Reading Reviews From Member: iloveblack
  
123 Reviews Found

Review #1, by iloveblackRun: Double-Edged

12th July 2012:
All I want to do right now is continue reading, but I thought you deserved a review ;)
I have to say I am absolutely amazed by this story so far. I have been looking for a fic to get totally absorbed in for a long time and I think I've found it.
Your writing is very smooth, enough descriptions that I can visualize everything, but not so many that I get bored or feel it's a total overload. I truly believe that I could paint huge sceneries of Cliodnaís Clock, if I was remotely talented in that area that is.
I can't really comment on grammar, punctuation or spelling, as I am not a native English speaker, so let's just skip that part.
Plot wise I am so intrigued that I had to force myself to stop reading and take these minutes to write a small review. I am usually not one for after-life stories, but I saw that someone recommended this fic in the 'Story Recommendations' thread, so I thought I'd give it a try.
I love how you've built up your own little world with magical details, such as the moving sheds, and given each character their own little space. You're quite brave for introducing so many characters, and I hope that you don't get muddled up or have to drop too many as the story progresses. All the characterizations seem to be in character, I especially liked Lily in Chapter 3. I have to admit that at this point I am not really interested in who is going to sign up and win the Devil's Duel, but more in how the relationships (non-romantic) are going to develop, especially that of Rowena and Salazar.
I recommended this fic to my sister's and I can't wait to find out how everything is going to continue.
I don't know whether you can see the rating I'm giving you, so I'll just tell you: It's 10/10, because if these four chapter don't deserve it, I don't know what does.

Author's Response: Hi, iloveblack! Thank you for pausing to review. :) So happy you like this story so far! I love what you said about how you could paint huge scenes of Cliodna's Clock, because that vivid imagery is something I've been working very hard to get across. I love paint and I dabble in painting, but I'm not very good. I've found that I prefer painting with words.

The large cast of characters, astonishingly, hasn't muddled up the plot. The same characters I focus on in the beginning of the story, I am focusing on at the very end as well. Minor characters weave throughout, but for the most part the focal points remain the same.

I think you are the first person who has said that they prefer character development to action! I'd say that most of the story's attention is paid to relationships between citizens of Cliodna's Clock, their adjustments to death, etc. The Duel is still a huge running plot, but it's tempered with a lot of quiet chapters revolving around people's day to day lives.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and for the 10/10! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by iloveblackHow to Save a Wizard: Lost and Found

30th October 2009:
Here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Wow, itís been ages that Iíve started reading a Ron/Hermione centered fic and actually liking it. Why Iím saying this? Because I really like the start to this one! Of course there are dozens with a similar beginning (canít say anything to the rest, seeing as I havenít read it yet) but thereís something special about this chapter, (by the way, you may feel special too :D)

Iím definitely going to continue reading this to see where it leads.

Antje

Author's Response: Thanks so much... love the HPFFSAD thing, such a wonderful surprise. Glad you liked the beginning, it was my first ff ever and though it is rough, it still holds a specia place in my heart.

I hope you enjoyed the rest.


 Report Review

Review #3, by iloveblackTrue Confessions of a Werewolf: Chapter 1

30th October 2009:
Hey there ! Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD and of course decided to review a story featuring our honourary Puff :*

I can already see that you put a lot of thought into this fic. The way you went into detail about why Fenrir was seeking revenge and also how Remus looks back on the events is absolutley brilliant. The attack was very realistically described but I have some criticism here. In the one scene when Fenrir is watching Remus I find the way he talks to himself very gollum like. I know that in the HP series he isnít quite human anymore Ėlike gollum- but if he was only bitten a month ago, I think he should still seem more normal.

I really like how you switched to and throw between third and first person. I have tried it myself and gave up after writing half a chapter because it was too much to handle but the way you do it, there is still a flow in the story and it doesnít seem forced in any way.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Remus has always been one of my favorite characters. I never put much thought into Fenrir being gollum like. I was just thinking of his talking to himself as just something creepy and anger filled (I tend to talk to myself a bit and those who can't hear me).

And thank you so much for your compliments on the switching from first and third. I always felt like it was a weakness of mine in this chapter seeing as later on it's all in first person. Though to be honest I wouldn't know how else to depict Remus at this time seeing as he was in and out of consciousness.


 Report Review

Review #4, by iloveblackCity of Shiva: Prologue

30th October 2009:
Hey, there! Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Wow, what for an interesting start. Just your A/N at the beginning made me realise that this is the story for me and that it will be interesting.

I liked this first chapter a lot. The way you portrayed the family situation seems very realistic and I could really see it happen. While reading the books I never gave the matter a lot of thought but after reading this is really does fit. Itís very believable and your use of Indian terms was such that even without checking your notes at the bottom they were understandable for me.

Great job, Iíll definitely read the second chapter!

Antje

 Report Review

Review #5, by iloveblackFree My Soul: A New Class

30th October 2009:
Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!!!

So, I first have to start off by quoting my favourite sentence in this chapter:

A suave and handsome man in his lower 30s stood up at the end of the staff table. There was only some mild applause, but Olivia was cheering louder than anyone else. She was positively ecstatic about this class.

Itís definitely the best in the whole chapter. Itís not too blunt but not too vague either. This is actually what I have to criticize in this chapter. Your writing is very blunt and at times I wished for you not just state things but maybe reformulate them and add a few decorative words, sentence structures. To be honest I canít quite explain it but maybe if you read this chapter again youíll see what I mean.

Anyways, it was still a nice chapter to read and keep writing this!!!

Antje

Author's Response: Thanks! When I go back and read it, I can see where you're coming from. Thanks for the tip and the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by iloveblackHeat: embers, all that will remain

30th October 2009:
Hey, Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Wow, this was absolutley beatutiful! And you wrote all this in one sitting, just writing your thoughts when you read the word heat? Wow, Iím really impressed and I just have no idea what to write right now.

Letís just say it was perfect and that I have criticsm to make.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by iloveblackUnexpected: Unexpected visions

30th October 2009:
Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

I really like this. Iíve never read a Pomona Sprout centered fic and to be honest it has never crossed my mind that íSproutí might not be her maiden name. Anyways, I like the whole beginning and the indepth description of the Mirror.

Well done!

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you very much :]

 Report Review

Review #8, by iloveblackAs the Feather Turns: Prologue

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

Oh my gawd, what for an amazing start! I can hardly write, I want to read on so badly. It was as a very intruging start and arghh, I want to read on, I hardly know what to write.

The describtions were very good and so is your writing style. Your characters seem very interesting and I canít wait to find out more about Raven!

10/10

Antje

 Report Review

Review #9, by iloveblackLetters to my Father: Tonight, Tonight

30th October 2009:
Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Iíve stumbled over this fic a couple of times but reading the title (note I said title not summary) I decided that it probably is some depressing story with death written all over it. Yes, thatís me.

Anyways, I thought this first chapter was rather intruging and I canít wait to see how Snape will handle Harry within the next chapters. Iím somehow hoping that heíll fail :P

This was very nicely written and Iím definitely faving it.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing this for HPFF SAD! I really appreciate it very very much :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by iloveblackThe Road Home: The Fury Within

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Iím here to leave a review for HPFFSAD!

I really like this chapter. Itís really refreshening to stumble over a fic once in a while that hasnít got romance already dripping out of the first two chapters.

Even without huge battles, romance drama, mysterious deaths etc., you have me ont he edge of my chair, waiting for more. By the way, this fic is definitely favourited (:

Itís also good to see that Nyah isnít all alone but that her sister, dad and the housekeeper are sort of on her side. But I really hater her mother and brother - grrr -.

Antje

 Report Review

Review #11, by iloveblackA New Life: Remembering The Past

30th October 2009:
Iím here to leave a review for HPFFSAD!!!

You started this fic with a bang thatís for sure. I must admit that at times it was very confusing and you had me blinking at a few places but you cleared up any questions within the next paragraph or two, so Iím not complaining. Though I do want to know who the imposter Dumbledore is. Usually Iíd say that it probably is a Death Eater or even Voldemort himself but in this case Iím not too sureÖ

Oh well, I hope youíll clear up that question in a later chapter ;)

Antje

 Report Review

Review #12, by iloveblackHarry Potter: A Gift Thrice Given: Dreams

30th October 2009:
Hereís a review for HPFFSAD!

Wow, why do AU fics have to allways be so intense? Not that Iím complaining or anything, just wondering. I guess itís just because you donít fall so deep into the fluffy/romance pot or something (:

Anyways, this was a truly intruging first chapter and already there are so many questions buzzing in my head to which the answers lie in later chapters I guess. I just want to know what the dream is all about and the ring and the circles and everything!

Guess I have no other choice than to read on, right?

Antje

 Report Review

Review #13, by iloveblackSeasons of Change: Oh Brothers!

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Iím here to leave a review for HPFFSAD!

Well, that were quite a few introductions and quite detailed too but it just shows how much work you put into them. But quite a few unique names, right? What is Effie short for because right now it sounds a bit weird to me :P

A small thing that was bothering me: I donít know whether the Marauders was the name that people on the outside knew them by. I was always under the impression that it was somewhat of an insider name or something. But I could also be badly interpreting things right now (:

Antje

Author's Response: Aw thanks!

haha yes, there were definitely quite a few introductions in this chapter but Effie has a big family and they are going to be important to her story...eventually...

Effie is actually a greek name and though i am not really sure if it could be short for anything, i am using it as her whole name. i just found the name and loved it for the character.

and you know, about the marauders, you are probably right but i didn't really think about that at all when i had started this story. it'll give me something to edit when i go back and edit this story though...so thanks!

thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by iloveblackSomething Amusing: Something Amusing

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

Wow, this was a great one-shot! I really like Ernieís characterization and how you portrayed him on the whole. Though heís dissappointed in the end, he never getís bitter and throughout the whole fic I can see the Hufflepuff in him. I also liked how he was actually inventing something new and how you show that Slughorn is blinded by his íloveí to Harry. Even though Rowling never said it out this directly it was always implied and itís great how you really bring itt o the point.

Well done!

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :) I'm happy you liked the story and Ernie's characterisation! In that scene in the book there's something about the others (except Harry) not looking that happy after the lesson and there were a bunch of other potions lessons when I felt really sorry for the others who were good at potions but didn't have extra help or Slughorns "love". So it seemed like a fun and interesting moment to write about, to have someone else's point of view from the potions class. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by iloveblackHeartbreak and Horcruxes at Hogwarts: Carlos's Secret

30th October 2009:
Hey! Iím here to spread the love on HPFFSAD!

Hahahahahaha. This was truly hilarious. I absolutley love reading íparodiesí. Well, the first 1000 words or so to be exact, then it grows so horrible I canít continue. I did read the whole chapter here though! As I said, it was really funny and I was already in fits after the third paragraph. I know that nothing had actually happened yet but itís something about the style of writing you chose that added something comic.

Even though the whole plotline of the first chapter was predictable, as you intended it to be, there was at the same time something very original about this. I canít really put my finger on it but even with all the horribleness you put into one chapter, your style smoothed that out again.

Great Job!

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you taking the time to review.

It's true, I did make the first chapter as horrible as possible (spelling mistakes and all) but after that I decided to just make the plot horrible and try to write a little better. It was actually really freeing to be able to write whatever came into my head without worrying about whether it was good enough.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by iloveblackOliver United: Puddlemere Pain

30th October 2009:
Hey! Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!
Awww, I feel so sorry for Oliver right now ): Iíve never seen/read him this unhappy before and Quidditch is his life, right? If this wasnít such a good start to a story, I would hunt you down and wake a beaters bat at your head but then you wouldnít continue writing, I wouldnít know where this fic is leading and then more than one person would be unhappy. I guess I have to let you live then - sigh - :P

Okay, what I was trying to say was that I really like this chapter and Iím definitely going to read on :D

Antje

 Report Review

Review #17, by iloveblackBittersweet and Strange: Positively Primeval

30th October 2009:
Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

So, I love it when fanfics present characters I thought I know and understand in a completely new light and youíve definitely already done it in only one chapter. I donít want to think about how I see Professor McGonagall by the time I reach Chapter 3 :P

I never thought that she could be a Quidditch Player or have had to choose between two things before becoming a Professor but after reading this it does have me questioning my opinion. You definitely re-created Professor McGonagall for me (I do not mean that sheís OOC) and Iím interested in learning more about her.

Antje

 Report Review

Review #18, by iloveblackAfter we've said goodbye: Chapter 1

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

That was some very emotional writing. Iíve currently got tears in my eyes and nothing all to bad has even happened yet. The short sentences you write in are absolutley amazing and they work perfectly with the whole atmosphere and everything really.

Iím really impressed by your writing right now.

Antje

 Report Review

Review #19, by iloveblackthe present: Ten Years' Time

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Happy (early) HPFFSAD!

I canít tell you how much I already love this fic and Iíve only reached the end of chapter 4. Yes, I often say how amazing fics are in the first chapters but I donít often say that I love the fic. So yes, you may feel special (:

There are just so many nice things I want to say at this point but I just canít seem to find the words to. Iíve been sitting here for a few minutes already thinking but have given up. I guess I can say that your style of writing is amazing and that Iíve never read anything like this before. The way you show the thoughts of Sirius and Hermione just shows how much thought you must have put into this and the plotline is also very different from most here on HPFF.

This is definitely favourited and I canít wait to read on!!!

Antje

 Report Review

Review #20, by iloveblackIn the Dark: A Lack of Conviction

30th October 2009:
Hey, Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD.

Wow, this is my Ron/Hermione in over a year! And I guess this fic was a good choice to get into it again. I really like your style of writing and characterization. The way everything you say can be misunderstood, especially as tensions are already running high with Voldemort being back and Dumbledore dead. The way you had Hermione and Ron act around each other was like a dance or something (:

Also, how you let Hermione ask the Weasleyís to explain the current situation is very realistic. I always was under the impression that JK was makin gall the characters way too mature and by letting Hermione go for help you remind the reader that she is only a teen and still needs help.

Very nicely written first chapter!

Antje

 Report Review

Review #21, by iloveblackDecimated Dreams: Little Love Notes, Sexual Desires

30th October 2009:
Hey, Iím here to leave a review for HPFFSAD :D

Okay, this is completely different to the fics I usually read, so I donít really know what to sayÖ I think it was well written and a good start to a fic and it was emotional in a weird way, if that makes sense. There wasnít an overload over describtion or dialogue which is also a VERY good thing. Ummm, I donít really know what to say, I guess Iíll just read on and if I find more to say Iíll do so :)

Antje

Author's Response: My first ever femslash! Thank you for taking a look at it loll. Yes, it was quite random but I enjoyed writing it. hahahah what else is there to say about it? I don't think anyone could find words to describe it : P I don't blame you, it's a hard story to define but thank you for reviewing : )

Rachel


 Report Review

Review #22, by iloveblackA Train Bound For Nowhere: Chapter 1

30th October 2009:
Here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

After reading the summary, I new exactly which of your stories I have to read and I havenít been dissappointed (so far :P) The idea is completely original, I have never seen anything like this before (this is a compliment by the way) and I really canít see where this is going to go (also a compliment). I really canít wait to read on and see whatís going to happen next.

Iím now going to be one of thiose annoying people, who say íplease update sooní. I know that thereís still one chapter waiting but what then? I hope I wonít have to wait too long for Chapter number 3!

Antje

 Report Review

Review #23, by iloveblackPromises He Never Should Have Made: Promises He Never Should've Made

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Never judge a fic by itís size. Okay, I guess everyone who reads fanfiction knows that but still, I somehow felt the urge to say it.

I havenít read too many Bill or Tonks centered fics (none to be exact) and I was somewhat sceptical when I started it but guess what! Iím now running a search on Tonks centered fics. All after reading this 500+ words one-shot. Itís funny how ísmallí things can change so muchÖ

Now to the proper reviewing. I canít really find anything to criticize and to be quite honest, Iím a huge fan of these no-dialogue fics. I find that at times dialogue isnít strong enough/drags down fics and this was truly beautifully written. I am definitely going to have a look at your other fics!

Antje

Author's Response: Awww, this is so sweet what you guys are doing. All of us mean old staffers can always use a hug once in a while :) Tonks definitely qualifies as a favorite character of mine. She just makes sense to me. and as i've seldom admitted, that may be because I'm seldom more than one or two developmental steps ahead of her :P I have to admit, were I not having so much bloody fun writing Brink and so sure that NaNo will start in 24 hours with or without me I would embark on the novel length bill/tonks that has existed in my head since before I even wrote this :)

In any case, I always appreciate reviews on this story because it is such a tiny thing and it's quite...shall we say, heavy handed, for my general taste. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #24, by iloveblackboggart.: boggart.

30th October 2009:
Hey there, I'm here to spread the love for HPFFSAD,

the summary to this fic was just so intruging that I had to read it. I'm more of a happy, fluffy person and therefore this had me bawling like a small child.

Just reading about the pain Sirius was in and how he was trying to cope with James's death was enough to set me off. It's just amazing how you manage to take this scene, which I thought I had understood perfectly well, while reaing OotP and turn it around and show it from a completly different angle. I mean, the way you describe it, it makes perfect sense and I'm going through different Harry/Sirius scenes in my head right now, checking whether it fits. Which by the way is a compliment to your writing. You actually got me rethinking my opinion that Sirius knows that Harry isn't James. An opinion that I've had for over seven years, wavers just because I read this...

So, this was very nicely written, very realisic too, as you can tell by my previous rambelings and I'm really impressed.

Antje

Author's Response: What is HPFFSAD? I should probably know this, but I don't...

Anyway, I'm sorry it had you bawling when you are normally so happy! I know a lot of people prefer fluff stories to angst, but I thought Sirius's view of the entire situation was really interesting and therefore warranted a one shot :)

A lot of people have said exactly what you did - that you never thought of it from any other POV. But JKR wrote specifically that Sirius's eyes lingered on the spot. It made me think, because I always loved Sirius, and at first I thought it just scared him to see Harry like that. But then I thought about how everyone said Harry looked just like James.

I've always thought that Molly and Hermione were right about Sirius thinking Harry is James. I hate saying so because I love Sirius, and I don't want to imply there's anything wrong with him mentally. And obviously he knows they're two different people, but I think he just gets lost in his own despair really easily sometimes. Being in Azkaban, he never really had a chance to get over James, what with his worst memories likely being hurled at him over and over with the Dementors.

Anyway, thank you so much for reading it, and I'm happy that it's made you think. perhaps there are other scenes warranting one shots similar to this one.


 Report Review

Review #25, by iloveblackPortmanteau: Prologue: Fire

30th October 2009:
Hey there, Iím here to spread the love for HPFFSAD,
First off, congrats on winning a Dobby!

I really like how you begin the chapter. It has me wondering who these men are and what theyíre up to. Iím wondering, are they the good guys, are they bad ones? And that is what keeps me reading.

Your desrcibtion of the place and of the atmosphere is very well done and I especially enjoyed the one of the people in the tavern. Itís very realistic and the picture you created is that which everyone, whoís never been to Eastern Europe and especially Romania, needs to imagine what itís like there. So, donít worry about misinterpreting things. Iím currently living in a small village in Hungary and though I find it very traditional at times and could see this village in your description, Iím told that itís even more traditional in Romania.

The desription of the attack was amazing. There is no other way of putting it. I had goosebumps on my arms all the way through and when Charlie saw the Dark Mark, wow youíve got no idea of how impressive that scene was.

I can already see now that your writing is definitely Dobby worthy, Iím going to favourite this right away, and I canít wait to see how this continues.

Antje

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and participating in HPFFSAD. I was very touched by the whole endeavor. I'm glad the descriptions of the village and the attack read alright. It's particularly nice to hear that from someone a lot closer to that region of the world than I am.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>