Reading Reviews From Member: potty_and_the_weasel
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by potty_and_the_weaselthe present: The Present

12th August 2009:
This ending made me cry.

 Report Review

Review #2, by potty_and_the_weaselUnsung Hero: Chapter 46

9th May 2008:
a much-needed respite from all the drama and angst. well done, Meghan.

Author's Response: merci merci :) I could at buckets to be silly but I won't. ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by potty_and_the_weaselBlack Lily: Chapter 8

10th April 2008:
I'm a skater, or I used to be, and you've got lily in roughly the right place. soon Lily should begin practising gliding on one foot for as long as she can without falling over.

have her practice swishes and rocking horses.
rocking horses are just exercises to get you used to the rocking motion used in a lot of skating moves, like crossovers. but I'm getting ahead of myself. for now, lets focus, on the basics. to do a rocking horse, place your feet in a V. now, glide forward without taking your feet off the ice. hard to explain in words, but trust me, it works on the ice. anyhoo, push your feet out in a curve so they come together again in an upside down V meeting at the toe. pull feet backwards in hopefully the same curve as before until they meet again at the heel. repeat as many times as necessary.
swishes are a way of propelling yourself across the ice without picking up your feet. basically, put your feet slightly apart and put your heels together. (there's no place like home, there's no place like home, . . . ) as you move forward, you part your feet and bring them back together, making two curvy lines next to each other. until you get the trick of making yourself move forward doing only this, you might want to take a few steps forward normally, and then continue as if you were in the middle of a swish.

KEEP THE KNEES BENT!! THIS IS IMPORTANT DO NOT FORGET IT!!

I have a couple of suggestions for the plot/story details as well. Lily is never going to learn the proper technique without a proper instructor. i mean yes, this is a story and entirely fictional, but in real life she would get into all sorts of bad habits with her skating and get infinitely frustrated. I say bring in someone with a secret skating past or passion or something.
Also, let the poor girl get new skates, for Merlin's sake! or at least let her get her old ones sharpened. Skates need to be sharpened every six weeks, and much much more if you're using them everyday, as it seems lily is doing. it is virtually impossible to do anything useful on dull skates. also, it takes about 2 weeks to break in a new pair of skates, so if you do make her get new ones, factor that into the storyline somewhere.

General skating rules/details:
never walk on the bare blades, unless on carpet or other soft material, and even then use skate guards
use rag (or charm) to clean ice off blades after finished skating, otherwise blades will rust
never everr ever skate in a skirt that goes past your knees it screws up your balance
skaters need strong arms and stronger legs - extra exercises are always useful

any questions just ask!

Author's Response: Thank you soooo much! I love watching skating on TV… but that's as close as I've ever come. Can't even rollerblade decently. Urgh. I'll make sure to put that stuff in, thanks a BILLION!
~blue dragon


 Report Review

Review #4, by potty_and_the_weaselMagical Musical: Auditions, Actually

10th April 2008:
good chap!

in the last chapter you asked for suggestions on duet love songs. may i suggest "No Air" by Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown? Or perhaps "Breaking Free" by Zac Efron and Vanessa Anne Hudgens?

hope i helped!

Author's Response: Oh, I've heard Breaking Free! It's one of the HSM songs isnt it? thank you so much for the suggestions, they will be really uesful for later chapters.

i cant thank you enough!! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by potty_and_the_weaselThe Living Dead: Epilogue: Seven Years Later

8th April 2008:
bravo!!!

*gives standing ovation while clapping heart out*

I've never reviewed this story before, but I've been a loyal reader since the beginning. Sorry. You rocked it out, good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't think I've ever gotten a standing ovation before.

 Report Review

Review #6, by potty_and_the_weaselSecond Chance at Loving You: "Epilogue"

28th March 2008:
Four words, babe:

Ten out of ten

 Report Review

Review #7, by potty_and_the_weaselPrey: Epilogue

25th March 2008:
Absolutely and unforgettably enchanting, tugging remorselessly on the heartstrings and melting the coldest, stoniest heart with singular grace and charm.

a resounding and well-deserved 10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by potty_and_the_weaselHis Eyes Were Black: Chapter One

19th March 2008:
Honestly, I don't know what to say, except . . .

Bravo, child, bravo indeed.

 Report Review

Review #9, by potty_and_the_weaselBeyond Bones: The Anxious

12th March 2008:
ooh, cliffhanger. please update soon, this is a brilliant story

Author's Response: thanks i'll try :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by potty_and_the_weaselDeception: Rain Rain, Go Away

8th March 2008:
Wow, I just stumbled across this fic and I really really like it! Here's a list of why:

1. Each of the chapters moves things along at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.

2. You have a refreshingly clean, engaging style of writing which immediately seizes the reader's attention and locks it there.

3. Your plot, while cliche, is peppered with lively banter, snarky characters, and dry humour in perfect balance with the softer elements.

Spot on, babe!

Author's Response: Aw, that is so nice of you to say. This is really keeping my ego up. I think I'll go have to work on the next chapter now...just to get a head start while the queue is down.

 Report Review

Review #11, by potty_and_the_weaselERISED STRA EHRU OYT UBE CAFRU OYT ON WOHSI: Deception of the Heart

3rd March 2008:
Short and sweet and not really to the point. Ah, possibilities . . .

This looks like the beginning of a classic to me. With your powers of description and a good beta, you and your story will go far. Please do not abandon it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by potty_and_the_weaselYour Time Will Come: Dj vu

24th February 2008:
i'm sorry for not reviewing more often, since this is one of my favorite stories. please please please keep writing, because this is a captivating story, very addictive. i have seen too many stories burn out because of lack of reviews, and i sincerely hope that this will not become one of them. keep on keepin on, honey!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, what a lovely review. If you keep them coming like that it wont burn out! Promise!

 Report Review

Review #13, by potty_and_the_weaselPushing the brink of insanity.: Heartbeat

14th February 2008:
luvv the story so far keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by potty_and_the_weaselThe Long Road Ahead: Pride and Finality

13th February 2008:
Standing ovation, girlie, bravo!! I shall applaud until the end of time!!

metaphorically speaking, of course. otherwise my arms would get really tired ;)

Author's Response: Haha. Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by potty_and_the_weaselHarriet Portman: The beginning: Prologue

8th February 2008:
sounds interesting. Can't wait to hear what comes next!

From what you've said about the play, you're pretty busy, but once it's over, I recommend you make the chapters a bit longer, especially since you're doing a revamping of the traditional HP.

Update soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, I was busy, but now that's over, and I'm updating! I'm sorry if it takes awhile, but I'm uploading from the library, and the internet connection SUCKS!!! I will make the chapters longer, and one is being validated right now. Keep reading!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login