Reading Reviews From Member: Ginny45
  
319 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ginny45This Christmas: This Christmas

10th September 2012:
Hey! Tag you're it :P Not really review tag doesn't work that way but oh well.

I love Lily and James and I have read an absurd amount of fanfiction based on them. For me, this story was lovely. It outlined why they needed each other a lot more that most Lily/James stories which just point out the love/hate part. I don't think they hated each other as much as people seem to suggest, they had their moments.

I think this is a really unique way of getting them together as well. Not the normal shoving in a broom cupboard story, although there is something addicting about those.

The only thing that bothered me is she calls him James a lot. Not that her using his name is the problem, it just doesn't feel like natural dialogue.

"Voldemort has to be stopped and I will lay my life down before joining his crew or allowing them to live." James announced as he stopped in his place, looking at me. I really loved this, personally I think you captured James in that one section. It still showed them misunderstanding each other without them screaming at each other. It was very nicely done.
All in all, a really good Lily/James story.

Emma

Author's Response: I'm so glad that that one part really caught your attention and made you still see them not understanding each other but not yelling at each other. this was written as a christmas present last year and I'm so glad that so many people are really enjoying it! I'm glad that you felt it was an original way to get them together and not something that is seen a lot. Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny45Task One Challenge - Illusoire: Illusoire

3rd September 2012:
Hey!
The first paragraph is lovely. The image that is provides is amazing and every reader understands how annoying a ticking clock can be. With founders I think it is quite important to give the reader something small to start the connection. So excellently done.

You showed the personal struggle she is having really well. Torn between two people is such a popular plot but I really love the way you have done it.

The little bits of description you give make sure the reader still has an idea of where they are. Like her winter boots sinking into the snow. It is so simple, yet it conjures an an entire image into my head.

Emma

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for reviewing. I’m glad you thought the first paragraph was lovely as I had no idea how to begin seeing I never wrote a story based in the founder era before so I needed something I could connect with before getting into it. It’s nice the same apparently goes for the readers.

Thank you! I hope you enjoyed it and once again thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny45Diamonds into Coal: Erised

27th August 2012:
After reading your one shot, I promised myself I would read more and I am very glad I did. I was going to start from the oldest to the newest but I couldn't resist this story. I have an addiction to Historically based fictions.

This was sublime. The characterisations, the writing, the parallels with the canon series and of course the imagery. It all fits so well together and it comes across as extremely eloquent. Which when it comes to writing about past events, I really love.

Even though I am happy that this is a prologue because I do yearn to read more but this is such a perfect chapter on its own. If this was a one shot I would have been fulfilled but like I said, glad it isn't.

That last sentence, pretty sure something that amazing should be illegal. I want to steal it away and have it written somewhere I can always see it.

I also like how you have given hints of a happier time and that it went sour. Sort of foreshadowing for the rest of the story. Sometimes it can be strange and can ruin a story but I feel that this gives just enough away that I want to read the rest. Which I think I will go do now.

Emma

Author's Response: Hi Emma! Thanks for stopping by again! (Oh, thank goodness you started from the top! My older pieces are not, in my view, my best work.)

'Sublime' seems like a very generous superlative, but I'll take it! Thanks :) I'm glad the piece feels eloquent and that you felt like this prologue possessed a beauty of its own. I'm always a little concerned with this one that all of the detail will weigh it down too much, but if not, that's great to hear!

It's definitely a foreshadowing. We all know how the story ends, assuming an adherence to canon, but I'm having a blast trying to untangle the rest and find where it went wrong. I'm happy that you want to read on!

Thanks so much for this lovely review, and I look forward to getting more of your feedback as you get further into the main plot :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginny45Perfectly Broken: Nothing but.

25th August 2012:
Hi!
I was just reading that sentence I pointed out in the last review and don't change it. I think I read it wrong the first time around, it made perfect sense.

I enjoyed this just as much as the first. I really like her character, she isn't sugar-coated but she isn't as awful as everyone seems to think she is.
A few moments in this had me giggling a bit like her blowing up Susan's face.

I spotted a few mistakes here and there, nothing a read over wouldn't solve and failing that you could always get a beta over at the forums, they are really helpful.

I am really looking forward to seeing the repercussions of her actions and how she deals with everything that is being thrown at her. I have so many questions but I shall wait for further chapters!

Emma :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ginny45Perfectly Broken: Wrong bed.

25th August 2012:
Hi!
This is really interesting. I have read my fair share of Sirius/OC stories and they are all either from his pov and there is a real lack of emotion or it is from her pov and she thinks that she is the one. He will stop looking at other girls for her and they will live happily ever after. Not that there is anything wrong with those but this is refreshing.

You said that English isn't your first language but I didn't notice that when I was reading it. In fact the structure of your sentences is excellent. There are a few sentences like this one:
"Sirius smiled down at me before lowering his head and started kissing my neck, feather light kisses, barely touching my skin."
I don't think that started is necessary for the sentence. It flows nicely without it.

Your characterisation is gorgeous. The internal argument is perfectly done in my opinion and is truly believable. I am really looking forward to the rest and I think I will go read that second chapter now. :)

Emma

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ginny45Flames of Calamity: Brave.

25th August 2012:
Hi!
I really loved this. When I first read the prompts, I had no idea how you were going to get them all in but you did it and it didn't seem forced.

I just spotted the one little mistake:
"she began welcoming them bravery as they approached her"
I assume that was meant to be bravely.

I really love the voice you gave her, she was real and honest. I always love reading things like this because war isn't all about heroic acts. I love the little moment between Zach and Susan. It really shows a distinction between the two sides for me, it is unlikely that a deatheater would have stopped and helped a fellow deatheater into the fight in that way. It just emphasises, for me, the difference between good and evil within the story.

Your first sentence immediately hooked me in and your writing and pace didn't falter the whole way through the story.
I am really glad I got to read this! Have a nice day :)
Emma

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ginny45Welcome to Blunderland: { introduction }

24th August 2012:
I really enjoyed this!
I am quite glad I decided to stalk the recently updated/added list. Will definitely be reading the rest when I get more time.

I really like your characterisations of everyone so far. I know there isn't much in the first chapter but it is going good.

The title is really smart and I am excited to see this love triangle! I have read a lot of them but I am sure this one will end up on my love list.

Emma

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm glad you like it so far - haha, the dreaded love triangle! It's such an overused plot device but I love it so much and wanted to try my hands at writing it.

thank you for reviewing and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ginny45Issues of Epistemic Modality : Oxford Commas

22nd August 2012:
Hi!
I connect so much to these characters it is insane. My coherent plan has gone downhill I think. Anyway, I love this chapter. The way the proposal and babies was brought up was excellent and completely in character.

The banter at the bottom about baby number four had me laughing like an idiot. The acting loved up and acting like the stereotypical "couple" was genius and very well executed.

Even Roxanne who you don't see for very long in the whole story acts how I would imagine her to react.

I can't wait to read the next chapter, I am sure it will be just as excellent.

Emma

Author's Response: Hey there Emma! I absolutely love these characters and this pairing has become one of my favourites that I've written of all time (pretty something, considering they came completely out of thin air), but this chapter was my favourite thus far.

Hhee, Roxanne you see more in the previous story but, well, I'm so glad you like it and thank you very very much! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ginny45Issues of Epistemic Modality : Causes, Pauses and Subordinate Clauses

22nd August 2012:
Hi!
I still really love this. I adore how they have not changed their entire behaviour just because they are in a couple but their is still that slight shift in the dynamic. It is very realistic.

I also really enjoyed the look into Dexter. Even though this isn't in first person, the third person is focused on the characters so you still get that narrow approach. Like in HP where it is focused on Harry.

Emma

Author's Response: Yeah, I thought it was about time we got a closer look at Dexter (I had a fear he was going to wind up 2-dimensional), but more than anything I love writing the Molly/Dexter banter :D

They're just such a glorious couple! I can't help fall in love with them every time they talk :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny45Issues of Epistemic Modality : Propositions and Prepositions

22nd August 2012:
Hi!
I am going to try and make this review as coherent as possible.
I have not read Abstract Nouns but tomorrow it will be my first stop because I loved this so much. There is a lot of dialogue but I love dialogue, it makes or breaks a story for me.

I can't express how much I love the characterisation of Dexter and Molly. They are so perfect and despite this not being a novel long fic where you get to know the characters inside and out, I feel like I do. I may be horrendously bias though because as I was reading it, it really felt like I was reading the fictional equivalent of myself.

I am so glad I clicked on this story. For me your pacing was flawless and I could hear the conversation in my head with all the banter being thrown back and forth.

I love it so much, one of my favourite stories on the archive.

Emma

Author's Response: Hey there! You should definitely read Abstract Nouns if you liked that one - AN has a bit more of a focus on things, but there's a lot of dialogue that I had a blast writing and, ee, so glad you liked it!

Molly is one of my favourite characters of all time and Dexter is pretty up there too. She always feels pretty relatable to me, too, and I've had so much fun writing this.

So so unbelievably glad that you liked it! thanks so much :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ginny45The Ladykiller: Darkness

22nd August 2012:
Hi :)
I am a huge fan of Bellatrix and you have done her justice. I also adore one-shots and how much you can convey in them but you still get to hold back information. Something you just can't do with longer stories.

I love this little snippet of her life, it really adds to the character we saw so little of in the series. I love the way they acting around each other it was very realistic and well executed.

The descriptions were amazing but at the same time they were concise.You didn't topple into over describing which would have taken away the lovely pacing.
Emma

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for tagging me :)

I'm so glad you liked this, especially being a big Bellatrix fan! It's great that you found her interaction with Voldemort realistic and that you felt like I added to her canon characterization. It's usually my goal with characters to add new flavor to what I know, flavor that will fit in and make sense with canon. Also, I'm SO glad you mentioned imagery: I've been working lately on not letting my descriptions take over, but merely to allow them to enhance a piece. It really makes me feel good to hear that you felt like they didn't overpower the plot or disrupt the flow.

Thanks for your wonderful review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ginny45Department Duties: Department Duties

3rd April 2011:
Hello! RandomRed here.

I really enjoyed this, you did it really well and they seemed in character. There were some amazing moments. The bit about the deatheaters charming simple objects made me laugh and it was such a good detail.

I did notice a couple of things but one is just s typo. :)

"Muggl-eborns" - Typo.

"He had to admit life could be much worse than it was. Admittedly" - This could be just me but the word admit twice in close proximity sounds weird.

Stop doubting yourself! I just saw the reply you made on you status. This was really good and the Yaxbridge made it unique and I adore unique!

I really like the resentment towards Snape, it is believeable. Everything is remarkably canon as well, which I wasn't expecting. I was expecting a bit more twisting of the timeline but you did it well.

I have already said this, I think. But when you think about it they are so alike, it is insane. You picked up on something there Wolfie!

Anyway, I shall post this review now and go back to attacking you page. :) I am sad it isn't on a lampost but alas I will survive.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: THANK YOU!
May I just say... best review ever :D I tried so hard to make this canonically correct even though it is Yaxbridge.. which isn't canon even though it should be but other than that I was desperate to just make this real.

I hate Snape.. I really dislike him and I figured Yaxley would see him as a rival so I thought.. why not! :D Glad you found it believable as most of this I wasn't sure on.

This review... made my year :D xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Realisation

31st March 2011:
Hey,
I love this because it moves away from the action to show us love. The reason Harry beat Voldemort twice. It fits perfectly. Both characters are spot on as well, which it reall good seeing as you picked two of the three character that are focused on the most.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ginny45The Final Battle: The End

31st March 2011:
Hello!

Third one of your entries and the third one I loved. There is some gorgeous description in this story.

On top of that, you picked the hardest character to write. We already have Harry's POV and many recreations seem pointless as we already know everything. However, this was different you tapped into his emotions completely.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Of Grumblings and Grimaces

31st March 2011:
Hi!
Sorry I have this thing with endings as I have said numerous times. Your ending is amazing.

It is so Filch and it brings the reader back to a happier time in the series. With all the jokes about Filch. Truly great way to end this which I wasn't expecting at all. (They way you wrote it not that it was so great.)

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Diggory

31st March 2011:
Hello,
I adore this story. Such a different angle and simply amazing. In my head I really like how you have brought the battle in a full circle to fighting for Cedric. It started that way in book4 and now in book 7 his father is doing the same.

I just adore this story, every aspect of it. In my opinion it could not be more perfect.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Evil Angel

31st March 2011:
Hey,
I love Bellatrix she is just so evil. You have her written very well and that isn't something I could flaw you on but when you have a piece of parenthesis here. "(Tonks choice at that moment)" For me it takes away from the story and the reader can figure out that, you don't need to tell them.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ginny45The Final Battle: One Step

31st March 2011:
Hey,
This is second story about Draco I have read in this collab and both show him in a more 3D way. Your ones shows a lot of character development and I really do like it. It delves into the bit we missed between him being a Voldemort supporter and his at the table in the Great Hall. A change I would have liked to see, you have handled it well and it seems perfectly believeable.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Final Laugh

31st March 2011:
Hello,
I like the different take you did on this. Although it isn't canon it seen perfectly believeable and adds more of a story behind one of the infamous deaths of Harry Potter.

There were also some very detailed moments that were amazing!

"was left permanently silent."

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ginny45The Final Battle: No Looking Back

31st March 2011:
Hello,
I think this is the first story I have read in this collab from Ron's POV. Anyway, you do it very well and there was very little doubt to me who it was. You also captured the feelings of the castle. Unity, that was what the Order did they worked as one rather than out for their own gain like the deatheaters. It was a reason in my opinon, they beat Voldemort.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Reflections

31st March 2011:
Hi,
I really did like this as I have not seen an OC piece yet but one thing I have to say is, it is very jumpy. The flow isn't smooth and it is quite distracting.

However, this character has a really good voice and you portray the thoughts of many Hogwarts students at that time effectively through her.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation:Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ginny45The Final Battle: The Fall

31st March 2011:
Hey,
I really like how he is still haunted by Askaban because something like that would never really go away. So I am glad you brought that in and dark places still remind him of the cell etc.

I also love how you have attached this friendship between Lucius and Snape. After years of being evil together, yes I just said that, they would have something. Even if it was just the decency to warn someone of their impending doom.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Guerrilla

31st March 2011:
Hello,
I really liked the way you started this. With the reminder of DA and happier times.
I think you have such a descriptive story here and the little touches, like the photography, really make it.
I really think it is sad he had to die, he seems like the picture of innocence.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ginny45The Final Battle: Red Hearts

29th March 2011:
This is amazing, Molly is a brilliant character as she has so many angles and you captured her essense perfectly in this short one shot.

The ending, because I have a serious thing for endings, is amazing. When she fights Bella she knows her son is dead and it fits in with this story.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ginny45The Final Battle: The Hat

29th March 2011:
A Sorting Hat story, interesting. I think it is genius though, why wouldn't he have his own views he did pretty much predict the war after all.

I really like how he remember sorting them and it reminded me of how Olivander remember Tom's wand. It fitted well with that I think.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx
Operation: Green With Envy

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>