Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: MrsKatieGrint
  
256 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsKatieGrintLoopy: Loopy

15th January 2014:
Review Tag!

Oh my gosh, can I just say that this was probably the greatest parody I have ever read, and will ever read? Like ever? Hahaha

This was seriously just so great. I was laughing pretty much the whole time because this was seriously freaking hilarious. Forreal, best story ever.

I loved the whole twilight thing going on. It was just too perfect with Remus. And the ending about the next generation? Perfect!

This made my night/week/year/life. Hahaha I hope you have a fantastic day, and I'm going to review another story because this review does nothing but talk about me laughing, so cheers, and hold tight for a real review!:P

Katie(:

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Well thank you! :D I'm so thrilled you liked this and thought it was a great parody, I had a lot of fun writing it and imagining all these crazy situations. :P

I feel like every good parody deserves a twilight reference, and it did fit a little eerily well with Remus (especially with Tonks, hehe). And ah I'm so happy you liked the ending!

I'm very honoured to have made your night/week/year/life! Thanks so much for the awesome review, it really made me giggle and don't worry about reviewing anything else. This was so lovely! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsKatieGrintIn Absentia: In Absentia

15th January 2014:
Review Tag!

Okay, so I might have teared up a bit there at the end. No shame whatsoever.

Actually, a long while ago, I took on a valentines day challenge with Ginny too, so when I saw your story, I was immediately interested to see what you would do too!(:

I thought you just did wonderfully. I lovelovelove your Ginny. So realistic, a bit pessimistic, but about all, genuine. And that just made the story about 78592106584 times more interesting.

I thought it was sweet that Harry wrote her poems later on, and how he was the more romantic one in the relationship. I love how you brought up their 'technical' first valentine, and described the beautiful ones after her looney one during the war.

The end was seriously heartbreaking for me. Hashtag, I'm still teary-eyed in disbelief at the thought of Harry dying.:(

Wow, this was seriously wonderful, and definitely touching in all aspects. Yay, for yet another wonderful story for me to play tag with!(:
P.S Favorited.(((:
~Katie

Author's Response: *hands over tissue*

Thank you! Ah, I'm so happy to hear that you liked my portrayal of Ginny. I love her blunt realism in the books and tried to capture that as much as possible here. It's so great to hear that you thought she was genuine, and that you liked her descriptions of the various Valentine's days from the miserable to the beautiful.

Heh, yeah to me Harry always seemed like the more sentimental one!

You know, in my head it was actually Ginny who died and she's narrating from this kind of non-existence, but re-reading it I can see how it could also be read as Harry died and Ginny just feels lost without him. Aah! It really could be either way. Wow, thank you for pointing that out, that's really cool!

aw, I'm so honoured by the favourite! Thanks so much for your truly wonderful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsKatieGrintProud, Pureblood Slytherin: Proud, Pureblood Slytherin

12th January 2014:
Hey there!

Wow, I definitely was not expecting the ending, but now that I've read it, I can't imagine it ending any other way, it was simply elegant.

I thought it was so heartbreaking, the scene in the library. I can't believe that he must left it at that. "Let's forget this ever happened" No!

I adored the way that you characterized Hermione. She was so logical and calculating in even the matter of love. It was just so Hermione-ish.
I also loved Draco. He was just great. I couldn't see him handling things any differently with Hermione.

Although, I'm positive my most favorite part was the ending ending. "They're the version of us that works."

Perfect.(:

~Always, Katie

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much for your awesome review - it made my day! I am so glad you think the characters are believable, and that you liked the ending.

Just general thank you for the encouragement! It means alot to me!

-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsKatieGrintLove at First Slap: Love at First Slap

9th January 2014:
Hey there again!

Oh goodness! I loved Victorie's voice in this story. It was so realistic for an almost 16 year old. I thought this was a nice spin on a fairly typical couple, where everyone makes them love eachother other since forever.

I thought it was cute how Victorie was trying to hold out on Teddy, but I'm glad she tossed that out, and decided to go on the date.
Did I mention my heart melted when Teddy told her their date meant everything?

This was such a cute a fantastic little read, and such a big jump from the other story I reviewed, but it was wonderful all the same!(:

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! So pleased you thought it was realistic enough!

And thank you for all of the compliments! I seriously cannot thank you enough!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsKatieGrintIn Hearts: Blue Roses

8th January 2014:
Wow, this was seriously so heartfelt.

I just loved that Teddy seemed to know what his parents would say or do. It was so warming and genuine. I love that he went to them for everything, I'm sure it's something he would definitely do.

I loved seeing the progression of the story in this way. It was beautiful and just stunning.

I adored that little attention to detail you gave here and there. It just made the story that much more charming.

I thought this was such a different, and magnificent story, and storyline. Beautiful is all I have to say.(:

Cheers,
Katie!

Author's Response: THANK YOU!

I thought Teddy might be like this, so I am glad you think so, too. I am so happy you liked it so much, and thank you for the lovely review!

Have a wonderful day!
-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsKatieGrintIn Love With Your Laugh: In Love With Your Laugh

6th January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums, FINALLY here with your challenge review!(:

Wow, this was so incredibly wonderful! At first, I din't really see how the quote I gave you was going to tie into your story, but I was so so so happy with the way you used it! Seriously, I was smiling at my screen!

I thought Evalin was a wonderful character. You made her fabulous, and I couldn't imagine someone better for James. I also adored the way you characterized James. He was quirky, funny, and simply charming.

I thought it was was so in character for the Weasley clan to be so doubtful of Evalin, and I think that scene was played out beautifully.

As far as the proposal, wow. Stunning really. I thought it was such a heartfelt speech leading up to James asking her. The quote was used perfectly there!(: And Lily was adorable!

Thank you so so much for participating in my challenge! Good luck to you!(:

~Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hi!!

I certainly don't mind waiting for such a lovely review!!

Yay! I'm glad you liked the way I used the quote, I was trying to give hints about the laughter aspect throughout the story, but I also didnt want to give it away! I'm so glad you liked Evalin, I really wanted her to be this person who seemed so flawless on the outside, but was so nervous and humble on the inside! I felt like that'd be the perfect fit for James! Yay! You liked him! I know he's a fan favourite so writing a story about him was a little scary, I won't lie.

I really wanted to play up on the fact that they don't ALWAYS accept people right off the bat. I also felt like Fleur needed some lovin'.

Some of the proposal was from my fiance's proposal to me. It just tied in so nicely I couldn't help but use his words. I actually cried a little while writing it!

Thank you so so much for giving such a wonderful challenge! I loved every second of writing it!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsKatieGrintThis Devilry: Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
Oh yay yay yay!

I jumped over from the forums as soon as I saw your post about a new chapter, and I couldn't be happier!

Okay, wow. Seriously, there were so many unpredicted twists and turns here, and they were all crazy awesome.

I'm so happy at the characterization you have going on here with your characters, especially Harry. Harry in the books was never overly open with his emotions when it came to Ginny, and likewise, was very private at times to everyone, and I like that you kept that in line with your story.
I don't see Harry and Ginny sitting around drinking tea and spilling their emotions of their day, and I'm glad that you don't have them portrayed that way. But, you do have them showing just enough emotion thats seemingly perfect.

I'm so glad that Harry made Ginny go back to therapy, although she should open up about the diary, and maybe more about her dreams.

All in all, I think you did a wonderful job Amanda, and I'm so glad your hiatus is done with, and I literally cannot wait for the next update!
I hope you had a wonderful holiday!(:

Always, Katie(:

Author's Response: Hey Katie, thanks for stopping by!

I'm so happy you feel like Harry is in line with his canon characterization. I haven't gotten a lot of feedback on him, and it was a challenge to figure out what he would be like as a husband and father without having much to go on there from canon. But I do agree that he would probably not be very open about his feelings and that he and Ginny would have that in common.

Hopefully therapy turns out to be more helpful for Ginny than she first suspected. At least she has Harry's support now, which should be a positive change for her.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsKatieGrintFit: Rendezvous

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Okay, so I actually haven't ever read a Severus/Hermione fic before, and I was pleasantly surprised, because I always hear such mixed reviews about this ship, but you did a fabulous job, in my opinion!(:

This story just flows wonderfully, it reminded me of poetry the whole way through, just beautiful and light, even though the plot was quite dark. I love the fact that you made Hermione and Severus such bold characters, definitely contradicting each other.

I also applaude you on such a great way of utilizing the quote I gave you. So many emotion jam packed in one sentence, I would not have thought it was possible to do!

The only CC I have is that I think you accidentally repeated the last couple of sentences? I think you accidentally like copy and pasted them again, but thats easily fixable!:P

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, your story was lovely! Good luck, and have a very happy New Year!(:

Cheers, Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie! First off, sorry that this took AGES for me to respond. I kind of disappeared. It's a bad habit...

But, yes, thank you for the challenge! I love quote challenges. They always manage to make me happeh and inspired and I love challenges and one-shots and quotes and. JUST THANKS.

I feel honored to be your first Snamione. It's one of my faves because it's so implausible you just want it to work. But, you're right, it isn't the easiest ship to work with. I'm glad you think I did okay with it though. -huggles-

The quote actually really worked with the way this story was building in my head. I mean, it was already there but I couldn't find a good catalyst to write it. THEN BOOM, your challenge. ONE-SHOT DONE. So, thanks.. much loves.

Thank you, yes. I made a few edits. That's the hard thing when you're using q10 and not a proper word processor.. It doesn't catch mistakes! I did manage to erase it though, thanks to you.

Anyway, thanks again. Sorry for the late reply.

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsKatieGrintJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: King of Anything

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Can I just say, I love the non-typical Molly. Everyone and their mother makes her the girl version of Percy, and I can't. I just can't. Obviously, since I have my own Molly fic, Molly is seriously a favorite for me, so extra points there.(;
But I simply adore Molly's dry humor. Haha she was such an amusing character! I can't believe she actually sat through the break up speech, I was expecting her to just walk off, haha.

And geez, Percy and Audrey are pieces of work. And thats an understatement. I love the fact that you made them polar opposites. And they eloped?! Ahahaha! Wonderful detail!(:

Geez, this was seriously delightful! And a wonderer, stunning way to use my quote! Definitely didn't picture something like this with that quote, but it was way better than anything I imagined!:P

Again, good luck in all the challenges this is entered for, and a great big thank you for participating in my challenge!(:

Cheers, and a very Happy New Year to you dear!
Katie(:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for dropping by!

I've always imagined Molly to be really torn between being the girl version of Percy and the anti-Percy. I think it's a very relateable struggle she has though.

She probably waited to finish her coffee before she left. And the coffee was terrible enough that it lasted longer than the break-up speech!

I can imagine Percy eloping if the moment calls for it! And Audrey was just such a blast to write!

I haven't read the book, nor seen the film, so I didn't really know the context in which the quote happens. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity to participate! It was great inspiration for a new story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsKatieGrintA Chance Encounter: Imperfections Included

1st January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo here from the forums with your challenge review!(:

Oh wow. So all the other Hannah/Neville fics I've read are very happy upbeat, but I absolutely loved how kinda dark this story was. You know, we really don't know too much about Hannah, but I loved the way you characterized her. I think it was very realistic on the attitude of someone coming out of a major war like that.

I also just adore what you did with Neville. He was always the awkward school boy in the novels, but just completely emerged as someone else in the last novel. I just loved that you kept him that klutzy stammering guy, because really, who just transforms overnight? And, even though like you mentioned Neville was dealing with his new found fame, I'm glad you kept him a humble guy.(:

Gosh, I just thought this was seriously wonderful. The quote tied in perfectly, and I thought your plot line was super great too. Man, I would love to read on more of their love story, you did a great job with them!(:

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, good luck to you! And many cheers for the new year!
Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for the lovely review! I'm sorry that I've been terrible and I haven't responded promptly, but here I am now! :)

Yeah, even though I'm not a dark person at all, I have a tendency to write darker fanfiction. Thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked the way I characterized Hannah. Because she is a canon character, I wanted to make sure that I got the basics correct, but after that, I tried to imagine what she would be like after the war. I am incredibly pleased that you thought her characterization was accurate!! :)

Yes, Neville is one of my loves from the series. I recently reread the books, and because I wrote this fic, all of his moments kept jumping out at me. (So I have you to thank, really!) He's just so awkward!Neville and clumsy!Neville, and I didn't think that one snake would change that very much. I truly hope that he would stay at least somewhat the same in his adulthood.

Thankyouthankyouthankyou!! Funny, I've actually gotten the comment from several people that they "can't wait for the next chapter" or "would like to see what happens next." Well, that's got the wheels in my mind turning, and I think that I might turn it into something a bit more substantial one day. After all, love can't happen in just a tiny one-shot (well, for me it can't). So maybe? :)

Thanks for challenging me! I had TONS of fun with this piece because I've never ever written a canon couple before. Good luck judging all of the great entries that people submitted for your challenge! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsKatieGrintFrozen Moments : A Spring Day

1st January 2014:
Hey there Kristen!

So sorry for the long delay, this break has been super crazy for me! But I'm so glad to finally get here and add my review to this lovely story.(:

Okay, this was seriously a bittersweet piece for me. I can feel so much for Cho and it was so heartbreaking for her to have to endure the plans Zayed had for another girl, when she was clearly in love with him!:(!! And to her close friend, none the less. Double whammy.

I really think that the way you explored Cho's personality was intriguing. She gave up magic?! I would love to know why! But I thought that was such a crazy twist to throw out there.

I absolutely adored the scene with the older man. How absolutely perfect to go with this one-shot. It was just so sentimental, and just beautiful.

Wow, this was definitely not something I planned to go along with the quote I gave you, but I'm so happy that the story went the way you planned it. You seriously nailed a quote I personally thought would be hard for anyone to tackle, and I thought you did a stunning job.(:

Super good luck to you in the challenge, and I hope you had a wonderful holidays!(:

Cheers! Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! It made my day to hear that you enjoyed my story. I had so much fun writing this for your challenge - so thank you for giving me the opportunity to write about a situation (and a character!) that I wouldn't have otherwise.


 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsKatieGrintCare for Magical Humans: Life Itself

10th December 2013:
Hey there, KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

OH GOODNESS WAY TO RIP MY HEART OUT THERE AT THE END!! Oh geez this was seriously beautiful. Way way better than the original quote.

Honest to goodness, I have never read a Rolf/Luna anything, and if they're all pretty like yours, consider me a major shipper now. I simply adore that this story was set in the lifespan of Rolf. He was a very pleasant character, and very admirable. I absolutely adore the characterization you have of Rolf, it was so heartbreaking to have his own father make him make a super important choice in his life, like you said, to be the person he wanted, or to be the person her was. Simply heartbreaking that his father couldn't understand that. The insight there just fit so perfectly with Rolf's personality from there on out, because if his father couldn't love him, who could?
I am so glad though that Newt took him under his wing, and let Rolf become the person he was suppose to be.(:

Dear Luna, I'm so so impressed/awed/amazed at how WONDERFULLY you made her. I have so much respect for Luna, and I'm so glad you did the poor girl justice in your writing. She was a beautiful character here in your story, just stunning. And I love that you didn't rush the two's love. The awkward dialogue between the two is so cute and wonderful, and was just plain adorable. But it was so cute how they decided to go on adventures together! I seriously don't think the two could of had a date any other way, because who doesn't love looking for crazy/nonexistent creature together?:P Totally adorable.

Again, the scene where they send the twins off to Hogwarts, you just captured that moment perfectly. Like, I don't think anyone could have written that scene better, like not even JK R. Just so so beautiful, and heartwarming. Like its freezing in my apartment at the moment, and I'm still warm because my heart was so happy at that scene. I have an incredibly happy warm heart right now.:P

AGH! Okay, just rip out my warm fuzzy heart now. I'm so sad that Luna died before Rolf. All couples should just die happy together. Lol unrealistic, but moving on. I think that yet again, everything Rolf spoke was perfect for Luna. It was just a perfect ending scene, but beautifully, beautifully written. Just gah. I keep saying the same things over again, I just can't effectively type what I want to say!

Wow, I'm seriously so happy with this one-shot, and I hope you're beaming too. I literally cannot type you high enough praise because I do not have the word to say how much I ADORED this one-shot!(:

I thank you so much for participating in my challenge, and doing such an incredible job, and good luck to you!(:

~Katie(:(:(:

Author's Response: Um, seriously your review just made my life.

I've never read a Luna/Rolf either! So now that I'm so attached I'll have to go check out the ship waters!

I've been so nervous with this posted with no feedback because writing Luna, my favorite canon character, for the first time was ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING.

I'm glad you like Rolf! It was hard to get into his head and I made the writing a bit more formal and choppy than my typical style really trying to emulate him (and by 'him' I mean the 'him' I made up in my head). I wanted the transformation for him to be a bit circular--love dad, love no one, love Luna, but for the second love to show him that it doesn't mean giving up who you are. It means embracing them. Sorry, that's the English major in me analyzing my own work :) I've had to write a lot of essays this week for finals.

I know, it was way sad. I actually cried writing it. Which, is huge, because I NEVER cry during fics/movies/books. I really connected with them. Thank you SO MUCH for hosting this challenge so I got a chance to think of this. It was an eye-opening experience.

Thanks for your review!!!



 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsKatieGrintI Promise: I Promise

10th December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your challenge review!(:

Oh, this was so sweet, and so different from the original quote, but equally sweet! Gah, lovelovelove John Green and what you did with his quote here!(:

I was so heartbroken at the beginning, I guess I never really thought anyone would have trouble conceiving, but it was a really realistic situation. Did I mention heartbreaking?

I love the way Ron and Hermione are characterized. They are just simply wonderful and beautiful, and yes. I just love what you did with the two.

I think this is just super amazing, and my review isn't doing any justice. I could probably make up some words right now, because no adjectives are working with anything I have to say right now.

I'm just gushing over how wonderfully you used this quote and what you did with your beautiful characters! Agh! Wonderful!

Thank you so much for participating in my challenge, and good luck!(:
~Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

Aw, I am So glad you liked it! I cannot thank you enough for your lovely review, you're too kind! I actually went and read The Fault In Our Stars before writing this to get his perspective on the quote, and yes, it was so lovely. I am happy you approved of the way I used it :)

I had hoped it would seem realistic, and am glad you liked the characterization!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've made my day! Seriously, you are too kind!

I had so much fun, thank you for creating the challenge!

Happy Holidays!
-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsKatieGrintThe Perfect Moment: Perfect

5th December 2013:
Hey there!

Okay, seriously, this was one of the cutest stories I think I've ever read. It was so adorable, and fluffy, I just can't.

On another note, it just seems you're such a diverse writer! You can go from Charlie/Hermione, to a next ten like Teddy/Victoire, in no time, and they're both wonderful!

I think you're characters here were so well defined in such a short amount of space, it was incredible! It just made the story flow so nicely, and the details you have? Gorgeous.

I lovelovelove what you did with Victoire's character. Most people pawn her a a mini Fleur, with nothing unique to the poor girl, but I am in love with the fact that Victoire like the muggle qualities that life has to offer. Its so cute, and such a unique spin, and I absolutely adore it!

All in all, I think this was a super great one-shot, and I think your writing style is so wonderful, and graceful almost.
Great job though!(:
Cheers!
~Katie

Author's Response: Katie! You give the loveliest reviews, I swear you do... Again, I am so happy to hear the word 'cute' in association with this story. It's just something I've worked towards when I started with this story.
I'm glad you like the way I wrote Victoire. I truly struggled to make her unique but still part her mother and father.
I'm glad you think it's diversity... Mostly I think it's impatience as I can't take writing one thing over and over. Thanks, really, for the fantastic review. You are gorgeous!

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsKatieGrintNot Normal: {Chapter the Fifth}

4th December 2013:
Hey there!

Can I just say that you're superb? Lol okay, any who, I think that yes, this chapter was a filler, and to the point of plot, yes it was a little short in my opinion, BUT I think it goes to say that, 1 everyone needs filler chapters here and there, to help with characterization, and overall effect of what is to come, and 2 not every single day are you going to have an action packed day. If you do, you're probably tired all the time, and something is probably very wrong, haha.

I really love how Ellie's character is forming. At this point you're getting more definite with her, and its making it a lot easier for the readers to really understand and get into her head. Also, I think its really cool how you are modernizing her. From mentioning other fandoms, to her slight coffee addiction, I think you are making Ellie a character that the readers can really relate to on one aspect or another, and its just really cool for me.

Now, the only bump I kind had with this chapter, and it was only minor! Was that when Scorpius and Rose are talking about timetables and interfering with Quidditch, I was super confused for the longest time until I realized you were talking about prefect rounds. So maybe go and clarify that somehow? It was just a mess, kinda, in the sense that I had no clue what was going on until you mentioned Scorpius switching shifts with who ever, and later on when Ellie asked Scorpius how Head Boy was. So maybe I'm just real dumb, and didn't pick up on your context clues well, and in that case, feel free to ignore all this.:P

Also, I was super sad because there was no Albus.:( I'm so sad too, that he's a harder character for you to write, but honestly, you wouldn't be able to tell that from reading your story.

All in all, I think this was a wonderful filler chapter, and I can't wait, as always to see how this progresses!(: Cheers!

~Katie

Author's Response: Oh, you! *blushes* You really must stop being so nice to me! I'll get a big head! I did want to use this chapter for mostly characterisation - not Ellie's, but her friends'. I was feeling like I didn't really know Scorpius all that well, so I gave writing him a scene a go to see what happened. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Fillers aren't so bad when they're sandwiched in between two plot-heavy chapters, which at the moment is not the case. I guess that's why this chapter has me so worried.

I'm glad Ellie is really growing. She's very well-defined in my head, so I'm constantly worried about saying something that will skip all the development and make her seem less rounded.

That's actually a fantastic point! It's easy enough to fix - I shall make a note of that in my draft, so that when I go back to edit, I remember to fix that!

Albus was sent to the naughty corner for being difficult to write. Perhaps he'll receive a cameo for being so well-behaved in the next chapter.

Thanks so much for this amazeballs review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsKatieGrintDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

3rd December 2013:
Review Tag!

Oh geez! Seriously, that cliffhanger was a little too intense. I'm still sitting here with my mouth wide open!

Okay, forreal, how did this crazy idea even come about? This is seriously one of the most interesting stories I think I've ever read. The idea, plot, and the characters are just so striking. They all just stand out, and it's all so fantastically worded!

I think your attention to detail is what really makes this story the way it is. It is seriously so beautiful in the way you described everything. It could not have flowed any better, this chapter was seriously on point.

Your characters too! They're just so full of life, and well written. It irks me when people write Harry, because most of them can't do Harry justice, after all, JK wrote from that view, so its hard to beat, but you on the other hand did a STUNNING job. I was fooled that this was JK writing, because you did a FABULOUS job with Harry, and Devlin too.

Gosh, I could serious gush all day about this chapter. There just wasn't anything I felt you could do to improve this chapter, its wonderful exactly how it is.

I'm so glad you tagged me, because I probably wouldn't have stumped upon this story otherwise (gasp) and I might have lived my life without reading this!

So I've totally put this on my reading list, and I absolutely canNOT wait to read on to see what happens! Cheers!

~Katie

Author's Response: As long as the 'next' button is working, is there truly a cliffhanger that is 'too intense'? LOL I take great pride in being able to make people's mouths hang open!

Yeah...this crazy idea has been in my head so long it's kinda hard to puzzle how it came about. I think I attempted to in my MTA thread. But to be honest, you should read the next chapter first - because the reason this came into my head would be a spoiler for the next chapter. You have to meet Alexandra first.

People keep saying I have really good attention to detail and I keep cheering myself on every time they do, because now they're saying it in a positive way. I used to really over describe things. I think I have found a good balance.

This was a huge compliment (the writing Harry bit) and wow - thank you.

I'm glad I tagged you too. :) And you should seriously read the next chapter - although I make no guarantees as to whether it is cliff-hanger free...

Thanks for the awesome review!




 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsKatieGrintSomething Worth Fighting For: Chapter 1

2nd December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your review!

Okay, wow. This was seriously such a great start. You seemed to have everything laid out, and its just beautiful.

Your descriptions are wonderful. And your flow just seems so natural. I think this is such an engaging beginning, and I know I can't wait for more.

The emotion surrounding Ginny and Harry is really realistic too. Its just so smooth, but definitely believable.

I think you did a great job writing about Fred's funeral. It was bittersweet.

All in all, I think this was a really superb chapter, and I think your insecurities should just disappear because this is wonderful!

Author's Response: Katie!
Thank you so much for your kind words :D I hope I can keep creating an interesting story for you and I truly do hope you continue to read and enjoy it in the future :D
THANK SO MUCH
Christy


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsKatieGrintWildflowers: They Suited Her

2nd December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your review!

First off, I'm so sorry for the delay! Thanksgiving, finals, blah blah blah. But, I am here now, so onward with your requested review!

Okay, so I actually have never read a Charlie/Hermione fic before, but I was quite impressed. It was so sweet, and your characters were just darling.(:

Although I did enjoy this one-shot, there are a couple things I would suggest. I think that when you change between the characters thinking/speaking, you should make that a little clearer. Some points are really hard to tell that you've done this, until you read over the sentences a couple of times. Also, I think you should elaborate more. In the beginning, everything is quite detailed and beautiful, and then you drift off a bit, and things seemed to get rushed, and you stop painting the picture.

All in all I think you did a wonderful job. The idea of the story, and how its laid out is beautiful.

Wonderful job!(:

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I totally understand.. Busy time, busy time. I'm glad that the first time you read Charlie/Hermione you're not disappointed. They're a seriously under-appreciated pair that I love so much so I HAD to write about them.
Thank you for the pointers. I'm definitely planning to make edits while I make a sequel.
You're lovely..
--Carla


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsKatieGrintGravel on the Ground: From the Ashes: Prologue

2nd December 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forum here with your review!

First off, I'm so sorry for the delay! Its been super crazy with Thanksgiving this past week, and finals coming up, I've just been all over the place!

Anywho, wow, okay seriously, I have all of Charmed on DVD box sets, so I'm super pumped to see how this will ultimately play into your story!(:
I think you have the right idea, and so far, I don't see canon being a problem for you. i really didn't get to see much of this original character you have created here, but the glimpses I got, I'm seriously amazed.

I think your style of writing in general is just beautiful. You have a wonderful way with words and describing things. The feelings are there to, and it makes your story very believable.

I'm personally so intrigued to see how you're going to go with this story, your start is super great, and I can't wait to read more!(:

Author's Response: Hello!

And I must echo your first paragraph and apologize for being super busy and taking forever to respond to this review! I'm so very sorry!

Hey, glad you like the small Charmed connection. It won't be a huge part of the story, more just a concept that I'm borrowing, but I still love that you like it.

Thanks! I am trying really hard to stick to canon as much as I can, given I'm inserting an OC into the middle of it. It will get harder as I go, though, and we delve into the books.

Aw, thank you! That means a lot. I get really worried that my writing stinks, especially when I read all the other great writers out there. Encouragement is always welcome!

I don't know if you still have a review thread, but I will look and see and maybe you would still be interested in reading more.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsKatieGrintAs Starling Fades: Rumour Number 1

1st December 2013:
Hey there!

First off, I apologize for the delay! I've been studying for finals and a crazy week.

Anywho, I think this is a lovely start. Starling is such a realistic character, and I love the way she just is. Obviously, I'm not a celebrity, but I think you did a great job capturing that personality and the challenges they face.

Also, I love how this Next Gen is set past Hogwarts. I love that they're all grown up and I little more mature. Its just a good time period you have the characters set in.

I think your characterization, and the plot theme you have going on is great. The dialogue is really well, and It just flows so nicely. I think you have just the right amount of mystery going on to keep the readers hooked.

I personally don't see why you couldn't continue, I think this was a strong start. I think your insecurities should be minuscule, because this really was a great chapter!

Feel better about this, because like you said, you have a good idea, and I'm sure others would love to read this too!(:

Author's Response: Hi!
And it's no trouble!
Real life gets in the way sometimes - I would know!

I'm so glad you like the start of this! And that Starling is realistic! And yay! I'm glad I could really capture her!

And yes, I'm currently writing two (I think?) Next Gen stories during Hogwarts, so I tried to do something different than what I'm used to, so I'm glad it worked!

And I'm super glad that everything that I have so far flows nicely and that I have that air of mystery!

And thank you so much! This really means a lot and perhaps I can get started on the next chapter soon.

Thank you so much, as I said before this means so much!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsKatieGrintThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

20th November 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your review!(:

Wow, you have some great descriptive scenes here. Really, they are utterly amazing. And definitely beautiful.

This story is definitely gripping. I have a suspicion that the women in the beginning is Ginny, but wow. She was harsh!
I think you definitely have the right ideas in the right places, I think you just some smoother transitions. When you transit from one scene to another, its very abrupt, and almost staggering. I think you just need to work on closing the scenes better.
You definitely have the right ideas, and they're in the right spots, its just too short.

All in all, I think this story has a wonderful start, and I can't wait to see this resolved!
Cheers, Katie

Author's Response: Hello! :D That was really quick!

I'm glad you liked the story, overall. I meant to write a gripping first chapter, so your review makes me smile... :) :)

I know this was a bit short, but I promise the future chapters will be longer. =] I'll look at the closing scenes ASAP.

Thanks for the review! It really made my day... :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsKatieGrintIn Sickness And In Health: Healing in Hell?

20th November 2013:
Hey Grace!

Wow, what a great background story. How on earth did you even think of something like this?
This is brilliant. You did a great job covering loopholes, and did great explaining what all happened. Your flow was on point. Really well.

I think your characterization was better, and very realistic! You do a great job of characterizing Hermione, and I think almost a better job of Draco. Kudos there!(:

This story is definitely keeping me on the edge of my seat, I think you're doing great!
Cheers! Katie

Author's Response: Hiya Katie!

Um... that's a good question! I honestly can't remember, it has just jumped into my mind, and written itself from there really!

I'm glad i explain every alright! I do get worried because its a lot of dialogue and a lot to take in in one go, so knowing it makes sense is good :D

Oh good, characterisation is something that I can struggle with, so I am glad that it is doing okay so far.

Yay!! Can't wait to see what you think about the next chapter :D

Grace


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsKatieGrintThis Is Not A Love Story: Part 1

19th November 2013:
Hey there!

So, no shame, I was totally creeping on your page, and stumbled upon this story. First, I love Rick Riordan, so I've definitely been checking up on that challenge, to see all the great stories!

I think you did superb with your OC, she's so cute.
Might I add, I love the fact that Albus is in Ravenclaw! This was such a nice twist to your story, that I positively adored!
Anywho, I think also that its really great you didn't make Albus the cliche womanizer, I think it was cute how sweet he was to Claudia. Seriously adorable, in fact.

I can't wait to see where their ice cream adventure takes them next, because seriously, this story was adorable in everyway.(:

Cheers! Katie(:

Author's Response: Hi!

And absolutely no shame! That's how I found a lot of my favourite stories ;)

And you totally should check out the other stories! I bet they're all fantastic (not that I've had time to read them all... NaNo *she growls*)

And yay! I'm so glad you like Claudia! And yay again for Ravenclaw Albus! I just always pictured him as a Ravenclaw in this context because of how it ends, but I'm glad I twisted! ;)

And cliche womanizer? I always saw James as the womanizer and Albus more laid-back, kind of like Ginny (James is popular with the opposite gender) and Harry (I think he's kissed two girls in his life?).

And I know, how sweet is he? I wanted to make them this completely adorable couple, so I'm glad I succeeded!

And yay for adorableness, and, although I won't be going into detail on the ice cream fiasco, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with where I take them next. ;)

Thanks so much!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsKatieGrintNot Normal: {Chapter the Fourth}

19th November 2013:
Pls excuse me while I dance happily around my apartment for ten minutes.

Haha no, really, I'm so happy your muse came back and you could finally write another great/crazy/interesting Albus filled chapter!;D

Okay, so have I mentioned how much I adore your descriptive words? Forreal, I felt like I was in the library, seeing everything Ellie was. It was incredible!

Going to your concerns, I'm still fan-girling over here because of Albus, so I definitely think his characterization is on point. I love how arrogant he is, and he's a bit snarkey, but I think thats what makes him so charming.(;
Also, I was literally laughing out loud when Ellie and Albus were going at it. Seriously, my cat was staring at me like I was crazy, haha. Regulus is definitely a hoot too. He loves to stir things up, obviously, and I think he's hilarious!

Personally, I noticed the tone change, but what kind of english major would I be if I didn't? Although, I think the tone change is for the better. To me, it signifies that your comfortable now in the thought that everyone knows your characters, so you don't have to explain much about them, making the tone more relaxed, and calm, especially when concerning the characters.
Your tone definitely went from everly explaining,(which wasn't bad, your story just needed it because of the OC's you were introducing) to a relaxed story telling tone. Which is definitely great, because now you can get to the good stuff easier now!(:

You really did a great job, especially after coming back from a break. I think you did wonderful! And I can't wait to see the mess Ellie will get herself into next, and hopefully Albus is around too.:P

Cheers, as always! Katie!(:

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you so much!

No one is happier than me about the return of my muse - like you cannot believe how happy I was to get this chapter to a place where I was satisfied enough to publish it.

I tried harder with the description in this chapter, so I'm really happy that you think it worked.

I'm glad someone likes Albus because he's a pain to write - someone should like him, because I sure don't! And my dog stares at me funny all the time. His eyes say, "What is wrong with you human that feeds me?"

You like the tone change? I'm glad - I'm not sure how I feel about it, nor am I confident that I can keep it consistent. It might have just been a sort "just for this chapter" kind of thing. I think at least for the next chapter there won't be much explaining because we get to see Ellie learn things, which will be nice.

Thanks for this lovely review once again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsKatieGrintIn Sickness And In Health: The Battle

19th November 2013:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums here with your review!:D

Okay, wow. Definitely was not expecting any of that after reading the summary! It was great though, and I'm definitely intrigued by all of this.

I like how you disregarded the DH, but, did an excellent job of not straying too far from cannon. The battle was such an interesting scene for me to have read, especially from a prospective other than Harry's. Really great job there!(:

I think you have Hermione down to a tee. And I think Draco is pretty great too, although, I suggest making him more of a mystery, because right now you have him as an open book, and he definitely is anything but easily read.
I am confused in one aspect only, you have no mention of Ron, except when Hermione is talking to Ginny and mentions traveling with two goons. Is everything okay there? Or do we just find out more in later chapters?

Anywho, I personally don't get the rushed vibe, after all, your climax is the battle, therefore it is action packed. You can't have action written slowly, or it just takes away from the actions, so think your flow is great!

All in all, I think you did a great job, and I'd love to read more! Feel free to request again!(:

-Katie

Author's Response: Hi Katie! Thank you so much for reviewing!! :D

I am happy you enjoyed this, it's a bit different from Cliche Dramione that's for sure!

I have tried my upmost not to stray from canon, both in events and in characters. J.K Rowling made such an amazing world, I am just expanding on it :P

Oh really? Good to know the characters are real! I do think there is more that I can do to make Malfoy much more mysterious, so will look into that. You are right, there is so little on Ron spoken about in this!! I will have to add more of him, i didn't even realise it, thank you for pointing that out!

Oh really? Yusss!! It was supposed to be action packed but I know that can be made to be rushed. So I am glad it didn't happen!

Awww, yaay!! I am so very thrilled that you like it!! I will definitely rerequest!! (Or I may have already, hehe :P)

Thank you again for a lovely review :D

Grace


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>