Reading Reviews From Member: Roonyskatoony
  
107 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RoonyskatoonyThe Morning Waffle: So a Seeker and a Radio Host Walk Into a Bar...

3rd December 2011:
I love this fic, the best I've ever read, I burst out in hysterical maniacal laughter every five seconds, settle myself then start all over again. Your characters are amazing, hugely believable and well...just downright entertaining!

Update soon!
~Roonyskatoony~

 Report Review

Review #2, by RoonyskatoonyThe Morning Waffle: People Who Actually Get Paid to Do What They Do

26th July 2011:
Argh!! This was probably up ages ago and I missed it but I can't tell you just how much I love this story, you crack me up at least every few lines!! Keep updating and now I'm going to go zoom to the next chapter and continue laughing like a loonatic! ;P

10/10, there'd be more zeroes...but for some reason they don't seem to want to show up...
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by RoonyskatoonyThe Fourth Floor: The Fourth Floor

12th March 2011:
Hey!

So firstly I'd like to say thank you for deciding to do the challenge, I was delighted that you'd taken it up ^.^

I thought this was SO nicely done, you write so well and I think the line and the subject of the story went AMAZINGLY well. I'm a huge fan of Neville (he's amazing!!! :P) and you really did him justice! It was a really interesting place to set it, after the war, after everything that's happened it felt like a light, bittersweet but meaningful piece :D

Gosh I really don't know how to say that how much I enjoyed it (my review writing muse appears to have gone on holiday...) but I think you're an amazing author and love how well you characterize your characters!

Thank you again for entering the challenge, I really enjoyed it!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: I thought this was an extremely interesting challenge - I'm so glad you came up with the idea for it!

Thank you so much for being so complimentary. ^^ I had never tried to write Neville before but I wanted to portray him as someone other than the round-face, forgetful boy from the first few books, so I am so pleased that translated well. =]

Thank you so much once again! I will look forward to the results!


 Report Review

Review #4, by RoonyskatoonyThe Last of the English Roses: Maybe That Wasn't The Best Idea...

9th March 2011:
HAHAHAHA I really do love Rose!...and Scorpius...poor Scorpius' :( Anyway hurry up and write more about...you know who...no not that you know who, I mean THAT you know who! Haha :P

Oh and while you're at it, The Storms looking a little...well not updated! (

Author's Response: hehehe, yes I do know who - subtle much, are we? :D
the storm is updated... so go review!!! :P
Thanks for the lovely review dear :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by RoonyskatoonyThe Sisterhood of Pine: Meet our sisters

18th February 2011:
Hey

Ok so first off I'd just like to say, that I thought this was absolutely amazing! I really can't wait to see where it's going, it's entertaining and interesting and looks like it's going to be a really interesting novel!

It can be really difficult to do a good first chapter but I think this is a really good length and gives a good insight without going back and spending ages filling us in on everything.

I will definitely be checking back!
10/10
~Roonyskatoony~
(Sorry it took so long to reply to your request!)

Author's Response: Wow thanks so much. It was such an awesome review that I couldn't help but smile when I read it. And I definitely don't mind the wait. Thank you so much for just coming and reading!!

LMW


 Report Review

Review #6, by RoonyskatoonyInsomniac: Insomniac

10th February 2011:
*sigh* Do you really have to be THIS amazing?

:P

Hehe I was really glad to receive another request from you! :D As usual your vocabulary and imagery were amazing, especially the flashbacks.

As I was reading I was sitting there thinking 'why do the two men sound so bloody familiar?!' then I remembered they were Mrs Weasley's brothers lol.

Anyway, all in all, a job well done!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Erm... Hehe, I don't know exactly how to answer that question! ^^

I'm thrilled to hear you liked the story! I liked writing the flashback bits and then comparing them to the present, I'm glad you did as well. ^^

Yep! When I hit upon the fact that it was Dolohov who murdered the Prewetts, I thought that would be a great initiation crime for his remorse to sort of cover.

Thanks as always for your fabulous review! ^^


 Report Review

Review #7, by RoonyskatoonyLast Game: Last Game

10th February 2011:
Hey :D

Ok so admittedly I was a little confused in parts and I think perhaps it could have been longer and would probably benefit from more detail, it seemed a bit sketchy and a little patchy so I think with a little editing this could be goodl :D

Well Done
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Okay. I'll try to go through and read it. Thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RoonyskatoonyUnlaced: Propriety

10th February 2011:
Hey :D

Well first of all I'd just like to say that I really enjoyed this fic. I usually end up reading the same genre, same era, same pairing...well I'm sure you get the picture so this was a ncie breath of fresh air! :D

I only a few very minor mistakes but they're hardly worth mentioning and didn't affect the reading at all.


I thought the subject was a really interesting one, it's really interesting to think of 'witches rights' because I'm pretty sure (like real life) there would have been loads of restrictions, not to mention generally women weren't taught to protect themselves and thus probably used their wands to do embroidery or whatever else! :P

I've only ever read one other pre - Hogwarts fic you've simply reconfirmed the idea that I actually really like them!

Well done!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Hello Roonyskatoony! Thanks so much for reviewing! I love your penname, by the way :P

I'm thrilled you enjoyed this. I know what you mean - I used to have a review thread, and it opened my eyes to so many new stories!

I'm a huge history fan, especially of the Victorian era and women's rights, so it's a lot of fun to make it fit in the Harry Potter universe!

Yeah, I did a bit of a search to see if there were any Victorian Hogwarts fic's, and I found hardly any :/ which just made me more determined to write this!

Thanks so much for your amazing review, hun! I really appreciate the time you took to read this :)

-Elizabeth


 Report Review

Review #9, by RoonyskatoonyNothing: Nothing

10th February 2011:
Aw poor Scorpius :(

I know this is most probably a really stupid thing to say (considering it's a song fic and all) but you did a really good job at actually making the story GO with the song, I loved how each new scene was marked with a new verse of lyrics...oh and I love the song too :P

I think perhaps you could work on the flow at bit, it seemed a bit choppy at times but other than that, I really liked it! :D

Well done!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

I've been getting really good responses from this song-fic so I'm really pleased you agree.

Thanks for the advice. If/when I get round to editing this, I'll try to improve the flow. :)

Thanks again,

Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #10, by RoonyskatoonyThe Last of the English Roses: Concussions and Neanderthals

7th February 2011:
Hehe I do love Rose...and Matt and Kate's 'relationship' (or lack of :P). Good chapter!

~Roonyskatoony
p.s: you're amazing blah blah blah yada yada etc etc :P

p.p.s: and so am I of course (wouldn't want you worrying about my self confidence now would I? :P).

Author's Response: LOL good times :D
AND THE QUEUE IS ZERO HOURS LONG! Have you updated? oh wait, Ace messed it up again didnt he? shame... :P
Of course I am, and so are you dear :)
Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by RoonyskatoonyPick Your Poison: Introducing Skyla

31st January 2011:
Haha no, it's great! I seriously love it 'Sirius probably carried some form of 'disease' by now' LOL.

I loved this first chapter and really, really can't wait to see how this progresses! As far as first chapter go, you most definitely clinched it and I will definitely be checking back again! :D

10/10!

~Roonyskatoony~
p.s: You have amazing taste in music! Pink Floyd are amazing! :P

Author's Response: Seriously? :o I was afraid it was boring and was about to go and rework it a bit lol

Agh you have no idea how much this means! I have a first review on here! Be prepared for alot of the 60s-70s music to show up in this, I have a deep love for it :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by RoonyskatoonyNew Divide: Blessing in Disguise

29th January 2011:
Hey!

Sorry it's taken so long to reply! Weekends can be a bit hectic!

Anyway! I did enjoy this, it was nice to see Sirius as such a small boy, most tend to have him as some womaniser even at the tender age of 11 (which can admittedly be amusing but still, it gives him more of a chance to grow into it!). I liked the introductions of each of the canon characters, it was easy to imagine their later relationships :P

I also enjoyed your characterization of Nearly Headless Nick as well, he was absolutely perfect!

Well done!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: No worries; I completely understand about weekends being busy!

Haha yeah, I like to think that Sirius started out his Hogwarts days with some insecurities, instead of being all crooked grins and smooth lines from the get-go.

Haha I'm glad you enjoyed the bits of canon I threw in there! It was fun figuring out a way to have James and Lily interact for the first time.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by RoonyskatoonyThe Storm: Welcome to the AO

28th January 2011:
Hahaha yay I hadn't read the last bit! Lol Beck's so bloody awkward :P
Anyway oh Jenny of all amazingness (I can see your ego inflating already!) that was a great chapter full of amazingness! As I said before I absolutely LOVE the AO as in one of those 'damn! Wish I'd written that!' kind of moments. It was amazing! Well done! :D

Author's Response: hehe, of course she is!!! The little weirdo... But I love her anyway :)
Oh, my ego is pretty much fully inflated already!!! (even more so by the whole 'damn! Wish I'd written that!' thing!!!)
thanks for the review deary :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by RoonyskatoonyFilthy Attractions.: Bonnie Ralph’s biggest fault.

28th January 2011:
Hey!

So I thought I'd return the favour! This looks like it's going to be a really interesting story!

Hate to sound biased and all but...I REALLY BLOODY HOPE SHE CHUCKS THAT IDIOT SOON!!! (To be on the safe side I'll keep my language 12+ :P) Haha, I really like the start of this story, there are a few minor mistakes and you did repeat yourself with the 'Tayla looks like a barbie doll' thing but it was still really good!

Well done! I will definitely read favourite this story then continue reading at a later point! :D

~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: aww thank you that's sweet.
I'm currently waiting for the edited versions to be validated


 Report Review

Review #15, by RoonyskatoonyThe Sixth Horcrux: The Sixth Horcrux.

28th January 2011:
Hey :D

Right so let's start at the beginning shall we? I liked your portrayal of Tom Riddle/Voldemort, he was suitably manipulative, a charmer and yet cold at the same time. You told it really well although perhaps padding out it out a bit with a little more description, it seemed a bit empty in places.

I don't want to appear finicky and I don't like spending too much time on things like spelling etc but I think if you just read through it again and got rid of a few of the typos it would be good. Also it's 'Lady Grey' not 'Lady Gray'. Hope that helps!

Thank you for requesting!
~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: thanks! :)

yeah about her name i looked around everywhere and kept getting different spellings everywhere i looked :/ so i just settled with that one. And yeah, i wrote this before i got my beta too :) lol thanks for the lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RoonyskatoonyThat Bitter Pill: And There We Stood...Watching

28th January 2011:
I always felt kind of sorry for Myrtle, I mean yeah she spends ages moaning(!) but still.

Anyway! I think you did a beautiful job at portraying such an amazing and interesting idea. Especially the way that it's appreciated that it's regret and guilt that they're feeling rather than being particularly sad about her actually dying.

It's one of those things that I guess you never want to think, more because it makes you feel like a bad person.

So well done for such a well written piece!
Feel free to request again! :D

Author's Response: Hi Roonyskatoony! (I really like your penname by the way)

Ahaha, I agree. I felt sorry for her too.

I think if they felt sad then it wouldn't be sincere. I didn't want to create any misconceptions for anyone here, I wanted to get a feel of how people really felt when Myrtle died. Sadness would require actually caring and from Myrtle's constant moaning, you could see that caring wasn't the case with these people.

That's a very good point, thank you for bringing that up! It's true, we would think of anyone else as a bad person but it's not an adjective to use willingly when describing ourselves.

Thank you so much for your review!
Have a great weekend!
Lia


 Report Review

Review #17, by RoonyskatoonyTalking to the Moon: Talking to the Moon

27th January 2011:
Haha listened to this with the song on in the background!

Anyway, it was good, really sweet. I loved the change of perspectives and the common thing between the three of them. The idea was beautiful and well executed and I only noticed one small mistake!

I liked how you did all of them, nothing too gooey and yet with a decent amount of sentiment.

Well done! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by RoonyskatoonyExtinguished: Extinguished

26th January 2011:
Once again you blew me away.

The way you portray characters emotions and their love is so gentle and I guess that's what makes it so stirring. I loved their interactions with the baby Harry and it's so nice to think of him as a small kid with all that affection, something he obviously never had when he grew up.

My only thing (this really isn't a critism more just a pointer) is that Harry was born before Hallowean but I'm guessing that was the challenge right?

You're an amazing writer and I honestly think you're amazing, you're stories are so gentle and somehow that's what makes them stand out; simplistic yet beautiful. I will definitely read your other story and review, it'll be really nice to see how you do a longer piece of writing too.

So really I think I should be thanking you! I don't think I would have ever found you if you hadn't requested! Will definitely recommend!

~Roonyskatoony

Author's Response: Yes, this was a Halloween challenge. =) He's supposed to be a little over a year old in this challenge.

Aand there go the tears. =) Seriously, I cannot thank you enough for reviewing. You have done so much for me just in leaving your reviews, I can't even tell you. Like, seriously - you've pretty much restored my confidence. =)

Thank you from the very deepest part of my heart!


 Report Review

Review #19, by RoonyskatoonySecond Hand Ticking: Second Hand Ticking

26th January 2011:
That. Was. Beautiful.

Seriously beautiful. You're characterizations were amazing and I loved Rose and Scorpius' relationship, it wasn't showy, there didn't say they loved each other every five seconds but you could almost feel it, the strength and the warmth was just amazing. In fact the relationships in general were so well portrayed!

I'd also love to mention that I really enjoyed the length of the chapter, a lot of one shots are very sentimental but generally don't have much else in them, you just did it absolutely perfectly.

It's most probably one of the best one-shots I've ever read. I loved Ron's flashback and the ' “No, sweetheart. You’ve got a long, long time before I let your prince take you away.” ' followed by his realisation that he just didn't want to let her go was amazing and the show of stress caused by their debt was just so realistic.

So well done for creating 1) the best sco/rose fic I've read so far 2) the best one shot I've read 3) a generally amazing fic that is quite definitely in my top best five EVER fics.

I will be more than happy to review anything else you want me to and I shall now go and review your other fic.

If you ever want me to review anything else just ask! I'd be more than happy to do so! :D

~Roonyskatoony

1000/10!

Author's Response: Oh... my gosh. I just cannot thank you enough for this review... It just made me tear up. =)

I have no words for how extremely grateful I am to you... Seriously. I REALLY can't thank you enough. =')

THANK YOU FROM THE VERY BOTTOM OF MY HEART! I really can't say anything else except for that - all my gratitude goes to you. =)


 Report Review

Review #20, by RoonyskatoonyHydrophobia: Hydrophobia

26th January 2011:
I thought that was absolutely brilliant! I will definitely be checking out your other fics at a later date!

It was beautifully written and entirely believable, even in such a short amount of writing I felt like I knew them. I can be really picky about the characterizations of The Marauders but you did it absolutely perfectly. Even from the short mention about Sirius and Pete to Remus and James' conversation.

I would love it if you made this into a full length fic and yet I think that this is really good as a one-shot. It made James seem really small and somewhat vulnerable (but in a good way...that is a compliment I promise! :P) and showed the ties between them all.

So all in all, a fantastic story that I'm glad to have read! 100/10.

Feel free to request another review :D

~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Well, you did say Marauders were a favorite of yours. And I'll certainly have to come back to you for new reviews, as there are still plenty of oneshots to go.

 Report Review

Review #21, by RoonyskatoonyHiding Bruises: Interruption

26th January 2011:
Hey,

So reviewing the next chapter as promised! I do feel for Tina! :( Bellatrix is scary! :P (and also happens to be my favourite deatheater...). I won't comment of the whole 'they're generally not in the same year, out of canon blah blah blah' because you've already mentioned it so there really is no need! :P

It's so sad how absolutely NO ONE really notices her, I guess that's just what makes her an easy target :( I look forward to finding more about her and The Marauders but for the moment I think I should probably go save the brownies from the oven! :P

Author's Response: Heyy,

Bella's secretly one of my favourite characters- she's soo fun to write. Ok, I wasn't sure if that would put people off but I haven't had many complaints about it so hopefully not :)

Thanks, glad you like it... save the brownies! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by RoonyskatoonySecond Chance: Wake up.

26th January 2011:
That was so sad :(

I think it was interesting to see a different type of Harry, more battle scarred perhaps. I think that Hermione was well portrayed as in the books it's easy to see that she cares for both of them (perhaps not romantically but deeply nonetheless).

I really do think however that it would benefit from being longer with an exact description of what happened and why she ended up in St Mungos, I think maybe in third person or as Hermione but so that it feels detached (if that makes any sense) then you could describe his reactions without delving into his perspective straight away because at the moment there isn't very much detail into anything other than what they're feeling.

So a bit of action and it'll come soaring up from a 9/10 to a 12/10 :P Just because, as the saying goes, sometimes actions can speak louder than words ;P

Hope that helped. I did enjoy it!
Roonyskatoony

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for your review! I see your point and maybe I'll change that someday x) as it means writing about them again, which is something I'm not really looking forward, and I'll have in mind your suggestion!

Again, thanks for reviewing!

~Nashira.


 Report Review

Review #23, by RoonyskatoonyHiding Bruises: The Girl No-One Knows ... (yet)

26th January 2011:
Ok so I decided to review anyway although I can't promise to review all of the chapters I will do at a later point (if you want me to).

So onto the story! Well firstly I'd like to say that your descriptions are beautiful without dragging on too long. I would say that I would think that you perhaps described her as she was after Azkaban (I don't really imagine her like that to begin with) but I guess you could put that down to personal opinion!

So far I think that this looks to be an interesting story. You've laid out a good amount of suspend and I think that Tina will be a good character.

...right so because there wasn't really much to give a particularly insightful review I'll review the next chapter too!

Author's Response: Heyy, thanks :)
I'm glad you like descriptions. I think Bella was always kerazzy, personal opinion I guess :)
Thank youuu
Lily ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by RoonyskatoonyAgent of Chaos: Motive

24th January 2011:
Hi :D

Write so I thought I'd return the favour and leave a review for your stories too. I thought I'd start with this one and then go onto your other one because I'd like to just sit down and read it through.

Well anyway, firstly I'd like to say I LOVE the length of the chapter. It contains a great amount of description without dragging on for too long, personally I think the best way of decryption is a true mixture between description of people/settings and dialogue and you struck the perfect balance :D.

Now onto characterisation. I have to say I think that you portrayed Narcissa perfectly and the contrast and yet similarities between her and her friends. I love the tension between Rora and Narcissa because they're both such strong characters and recognise that in each other which seems the only reason why they've become friends and stuck so close. I also enjoyed how you showed their relationships, almost like different tiers within in the same small group. Her description of the Marauders was also good as it's obviously seen purely through her eyes with her opinions without making too many allowances and trying to hard to show everyone else's views of them (I don't know if that makes sense but it does in my head :P) and I know it's difficult to do that properly.

I only really have one small thing, I think perhaps rechecking it and giving it to perhaps address the flow. Other than that, good! I look forward to reading more of your things!

~Roonyskatoony~

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for stopping by my story :) Thanks so much for your lovely compliments :) It's lovely to have such reviews as this :) Really love it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by RoonyskatoonyThe Storm: The Wild Storm

19th January 2011:
Haha I would have been so freaked out if I were Beck! :P I hate to sound repetitive (it's difficult to come up with new things when I've already told you!) but I LOVE WIZ! :D she's amazing! Haha Peter Pettigrew = Newly Fit lol

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>