Reading Reviews From Member: meghna
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by meghnaLemonworld: The Christmas Spirit

26th July 2013:
in vain i have struggled. it will not do. my feelings will not be repressed. YOU MUST ALLOW ME TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I ADORE AND ADMIRE THIS STORY.

ahem.

why are all your characters so endearing?? more importantly, how do you do it?? starting from chapter one where you have mum and dad and then fern and even colin, bless him. you make even colin the wet blanket endearing.

can we talk about lucy though. she is just perfect. also for making her a cartoonist i give you all the awards. they don't get enough love. i love her character in general -- how she's basically a train wreck but she /knows/ she's a train wreck and can't be arsed to do anything about it but eat biscuits. that's something i can relate to on many levels.

scorpius. why is it that everything that comes out of his mouth makes me want to smack my forehead and aww at him at the same time?? he is too precious. i wish you'd write more about the way he's dressed in future chapters because that is something i would like to read chapters and chapters of. all the house elf bow ties!

gah. in short, i am really happy to have stumbled across this and i have to say your lucy sounds like someone bikini kill would write a song about and basically i am already shipping lucy and scorpius to the ends of the earth. please update soon!

Author's Response: omg please don't tell anyone I had too google endearing because I am supposed to be a 'writer' and i'm sure most people who 'write' know what endearing means. i swear i'm usually good at... words, i'm just way too excited you reviewed my story and actually liked it(!)

i had no idea they were endearing, i mostly base them on people i wish i knew, or each character is just a collection of people i do know. oh, colin, i'm glad you like him.

i thought being a cartoonist would be pretty cool, admittedly, i have no idea what a cartoonist does in an average day of work, so i just make lucy slack off (and scoff biscuits). you're right! lucy does know she's a train that's fallen off the rails and destroyed a whole town! and i can relate to it too, i think we all have a bit of lucy in us.

i suppose you'll like the next chapter if you like scorpius, as usual, he's a complete dork. i'm not sure if he's, well, a realistic character because nobody could be that... awkward? and i will! but for now, just imagine trousers that are too short, wooly socks and cardigans.

i'm sorry, but i'm kind of freaking out because i love bikini kill and just, yeah, feminist music. so, well, you can probably guess that i'm kind of crying right now about how fantastic you are to leave such a big delicious review (probably not the best way to describe a review).

thANK U TY THX THEYANK YOU THANK YIY


 Report Review

Review #2, by meghnaMagic: it certainly does love you

3rd June 2013:
*_* i'm so glad i chose to review this story for the blue vs. bronze battle because it's so shiny omg

your descriptions are just so magical and delicate and wonderfully strung together. i think this is one of the few stories that i've read where you really get to revel in the magic and you've let it consume the entire story, which is so, so beautiful. i feel like there wasn't much we knew about canon Cho -- just that she was a Ravenclaw who was dating the most popular boy in school and later the most popular boy in the world lol. it was very very one-dimensional. but here you've added all these layers to her personality -- you've made her the perfect Ravenclaw, and i don't think anybody else has done this good a job with it. i loved the overall feel of this story. it was light, charming, and exposes a really delicate side of Cho that makes you want to explore more and read on till the end. lovely, lovely job with this!

Author's Response: Oh! I love finding new shiny reviews on older stories. It's always nice to revisit things. I'm very glad that you found this story to be enjoyable. It's one of the one-shots on my page that I'm the most proud of!

 Report Review

Review #3, by meghnaSailing Ship: Sailing Ship

28th May 2013:
I AM LITERALLY TRYING SO HARD TO CONTAIN MY SQUEES

ahem

1) "denial is the first step" "that's for when you're about to die" A+. ten gold stars. creme de la creme.
2) i love this sirius. i love this moony. just too cute for words sajkdsakdhjsa.
3) THE ENDING THOUGH. I'M A MESS. you think this is going to be one of those fluffy, innocent, harmless slash fics BUT NO you won't let me scroll down to completion without hinting that it's true, sirius and remus will love each other for the rest of their lives even though it's angsty and horrible and that june was right and ugh. pick me up from the floor you fiend. this is all your fault.

Author's Response: OH MEGHNA. SO OLD AND YOU STILL FIND THIS.

One day I just thought 'hay what would happen if there was a slash girl contemporary in Marauders' and then... yep. She's spunky AND progressive! And creepy, but that's unavoidable.

Sirius and Remus are going to be strong through their angst, you can do it too gurl, be strong.



 Report Review

Review #4, by meghnaThe Anatomy of Genius: The Anatomy of Genius

6th May 2013:
I was reading this on the bus on my way back from college and gah. Susan you are an incredible creature and there is really nothing more to be said. I haven't read fanfic in so long and decided to pop in and see what else you'd written and I'm so glad I did.

The first part of the story is probably my absolute favourite. I'm going to go so far as to say that it's one of the best opening paragraphs I've ever read. It's like you're sitting in Lily's head and thinking everything she's thinking, and every line is so real and incredibly crafted. What I loved most about your characterisation of Lily is that you didn't make this all about her love/non-hate for James. You stayed in touch with her background and it seeps into her every action and thought. The entire character development is just impeccable (as expected) and I am so jealous. James is wonderful. You make him so mysterious and enigmatic, yet there's enough about him that's made obvious for the reader to be absolutely besotted with him. Just loverly.

I'm so glad I read this, in all honesty. It's charming, sweet, with a tinge of bitterness that you capture to perfection. Oh look, I've run out of words.

Author's Response: *huggles* Thank you, Meghna! It's fantastic to hear that you liked this story so much. :D

I'm especially pleased that the opening paragraph was that effective - that first line especially demonstrates Lily's predicament, that annoying and disturbing problem of falling for someone you didn't want to. Then after ranting about her dislike of him, she leaps into admiring his hands, and that kind of conflict continues throughout the story. Lily fights, not with James, but with the image of him that she's created in her mind - it's founded in reality, based on the arrogant bully she's observed, but as she learns new things about him, she refuses to revise her opinion. The story is centered more on her struggle with herself than her struggle on James - there are already many stories that deal with that problem, but fewer that look closely at why Lily changed her mind and the soul-searching that would have required.

The characters grew on their own within this story, which made it wonderful to write this. James is enigmatic, just outside of Lily's grasp, and Lily herself second-guesses everything but her opinion of James. I'm so glad that you liked these characterizations - thank you for those wonderful compliments! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by meghnaClassic Rat Pack: some velvet morning years too late

15th September 2012:
Oh my god Dani I love this! The part with Remus and Neville was so sweet and wonderful and nice and just ugh it was perfect! And also Albus. I love your Albus oh god. I'M SO GLAD I COULD FINALLY READ THIS because your writing is bitter and wonderful and perfect and it captures a gazillion emotions to aptly with such few words and so little drama. It's clean, golden writing. MOAR.

 Report Review

Review #6, by meghnaThe Third Man: The Third Man

8th August 2012:
Oh my god Susan you terrible person why would you do this to me? I am the last person in the world who would ship Sirius and Lily BUT THIS FIC. THIS FIC. Wahh I'm just sitting here and my heart has gone all twisty and actually feeling things for this ship .___.

The writing is just perfect as always. It has a kind of melancholy tinge to it just makes it really angsty even (especially) when he's talking about the good times they had together. And Sirius' characterization in general is just amazing. It's really simply written but it evokes such strong feelings that will leave you lying dead on the floor.

Also I'm very happy that you use so much Orson Welles in everything :D This was amazing xx

Author's Response: *flails* Meghna! I purposely went out and wrote a story that would be painful - that's the fun part of writing Sirily. It will always end badly, even worse than Snily because it leaves Sirius with awful guilt and suffering (Lily always seems to get out of these stories pretty easily... strange). This story turned out to be so incredibly painful that I don't know what section of my brain is came from - probably a place I don't to know anything about. O_o

It's awesome to hear that this story was so affecting, even more so because it's not a ship you like. But this story, unlike some of the other Sirily ones I've done, could apply to other characters - it's not rooted just to Sirius, Lily, and James, and I wonder if that's the key to making a story like this - with a controversial ship - work.

Thank you so much for this review! It's left me happy for many days - it means a lot to hear these fabulous compliments from you! :D And yes, Welles everywhere! It would be cool to write a story like he made a movie - if only images translated so well into words. :P


 Report Review

Review #7, by meghnaFive Rebeccas: Rebecca The Fourth

6th August 2012:
LOVELY RITA.

Reasons why I love this story:
1) The Smiths. Ten gold stars already.
2) Your descriptions of the Rebeccas are so amazing? They're perfectly in character with Charlie and I can totally image a love-struck loon mooning over a girl the way you portray him to.
3) "The way she said it, the words sounded like most profane phrase ever uttered by man. But at the same time, it sounded like the anthem of a generation lost and betrayed by the light they hoped would never go out." *showers you with cookies*
4) "A cigarette burn on my brain" amazing line. A++
5) THE THIRD REBECCA ERMAHGERDDD. Favourite chapter of the whole collection! So adorable and sweet and still so sad towards the end. How do you write.
6) "The streetlampís light shone outside her window and we held each other, touched each other, loved each other, until it went out." Endless there is a light that never goes out references I actually want to cry these are so clever omg.

I'm done with the bullet points. FIFTH REBECCA, PLEASE. Oh god why did you stop Rita, this is so good ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by meghnaClassic Rat Pack: the ghosts you draw on my back

17th June 2012:
But I don't understand WHY DID YOU STOP? Tell me it's not a one shot? Oh god Dani you're writing is just so different, you know. It's so bitter - bitter with humour, bitter with angst. And it's just perfect. I've rarely read a fic that has managed to capture (let alone balance) both elements and the descriptions are all just perfect. I think the most endearing bit about all the characters -- and especially the central ones -- is that they seem so human, with their mistakes and behaviour and Rose's whole thought process is so confused but crisp at the same time like, how do you do that? And the Teddy/Rose conversation was just perfectly written and oh god I don't have any other words except for perfect, perfect, perfect. Keep writing or I'm coming after you with an army of Hulks. Please? Okay.

Author's Response: i've actually spent the entire day today thinking about how to respond to this?? because this is the first review i've gotten that's moved me more than i can even express into words and i don't know what to do with myself. or you. mostly you. you're too nice. look at how much i'm blushing.
this is actually a huge rewrite of the first two chapters i had originally posted a year and a half ago, so i've had tons of time to just think about each character and try to make them as realistic as possible. i have this embarrassingly huge word file that i call the 'master classic rat pack' where it's just a bunch of random paragraphs and lists of words and character traits ._. but yeah, i'm beyond happy you mentioned that about the characters seeing as this is next generation and there's really no preconceived notions, like there would be with a trio fic. although maybe there are. rose/scorpius fans are probably running in the opposite direction.
ahaha, no need for the army of hulks, the second chapter is halfway done at this point! but i'm sure i'll need them sometime along the way.
meghna, wah. this makes my heart hurt. no one's ever complimented my writing in such a way, and i appreciate it so much. you've inspired me to keep writing this :')


 Report Review

Review #9, by meghnaYou'll Be Alright: You'll Be Alright

17th June 2012:
Well, there you go. You've reduced me into a sad mush of post-angst goop.

'She had always felt very awkward and uncomfortable around babies, and her habitual clumsiness did not help. But that changed when she had Teddy.' This line is so beautiful and after reading it you just /know/ that it's going to be a great story. I think the way the sentence is placed in the story is really important, because the chapter starts off with Tonks feeling at home with Teddy in her arms, only to decide that she has to leave him behind. The ending gave me goosebumps - starting with Tonks rushing to find Lupin especially when you and I both know he will be death, or will be soon enough, to watch him die right in front of her. Again, I love the line 'With each flash of her wand, Tonks thought of her husband, and her fatherless son.' and you just know instantly that she's trying so desperately hard to stay alive for Teddy, so that he won't have an entirely broken family. The ending was canon and therefore inevitable, but you traced out the emotional turmoil rather subtly but still at heartbreaking pace. Wonderful writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I had a very hard time writing it. I'm not usually an angsty writer so I wasn't sure how the angst would come across. I wish I hadn't had to have Tonks die, but its canon *sigh* Anyway I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by meghnaSomething About James Potter: Simply Learning a Lesson

17th June 2012:
OH MY GOD THIS IS MY NEW FAVOURITE STORY E V E R.

Emma seriously the writing is just brilliant and so hilarious my face was stretched into the widest grin ever the whole time I was reading it and THINGS I LOVED
1. "I've got 99 problems, but a Snitch ain't one."
2. definition of swat oh god I laughed so hard
3. GINNY OH GOD MOST PERFECT MINOR CHARACTER IN THIS STORY and she's actually one of my least favourite in the actual HP series so all the kudos in the world coming your way
4. the giant squid oh dear just leave me here to pray for my insides

A m a z i n g. Emma you're my new favourite. KEEP GOING AND UPDATE SOON.

 Report Review

Review #11, by meghnahope khol:professional nobody: from avoidance to protection

17th May 2012:
asdjkhajsdhasd MY EYES LITERALLY WENT LIKE SAUCERS WHEN I SAW THIS STORY UP AGAIN. ugh you need to update sooner because this is like one of my favourite stories ever and everything is perfect and the characters and their relationships ugh ugh ugh STOP IT and just update. please. thanks.

 Report Review

Review #12, by meghnaetc. etc. (and life goes on): Everyone Wants Me (Dead)

26th March 2012:
GINA I AM GOING TO KILL YOU omg with all the hype you created I thought you were going to give me like ten chapters. I H8 U. ugh ugh ugh UPDATE SOON PLS forget about finals and computer science and please, just give me more albusgerald >D Oh that was awful. I'll stop.

Author's Response: HEHEH. i did not create hype, you created hype in your headd.

♥ I SHALL TRYYY. Sooon. I'm on break now actually. I'm just being lazy nyahh.


 Report Review

Review #13, by meghna10 Things I Love About Carissa Stover: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

18th August 2009:
Omggg this was so fricken cuuute ^_^ Srsly, I just LOVE Sirius/OCs and this short story is one of my favourites :) It was short and sweet!
Keep up the great writing :)

~Meghna

 Report Review

Review #14, by meghnaUnwell: 6. The Weakness In Me

8th May 2009:
I love it :)
I feel so bad for Sirius, though :( Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by meghnaRainwater.: Rainwater.

27th January 2009:
Aww. =(
Easily the saddest one-shot I've ever read!

Author's Response: thank you your review means so much to me and your the first, yey cookies to you, :D x

 Report Review

Review #16, by meghnaKnowledge and Experience; Or Why I Should Know Better By Now: The Strange and Familiar Hogwarts Express

17th December 2008:
E! Yay! More Sirius, more Sirius PLEEEASSSE! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by meghnaLife's Not Always Black and White~ A Marauders Story: Here's To Us

24th May 2008:
All I can say is WOW.

100/10

Author's Response: Aw, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #18, by meghnaStay: Stay

21st May 2008:
Wow! It's great! Keep more coming!

Author's Response: haha well thanks:] I've got another one-shot coming actually:P

 Report Review

Review #19, by meghnaSerendipity: Trick Staircases and Moonlit Lakes

19th May 2008:
I have just one thing to say: WOW!

Author's Response: Backatcha! Wow! Thank you so much!!!! xD

~Luna


 Report Review

Review #20, by meghnawith birds in her hair: The call of the wild

6th May 2008:
Wow! This is my all-time favourite! I swear! It's lovely! And the way you depict Vienna's innocent character is amazing! Sirius is really sweet as well!
I love the Chapter names as well. It's really cute, the whole concept!
Keep them coming! Too bad only 2 chapters left!

Good luck!
Always,
Meghna. :o)

Author's Response: oh thankyou, yes she's a little darling, and very innocent at that. her minds up in the clouds (not the gutter, thank god!) oh thanks, im glad you do! i thought it was rather clever myself ahahahaa *blushes*. i know, two chapters, its very sad. i shall update as often as i can.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login