Reading Reviews From Member: celticbard
  
195 Reviews Found

Review #1, by celticbardBreathing Underwater: I

20th June 2011:
Hi Leslie,
It's celticbard here from the review exchange over on TGS. I'm so glad we got paired up for this round. This one-shot was the perfect summer story. Even though I don't envy Lily's situation, I kinda wish I had a beautiful creek in my backyard to take a swim in. ;)

I find it fascinating that you based this fic on Munch's "The Scream" and ended up coming up with this scenario. For me, "The Scream" has always been about terror, but you really put a different spin on it, making it more about despair and regret and longing. Very creative! I also loved how Lily constantly second-guessed herself throughout the story as she battled her insecurities. And even though she seemed aware of her flaws, she truly came across as a strong character. The last scene in particular reinforces her natural independence and resilience.

Overall, this was a lovely story, Leslie and I really enjoyed reading it. Great writing! ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Awww, thanks Lee Anne! I'm glad you enjoyed it and thought it was creative. I really had fun writing this and it all came out in one go with very little thought. I just let my mind take off and tell my fingers what to type.

Yes, I think we've all had to battle insecurities at some point in our lives. I'm glad you saw her as a strong character as I really do try to make my characters as multi-dimensional and solid as I can. I feel like characters are what pushes my stories a lot of the time, that keep the plot going because they had conflict and drama to it all. Thanks again! (:


 Report Review

Review #2, by celticbardOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 1

16th March 2011:
Hi JeanieLee,
I have to admit, I've never watched an episode of Supernatural, although it certainly seems like a show I would like, which is what attracted me to this fic in the first place. That and I also love well done cross-overs. ^_^ Unfortunately, the genre seems to have a rather poor reputation, but I think you definitely proved how untrue that reputation is with this fic. You really did an excellent job merging both fandoms. As someone who isn't familiar with Supernatural, I wasn't the least bit confused by this first chapter. Dean and Sam struck me as two very complex characters and I think the bit of back-story you provided for them was just enough to get readers interested in them.

The only slight criticism I have, and believe me, it's very slight, would be the pacing of the first scene. You did an amazing job introducing the two OCs, however, I felt the sudden intrusion of the demon set things just a little off-balance. The scene works fine as it is, although I think it would flow even better if you just slowed it down a little and added some more dialogue between Natalie and David.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this chapter, JeanieLee, and I'm glad I got a chance to check this story out. Good luck with this fic!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hey Lee Anne!

Oh, you haven't. Well, if it's the kind of thing you watch then I really recommend it. It's an awesome show. Yes, sadly they do have a bad reputation since there are some bad ones out there that seem to overshadow the good ones. But I'm glad that you believe that I prove that wrong. Yay, I'm glad you weren't confused since you've never seen the show, though I still recommend it. ;)

I was originally planing that scene to be a bit longer, to show more of the relationship between David and Natalie, but this story is definitely one of those that has taken on a life of it's own and very quickly too. The story has been calling the shots since the beginning. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for the lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by celticbardInsula de Absentis Spiritus: Prologue

9th March 2011:
Hi JeanieLee,
I was checking out the TGS review tag thread and thought I'd drop by to take a look at your story. You know, I have a weakness for dark fics with intense plots and morally questionable characters and this chapter contained all of the above. I already like Aron. For some reason, he seems slightly different from the rest of the Legion members. There's something thoughtful and sensitive about him that I was really able to connect with. And I have to admit, I felt terrible for him when he had to watch Kara die. His desperate attempts to save her were quite heart-wrenching.

In addition, I'm quite intrigued by this Legion organization. I love the fact that you haven't told us whether they're the good guys or the bad guys yet. Although they seem dedicated to stopping dark magic (the necromancer, for example) I'm not sure they're motivations are entirely virtuous. And Soren himself is quite a mystery. Even though he killed Kara, I do feel like he was only attempting to defend himself.

This was a solid start to what promises to be an interesting fic. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read it. Good luck with your writing!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: hey Lee Anne! Yay! I get a review from you! :) I'm glad you like him. He's very fun to write. And yes, he isn't like the other members. Yes, that part was very hard to write because I like him so much. But I'm glad that you were able to connect with him and felt bad for him.

Yes, more about them will be revealed later in the story. That is what they are dedicated to yes and more about what Soren did and why they sentenced him to death will be explained later. Keep reading and see if you feel that way about him later ;)

Thank you! I'm very glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for the lovely review Lee Anne!


 Report Review

Review #4, by celticbardTom's War: Tom's War

3rd March 2011:
What a magnificent piece! I was quite enthralled by it. Your style is exquisite and, I must say, I think your take on Tom and Minerva is flawless. This story reads like canon. You've perfectly captured the indefinite sense of unease young Tom breeds. Minerva is certain that something is wrong with him, but she doesn't know exactly what it is. Her confusion, needless to say, was artfully portrayed.

The bombing of Glasgow in the final scene just put the icing on the cake. I shivered while reading Tom's reaction to the violence. Furthermore, his little speech at the end was so eloquent and chilling. Really, this whole piece is just breath-taking. I'm so glad I read it. Thank you for posting this!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am a huge fan of yours so this means a lot to me :] I hadn't tried a Tom/Minerva before, but I was really intrigued by it. I think it is a pairing that can e approached in an almost unromantic way, more an examination of the characters and their motivations than their relationship. I was really just using the pairing to describe Tom's character in a certain perspective.

When I saw a challenge to write a piece about WWII at Hogwarts, I instantly thought of Tom because I can see how much it would have fascinated him. The parallels between WWII and JKR's stories are no accident and I thought it would be interesting to turn them around.

Thank you so much hon! I am really excited :]


 Report Review

Review #5, by celticbardAugust Skyline: August Skyline

30th December 2010:
Hi amandatonks,
I just dropped by from the Review Chain thread over on TGS. Since you left such a lovely review for my fic, I really wanted to return the favor. ^_^

I think you did a great job capturing Luna's personality in this little one-shot. Because she's so cheery, and frankly, loopy, I think we often forget just how much she's lost and how much she's suffered during her young life. It was interesting to see her struggling with that pain in this story, and, I believe, quite appropriate to her nature. Even though her head is in the clouds, she's still human and this piece really made it easy to relate to her. However, you did stay true to her character by including her happy memories of her life with Rolf. And that last line was beautiful, so profound and Luna-ish.

I'm so glad I had the opportunity to read this one-shot, amandatonks. Thanks for posting it!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hi there! ^_^ Thank you for dropping by. It was such a pleasant surprise! I am so happy to hear your thoughts about how I portrayed Luna; it puts my mind at ease. Yes, the last line was my absolute favorite part of writing this little one-shot. I'm glad you like it as well. :) And many thanks to you for taking the time to review! It truly made my day and my week. ^_^

Hope you have a very Happy New Year! :)
~amandatonks


 Report Review

Review #6, by celticbardHeart Finds A Home: Welcome to Hogwarts

29th December 2010:
Oh, what a sad story! How wonderfully creative of you to take a minor character like Filch (who seems to be universally reviled) and give him a believable, realistic and sympathetic back-story. The flashback scene, in which a young Filch awaits his Hogwarts letter, was so heart wrenching. You did a fabulous job illustrating both his intense anticipation and subsequent, crushing disappointment. It's no wonder that Filch is so fiercely protective of Hogwarts, he probably loves the school more than most students.

And yet, despite the overall angsty tone of this piece, you managed to end it on an uplifting, hopeful note. I really enjoyed this, Lia. Excellent writing!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hi celtic!

You have no idea how surprised I was to see this here earlier but it's a pleasant one, nonetheless :)

As far as inspiration goes, this story stems from one of my one-shots in this year's house collab about Filch. I thought it might be interesting to explore what it was like for him to not get a Hogwarts letter. I knew that there would be some (ok, loads of) resentment on his part when it came to those who weren't Squibs. That is something which I can understand enough to get into words. The fact that he actually got his opportunity after so many years is possibly mind-blowing and not something to be taken for granted.

Haha, universally reviled. Everyone has said something to that effect but you summed it up perfectly.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for your review!

Happy New Year!
Lia


 Report Review

Review #7, by celticbardAll The Pieces: I See Him Too

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
Wow. This is an extremely powerful piece. And, as usual, beautifully written. I think you did a fantastic job exploring such a difficult subject, one that most people find impossible to comprehend. I must admit, I cannot imagine losing a child. Molly's sorrow, her literal heartbreak, is very well portrayed throughout this piece. I think writers always run the risk of crossing the line into the melodramatic when they write stories revolving around a character's death, but this fic came across as mature, thoughtful and genuine.

I loved how Molly equates being a parent to having your heart outside yourself. It almost reminded me, in a rather strange way, of Voldemort's Horcruxes. By taking his soul out of his body, he truly perverted all that is good and loving, while Molly herself is the complete opposite. She is selfless and yet she mourns. She lives on her for her other children, and yet, a part of her will always be with Fred. And as you so aptly put it, the loss of a child inflicts a wound that will never heal.

This was an amazing piece, Shiloh. I got goosebumps while reading it. You are a very talented writer. I'm so glad I was able to read so much of your work. Merry Christmas!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by celticbardCan't Take My Eyes Off You: Can't Take My Eyes Off You

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
Oh, I just love Remus. He has to be my favorite HP character and you really did his sweet, caring personality justice with this lovely one-shot. It was so great to see him happy for once. Although Tonks and Remus don't really get a happy ending in the books, I think their short time together was enough to make-up for a life-time of sorrow. This story is a great elaboration on that happiness. I loved how, for once, Remus didn't fight his love for Tonks, but rather accepted it with open-arms (quite literally!).

All-in-all, I thought this story was charmingly romantic. There is so much gentleness about Remus and his tenderness to Tonks came across as realistic and genuine. I always thought that Remus must have tried to compensate for his lycanthropy by being completely restrained, though, considering the way Tonks puts things here, there is more to his make-up than control. He really is a gentleman, in every sense of the word.

This was a great piece, Shiloh. Really beautiful writing. I just loved reading this.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! I just love Remus. He's so sweet and kind and I always want to just give him a great big hug and save him. I was devastated when he died. I'm not sure I've ever forgiven JKR for that! ;)

I'm so glad you liked it. I'm not always a big fan of the Remus/Tonks pairing but I did like this piece.

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #9, by celticbardWhispers of Madness: Whispers of Madness

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
I agree with you, Bellatrix's cold madness is indeed fascinating and I think you did a good job portraying that madness here in this story. The vagueness of this piece worked very well. Insanity is not easy for writers to depict, putting something completely irrational down with rational words is quite a challenge and I think you really captured the tone of her particular madness. I was slightly confused at some points, but I really don't think that's a bad thing. Bellatrix's mind is one jumbled heap of confusion and her thought process wouldn't necessarily follow a recognizable pattern.

Also, I loved how you tried to avoid using names in this story. Names are clearly irrelevant to Bellatrix at this point and her inability to identify certain people and memories shows just how removed she is from reality.

The brief conversation between the Aurors and Sirius was nicely done. I love how Bellatrix was pulled back into the real world when she sees her cousin entering his cell. That final jab she delivers, asking him about Worm,y shows her potential to be just as dangerous and deadly outside the walls of Azkaban as she was before.

I really enjoyed this piece, Shiloh. I think you did a marvelous job handling Bellatrix's complex character. You should definitely consider writing her more often. ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! She was an obstacle I wanted to tackle and I'm so happy you thought I did it well! She's kind of a fascinating character, one I just love to hate. I'm not sure if I could do her justice again :)

I think that if, in reality, she saw Sirius being brought in she couldn't help herself but be cruel. It's her nature.

Thank you for such a great review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by celticbardLost: Will you?

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
Yay! Go Lily! Not that I'm a man-hating, extreme feminist or anything, but I'm glad she's making Lorcan win her back. Good for her. She's one tough cookie, and smart too. If she is ever going to recover her relationship with Lorcan, then he really needs to understand just what he did wrong. I'm not anti-Lorcan, but his sudden proposal just seems, I don't know, slightly impulsive. Part of me wonders if he wasnít just charmed by the romantic mood of the wedding. I'm certain that he does love Lily and perhaps, in his heart of hearts, he really wants to marry her, although I think he needs time to digest his decision.

I loved that Lysander was the same sensible, peace-maker he was in "Hey Lucy". You really have made him a memorable character.

And Lily, wow, what a firebrand. I'm rooting for her all the way, especially since she hates weddings. I have to say, I quite agree with her.

This was a great realistic, romantic fic, Shiloh. I absolutely loved it!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: I see Ginny in her daughter, and she is nothing if not tough. And I can see Lily just being completely disgusted with Lorcan. He's such an idiot!

Thank you for reviewing!

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #11, by celticbardNarcissa, Dream: Dream, sweet

23rd December 2010:
Hey Shiloh!
This piece has so much of the perverted fairy tale in it, accompanied by a subtle layer of tension and desire. I really like what you've done with Narcissa here. She is almost unreachable in her perfection. Although I want to relate to her as a character, although I feel as though I should pity her, I really can't. She's raised herself above human emotion and the only thing that's left of her is that tiny trace of doubt, nearly imperceptible, but potent when recognized.

This was a lovely, poetic piece, Shiloh. I enjoyed every bit of it. The emphasis on perfection and purity had a creepy undertone to it, perfectly echoing the Pureblood fanaticism of Voldermort and his Death Eaters. Lucius was likewise well done and although I think he loves Narcissa, his expectations of her are chilling.

This was a great one-shot, Shiloh. Really wonderful writing.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had fun writing this piece and I really tried to capture the way Narcissa would be feeling. Realizing, perhaps, what she's gotten herself into but the reality being that she chose this. She's made her bed and now she must lie in it.

Your reviews are so lovely :)
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #12, by celticbardSpaces: Only This

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
You know, I've always found it odd that strange pairings can sometimes seem perfectly canon. Honestly, after reading this fic, I'm completely convinced that Dudley and Pansy are meant for each other. And even though they seem to be vastly different characters, they both have something very important in common: Harry. I think you did an amazing job bringing out this theme, because, when you think about it, Dudley and Pansy have strong reasons to feel alienated from Harry. Their families both brought them up to view him as a threat and inferior. Harry also inadvertently cost them their comfortable, secure lifestyles. How wonderfully creative of you to take their disregard for Harry and turn it on its head! I mean, who would have thought that Harry, of all people, would be the one to bring them together? That aspect alone makes this fic wonderfully complex and so powerful.

In addition, I loved your use of repetition in this piece. It worked so very well, giving the story a measured flow and an ending that was perfectly satisfying. Your characterization of Dudley and Pansy was also great. You treated them with sensitivity and sympathy while giving them both strong personalities. Dudley seems like a truly kind man, while Pansy has this stubborn, independent streak I really admire.

So yes, I absolutely adored this piece. Excellent writing. I'm favoriting this right now! ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! This was hard for me. It was for a challenge so I was given the pairing. I never would have thought of it! But I ended up rather liking it :)
The similarities in their upbringing was intriguing. Opposite sides of the same coin.

I liked giving Pansy a bit of redemption. I think in canon she never would have quite this sort of chance to redeem herself. I assume she went on to be rather insufferable for the rest of her life. But here, for a little while at least, she's alright.

I'm so glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by celticbardThe Still Point: The Door Never Opened

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
I'm sort of on a Tom Riddle kick right now, so when I saw you had a Tom/Minerva story I just couldn't help myself. This piece has so many wonderful points, but the one I found to be most striking (and now you're going to think I'm weird) was the absolute lack of dialogue. This story is definitely not a talky fic and while I think a good many one-shots need dialogue to carry them along, this one didn't. You were so right to leave it out. Neither Minerva nor Tom strike me as the talky type. Instead, I think they both rely on their minds to provide the internal conversation and it felt completely realistic to have them be silent. You have a heck of an intuition when it comes to your characters. Great job!

As you may have already gleaned from my rambling, I did very much enjoy your take on Tom and Minerva. The similarities between them are striking. If things had been different, I think they could have made for an extremely interesting couple. They both have that fierce drive and sense of ambition, but there is an undercurrent of restraint in them that is so unique.

In short, I absolutely loved this piece. You should definitely write more Tom/Minerva, because I just adore what you did with the pairing here. Thanks for the great read!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you! Oh my gosh you leave such awesome reviews! :)

I found Tom/Minerva so fascinating. I think I read a oneshot by Majikat? Or Elesphyl? One of those lovely ladies in which this pairing featured and I just had to try it out for myself.

It's interesting. He's so inhuman and she goes on to be one of the most human and strong, good people ever. I really like the idea of this. Nothing ever really comes of them. Nothing ever could. But it's like Tom almost thinks about having a redeeming quality. Almost.


 Report Review

Review #14, by celticbardPromise Me Forever: Roses and Moonbeams

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
All right, here I go, ready to gush. The first line was amazing. Stunning in its beauty, really. The reference to black and white movies worked so well and really gave this piece that romantic, old timey feel. It set the mood right away and I was entranced from the beginning to the end.

Also, I really, really like Dominique in this. Her innocent sense of logic is so Luna-ish, but not grating in its off-beat nature. She reminds me of a flower child in this, or at least, a Romantic along the line of Keats.

The rose metaphor was also great. Love, after all, is beautiful like a rose, but it can be painful. In fact, I do think there was a slight undercurrent of love-struck torment in this fic. Teddy longs to catch Dominique, but she eludes him until the very last moment, until she can come to him on her own terms. Very nice!

Needless to say, I really loved this fic, Shiloh. Your writing came across as effortless and beautiful. Congrats on producing a lovely piece!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you!
I loved writing this story but writing Dominique this way was hard too. It took me awhile to find the right tone for her.

You flatter me! It certainly didn't feel effortless when I was writing it :P



 Report Review

Review #15, by celticbardHey Lucy: Half Timing, Half Luck

23rd December 2010:
Wow! So Lorcan isn't just overly sensitive, he's delusion. At least, that's my take on things. He seems to have very unrealistic expectations of Lucy and clearly, he idolizes her. Unfortunately, I think his notion of her flawless nature is going to come crashing down. Right now, he has her on a pedestal and if their relationship is ever going to work, he is going to have to realize that she isn't perfect.

I liked the fact that Lysander was the more grounded of the twins. He was able to give Lorcan the proverbial smack upside the head he needed.

As for Lucy, I can't wait to see more of her character. She really seems like an interesting young woman and I'm curious as to just why she followed Lorcan into the field of International diplomacy. It makes me think that he might have had a greater influence on her than she initially lets on.

This was another well-written chapter, Shiloh, a few typos here and there, but nothing that can't be fixed with a quick once-over. Please do update soon! I'm eager to see just what Lorcan has in mind now that his brother has set him straight. Until then, take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Haha, delusional. That's good. I like that. He is, a bit. He over-romanticizes everything and it almost ruins things for him. Without Lysander's advice I don't know that he would ever have gotten his act together.
The scene between the brothers was my favorite to write, definitely. Lysander was the typical wild-child and now he's the one who has to give the situation perspective. I love how grown up he is and how he guides his rather ridiculous brother to a realistic conclusion.

Lucy is so practical and adorable. She's the perfect fit for Lorcan, really.

xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #16, by celticbardHey Lucy: My Foolish Heart

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
I'm back for chapter two. This was a nice follow-up to the previous installment. We got to see more of Lorcan, along with Lucy and some of the other Next-Gen clan. I liked the fact that James has his father's sense of nonchalant humor. Although he was a bit oblivious, I didn't find him at all obnoxious, but rather good-natured. Molly was also cute, very sweet, understanding and intuitive.

As for Lorcan, I have to say, his perceptions are very feminine. Not that that's a bad thing, mind you, I just think it makes him very gentle and sensitive. He's not robust like James and I do feel as though he's almost aloof, which is a really fabulous trait when done right. And you, my dear, have done it perfectly. ^_^

There were a few minor errors in this chapter. At the end, you switched POVs briefly from Lorcan to Molly. And the fact that Lorcan reiterates his job description to Molly seemed somewhat repetitive to me, although I understand you wanted to allow Molly to introduce the fact that Lucy works for the same department. Otherwise, this was a very enjoyable chapter. Onto the next!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Haha, Lorcan is a bit feminine in how he sees things.
James was probably my favorite part to write. I'm rather fond of him and I just love to make him silly, but so kind at heart.

I did go back and edit a few things you mentioned. I appreciate you taking the time to point them out!

Thank you so much for another lovely review
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #17, by celticbardHey Lucy: Can't Help Myself

23rd December 2010:
Hi Shiloh!
Haha, I certainly know how you feel about starting a new WIP, I'm the same way myself. However, I must say, I think this story is well worth the effort. I really like this opening chapter. Lorcan seems like such a sensitive young man and yet, there is something cavalier in him, just in the way he says "Hey Lucy".

I also loved how the first scene kept making references to loss, the loss her scent, the loss of the feel of her hair on his skin. All those little foreshadowing elements really paid off when it came to the second scene. No wonder why Lorcan is experiencing a sense of loss, the love of his life is with another man!

And although there is an undercurrent of angst in this chapter, the emotion wasn't entirely overwhelming, which I think works well for this type of fic.

Needless to say, I'm glad I read this. The writing was strong and quite enjoyable. Great job!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so happy to hear when someone likes a new project.

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter. I started writing this as a one-shot and then Lorcan came along and demanded I let him get the girl, so it became a short story :) I'm fond of this piece and I am so glad you like it.

Thank you for the review!
xoxo
Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #18, by celticbardUntouchable: His Cry of Lament

21st December 2010:
Hello maskedmuggle,
I'm here from the Review Tag thread over on the forums to take a look at your piece. I must say, I am a fan of the Lily/Snape pairing, although I rarely read fics featuring them. This piece was very sweet...and heartbreaking. Unrequited love, especially a love as pure and dedicated as Snape's, is unbelievably tragic. I think you did an excellent job relaying Snape's desperation and frustration without making his internal dialogue too melodramatic. Otherwise, your writing was solid, with no obvious typos. This was a very enjoyable piece, maskedmuggle. I'm glad I had an opportunity to read it.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hello!
Thanks for stopping by and reading my fic :D

It's a bit weird that personally I'm not a fan of Lily/Snape. I only wrote this for a song fic, but otherwise I would never write this pairing, and I never read it.

I'm glad you thought I did a good job relating Snape's feelings, and that my writing is solid!

Thank you very much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by celticbardWeasleys' Wizard Wheezes: First Day of Work

13th December 2010:
Hi baletgir!
I thought I'd drop by from the Review Chain thread over on TGS to take a look at the next chapter of this fic. ;) James certainly is lazy, isn't he? And so is Fred! I feel a bit bad for George. It seems like he's got quite a handful there. I also enjoyed the scene in which George tells James to drop the Uncle and call him Mr. Weasley instead. It's nice to see him adopting an air of professionalism.

Now, on to my nitpicky comments. You did a good job of staying in the same tense throughout this chapter, however, it was in a different tense than the previous chapter (chapter one being in the past tense, chapter two being in the present). I would suggest you find the tense you are most comfortable with and use it throughout the story, otherwise, the switches from chapter to chapter can be quite jarring.

My only other complaint regards the content of this chapter. In my opinion, nothing really seemed to happen. James started to work for his uncle, stacked some boxes and then went home. It wasn't the most interesting thing to read about, if I'm being entirely honest. As a reader, I would like to see more happen. Maybe Fred and James accidentally break something important, or James tries to work the cash register and ends up making a mess of things. Also, some more description would really make this chapter shine. Does George still look the same or has he aged? What about Fred? What does the shop look like? Smell like? Is it noisy? Adding these little details would really help bring your readers closer to the characters and the story as a whole, I think.

Other than that, this chapter was well-written. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read it and I look forward to your next update. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hahaha, Fred and James. Yes they are quite lazy. I think that's why they get along so well with one another.

Ahhh tenses... How I hate them. First I am fully aware of the change from chapter one to chapter two. I think I took on too much with writing in 3rd person and past tense both for the first time in the first chapter, I decided that I should just try to work on one or the other for the rest of the story.Every chapter from here on out will be in the present! I am planning on going back and rewriting chapter 1 to make it more cohesive. But thank you for the comment on that, it will hopefully motive me to work on Chapter 1.

It was kind of boring huh? Thanks for bring my attention to that. I guess it was a kind of filler chapter, but much too early. I like the idea of them doing something wrong to get a bit of action into it. I think I may go write something where George can do some yelling...

I am so glad you thought this chapter was well written and are considering to read more!
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #20, by celticbardWeasleys' Wizard Wheezes: Home For Summer Holiday

8th December 2010:
Hi Baletgir,
I'm here from the Review Tag thread over on the forums. First off, congrats on starting your first multi-chaptered fic. They're tons of fun to write and I'm sure you'll have a great time watching your characters grow and the plot progress. I think you have a strong opening here. You did a good job introducing your main character and the Potter family. It was nice to see the Next-Gen kids portrayed as somewhat bratty and less than perfect. Also, I enjoyed your take on Harry and Ginny's parenting styles. They're definitely not perfect parents, but that makes them all the more real and easier to relate to.

On the nit-picky side, I did notice a tense change in the first few paragraphs. There were also a few awkward sentences/phrases here and there, but other than that, this chapter read smoothly. Nice work.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Why thank you so much for the review celticbard! I am so glad that you seemed to enjoy the characters how I portrayed them and that it seems somewhat realistic! I had a feeling this warranted another read through and possibly another beta. Tenses are the hardest thing for me. *Sigh*
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #21, by celticbardThe Weed That Blooms: The Weed That Blooms

2nd December 2010:
Hey Elysium!
I believe this the first story of your's I've read and I must say, this little ficlet did not disappoint! There were so many things that worked in this story, and I mean really worked. The contrast between Scorpius and Rose was masterfully done. It seems like a lot of writers just love to illustrate how different two lovers can be and sometimes, their characters suffer for it. Not so here. I loved Scorpius's vulnerability coupled with his stoicism. It was a really believable contradiction in his personality. Also, that last line, wow, I think I'm going to remember that one for a long time.

This was a lush, beautiful little fic and I'm truly glad I read it. Nice work!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Wow.. thank you for such a gorgeous, thought-provoking review :D I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and that you got enough out of the 500 words to read into Scorpius in that way. It was a wonderful challenge and I'm pretty happy with how this little ficlet turned out. Thanks so much for the generous feedback!

- Kylie


 Report Review

Review #22, by celticbardStand by the Fire: Stand by the Fire

31st October 2010:
Hi Unwritten Curse!
Ah, such yummy darkness! What a wonderfully twisted story...perfect for Halloween. I really, really enjoyed this. Voldemort's initial reaction to Bellatrix's arrival was brilliant. Her transition from wild, powerful madwoman to--quite literally--the kicked dog, was seamless. And you do write insanity extremely well, without any trace of tired stereotypes or awkwardness.

I was also happy to see Voldemort draw completely away from Bellatrix at the end. He is, I would assume, incapable of loving another human being. Witnessing his temptation, however, did give his character remarkable depth in this fic.

Lovely work, all around. I'm so glad I read this. Take care and have a Happy Halloween!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Yummy darkness. I love that. Exactly what I was going for, really! I'm rather drawn to darker plotlines... I'm not entirely sure why. So glad to hear that you think I wrote insanity convincingly. It's always been an intriguing subject. And to hear that I gave Voldemort depth - wow, thank you. What a compliment! And from someone I admire so much, that means a lot. (:

Anyway, thank you so much for your review. So sorry it's taken me ages to get back to you!


 Report Review

Review #23, by celticbardBrains & Brawn: Pretty Down to your Bones

3rd October 2010:
Yay, a new chapter! Just the thing I needed to make my Sunday afternoon perfect. ;) This was awesome, needless to say. I asbolutely adore your writing, Tanya. And the scene with Lupin...wow. It reminded me why Remus is still my favorite HP character. I shall be stalking your author's page until you update. And happy birthday!!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Thank you so much, darling! I'm SOSOSOSOSOSO SORRY that i'm a terrible person and have not been beta-ing to my fullest extent. Sigh. College eats people, i swear! I'll try to get to it tonight or tomorrow D:

 Report Review

Review #24, by celticbardAlways: Always

18th September 2010:
Hi SeverusLove!
Congrats on writing and posting your first fic! I know how terribly nerve-wracking it can be. ^_^ After reading this one-shot, I'd say you've done quite well. There is definitely room for improvement, but I think you have a firm base to work with.

Firstly, your description of Severus's desperation, his panic and resentment, his fear and gradual acceptance of death, was very well done. You really seem to understand his character, which is not an easy thing, considering how complex Snape is.

Also, I really enjoyed the brief exchange between James and Severus at King's Cross Station. Their mutual acceptance of each other in death was very touching, and, I think, quite realistic.

Other than that, I would suggest you try to work on your opening paragraph. It was a bit all over the place and I, as a reader, didn't have a clear grasp of exactly when and where this story was taking place. You might also want to slow things down just a little. Pacing is important for a story. In particular, I felt the scene in which Harry suddenly appears before the dying Severus read a little rushed. The very real conflict of Snape dying alone without completing his task was diminished by the rather quick solution of his quandary.

Over all, I thought this was a really nice story. You should be very proud of yourself for taking the first step and posting on HPFF. I look forward to seeing more of your work in the future. Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: celticbard,

Thank you for taking time to read my story, I really appreciate it.

Well, I love writing Snape 'cooz he's my favorite. I was worried I wasn't gonna be able to do justice to Snape so I'm glad you think it was believable and not out of character for him.

Well, yeah, I guess I seem to have a weakness with pacing. I've been editing this story again and again but I can never get the pacing right. I'll have to learn to slow down.

I was going for an opening that would make people curious and interested but it turned out all wrong and looked kinda boring and annoying instead. :P

Anyway, thank you again for taking time to read and review,

I Send You my Utmost Gratitude,
Sevvy


 Report Review

Review #25, by celticbardLet the Flames Begin: And the Champions Are....

3rd September 2010:
Hi Moonbaby,
I'm here from the HPFF Review Tag thread to take a look at your story. ^_^

This first chapter sets up an interesting plot. It was nice to see all the Next-Gen kids not getting along perfectly. Their rivalry in this fic is not good-natured, but rather, has a sharp edge to it. These kids really don't like each other, which makes them all the more realistic. I also liked the fact that the rest of the student body of Hogwarts was less than thrilled to see that only Weasleys made it into the House Cup competition. Their not an entirely popular group, which allows for a unique perspective, considering the fame of their parents.

As far as constructive criticism goes, I would suggest you try not to introduce too many new characters in such a sort space of time. With a bunch of new names and faces to digest, readers can quickly find themselves lost. Also, I would consider adding a bit more description. You don't have to overload your story with sensory details, but it would be nice to get inside Lucy's head and experience what she does. Of course, these suggestions are only based on my opinions. Please do take them with a grain of salt. ^_^

Good luck with this fic!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :) I'm glad that you enjoyed the chapter, and I've been thinking about going back and editing this one up a bit, so thanks for the suggestions! ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>