I've always found Hugo a very minor character. He's not usually in other next gen stories I've read. Even though I'm not sure what to think of this story of Hugo, I'd say this was pretty realistic, as though Hugo was truly headed on losing his freedom. Anywho, on a brighter note, I still love your writing. It's so convincing. x]

Author's Response: Totally agree. He doesn't get as much time as say James or Albus. I honestly think it's the hair. No one wants to write red-head boys. Lol.

Thank you so much for reviewing! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #22, by pattybuns_hpfMasquerade: ACT III.

28th January 2011:
That was the sweetest and most heart swooning ending I have ever read. Best Story Ever!

-Patty

Author's Response: Thank you! You're so sweet. ^^ --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #23, by pattybuns_hpfOf Love, Lies and Loss: James

24th January 2011:
He lies to get out of his Quidditch career! That is one heck of a father! Haha. Out of the whole chappie, I loved how James couldn't get what was on the picture frame. Funny moment that is.

-Patty

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you so much for leaving a review! --Jenna

 Report Review

Review #24, by pattybuns_hpfMasquerade: ACT II.

24th January 2011:
That was... so romantic and yet... so sad in the end. Oh, I hope James would be alright. Maybe, he will be, somehow. I do wish Lily had realized it wasn't Davey she had danced with. *sigh*

I really can't wait for the next!
-Patty

Author's Response: Oh, well you know it all works out in the end. Lol. James/Lily being canon and all. :)

Who knows...Lily may surprise you.

Thank you so much for the review! --Jenna


 Report Review

Review #25, by pattybuns_hpfMasquerade: ACT I.

3rd January 2011:
I love it! It's so original and interesting and fantastic that I'm excited for the next chapter already! Obviously, I cannot wait for the next one now.

-Patty

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope that you enjoy the rest as well. :D --Jenna

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>