Reading Reviews From Member: celticbard
  
210 Reviews Found

Review #26, by celticbardNarcissa, Dream: Dream, sweet

23rd December 2010:
Hey Shiloh!
This piece has so much of the perverted fairy tale in it, accompanied by a subtle layer of tension and desire. I really like what you've done with Narcissa here. She is almost unreachable in her perfection. Although I want to relate to her as a character, although I feel as though I should pity her, I really can't. She's raised herself above human emotion and the only thing that's left of her is that tiny trace of doubt, nearly imperceptible, but potent when recognized.

This was a lovely, poetic piece, Shiloh. I enjoyed every bit of it. The emphasis on perfection and purity had a creepy undertone to it, perfectly echoing the Pureblood fanaticism of Voldermort and his Death Eaters. Lucius was likewise well done and although I think he loves Narcissa, his expectations of her are chilling.

This was a great one-shot, Shiloh. Really wonderful writing.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had fun writing this piece and I really tried to capture the way Narcissa would be feeling. Realizing, perhaps, what she's gotten herself into but the reality being that she chose this. She's made her bed and now she must lie in it.

Your reviews are so lovely :)
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #27, by celticbardSpaces: Only This

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
You know, I've always found it odd that strange pairings can sometimes seem perfectly canon. Honestly, after reading this fic, I'm completely convinced that Dudley and Pansy are meant for each other. And even though they seem to be vastly different characters, they both have something very important in common: Harry. I think you did an amazing job bringing out this theme, because, when you think about it, Dudley and Pansy have strong reasons to feel alienated from Harry. Their families both brought them up to view him as a threat and inferior. Harry also inadvertently cost them their comfortable, secure lifestyles. How wonderfully creative of you to take their disregard for Harry and turn it on its head! I mean, who would have thought that Harry, of all people, would be the one to bring them together? That aspect alone makes this fic wonderfully complex and so powerful.

In addition, I loved your use of repetition in this piece. It worked so very well, giving the story a measured flow and an ending that was perfectly satisfying. Your characterization of Dudley and Pansy was also great. You treated them with sensitivity and sympathy while giving them both strong personalities. Dudley seems like a truly kind man, while Pansy has this stubborn, independent streak I really admire.

So yes, I absolutely adored this piece. Excellent writing. I'm favoriting this right now! ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! This was hard for me. It was for a challenge so I was given the pairing. I never would have thought of it! But I ended up rather liking it :)
The similarities in their upbringing was intriguing. Opposite sides of the same coin.

I liked giving Pansy a bit of redemption. I think in canon she never would have quite this sort of chance to redeem herself. I assume she went on to be rather insufferable for the rest of her life. But here, for a little while at least, she's alright.

I'm so glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by celticbardThe Still Point: The Door Never Opened

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
I'm sort of on a Tom Riddle kick right now, so when I saw you had a Tom/Minerva story I just couldn't help myself. This piece has so many wonderful points, but the one I found to be most striking (and now you're going to think I'm weird) was the absolute lack of dialogue. This story is definitely not a talky fic and while I think a good many one-shots need dialogue to carry them along, this one didn't. You were so right to leave it out. Neither Minerva nor Tom strike me as the talky type. Instead, I think they both rely on their minds to provide the internal conversation and it felt completely realistic to have them be silent. You have a heck of an intuition when it comes to your characters. Great job!

As you may have already gleaned from my rambling, I did very much enjoy your take on Tom and Minerva. The similarities between them are striking. If things had been different, I think they could have made for an extremely interesting couple. They both have that fierce drive and sense of ambition, but there is an undercurrent of restraint in them that is so unique.

In short, I absolutely loved this piece. You should definitely write more Tom/Minerva, because I just adore what you did with the pairing here. Thanks for the great read!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! Oh my gosh you leave such awesome reviews! :)

I found Tom/Minerva so fascinating. I think I read a oneshot by Majikat? Or Elesphyl? One of those lovely ladies in which this pairing featured and I just had to try it out for myself.

It's interesting. He's so inhuman and she goes on to be one of the most human and strong, good people ever. I really like the idea of this. Nothing ever really comes of them. Nothing ever could. But it's like Tom almost thinks about having a redeeming quality. Almost.


 Report Review

Review #29, by celticbardPromise Me Forever: Roses and Moonbeams

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
All right, here I go, ready to gush. The first line was amazing. Stunning in its beauty, really. The reference to black and white movies worked so well and really gave this piece that romantic, old timey feel. It set the mood right away and I was entranced from the beginning to the end.

Also, I really, really like Dominique in this. Her innocent sense of logic is so Luna-ish, but not grating in its off-beat nature. She reminds me of a flower child in this, or at least, a Romantic along the line of Keats.

The rose metaphor was also great. Love, after all, is beautiful like a rose, but it can be painful. In fact, I do think there was a slight undercurrent of love-struck torment in this fic. Teddy longs to catch Dominique, but she eludes him until the very last moment, until she can come to him on her own terms. Very nice!

Needless to say, I really loved this fic, Shiloh. Your writing came across as effortless and beautiful. Congrats on producing a lovely piece!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you!
I loved writing this story but writing Dominique this way was hard too. It took me awhile to find the right tone for her.

You flatter me! It certainly didn't feel effortless when I was writing it :P



 Report Review

Review #30, by celticbardHey Lucy: Half Timing, Half Luck

23rd December 2010:
Wow! So Lorcan isn't just overly sensitive, he's delusion. At least, that's my take on things. He seems to have very unrealistic expectations of Lucy and clearly, he idolizes her. Unfortunately, I think his notion of her flawless nature is going to come crashing down. Right now, he has her on a pedestal and if their relationship is ever going to work, he is going to have to realize that she isn't perfect.

I liked the fact that Lysander was the more grounded of the twins. He was able to give Lorcan the proverbial smack upside the head he needed.

As for Lucy, I can't wait to see more of her character. She really seems like an interesting young woman and I'm curious as to just why she followed Lorcan into the field of International diplomacy. It makes me think that he might have had a greater influence on her than she initially lets on.

This was another well-written chapter, Shiloh, a few typos here and there, but nothing that can't be fixed with a quick once-over. Please do update soon! I'm eager to see just what Lorcan has in mind now that his brother has set him straight. Until then, take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Haha, delusional. That's good. I like that. He is, a bit. He over-romanticizes everything and it almost ruins things for him. Without Lysander's advice I don't know that he would ever have gotten his act together.
The scene between the brothers was my favorite to write, definitely. Lysander was the typical wild-child and now he's the one who has to give the situation perspective. I love how grown up he is and how he guides his rather ridiculous brother to a realistic conclusion.

Lucy is so practical and adorable. She's the perfect fit for Lorcan, really.

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #31, by celticbardHey Lucy: My Foolish Heart

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
I'm back for chapter two. This was a nice follow-up to the previous installment. We got to see more of Lorcan, along with Lucy and some of the other Next-Gen clan. I liked the fact that James has his father's sense of nonchalant humor. Although he was a bit oblivious, I didn't find him at all obnoxious, but rather good-natured. Molly was also cute, very sweet, understanding and intuitive.

As for Lorcan, I have to say, his perceptions are very feminine. Not that that's a bad thing, mind you, I just think it makes him very gentle and sensitive. He's not robust like James and I do feel as though he's almost aloof, which is a really fabulous trait when done right. And you, my dear, have done it perfectly. ^_^

There were a few minor errors in this chapter. At the end, you switched POVs briefly from Lorcan to Molly. And the fact that Lorcan reiterates his job description to Molly seemed somewhat repetitive to me, although I understand you wanted to allow Molly to introduce the fact that Lucy works for the same department. Otherwise, this was a very enjoyable chapter. Onto the next!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Haha, Lorcan is a bit feminine in how he sees things.
James was probably my favorite part to write. I'm rather fond of him and I just love to make him silly, but so kind at heart.

I did go back and edit a few things you mentioned. I appreciate you taking the time to point them out!

Thank you so much for another lovely review
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #32, by celticbardHey Lucy: Can't Help Myself

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
Haha, I certainly know how you feel about starting a new WIP, I'm the same way myself. However, I must say, I think this story is well worth the effort. I really like this opening chapter. Lorcan seems like such a sensitive young man and yet, there is something cavalier in him, just in the way he says "Hey Lucy".

I also loved how the first scene kept making references to loss, the loss her scent, the loss of the feel of her hair on his skin. All those little foreshadowing elements really paid off when it came to the second scene. No wonder why Lorcan is experiencing a sense of loss, the love of his life is with another man!

And although there is an undercurrent of angst in this chapter, the emotion wasn't entirely overwhelming, which I think works well for this type of fic.

Needless to say, I'm glad I read this. The writing was strong and quite enjoyable. Great job!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so happy to hear when someone likes a new project.

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter. I started writing this as a one-shot and then Lorcan came along and demanded I let him get the girl, so it became a short story :) I'm fond of this piece and I am so glad you like it.

Thank you for the review!
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #33, by celticbardUntouchable: His Cry of Lament

21st December 2010:
Hello maskedmuggle,
I'm here from the Review Tag thread over on the forums to take a look at your piece. I must say, I am a fan of the Lily/Snape pairing, although I rarely read fics featuring them. This piece was very sweet...and heartbreaking. Unrequited love, especially a love as pure and dedicated as Snape's, is unbelievably tragic. I think you did an excellent job relaying Snape's desperation and frustration without making his internal dialogue too melodramatic. Otherwise, your writing was solid, with no obvious typos. This was a very enjoyable piece, maskedmuggle. I'm glad I had an opportunity to read it.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hello!
Thanks for stopping by and reading my fic :D

It's a bit weird that personally I'm not a fan of Lily/Snape. I only wrote this for a song fic, but otherwise I would never write this pairing, and I never read it.

I'm glad you thought I did a good job relating Snape's feelings, and that my writing is solid!

Thank you very much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by celticbardWeasleys' Wizard Wheezes: First Day of Work

13th December 2010:
Hi baletgir!
I thought I'd drop by from the Review Chain thread over on TGS to take a look at the next chapter of this fic. ;) James certainly is lazy, isn't he? And so is Fred! I feel a bit bad for George. It seems like he's got quite a handful there. I also enjoyed the scene in which George tells James to drop the Uncle and call him Mr. Weasley instead. It's nice to see him adopting an air of professionalism.

Now, on to my nitpicky comments. You did a good job of staying in the same tense throughout this chapter, however, it was in a different tense than the previous chapter (chapter one being in the past tense, chapter two being in the present). I would suggest you find the tense you are most comfortable with and use it throughout the story, otherwise, the switches from chapter to chapter can be quite jarring.

My only other complaint regards the content of this chapter. In my opinion, nothing really seemed to happen. James started to work for his uncle, stacked some boxes and then went home. It wasn't the most interesting thing to read about, if I'm being entirely honest. As a reader, I would like to see more happen. Maybe Fred and James accidentally break something important, or James tries to work the cash register and ends up making a mess of things. Also, some more description would really make this chapter shine. Does George still look the same or has he aged? What about Fred? What does the shop look like? Smell like? Is it noisy? Adding these little details would really help bring your readers closer to the characters and the story as a whole, I think.

Other than that, this chapter was well-written. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read it and I look forward to your next update. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hahaha, Fred and James. Yes they are quite lazy. I think that's why they get along so well with one another.

Ahhh tenses... How I hate them. First I am fully aware of the change from chapter one to chapter two. I think I took on too much with writing in 3rd person and past tense both for the first time in the first chapter, I decided that I should just try to work on one or the other for the rest of the story.Every chapter from here on out will be in the present! I am planning on going back and rewriting chapter 1 to make it more cohesive. But thank you for the comment on that, it will hopefully motive me to work on Chapter 1.

It was kind of boring huh? Thanks for bring my attention to that. I guess it was a kind of filler chapter, but much too early. I like the idea of them doing something wrong to get a bit of action into it. I think I may go write something where George can do some yelling...

I am so glad you thought this chapter was well written and are considering to read more!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #35, by celticbardWeasleys' Wizard Wheezes: Home For Summer Holiday

8th December 2010:
Hi Baletgir,
I'm here from the Review Tag thread over on the forums. First off, congrats on starting your first multi-chaptered fic. They're tons of fun to write and I'm sure you'll have a great time watching your characters grow and the plot progress. I think you have a strong opening here. You did a good job introducing your main character and the Potter family. It was nice to see the Next-Gen kids portrayed as somewhat bratty and less than perfect. Also, I enjoyed your take on Harry and Ginny's parenting styles. They're definitely not perfect parents, but that makes them all the more real and easier to relate to.

On the nit-picky side, I did notice a tense change in the first few paragraphs. There were also a few awkward sentences/phrases here and there, but other than that, this chapter read smoothly. Nice work.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Why thank you so much for the review celticbard! I am so glad that you seemed to enjoy the characters how I portrayed them and that it seems somewhat realistic! I had a feeling this warranted another read through and possibly another beta. Tenses are the hardest thing for me. *Sigh*
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #36, by celticbardThe Weed That Blooms: The Weed That Blooms

2nd December 2010:
Hey Elysium!
I believe this the first story of your's I've read and I must say, this little ficlet did not disappoint! There were so many things that worked in this story, and I mean really worked. The contrast between Scorpius and Rose was masterfully done. It seems like a lot of writers just love to illustrate how different two lovers can be and sometimes, their characters suffer for it. Not so here. I loved Scorpius's vulnerability coupled with his stoicism. It was a really believable contradiction in his personality. Also, that last line, wow, I think I'm going to remember that one for a long time.

This was a lush, beautiful little fic and I'm truly glad I read it. Nice work!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Wow.. thank you for such a gorgeous, thought-provoking review :D I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and that you got enough out of the 500 words to read into Scorpius in that way. It was a wonderful challenge and I'm pretty happy with how this little ficlet turned out. Thanks so much for the generous feedback!

- Kylie


 Report Review

Review #37, by celticbardStand by the Fire: Stand by the Fire

31st October 2010:
Hi Unwritten Curse!
Ah, such yummy darkness! What a wonderfully twisted story...perfect for Halloween. I really, really enjoyed this. Voldemort's initial reaction to Bellatrix's arrival was brilliant. Her transition from wild, powerful madwoman to--quite literally--the kicked dog, was seamless. And you do write insanity extremely well, without any trace of tired stereotypes or awkwardness.

I was also happy to see Voldemort draw completely away from Bellatrix at the end. He is, I would assume, incapable of loving another human being. Witnessing his temptation, however, did give his character remarkable depth in this fic.

Lovely work, all around. I'm so glad I read this. Take care and have a Happy Halloween!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Yummy darkness. I love that. Exactly what I was going for, really! I'm rather drawn to darker plotlines... I'm not entirely sure why. So glad to hear that you think I wrote insanity convincingly. It's always been an intriguing subject. And to hear that I gave Voldemort depth - wow, thank you. What a compliment! And from someone I admire so much, that means a lot. (:

Anyway, thank you so much for your review. So sorry it's taken me ages to get back to you!


 Report Review

Review #38, by celticbardBrains & Brawn: Pretty Down to your Bones

3rd October 2010:
Yay, a new chapter! Just the thing I needed to make my Sunday afternoon perfect. ;) This was awesome, needless to say. I asbolutely adore your writing, Tanya. And the scene with Lupin...wow. It reminded me why Remus is still my favorite HP character. I shall be stalking your author's page until you update. And happy birthday!!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Thank you so much, darling! I'm SOSOSOSOSOSO SORRY that i'm a terrible person and have not been beta-ing to my fullest extent. Sigh. College eats people, i swear! I'll try to get to it tonight or tomorrow D:

 Report Review

Review #39, by celticbardAlways: Always

18th September 2010:
Hi SeverusLove!
Congrats on writing and posting your first fic! I know how terribly nerve-wracking it can be. ^_^ After reading this one-shot, I'd say you've done quite well. There is definitely room for improvement, but I think you have a firm base to work with.

Firstly, your description of Severus's desperation, his panic and resentment, his fear and gradual acceptance of death, was very well done. You really seem to understand his character, which is not an easy thing, considering how complex Snape is.

Also, I really enjoyed the brief exchange between James and Severus at King's Cross Station. Their mutual acceptance of each other in death was very touching, and, I think, quite realistic.

Other than that, I would suggest you try to work on your opening paragraph. It was a bit all over the place and I, as a reader, didn't have a clear grasp of exactly when and where this story was taking place. You might also want to slow things down just a little. Pacing is important for a story. In particular, I felt the scene in which Harry suddenly appears before the dying Severus read a little rushed. The very real conflict of Snape dying alone without completing his task was diminished by the rather quick solution of his quandary.

Over all, I thought this was a really nice story. You should be very proud of yourself for taking the first step and posting on HPFF. I look forward to seeing more of your work in the future. Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: celticbard,

Thank you for taking time to read my story, I really appreciate it.

Well, I love writing Snape 'cooz he's my favorite. I was worried I wasn't gonna be able to do justice to Snape so I'm glad you think it was believable and not out of character for him.

Well, yeah, I guess I seem to have a weakness with pacing. I've been editing this story again and again but I can never get the pacing right. I'll have to learn to slow down.

I was going for an opening that would make people curious and interested but it turned out all wrong and looked kinda boring and annoying instead. :P

Anyway, thank you again for taking time to read and review,

I Send You my Utmost Gratitude,
Sevvy


 Report Review

Review #40, by celticbardLet the Flames Begin: And the Champions Are....

3rd September 2010:
Hi Moonbaby,
I'm here from the HPFF Review Tag thread to take a look at your story. ^_^

This first chapter sets up an interesting plot. It was nice to see all the Next-Gen kids not getting along perfectly. Their rivalry in this fic is not good-natured, but rather, has a sharp edge to it. These kids really don't like each other, which makes them all the more realistic. I also liked the fact that the rest of the student body of Hogwarts was less than thrilled to see that only Weasleys made it into the House Cup competition. Their not an entirely popular group, which allows for a unique perspective, considering the fame of their parents.

As far as constructive criticism goes, I would suggest you try not to introduce too many new characters in such a sort space of time. With a bunch of new names and faces to digest, readers can quickly find themselves lost. Also, I would consider adding a bit more description. You don't have to overload your story with sensory details, but it would be nice to get inside Lucy's head and experience what she does. Of course, these suggestions are only based on my opinions. Please do take them with a grain of salt. ^_^

Good luck with this fic!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :) I'm glad that you enjoyed the chapter, and I've been thinking about going back and editing this one up a bit, so thanks for the suggestions! ;)

 Report Review

Review #41, by celticbardThe Simple Things: The Simple Things

31st August 2010:
Hi Len!
This was a charming little story, sad, but wistful. I definitely enjoyed the unique pairing (Blaise/Gabrielle) and also your less than traditional take on the Next-Gen era. Zoe is an interesting character and peeking through this story, I noticed subtle hints of a rich background and history. Even if you don't expand on her character in another story, I think you did a good job in fleshing her out in this fic. So many times it seems as though writers leave important details of characterization out of their one-shots. In this fic, however, I got the sense that there was much more to Zoe which really made her memorable.

Also, I especially liked the line about the weight of love. It was simple, yet poetic. Very beautiful!

Thanks for posting this one-shot, Len. I'm glad I got the chance to read it. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Lee Anne, thank you so much for taking the time to read this one-shot of mine. It means a lot to hear back from an author I absolutely adore :D

That line about the weight of love, it's my absolute favourite line of the whole fic to be honest. When I was writing it, I was like "wow". I'm so glad you like it too.

Blaise/Gabrielle is such an interesting pairing to write, and I love Zoe. Eventually I plan to write a prequel of sorts to Blaise/Gabrielle. Just don't know when.

Thanks for the fantastic review! As I said, it means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #42, by celticbardSomber : In Which She Refuses To Wilt

27th August 2010:
Hi Linda!
I'm here from the TGS review chain to take a look at your story. This was an exquisitely lovely piece. I don't think I've ever read a fic about the Prewetts before and this was a marvelous introduction.

At first, I thought I wasn't going to like Amelia. There was just too much tragedy in her life to stomach. And then, you began to flesh her out, make her real, give her life and she became truly memorable. I love how she tries to justify her relationship with Gideon while he is still married to Marlene. She is so desperate to have a life with him and yet, she cannot entirely dismiss Marlene's presence.

The recurring theme of rubies, amethysts and flowers gave this piece an ethereal feel to it and yet, reality was established in the suddenness of Gideon's death. I have to admit, that single line took me quite by surprise, but it worked seamlessly with the mood you set.

I really enjoyed reading this story, Linda. Lovely writing all around.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for taking some time to read and review. I really appreciate it. :)

I'm really appreciative of the fact that you thought that this was a lovely piece. I've been getting a lot of compliments on this piece, but it means a lot to me, coming from you!

I can see what you mean. That wasn't entirely my fault, though. You'll have to blame JK for giving her such a tragic past. I'm really glad, though, in the end that I could make her memorable. I do like her despite the fact that she embarks on a relationship with a man whom she knows is taken. I don't think that Marlene was ever married to Gideon (at least not in this piece), but she was definitely the girl he chose first.

I'm also quite impressed that you thought that single line wasn't out of place and fit in seamlessly with the rest!

Thanks so very much!


Linders


 Report Review

Review #43, by celticbardSlytherin Support: Scorpius Support

23rd August 2010:
Hi baletgir!
I'm here from the TGS Review Exchange to take a look at your story. This was a very cute one-shot. I must say your characterizations were wonderful. After only a thousand words or so, I had a perfect idea of what Albus, Scorpius and even the Potters were like. The fact that Albus and Scorpius have become friends so quickly makes me believe that Albus will have no trouble fitting in with his Slytherin housemates and the rest of his class.

I also really enjoyed your take on Scorpius. He is refreshingly different from his father, sharp, witty and funny, without a trace of brooding.

Also, leave it to a Potter to be a trail-blazer in creating house unity. And it seems as though Albus's parents already have a sense of his potential.

The only thing that left me wondering was the four day gap between Albus's letter and his parents'. Why did it take them so long to write? I highly doubt they disapproved of Albus being placed in Slytherin. It would have been interesting to see how you resolved that particular issue, but then again, this is your story and I wouldn't want to influence your style. After all, you've given me something to think about and that's a good thing!

I really enjoyed reading this one-shot, baletgir. Thanks for posting it!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a nice review, celticbard! I am so glad that you enjoyed reading this.

The four days. Tehehe, I wanted a real reason for Albus to worry, something that was reasonable, and that was what I came up with. I honestly want to say the reason it wasn't mentioned was because it's Albus' POV and it didn't come into play during this time, but that isn't the truth. I had a few ideas as to why but never decided which I liked best, which is why an explanation wasn't included.

:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #44, by celticbardBrains & Brawn: Minus the Drama and the Fraud

27th May 2010:
I'm loving this story, soliloquy! Your writing is both realistic and eloquent. Very enjoyable and highly addictive. Please update soon!

Best,
Lee Anne

PS And thanks so much for including Freddy. I feel so honored. *blushes*

Author's Response: Aw. Thank you, darling. ^_^ The story, lemme tell you, would not be the same without the charisma of Freddy. Thank YOU for letting me use her! I'm really glad you're enjoying it -- it's such a compliment, coming from a writer I admire so much. You're wonderful, Lee Anne!



 Report Review

Review #45, by celticbardLosing Neverland: Chapter 1: A Mixed Reception

4th May 2010:
Hi Rachelle!
I'm here from the TGS Review Chain to take a look at your fic. And my oh my, I'm so glad I stumbled upon this one. What a fantastic opening chapter! You are a truly talented writer and I simply adore your sentence structure. It is very organic, following the pattern of internal dialogue and, I have to admit, it fits the tone of this story perfectly.

The slow build-up of tension in this chapter was brilliant, by the way. Ginny's reaction to James' note was chilling. Hmm, I'm sensing some serious family drama here.

I really loved this, Rachelle. Amazing writing. I do hope you update soon. ^_^

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Hi Lee Anne!

Okay, give me a minute to gawp gormlessly at the review and get my head around it :P

Honestly, every word you've said made me both grin enormously and blush and I don't really know what to say in true reply so I'm going to just say thank you so much for reviewing. I appreciate it so much!


xx


 Report Review

Review #46, by celticbardDemented: Prologue: What Nightmares Are Made Of

13th April 2010:
Hi Georgia!
I'm here from the review chain at TGS. Ah, what a creep-tastic prologue! You know me, I'm such a horror nut and this story was just my cup of tea. I must say, your writing is very elegant, something out of Gothic mystery with swirling white curtains, wounded maidens and a desperate lover. Very intriguing indeed. Good job!

Best,
celticbard

 Report Review

Review #47, by celticbardNot According to the Plans: Not According to the Plans

12th April 2010:
Ah, leave it to Hermione to plan out every little detail of child bearing. This was a cute little one-shot, Elena. I think you did a great job of portraying Ron and Hermione's relationship. They really do seem made for each other. And for once, it was nice to see Ron figure things out before Hermione. A very sweet story.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Poor Ron, he never really gets to be the serious one ;)

And yes! Although it may never seem like it, I am a Ronmione shipper - just Canon wise. I was so disappointed in DH and how rushed and pushed together they were in the end. The build up to their eventual pairing was so great and slow that I expected more...So I hope I give them the justice that they deserve :)

Thank you for the review


 Report Review

Review #48, by celticbardFor Keeps: Didn't Say I Wasn't Tempted

12th April 2010:
Hi Ty!
Oh, this is the last posted chapter. *cries* Reading this story has truly become the highlight of my week. I've enjoyed it so much. And yes, that's a not so subtle hint to UPDATE SOON!!

This chapter worked on so many levels. I can really appreciate Victoire's acceptance of her situation. Life certainly isn't perfect, but she's willing to make lemonade out of whatever lemons she's been given. The restored rug was a really nice touch. It seems as though her relationship with Iska is going to be a bit more complicated than I originally thought. To be honest, I'm not sure what I think of Iska now. She does seem to be a nice person, very considerate and thoughtful. Hmm, I suppose I'll have to withhold my judgments for now.

The scene in Trimble's office also worked quite well. I'm so glad Victoire stood up to the pushy professor. Now hopefully Fin will agree to do the study and she'll be set.

Hmm, it just occurred to me, I haven't commented on Victoire's animagus abilities. Needless to say, I find her situation very fascinating, although I'll admit I haven't figured out what kind of bird she is yet.

This is a lovely story, Ty and I'll certainly be on the look-out for the next chapter. Take care and have a pleasant week!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hi,

I'm so glad this chapter worked. I thought at one point that I probably couldn't have beat that rug any more if I tried. I think we'll just let it lie for a while now ;)

Iska does have her moments which makes it inconvenient to hate her on principle. Yes, pushy pretty much describes Trimble. I'm very glad you thought that scene worked. There will be more on Vic's abilities - and life as a snidget - as she tries to sort out the latest manifestation.

I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed this exchange. Not only for the great comments you have given me but also because I have really enjoyed Breathless and getting to know Freddy.

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #49, by celticbardHarry's First Christmas: One.

11th April 2010:
Hi Alicia!
I'm here from the review chain over at TGS. Aww, what an adorable story! You know, I haven't read fluff in ages...this fic just hit the spot. It made me feel all warm and cuddly inside. ;)

No, seriously, this story was just too cute, and, of course, more than a little bittersweet. It was nice seeing the Marauders fawn over baby Harry. And Lily was certainly one proud mother.

I also enjoyed the mention of Peter. His absence made me wonder...was he already in the Dark Lord's camp at this time?

This really was a lovely story, Alicia. I'm so glad I had the chance to read it. Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Lee Anne!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I have always wondered what life was like for the Potter's before that tragic night, and well, that's where this little story came to be.

I'm glad you liked it so well and thanks again for the lovely review, dear.




 Report Review

Review #50, by celticbardFor Keeps: Not Your Standard Muggle Event

10th April 2010:
Hi Ty!
I'm back for chapter seven. Hmm, maybe I was right about Victoire finding a little companionship with Owen. He really seems like a nice guy, but I wonder how Teddy would react if discovered the two were romantically involved. Although, if Victoire started dating Owen, maybe Teddy would finally realize just how much he cares for her. Either way, I wouldn't want to see Owen get hurt. He's quickly becoming one of my favorite characters.

The scene with the rug was hilarious. How awkward! I can't imagine how embarrassed Victoire must have felt. Ugh. I think I would have hidden under my bed. Despite the tense situation, it did provide a nice Teddy/Vic moment at the end. At least they seem to be tolerating each other now.

I'm loving this story, Ty! It's going on my favorites list right now. Off to chapter eight. ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Yeah, Teddy wants everyone to get along-- but NOT that well. Owen is a smart boy. Very smart when it comes to figuring women out so he is likely going to be rather cautious how he proceeds.

I'm glad you found the rug bit funny. Victoire might some day as well. Too bad Victoire couldn't hide under her bed - she had stuffed too many books there :)

I'm so excited you are liking the story, I can't tell you how much.

Thanks again!
~Ty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>