Reading Reviews From Member: Jacqueline Noir
  
204 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Visiting Hours

28th July 2016:
I was so happy to see you've updated! Seriously, I'm in such a hype when I see authors that I like updating fast! 10/10 for delivering! :)

It was a very well written chapter. I liked that we get to see a bit of background about Draco and oh, he finally acknowledges his feelings for Hermione! Yay!

I, for once, am hoping for a lovely kiss between them. I know, I know, everything has a pace, but it's a lovely story!

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm sure you will love the next chapter then;) don't worry it is already in the validating queue should be up tomorrow if it goes fast! I'm glad you enjoyed this look into Draco's feelings and life. As always I look forward to your reviews. I know you feel like it's going by slowly but to me it's going by so fast, I don't want the last chapter to come!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Bubbles

24th July 2016:
“Draco?” her voice called from the kitchen.

“No, it’s You-Know-Who back from the grave.”

I laughed, I must admit. This was a sweet chapter and I enjoyed the growing intimacy. Plus, the whole "teach an old dog new tricks" scenario. I am eager to see how things progress.

Author's Response: I'm glad you laughed I will also admit that I laughed to myself a lot while writing this chapter. Cant wait to hear your thoughts on the next one, always eager to read your reviews.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jacqueline NoirThe Shadow and the Soul: Prologue

18th July 2016:
I had to go back to this because I see this story has been updated but I can't see a new chapter. So I'm holding my breath when I say it pop up in the new Dramione stories list and then I feel like I've lost something when I don't see a new chapter. So this is me asking when is a new chapter coming because I truly enjoy this story and I cherish every word. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Contractions

12th July 2016:
Now this was interesting... I'm really, really curious how their relationship will change once the baby comes. I enjoyed this tremendously.

Author's Response: Fastest time between reviews ever! You are my favorite. I'm so happy you enjoyed this, once I edit the next chapter after work it will be off to join the waiting queue!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Bulgarian Binds

12th July 2016:
That was a chill little chapter. I think of the merits of this story it's that it brings into focus the post battle period, which very few fanfictions seems to talk about. I enjoyed the calm and the gentle teasing between former enemies and it will be interesting to see how this plays out.

I can't believe how fast you update: yay!

Author's Response: Thank you I was looking forward to your review as always:) I hope you enjoy the next two chapters, finally getting to the turning point of them finally spending time together!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Cheers

7th July 2016:
Aaarrgh, I always think your chapters are too short. But I'm not being objective, I know. :) It's just that somehow, to me, it feels like you cut the chapter right before something good is about to happen. I think it would bring more to the story if you'd manage to sew together more details. As in here, I would have envisioned more than just this one scene about the New Year's Eve.

I really enjoyed this one. I believe in the potential of this story and I'm happy to see that you update so fast!

Until the next time. :)

Author's Response: I promise they will spend more time together soon:) I just always envisioned their relationship with one another to happen over a longer period of time instead of all at once. I am only planning this story to be about 15 chapters long so don't go wishing it away now;) thank you for always leaving a review your feedback makes my day. As usual the next chapter is already in the waiting process! Check back tomorrow:)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Confrontations

6th July 2016:
An interesting chapter yet again. I would have loved it to be a bit longer though. I felt that the conversation between Draco and Hermione was a bit too short (yes, I know he was running late), but perhaps they need a chance for more interaction?

But I do like the way you've portrayed them both and I am eager to read the next chapter? When will it be published?

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: The next chapter is waiting to be validated! Hopefully it swill be up later today or tomorrow. I know the interaction was brief but don't you worry there will be quite a bit more interaction coming soon:)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jacqueline NoirBaby Steps: Fuzzy Blankets

3rd July 2016:
This is a very good start, I'm very curious to rea d more! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: More chapters coming soon once I get a chance to edit them:) thank you for the nice review:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jacqueline NoirTeeth Sinking Into Heart: Part I

16th June 2016:
This is so good! I'm very happy you decided to write a new story! I like the build-up very much and I am very curious to see how this will progress. Honestly, every chapter of yours seems a tad bit too short!

Can't wait for the next installment!

Author's Response: Thanks for another lovely review! XD Usually they're more than 5k! Admittedly this is a shorter piece... I just couldn't commit to anything bigger, and it's always a challenge for me to rein things in a bit. I hope you like the next part :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jacqueline NoirThe Shadow and the Soul: The Lies That Bind

16th June 2016:
Tantalizing chapter! I'd usually be a bit annoyed at how "slow" things develop, but it's such a well constructed pace that I can't help but enjoy every line. I do wait for them to kiss at least, but I realize it's going to take a while. After every chapter I have the urge to go back and reread Prey for the umpteenth time. :)

I liked the interaction between Lucius and Hermione (of course he wouldn't have said more) and the bit at the ending. I liked everything, really.

One little thing though: I don't know how canon you want to kept it but I believe it was forbidden to enter into Azkabam with your wand.

Very good work, as usual, I am eagerly waiting for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! In terms of Azkaban, while it wasn't specifically addressed in the chapter, the prison has changed dramatically, and Hermione is there in a ministerial capacity so (in my vision of the way it works now) she's able to be armed.

I think you'll enjoy the next phase of the story, as everything is going to start ramping up quite a bit from this point on. I'm delighted you've been enjoying their adventure so far and really appreciate all the feedback, it makes my day!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jacqueline NoirThe Shadow and the Soul: A Hall of Ghosts and Shadows

15th May 2016:
You do something to the English language that makes it seem almost magical, as if I could taste it on my tongue. I find myself rereading entire passages, marveling at the sheer exquisiteness of the words. Reading your stories is a treat.

I've been waiting so long for an update that you cannot imagine how happy you've made me this Sunday. Prey is one of my favorite fanfiction stories ever and the sequel feels like a grown-up version. I know that a lot of my favorite authors have given up writing fanfiction (I was an avid reader in high school and that seems like millenniums ago) but I come back to this website from time to time hoping that at least some of them could not really forget just how magical their stories were. And just how happy they made some of us.

So when I saw you are still around - posting new stories and updating the old ones - it made me think that some of will always come back to this magical place, where everything is possible and where our dearest characters never really disappear despite the changes in your lives.

So thank you for not giving this up. You will always have a faithful reader in me.

Author's Response: I've read this review a few times, and I cannot tell you quite how much your lovely words resonated. A lot of the old guard have left... and indeed I had as well for the most part. But it was such a huge part of my life, my writing life, that a part of me always wanted to come back to it. My writing, and my confidence in it, has been a constantly redeveloping thing and these stories and the wonderful feedback from readers has shaped that in so many ways.

I'm so happy that you decided to keep the faith, to continue checking, and I hope you're rewarded with what is to come and that you continue to enjoy it. I'm very fortunate in the readers I've had, and I appreciate you taking the time to let me know your thoughts.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jacqueline NoirWinner Takes All: Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

1st July 2011:
My dear, amazing writer,

First of all I must say that I feel like a complete ungrateful reader for not commenting on every chapter from this masterpiece. I do hope to go back and redeem this. :)

Secondly, I must say that this is one of a kind piece of art. I have read so few-oh, so few! stories - that transmit this rare emotion. Authentic, hypnotizing at some points, heart wrenching.

I loved how you wrote this, the flow of it: always ascendant or descendant, never dull. You captured our hearts and carried them through a tunnel of emotions where we indulged ourselves in the dark without ever wanting to see the light at the end.

It was beautiful. Extremely beautiful and soul filling just as art should be. Your Rose was the best character I have ever encountered on this site: she was authentic, alive, she with an identity entirely of her own. I must ask you if there is someone in real life that inspired her. :)

Scorpius... how majestically. What a real "bad for your heart" young man. He seemed so real that, at some points it felt like if I would raise my eyes from the monitor and look in front of me he would stand there.

Teddy... such a sweet emotion he emitted. The good guy that always saves us from the bad guy. The one we are destined to be with when the fascination is gone and we come back to our senses. When we have been burnt enough to appreciate the sweet rain. Made me want a Teddy. Without the blue hair, of course. :)

All in all I must say that I dearly wish to read an one-shot that depicts that letter. Can you, oh please, write an one-shot with the content of the said letter. I'm dying to know and I know you can write it. I know the words are already in your head and you are smiling knowing what none of us, readers, know.

Fantastic, my dear. Write more of such amazing works!

PS: let me know when you publish a book. I want to order it.

Author's Response: This review has had me floored ever since I first saw it. It brought tears to my eyes, and still does when I reread it. Thank you, thank you for leaving it, as hearing such compliments doesn't only boost my confidence, but they're also very inspiring - I don't know how else to say it, other than that I greatly appreciate your review and the comments it contains. This one review is worth 10 (if not more). ^_^

As for your question regarding Rose, I can't say whether someone specific inspired her, I just wanted her to be real, an awkward girl of 21 (or thereabouts) who is trying to find herself in the world, and struggling at it. She's not me (though there are some unavoidable similarities :P) - that much I do know.

I'm very glad to hear that Scorpius was realistic as well - I worried many times that he was too stereotypical-villain-like in manner, and I wish that I could have drawn out more humanity from him - it's there, but just barely hinted at throughout. The story is always focused on Rose, which takes away from other characters to a certain degree.

I'm afraid that I don't know what Scorpius said in the letter - I'm too distant from his thought process, and so I left the letter out completely so that I wouldn't have to get any closer to Scorpius. Whatever he said, very little of it would be genuine, and the rest would never satisfy, not Rose, not readers, and certainly not me. I'm sorry about that - you can fill in the blanks however way you'd like. ;) (You'd write a much better one than me, anyhow).

Thank you again for this wonderful review. It means so much to hear such appreciation for my work. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jacqueline NoirFoul Play: Of Banshees and Scrofungulus

13th February 2011:
Hey, dear, this is turning into a very good story. It really amuses me and I love the title. Lola and James are both very good characters. I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I spend a lot of time developing my characters -- some would probably argue too much time, actually -- so it really warms my heart to hear that they're good ones. And knowing that my humor is translatable is really appreciated, too. XD

I'll try to update as soon as I can! Academics be damned. *grins* Thank you so much for the review and the compliments! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jacqueline NoirNot Once, Not Ever: Epilogue

19th January 2011:
pt mahalia

It's OK if I cry now?

That was such a beautiful ending and so beautifully written... How to find the right words at the end of this? It's so much more that I want to say and yet the words won't come our right.

So I'm just saying this was wonderful and I hope you understand.

This one was a masterpiece that made me believe again in all the beautiful things. Thank you for everything you gave to us, your readers.

Your truly,
Jacqueline

Author's Response: No, Miss Jacqueline, I forbid you to cry! ): Unfortunately, though, it was a sad ending, and I was so sad it was all over - but God, it only took me three years! Haha.
And I do understand. You have been the most wonderful friend throughout this story. I still remember your first reviews, which helped me out a lot, and now they end in this, and I'm a tad sad about it ): I am so glad I met you though (:
And this review! It just left me breathless reading it again! I didnt think masterpiece would ever be used for any story of mine, so I'm so flattered. Thank you thank you thank you!
Many hugs,
May xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jacqueline NoirNot Once, Not Ever: Honesty

18th January 2011:
No, no, no!

My dear, I re-read this whole story again. Of course your story gives me a feeling that I don't get from anywhere else. That I'm bringing to life a part of me made of the rawest and most fragile emotions. There's such a sensibility in it, that I can't help but be amazed by your writing style.

I loved to pieces each paragraph of it, and I'm sure that in a few months or so I'll be reading this again.

I foresaw the sad ending, and not even when some things seemed to indicate a happy one I did not want to believe. Too much had happened and sometimes you have to deserve that happiness... But I would have loved them together so much...

And then congrats for the character of Ginny. I've never read her like this before and to see her supporting Hermione... that's something.

I can't wait for the final of this amazing story!

Love,
Lynn!

Author's Response: My love!!! Only today I read your email, and I was so touched by it! I am so sorry it has taken me this long to get around it - but I have good news! Your little Mahalia has moved out of home and is on her way to uni (: Pretty excited.

I am so glad you have come back to reading this story. As always, I am touched and moved by your emotional reviews. I seriously cannot even believe that you have read this story again - that in itself takes my breath away!
The sad ending was a bummer ): It appears you're one of the only people who foresaw it, which amazes me! But, I think you might be surprised at what the next chapter has in stall. I felt that this story had been lacking all the way to the end, so I've drama-packed the next two chapters. It's a shame, because I can see I have lost a lot of readers, but at the same time I have also gained some new ones. In all honesty, though, I am so happy to get this story over and done with... It's about time, too :P
I'm glad you liked Ginny. I think you're going to enjoy the next chapter. I put a lot of thought into where I think Ginny should stand, and in the end I concluded that though she is a very family-oriented person, she is also moulded on friendship and loyalty. And it is obvious to me throughout the books, that she loves Hermione like a sister.
It will be up this week, sis (: Keep those eyes peeled!
With all my love and so much more,
May xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jacqueline NoirRoses grow at Malfoy Manor: The salvation of an old enemy

24th September 2010:
Amazing story you have here, darling! I love it even though it's very dramatic. And the banner is very appropriate; at least every time when I look into that girl's eyes I feel Rose Weasley looking back at me.

I can't wait for the next chapter, keep up the good work!

Yes, I'm hooked. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I am really glad you like it and thank you so much for taking the time to read and review--it means a lot to me.

I have to agree with you on the banner...when I saw that little girl i saw Rose Weasley!

I will write and update as soon as possible and I'm looking forward to reading your opinion about how the story will develop.

Merope :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jacqueline NoirRoses grow at Malfoy Manor: The Roses of a stranger

8th September 2010:
I see potential in this story.

First of all I really love the title, it's a very catchy one, but you shouldn't reveal so much of the plot in the summary. Then it's extremely sad ( I almost felt like crying at points).

Other thing that I don't understand is Hermione's pregnancy: how would she and Draco fall for each other with her pregnant: it just seem... wrong.

But kudos for Hugo: he is truly adorable, and Rose it's one of the most interesting kid-character that I have ever read about so far, so congratulations!

I am truly curious to see how this develops.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review--it means a lot to me. I'm really glad you like the title, as it took me a while to figure it out.

I know I revealed quite a bit in the summary, but the story will have quite a lot of turning points so I hope that will make up for it.

Hermione being pregnant...I thought it was a good way of making the plot more complicated and interesting. As for Draco...I've read many books where guys were prepared to accept another man's child for the woman they loved, but it's not clear yet whether Hermione and Draco will really fall for each other. Maybe Draco will resist the chemistry, or maybe not. That will be revealed along later chapters.

I am really thrilled you like Rose and Hugo, as I do love writing about them. They're such interesting characters and J.K.Rowling has allowed so much freedom by not building up their characters that it's almost irresistible not to write about them. But I'm really glad you like Rose and I am flattered by the compliment.

I am looking forward to read your opinions of future chapters and once again, thank you very much for your time.

Merope :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jacqueline NoirBroken: Send in the Clowns

4th September 2010:
I want more!:)

This is a ridiculously short chapter, I'm telling you.

Author's Response: hahahaa
chapter 3 is on its way xD
thanks darling!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jacqueline NoirGolden Rules: Rule Number 5: Don’t Stalk Your Boss

25th August 2010:
Ah, there it is... one of those very innovative stories that have incredible potential but few reviews. But this is about to change.

I am glad to have come across this. I understand that some people might feel uncomfortable with the whole slash issue but to me, it's all the more seductive. Because if I were to describe this story into one word that would be seductive.

The Dramione you placed here fits perfectly, Amanda's character is believable and sweet and Hermione is... a little bit too stressed but canon-ish in the same time.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: *SQUEEE*
Incredible potential? LOL You make me blush!
Thanks for reading this story and leaving such an encouraging review! You just made my day! :D :D :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jacqueline NoirBroken: (un)happy birthday

25th August 2010:
I am quite uncertain what to make of this... While it is, without a doubt, an amazing start I can't help but wonder if you'd really go all the way with this story and finish it or if you'll leave us waiting after two or three chapters.:)

I love it. I am simply in love with Rose's character so far and it's nice to see that someone has finally delved on Hugo's personality. I am not particularly fond of your Hermione but I'll have to wait and see more.

Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: hahaha yes i will be finishing this one xD i know i left a few hanging last year...i was busy having my baby, lol, but he's older now and i have more time for writing, so yes, i promise not to leave you waiting ^_^

im glad you're liking it so far, esp Rose and Hugo. Hermione...ive never written her as a parent before, esp not a parent of adult children, so im not sure where she is headed yet.

thanks hun
its great to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jacqueline NoirGraduation: Graduation

15th August 2010:
Absolutely heartbreakingly and absolutely beautiful. I can not write more, because you know I desperately wanted a happy end.

Gorgeous, dear!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Melody

12th July 2010:
Well, there it goes...
Given your background I expected this story to have a sad ending, even from the very beginning. But 1% of me hoped they would end up together.
I knew Hugo was Draco's child, and I am absolutely, completely, desperately craving for sequel. Can I beg? Yes, I'm serious. You know I adored this, and one reader doesn't make for all the reviews, doesn't switch up your plans, but this one reader feels there's so much more to this...
Because Oh, there's not only a sad ending, but an open ending too.
It was absolutely breathtaking when you described the rush of emotions that had taken over Hermione when she was imagining herself running back to him - there was love over lust in this story, they had love.
You went on that road. True love never dies, it causes disasters yes, but in the end, can those two people truly live... apart? Can they be human without what defines them?
Hugo is Draco's child. Hermione had one part of him left. But what about Draco. What does he have left...
I knew they spared a lot of hearts- about to be broken if their relationship would have ever came out, but... love in the darkness? Oh, Jesus, please write at least a continuation where Draco learns Hugo is his. Because I know he is his, no matter how many twists and turns you've put to this.
And the promotion of Hermione- that was a good point made. It was just the natural step to take... Ah, this is so typical for Hermione, you've written her so amazingly believable and so close to character. She has here that fragile essence we almost NEVER get to see in the book. The version of the grown-up Hermione.
Draco, Draco, Draco...
You never make it easy, do you?
I am smiling while writing this. That sad smile coming from an author who understands your reason, but craves for a little bit of happiness to this.
This was a heartfelt review. This was one of the best stories I have ever came across-fanfiction or not- and certainly the most believable.
Congratulations, amazing author!

Faithful reader and reviewer,
Jacqueline

Author's Response: Finally, I have the time to answer one your amazing reviews! First, let me apologize for neglecting all the other ones - I enjoyed reading them immensely.

I was so happy you liked the ending. I have to admit, I was quite apprehensive with people's responses - I foresaw "mrdarcy never gives a happy ending" - but I am so keen on canon that I just couldn't let myself give everyone a happy ending... And somehow, I think this ending is a little more moral than letting them be together: ultimately, they have to live with their own guilt and their own separation. It would be too easy to put them together.

Personally, I think Draco is steadfast in his belief that Hugo is his son. He won't cause any trouble claiming it, because he suspects that a broken home is not what Hugo needs, and definitely not what Hermione wants for him. In that respect, Draco is very helpless.

Hermione's promotion was sort of a natural conclusion for her... It was what she was reaching for all through the story, what she was complaining about to Ron, why she didn't want Hugo in the first place. And now she's got it, I think she sort of realizes - "Where do I go from here? It hasn't really helped at all." So her affair wasn't just a need for spontaneity after all, but something much more real and founded in love... which she sadly discovered too late. When she sees Draco in the epilogue, she can't take a step towards to him, because it really is too late.

Sequel? I'm so flattered you want one! I think "A Previous Life", in many ways, drained me of my will to make sequels. I really liked writing about the continuation of characters in "A Previous Life", but I drew it out way too long - I lost the essence of the story earlier on. I don't think I have enough material for a proper sequel here... But I wouldn't mind a oneshot from Draco's point of view, definitely involving Hugo. But Draco and Hermione - I think their story has run its natural course. You've given me something to think about there!

Thank you so much for your support and amazing reviews all the way through - your reviews are something I always enjoy reading and look forward to after every submission. Thanks, thanks, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Deception

16th June 2010:
I can't believe this is really ending. This is my favorite HPFF story and I will sure be reading it again and again.

This chapter was... a little more than I had been bargaining for. A roller-coaster of emotions, and then it was absolutely endearing, but heartbreakingly nonetheless to see the way Draco loved Hermione, to actually feel Hermione's guilt. And the New Year's scene was... amazing as always.

Keep up the amazing work!

With admiration,
Jacqueline!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jacqueline NoirFake Plastic Trees: Home Again

29th May 2010:
I'm liking this so far. Intriguing! Hope you'll be able to update soon. :)

Author's Response: so i got a little off track on writing due to a quick vacation to the Big Easy. but im back on track now! updates coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jacqueline NoirCrimes of Passion: Wedding

9th April 2010:
Oh, my God, oh, my God! Absolutely fantastic. I was ecstatic reading the last part. Perfect, dear! I know I've said it a dozen times before, but you have an amazing gift: everything you write it's so believable, it keeps us at the edge of our seat. I come back on the site daily to see if you have updated this. Oh, please make it long enough. You are a source of inspiration for all of us.

I loved this from the beginning to the end. The teenager like behavior from the two lovers, Hermione in red, the wedding, the fight. I could not believe Draco's reaction at first, and I read the last part breathlessly. And the final line... he fell for her then, didn't he?

Oh, and the fact that this chapter only reffers to the past.. brilliant move!

With admiration,
Jacqueline

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>