Reading Reviews From Member: Ponytail Goddess
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ponytail GoddessWeekend in Azkaban: One

15th May 2010:
Oh, this was great! I didn't know you put this out until now when I stumbled upon it accidentally! The line at the end was very thoughtful, yet eerie at the same time: "I forgot this might not be the low point of everyone’s year." That's deep. I love your characterization of Lucius as someone who has his pride, yet has fallen off his high horse, as Scorpius noticed when he turned back. Very nice work with this; I enjoyed it very much.

-P.G.

Author's Response: YAY! Given that I wrote this almost entirely on the basis of one of your reviews, I am very glad to hear you liked it!

I really felt that there were various parts of Scorpius' side of the story that I hadn't covered well enough, and that to understand his relationship with Lily, I needed to explain who he was and how he'd been raised. I also wanted to give some attention to what happened to Lucius, as again it mattered in the story proper.

Thanks so much for letting me know what you thought - really nice to hear from you. Oh, and the sequel to Just Malfoy has now been started - first chapter should be up by next weekend, I hope.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ponytail GoddessStill Delicate: Trials and Tribulations

13th April 2010:
Oh man, that's so horrible! On her birthday too! I hope she doesn't start drinking like James...that would be bad.

I really liked the trial. Seeing as I don't watch too much court tv, it seemed pretty real to me. Loved it.

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: The end, and the beginning

10th April 2010:
All in all, I felt this story was really good. I liked how you incorporated the magical Lily and how Scorpius tried to save Lily from impending doom at the Quidditch game.

If you were to rewrite this chapter though, I'd make two small suggestions. Firstly, I don't think Scorpius is the type who would keep fighting for her like that. It's hard for any guy to face rejection and I think if she wouldn't let him apologize once or twice, he'd stop trying and give up. I feel like their relationship is in too early of a stage for her to mean that much to him yet that he would beg and plead for her to come back over so long a time.

That brings me to my other suggestion: I don't think he should tell her that he loves her yet. It just feels like things went a bit too fast at the end. They've only know each other for what, two months? I don't think he could honestly say those words and mean them so soon, nor do I think a teenage boy could say those words so easily in public. Guys have a tendency not to be as open with their emotions and I don't think he'd admit that in front of the whole Great Hall.

I really hope you don't take these suggestions personally, as they are merely suggestions. I did really enjoy the fic as is and wouldn't be upset if you didn't fix it at all. And may I just say how excited I am that you're going to do a sequel? Squee! I was hoping you would! I can't wait to see what happens between the two once they are openly dating (it's nice to know from the news article that Harry already approves, even if we don't know Draco's opinion yet).

By the way, I really liked the news article and I hope you leave it up :).

Anyways, happy writing and I hope to read the sequel sometime soon!

-P.G.

Author's Response: Yeah... see, this is the problem - in my head there is a lot of back story behind his feelings for her, and so his declaration makes sense. In the story as written though, it's not there, so it thus makes no sense. May have to have a play with it, so that either the additional stuff comes through, or so that he seems more like the seventeen-year-old he's supposed to be. Anyways, thanks for the con-crit; will definitely bear it in mind on the inevitable re-write.

Glad you liked the epilogue - it was largely written due to the otherwise unanswered questions that you raised in previous reviews!

Thanks, as ever, for your honest and insightful comments!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: The fine line...

10th April 2010:
Aw, I loved the cute family ending! Poor Scorpius though--the boy doesn't understand what happened! I wonder if he'll stop trying, since he hasn't known Lily that long and he could probably get someone else easily. Hopefully she'll give him a chance to explain... I'd love a happy ending!

-P.G.

Author's Response: Well, the answer to that question is now up - I hope it doesn't disappoint! Also, keep an eye out over the next week... that's all I'm saying!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ponytail GoddessHazard: Again

5th April 2010:
Woah... That was really something else. I'm guessing Scorpius somehow knew about what was happening, which is why he got Rose to chase him to Hogsmeade?

-P.G.

Author's Response: No not really...but I like your take on that! Haha, thank you for your review!

~K


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ponytail GoddessThe Unexpected Baby: Quiet Laughter

31st March 2010:
That went better than expected.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: A life less ordinary

21st March 2010:
Oh how fast the tables can turn... Wow, that chapter was really good! I feel like the age difference between them was really emphasized here; Lily has clearly very little experience with boys and is shy and Scorpius, who is bold and overly confident about himself. He doesn't seem to understand what a delicate issue this relationship is going to be. I love that they kissed before the issue started; the discomfort/excitement that Lily felt being that close to him was very real. Let's hope that Scorpius can get himself out of the hole he just dug...

Are we going to get to hear about his trip to Azkaban? They spent so much time training for it that I'd really like to know what happened.

I'm looking forward to more!

-P.G.

Author's Response: To be honest, I hadn't even thought about it - might have to write a companion piece to cover it, as the whole 'Lily and Scorpius not talking' thing might get in the way of telling it in this first person piece. Hmm, could definitely use this as an opportunity to go into his head... leave it with me!

Glad you liked this chapter - was trying to avoid making it too unrealistic, which is why I've been emphasising her naivety and insecurity in recent chapters. Now, how will he ever get her back...

Thanks for reviewing - you always make me see new things in my own story, which is truly awesome!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: Stupid Cupid

14th March 2010:
OMG, what a mess! I get the feeling that Scorpius is going to take a lot of bad stuff from James in the near future. Hopefully, James won't write home to Lily's mom and dad. I'm not sure they'd be happy that their 4th year daughter was making out with a 6th year guy, regardless of whether his name was Malfoy or something else.

Can't wait to read more!

-P.G.

Author's Response: Well, I wouldn't want to give anything away... let's just say there's no point writing a story where the characters don't have to overcome some kind of adversity! I'd like to think that Ginny and Harry would understand the 'younger girl, older guy' thing better than most though.

Thanks so much for your insightful reviewing, will get back to chapter ten straight away!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ponytail GoddessBe Seeing You: Prologue

10th March 2010:
May I just say that I'm seriously missing this fic? You have left off at the world's largest cliffhanger and I'm dying to know what happens when the two wake up in the morning! Please don't make us wait much longer; update soon!

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ponytail GoddessQuid Pro Quo: Suspicious Serpants

8th March 2010:
Totally oblivious...good grief.

Author's Response: Hopefully not in a bad way?

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ponytail GoddessLove Hurts: Dumbstruck

8th March 2010:
Great story! I love how things weren't taken too fast between Lily and Scorpius--truly it was a kid's love story. The characterizations were great and I enjoyed the plot about the necklace's giver. My one criticism would be during the body changing part, as I don't think they'd have agreed to actually doing, being a boy and a girl. I mean, what happens when the call of nature hits? I don't think either would really want to see that much of the other at this age, lol...

I also really enjoyed the plot with Tom's ghost. When you said that the Headmistress looked like she was in a haze (when Scorpius went to tell her what was going on) I thought for sure you were going to have her be possessed too! It's funny how one little word can lead a person on, eh?

Anyways, I'm off to read the sequel. Great work!

-P.G.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the comments. I have to agree with you concerning the body switching moment. There were certain "aspects" of that scene that I didn't consider at the time. :o) This was my first HP story, and I've considered revising it, but every time I try, I end up writing another story instead. *sigh* I might have another go at it this summer. Once again, thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ponytail GoddessA Kiss for a Rose: A Kiss for a Rose

8th March 2010:
Great story. I love how formal your Scorpius was, as if he'd finally been trained by his father to become a true "Malfoy heir." I was sad at the end, but I suppose that was expected.

-P.G.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Isn't it weird to see someone act so formal around FRIENDS? It's the strangest thing, yet it's completely expected from a Malfoy. Heh, yeah, I suppose it was a sad ending. Sorry. :( But I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ponytail GoddessThe Unexpected Baby: Truth Without Freedom

3rd March 2010:
And it hits the fan--by jove, did they not shut the door or did she just barge on in? I was not expecting that! If anything, I figured James would feel the need to tell someone when he learned the magnitude of said secret. I rather like this trustworthy James, by the way. It's nice to see him as a kind and responsible soul for once.

That's quite a cliffie you left--I do hope you plan to update soon.

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: Lies, white and otherwise

22nd February 2010:
Ooooh, just a date, eh? How exciting that they're getting together for no particular reason. I can't wait to see how it goes--please update soon!

-P.G.

Author's Response: They're not - they have highly vital practising to do! ;-D Yeah, they clearly like each other, but will they ever let each other know... all this and more to come!

Thanks for continuing to read and review, I'll try to keep writing too!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ponytail GoddessThe Test of Love: Forever

22nd February 2010:
I love that you didn't tell us which set of parents was mad--we had to wait for the train station to see. I was right about it though--I thought it would be Ron who would cause such a big fuss. Nice work.

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ponytail GoddessRotcellocxat: Adventures in Babysitting - the Lucius Way

21st February 2010:
Lol, that was adorable! I particularly enjoyed Lucius adventure in the women's restroom.

-P.G.

Author's Response: Thank you and welcome new reader. More on Lucius and Astrum's adventure can be seen in Merriment if you like.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ponytail GoddessThe Unexpected Baby: Of Prats And Kept Secrets

10th February 2010:
Great fic so far. I kind of like that Scorpius seems a bit indifferent right now, though I bet that will change once his parents know. I sense that something is about to hit the fan next chapter and it's not going to be pleasant. Please update soon--I'm dying to know what happens next!

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ponytail GoddessJust Malfoy: All work and no play

2nd January 2010:
Dull? I think not. I've really been enjoying the exchanges between Scorpius and Lily. I also enjoyed learning about why he has such a passion for history; it really makes good sense that he'd want to read about some Malfoys who did something right. Anyway, please update soon. I'd love to read more!

-P.G.

Author's Response: More coming soon!

Glad to hear you liked that bit - I always want there to be a justification for unusual character quirks, beyond 'it helps the plot', so I've tried to make it all make sense, but I was concerned it was a bit laboured. Anyways, thanks for the review, will post more as soon as I can!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ponytail GoddessBe Seeing You: Just Another Idiot

27th December 2009:
Aw--they're getting closer! I'm so excited to find out what happens next! Please update soon!

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ponytail GoddessBe Seeing You: The End of the Beginning

27th December 2009:
I love that the annoying little brother knows everything--hilarious!

-P.G.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ponytail GoddessWhen Silver and Emerald Meet: Cinderella, Bloody Limits, and the 32 Rules of Correct Interpretation

1st November 2009:
Interesting. I like how you changed the font on the owl letter to hint that it was from someone other than Scorpius. Nice work.

-P.G.

Author's Response: Glad you noticed that - no one has ever picked up on that little hint before! You seem to be a very observant reader =] Thanks for reviewing and I hope to hear from you again soon!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ponytail GoddessWhen Silver and Emerald Meet: The Straw That Didn't Break the Camel's Back

1st November 2009:
I've really enjoyed your story so far. I like how you've shown Lily as someone who's fair and easy to get along with, even giving Scorpius a chance as a first year. However, I think this chapter feels very unrealistic because Professor McGonagall would never let students vote on whether or not to segregate first years. She fought in the war against Muggleborn segregation. She would have put that student in his place immediately because she has values she has fought for.

It makes sense that there would still be students that harbored those feelings towards Muggleborns and maybe a few teachers, but I'm certain that McGonagall would not be one of them.

Other than that, I have enjoyed this fic and plan to continue reading.

-P.G.

Author's Response: Hi! It's exciting to have a new reader, and I'm glad to hear you're enjoying the story so far...

That is a very interesting point you brought up, actually. No one has ever mentioned that before, but now that I think about it, that is true. At the time when I wrote this chapter, I had just started writing and I was more absorbed in making everything fit my plot than focusing on the details, but I'm actually editing through again, so maybe I'll take a look at that section and fix it up. Thank you for bringing that up!

I'm really happy to hear you like it and I look forward to hearing what you think of the rest as you continue reading!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ponytail GoddessThe Curves of Time and Space: Chapter One: Find A Way

25th October 2009:
Cute! I enjoyed it.

-P.G.

Author's Response: Aw. Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ponytail GoddessSaving Mum & Dad: What Was, And Is, And Is To Come

18th October 2009:
Great fic--I love how the mystery is slowly coming unwrapped. The thought of Ron giving young Hayden wands in the park and teaching him Avada Kedavra is pretty sick. Maybe Hayden even knew Ron at the time, so he didn't think he was taking something from a stranger after all. I can't help but wonder what Hayden must think of Naomi now though...his feelings might change now that he knows she murdered Ron.

...and Draco put here up to it. Very interesting.

I can't wait to read more!

-P.G.

Author's Response: Hiya P.G.! :)
Thanks for reviewing! Yeah, the thought that it was Ron who gave young Hayden the wand to impose his mother with a "spell" he doesn't know, is really sick. Can you imagine Ron doing something like that to Hermione's son to get back at Draco? I don't think so... You'll see who that stranger in the park actually was. Hayden will remember it... :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ponytail GoddessMistakes We Made: Mistakes We Made

26th September 2009:
Nice fic; I really enjoyed the interactions between Draco and his son. However, the ending didn't feel quite right. I think it's okay up until the last sentence, but that last sentence doesn't feel like it fits with the mood of the fic at the time. Even if you just deleted that sentence, I think the fic would flow better. It's not bad work though and I loved little Scorpius' characterization and his desperation to stay out of bed, lol. Nice work.

-P.G.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>