Reading Reviews From Member: celticbard
  
218 Reviews Found

Review #1, by celticbardTell Me Who You Are: Phase Four: Remember Strawberry

18th September 2016:
Hiya Liz!
Here I am, hitting you back for this month's BvB. Wow. What an awesome chapter! You should never, ever doubt your talent for writing, because this chapter is proof enough that you are an accomplished writer. It's so eloquent, so heart-stirring. Usually, I find straight-up romances a little too cutesy for my taste, but this was just beautiful. Mark and Dom belong together. Yup. I'm officially shipping them now. Victoire is right, there is a special connection between them. And you've illustrated that connection so elegantly through your prose. Seriously, I loved, loved loved this chapter.

There were so many wonderful lines/scenes in this chapter, Mark's aching, yet blurred memories of Dom, Dom's determination to finally break it off with Mark, Marks' realization of just who Dom is when he finds the ring. Ugh. You're killing me here. It's all intertwined so perfectly. Remember strawberry. It just gives me chills!

Also, I just adored Mark's Mum. She seems awesome. So funny, insightful and truly caring. The dialogue during Mark's phone conversation with her was so endearing. I could already tell what type of relationship they had and it was so sweet!

You must be a writing “witch” yourself, Liz. ;) You wrote this absolutely adorable chapter, but were able to avoid all the common cliches associated with romances. This story feels so genuine. I don't how I forgot to fave it before, but I am definitely faving it now. Excellent dialogue. Excellent pacing. Excellent imagery. Everything just worked so well. It was truly a joy to read this chapter. As you can tell, I think I'm falling hard for this story. ;)

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: I swear, I replied to this last night... It posted. My notification went away. But now it's back and my reply is gone. I... I am confused.

You, my dear, have a gift for making me blush! You and Rose and Kevin and Jill. I am spoiled- my head will inflate and I'll die when it explodes... Would you believe I don't normally do straight up romance? I tried for NaNoWriMo once and I ran out of ideas, so I threw in a serial killer. Maybe short romances are my forte! I also have to work very hard to do cutesy. Like Graduating Interest? I couldn't even write that completely fluffy without a little "omg, I hurt his feelings!" angst. So I'm very glad that this came out so well for you! I believe that a character needs to go through a lot of crap before the good stuff happens.

I love Mark's Mum! In my head, her voice is Mrs. Potato Head from Toy Story. I like the funny side characters.

No clichés, eh? That seems... Unlikely. I'm sure they're in there.

Don't fall too hard, you only have one chapter left! Actually, don't read the last chapter... Well, give me a head start to run and hide, first. *starts running*

Thank you so much!
-Liz


 Report Review

Review #2, by celticbardTugging the Dragon's Heartstring: Chapter 1

18th September 2016:
Hi pookha!
Here I am, as requested, to read and review your story. First off, thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to read this piece. It's always a ton of fun to discover new fanfics that I might not have found otherwise (there are so many on the archives!) and I have to say, I was totally intrigued by the Charlie/Tonks and Charlie/Luna pairings.

In your post, you asked me to focus on characterization and the flashbacks, which I will certainly do. I have to admit, I haven't read a ton of Charlie fics, but I think you did a great job getting him in-character (he's a bit of a toughie, but with a kind heart) along with Luna, who was so spot-on I felt like I was reading J.K.'s own words. I love how Luna has matured some in this fic (obviously she had to be affected by the war, she was held captive in Malfoy Manor, after all) but still maintains her youthful idealism and optimism, along with her belief in Nargles. (So cute, by the way!) I thought it was also great that you included a little hint as to Luna's feelings for Harry. You know, when J.K. First introduced her in the books, I thought for sure she'd be paired with Harry, so that ship definitely works for me, both in this fic and in my own personal headcanon, lol.

And as far as the flashbacks go, I don't think you have a thing to worry about. The flow of the story wasn't interrupted at all by them. In fact, considering the plot, I think the flashbacks were essential to understanding Charlie's motives and underlying emotions. It was a great idea, therefore, to use the them as a literary device to relay Charlie's previous experiences to the readers and I think they really, really worked for this story, so great job!

Now, I'm being extremely nitpicky here, so just ignore me if this doesn't sit right with you. As always, my con-crit is just my opinion and should be taken with a grain of salt. This is, most importantly, your story, after all. However, the one thing that bothered me slightly was the pacing of this piece. I thought it was just a teensy bit rushed, especially the opening scene between Tonks and Charlie. At first, I was confused as to just when and where the scene was supposed to be set and then, after I finished reading it, I couldn't help but want a little more in order to fully understand Charlie's relationship with Tonks. A quick kiss together didn't really flesh out the characters and their feelings for one another enough for me. The rest of the story had better pacing, but I still think, if you ever wanted to, that you could flesh this out a bit more. I understand you want to try to keep the chronicle of Charlie's love life somewhat compact, but the relationship hopping (first Charlie is with Tonks, then Remus is with Tonks, then Charlie is with Luna, then Luna is with Rolf and so on) could have worked a little bit better, I think, if things were just slowed down slightly. But again, it's your story, so my opinion isn't really important if you are personally comfortable with the pacing. :)

It was a real pleasure to read this fic, pookha. I'm so happy that you stopped by my thread to request a review. Please feel free to come back anytime. I would really love to read more of your work!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Ah, Lee Anne, good to see you back. You're one of the ones I remember from eHPF, and I always valued your opinion, so when I saw you had a review thread open, I had to hit it.

I'll answer your nitpicks first. I whole-hearted agree with you that the part with Tonks seems quick and a bit unfulfilled, especially compared to the part with Luna. It stems from how I like to tell a story sometimes, where I like to jump a bit, and then it can short-change a part of the story. It's something I really do try to work on, and having CC pointed out with it does help. CC is always appreciated.

As far as CC goes, I appreciate the CC on the flashbacks, because they are also a trouble spot for me. I really like hearing that they were essential to the story, as that is what I was going for.

H/L is my OTP, but lately I've been moving away and seeing that they probably wouldn't have worked long-term.

And most gratifying of all to me is knowing that you liked the characterizations, because that is what I value the most. I write Luna a lot and I know that so many people are picky about her. I love hearing that she came across as Luna enough and not just a weirdo or a normal, but somewhere in that perfect Luna spot.

Thank you so much for the review and the CC.


 Report Review

Review #3, by celticbardThe Peaceful Days to Come: The Peaceful Days to Come

17th September 2016:
Hi IchigoPan!
I'm here from the BvB thread to review! This story was quite a refreshing change. Normally I read and write a lot of angst, so it was nice to read some fluff for once. I think you did a great job in creating a lovely story about a caring couple who spend a simple, but happy day together. Draco and Lexi both seemed very sweet and throughout the story, I genuinely felt that they loved each other. It was also nice to see them living a normal, realistic life full of chores and errands. I could quite easily picture them together in Diagon Alley, shopping for a present for Harry and Ginny. And I thought it was so adorable that Lexi made cut-out bunnies from the apples she bought Draco. It was a very thoughtful gesture. :)

At the same time, there were a few small things that briefly disrupted the flow of the story for me while I was reading it. First, you seem to use a lot of “ly” words to describe Draco and Lexi's dialogue, which is something I'm guilty of myself. I have heard, however, that it is preferable to use stronger verbs or just a simple “said” to tag your dialogue. Weak adverbs, consequently, weaken your prose overall. Secondly, you seemed to describe Lexi's hair a lot. I think you mentioned at least four times that it was raven colored. As I'm sure you know, it's best to avoid repetition, especially when it comes to a story of this length, when readers only need to be told once what color her hair is.

Otherwise, I thought this was a very cute story and an enjoyable read. Good job!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Hey hey, Lee Anne!

Thanks for the BvB review! Always appreciate it! But I do have to say of all the stories you picked, you had to pick the one I didn't proofread upon posting (groans) lol.

But of course, the CC is gladly welcomed and I'll go back and fix everything you mentioned. And you know, I never realized how many times I did that with Lexi's hair. Jeez, that must've been annoying to read. I do apologize for that.

Thanks again for stopping by!
-ichigo :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by celticbardWith All Things: George, August 1998

17th September 2016:
Hello!
Here I am with your review. I'm sorry it is a few days late—I've been a little under-the-weather lately and I didn't notice that someone had posted in my thread until now. My deepest apologies!

You know, I think it is almost a little serendipitous that you requested a review from me, since we are both in such similar situations with our writing. I too have just returned to the fandom and writing in general after a few years hiatus and I know you mentioned in your request that you are also returning to writing, and this particular story, after a considerable space of time. Therefore, I think I can really understand where you are coming from. It is so difficult to pick up the threads of an old story after so long and I commend you (a million times over) for coming back to this fic after leaving it for a while. And I can certainly understand why you need a fresh pair of eyes to look over your latest edits. I believe that so many things (including time)greatly influence writers, so what you are doing with this story now is entirely new and different from what you might have been doing previously.

Of course, right off the bat, I have to tell you that this is just a gorgeous piece of writing. The overall story itself is wonderfully told. I think George's grief is not only believable, but appropriate. It must be terrible to lose someone who you are so close to, especially someone whose face you see in the mirror every day. In all honesty, I think George is handling things as well as can be expected. His need to leave the Burrow, to shake things up, to look for change comes across as natural and entirely realistic. It almost seems as though he is trying to streamline the grieving process, as if he could somehow get through it just by giving himself time and space. However, I think his independent streak will catch up with him eventually. He does need a support system. And while he may find his family's attention smothering, someone like Angelina could be the ticket to his salvation.

Her no-pressure attitude was so refreshing to read. She's not exactly his other half, but she supports him in a nonverbal way, just by her presence alone. I think that factor alone will make them a good couple down the road, but George seems unready for romance right now Not that I can blame him. Such a tremendous shift in his life has left him unsettled and he desperately needs to find his footing again before he can be open with someone else.

Besides the characters and the main plot-line, there were so many delicious bits of writing in this story. George constantly running his hands through his hair. His mother's “care-ridden” notes. The awkward dinner with Ron. Lee's semi-drunken, yet sentimental speech. All these aspects of your story have intertwined to create an excellent opening chapter that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I really don't think you are lacking anything here at all. This story shows incredible promise and as far as your edits go, they were completely seamless.

It was a real pleasure to read this chapter. Please do feel free to re-request in my thread whenever you would like. I'd be more than happy to read more of this piece. I hope you're well!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #5, by celticbardTell Me Who You Are: Phase Three: Burn It Down

4th September 2016:
Hello Liz!
I'm back for more Dom/Mark goodness. Although there doesn't seem to be much goodness for them in this chapter. Oh dear. What a terrible mess they've both gotten themselves into. I feel really, really bad for both of them, which is actually a great thing, because you've truly made me care for these characters.

Poor Dom and Mark. It's obvious, well, at least to me, that they should be together. I mean, even when Dom was about to erase his memory at the end of the chapter, Mark was still determined to hold onto the good memories he had with her. He's definitely in love with her, even after all the times she did lie to him. Even after going through this painful series of revelations about betrayal and deceit. Even after Dom admitted that she had taken away so much of the last few years of his life with a memory charm. Hmm, if that doesn't make him a man in love, I don't know what would. And as for Dom, she did go back to Mark three times, even though she probably knew what the outcome would be. I think she's right though. It might be fate. If only they can get past this one huge obstacle, that is.

As far as the technical aspects of this chapter go, I think you did a wonderful job. Your writing is solid, your descriptions apt and I especially enjoyed the dialogue, which fit both of the characters and the situation perfectly. I did notice a few very minor typos, but those are no big deal. ;)

Oh and this is a bit of a side note, but I just wanted to tell you how amazing your banners are, not only for this fic, but for your others too. You are not only a talented writer, but a very, very skilled artist as well. :)

Again, I'm so glad I found this story and have had the chance to read it. I think you've done a wonderful job with this fic and the subject matter. It certainly is no easy task Dom has ahead of her, if she decides to try to win Mark's heart back. I certainly hope she does, because I'm really looking forward to seeing just how their relationship goes. Great writing, Liz. You've truly done a fabulous job here.

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Not long after your review, Kevin dropped by with one of his own and I just... I don't even have the words. I love my stories and I love my graphics, but I really don't have a lot of faith that I have any talent at either. I just do them because they make me happy. It literally makes me want to cry when I get reviews like this because if someone like you, who is an oh-so amazing writer, likes something that I wrote so much, then maybe one day I will be good enough to publish my own book, which aside from going to college for graphic design, is probably my biggest personal life goal.

This story was literally written on a whim for a challenge and I almost didn't do it because I was afraid to write Next Gen. But then it began to grow on me and Dom and Mark became real to me and if the reviews I get for this story are anything to go on, it's probably the best piece I've ever written.

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you've taken to read this far. I truly hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

-Liz


 Report Review

Review #6, by celticbardTwo Birds, One Stone: One

2nd September 2016:
Hey Jill!
I'm here for review tag, which has finally given me a great opportunity to look at some of your other stories. I have to admit, I was tempted to go with a Ginny/Seamus, but changed my mind at the last minute when I saw you had a new story posted. And boy am I glad I chose this piece. It was great! A very solid start to what promises to be a really cute story.

First off, I love OCs, so Hannah definitely has my vote (and how sweet is it that Dean and Seamus are her parents?), though I also think you did a good job with James Potter II. Even though it is evident that he is a bit of a trickster, I think it is easy to see that he truly cares for Hannah. And honestly, she seems like a sweetheart, so why wouldn't he? Poor girl. I feel so terrible for her suffering through such a rough and painful break-up, but it seems like she can really rely on James to not only protect her (even though she didn't take him up on the offer), but to just be her shoulder to cry on.

I was a bit surprised, therefore, that James decided to so quickly spring his plot to win Nat over on Hannah right after she confessed to her split with Ben Wood. Though of course, I'm beginning to suspect that he did so with ulterior motives in mind. Of course, this is totally premature, but I expect he might fancy Hannah himself? Gah! I'm getting too far ahead. Sorry! You've just set up such an interesting dynamic, I'm so curious to see where it goes.

Again, this was a lovely opening chapter, Jill. I look forward to reading more in the near future. :)

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Hey Lee Anne!

Happy to see you on this story :) I'm pretty excited about it since it's different than what I usually write, so I'm glad it's been received well thus far.

I'm glad you can see their core values right from the start; Hannah *is* a sweetheart and James does truly care about her. That's going to be important to remember later on :) James is definitely someone she can lean on.

Ah, yes. He did spring it on rather quickly, almost immediately, and that was partially for the sake of the story - since this is a shorter piece, I wanted all of this to happen in the first chapter. But if you continue on (which I hope you will!), you'll see that he truly is looking out for her as well. In his own way, of course.

No comment on a future James/Hannah romance ;)

Thank you for the great review!

♥Jill


 Report Review

Review #7, by celticbardForgettable Me: Forgettable Me

1st September 2016:
Hi Tanya!
I'm back for some more of your lovely writing. :) Ah, unrequited love. It's one of my favorite themes for stories, and of course, you captured it perfectly and took the idealization out of it and made it something heart-breaking and all-too human, but most importantly, REAL.

This certainly isn't the unrequited love of the movies. The entire time I was reading this one-shot, I kept thinking to myself how realistic the unrequited love between Sirius and Marian was in this story. Now, forgive me for saying this, but Marian doesn't come across as a particularly strong person. (She's a terrifically strong character, of course, her very obvious flaws making her so identifiable). However, I was still struck by her connection to Sirius, which kept her in a supine role throughout the story. It is very hard to write a character like that and I think you pulled it off quite perfectly.

To me, Marian's unrequited love, her carrying a torch for Sirius after so many decades, just proved that she was a little bit obsessed with him. And of course, writing a character who has a true obsession that is not creepy or stalker-like is another challenge in and of itself that I think you overcame with grace and eloquence. Is Marian a little obsessed with her love for Sirius? Yes, I think so. This line in particular convinced me of that,

“ It doesn’t matter that you never looked at me, or that you used me for one night of pleasure, or that you never spoke to me again after said night, or that you left school and I never saw you again, or that years later you were accused of betraying your best friends, or that you killed innocent Muggles and innocent Peter Pettigrew, or that you were later relieved of all charges, or that you have now died before ever sparing me a second thought… “

Marian is definitely not approaching her relationship with Sirius with a clear mind. She's in love and love, as you so flawlessly wrote it, is fraught with less-than-appealing qualities. Therefore, you've not only created a character who is completely well-rounded, but also, accurately showed the true pitfalls of unrequited love in a way that I think was totally realistic and insightful. That is incredibly hard to do, but it doesn't surprise me, given your talent.

Again, I really loved this one-shot, Tanya. Your characterization was fantastic, you've created a memorable OC and presented the idea of unrequited love in a true and accurate fashion. Really, really great writing, all-around. I can't wait to read your other stories in the future!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #8, by celticbardScars: Introduction: It Only Takes A Moment

1st September 2016:
Hi Tanya!
I'll be entirely up front with you. This isn't going to be my best review, because I'm pretty much going to tell you how awesome you are over and over again until you are sick of it, but also because, you Tanya, completely deserve to hear how awesome you are over and over again. So, shall we?

This opening chapter was fantastic! First off, I love love love how you've taken John Lupin, who was mentioned maybe once in the books, and probably not even by name and made such a rich, sympathetic, understandable and unique character out of him. Your chapter is about 1700 words and already, I feel like I know the guy, as though he were my next door neighbor and I've known him and his family for years. He supports the Appleby Arrows. He is an insanely proud dad. And he is a regular guy. A wizard, yes, but someone I can also relate to.

I think, out of the entire chapter, I most enjoyed the bit where John rethinks his decision to become a father and recalls how he worried that he wouldn't be able to properly care for a child. In that moment of pride and happiness, while he is looking at a picture of his son Remus, John still experiences doubt, an emotion that renders him distinctly human.

Also, I sincerely enjoyed your very realistic portrayal of his job at the Ministry. All characters can't be Aurors, of course, and yet I understand John's passion for his work, not only because he is seeking a promotion, but because he is trying his best to help the werewolf community. And we all know how that will backfire on him, which makes his exchange with Fenrir Greyback all the more tense and foreboding.

And Greyback. Wow. You made him truly terrifying. I think what frightened me the most was his attempt at civilizing himself. The comb run through his hair. The dirty suit. The way he carefully and thoughtfully picked up everything he had knocked off John's desk and even repaired the broken picture so he had a few more minutes to look at it. I honestly felt a chill go up my spine when I read that part.

Furthermore, his entire interaction with John read so realistically, I felt as though your account of their crossing each other must be canon. In fact, I think I'm going to make it my headcanon from now on. It makes complete and total sense that John Lupin could have offended Greyback by refusing to let him into the investigation. And as we all unfortunately know, Greyback is not a man (er, make that beast) to be trifled with.

Again, I apologize for rambling on here, but I truly loved everything about this chapter. Your dialogue was sharp and natural-sounding, the scene read brilliantly and overall, I think this was just an incredible start to what should be an incredible fic. Thank you so much for sharing your writing with the world. You have true talent as a writer and I hope, (for my own selfish benefit, that is, haha) that you continue pursuing your very real skills. It was my deepest pleasure to read and review this chapter. I look forward to sampling more of your work in the very near future.

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #9, by celticbardIn the Mourning: A Gryffindor is Not a Morning Person

25th August 2016:
Hello Bex!
Boy, you sure do know how to draw readers into a story! This was a wonderful first chapter. I love the premise, and, of course, the interaction between McGonagall and Harry. Minerva is definitely one of my favorite characters and to see her faced with such an emotionally-charged challenge seems to show that while she will never give up, she certainly can feel daunted. I mean, I certainly don't blame her! What a situation to be in, with Harry being watched so closely and yet, as Minerva said, he deserves normalcy. I suppose if Harry weren't in the position he's currently in, the request might be taken a bit more lightly. But with Umbridge and the Ministry and Voldemort looking for any chink in his armor, it seems nearly impossible to help him.

Nonetheless, I applaud Minerva (staunch Gryffindor that she is) for standing up for Harry and trying her best to fulfill his wish. It was truly touching to see the old lioness having a conversation like this with the young cub. Harry and Minerva make a great pair (as teacher and student, I mean, of course). I know everyone seems to overlook her influence in favor of Dumbledore, although I've always felt that she had a strong soft spot (which sounds like a total contradiction) for the boy, not only because he was “The Chosen One” or because he was in her House, but because she genuinely liked him.

As I said, I think this is a great beginning you have here. The dialogue was extremely well-written, the characters spot-on and I really enjoyed your descriptions of the early morning, the coffee, the bitter November day. I almost felt like yawning along with Harry, haha. And may I just say, your banners are to die for! You are obviously both a talented writer and artist. :) Excellent job, all-around. I really liked reading this and will definitely come back for more.

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #10, by celticbardThinking About You: You, You, You

25th August 2016:
Hiya Em!
Umbridge and Lockhart? Wow! How is that for a huge twist! (I have to admit, I had to read the reviews to figure out who it was, my brain is not exactly running at full speed today, I guess, lol.) This is a great little one-shot you have here, Em. It's almost impossible for me to imagine Dolores Umbridge outside of her role in the Ministry, and formally, her position at Hogwarts, but somehow, you managed to pull it off and make it SO believable. Of course Umbridge would pine secretly for Lockhart in school. She does have an exacting, obsessive personality, as shown in this story and in the books by her fixation with Ministry rules. And having Lockhart as our Narcissus, well, that is just brilliant.

Additionally, the switching POVs worked very well in this story. It's funny, because at times, both the lovers (Umbridge being in love with Lockhart, Lockhart being in love with himself) seem to meld into one voice almost, which is seriously creepy. (Now I know why you marked this story as “horror”). It's not your usual “stalker” tale though. You managed to avoid all the tropes that usually make unrequited love stories unappealing. Instead, this tale is truly terrifying considering the possessive nature of both Umbridge and Lockhart's thoughts.

This was another wonderful story, Em. You really have a knack for writing unique, memorable pieces that are so perfectly original. It was a true joy to be able to sample some of your writing. I'll definitely be back for more.

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Le Anne!! Hiya!

I don't blame you, I've learnt it's more cryptic than I intended and leaves more room for interpretation that I meant for it to which isn't necessarily a negative thing. I'm always interested in how different people interpret this. I am so glad and relieved that you're saying what you are because I laid on the cheese with this one and felt so uncomfortable doing it even though it was meant to be cheese for a horrific purpose.

The challenge this story was written for, I think, was spectacular in that it really forced me to expand my comfort zone writing Umbrigde and Lockhart. That being said, I still wanted to make this realistic enough to be them. I didn't want to change the situation or their characters much. I didn't want to redeem them, so there's this.

I am thrilled you found it creepy despite all the misguiding I am guilty of with the fun song and the pseudo-fluff and the quasi-romance. I am also thrilled that, as an unrequited love story, this isn't as unappealing although it's written to be that way. i want to leave a bad taste in readers' mouths after reading this because I'm a terrible person.

Thank you so, so much for such a flattering review, Le Anne!!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #11, by celticbardStowaway: 'It'

25th August 2016:
Hi pointlessproclaimations!
Aw! I'm sorry, but I'm such a dog lover, you'll have to indulge me for a minute more. Aw! Okay, now that we've gotten that out of the way, I love this story! You have a great sense of humor, really. I could not help but smile while reading this story. And might I add, you have a great sense of empathy, as you made me truly feel for both Draco and his son. This story is about so much more than a stowaway dog, I think. Your references towards societal morays and conventions speak volumes, as does that fact that Scorpius is “lonely”. Full confession here; I do have a large amount of sympathy for Draco post-War, so I feel that his malaise, his frustration with the school and life in general, were definitely in keeping with his characterization.

It is so sad that the Malfoy family (and I'm speaking strictly of Draco, Astoria and Scorpius) must constantly face isolation and ostracization from the wizarding community. Of course, it is expected, due to Draco's involvement in the Death Eater movement, but somehow, I feel that he never fully believed in Voldemort or Voldemort's plan for domination of the wizrding world. (Not that the Malfoy's should ever be considered innocent.) Still, I do truly feel for both Draco and Scorpius in this story. Often, we think of Harry, Ron and Hermione as having good memories of their time at Hogwarts, but the fact that you state that Draco's memories of his childhood are painful completely justifies his reticence in meeting with Professor Patil.

And that's another thing, I loved that you used Parvati Patil as the professor and not Hermione or Neville or even McGonagall. We don't know much about Draco's relationship with the other students except that he was in Slytherin and she in Gryffindor, so I imagine they weren't especially close. Still, their interaction seemed completely natural. Parvati was the perfect reserved professor and Draco the obviously harassed parent, which made the scene work so well. And the addition of Pookie, well, I can't help but just go “aw” again.

You have a wonderful story here. I really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity to read it!

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: I guess between this review and the next you found my name XD.

Lee Anne!!

You're leaving such wonderful words and I'm blushing and regaining confidence in my writing again which is the best thing ever. Thank you endlessly for that.

RIGHT? Why are there no dogs in Hogwarts? There should be! So. . . I wrote it. The plot line came almost immediately when I got my prompt for this challenge. Draco, Scorpius, Dog, Pookie, Parvati! And then came the nuance--the ostracisation of former children and grandchildren (etc) of Death Eaters. What someone like Draco would then have to do is be hypersensitive to how he portrays himself in public--he has to have a heightened awareness to his own every word and move and it wasn't hard for me to imagine his mentality. Glad I'm not alone in this post-war Draco sympathy. He was just a kid. That's how he was raised and he is trying to do better, I think. Basically, perception vs. reality is important to me.

I read over and wrote through this many times over to try to portray a realistic Draco and you're pointing out all the things that was going on in my mind and it's so reassuring. ♥ Draco's time at Hogwarts really must of sucked--crazy people, insane antics, someone slapped his mug (to be fair he was a bit of a prat).

Pookie because what else would Scorpius name a stowaway St. Bernard? :D :D

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!! I equally enjoyed reading this review. You're much too sweet and you give me warm, cuddly feelings on the inside.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #12, by celticbardalways: me and you

25th August 2016:
Hi pointlessproclaimations!
To be completely honest, I read this story while listening to Ombra Mai Fu by Handel which made it about ten times more intense. I was nearly crying at the end, which I guess is a very good thing, considering the nature of this piece. ;)

Anyway, onto the review. Let me tell you first, this story is different. And I mean that as a serious compliment, because you've created something that almost reads like a prose poem. Your use of repetition as a literary device (one of my faves, actually) is absolutely magnificent. For example, this sentence, “In the end, I don’t even know if you’d let me apologise because I am sorry. I am sorry for so many things. I am sorry I was your first friend. I am sorry that we were ever friends.” your continued use of “I'm sorry” just works so well. It brings the reader full circle, while at the same time, it continues to deeply explore Snape's true feelings regarding Lily Evans.

And that's another thing I'd like to mention, your characterization. It's incredible. Spot-on, really. The way you explain Snape's deepest fears, his failings, his hopes and his reaction to not having Lily in his life is nothing short of elegant. Like I mentioned before, this piece has all the eloquence of a prose poem and it even follows a very distinct pattern. There is clearly a beginning, a middle and an end. Snape describes his history with Lily much like you would in any story. He starts with mentioning that they were each others first friends (the beginning) and then goes on to detail how their relationship fell apart (the middle) and finally, he tells us where they have both ended up and summarizes his feelings for Lily in that heart-breaking last line (the end). What I'm trying to say, I guess, is that this piece has an excellent flow to it, which is very hard to accomplish in a story written in this particular style. (By the way, I'm just curious, did you write this as a stream-of-conciousness piece?)

Well, if it isn't obvious through my painfully rambling review, I really love this piece. Thank you so much for sharing it with us! I look forward to reading more of your work. :)

Best,
Lee Anne

Author's Response: Handel?! Brilliant. That would do it.

Oh my goodness, Lee Anne, I must tell you: I rarely write sad/angst/anything within this genre. I very nearly didn't post it because of how uncertain I was about it (which is saying something considering how uncertain I am about the majority of my writing that I post anyway).

Repetition and a near-prose poem style seemed the most natural way for this to flow. I think it added a coherence to what would otherwise seem rambling. Thank you for your compliments 'absolutely magnificent' ?!?! My ego cannot take this.

Regret of action and inaction simultaneously is a complex thing that miraculously made sense within this story which, at the time of writing it, to me, made sense because I suppose I kind of felt this, in a much less exaggerated, less poetic, less dramatic, less romantic sort of way. Writing this out was a way of making sense of these contradictory thoughts. Some part of me still wonders how I managed to get this to work. It feels almost like it was a fluke because it wasn't planned. Yes, it was, in the beginning, a stream-of-conciousness piece I refined to characterise the exact nature of Lily and Severus's relationship--or at least my perception of it.

I am thrilled you are finding the flow and the perceived beginning, middle, and end of all of this. Part of me is thrilled that you're finding this has 'excellent flow,' but another is saying that it's a pure fluke. XD I put all the angst into this and it's depleted my capacity for more, I believe.

I equally love this review which isn't painful in the least. ♥ Why are you thanking me for sharing it? I am thanking you for reading it and leaving this gorgeous review that makes me want to write again because you make me believe I can again and that's invaluable.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by celticbardYet: Yet

24th August 2016:
Hi Katie,
Aww, this is very sweet! It is so nice to read a sincere James and Lily that isn't all about the chase (James pursuing Lily, I mean) and instead find a piece that is natural and poetic in its simplicity. Although I know it is based on a song by Taylor Swift, it almost reminds me of “Cosmic Love” by Florence and the Machine. The stars, the darkness, the anticipation of finally admitting their love to each other. It all makes for one very lovely story.

I'm usually not into fluff, but I think you struck a very good balance between the overwhelmingly cute and the very real beauty of falling in love with someone for the first time. The mild undercurrent of tension in this piece also sets it apart. Even though Lily is relaxed in James's company, you still impart, through your very precise choice of language, that she is dying to tell James just how she feels. And I think there is always a bit of anxiety that goes into that, waiting for the other person to respond, existing solely in that moment of anticipation. Again, it's all achingly beautiful, which is very apparent in this story. :)

I'm really, really glad I was able to sample some of your stories, Katie. Thank you so much for sharing your writing with us. It truly was a pleasure!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #14, by celticbardBeside Yourself: Beside Yourself

24th August 2016:
Hi Katie,
Oh my, what a devastating story! I have to admit, you had me tricked in the beginning. I actually thought Lily was dead for the first paragraph until Sirius started speaking. You wrote her grief so well that she simply seemed to cease to exist. How dreadful. But still, I love what you've done with this one-shot.

Very little description, mostly dialogue, no setting to speak of, it all works brilliantly. We're completely trapped with Lily in this living-death. I have to say, while I read this story, I felt this overwhelming sense of blindness, as if I were in the dark with Lily, entirely vulnerable and lost and yes, dead. Even when Sirius spoke forcefully to her, his voice seemed distant and inconsequential. By the way, I loved the contrast between his hysterics and Remus's perpetual calm. The completely different reactions to James's death were almost eerie. Sirius is insane with anger, Remus is rational and Lily is just gone. This story, I think, is a great study of the impact grief can have on people. No one reacts in the same manner, which is evidently clear in the behavior exhibited by all three characters.

Also, I love how you showed us just how unstable Lily is when she did briefly interact with Sirius by throwing the picture at him and then rather stiffly attempted to soothe Harry which only dissolved into hysterics. She wavers so violently between different moods, giving me a very clear idea of just how deep her depression is.

This was another fantastic piece, Katie. I'm thoroughly enjoying reading your stories. Despite the heart-breaking nature of this fic, I really did love it. Excellent work!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #15, by celticbardPurge and Dowse, Ltd.: Welcome to Janus Thickey

24th August 2016:
Hi Katie,
Oh, this is a very, very promising beginning. Very promising. I just adore stories about magical medicine, healers, their patients, etc. In fact, I'm writing a novel that is set solely in a wizarding TB hospital. So yes, this piece is right up my alley and already you have me wanting more, more, more!

I think an interview with a new healer is a great way to start a story. Like Felicity, we are being introduced to the ward in a way that shows us what is going on rather than tells us, which is awesome. Great idea! I also love how you tried to humanize the situation as much as possible. I can imagine, in a ward for mentally challenged witches and wizards, it can be easy to unintentionally err on the wacky side of things, but you didn't do that here. You made the patients real and incredibly sympathetic (in fact, I can already see Felicity is the type of person to form strong attachments with her charges), which is a very thoughtful thing to do. It's obvious that despite their impairments, these witches and wizards are still treated with respect, something that I find very touching and genuine.

Furthermore, your writing is solid, the dialogue realistic and your descriptions well-done. I also particularly loved the interview scene in Miriam's office. I think we can all relate to Felicity being in a high-pressured situation in which she flounders about, looking for the correct words (although in my mind, she did a good.).

Again, I really enjoyed your first chapter, Katie and I cannot wait to see how this story unfolds and meet some of the residents/other healers on the ward. Excellent job!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #16, by celticbardTell Me Who You Are: Phase Two: Tell Him You're a Witch

16th August 2016:
Hi Liz!
It's Lee here, with your review for BvB. I'm so, so glad that I'm getting a chance to read the rest of this story. Wow. Mark is an amazing guy. I like him a lot. He obviously cares for Dom very much. I can understand, however, him feeling a little freaked out thinking that Dom might have actually used magic on him. Everyone has their breaking point and I think Mark was being quite generous with Dom, even just by giving her a chance to attempt to talk things over.

Speaking of which, I thought you did a great job writing the conversation between Mark and Dom. I think it's hard to imagine just how someone would explain something so odd in a relatively normal manner, but their dialogue came across as natural. Of course, Mark was rightfully flabbergasted, though at times, he seemed even more level-headed than Dom. Perhaps that is because you hinted at something like this happening to her before with a bad outcome? Well, I'm thoroughly intrigued. ;)

Again, I really like the way this story is going. The plot is strong, it's definitely holding my attention. The characters are interesting and well-rounded. And the dialogue is smart and well-written. Excellent work, Liz! I cannot wait to read more.

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Lee! A name! (Can I still call you Khaleesi? o.O)

I am a Harry Potter nut, so, I've actually had similar conversations with my husband trying to explain certain things about canon or my AU, ect. It's not normally this emotionally packed, though. That I just tried to put myself into the shoes of someone who was finding out that someone they thought they knew was a completely different person. That's also why Mark was so level-headed at times- he was learning new things about Dom, but he couldn't see her as someone he didn't already love.

I'm glad you like it so much! This story was my challenge baby!
-Liz


 Report Review

Review #17, by celticbardUnapologetic: Of Pride

14th August 2016:
Hi Bianca,
I've never written a Marauders story before, so I know exactly how you feel. I would say, though, you definitely did the fandom proud! This was a great, straight-forward, piece with no over-the-top characterizations and wonderful dialogue. Have I mentioned how much I love your dialogue, yet? I know, I know, I've been focusing mostly on your descriptive abilities in my reviews, but I've been meaning to tell you how well-written your dialogue is. It's appropriate for each of the characters, smart, clean and expressive. And good dialogue means a lot of good “showing” versus “telling”. If I had never read a Marauders fic in my life, I think this story would give me a very good idea of their history and Lily's relationship with James and Severus. And can I just say that I appreciate how you presented us with James's not so nice side (he attacks Snape for no reason) along with his ability to change as a person due to Lily's influence. I really liked the fact that in this story, he's obviously trying to be a “good boy” for Lily, although he's definitely still, well, James.

Again, I think you did the Marauders justice. You're a very versatile writer and I've been thoroughly enjoying your work. :)

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw thank you so much, I'm so glad you think I did them justice!

Argh you are too kind! Your reviews have been absolutely amazing, and I've been thoroughly enjoying reading them!!

Thanks so much again,

Bianca



 Report Review

Review #18, by celticbardA Happy Memory: The Swan

14th August 2016:
Hello again, Bianca!
Ah, what a lovely, yet sad piece. Again, your writing is thrilling, fresh and original. You did an excellent, and I mean excellent, job of exploring Cho's isolation, her grief, and her very acute sense of loss. I think, occasionally, Cho is overlooked in the fandom and branded as the girl who dumped Harry, or at least, the one who had a hand in betraying DA. But truly, her actions seem quite reasonable after reading this fic. Not only is she torn by her love for Cedric and her interest in Harry, but also her loyalty to her parents versus her own beliefs.

Furthermore, I was truly touched by her memories of Cedric, which seemed to match her own sensibilities so well. The image of the swan and the crushed flower petal gave this story a delicate and exceedingly mournful feel. Honestly, I loved every word. And the ending was so perfect. Cho finds the memory, but it is a bittersweet one, a moment that mirrors the paradoxes in her own life.

This is a beautifully written piece, Bianca and I enjoyed every bit of it. Once again, great job!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hello!

I always thought Cho was a little overlooked too, but if you look at things closely in her perspective, she really does have a sad story, and that's why I chose to write about her.

Thank you so much! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by celticbardChasing Dragons : But Guys, Dragons

14th August 2016:
Hi Bianca!
Oh my goodness, what a wonderful one-shot! I'm faving it right now! *clicks button* There were so many lovely bits to this piece. The names, Hesper and Hagen, your characterization of the OCs and minor characters that pop up briefly, but still manage to make a statement, and, of course, the dragons! Who can blame Charlie, really? My heart just about flipped over when I read your description of him flying on a dragon's back. ;)

I don't know much about the challenge you wrote this for, but I have to say, I loved everything about this one-shot. Your language was poetic, yet easy to read and very Charlie-ish. I think focusing on descriptions of the five senses, especially the tactile, served you quite well. Charlie strikes me as a very visceral person and I think you did him justice here.

Again, this was an excellent story, Bianca. You should be very proud of your writing skills. Thanks for posting it!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hello honey!

Your reviews are so wonderful and they were an amazing surprise! Thank you for favourite-ing, this story is one of the early ones I wrote, so to know that people still love it really means a lot.

The challenge had me take a negative Sagittarius trait and turn it positive! The trait was 'tactless' so it was definitely a challenge!

Thank you once again for your kind review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by celticbardTell Me Who You Are: Phase One: Bring Boyfriend to Dinner

14th August 2016:
Hi SilverMoonFairy!
Don't mind me as I sample some of your stories here. ;) Seriously, I'm so happy that I was able to read and review this. What a great story! I can so relate to Dom, being a seamstress myself. It is very calming to work on an outfit, especially if you're hand sewing it, but I digress. What a steep hill for her to climb! She has to introduce her boyfriend to her family AND tell him that she's a witch. Whew! I definitely admire her tenacity and resolve.

The scene in her apartment was perfect and I think, very easy for a lot of women to relate to. I mean, after all, it makes a lot of sense to comfort and distract ourselves with the familiar (in Dom's case, it's putting together an outfit) in order to think through a problem. You also managed to show us a lot about Dom by leaving little tidbits here and there, like her interactions with her family and siblings, her disappointment over not living up to their expectations, her need for stability and honesty in her relationship with her boyfriend. For example, the mention of Dom not following through with her Obliviator training was a great way to show readers a little of her personality. She's insecure about her talents, obviously and even though I bet she enjoys her job at Madam Malkins, I'm sure she “settled” in a way,when she accepted the position. See, you have me rambling on about Dom as though she were a real person. That's how vivid a picture you painted of her. Excellent work!

As far as nitpicks go, I don't have much, except I think you may have used the incorrect word in this sentence, “Crookshanks the Second, prodigy of Hermione's cat and a stray she had taken in.” Instead of “prodigy”, I think you meant “progeny”, as in, Crookshanks the Second was related to or the offspring of the original Crookshanks. Prodigy implies that the cat is a young genius or exceptionally talented at a young age. Unless Crookshanks the Second is a prodigy of some kind, lol. I'm just kidding! ;)

Anyway, this was a wonderful start to what promises to be a great story. I truly cannot wait to read more. :)

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Khaleesi! (I spelled it right this time. T_T) Sample away! I apologize, I don't have more for you to view. I'm working on it, though!

I was assigned Dom as a random character to write about for the challenge this story was written for. I had never, ever, ever done a Next Gen and was daunted by the task. I am very excited with the reactions I've gotten on this story about her character, so I appreciate that you appreciate her and her talents! (So cool that you are a seamstress as well! I used to do homemade projects.) She is probably one of my favorite characters to write about now and I am so very excited that she seemed so real to you!

Ah, yes... That is a mistake. Oops. Thank you! (I am a terrible Ravenclaw, hahaha!)

Thank you for your wonderful review and I hope you enjoy the story.
-Liz


 Report Review

Review #21, by celticbardWhispers in the Dark: Prologue- Chosen

14th August 2016:
Hi Jill!
I'm so glad I was able to read this chapter (thank you Review Tag thread!). As I'm sure other readers have mentioned, this is one tense ride! First, we have the immediate threat of Ginny being tortured by the Carrows, which is terrifying enough, at least the way you built it up. And then, adding Seamus to the mix, the boy she is “beginning to love”, wow. It all makes for one great prologue. By the way, have I mentioned that I love stories that start in medias res? This is a great example of that. Here I am, thrust into a very dark, dangerous situation that gets my heart pounding right away, but at the same time, requires me to think a little about the narrator and setting. Also, you did a wonderful job introducing the main plot by literally dragging Seamus into the scene. While the story does begin “in the middle of things”, I did not once feel lost or confused, but rather, was drawn right in by the intensity of the prologue. Excellent job! I very much admire a writer who can so successfully pull off a beginning like this.

Now, I only have a very, very small nitpick regarding this chapter. It's not a big deal, just something that popped into my mind while I was reading and took me out of the story for a minute, so I thought I'd mention it. When Seamus first enters, Ginny states that although the room is dark, she can still see his “eyes clouded with worry and fear”. However, the very last line of the chapter states that, “In the dim torchlight, I knew he wouldn’t be able to see the heartbreak in my eyes”. So that leaves me a little uncertain. Is it too dark for Ginny and Seamus to see facial expressions or can they actually see clearly enough to look one another in the eyes? It's just something to think about. Otherwise, I have no complaints. ;)

Once again, I'm so pleased I had the chance to read this prologue. I love tense, dark stories and this one certainly whet my appetite. I will definitely have to read more of this story soon. Great writing, Jill!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Oh hello there! ♥

I also love stories that start in medias res, but I never felt like I had one that worked well enough until I started this one, and I'm glad I did! I'm so glad that you didn't feel lost or confused by anything; I wanted to make it sort of ambiguous but with enough for you to know who I was talking about. Does that make sense? Probably not, but... :P Oh well. And poor Seamus, literally being dragged in. My heart breaks for him even though I'm the one dragging him.

You know, you're actually the first one to point that out, so thank you! I might have to go back and rework that a bit because I love the last line so much. I sort of figured that she could see him, but he couldn't see much of her, but knows it's her, but you're definitely right that it could be clearer.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I need to get better at updating this story, oops.

~Jill


 Report Review

Review #22, by celticbardHouse of Stone: Prologue

13th August 2016:
Hello SilverMoonFairy,
This was a great beginning to what promises to be a very cool story! First off, let me just say that your characterization was spot on. Very good, indeed. Voldemort in particular, I think, exhibited that same cool, detached evil that made him so chilling in the books. The Malfoys were also very well-written—Lucius wavering, as usual, Draco eager to prove himself. I very much liked the little look Draco exchanged with his father, the look of disgust. I think it speaks volumes as to how dedicated Draco is to the “cause” in this fic. The fact that he would so openly express his dislike for his father's behavior really shows (and of course, showing is much better than telling!) how different Lucius is from his son and how this war, like all wars, has splintered their family in a dangerous way. Also, I wanted to mention Voldemort's dialogue. It was very crisp, expressive and well-written. Voldemort strikes me as a character who wouldn't want to waste words and he certainly doesn't in this opening chapter. He says only what is necessary, and reserves his true thoughts for Nagini alone. :)

If I absolutely had to criticize anything in this chapter (and I'm just nitpicking here), it would be your opening sentence. It read a little bit rough, repeating the word “dark” twice, while also including the word “black”. I think it probably could be strengthened to better catch the reader's attention and create mood without using the “dark” twice.

Again, I'm really glad I was able to read this opening chapter and I look forward to reading more. Great job!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Kahlessi, you honor me with your review! *bows*

I thank you for your kind words. I was actually very excited for the responses I've been getting for this prologue and I'm glad you enjoyed it! The opening line was difficult, as it always is. I still haven't found a way to reword it, but when I do, I'll see if you like it better.

Thank you very much!
-Liz


 Report Review

Review #23, by celticbardWedding Plans: Wedding Plans

9th August 2016:
Hello ImaRavenclaw,
I'm here from HPFT's review tag. It's so ironic that I picked this story of yours to read, since I'm also writing a story about Hermione having doubts about Ron on her wedding day. Quite a coincidence, isn't it? Therefore, I was really eager to read your story and see how you handled the subject matter.

I definitely loved the fact that Hermione went on a quest of self-discovery, by questioning her family and friends and not questioning just herself, which she probably should have done in the first place. To me, this shows a Hermione out of sorts, not OOC, just at her wit's end. She's reacting to a situation she doesn't understand and I think you did an excellent job portraying her confusion. Like any intellectual, she spends her time looking for a good solid, objective opinion. And while I can certainly see why she went to speak with Harry, I have to admit, I'm a bit flummoxed as to some of the other candidates she chose. For example. I think a young woman would speak to her parents over Dean and Seamus. Also, I thought the denouement (Hermione discussing her cold feet with Ron) was a little rushed. Although I know this story is about self-discovery, Hermione didn't really question herself in the end, but rather, relied on Ron to make the decision for her.

Otherwise, despite these nitpicks, I really liked your story, ImaRavenclaw and I'm glad I had the chance to read it. Thanks for posting! You did a lovely job. :)

Best,
celticbard (aka Khaleesi).

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reading!

Yeah that is pretty ironic, I'm glad you found this then. That's awesome, I'm sure it'll be great!

That was really what I was aiming for. SELF DISCOVERY! Well, Hermione can't exactly talk to her parents because as far as they're concerned, they don't have a daughter! They were obliviated before Hermione went to fight the war.

This was written for an amazing banner on TDA, so everything was kind of rushed, so sorry about that. This is definitely not one of my best works!

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you have an awesome day!

-ImaRavenclaw


 Report Review

Review #24, by celticbardBreathing Underwater: I

20th June 2011:
Hi Leslie,
It's celticbard here from the review exchange over on TGS. I'm so glad we got paired up for this round. This one-shot was the perfect summer story. Even though I don't envy Lily's situation, I kinda wish I had a beautiful creek in my backyard to take a swim in. ;)

I find it fascinating that you based this fic on Munch's "The Scream" and ended up coming up with this scenario. For me, "The Scream" has always been about terror, but you really put a different spin on it, making it more about despair and regret and longing. Very creative! I also loved how Lily constantly second-guessed herself throughout the story as she battled her insecurities. And even though she seemed aware of her flaws, she truly came across as a strong character. The last scene in particular reinforces her natural independence and resilience.

Overall, this was a lovely story, Leslie and I really enjoyed reading it. Great writing! ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Awww, thanks Lee Anne! I'm glad you enjoyed it and thought it was creative. I really had fun writing this and it all came out in one go with very little thought. I just let my mind take off and tell my fingers what to type.

Yes, I think we've all had to battle insecurities at some point in our lives. I'm glad you saw her as a strong character as I really do try to make my characters as multi-dimensional and solid as I can. I feel like characters are what pushes my stories a lot of the time, that keep the plot going because they had conflict and drama to it all. Thanks again! (:


 Report Review

Review #25, by celticbardOf Demons and Dark Lords: Chapter 1

16th March 2011:
Hi JeanieLee,
I have to admit, I've never watched an episode of Supernatural, although it certainly seems like a show I would like, which is what attracted me to this fic in the first place. That and I also love well done cross-overs. ^_^ Unfortunately, the genre seems to have a rather poor reputation, but I think you definitely proved how untrue that reputation is with this fic. You really did an excellent job merging both fandoms. As someone who isn't familiar with Supernatural, I wasn't the least bit confused by this first chapter. Dean and Sam struck me as two very complex characters and I think the bit of back-story you provided for them was just enough to get readers interested in them.

The only slight criticism I have, and believe me, it's very slight, would be the pacing of the first scene. You did an amazing job introducing the two OCs, however, I felt the sudden intrusion of the demon set things just a little off-balance. The scene works fine as it is, although I think it would flow even better if you just slowed it down a little and added some more dialogue between Natalie and David.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this chapter, JeanieLee, and I'm glad I got a chance to check this story out. Good luck with this fic!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hey Lee Anne!

Oh, you haven't. Well, if it's the kind of thing you watch then I really recommend it. It's an awesome show. Yes, sadly they do have a bad reputation since there are some bad ones out there that seem to overshadow the good ones. But I'm glad that you believe that I prove that wrong. Yay, I'm glad you weren't confused since you've never seen the show, though I still recommend it. ;)

I was originally planing that scene to be a bit longer, to show more of the relationship between David and Natalie, but this story is definitely one of those that has taken on a life of it's own and very quickly too. The story has been calling the shots since the beginning. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for the lovely review!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>