Reading Reviews From Member: MrsKatieGrint
  
278 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsKatieGrintLoopy: Loopy

15th January 2014:
Review Tag!

Oh my gosh, can I just say that this was probably the greatest parody I have ever read, and will ever read? Like ever? Hahaha

This was seriously just so great. I was laughing pretty much the whole time because this was seriously freaking hilarious. Forreal, best story ever.

I loved the whole twilight thing going on. It was just too perfect with Remus. And the ending about the next generation? Perfect!

This made my night/week/year/life. Hahaha I hope you have a fantastic day, and I'm going to review another story because this review does nothing but talk about me laughing, so cheers, and hold tight for a real review!:P

Katie(:

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Well thank you! :D I'm so thrilled you liked this and thought it was a great parody, I had a lot of fun writing it and imagining all these crazy situations. :P

I feel like every good parody deserves a twilight reference, and it did fit a little eerily well with Remus (especially with Tonks, hehe). And ah I'm so happy you liked the ending!

I'm very honoured to have made your night/week/year/life! Thanks so much for the awesome review, it really made me giggle and don't worry about reviewing anything else. This was so lovely! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsKatieGrintIn Absentia: In Absentia

15th January 2014:
Review Tag!

Okay, so I might have teared up a bit there at the end. No shame whatsoever.

Actually, a long while ago, I took on a valentines day challenge with Ginny too, so when I saw your story, I was immediately interested to see what you would do too!(:

I thought you just did wonderfully. I lovelovelove your Ginny. So realistic, a bit pessimistic, but about all, genuine. And that just made the story about 78592106584 times more interesting.

I thought it was sweet that Harry wrote her poems later on, and how he was the more romantic one in the relationship. I love how you brought up their 'technical' first valentine, and described the beautiful ones after her looney one during the war.

The end was seriously heartbreaking for me. Hashtag, I'm still teary-eyed in disbelief at the thought of Harry dying.:(

Wow, this was seriously wonderful, and definitely touching in all aspects. Yay, for yet another wonderful story for me to play tag with!(:
P.S Favorited.(((:
~Katie

Author's Response: *hands over tissue*

Thank you! Ah, I'm so happy to hear that you liked my portrayal of Ginny. I love her blunt realism in the books and tried to capture that as much as possible here. It's so great to hear that you thought she was genuine, and that you liked her descriptions of the various Valentine's days from the miserable to the beautiful.

Heh, yeah to me Harry always seemed like the more sentimental one!

You know, in my head it was actually Ginny who died and she's narrating from this kind of non-existence, but re-reading it I can see how it could also be read as Harry died and Ginny just feels lost without him. Aah! It really could be either way. Wow, thank you for pointing that out, that's really cool!

aw, I'm so honoured by the favourite! Thanks so much for your truly wonderful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsKatieGrintThe Unspeakable and the Wasp: Unique Service

15th January 2014:
Review Tag! Yay yay yay!

Okay, so I literally just scrolled up and down the page randomly until i happened to click something with my eyes closed because everything seriously looked so awesome to read, and I really just couldn't decide. But I am definitely not disappointed one bit in my chancy risk I just took!

I don't think I have ever read or even heard of a story about Augustus. And this just blew me away.
You were so insightful on a character we honestly didn't know really much about, but you brought him to life beautifully. This was such a well portrayed character, it makes me believe that you have JK's notes or something on her characters.

I really didn't quite know where you were going with this one-shot at first, but I was pleasantly surprise with the change of heart there at the end. It was a huge turning point and just played out wonderfully. I thought the internal argument with himself was just wonderfully executed, and just monumental in the storyline.

I loved also the time and setting. A New Years Eve party was a fabulous choice in a way to host this story in, and just really made for the leading scenes.

I thought this was just a fantastic one-shot, I don't have anything bad or even neutral things to say, because it was honestly just great, and I don't think I could have chosen a better story for a swap!

Thanks a billion!(:
~Katie

Author's Response: I love your selection methodology! I don't know if I could randomly pick a story from someone's page - I'm glad you weren't disappointed by your choice though!

Well, WTM said this was a rather unique story so I'm going to take her word for it. :D It took me a long time to bring him to life. I think I got him in a challenge in October and started writing this just a few days before it was due. I really had to dig deep for him so it's great that it paid off. I wish I had JK's notes on characters!!

The first half of the story is a bit free floating in terms of direction. His change of heart (while momentary) was a result of all the flirting and fun he had with Bagman and a moment of selfless thought.

The NYE setting helped me think of the plot, actually. It was really the setting that helped me pick a plot. My first idea (before the duel was announced) was to have him chatting someone up for information at some random place. So glad I got the NYE idea to solidify it.

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! I am so glad it was a worthwhile read!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsKatieGrintProud, Pureblood Slytherin: Proud, Pureblood Slytherin

12th January 2014:
Hey there!

Wow, I definitely was not expecting the ending, but now that I've read it, I can't imagine it ending any other way, it was simply elegant.

I thought it was so heartbreaking, the scene in the library. I can't believe that he must left it at that. "Let's forget this ever happened" No!

I adored the way that you characterized Hermione. She was so logical and calculating in even the matter of love. It was just so Hermione-ish.
I also loved Draco. He was just great. I couldn't see him handling things any differently with Hermione.

Although, I'm positive my most favorite part was the ending ending. "They're the version of us that works."

Perfect.(:

~Always, Katie

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much for your awesome review - it made my day! I am so glad you think the characters are believable, and that you liked the ending.

Just general thank you for the encouragement! It means alot to me!

-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsKatieGrintLove at First Slap: Love at First Slap

9th January 2014:
Hey there again!

Oh goodness! I loved Victorie's voice in this story. It was so realistic for an almost 16 year old. I thought this was a nice spin on a fairly typical couple, where everyone makes them love eachother other since forever.

I thought it was cute how Victorie was trying to hold out on Teddy, but I'm glad she tossed that out, and decided to go on the date.
Did I mention my heart melted when Teddy told her their date meant everything?

This was such a cute a fantastic little read, and such a big jump from the other story I reviewed, but it was wonderful all the same!(:

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! So pleased you thought it was realistic enough!

And thank you for all of the compliments! I seriously cannot thank you enough!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsKatieGrintIn Hearts: Blue Roses

8th January 2014:
Wow, this was seriously so heartfelt.

I just loved that Teddy seemed to know what his parents would say or do. It was so warming and genuine. I love that he went to them for everything, I'm sure it's something he would definitely do.

I loved seeing the progression of the story in this way. It was beautiful and just stunning.

I adored that little attention to detail you gave here and there. It just made the story that much more charming.

I thought this was such a different, and magnificent story, and storyline. Beautiful is all I have to say.(:

Cheers,
Katie!

Author's Response: THANK YOU!

I thought Teddy might be like this, so I am glad you think so, too. I am so happy you liked it so much, and thank you for the lovely review!

Have a wonderful day!
-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsKatieGrintIn Love With Your Laugh: In Love With Your Laugh

6th January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums, FINALLY here with your challenge review!(:

Wow, this was so incredibly wonderful! At first, I din't really see how the quote I gave you was going to tie into your story, but I was so so so happy with the way you used it! Seriously, I was smiling at my screen!

I thought Evalin was a wonderful character. You made her fabulous, and I couldn't imagine someone better for James. I also adored the way you characterized James. He was quirky, funny, and simply charming.

I thought it was was so in character for the Weasley clan to be so doubtful of Evalin, and I think that scene was played out beautifully.

As far as the proposal, wow. Stunning really. I thought it was such a heartfelt speech leading up to James asking her. The quote was used perfectly there!(: And Lily was adorable!

Thank you so so much for participating in my challenge! Good luck to you!(:

~Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hi!!

I certainly don't mind waiting for such a lovely review!!

Yay! I'm glad you liked the way I used the quote, I was trying to give hints about the laughter aspect throughout the story, but I also didnt want to give it away! I'm so glad you liked Evalin, I really wanted her to be this person who seemed so flawless on the outside, but was so nervous and humble on the inside! I felt like that'd be the perfect fit for James! Yay! You liked him! I know he's a fan favourite so writing a story about him was a little scary, I won't lie.

I really wanted to play up on the fact that they don't ALWAYS accept people right off the bat. I also felt like Fleur needed some lovin'.

Some of the proposal was from my fiance's proposal to me. It just tied in so nicely I couldn't help but use his words. I actually cried a little while writing it!

Thank you so so much for giving such a wonderful challenge! I loved every second of writing it!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsKatieGrintThis Devilry: Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
Oh yay yay yay!

I jumped over from the forums as soon as I saw your post about a new chapter, and I couldn't be happier!

Okay, wow. Seriously, there were so many unpredicted twists and turns here, and they were all crazy awesome.

I'm so happy at the characterization you have going on here with your characters, especially Harry. Harry in the books was never overly open with his emotions when it came to Ginny, and likewise, was very private at times to everyone, and I like that you kept that in line with your story.
I don't see Harry and Ginny sitting around drinking tea and spilling their emotions of their day, and I'm glad that you don't have them portrayed that way. But, you do have them showing just enough emotion thats seemingly perfect.

I'm so glad that Harry made Ginny go back to therapy, although she should open up about the diary, and maybe more about her dreams.

All in all, I think you did a wonderful job Amanda, and I'm so glad your hiatus is done with, and I literally cannot wait for the next update!
I hope you had a wonderful holiday!(:

Always, Katie(:

Author's Response: Hey Katie, thanks for stopping by!

I'm so happy you feel like Harry is in line with his canon characterization. I haven't gotten a lot of feedback on him, and it was a challenge to figure out what he would be like as a husband and father without having much to go on there from canon. But I do agree that he would probably not be very open about his feelings and that he and Ginny would have that in common.

Hopefully therapy turns out to be more helpful for Ginny than she first suspected. At least she has Harry's support now, which should be a positive change for her.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsKatieGrintFit: Rendezvous

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Okay, so I actually haven't ever read a Severus/Hermione fic before, and I was pleasantly surprised, because I always hear such mixed reviews about this ship, but you did a fabulous job, in my opinion!(:

This story just flows wonderfully, it reminded me of poetry the whole way through, just beautiful and light, even though the plot was quite dark. I love the fact that you made Hermione and Severus such bold characters, definitely contradicting each other.

I also applaude you on such a great way of utilizing the quote I gave you. So many emotion jam packed in one sentence, I would not have thought it was possible to do!

The only CC I have is that I think you accidentally repeated the last couple of sentences? I think you accidentally like copy and pasted them again, but thats easily fixable!:P

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, your story was lovely! Good luck, and have a very happy New Year!(:

Cheers, Katie!(:

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsKatieGrintJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: King of Anything

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Can I just say, I love the non-typical Molly. Everyone and their mother makes her the girl version of Percy, and I can't. I just can't. Obviously, since I have my own Molly fic, Molly is seriously a favorite for me, so extra points there.(;
But I simply adore Molly's dry humor. Haha she was such an amusing character! I can't believe she actually sat through the break up speech, I was expecting her to just walk off, haha.

And geez, Percy and Audrey are pieces of work. And thats an understatement. I love the fact that you made them polar opposites. And they eloped?! Ahahaha! Wonderful detail!(:

Geez, this was seriously delightful! And a wonderer, stunning way to use my quote! Definitely didn't picture something like this with that quote, but it was way better than anything I imagined!:P

Again, good luck in all the challenges this is entered for, and a great big thank you for participating in my challenge!(:

Cheers, and a very Happy New Year to you dear!
Katie(:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for dropping by!

I've always imagined Molly to be really torn between being the girl version of Percy and the anti-Percy. I think it's a very relateable struggle she has though.

She probably waited to finish her coffee before she left. And the coffee was terrible enough that it lasted longer than the break-up speech!

I can imagine Percy eloping if the moment calls for it! And Audrey was just such a blast to write!

I haven't read the book, nor seen the film, so I didn't really know the context in which the quote happens. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity to participate! It was great inspiration for a new story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsKatieGrintA Chance Encounter: Imperfections Included

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo here from the forums with your challenge review!(:

Oh wow. So all the other Hannah/Neville fics I've read are very happy upbeat, but I absolutely loved how kinda dark this story was. You know, we really don't know too much about Hannah, but I loved the way you characterized her. I think it was very realistic on the attitude of someone coming out of a major war like that.

I also just adore what you did with Neville. He was always the awkward school boy in the novels, but just completely emerged as someone else in the last novel. I just loved that you kept him that klutzy stammering guy, because really, who just transforms overnight? And, even though like you mentioned Neville was dealing with his new found fame, I'm glad you kept him a humble guy.(:

Gosh, I just thought this was seriously wonderful. The quote tied in perfectly, and I thought your plot line was super great too. Man, I would love to read on more of their love story, you did a great job with them!(:

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, good luck to you! And many cheers for the new year!
Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for the lovely review! I'm sorry that I've been terrible and I haven't responded promptly, but here I am now! :)

Yeah, even though I'm not a dark person at all, I have a tendency to write darker fanfiction. Thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked the way I characterized Hannah. Because she is a canon character, I wanted to make sure that I got the basics correct, but after that, I tried to imagine what she would be like after the war. I am incredibly pleased that you thought her characterization was accurate!! :)

Yes, Neville is one of my loves from the series. I recently reread the books, and because I wrote this fic, all of his moments kept jumping out at me. (So I have you to thank, really!) He's just so awkward!Neville and clumsy!Neville, and I didn't think that one snake would change that very much. I truly hope that he would stay at least somewhat the same in his adulthood.

Thankyouthankyouthankyou!! Funny, I've actually gotten the comment from several people that they "can't wait for the next chapter" or "would like to see what happens next." Well, that's got the wheels in my mind turning, and I think that I might turn it into something a bit more substantial one day. After all, love can't happen in just a tiny one-shot (well, for me it can't). So maybe? :)

Thanks for challenging me! I had TONS of fun with this piece because I've never ever written a canon couple before. Good luck judging all of the great entries that people submitted for your challenge! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsKatieGrintFrozen Moments : A Spring Day

1st January 2014:
Hey there Kristen!

So sorry for the long delay, this break has been super crazy for me! But I'm so glad to finally get here and add my review to this lovely story.(:

Okay, this was seriously a bittersweet piece for me. I can feel so much for Cho and it was so heartbreaking for her to have to endure the plans Zayed had for another girl, when she was clearly in love with him!:(!! And to her close friend, none the less. Double whammy.

I really think that the way you explored Cho's personality was intriguing. She gave up magic?! I would love to know why! But I thought that was such a crazy twist to throw out there.

I absolutely adored the scene with the older man. How absolutely perfect to go with this one-shot. It was just so sentimental, and just beautiful.

Wow, this was definitely not something I planned to go along with the quote I gave you, but I'm so happy that the story went the way you planned it. You seriously nailed a quote I personally thought would be hard for anyone to tackle, and I thought you did a stunning job.(:

Super good luck to you in the challenge, and I hope you had a wonderful holidays!(:

Cheers! Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! It made my day to hear that you enjoyed my story. I had so much fun writing this for your challenge - so thank you for giving me the opportunity to write about a situation (and a character!) that I wouldn't have otherwise.


 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsKatieGrintA Savage Failure: Suddenly Everything has Changed

1st January 2014:
Okay, rip my heart out and stomp on it again pls.

This was seriously so wonderful, and heartwarming, and just charming really. I don't think I would change one thing about this at all.

I absolutely adored the way you used the quote I gave you, stunning, and possibly a stroke of brilliance. Gosh, and Brad's death?? NO.

All in all, this was seriously a wonderful, and eye-opening fiction for me to read. I seriously doubt this review has left any justice for what I actually feel for this story. I was incredible to me, although I am doing a horrible job of conveying this to you, so my apologies.

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, and good luck for the other challenges you entered this for!(:
Cheers! Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!!

Ah, your poor heart! :( i have some tape to help put it back together.

I'm so glad it was all those things to you!! I wanted to make it a good love story but (because of JKR) I couldn't give it a happy ending.

Your quote really helped me develop that scene! It was perfect for them. I cried writing Brad's death which I rarely do.

Reading your review has made me all sorts of happy and full of squee. it's quite amazing to hear that it made an impression on your! That is the best thing to hear. :D

I'm so glad I got to participate in your challenge! Thanks for doing it!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsKatieGrintA Savage Failure: Love in a Hopeless Place

31st December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

First off, I am incredibly sorry for the delay, saying my holiday has been crazy would be an understatement, yet, this story was well worth the wait!

I have to say, I haven't really ever come across too many slash fics, and the ones I have were just almost awkward for me to read. Yet, I think you did a wonderful job here in this opening chapter. Gosh, I don't want to sound like I'm homophobic, because I'm not, it just the other stories I have read were just that, awkward.

Moving on before I shove a bigger foot in my mouth, I seriously think you did an awesome job of covering all the loopholes right off the bat. I love everything that you have here about Charlie. He seems wonderful, and you did a really great job characterizing him!
Brad also seems worthy of Charlie.(: I was worried about him there for a little bit, but you've convinced me otherwise.

I also love how you related this back to real time, keeping in line with the books, especially the battle. I think that just added so much to the story.

I think the flow and plot so far is brilliant, and I can't wait to read more about Brad and Charlie, although I know the end is coming for them soon.:(

Cheers to a wonderful chapter, and more! Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

I'm sorry I've taken such a long time to get back and respond to this.

haha, i know what you mean about some slash. This was my first slash story so I'm glad it didn't fall into the awkward category.

It was fun weaving Savage into a realistic seeming story about Charlie. Charlie was interesting to decompose into a full person.

Brad is one of my favorite people I made up for HP. He did have a sketchy bit with the Ministry but he did turn it around the best he could.

Thank you so much for a lovely review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsKatieGrintCare for Magical Humans: Life Itself

10th December 2013:
Hey there, KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

OH GOODNESS WAY TO RIP MY HEART OUT THERE AT THE END!! Oh geez this was seriously beautiful. Way way better than the original quote.

Honest to goodness, I have never read a Rolf/Luna anything, and if they're all pretty like yours, consider me a major shipper now. I simply adore that this story was set in the lifespan of Rolf. He was a very pleasant character, and very admirable. I absolutely adore the characterization you have of Rolf, it was so heartbreaking to have his own father make him make a super important choice in his life, like you said, to be the person he wanted, or to be the person her was. Simply heartbreaking that his father couldn't understand that. The insight there just fit so perfectly with Rolf's personality from there on out, because if his father couldn't love him, who could?
I am so glad though that Newt took him under his wing, and let Rolf become the person he was suppose to be.(:

Dear Luna, I'm so so impressed/awed/amazed at how WONDERFULLY you made her. I have so much respect for Luna, and I'm so glad you did the poor girl justice in your writing. She was a beautiful character here in your story, just stunning. And I love that you didn't rush the two's love. The awkward dialogue between the two is so cute and wonderful, and was just plain adorable. But it was so cute how they decided to go on adventures together! I seriously don't think the two could of had a date any other way, because who doesn't love looking for crazy/nonexistent creature together?:P Totally adorable.

Again, the scene where they send the twins off to Hogwarts, you just captured that moment perfectly. Like, I don't think anyone could have written that scene better, like not even JK R. Just so so beautiful, and heartwarming. Like its freezing in my apartment at the moment, and I'm still warm because my heart was so happy at that scene. I have an incredibly happy warm heart right now.:P

AGH! Okay, just rip out my warm fuzzy heart now. I'm so sad that Luna died before Rolf. All couples should just die happy together. Lol unrealistic, but moving on. I think that yet again, everything Rolf spoke was perfect for Luna. It was just a perfect ending scene, but beautifully, beautifully written. Just gah. I keep saying the same things over again, I just can't effectively type what I want to say!

Wow, I'm seriously so happy with this one-shot, and I hope you're beaming too. I literally cannot type you high enough praise because I do not have the word to say how much I ADORED this one-shot!(:

I thank you so much for participating in my challenge, and doing such an incredible job, and good luck to you!(:

~Katie(:(:(:

Author's Response: Um, seriously your review just made my life.

I've never read a Luna/Rolf either! So now that I'm so attached I'll have to go check out the ship waters!

I've been so nervous with this posted with no feedback because writing Luna, my favorite canon character, for the first time was ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING.

I'm glad you like Rolf! It was hard to get into his head and I made the writing a bit more formal and choppy than my typical style really trying to emulate him (and by 'him' I mean the 'him' I made up in my head). I wanted the transformation for him to be a bit circular--love dad, love no one, love Luna, but for the second love to show him that it doesn't mean giving up who you are. It means embracing them. Sorry, that's the English major in me analyzing my own work :) I've had to write a lot of essays this week for finals.

I know, it was way sad. I actually cried writing it. Which, is huge, because I NEVER cry during fics/movies/books. I really connected with them. Thank you SO MUCH for hosting this challenge so I got a chance to think of this. It was an eye-opening experience.

Thanks for your review!!!



 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsKatieGrintI Promise: I Promise

10th December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Oh, this was so sweet, and so different from the original quote, but equally sweet! Gah, lovelovelove John Green and what you did with his quote here!(:

I was so heartbroken at the beginning, I guess I never really thought anyone would have trouble conceiving, but it was a really realistic situation. Did I mention heartbreaking?

I love the way Ron and Hermione are characterized. They are just simply wonderful and beautiful, and yes. I just love what you did with the two.

I think this is just super amazing, and my review isn't doing any justice. I could probably make up some words right now, because no adjectives are working with anything I have to say right now.

I'm just gushing over how wonderfully you used this quote and what you did with your beautiful characters! Agh! Wonderful!

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, and good luck!(:
~Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

Aw, I am So glad you liked it! I cannot thank you enough for your lovely review, you're too kind! I actually went and read The Fault In Our Stars before writing this to get his perspective on the quote, and yes, it was so lovely. I am happy you approved of the way I used it :)

I had hoped it would seem realistic, and am glad you liked the characterization!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've made my day! Seriously, you are too kind!

I had so much fun, thank you for creating the challenge!

Happy Holidays!
-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsKatieGrintPlagued By Ardor: Magical Mistletoe

10th December 2013:
Hey there!

Okay, this was seriously so cute! And for a lot of challenges, but this was great and I think these three challenges flowed wonderfully in your story!(:

I thought the dialogue was super funny and witty, and very Fred like. I absolutely adore the twins, and I think you did a great job characterizing them!

I lovelovelove the things Fred thinks. You have him down to a t, and he's just perfect. Lol, and I adored the mistletoe scene! I saw that this was also for that challenge, so I was glad that everything wasn't just about that scene.

The only thing I would suggest is msybe adding in more details. Trust me, when I say I understand your pain, because I know I get super excited to write something so I speed through scenes to get to the 'good stuff' but when you take the time to explain everything and make pretty pictures, it makes the 'good stuff' so much better!

All in all, I thought this was lovely, fluffy story, that went well with all the challenges, and mine.(:

Thank you for participating, and good luck!
Katie(:

Author's Response: Thanks so much Katie!! :D And, I can't wait for u to update your novel, so hurry!! :D

Too many compliments! But, thank u thank u thank u!!

I honestly was terrified at the idea of writing Fred! He's one of my favourite characters and I was scared f not doing him justice! I'm glad u found it funny! :D

Ah, yes, might have been a bit...ambitious with the challenges ;) But, I'm glad u think they flowed well :)

Yeah, I've got a few comments on the description- I went back and edited it yesterday :) So, hopefully that version will be out soon :)

Thank u! Thank u for making the challenge! I loved it! And my quote *squeee* So super sweet!!!

Anyway, please update your novel and thank u for the many compliments!!

-ReeBee :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsKatieGrintThe Perfect Moment: Perfect

5th December 2013:
Hey there!

Okay, seriously, this was one of the cutest stories I think I've ever read. It was so adorable, and fluffy, I just can't.

On another note, it just seems you're such a diverse writer! You can go from Charlie/Hermione, to a next ten like Teddy/Victoire, in no time, and they're both wonderful!

I think you're characters here were so well defined in such a short amount of space, it was incredible! It just made the story flow so nicely, and the details you have? Gorgeous.

I lovelovelove what you did with Victoire's character. Most people pawn her a a mini Fleur, with nothing unique to the poor girl, but I am in love with the fact that Victoire like the muggle qualities that life has to offer. Its so cute, and such a unique spin, and I absolutely adore it!

All in all, I think this was a super great one-shot, and I think your writing style is so wonderful, and graceful almost.
Great job though!(:
Cheers!
~Katie

Author's Response: Katie! You give the loveliest reviews, I swear you do... Again, I am so happy to hear the word 'cute' in association with this story. It's just something I've worked towards when I started with this story.
I'm glad you like the way I wrote Victoire. I truly struggled to make her unique but still part her mother and father.
I'm glad you think it's diversity... Mostly I think it's impatience as I can't take writing one thing over and over. Thanks, really, for the fantastic review. You are gorgeous!

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsKatieGrintEvasive Normality : Prologue

4th December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your review!

Okay, so I think you have a GREAT start here. I couldn't even tell that this was your first novel, until your author's note at the end, and I was super impressed by that.

Normally, I kinda have a thing for when people write from Harry's point of view, just because I feel like they don't do him justice, but I think you did a great job of picking up on Harry's angst. Especially a week after the war.

Like I said before, this was a great start. I really didn't see any grammar or spelling mistakes, lovely things what those betas can do! And I think your plot is going in the right directions, and the flow is smooth too. I think you've covered a lot of loophole too, so I wasn't confused, or left search for answers.

I think this was fabulous, and I can't wait to read more! Feel free to request again soon! Cheers!

~Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie, thanks for leaving the review!

Thank you, it's nice of you to say :)

Oh man, I'm not sure if I do him justice, hopefully I did though.

Beta's are the best. I repeat the BEST :D

Thanks for the review Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsKatieGrintNot Normal: {Chapter the Fifth}

4th December 2013:
Hey there!

Can I just say that you're superb? Lol okay, any who, I think that yes, this chapter was a filler, and to the point of plot, yes it was a little short in my opinion, BUT I think it goes to say that, 1 everyone needs filler chapters here and there, to help with characterization, and overall effect of what is to come, and 2 not every single day are you going to have an action packed day. If you do, you're probably tired all the time, and something is probably very wrong, haha.

I really love how Ellie's character is forming. At this point you're getting more definite with her, and its making it a lot easier for the readers to really understand and get into her head. Also, I think its really cool how you are modernizing her. From mentioning other fandoms, to her slight coffee addiction, I think you are making Ellie a character that the readers can really relate to on one aspect or another, and its just really cool for me.

Now, the only bump I kind had with this chapter, and it was only minor! Was that when Scorpius and Rose are talking about timetables and interfering with Quidditch, I was super confused for the longest time until I realized you were talking about prefect rounds. So maybe go and clarify that somehow? It was just a mess, kinda, in the sense that I had no clue what was going on until you mentioned Scorpius switching shifts with who ever, and later on when Ellie asked Scorpius how Head Boy was. So maybe I'm just real dumb, and didn't pick up on your context clues well, and in that case, feel free to ignore all this.:P

Also, I was super sad because there was no Albus.:( I'm so sad too, that he's a harder character for you to write, but honestly, you wouldn't be able to tell that from reading your story.

All in all, I think this was a wonderful filler chapter, and I can't wait, as always to see how this progresses!(: Cheers!

~Katie

Author's Response: Oh, you! *blushes* You really must stop being so nice to me! I'll get a big head! I did want to use this chapter for mostly characterisation - not Ellie's, but her friends'. I was feeling like I didn't really know Scorpius all that well, so I gave writing him a scene a go to see what happened. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Fillers aren't so bad when they're sandwiched in between two plot-heavy chapters, which at the moment is not the case. I guess that's why this chapter has me so worried.

I'm glad Ellie is really growing. She's very well-defined in my head, so I'm constantly worried about saying something that will skip all the development and make her seem less rounded.

That's actually a fantastic point! It's easy enough to fix - I shall make a note of that in my draft, so that when I go back to edit, I remember to fix that!

Albus was sent to the naughty corner for being difficult to write. Perhaps he'll receive a cameo for being so well-behaved in the next chapter.

Thanks so much for this amazeballs review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsKatieGrintDon't Say The "P" Word: Surely You Must Be Joking

3rd December 2013:
You know, I think I like how Rose didn't start out already pregnant in your story. I think this helps building up the plot and the flow of the story before all heck breaks out.

I seriously ADORE the relationship Rose has with James. Its just so nice! And really, all her interactions with friends and family are really great too. Rose is just so quirky, and she's one of the more unique Roses I've read about.

I think you're doing a fabulous job on staying away from cliches, I know it must be hard, writing a next gen. pregnancy novel, but this is really fantastic.

I honestly cannot wait to see what all you have planned. It's certainly an interesting story, and I don't really have a clue as to all the possibilities you can make this story into!:D

Author's Response: Awe! Thanks so much!

That was my aim, I felt like having her be pregnant at the beginning left too much room for error and chaos, and by her getting pregnant a couple of chapters in, you've given everyone a chance to meet the characters and get a feel for who's who.

I had so much fun writing in James and Rose, and if you think they're cute, there's another cousin relationship I think you'll love even more.

Thanks so much for the compliment on cliches, I've been trying really hard to stay away from them, so I'm glad that I'm accomplishing that goal! I really think you'll like what's going to happen next!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsKatieGrintDon't Say The "P" Word: If You Can't Be My Knight In Shining Armour, Who Will?

3rd December 2013:
Love me forever?! How could I resist the offer?:P

I think that even thought this chapter was a 'filler" chapter, I definitely think it was an important filler chapter. Without this, we wouldn't know, like you said, how Rose really felt about Scorpius. Its so sweet, and romantic, and Rose's feelings are beautifully laid out.

I love that Scorpius really is more than the typical cliche womanizer that everyone makes him out to be. He's got spunk, and I already love him!

Lol, I think it was cute how Rose tripped, and was super embarrassed to not only literally run into Scorpius, but also pretty much the rest of her family.

Super great chapter again!(:

~Katie(:

Author's Response: AH I LOVE YOU FOREVER! ♥

Haha, thanks so much for your comment! I really enjoyed laying her feelings out on the table. It's so nice to go into a story and not feel confused about the character's feelings, so I wanted to eliminate all confusion!

I love that about him too! I always kind of wince when he's made a womanizer, I just feel like that's not very Scorpius, not my Scorpius at least.

Right? It was so fun to write her tripping and then being embarassed.

Thanks so much for the R&R glad you liked it!!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsKatieGrintDon't Say The "P" Word: The Best Way To Start Off The Year

3rd December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here!(:

Okay, seriously, this was a great start. It was so interesting, and you have all the characters plotted out, and all the loopholes and questions I'd had about everyone was answered!

I think your characters are so well defined, and have so much personality. I really love the relationship between Rose and her cousins. It's a rather beautiful relationship, especially between Rose and James.

I think you have a super strong start here, and I definitely can't wait to see where you take this!
Chin up, this was a wonderful story!(:

~Always, Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for this review! I'm so so so glad that you enjoyed the chapter!! I worked really hard on making the characters lovable so I'm glad that you enjoyed them!

Thanks so much for your support and the review!!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsKatieGrintDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

3rd December 2013:
Review Tag!

Oh geez! Seriously, that cliffhanger was a little too intense. I'm still sitting here with my mouth wide open!

Okay, forreal, how did this crazy idea even come about? This is seriously one of the most interesting stories I think I've ever read. The idea, plot, and the characters are just so striking. They all just stand out, and it's all so fantastically worded!

I think your attention to detail is what really makes this story the way it is. It is seriously so beautiful in the way you described everything. It could not have flowed any better, this chapter was seriously on point.

Your characters too! They're just so full of life, and well written. It irks me when people write Harry, because most of them can't do Harry justice, after all, JK wrote from that view, so its hard to beat, but you on the other hand did a STUNNING job. I was fooled that this was JK writing, because you did a FABULOUS job with Harry, and Devlin too.

Gosh, I could serious gush all day about this chapter. There just wasn't anything I felt you could do to improve this chapter, its wonderful exactly how it is.

I'm so glad you tagged me, because I probably wouldn't have stumped upon this story otherwise (gasp) and I might have lived my life without reading this!

So I've totally put this on my reading list, and I absolutely canNOT wait to read on to see what happens! Cheers!

~Katie

Author's Response: As long as the 'next' button is working, is there truly a cliffhanger that is 'too intense'? LOL I take great pride in being able to make people's mouths hang open!

Yeah...this crazy idea has been in my head so long it's kinda hard to puzzle how it came about. I think I attempted to in my MTA thread. But to be honest, you should read the next chapter first - because the reason this came into my head would be a spoiler for the next chapter. You have to meet Alexandra first.

People keep saying I have really good attention to detail and I keep cheering myself on every time they do, because now they're saying it in a positive way. I used to really over describe things. I think I have found a good balance.

This was a huge compliment (the writing Harry bit) and wow - thank you.

I'm glad I tagged you too. :) And you should seriously read the next chapter - although I make no guarantees as to whether it is cliff-hanger free...

Thanks for the awesome review!




 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsKatieGrintNot as Small: A Mother's Love

2nd December 2013:
Review Tag!

Okay, so I was totally just creeping on your account page on the forum, and randomly clicked on this story, and I think I couldn't have chosen a better story.

Seriously, this was just beautiful. I loved the attention to detail you gave to everything you described. Your choice words were wonderful and helped paint a clear picture in my head.

The boys were just darling! I loved Charlie's excitement over dragons!(:
I thought it was super cute and thoughtful to include Fabian and Gideon in this one-shot. They are terribly forgotten in most fan-tics.

Can I just say, I simple adored the way you characterized Molly. I couldn't help but fall in love with her beautiful personality. You did a fabulous job with her, and I have no doubt you definitely did her justice.

Wow, I just love this story. #favorited

Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!!

^_^ I like people creeping on my account page. Especially if it leads to clicking on a story.

This will sound a bit dorky, but I did struggle keeping happy/fluffy details in this story. I usually write stories with a darker edge than this has. And I've been known for leaving out good details - your comments made me quite happy!!

I'm so glad you liked the boys. I wasn't sure if it was too obvious/cliche to have him excited about dragons. I was thinking back to how my siblings and I would play fantastic games like that where we'd be batman, robin, and catwoman or we'd go off fighting bad guys (sometimes we even hit on what we'd actually do as adults).

Once I picked the timing for this story, I felt I had to give them a cameo. They had to be close to Molly for her to get their personal effects when they died. Given the date they died, I'm sure they were rather involved with Bill, Charlie, Percy, and a bit with the twins. A toddler/infant wheyen they died so they wouldn't have a good memory of them (if any).

Molly was so fun to write. I'm thrilled you liked her. :D

Ah, thank you so much for a fantabulous review and making me go all squishy.

-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>