Reading Reviews From Member: Herculeha
  
286 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HerculehaDon't Cry Out: Don't Cry Out

13th April 2007:
I've never been fond of Dramione, but for some reason, I'm rather fond of Harry/Pansy. Perhaps that's because there doesn't seem to be the deep hatred rooted between the two of them that exists between Draco and Hermione. For that reason alone, I guess, Harry/Pansy seems much more believeable. That said, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. You've got a wonderful talent on your hands, and I was captured by the strange beauty of the story. The last segment, "Surrender," was lovely. Nicely done!

Author's Response: Meh. I used to like Dramione... way before I started reading Draco/Ginny... now- not so much.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Awww thanks! I think my personal favorite would either be the beginning segment (Loneliness) or the second to last (Restraint?). In fact, I almost ended it without that last segment. I guess it's a good thing I kept it in there, eh?

Thanks for the lovely review! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #2, by HerculehaRon-erella: Chapter I: Dreaming

7th April 2007:
I absolutely adored Beauty and the Red Head, so I was excited to see that you'd finally come out with another Ron/Hermione fairy tale! I love the idea of Ron-erella. I once tried to write something like that myself -- I think I called it Cinderon. Anyway. This seems like a good beginning to what promises to be another cute, fluffy tale! The only thing I suggest is that you find a beta-reader for your story. There are a few typos here and there as well as a few grammatical problems which took away from the story as I tried to read it. If you'd like, I'd be willing to do it. Other than that, I absolutely loved it, and can't wait for the next chapter!

~Leah

 Report Review

Review #3, by HerculehaBurning My Dreams: Everything Burns

6th April 2007:
That was really good, but incredibly sad. I'm one of the few people who still ship Viktor/Hermione, so I was excited when I saw this story and was hoping for a happy ending. I could tell right away that it wasn't going to be happy, but I read it anyway. You had a really interesting hook at the beginning -- putting the end first, so I definitely wanted to read the rest to know what drove Hermione to suicide.

I love Viktor, and for the most part, your portrayal was in-character. The only complaint I have is that his accent wasn't quite right. He was sounding more French than Bulgarian, but I let it slide because it can be incredibly hard writing accents -- which is usually why I stay away from writing characters from other countries.

It's really too bad that Hermione had lost all hope in everything and believed all the death to be her fault. Perhaps if Ron and Harry had taken her with them, she wouldn't have become as weak as she did. But then again, if they had taken her along, this wonderful story wouldn't exist, would it?

Overall, I enjoyed it. Nicely done. 9/10

~Leah

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! Sorry about the accent, I've never met anyone from Bulagria/Russia/Germany what ever lol so I wansn't sure how to make him sound.

Well I know it's sad, But I always write those best (which is odd since I'm such a happy person) But all in all I'm glad you liked it! tell your friends!



 Report Review

Review #4, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Five Minutes to Midnight;

6th April 2007:
Is it wrong that I officially claim to be a Cara/Regulus shipper?

Seriously. I like the way the two of them connected on their little date, even if Regulus was doing it to make Sirius jealous (I'll talk about THAT, later) and Cara was doing it to keep herself and her friends out of trouble. I can totally picture the two of them hooking up and being that taboo Gryffindor-Slytherin couple that gets the school talking. It might be a cliched plot, but it's one I've always liked -- with the exception of Dramione, that is. Ew.

So Sirius likes Cara, does he? I was starting to think so. :) I just don't want to see dear Jamsie get his heart broken, though. :(

You know that I'd love to see this made into a trilogy! I would gladly drink up every word!

~Leah

Author's Response: long reviews make me smile.
dramione - i always hated it until..
i wrote one, lol. and now its okay with me, but that wont be posted until .. i am seriously bored with whatever I'm writing.

Cara/Regulus? hmm.

yesss you would like a trilogy!

im writing it anyway, im just seeing who would actually read it=]



 Report Review

Review #5, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Champagne For My Real Friends;

6th April 2007:
This is a brilliant piece of writing that should go on display!!

I'm sorry to hear that you're on crutches. I don't know how long fractures take to heal, but I hope it heals soon, because I can't imagine it's any fun to try and walk with two sticks poking up your armpits.

Don't worry about getting writer's block. Even if we're not the most patient of readers, we know that we'd much rather wait for a good chapter than get a crappy chapter right away. That said, this was indeed an excellent chapter and it was well worth the wait! I loved the cameo by Regulus. Although I guess it's going to be more than a cameo, isn't it? I wish Cara the best of luck on her little date...

So Evans and Sterling are attempting a truce! The only thing that might get in the way is the fact that they're both very stubborn, strong-headed people. And both currently want James Potter. :D

~Leah

Author's Response: yeah a bit more then a cameo lol
a truce, yes, it is.
well another long review which made me happy.

but i have to go so thanks thanks thanks!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Herculeha:

3rd April 2007:
How could you hate this?! It's a lovely response to your own challenge!

First things first, I absolutely loved the song. Foreign languages always sound so beautiful. And even in English, the words were incredibly powerful. You weaved your story in so well with the lyrics. I especially loved reading Remus's thoughts on what it was like to see Fenrir in person for the first time. It must have been incredibly strange and emotional for him, and I've never seen a story that wrote about his thoughts on seeing the man -- the beast -- like that.

And the Remus/Tonks bit was totally cute. You're good at it!

10/10

~Leah

Author's Response: As always, I start to like my stories once I've gotten a few votes of confidence from readers..lol I'm pathetically insecure sometimes...I absolutely love this song, and really wanted to do it justice, so I'm glad you liked it and found that it fit! :) The Greyback part was actually my favorite bit to write..that and his thoughts on Tonks. :P thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by HerculehaAn Ordinary Man: An Ordinary Man

30th March 2007:
I applaud you!!

I've always loved Neville, mostly because he's the kind of character that I'm sure most of JKR's readers could identify with -- the "ordinary" one. The one who, try as he might, never can quite seem to acheive the same level of heroism as the Golden Trio. But as you've so beautifully portrayed in this story of yours, there are all sorts of heroes in the word, and sometimes it's not how much one does, but how many fears one overcomes and how much one sacrifices. I wish I could remember who said it, but one of my favorite quotes is, "Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway."

This was such a satisying one-shot to read. I'd always wanted to read one of those "missing scenes" in which Augusta acknowledged her grandson's bravery. Thank you so much for finally revealing that scene to me, and in such a well-written manner.

This is going on my favorites list for sure! 10/10

~Leah

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, this is one of the sweetest reviews I've ever gotten! Thank you for your kind words. Neville is my favorite character--and the easiest for me to write--for exactly those reasons! I'm glad you liked it.

It was written because I always thought that since Harry got a CAPLOCK! moment, shouldn't Neville? He certain,ly deserves more love, and I hope to shower him with it in my fic. :D

And I always get a little shiver of delight when someone puts me on their favorites list. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by HerculehaSo You Want to be a Death Eater?: So You Want to Be a Death Eater?

29th March 2007:
Haha, I loved it! I definitely laughed out loud at a few points. I was feeling kind of sad today, and this completely picked up my mood! It was creative and funny. Nicely done!

Author's Response: Glad I could help lift your spirits

 Report Review

Review #9, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Sunrise Goodbyes;

29th March 2007:
I hope you didn't miss the bus just to write this lovely chapter for us!!

And that said, it really was a fun chapter to read. There were so many bits that I loved about it, I'm afriad that I'm going to miss a few as I make the run-down. First things first -- from chapter nine, in my hurry, I forgot to mention that you made me very happy with Fabian asking Emmeline out. There's something about those Prewett brothers. I think Cara should end up with Gideon in the end, just because Gideon is so freaking cool. And single.

The banter between Cara and James as they snogged was priceless. “Thanks for informing me. Carry on.” Loved it! I can totally picture them madly snogging and stopping only to breath and snap witty comments at one another. Kind of like Ron and Hermione. It's kind of cute.

I almost brought myself to feel sorry for Lily in this chapter. Almost.

The quidditch match was great. Cara is a little cocky, but she's not invincible, which is good to see in an OC. I like that you can keep her realistic. Of course, even better than the match was the scene in the hospital wing after the match. James = adorable!

And that about covers it.

Nicely done!

~Leah

Author's Response: i didnt miss the bus, but as soon as i got downstairs everyone was like OH MY GOD GO GO GO and i left .. but i missed it yesterday because iwas up here writing .. so all of you should feel like so special because i seriously love all of you.

I love the Prewetts alott, but probably not as much as you do !!

And I'm not going to say anything about your comment on Lily becausee I wouldn't wanna give anything away.

You really think I'm doing a good job with Cara? That makes me feel speciall, but I was most worried about how I could do the Marauders justice... I always amm !

so, thanks soooo much and bye!


 Report Review

Review #10, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Hit the Lights;

29th March 2007:
I know you can't hear it, but I'm squealing for joy!

I was just about to hang my head in disappointment, thinking this was yet another chapter without the Cara/James kiss I'd been craving so badly. After all, they totally had the chance to snog in the locker room after quidditch practice, but Cara was too fired up about Ryan to even think of snogging James. But lo and behold! Just when I was least expecting it -- a snog!!

I'd write more, but you can surely understand that I must move on to the next chapter. Pronto. :D

~Leah

Author's Response: snog! yes. i knew you'd be happy.

thanksthanksthanks.

once again, im in danger of missing the bus so I will talk to you later my dear!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HerculehaSecond Place: Second Place

25th March 2007:
I loved the last line!!!

Actually, I loved the whole thing. I'm a sucker for fics about minor characters like Dean Thomas. This was a really great look into Dean's character. I liked how you gave him a little-known talent. I can totally picture quiet, inconspicuous Dean sitting by a window with a sketchbook. Very nicely done!

~Leah

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I, too, adore minor character fics. In fact, I've got a lot of ideas for some more fics like this, which I hope to get around to writing soon enough.

Dean is actually an artist in canon, which is why I wrote this - I wanted to show a side to him that I knew was there but JKR never shows. Anyway, thanks so much for reviewing and I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Beauty in the Breakdown;

25th March 2007:
Yay for another chapter!

I love how you include minor characters like the Prewett brothers and "Wilhemina" McKinnon. I always love reading little tidbits about them, for some reason.

I also like how you include random but funny bits in your story. For example, the bit about James and the spider. Pointless, maybe, but cute and chuckle-worthy.

So, there's a bit of a plot twist! Whoever would have thought Lily was nasty purely out of jealousy? It seems obvious now, but I never really caught it. Nice!

I'm so buying a fish and naming it One-Hundred Twenty Four.

~Leah

Author's Response: Fluff is my best friend, you know.
So thank you once again!
Jealousy, yes. I think that canbe the worst feeling in the world.

toodles.

PS. If you were to name your fish 124, could you make its middle name katie? After me, of course=]


 Report Review

Review #13, by HerculehaAlong Came a Spider: Tribal Chanting or Something

25th March 2007:
Haha, I loved this! Most quirky diary stories are told in the POV of people like Ginny or Lily or OC girls. Using Ron as the main character is completely original, and I love it! Ron is such a funny character, and it's great to get inside his head. This is going on my favorites list for sure so I can keep track of new chapters! 10/10

~Leah

Author's Response: Leah, what a pleasant surprise! I'm so glad you think it's original--it's always one of my main goals. (: Tchh, girly? Not here! Thank you very much for this awesome review! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by HerculehaYoke: Umbrellas

24th March 2007:
I'm 99% certain I know who this couple is, but I won't mention it so I don't spoil it for the other readers. But I'd just like to say that this is an ineteresting take on the beginning of their relationship. I've always loved the two of them -- there really aren't enough fanfictions about them, are there? It's too bad, because their realationship is powerfully romantic, in my opinion.

Anyway, I enjoyed this! Thanks for the interesting read!

~Leah

Author's Response: Thanks! Not done with it yet, I still have a few more chapters to put up. It's not very long at this point which is why I put it in the one-shot category, but I may have to change it, it's turning out longer than I expected.

Anywho, thank you very much for your review, Leah! I appreciated it. Stick around for the rest, I hope you'll enjoy it as much as this first part.

=]


 Report Review

Review #15, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Lips Like Morphine;

24th March 2007:
Well, fine. There was no Cara/James interacting at all, but I can deal with it. The interaction with her brothers didn't necessarily compenstate, but it was still nice to read about because we, the readers, don't know a whole lot about Cara's background -- where she's from, how she gets along with her family and all that.

It would have been nice to see Christopher decide to go to Hogsmeade with Hestia. After all, perhaps if she'd been nice and sweet to him, it could have led Cara to see that Lily's not as bad as she thinks. Still, that's not to say that it wasn't cute how Chris took Cara's advice.

Thanks for three lovely chapters in a row! I hope to see more soon!

~Leah

Author's Response: yes, there will definitely be much more about Cara's familia in the future chapters. if i had an older brother, i would feel very special if he took my advice.. but i doubt he would :/

thankss.


 Report Review

Review #16, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Hands Down;

24th March 2007:
Gah, they were so close. How dare you tease your readers with an almost-kiss! I was so ready for it to happen, and then stupid, cheating Ryan had to come and ruin anything. As if I didn't hate him enough.

Unfortunately, I think James might be wrong. Sometimes, stupid whores do win. After all, we all know Lily eventually wins. But maybe by then, she'll come to her senses and not be such a stupid whore anymore.

One more chapter to go. Perhaps in the next chapter I won't be teased with an almost-kiss...

:-D

~Leah

Author's Response: close yett far.
yes, well Lily may start to be pleasent in the future ?
Stupid cheating Ryan, maybe, perhaps, he isn't so stupid .. maybe there is more to the story we have yet to have seen?

toodles[=


 Report Review

Review #17, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Suspension;

24th March 2007:
Sorry it's taken me so long to review this! School has been absolutely insane this week, so this is the first chance I've had to come on hpff and do some reading.

First off, I love Mae!! I saw them opening for Yellowcard, which is how I got interested in them. And you're right -- they're amazing in concert!

Anyway, the chapter. As usual, I thoroughly enjoyed it! The whole bit with Lily's messengers and the duel were great. The little heart-to-heart with Sirius was pretty cute, too. I have a feeling Cara might be moving on to him after James...

But I shouldn't get ahead of myself. I'm still adoring all the Cara/James fluffiness and hope they get to share a kiss or two soon!

It's onto the next chapter for me!]

~Leah

Author's Response: i was wondering where it was that you went !
Cara moving onto Sirius ?
maybe ;)
i like heart -to -hearts, dont you ?
thankss.



 Report Review

Review #18, by HerculehaThe Sorting of Luna Lovegood: The Sorting of Luna Lovegood

19th March 2007:
Haha, I loved it! Very cute! There's something so absolutely charming about Luna's looniness. You were right on target with her characterization!

Author's Response: Awww thanks so much!

I'm glad I did Luna justice. She's such a fun character. ^.^

I agree; Luna's looniness is very endearing.

Thanks for your review! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #19, by HerculehaLittle Miss Know It All: Little Miss Know It All

18th March 2007:
Haha, I loved it!! Hermione made some very good points. I love the way the other characters reacted to her, too. I hope you post another chapter soon!

~Leah

 Report Review

Review #20, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Dark Blue;

17th March 2007:
Happy St. Patrick's Day! Thanks for putting up another chapter so soon!

I like how you're pacing the relationship between Cara and James. It's refreshing to read a story that doesn't shove two people together within the first two chapters. I can't wait to see them eventually get together, even if it won't be long-lived.

I loved the bickering between Cara and Lily! All those questions Cara was asking her were pretty funny. "How about your eyes? Are those real?"

Keep it up!

~Leah

Author's Response: Well thank you very much.
I wish it could be longlived, but we all know the equations. James + Lily = Harry, not James + Cara ..

thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #21, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Hero/Heroine;

16th March 2007:
Ooo, alliteration fight!!

Haha, I loved the whole chapter! From Cara and James's almost-kiss, to shameless flirting on Em and Fabian's part, to clicky pen fascinations, this chapter is a perfect ten! There were a few grammar and punctuation problems, but I'm willing to let them slide (only don't tell my friends!) because I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter and I know that sometimes it gets hard to proofread your own stuff because after all, you're the one who wrote it and your brain knows what you were supposed to say.

I especially loved Cara coming to Peter's defense. It drives me insane when people treat Peter poorly in their stories, or worse yet, completely leave him out, as though it's prefectly all right to ignore one big canon character. He made some bad choices, but he was still a Marauder, and when people include Peter positively in their stories, I can't help but love them.

Thanks for another lovely chapter!

~Leah

Author's Response: grammar and pucntuations are not my thing. and i have no beta, plus i would be too impatient, to tell the truth. i always correct myself when reading and just let it go. bad habit.

im so happy you enjoy it so much; that makes me happy!

good day,

katieee !!


 Report Review

Review #22, by HerculehaBlasted: Isla Black

15th March 2007:
I love this idea! I've always been rather interested in the lives of the "blasted" Blacks. This was a cute first chapter, nice and romantic -- just what I needed after a long, tiresome day of school. I look forward to hearing the "secret stories" of the other disowned Blacks!

~Leah

P.S. I loveloveLOVE your banner!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! :D I'm glad you liked the idea -- the Blacks (and, really, purebloods in general) are my favourite to write about. And I don't like writing plot bunnies :P

And thank you so much for the compliment! The animation took me forever to do :P Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #23, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Seven Minutes in Heaven;

13th March 2007:
Oh, horray! Another chapter already!

Again, I love this bitchy side of Lily. Believe me, if I were Cara, I'd set my cat on her face, too. Although I can't believe James would still be interested in her after her horrid comment about Cara during Transfiguration.

I love that you added in Fabian Prewett! He and Gideon are two of my favorite characters, and no one ever seems to write about them, even though there's so much freedom involved! I do hope we get to see a little Emmaline/Fabian! I love romantic subplots.

Thanks for distracting me from my English homework with another great chapter! :-P

~Leah

Author's Response: boo. english homework.

Emmeline/Fabian ... =]

i like the Prewetts as well.
Hence them in the story lolll.
Well, thanks a bunch.
Can't wait to hear from you again.


 Report Review

Review #24, by HerculehaCara Sterling's Guide to the Marauders.: Here we go Again;

12th March 2007:
Usually I'm opposed to stories that feature girls who just so happen to be best of friends with the Marauders, but for some reason, something made me give this story a chance. And boy am I ever glad that I did! It moved a little too fast for my liking, but other than that, I can quite easily say that I was charmed by Cara and her story. Even though it's just the beginning, I think you've got an excellent portrayal of the Marauders. And this is a different view on Lily, which I like. Not the same old, same old, "Oh, everyone loves sweet little Lily!" thing that appears in every other story.

Oh, and of course, it was filled with laughable quotes.

"Honestly. Brothers aren't important at all."

Hear, hear.

Adding this to my faves for sure. Don't keep us waiting too long for a second chapter!

~Leah

Author's Response: Well then, I am very honored you gave mine a chance, I'll make it entertaining; i promise. Laughable - i love when people say im funnyy !

Second chapter is coming riiiight up!



 Report Review

Review #25, by HerculehaStuck On The Step: Stuck On The Step

10th March 2007:
Haha, I loved it! Seriously, nothing is better than lighthearted Ron/Hermione Bicker Fluff. Thanks for making me smile after suffering through hours of the nasty SAT. This was very cute!

Author's Response: Haha, other than James/Lily bicker fluff ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>