Reading Reviews From Member: merlins_pants
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merlins_pantsThe Adventure of Dudley Dursley: The Beginning

26th January 2009:
This is a very good start to a story that I'm very interested in reading. I like how you went over exactly what Hestia and Dedalus did to ensure they wouldn't be followed, like switching cars and creating a backstory. It shows you put a lot of thought into what the Dursleys did after disappearing around the corner from Privet Drive.
And the end of this chapter really surprised me! I never thought about Dudley being able to see ghosts, especially since we find out he couldn't see Dementors. Or maybe he can but he pretended he couldn't? I'm definetly looking forward to seeing what happens now that we know he at least has *slight* magical abilities. It's something I've thought of a lot, seeing as his own aunt was a witch. I'm interested to see what's in store for him! Great start, 10/10.
--Marissa

Author's Response: Hey Marissa! Thanks for coming over to check it out! I love feedback, and am thrilled that you like the start! Yea, I think the getaway may have been a little "Italian Job" style, but I wanted it to make sense...

You'll find I tend to be a little too wordy, so don't be surprised if I describe more rather than less... Still, thrilled you like it, and I hope you keep going!!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by merlins_pantsThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: The Mad, Harry Beginning

22nd October 2008:
This story is too funny! I love Snape being halarious. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by merlins_pantsAll Was Well: Something Old and Something New

15th October 2008:
"Do you, Ronald Bilius, take Hermione J-"
"I do!" Ron interrupted.
^^^Too funny! Oh, Ron! What a cutie.
And ohhh, a cliffhanger! What will happen when Malfoy comes back into the trio's lives? I'm so excited to see what sort of confrontation will happen. I hope you get the next chapter out soon, because I am officially addicted to this story! *adds to favorites* -Marissa

Author's Response: You're too kind! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins_pantsAll Was Well: Adult Ventures

15th October 2008:
Your characterization in this story is excellent. I love when authors stick to canon, not just with the story line but with the characters themselves, and you have done a wonderful job at it. Ron and Hermione are too funny! Especially Ron, when he looses the letter with the platform number on it, and his fear of Hermione! They remind me of Arthur and Molly! Another 10/10! -Marissa

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I try so hard to be as acurate as possible, it's nice to see it's appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins_pantsAll Was Well: Growing Pains

15th October 2008:
Oh my God, it was halarious when Molly thought Ginny was pregnant! I'm sure after walking in on Harry and Ginny for so long that was the first thing that popped into her mind. Poor Molly! I bet she was so relieved when they said they're just moving out. She probably didn't like walking in on them any more than they did! Well, the second chapter didn't disappoint me. I love it as much as the first! I can't wait to see where you take the story. -Marissa

Author's Response: Poor Molly, it sucks to be her. But I love her to pieces.

 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins_pantsAll Was Well: Good Morning

15th October 2008:
Admittedly, I was a little bit confused when suddenly the story shifted into italics and it was back in the past, but I quickly realized what happened and now I'm glad you did that. I love hearing people's take on the in-between time of those 19 years.
My favorite parts of this chapter are when Harry uses Levicorpus to get James out of bed (that seriously would've been helpful for my parents if they could've used it on me) and when Ginny says "Are you forgetting? I'm a Weasley. Our family motto is 'the more the merrier'." (So true!)
I also think it's great that you are setting up for Harry to play an active role in raising little Teddy. I hate that Mrs. Tonks was so ready to pretty much abandon him -- but I'm sure after losing her daughter and husband and then suddenly being pushed into the role of guardian again was very hard on her. But when Harry was so easily able to make Teddy stop crying, that just warmed my heart. Anyway, love the story so far! -Marissa

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Maybe I wasn't clear with that part, Andromeda just wants a couple of hours of peace and quiet. I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Distance

13th October 2008:
YAY YAY YAY an update!! I'm so excited to see this story unfold. As with the other chapters, this one is great. By the way, when Hermione and Ron are on the train and she looks out and sees Harry in her mind, did you mean to make that a parallel to when JKR first thought of him? I read somewhere where she said she was riding a train and just saw him formed in her mind, and that's how she came up with him. Props to the reference if you meant it, and if not, you must be on some kind of genius wavelength with Jo! Anyway, I can't wait for the next chapter. Hopefully your internet will be up and running soon! :) -Marissa

Author's Response: YAYAYAY! I'm shocked you read this so fast, you're amazing! :D And also very perceptive, because you're right...I was making a refference to Jo coming up with Harry Potter on a train-ride to/from Scotland. Also, she once said Hermione's a bit like her, so I really wanted to add that in. Props to you for noticing!

My internet only works after seven PM, but once I'm finished with the chapter (which might be very soon) I'll be able to send it to my beta and post it straight away. Thanks so much, Marissa. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins_pantsSmoke and Mirrors: Prologue

12th October 2008:
Oh dear! This is one of the creepiest chapters I've ever read. This would do well in the Halloween challenge at SAYS!
Anyway, let me address your writing itself. The first thing that captured my attention was your descriptve language -- especially phrases like "the circles of Hell rising in the opposite direction". They really painted a wonderfully scary picture of Azkaban. Also, the way you really paid attention to even the tiniest detail of the prison and its prisoners and guards was perfect! I love the stories that really set up a picture in your mind, much like JKR does. Oh, and the last part comparing the escape to a game of chess was awesome. It is definetly true that a single pawn can change the whole game and that little statement made a huge impact and really draws the reader in and leaves them really curious as to what will happen next. I'm wondering what the man is planning, and how does the 'Chinaman' fit in? This is truly a wonderful beginning and honestly the best story of this genre I've read. I usually stick to the Hogwarts stories, but this has really opened my mind and is extremely original and unique. Great job on writing such an intriguing chapter! I'll be reading the next one ASAP for sure. 10/10 for wonderful writing and pure eerieness. (Is that a word? Haha nevermind).

-Marissa

Author's Response: Hi Marissa!! Thanks so much for coming to review this :) I'm not registered at SAYS but I've heard awesome things about that site. I might check it out if I knew this would be done in time for Halloween... but being lazy, it probably won't! I'm glad you like the descriptions! Escaping from Azkaban is probably the craziest idea anyone could have - it's like a crapshoot or a really risky game of chess. I liked imagining that these men have a strategy for a dangerous game. All of the characters will have an important role. Thanks so much for your awesome review, I'm happy you liked this! :) :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins_pantsContinuum: Chapter One: Molly's Misery

11th October 2008:
This is shaping up to be one of the best post-DH stories I've read here. Most stories go straight to Harry and Ginny and suddenly they're engaged, etc. But somehow many people skip right over the other people who have been so greatly affected by the war--especially Molly Weasley. She lost a son, she thought for a few moments she had lost another...I can't imagine her pain but I think you have captured it beautifully. I've been looking for a good story that starts after the battle so I'm glad Jessi recommended this! Excellent characterization. On to chapter 2! --Marissa

Author's Response: Yes... that was one of the reasons I wrote this. So many other fan-fics ignore what's going on with the secondary characters. In my humble opinion, it's often those characters who make the story! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far and I look forward to hearing what you think of the rest!

 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins_pantsThe Road Home: The Hole in the Wall

9th October 2008:
OMG! I can not BELIEVE they did that to her! Poor Nyah! I feel so bad for that little girl. You did a great job with making the reader feel very close and sympathetic to the characters. I really feel the hate for Mother and Alexander, and the love for Nyah, Anna, and Mrs. Cleary. And obviously there's something a little strange about Mrs. Cleary! Is she a witch? She seems almost like a fairy godmother to poor Nyah. 10/10 can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins_pantsThe Road Home: What Are Friends For?

9th October 2008:
Aw that was so cute of Anna and Mrs. Cleary to help her get to the party! But what a little sneak Alexander is! But I'm sorry I can't leave a long review but I'm too excited to get to the next chapter, which I guess is a good thing! I'll review extra long when I get through a couple more. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins_pantsThe Road Home: The Fury Within

9th October 2008:
Well, I didn't read it before, but the revised version is great! I sure wish I could make things explode when I get angry...lol ok maybe that's not such a good idea! Anyway, Nyah's character is so enthralling, she really makes me just want to reach out and hug her. And I'm so happy she has Anna and Mrs. Cleary to comfort her. If I had a mother like that I would be insane!
Ok, so this "dropping" stuff..I'm so curious! I love suspense and this story is definetly full of it. 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins_pantsThe Road Home: Running Late ... Again

9th October 2008:
Hello Teresa! I'm so excited to read your story. I've heard a lot about it and I'm not disappointed! I love how Nyah's story seems to have similarities with a certain black-haired glasses wearing boy we all know and love. :) Her family isn't exactly loving and they seem to try and repress some magical tendencies. I'm so curious to find out more about her. Are her dreams associated with a mysterious past or a key to her future? My mind is going crazy with ideas and questions and I can't wait to read more! -Marissa

 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins_pantsBellatrix Black: Beautiful Warrior: Cruel Intentions

8th October 2008:
OMG! The idea of putting Mrs. Wellington under the Imperius curse to kill her own husband was genius. It really reflects the cruelty of the Death Eaters and the sick pleasure they get from torture, even in front of children. Those poor girls! I'm almost afraid of what will come next! -Marissa

Author's Response: Yes, I really wanted to capture the cruelty of the Death Eaters, particularly Bellatrix. I must say I found it interesting writing a story from a Death Eater's POV. Thanks again for your review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins_pantsBellatrix Black: Beautiful Warrior: Becoming a Death Eater

8th October 2008:
OOO delish! You really capture Bellatrix's character very well. (Oh, little side note, I know this is far from important but Muggle is capitalized.) Your writing is really wonderful and now after reading this story I know I'll definetly be reading more of yours! 10/10 again. -Marissa

Author's Response: Thank-you again, Marissa, I'm glad you are continuing to enjoy this story. I didn't even realise I hadn't capitalised Muggle! Usually I make sure. I'll have to fix that up, thanks for pointing it out.

 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins_pantsBellatrix Black: Beautiful Warrior: Prologue -- The Purity of Blood

8th October 2008:
This story sounds amazing so far! I love Bellatrix's character so much, she's so passionate and deliciously evil, lol. Anyway, you set the story perfectly, particularly the description of the home and the daughters' strict respect for their parents. It definetly fits very well with their personalities as Jo has described them. I'm moving on to the next chapter immediately, I know I'm going to love this story! 10/10 :)
-Marissa

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, Marissa. I'm so glad you like my depiction of Bellatrix so far, she was definitely fun to write. I hope you continue to enjoy the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Fail to Complete

8th October 2008:
Ohhh this chapter made me angry, lol. I hate seeing them with other people. I hope they get together soon, but of course there's gotta be a whole lotta drama and action before then! I guess I'll just have to wait. :)
Anyway, I absolutely love this story and I can definetly see why it won most original! I usually don't enjoy stories that are about the trio, because I don't think a lot of people can really capture the true characters, but I think you nailed it. They are just how JKR wrote them, with a bit of maturity added for the years that have passed since Hogwarts. I'm adding this to my favs! I can't wait to see more and I hope you update soon! --Marissa

Author's Response: Well, yeah, lots of drama and action to come. Alas, the way to true love is never smooth, like dear ol' Will said. :D I hope you won't mind, though.
I'm very, VERY happy you like this story. And it didn't win a Dobby, it came in third place, but having reviewers like you makes me feel as though I did win. :D
I love these characters and am working very hard to do them justice. You're right, I'm also adding maturity and new elements to their eprsonalities.
Marissa, your reviews have been amazing, I'm so thrilled you're reading and enjoying the story. The next chapter is already up, so I hope you'll enjoy that too. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Lost and Found

8th October 2008:
I love how Harry proposed! I definetly can't see him being all sappy and down-on-one-knee type, you know? It was very sweet and actually very romantic. And Ron and Hermione are finally going to try and find out what's going on! I'm so excited!

Author's Response: I saw it as something natural to the scene and yes, I'm not at all for this soppy kind of proposing. I like to keep it nice, honest and simple. I'm glad you liked it as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Loneliness

8th October 2008:
This chapter cracked me up in a couple places- first with the mean nurse, she was just so frusterating I couldn't help but feel bad for Ron! Also, when Ginny runs into a man on the street and is reassuring an obviously very insecure woman that Ginny is hideous, that made me literally laugh out loud! Anyway, ask and you shall recieve! I wanted to know more about the dust and here you go! I can't wait to find out why and when it was given to them. And as always, your descriptiveness is totally JRK-worthy. You're a very talented writer! 10/10 again. :) --Marissa

Author's Response: I'm so glad my attempts at humor weren't that disastrous. I feel very flattered knowing I made you laugh. Thanks so much! The dust is very important, of course, since it's the title of the story and everything, but it will take some time for the characters to even realize its significance. I just wanted to bring it up and introduce it to the readers so there's actually a clue as to what it is. :)

Wow, that's such a compliment. Thank you so much! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Risky Business

8th October 2008:
OMG! He said her name!! That really reminds me of one of my favorite R/Hr moments in HBP when Ron says her name in his sleep after being poisoned. I love that you tied that in, I think it's really fitting. I really want to know how and why they were given this memory dust! Can't wait to read more! --Marissa

Author's Response: Yes, that scene was actually inspired by that moment, because I loved it, too! I thought of it as another deja vu sort of thing to happen, although neither of them realize that. Thanks, Marissa, you're amazing. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins_pantsMemory Dust: Living in a Lie

8th October 2008:
Ok, so I've been meaning to read this for ages and now I can't believe I didn't start earlier! I absolutely love it. I always thought that Ron and Hermione were destined to be together and I think it's an amazing idea to have them lose their memories and see if they really are meant to be. I think this is definetly one of the most original stories I've ever read! And I adore your attention to detail and descriptiveness. 10/10!

Author's Response: I love R/Hr too and was looking for a fresh and interesting way to write them, so here's this story. I'm so thrilled you're reading it, dear. Thanks for giving it a try!

 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins_pantsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Gimme Little Sign

6th October 2008:
OMG! I literally laughed out loud when Arthur runs off shaking hands with students because Molly said yes! That was too funny. I can totally see him doing that! I can't wait to see what happens on their date.:)

Author's Response: lol. I'm glad you liked that bit ;) I hope you keep enjoying! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins_pantsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Red Rubber Ball

6th October 2008:
Hey Megan! So I've finally gotten around to reading Unsinkable, which I've heard so many good things about. I can definetly see what all the buzz was about. :) I love stories that stick to canon so I think this will quickly become a fav!
So, I've never read a Molly fic before and now I'm afraid I won't read another because I think you capture her personality very well! I love that you didn't automatically sink into a Molly/Arthur cliche but instead made her fancy someone else to begin with. After all, I'm sure even though Molly claims they were "meant to be" they didn't start out together! I'm very interested to see what happens next. 10/10!

Author's Response: Hey Marissa! Good to see you stop by. I hope you keep reading :) Thanks so much for the great review! There really aren't a lot of Molly stories on the archive, certainly not at this age either. I had to write one, cause she's a fellow twinmom.

 Report Review

Review #24, by merlins_pantsThe Adventures of Saskia Lin!: Saskia Lin is a Graduate!

13th May 2008:
AHH! The end! No! But yes! *runs off to find the sequel*

 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins_pantsThe Adventures of Saskia Lin!: Follow Your Heart, Saskia Lin!

13th May 2008:
E!! I seriously just squealed out loud (SOL'd, if you will) when they started making out. Oliver's gorgeous. And Saskia's perfect for him. Yes, I act like they're my friends and all, but let's face it, if I went to Hogwarts, we would be friends. Ah! Love, love love this chapter for both the Saskiver and Kyotie action! I literally just ran downstairs to make popcorn before I finish the rest of the story. It's that good. It's popcorn good. Damn that's good! Haha. Alright, I'm going to stop rambling so I can READ! --Marissa

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>