Reading Reviews From Member: BKL8008
  
564 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BKL8008Snakes and Ladders: Water Leapers

22nd April 2014:
Good to see you working on this again! Exciting chapter, and nice to see the intro of a new mysterious character. I'd forgotten how likeable these boys were! Great bit with the water test, too. Loved that, and the great conversation at the torment of Slughorn's party.

Author's Response: It's amazing what a couple of weeks away can do for your muse. I spent a great deal of time entertaining mine whilst trekking across Wales.

I haven't quite figured Tom out yet, but I get the feeling that he'll be one of those who start off incidental and end up making themselves significant. I still can't believe my first plan for LEBS didn't have Glyn in it...

A few more faces to meet yet, before we get our teeth into the meat of the plot(s). I think we've been a little short on discord and prejudice of late...


 Report Review

Review #2, by BKL8008Big Meanie: Big Meanie

28th February 2014:
How cute!
Sounds a lot like my Godson's 5 year old; people come over, he's gone. I think you got the kids just right here.

Author's Response: I think kids are quite easy to write, but only because there are a lot in my family. Albus, however, is the easiest to write because he's, well, he's me. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by BKL8008So the Saying Goes: It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

28th February 2014:
Well, I hope you don't mind that I read it , too!
Touching, and funny in all the right places.
A very nice little piece, even if I saw it 2 months late.

Author's Response: I'm glad you saw it and decided to read. It's something I'm very proud of because Ginny was new to write. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by BKL8008Unspoken: Unspoken

27th February 2014:
Perhaps the real tragedy of this relationship: she deserves better than me.

Self-esteem isn't something that abused children/teens have much of, and this whole piece just works perfectly. Not a thing out of line with it.

Masterful.

 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008No Hero: No Hero

27th February 2014:
I don't think I've ever read a more raw and jarring first two paragraphs as I have in this story. The flashbacks, the image of Neville carrying Colin in, and especially the "girls who wouldn't give him a 2nd look." Brilliant. It's so very "Neville" to be just like this. Creative piece, cutting edge emotions, and something that I am very, very jealous of in having not written something like it! 11.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008Time to Go: Time to Go

27th February 2014:
It is so true! Coming from a man's POV, yes, sometimes we need a good kick when we're totally oblivious to the "female things" going on around us! :) What a read, and a read between the lines, if I may?! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by BKL8008A Healing Touch: A Healing Touch

27th February 2014:
Just as touching, in a cute and not too fluffy way, as it was the first time. I do really like this little piece, as we know next to nothing about what went on at Hogwarts in Book VII. Normally, I'd run from this sort of summary, but coming from you, we know it's going to be a great read!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008Irreplaceable: Irreplaceable

27th February 2014:
I know it's a repost, but I don't recall this twist of an ending when I read it the first time? As amazingly cliche as it is, when you think about it, it works. The reason it works is because of the way you built up to it, which I think would be very difficult to do. This is a great piece, full of raw emotion, that I think, only a lady who might know something about this could have written. Very, very well done.

 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008Awake and Alive : A little Bit of Trust

26th February 2014:
This is a very good chapter, and could easily have fit into the canon, if some of the other unneeded crap had been cut out. I think it works very, very well.
As for self-harm, or abuse, well, I remember an episode of "Little House" where a boy who couldn't swim would break a bone each summer so no one would know. It's all in how you handle it, and I'm sure you'll do a fine job of it.
Maybe it's a silly tattoo? hehe
Cant' wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you. I like to stick as closely to canon as possible, so I'm very glad you think so. :)

You'll find out about his arm soon, I don't know when exactly but soon enough, I think. But no, it's not a tattoo, silly or otherwise. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by BKL8008Awake and Alive : Looking for Harry

26th February 2014:
Another great read! I'm taking it that Seeing, as he does, has something to do with feeling magic in use?

Author's Response: Yes, that will be explained in more detail in chapter five or six. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by BKL8008Awake and Alive : They Are Coming

26th February 2014:
Another exciting thrill ride, and the introduction of Seeing is great. The subtlety with which the relationship between father and son, disintegrated, is handled is wonderful in this aspect - you don't need to shout it out or have a confrontation. It's all right there, in one sentence. Again, Excellent!

Author's Response: His lack of a relationship with his father is something he's known for a long time, something he's now beginning to accept, so it seemed better if showing that was just that one moment of clarity rather than this big announcement type thing where he goes into detail about how and why. I'm glad you liked that. :)

Seeing, yes. It had to come up soon for the chapters, especially chapter four. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by BKL8008Awake and Alive : Never Gonna Sell My Soul

26th February 2014:
It's not often that the reading of confrontation, and the thrill of the chase makes one's heart beat faster, but this chapter did. It was an excellent read, with great character capture. One always had to wonder about Nott, too, as he was only mentioned in passing, it seems. Excellent read!

Author's Response: Amazing compliments, thank you! I always wondered about Theo, he's my favorite Slytherin. The opportunity to write him is always a welcome one for me. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by BKL8008In a Family Way: Epilogue

24th February 2014:
A perfect ending to a great story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by BKL8008In a Family Way: And Baby Makes Three

24th February 2014:
Without trying to offend the ladies here, I can only say that this was a great read. I was on edge, I laughed, and I was reminded of my first Godson's arrival: "Not in the Mustang, baby! Keep those legs shut!" I was 19 you see, and the seats had just been redone. This told to a laboring woman at 140+ mph down the freeway...Great read!

 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008A Multitude of Sins: A Multitude of Sins

24th February 2014:
I don't know how I missed reviewing this one, either. I was sure I had?
What a topic to address! And how very well you applied the 7 deadly sins to our hero's character. And yes, he was the hero, I think - despite his flaws. I see here, the flaws being what defined him as the hero. Without these, he would not have been the man he was, and things would have turned out much differently. A fantastic piece!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BKL8008Ending the Deal: Ending the Deal

24th February 2014:
Not sure how I overlooked this one. I was checking your stories, as you can't trust the RSS feeds anymore, it seems.
Dramione has to be done carefully, and done "right", otherwise, it just won't work. This piece, I think, includes all the elements that make it work. And #1, we have to realize that it would be doomed from the get-go. This is a masterful capture of the failure that would be any attempt at this relationship, canon or not. Very very well done and probably the best one I've read so far.

 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008The Only Exception: Parenting

21st February 2014:
I think it worked out very well, and the name fits perfectly. Junior?! hehe. Like you wrote, in a word...no! It's nice to see the Malfoys here as happy parents, too. I never really thought that Lucius would come across like the jerk that the 2nd movie made him out to be with Draco. Again, a very good story, and I hope to see more of it soon. 10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, I'm so glad you like the name. The Malfoys are so different to what Harry sees, I'm sure. I'm glad you like it. More will come soon. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by BKL8008The Only Exception: Wedding

21st February 2014:
Very touching, in all the right topics. Everything about these people is captured here, but expressed just enough to remind us that many of these folks at the joyous occasion are not nice people. Excellently handled.

Author's Response: Yes, they're very bad people. I hoped I was able to show that well. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by BKL8008The Only Exception: Asking

21st February 2014:
Tasteful! Even with the dark undertones, it's still a great look into what once was - before the Darkness crept in.

Author's Response: The darkness. Yes. More darkness is coming. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by BKL8008The Only Exception: Dancing

21st February 2014:
Tastefully done, with a plethora of issues addressed. Jane is a great addition, and the handling of the Andromeda topic and the Voldemort topic were superb. Also, not overly mooshy and fluffy; that's a huge plus, while still managing to be romantic.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like how I see the issues, more will come and I hope you like them as well.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by BKL8008The Only Exception: Noticing

21st February 2014:
I guess the "new story" for authors RSS doesn't always work? I didn't see this one until I looked at the 'most recent'. Normally, something like this would send me running in the other direction, but it sounded interesting. It's certainly started off that way. So little is known of the Malfoys early on, and it's a great take on what might have been. I look forward to reading the rest of it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it and decided to give it a go. I hope you continue to like my take on the Malfoys. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by BKL8008Break Out: XV.

25th January 2014:
Sorry it's taken me so long.
A great ending to a great AU story,and as I usually run from AU's, I am glad I didn't on this one. Well crafted, excellent work!

Author's Response: I'm really very excited to see you returned to finish the story at all, especially knowing it's an AU.

Thank you very much for giving this one a shot -- I loved writing it, and it's even better knowing how much you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by BKL8008Deepest Desire: The Mirror of Erised

22nd January 2014:
A very good, friyhtening look into what might have been. I think you portrayed the outcomes well, and captured this Alternate Ginny just perfectly. (Had to spell it wrong, it wasn't allowed. They're censoring reviews now!) Haunting, and worth another read or three.

Author's Response: So, so glad you like it. (really. It raises my self-esteem about this story.)
Also, I've had my own encounters with the review automated censoring thingy. I can't spell Pheenix correctly and submit it . . . Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #24, by BKL8008Remember the Slytherins: I see (love) when I close my eyes

15th January 2014:
"I don't forgive you, and I don't trust you."

Probably the quintessential line of the story. As Don Henley said in his song "The End of the Innocence," - 'but happily ever after fails, and we've been poisoned by these fairy tales. Lawyers clean up all details, since Daddy had to lie.' I can't help but think of this song as I read over this story, and it makes me think that the roses-and-clover ending of the canon must, simply MUST, proceed into darker territory somewhere down the line.
While I cannot claim to have gone though anything like these characters have, some of us can certainly relate to the tragic moments when 1.Innocence dies, and 2.We confront the parent who failed about it.
In just the sentence above, you captured the conflict between Harry & Albus. Sadly, the damage is done, and there it is. A lengthy conversation between them isn't needed now, although there are certainly a few more nails that can be driven in here. I'll say it again - excellent work.

 Report Review

Review #25, by BKL8008Remember the Slytherins: You feel like laughing, but then you start to cry

13th January 2014:
Two words: Excellent work.
You write such raw emotion and develop such real characters that we cannot help but be moved.
As always, worth the wait to see into this world that, more than likely, would have turned out like this - and not the canon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. :)

I'm sorry I haven't replied to your email--it's been on my to-do list for weeks-- but I'm so glad you're still reading this. I just can't see the generation after having such an easy time, like the canon suggests.

Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>