Reading Reviews From Member: Jianne
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JianneThe Good in All of Us: I

14th October 2012:
This is actually really good. I'm going to hazard a guess and say that this isn't the first thing you've ever written =P
I really like where this is going, and I hope you keep writing it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks Jianne! This is my first HPFF even though I've been reading the site for years, which makes you my first ever review! The next chapter will be up soon. I hope you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by JianneJealousy: Chapter 1

14th October 2012:
Hey! Well done on posting your first fic here. It's got potential to be really interesting :)
Just as a friendly word of advice, it's a lot easier to read stories if there's not an excess of blank space. I know the editor adds more every time you preview, and I know it's really annoying, but it really does make it so much easier to read if you only have one space between paragraphs. Speech doesn't need to be in italics either, just quotation marks :)
Either way, you've set the scene to what looks to be an interesting story, so I hope you keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by JiannePause: 2. External

13th October 2012:
It's me again, haha! I'm sticking around, I really do like where this story is going :) We seem to be pretty much in the same boat- I've only recently taken writing up again after a year or two off, and this is your first story on this archive, so we should totally stick together. I'd love some honest feedback on my chapters, and I'd be happy to give you some as well.
Out of curiosity, can I ask what your writing process is? Like, do you type it straight into a word processor and then post it from there, or what?
Oh, and you don't really need to worry about chapter lengths- I was worrying about my own a little while ago, but then when I went out and read other people's work I found that it didn't really faze me. As long as it's long enough to say what you need to say, I guess!
Jianne :)

Author's Response: Thank you for sticking with me! I just dump my tangents into works word processor. It gets jumbled a tad when I paste it here on HPFF.
I'm liking where your story is headed. Yes, I'd love to tag along with you and become a loyal reader. You have the same feelings I do about the characters. Thank you so much for your advice!
xoxo Mirranda


 Report Review

Review #4, by JianneDestiny or Voldemort?: Chapter 1

5th October 2012:
Er... I'm not sure how nice you want us to be, but let me be the first to say congratulations on starting a story! Practice makes perfect after all.

It was an interesting beginning, and if you keep writing I'll stick around to see where you're going with this.

I'm curious, do you type these directly and then post them without editing, or do you write them in a book or something and then edit them as you type them up?
I personally write all my stories by hand originally and then edit them as I type them up- I find editing is good for fleshing out ideas, so things don't happen in huge clumps of information and you get to see character reactions that help to build the story. I'm not saying that's the only way to do it, but it works well for me :)

Good luck and keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by JiannePause: 1. Internal

5th October 2012:
Oooh, I'm very intrigued. A few of the hyphens at the beginning seemed like they were in strange places, (like "A long shower- in solitude was healthy.") but it wasn't a big deal. Apart from that, I'm quite enjoying it :)

Well done on a gripping beginning!

Author's Response: I want to thank you profusely, Jianne!

Upon reading it over for editing, you are correct. I hadn't noticed my growing affinity to the hyphens and dashes =). This is the first time I've ever tried anything like this and I'm nervous. My style is still undeveloped, I feel.

The use of those was to cause a 'pause' for effect, meaning to make the second half of the sentence more punctuated. Any suggestions? Or can I simply remove those and my message still come across?

I was worried the first chapter was too short and boring. Thank you again! I've 2 more currently waiting to be validated. If you don't mind, I would love for you to continue to offer suggestions that will make it easier to understand and read =)

With MUCH appreciation and thanks for your help,
Mirranda


 Report Review

Review #6, by JianneNew Beginnings: Staff Additions

20th September 2012:
This is a good start :) I'm interested to see where you're going with the story from here!
The only things that were a little off-putting was the massive spacing (I know the editor adds spaces every time you preview, but it really does read so much better when you have single or double spacing), and that you accidentally wrote 'purpose' instead of 'propose' when Hermione's thinking about Ron. I had to think a little to work out what you meant, so you might want to fix that some time.
Oh, and I liked that you had Harry be the first one to reconcile with Draco- not many people do that, and it was a welcome change.
Keep writing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by JianneA Purple Gem: Jem and Teddykins

8th December 2010:
This made me laugh :) It was a nice little story that could even sit on its own as a one-shot, but I'm interested to see where you're planning on going with this.
Even though what was going on was a bit vauge, the banter, especially with Albert, was incredibly amusing, and the end! Brilliant. I liked it muchly. :)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm an idiot! *slaps head* This is supposed to be a one-shot, I just forgot to move it to 'Completed' *goes and does it* Thank you so much for the kind words, I'm very happy that you liked this! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by JianneMurder Most Malfoy-er, I mean, Foul: Lady Hermione

3rd June 2009:
Aw, what a sweet memory. Draco and Hermione are so cute. I like how you had Ron use a love potion on Luna, so she didn't do it willingly. It's really clever, and more realistic.
You always have such original ideas. I want to steal your brain :)

Author's Response: I really wanted to have Luna portrayed in a good light so I had to make everything seem good in her favour.

I'm glad you're liking it and my other stories, lol!


 Report Review

Review #9, by JianneMurder Most Malfoy-er, I mean, Foul: Characters

3rd June 2009:
The plot thickens... >_> _>
I really like how you have the idea of the narrator guiding the story along. It's clever, and works really well.
And I love your description of Pansy.

Author's Response: lol, thanks, I'm glad you like it! I always change Pansy in my stories too, and in this one she's not exactly the greatest of peoples.

 Report Review

Review #10, by JianneMurder Most Malfoy-er, I mean, Foul: Death Knocks

3rd June 2009:
Yay! Ron is dead! Ron is dead! Oh, sorry, was that too immature? Allow me to rephrase: I LOVE YOUR STORIES.
No, but really. They're brilliant. Everything I read of yours makes me so envious because you have the ability to make it interesting, funny and have it make sense too.

Author's Response: I'm glad you find them all funny, lol! And no, that's not immature, I don't like Ron either- which is probably why he always ends up badly in my stories, lol!

 Report Review

Review #11, by JianneMurder Most Malfoy-er, I mean, Foul: The Beginning

3rd June 2009:
Oooh, this is really clever!
I love this idea. Especially pairing these two characters together. I don't think I've ever seen someone attempt something this adventurous, or pull it off so well. Congratulations! Can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: heehee, I'm glad you liked it! I never read anything about Colin Creevey and Draco's always paired up with the usual peoples so I thought I'd try a little something different.

 Report Review

Review #12, by JianneFurball : Draco's furry problem!

1st June 2009:
I love your stories. They're all so funny.
It's really clever how you have Crookshanks talking. It's a great idea. And you style of writing is really good, too, it flows really well.
Loved it!

Author's Response: lol, thanks, I'm glad you liked it! I always liked Crookshanks, mainly because he disliked Ron, and there aren't very many stories with him, lol!

 Report Review

Review #13, by JianneBroomhilde and the Founders: A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

1st June 2009:
Woo, this is brilliant. I was laughing so hard.
I love how you write.
Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by JianneHPFF United Collaboration: Pride In The Snake

31st May 2009:
This was really interesting. It's written well, and it flows well too. It really shows how people behave under pressure, what their values become. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #15, by JianneHPFF United Collaboration: Operation Won-Won

31st May 2009:
Wow! I loved this. I especially like the style this has been written in, it flows really well. RonsGirlFriday, you are a genius. Good work!

 Report Review

Review #16, by JianneDouble Chocolate Fudge Lip-Gloss: Double Chocolate Fudge Lip-Gloss

31st May 2009:
Woo! I loved this. I laughed so hard. Especially how Draco keeps saying 'Right, and Harry Potter isn't gay.' and everyone's like, "well, no, he's/I'm not.". That was the best part of the story for me.
The actual idea of it is really clever, too. I'd so do that to Draco :P
I love your stories.

Author's Response: lol, thanks, I'm glad you read it and liked it! This story was definitely one of my best and I was jumping for joy over all the reviews I got for it. I'm also very glad you love my stories, lol, and for the reviews!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #17, by JianneUntold Secrets: The First Official Date

30th May 2009:
Aw, how sweet. I love it. Especially the part about the kitten. I'm totally obsessed with Cats (the musical) so I love everything to do with kittens and cats.
Also, I like how you've used Luna's input, not just magically had Draco know what to get/do.

Author's Response: lol, thanks, I'm glad you liked it and thanks a lot for all the reviews! I have this story on pause right now as I am trying to get over a major writer's block for it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by JianneUntold Secrets: Hello Father

30th May 2009:
This is interesting. It lays a bit more groundwork down for the story, which is good. Lucius seems kinda OOC, but that's okay, because you don't have to have all your characters exactly in canon. It think limits your creativity otherwise.
Another great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it and as for Lucius, well, let's just say that Luna brings out a softer side of him as she does for most other people.

 Report Review

Review #19, by JianneUntold Secrets: New Allegiances

30th May 2009:
And here comes the bag! Sorry, that was weird. I don't know what strange part of my brain that came from.
Anyway, I laughed when I saw that you decided to call them Gred and Forge. It's clever. But which is which! Who can tell...

Author's Response: ...to tell you the truth, I still don't know which is which, lol! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by JianneUntold Secrets: Chapter Eleven

29th May 2009:
Lol, I love Neville. He's the best :P
I also love how Hermione hasn't lost any of her Gryffindor spirit. Most people just turn her into a full-fledged Slytherin. You've done this really well.

Author's Response: heehee, I'm glad you liked it! I don't really like Hermione as a Slytherin- unless it's like an anger type thing against Ron- so I try my best in all my stories to keep her Gryffindor!

 Report Review

Review #21, by JianneUntold Secrets: Sorrows

29th May 2009:
Theodore Nott! now that was one I wasn't expecting. I'll be interested to see where you go with it though.
Probably my only criticism would be that 'Granger' is alphabetically pretty close to 'Glass', so Hermione may not have been out of line. Also that entire scene is pretty jumbled. You may want to jsut go over it and straighten it out a bit.
Overall though, another good chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it and it was a surprise for everyone when Theo ended up being her mate, especially since most people thought it would end up being Blaise!

 Report Review

Review #22, by JianneUntold Secrets: Information

29th May 2009:
I love how you portray Blaise! He's just so funny.
And I like what you're doing with the whole veela idea. Some people just take it way too over-the-top, but you've done well. Good work!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like how I'm doing the Veela part with them and as for Blaise, he almost always ends up being the comic relief in my stories, lol.

 Report Review

Review #23, by JianneUntold Secrets: New Discoveries

29th May 2009:
Ooh! I want to know who Luna's mate is!
I love how you write everyone's dialogue. It's just so... interesting! It makes me want to read more. Which is good, because there's more for me to read! Yay!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking the story and you'll find out who her mate is very soon!

 Report Review

Review #24, by JianneUntold Secrets: Hogwarts Express Part2

29th May 2009:
This is really good. I like how they're getting along, for Hermione and Luna's sakes, but they're not magically getting along REALLY well like they've been friends for years.
The incorporation of a bit of muggle culture in there with the cell phone was really cever. You have such good ideas.

Author's Response: hehe, thanks for the compliment! I'm glad you think that everyone getting along the way they are is okay and a bit in character!

 Report Review

Review #25, by JianneUntold Secrets: Hogwarts Express Part1

29th May 2009:
Ooh, I love it! I like Ron's reaction. But then I don't really like Ron, so that may be why...
And I love Blaise's line 'Ah, plush for my tush!'
I laughed so hard at that.

Author's Response: lol, I'm glad you liked it and I don't really like Ron either which is why he probably always ends up being the bad guy in my stories...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>