Reading Reviews From Member: BKL8008
  
563 Reviews Found

Review #26, by BKL8008Snake Bites: Peter Locke

8th November 2013:
Locke is an agent for Castel Film Studios. Is that the ref? All in all, a great read with actual 'boys' as characters. I liked the climax, in how Kevin was trying to turn everyone against everyone else so subtly. Your use of Louis' Veela powers at the end was marvelous! I see plenty of scraps here for a continuation - how Stephanie got involved, that stray feather, and other things. You've got a great universe of your own going here, and I hope to see more of it. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #27, by BKL8008Snake Bites: Stephanie

20th September 2013:
Always worth the wait, and I love where it's gone! Can't wait to see the rest!

Author's Response: Thanks very much - Ch29 is in the queue tonight...

 Report Review

Review #28, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Promise

7th September 2013:
I don't read much anymore, but I did take the time for this one and I am glad that I did. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and wish there was more of Nick's backstory to read. Not sure what ratings do, never seem to have done much, but I give it a 10/10. Well done. My only complaint, it was somewhat short. Then again, I never could crank out anything short...when the characters are this intriguing, you want to read more.

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so grateful you wanted to read this. Plans for more Nicky are ongoing; there is definitely going to be a companion story to go after this, but I'm not sure about before this yet. There will be eventfully, though.

Thank you so much for leaving reviews for this, I'm so glad that you liked it. :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #29, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Cost

2nd September 2013:
An exciting read, as always. I wonder what's going to happen to our characters now, or if it's even over? Great rescue, and a good shift into even more character problems. Well worth the wait.

Author's Response: It's over. Well, this one is...

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #30, by BKL8008Snake Bites: House of Cards

28th August 2013:
Wow!
Love the characters, the plot, and the ending of this one! I knew that b***h would be back, and I'll be she knows something! And Charlie's weak magical imprint?! Gotta figure that one out.
Excellent read, as always, and always worth the wait.

Author's Response: I've got to figure it that imprint, too, I think. I know pretty much why it's happened, but need to tighten a few reveals up first. More on that later, however, as Greg's got another day out to worry about.

 Report Review

Review #31, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Taken

20th August 2013:
Thrilling!
I can't 'wait' to see how you resolve all this, but I am sure that Nicky will.
Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! The next chapter should be up soon, as soon as I've updated something else. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #32, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: Through the Fog-an Arthur and Molly Weasley story

1st August 2013:
I now understand, from you response to the first review, how you did such a fine job on this one. I too watched a couple trying to get on with their lives after the death of a child. Now that I know this, I think it makes the piece all the more poignant. Yes, Fred did get lost in the shuffle, it's a shame that we couldn't have read more about these characters in canon.

Author's Response: This was almost therapy for me to write. I tried to imagine those characters going through the same trauma, and how it would manifest itself. Poor Freddy. And poor Arthur and Molly. But I don't think they would stay down forever. They'd be different, but they'd be okay eventually. They were too strong to let that take them down for good. Thanks so much for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #33, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: Forgotten Friend- an Oliver Wood story

1st August 2013:
This is a great perspective of something that, I think, was a shame to leave out of the canon. How did the ones who survived feel? What did they all lose? Granted, it probably would have taken up a whole 'nother book though! This is good in how it makes us see the other side of Wood, a character far too underused in canon. I think you got him just right.

Author's Response: I admit, I always loved old Quidditch-obsessed Wood. But he was very one-dimensional in the books. He had a very small role to play, with all the other things going on, and I wanted to view the tragedy from a minor character's point of view. I agree, seeing the aftermath from all those points of view would fill volumes. I kind of wish she'd write them anyway. Thanks again!~GW

 Report Review

Review #34, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: Longing- a George Weasley story

1st August 2013:
It's amazing to see less than 1k words sum up so much pain and longing as much as this one does. It's simply brilliant.

Author's Response: This was a drabble entry a long time ago. I always feel the worst for George. Nobody lost what he lost. The twins were written as almost one person. For her to separate them was a horrible thing, but I think she knew that and did it to show the horrors of war. We could have lived without Percy or Charlie, but it had to hit us as hard as it hit the characters. That death did it for me. Ugh. So Georgie's 'holey' and Fred is gone. Excuse me while I go sob over my copy of Deathly Hallows. :) Thanks for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #35, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: The Sins of the Father- a Scorpius Malfoy, Professor Longbottom story

31st July 2013:
In just one word, beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I rewrote the ending of this after several people told me it just didn't feel right. I am much happier with it now. I appreciate your reviews!~GW

 Report Review

Review #36, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: In the Quest for Power-An Albus Dumbledore story

31st July 2013:
This is a powerful one, and it captures the history of Dumbledore from DH just perfectly. In fact, I wish it had been written in, at least in a flashback, perhaps. This is great stuff!

Author's Response: I think I love writing missing moments most of all. Those little scenes that could have been in the books, but weren't, get my mind racing with ideas on how they could have happened. I have several of them, but this one moment really bothered me until I wrote it. He never knew who killed Arianna. Why? What did that fight look like? In my mind, it looked like this. The Albus Dumbledore we knew grew out of that tragedy and betrayal. I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks, BK!~GW

 Report Review

Review #37, by BKL8008Take Me Back to the Start: one-shot

30th July 2013:
I think this was a lovely piece, and I'd look forward to reading your new one-shots. Word of advice - never keep anything important on a C: drive; keep it on a flash stick.
When reading this, I couldn't help but compare Jamie in Albus' novel to Nick in RTS. It's almost as if Albus is the one writing it, instead of his novel. An allusion there, perhaps?
Now, to be brutally honest, I cannot relate to all the mooshy stuff at all. That's just me, and nothing that you did wrong. I have to confess, the scene with the cake almost made me get up and leave. It's just not my kind of scene.
Then I realized how important this is to the plot of this piece, to build it all up, or rather, to support what's already hit us over the head - Albus has lost the love of his life, and whether it be a potential mate, husband/wife, best friend, or even favorite pet, I am sure that we all have something that we can relate to this.
It's a very well done reverse-buildup, and the idea of leaving us wondering what James will do with Albus now that the promise to finish the novel is fulfilled is masterful.

Author's Response: Hi, Keith. :) Thank you, as always, for the review.

I have learned my lesson - I knew that computer was on the verge of permanent death, but yesterday I managed to resurrect it just long enough to get that file of RTS (well, part of it) out of there, and the last chapter.

I'm also thrilled you got the Jamie to Nick reference. I hate, hate, hate writing mushy stuff, but my friend on mnff essentially sat me down and said 'write this to be fluffy - just once write something fluffy' and this was the result. I'm not really proud of how happy this piece got, in fact it's not really my favourite at all, but it's something that happened with RTS. I think I'm finishing that chapter today, btw.

Thank you so much for reading, and because I can't help it: the two other one-shots. One is quite odd... two statues come to life and that one is borderline fluffy but it was written under lack of sleep, and the other is rather based on the Dead Poet's Society.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #38, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Motives

25th July 2013:
I loved the reveal at the end of the lady wanting her baby, and somehow believing that Ryan is he. Is he? Reincarnated? Something else? This story has been such a thrill ride, and this chapter was the best so far.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it! Ah, you'll have to wait and see! ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review! I can't wait for you to read the rest!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #39, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Poltergeist

20th July 2013:
Intriguing! And I like the idea that Nick is getting in on this one, finally. The hints that Ryan can sense or even see what is happening in his house is a great touch, too. So long as he doesn't say "They're here!" :) Speaking of poltergeists, perhaps a consult with Peeves? That'd just be crazy! Anyway, thanks for another great chapter with amazing characters.

Author's Response: Yeah, Nick is finally swallowing his fear and coming in. He'll do anything for family. Haha, Peeves! They'd definitely go to him if they could, but Peeves is a different type of Poltergeist and probably wouldn't be very helpful. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #40, by BKL8008Departed Souls: Departed Souls

17th July 2013:
How can I say this? This was just 'delicious darkness', at the same time being a great thrill ride of a read, and a horrible shock as well. It's a rare piece that evokes such emotions, as to just sit here and be shocked, and say no, I hate this...when all along, the read was really enjoyable. We never see the ending coming, certainly, and it's devastating. So very well done that words just fail. I don't know what you mean by memory!Albus, but I am sad to see him go. And I only 'knew' him for about 4k words.

Author's Response: I'm so glad to see you back again, and even more to see you enjoyed this! I love writing dark stories, and this one feels different than anything I'd done before. I try and evoke emotions in everything I write, but especially in stories like this, when it's so easy to distance yourself, if you choose. (If that makes any sense at all.) Memory!Albus just comes from the fact that what he sees are technically memories, instead of proper ghosts -- but he does refer to them as ghosts, because, as he says, they do "haunt" him.

I don't have words to respond to this review properly -- only that I really do thank you for taking the time to read it at all. :) It really does mean so, so much to me. I hope you're doing well!


 Report Review

Review #41, by BKL8008Bits and Pieces: Remnants- and Andromeda Tonks story

14th July 2013:
Poignant and touching the first time, and still so. A powerful emotional capture of something raw, and handled so well. One can only imagine the suffering that Andromeda must have endured, and this sums it all up perfectly.

Author's Response: It is so touching that you're taking the time to review these again! Thank you so much. I forget what challenge this was written for, but I always felt so sorry for Andromeda. She literally lost everything and everyone, except little Teddy. That's why I never understand fics that have Harry raising him. I seriously doubt Mrs. Tonks would let that happen. Thanks again! ~GW

 Report Review

Review #42, by BKL8008Full Marks: Full Marks

10th July 2013:
Such a fun little read! If anyone could do this to Snape, it must be Luna. Full Marks on this story!

Author's Response: Thanks, BK! I love the dynamic between these two. If anyone could get under Snape's skin and drive him insane, it would be Luna. Thanks for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #43, by BKL8008A Conversation: A Conversation

5th July 2013:
I loved this one the first time I read it, and it's still just as great. It's an excellent piece, and the capture of grief and resolution is just perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks, BK! I'm slowly reposting old pieces. So glad you liked this one! ~GW

 Report Review

Review #44, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Feelings

30th June 2013:
Great scenes with the younger gen carping about having to do manual labor! Sorry for reviewing them backwards, but I wanted to get the 3rd one out first.I like the bit with the pictures, and the feeling that someone gets, but someone else doesn't, that someone else is there. Did that make sense? I have a feeling it isn't Casper, either.

Author's Response: Thank you! It just wouldn't do to not have the teenagers hating to clean. :P

Yes, you make sense. It makes for a more interesting story when not everyone knows what's coming, I think. Haha, yeah, Casper is a completely different story. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #45, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Doubts

30th June 2013:
Reminds me of the Tom Hanks film "The Money Pit"! Can't wait to see where this is going!

Author's Response: I love The Money Pit!!! Thank you so much for leaving a review! :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #46, by BKL8008Hidden in the Dark: Belief

30th June 2013:
It's a very interesting story,and while I've not had time to read everything in your canon here,I did appreciate the recap at the end of this chapter.It's a fascinating read,and while it seems predictable with the pictures and names,I also have a feeling that you won't go there in such fashion! :) I fully expect a twist.I do like the idea of Teddy married and renovating a house like this.When I was a child, there was an abandoned farm behind our house about a 1/2 mile or 1 km back in the forest.It was a deathtrap,but I survived it!I've loved old houses ever since.I do like your characters,especially Nick,and your handling of Teddy's childhood.I looked forward to seeing more of this one!

Author's Response: This chapter was longer than I intended because of my canon for Nick. It didn't seem right to leave out why people wouldn't believe him when that disbelief is quite important, but it lengthened the chapter and I wanted to make sure the important bits were known, so I'm glad you appreciate the recap. :)

Ah, twists. I love twists. :P

I'm so happy you like the characters and the idea of the house. Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #47, by BKL8008Remember the Slytherins: the world hanging upside-down

8th June 2013:
Once again, I don't know where to begin. In the past 2 days, I have spun out 20k words on another work unrelated. But I have only a few right now: epic, crushing, wrenching.
Four words define this whole tale: "Blood on his hands."
Yet the blood's on the wrong hands.
Your redemption of James is near perfect. The mysterious Jane is good, and not a Deus ex Machina at all. Piper was even elegant, through all her pain.
And our sacrificed Innocent, Flynn, is still alive-the metaphorical Christ-like figure that he's become.
You've also managed to make us do something seemingly unspeakable: right now, I hate Harry and Neville, and especially Dennis.
Absolutely epic.

Author's Response: I mostly talked about this in the email, but thank you so much for the review (as always). You've spun out 20k in two days?! It's hard enough for me to sit down and write 2k in two days.

Blood on his hands. Just perfection.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #48, by BKL8008Remember the Slytherins: The James Factor

4th June 2013:
I am in awe.
This is probably the quintessential chapter of the novel, you know.
I will have to read this again later, and drop you a line, because right now, words fail me.
For those that want to yell about Flynn,yell at me, no iLuna. It was my suggestion. I am honoured that she took it! :)

Author's Response: I said more in the email, but basically Im just sitting here blushing and smiling like an idiot. Just thank you.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #49, by BKL8008The Collector : O Death

1st June 2013:
Excellent read! One of the best I've seen here, after wading through so much fluff and 'drama', and not the good drama, either. I have to admit, I didn't see this ending coming, and it's just perfect. 10's all the way! Of course, I'd be interested in a sequel - perhaps something along the lines of someone that Death that just can't have.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! It means so much that you'd say that. I'm glad you liked the surprise that is the end, I wanted something different than "I did something wrong, I'm dead." :P

A sequel is a definite possibility, I've had an idea for a while, and I hope you like it as much as this one... Who knows what might happen in it? ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #50, by BKL8008The Collector : The End is Here

1st June 2013:
Typo: "I want my clock back." Sorry...
But other than that - MARVELOUS! God, I wish I'd come up with this premise,instead of resorting to time travel as I once did. But the deal is null and void now, right? Hm...on to the next!

Author's Response: Aww, yay! Thank you! I'm so happy that you like it so much!

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>