Reading Reviews From Member: Jacqueline Noir
  
239 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jacqueline NoirWinner Takes All: Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

1st July 2011:
My dear, amazing writer,

First of all I must say that I feel like a complete ungrateful reader for not commenting on every chapter from this masterpiece. I do hope to go back and redeem this. :)

Secondly, I must say that this is one of a kind piece of art. I have read so few-oh, so few! stories - that transmit this rare emotion. Authentic, hypnotizing at some points, heart wrenching.

I loved how you wrote this, the flow of it: always ascendant or descendant, never dull. You captured our hearts and carried them through a tunnel of emotions where we indulged ourselves in the dark without ever wanting to see the light at the end.

It was beautiful. Extremely beautiful and soul filling just as art should be. Your Rose was the best character I have ever encountered on this site: she was authentic, alive, she with an identity entirely of her own. I must ask you if there is someone in real life that inspired her. :)

Scorpius... how majestically. What a real "bad for your heart" young man. He seemed so real that, at some points it felt like if I would raise my eyes from the monitor and look in front of me he would stand there.

Teddy... such a sweet emotion he emitted. The good guy that always saves us from the bad guy. The one we are destined to be with when the fascination is gone and we come back to our senses. When we have been burnt enough to appreciate the sweet rain. Made me want a Teddy. Without the blue hair, of course. :)

All in all I must say that I dearly wish to read an one-shot that depicts that letter. Can you, oh please, write an one-shot with the content of the said letter. I'm dying to know and I know you can write it. I know the words are already in your head and you are smiling knowing what none of us, readers, know.

Fantastic, my dear. Write more of such amazing works!

PS: let me know when you publish a book. I want to order it.

Author's Response: This review has had me floored ever since I first saw it. It brought tears to my eyes, and still does when I reread it. Thank you, thank you for leaving it, as hearing such compliments doesn't only boost my confidence, but they're also very inspiring - I don't know how else to say it, other than that I greatly appreciate your review and the comments it contains. This one review is worth 10 (if not more). ^_^

As for your question regarding Rose, I can't say whether someone specific inspired her, I just wanted her to be real, an awkward girl of 21 (or thereabouts) who is trying to find herself in the world, and struggling at it. She's not me (though there are some unavoidable similarities :P) - that much I do know.

I'm very glad to hear that Scorpius was realistic as well - I worried many times that he was too stereotypical-villain-like in manner, and I wish that I could have drawn out more humanity from him - it's there, but just barely hinted at throughout. The story is always focused on Rose, which takes away from other characters to a certain degree.

I'm afraid that I don't know what Scorpius said in the letter - I'm too distant from his thought process, and so I left the letter out completely so that I wouldn't have to get any closer to Scorpius. Whatever he said, very little of it would be genuine, and the rest would never satisfy, not Rose, not readers, and certainly not me. I'm sorry about that - you can fill in the blanks however way you'd like. ;) (You'd write a much better one than me, anyhow).

Thank you again for this wonderful review. It means so much to hear such appreciation for my work. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jacqueline NoirFoul Play: Of Banshees and Scrofungulus

13th February 2011:
Hey, dear, this is turning into a very good story. It really amuses me and I love the title. Lola and James are both very good characters. I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I spend a lot of time developing my characters -- some would probably argue too much time, actually -- so it really warms my heart to hear that they're good ones. And knowing that my humor is translatable is really appreciated, too. XD

I'll try to update as soon as I can! Academics be damned. *grins* Thank you so much for the review and the compliments! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jacqueline NoirNot Once, Not Ever: Epilogue

19th January 2011:
pt mahalia

It's OK if I cry now?

That was such a beautiful ending and so beautifully written... How to find the right words at the end of this? It's so much more that I want to say and yet the words won't come our right.

So I'm just saying this was wonderful and I hope you understand.

This one was a masterpiece that made me believe again in all the beautiful things. Thank you for everything you gave to us, your readers.

Your truly,
Jacqueline

Author's Response: No, Miss Jacqueline, I forbid you to cry! ): Unfortunately, though, it was a sad ending, and I was so sad it was all over - but God, it only took me three years! Haha.
And I do understand. You have been the most wonderful friend throughout this story. I still remember your first reviews, which helped me out a lot, and now they end in this, and I'm a tad sad about it ): I am so glad I met you though (:
And this review! It just left me breathless reading it again! I didnt think masterpiece would ever be used for any story of mine, so I'm so flattered. Thank you thank you thank you!
Many hugs,
May xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jacqueline NoirNot Once, Not Ever: Honesty

18th January 2011:
No, no, no!

My dear, I re-read this whole story again. Of course your story gives me a feeling that I don't get from anywhere else. That I'm bringing to life a part of me made of the rawest and most fragile emotions. There's such a sensibility in it, that I can't help but be amazed by your writing style.

I loved to pieces each paragraph of it, and I'm sure that in a few months or so I'll be reading this again.

I foresaw the sad ending, and not even when some things seemed to indicate a happy one I did not want to believe. Too much had happened and sometimes you have to deserve that happiness... But I would have loved them together so much...

And then congrats for the character of Ginny. I've never read her like this before and to see her supporting Hermione... that's something.

I can't wait for the final of this amazing story!

Love,
Lynn!

Author's Response: My love!!! Only today I read your email, and I was so touched by it! I am so sorry it has taken me this long to get around it - but I have good news! Your little Mahalia has moved out of home and is on her way to uni (: Pretty excited.

I am so glad you have come back to reading this story. As always, I am touched and moved by your emotional reviews. I seriously cannot even believe that you have read this story again - that in itself takes my breath away!
The sad ending was a bummer ): It appears you're one of the only people who foresaw it, which amazes me! But, I think you might be surprised at what the next chapter has in stall. I felt that this story had been lacking all the way to the end, so I've drama-packed the next two chapters. It's a shame, because I can see I have lost a lot of readers, but at the same time I have also gained some new ones. In all honesty, though, I am so happy to get this story over and done with... It's about time, too :P
I'm glad you liked Ginny. I think you're going to enjoy the next chapter. I put a lot of thought into where I think Ginny should stand, and in the end I concluded that though she is a very family-oriented person, she is also moulded on friendship and loyalty. And it is obvious to me throughout the books, that she loves Hermione like a sister.
It will be up this week, sis (: Keep those eyes peeled!
With all my love and so much more,
May xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jacqueline NoirRoses grow at Malfoy Manor: The salvation of an old enemy

24th September 2010:
Amazing story you have here, darling! I love it even though it's very dramatic. And the banner is very appropriate; at least every time when I look into that girl's eyes I feel Rose Weasley looking back at me.

I can't wait for the next chapter, keep up the good work!

Yes, I'm hooked. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I am really glad you like it and thank you so much for taking the time to read and review--it means a lot to me.

I have to agree with you on the banner...when I saw that little girl i saw Rose Weasley!

I will write and update as soon as possible and I'm looking forward to reading your opinion about how the story will develop.

Merope :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jacqueline NoirRoses grow at Malfoy Manor: The Roses of a stranger

8th September 2010:
I see potential in this story.

First of all I really love the title, it's a very catchy one, but you shouldn't reveal so much of the plot in the summary. Then it's extremely sad ( I almost felt like crying at points).

Other thing that I don't understand is Hermione's pregnancy: how would she and Draco fall for each other with her pregnant: it just seem... wrong.

But kudos for Hugo: he is truly adorable, and Rose it's one of the most interesting kid-character that I have ever read about so far, so congratulations!

I am truly curious to see how this develops.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review--it means a lot to me. I'm really glad you like the title, as it took me a while to figure it out.

I know I revealed quite a bit in the summary, but the story will have quite a lot of turning points so I hope that will make up for it.

Hermione being pregnant...I thought it was a good way of making the plot more complicated and interesting. As for Draco...I've read many books where guys were prepared to accept another man's child for the woman they loved, but it's not clear yet whether Hermione and Draco will really fall for each other. Maybe Draco will resist the chemistry, or maybe not. That will be revealed along later chapters.

I am really thrilled you like Rose and Hugo, as I do love writing about them. They're such interesting characters and J.K.Rowling has allowed so much freedom by not building up their characters that it's almost irresistible not to write about them. But I'm really glad you like Rose and I am flattered by the compliment.

I am looking forward to read your opinions of future chapters and once again, thank you very much for your time.

Merope :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jacqueline NoirBroken: Send in the Clowns

4th September 2010:
I want more!:)

This is a ridiculously short chapter, I'm telling you.

Author's Response: hahahaa
chapter 3 is on its way xD
thanks darling!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jacqueline NoirGolden Rules: Rule Number 5: Donít Stalk Your Boss

25th August 2010:
Ah, there it is... one of those very innovative stories that have incredible potential but few reviews. But this is about to change.

I am glad to have come across this. I understand that some people might feel uncomfortable with the whole slash issue but to me, it's all the more seductive. Because if I were to describe this story into one word that would be seductive.

The Dramione you placed here fits perfectly, Amanda's character is believable and sweet and Hermione is... a little bit too stressed but canon-ish in the same time.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: *SQUEEE*
Incredible potential? LOL You make me blush!
Thanks for reading this story and leaving such an encouraging review! You just made my day! :D :D :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jacqueline NoirBroken: (un)happy birthday

25th August 2010:
I am quite uncertain what to make of this... While it is, without a doubt, an amazing start I can't help but wonder if you'd really go all the way with this story and finish it or if you'll leave us waiting after two or three chapters.:)

I love it. I am simply in love with Rose's character so far and it's nice to see that someone has finally delved on Hugo's personality. I am not particularly fond of your Hermione but I'll have to wait and see more.

Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: hahaha yes i will be finishing this one xD i know i left a few hanging last year...i was busy having my baby, lol, but he's older now and i have more time for writing, so yes, i promise not to leave you waiting ^_^

im glad you're liking it so far, esp Rose and Hugo. Hermione...ive never written her as a parent before, esp not a parent of adult children, so im not sure where she is headed yet.

thanks hun
its great to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jacqueline NoirGraduation: Graduation

15th August 2010:
Absolutely heartbreakingly and absolutely beautiful. I can not write more, because you know I desperately wanted a happy end.

Gorgeous, dear!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Melody

12th July 2010:
Well, there it goes...
Given your background I expected this story to have a sad ending, even from the very beginning. But 1% of me hoped they would end up together.
I knew Hugo was Draco's child, and I am absolutely, completely, desperately craving for sequel. Can I beg? Yes, I'm serious. You know I adored this, and one reader doesn't make for all the reviews, doesn't switch up your plans, but this one reader feels there's so much more to this...
Because Oh, there's not only a sad ending, but an open ending too.
It was absolutely breathtaking when you described the rush of emotions that had taken over Hermione when she was imagining herself running back to him - there was love over lust in this story, they had love.
You went on that road. True love never dies, it causes disasters yes, but in the end, can those two people truly live... apart? Can they be human without what defines them?
Hugo is Draco's child. Hermione had one part of him left. But what about Draco. What does he have left...
I knew they spared a lot of hearts- about to be broken if their relationship would have ever came out, but... love in the darkness? Oh, Jesus, please write at least a continuation where Draco learns Hugo is his. Because I know he is his, no matter how many twists and turns you've put to this.
And the promotion of Hermione- that was a good point made. It was just the natural step to take... Ah, this is so typical for Hermione, you've written her so amazingly believable and so close to character. She has here that fragile essence we almost NEVER get to see in the book. The version of the grown-up Hermione.
Draco, Draco, Draco...
You never make it easy, do you?
I am smiling while writing this. That sad smile coming from an author who understands your reason, but craves for a little bit of happiness to this.
This was a heartfelt review. This was one of the best stories I have ever came across-fanfiction or not- and certainly the most believable.
Congratulations, amazing author!

Faithful reader and reviewer,
Jacqueline

Author's Response: Finally, I have the time to answer one your amazing reviews! First, let me apologize for neglecting all the other ones - I enjoyed reading them immensely.

I was so happy you liked the ending. I have to admit, I was quite apprehensive with people's responses - I foresaw "mrdarcy never gives a happy ending" - but I am so keen on canon that I just couldn't let myself give everyone a happy ending... And somehow, I think this ending is a little more moral than letting them be together: ultimately, they have to live with their own guilt and their own separation. It would be too easy to put them together.

Personally, I think Draco is steadfast in his belief that Hugo is his son. He won't cause any trouble claiming it, because he suspects that a broken home is not what Hugo needs, and definitely not what Hermione wants for him. In that respect, Draco is very helpless.

Hermione's promotion was sort of a natural conclusion for her... It was what she was reaching for all through the story, what she was complaining about to Ron, why she didn't want Hugo in the first place. And now she's got it, I think she sort of realizes - "Where do I go from here? It hasn't really helped at all." So her affair wasn't just a need for spontaneity after all, but something much more real and founded in love... which she sadly discovered too late. When she sees Draco in the epilogue, she can't take a step towards to him, because it really is too late.

Sequel? I'm so flattered you want one! I think "A Previous Life", in many ways, drained me of my will to make sequels. I really liked writing about the continuation of characters in "A Previous Life", but I drew it out way too long - I lost the essence of the story earlier on. I don't think I have enough material for a proper sequel here... But I wouldn't mind a oneshot from Draco's point of view, definitely involving Hugo. But Draco and Hermione - I think their story has run its natural course. You've given me something to think about there!

Thank you so much for your support and amazing reviews all the way through - your reviews are something I always enjoy reading and look forward to after every submission. Thanks, thanks, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Deception

16th June 2010:
I can't believe this is really ending. This is my favorite HPFF story and I will sure be reading it again and again.

This chapter was... a little more than I had been bargaining for. A roller-coaster of emotions, and then it was absolutely endearing, but heartbreakingly nonetheless to see the way Draco loved Hermione, to actually feel Hermione's guilt. And the New Year's scene was... amazing as always.

Keep up the amazing work!

With admiration,
Jacqueline!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jacqueline NoirFake Plastic Trees: Home Again

29th May 2010:
I'm liking this so far. Intriguing! Hope you'll be able to update soon. :)

Author's Response: so i got a little off track on writing due to a quick vacation to the Big Easy. but im back on track now! updates coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Wedding

9th April 2010:
Oh, my God, oh, my God! Absolutely fantastic. I was ecstatic reading the last part. Perfect, dear! I know I've said it a dozen times before, but you have an amazing gift: everything you write it's so believable, it keeps us at the edge of our seat. I come back on the site daily to see if you have updated this. Oh, please make it long enough. You are a source of inspiration for all of us.

I loved this from the beginning to the end. The teenager like behavior from the two lovers, Hermione in red, the wedding, the fight. I could not believe Draco's reaction at first, and I read the last part breathlessly. And the final line... he fell for her then, didn't he?

Oh, and the fact that this chapter only reffers to the past.. brilliant move!

With admiration,
Jacqueline

 Report Review

Review #15, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Lie

1st March 2010:
Absolutely intoxicating. I wish this stiry would never end, I wish I could keep reading this until I get old enough to barely see.
You are brilliant and you do break my heart.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jacqueline NoirAccording to You: Black Rose

24th December 2009:
Interesting start! I am curious to see what happens next.

Author's Response:
cheers hopefully you won't have to wait to long


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Power

11th December 2009:
God, I missed this! I loved every line. I knew, just knew that Hermione was going to be in labor sooner than expected it, but still... 5 months of not seeing Draco? I can't wait for the next chapter, you really made my week.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Flame

29th October 2009:
The drama gets me addicted. Such well-defined characters... I simply need more.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jacqueline NoirArdour: star of your dreams

17th October 2009:
Exquisite! That was incredibly well written, and I enjoyed every moment.

Author's Response: ahh thank you my darling!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Jacqueline NoirLies: Chapter 22

1st August 2009:
I have no words to explain how happy I am you finally updated. I assure you it was an incredible chapter, but please don't keep us expecting this long.

Author's Response: I know! :( I'm sorry for the long wait. THe next chapter will not take as long, in fact I'm going to work on it when I finish responding to reviews! Rejoice! :)

Thanks for reviewing Jacque! CHeck back soon for 23!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jacqueline NoirNo One Fathomed: The Real Upper East Side

28th July 2009:
A truly incredible chapter. Please don't let us wait for so long. And I'm so glad for the flashbacks... I was just thinking about leaving a review to ask you to tell more about Draco and Hermione's background, but then I got to the scene from Beauxbatons... And I love the way you describe the two girls and their relationship with both their parents.
Please update as soon as possible.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jacqueline NoirDon't Break My Heart: The Beginning

13th July 2009:
Very sweet. I really enjoyed reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you like the rest ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jacqueline NoirWinner Takes All: Why Should I Complain?

17th June 2009:
Now, this is interesting! I can't wait for the next chapter, for your characters are one of a kind.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! *blushes* It's wonderful that you think the characters so unique. Perhaps it's because I haven't read enough Next-Gen stories to be influenced by fanon. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Care

11th June 2009:
Heartbreakingly beautiful as always! it's like every time I try to sit down and write a long, smart review, my fingers come stuck, and my mind can't form any coherent words. This is so exquisite, and one of the best fanfictions I have ever read. Just a little thing though, I am was a little more surprised by Draco's calm response at finding the news.

But Hermione's reaction, although a little bit rough from the perspective of readers who saw her as a goody two-shoes, was brilliantly written! And the flashbacks are more than enjoyable to read. Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Breathe

26th May 2009:
Perfect, simply perfect from the beginning to the end!I loved to watch them on their meeting and I simply adored the flashback, especially the last part. It shows them exactly as they are: humans with feelings. This makes me go through a lot of emotions, but when I try to write you a review, I always end up wordless.
Fantastic dear, best chapter so far!

Author's Response: I'm really so happy you liked it! Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>