Reading Reviews From Member: fancy
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by fancySilence in the Library: The TARDIS

28th June 2012:
:( So upset this is finished, but you did finish it off very nicely. Yes slightly cheesy, but who doesn't love that? Oh Penny and Oliver, a match made in heaven!
This was such a delight to read, honestly, and written so well that I can comment negatively on nothing at all.
Thanks for such a glorious little story!

X fancy

Author's Response: Yeah, it decended into cheese a little bit but I really couldn't help myself - and as this one was always just a sideorder of fun for me, I thought I might as well embrace it.

Thanks for the lovely review fancy! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by fancySilence in the Library: The Cyberman

15th June 2012:
Oh dear I love this fic so much. You've combined some of my favourite things: Doctor Who, HP and Oliver Wood. And Penny may soon be joining that list!
Love the build up of Percy and Audrey, cannot wait until the next chapter, I positively stalk this story.
It's embarrassing, but worth it!

Author's Response: Hehe, all of the three things you've mentioned... I'm a big fan too. Awh, Fancy! Your reviews have really been making my day on a regual basis recently and, yup, there should be an update for this really soon cause...well, I very much enjoy writing this story :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #3, by fancyAll the Abstract Nouns: Fifteen

10th June 2012:
Wow. I feel like I'm reading my biography. You write a teenagers thoughts really succinctly, I've tried to capture it before but it's always seemed so chaotic and confusing (maybe because it is?) but you've managed to make it make sense.
I didn't think it was possible!
Molly is actually 100% relatable, every thought she expressed throughout this short story I was kind of nodding through.
This was just great, honestly wonderful. It was so much more than just a cute little comedy (although I love those) you managed to create a completely realistic character who was funny, smart, irritating and most importantly real.
I'd love to read more about Molly and Dexter, can't wait to see what comes of that.

Great job, seriously.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thanks for such a lovely review! I really wanted to capture the essence of what I think it is to be a teenager in this ones. It's definitely chaotic and confusing and ridiculous. Growing up is just so complicated!

Eee! I wanted to make Molly relatable and I'm so glad that you thought she was! This review literally just made my day and THANK YOU for being shiny and everything. Its lovely to here that it worked out how I hoped it would :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by fancySilence in the Library: The Companion

21st May 2012:
Ahhh this was lovely. I'll need to start shipping Penny and Oliver after this!
"...and in his Quidditch-mania he'd started using her as a bat." had me in absolute stitches.
You have a great way of slipping in comedic observations into Penny's descriptions, which make it just hilarious to read.
Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yes! Be converted! They're such a wonderful couple and I've been really inspired after reading such great ones. Ahha, oh I loved writing that line - it was really, really fun :)

Thanks for such a lovely review! I've half written the next chapter all ready (whoops) so... hopefully it won't be too long :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by fancyetc. etc. (and life goes on): Everyone Wants Me (Dead)

18th March 2012:
Another severely enjoyable chapter. This is quickly becoming one of my favourite stories on the archives. I missed Dom but you more than made up for that with all the close encounters with Albus. He's such a dish. Sigh.
Loved it, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I knowww, but Dom sneaks in next chapter, I should think. If all goes as planned :) I am terrible at plans though.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by fancyTrying not to love you: Chapter one - Best Friends Forever

11th March 2012:
Wow, I did not for one second think that English wasn't your native language. That just makes this all the more impressive!
I thought your introduction was really strong, how you gave the foundation for Gwen's character in second person was really great. It rounded out her character very well from the get-go.
It's also really nice to read a next gen which doesn't take place in Hogwarts, and the fact that Gwen is this tomboyish quidditch star fits in with her being best friends with James and him not really noticing.
I thought this was a great start and I look forward to reading the next chapters!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad it seems that way (:

Thank you for such a nice review. I'm glad you liked it, hopefully you'll like the rest of it too if you get the chance to read it (:


 Report Review

Review #7, by fancyMischief Managed: First Year: The Sorting

11th March 2012:
What a gem! This was so great!
Initially I was a little worried because you'd obviously divied up the chapter into the different P.O.V's and a lot of the time that can turn out really badly, BUT this worked really well and your writing is just wonderful that all my initial qualms over it quickly disappeared.
I felt like your characterisation was absolutely spot on for all of them, especially Sirius and Remus. Especially those two!
And Remus' flashback was brilliant, just great.
I literally have nothing bad to say, no constructive criticism I could give you. I enjoyed this immensely and am looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi!

Why, thank you very much! :)Remus is always interesting to write - but I struggled with Sirius for the first couple chapters - then I hit the Christmas chapter and he suddenly became much easier to understand! xD

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you enjoyed the rest of the chapters! :)

Keira :) x


 Report Review

Review #8, by fancyInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

10th March 2012:
This was so nice! I've always been kind of fascinated with Rolf/Luna because so much could be done with them. I think you've written Rolf really well, I always pictured him as this fairly normal and grounded person who contrasted but complemented Luna's more cooky personality and I feel that's sort of the direction you took with him.

Also the moments you show between the two of them flowed really well, especially how Luna is with the twins. Your description was great and your story had a really good structure and flow.

This was a great little one shot. Your characterisation was lovely and I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Yeah, that's how I've pictured Rolf too! Luna needs someone to bring her back down to the ground once in a while :) I'm glad you thought this was lovely and great and it makes me all happy inside to hear that!

 Report Review

Review #9, by fancyA Light in the Darkness: Light

10th March 2012:
Oh wow, that was really lovely! I've read so many Luna fic's but none have written her quite so well as you have in this amazing little One Shot.
I absolutely love how you have really made her the light in the darkness not only in that dungeon cell, but also for Ollivander. Especially the end where she is this beacon of hope, her belief in Harry gives Ollivander the slightest of hope even for a second, and I think that's the best christmas gift she could have given him.

Your descriptions are beautiful as well, how you had Luna herself describe the first part of her favourite christmas, and then the rest is garnered through Ollivander's thoughts.

This was really such a lovely one shot. As I said you write Luna so well. She's a little cooky, a little odd, but also one of the most wonderful characters J.K came up with.
Well done, this was a pleasure to read.

Author's Response: Oh wow, that's such a great compliment! I love Luna, so I really appreciate when readers think that I've captured her well.

One of my favorite qualities of Luna's is that she has this innate faith that things will work out, and she can, however briefly, pass that faith along to others. She does that for Harry several times in canon, and I wanted to write a scene where she did that for Ollivander as well. It's the only gift that she can give him, but probably the one he needs the most.

Thanks for commenting on my descriptions. I struggle with those and know that my stories often lack a lot of descriptive detail, so I'm glad you liked what was in this story.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by fancyThe Stag and The Stars: The Last Christmas

10th March 2012:
This was so lovely! Honestly, a gorgeous little one shot. I love James/Lily don't you? Whenever I get a bit of writers block James and Lily always seem to set me straight. :)

I thought the initial sequence was great, how James and Sirius rebounded off one another and the fact they were doing work for Dumbledore reinforces the whole Order of the Phoenix cannon. The little mention of Remus and how they were thinking about him was also another great subtle addition which rounded out the story and the characters making it super believable.
What was devastating was when James said he would have a lifetime of Christmases with Harry, and that you'd named the chapter The Last Christmas. :( It was great, but so sad.
Also Lily's instalment and the reminder that they fit so well together that their patronus' match.
Oh, I thought this was wonderful. A great one-shot. Perfect!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! It was so kind of you to offer to review, and i'm so thrilled you liked this ^_^

And yes, James/Lily are my OTP. I just love them so much, it's crazy.

Thanks again for this, i'm so glad you liked it. Your comments are great and have given me inspiration of things to try and incorporate into another story of mine.

So thrilled you liked it!
- A :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by fancyNot just a Barmaid.: Days Like These

10th March 2012:
Argh! A fic about Madam Rosmerta! Why didn't I know about this before!? I love Madam Rosmerta and well done you for thinking of writing a fic based on her.
This was a really great start, your scene descriptions are great, I loved the subtle inclusions of Sirius and James (because obviously they would be in the bar and of course Sirius would have a girl on his lap)
Also your Hagrid was really good, and I liked the inclusion of Fang as a pup which was very cute.
A great start, and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks SO MUCH for this review :')
I'm glad you enjoyed it! Yes, I've always loved madame Rosmerta too. Shame there aren't many stories about her!
Thanks!
lwg :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by fancyFix you: Chapter 2

10th March 2012:
Hi there!
Sorry it's a bit belated, got caught up with work, but that's another story! I do think this is a good start to a story, but I do have a few constructive ideas (food for thought?) for you.

I'm a huge fan of next gen as it's got the flexibility to be fairly creative within the HP world - which allows a lot of room to move. And whilst I really like Methelda and we know she's this quirky eccentric character, I feel like she needs to be developed a bit more, perhaps a little more characterisation explaining her background. It's obvious she's a pureblood because she didn't know who/what Spiderman was, but knowing her family or anything like that sort of rounds out a character a bit more, especially when it's an OC and we don't have that foundation of previous knowledge like we do with Canon characters.
Same sort of goes with Albus and Mary - just a bit more characterisation maybe in the next chapter would round it out a bit more.
In regards to Albus and Mary, I think they're great. It's nice not having 10 other Weasley cousins thrown in the mix and all of them being best friends etc, which is done really often.
Mary is a bit of a wild card isn't she? I don't know if you are going to expand on the whole painting thing - if that's a plot point at all? - but she's certainly interesting and seems to mix well with Methelda.

In regards to plot, I think that's something you are or will need to almost establish in the next chapter - what's going to happen, what is your plan for the story? I'm assuming its an Albus/Methelda romance that will happen but the thing a good story needs, is along with a love story something else going on. Does that make sense? There should be a side plot guiding the story along, and weaved into that the romance.
(I don't know if I'm at all making sense here.)

Obviously this is just the beginning, and I think in regards to your actual writing the dialogue flows quite well. There are some grammatical errors, but they're easily fixed. I think in the next instalment if you just expand a bit on who your characters actually are, and determine what you want your story to be about then it could be something really good.

Keep going, and I look forward to seeing where you go with this!

Author's Response: Hi fancy. First and foremost, thank you for your review. It really means a lot.

It's great that you like my characters. I know what you mean about the plot. Yes, I really need to start developing it more. I don't know why i find it so difficult to develop the plot. But apparently i feel like it's the hardest thing in the world. :(

Your review was extremely helpful, especially the part about the subplots. I plan to do a lot of outlining before I post my next chapters. Hopefully it will better than the previous ones. :D

Once again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #13, by fancySomething About a Witch: Chapter the First: A Start of Sorts

10th March 2012:
Hi there!
Sorry for the belated review! I thought this was a really good start. The introduction of the main characters was all very rounded and you gave a good bit of information on all of them, their personalities and stature in the group of friends.
I really liked the banter between them as well, it felt really natural especially between Rose and Albus.
Loved the ending, I thought the way you did that was really well done - something that makes me want to go read chapter two...which I am on my way to now!
Great start and I look forward to reading the next few chapters!

Author's Response: It's totally cool. I'm really glad that you liked this! I finally got the right plunny for a ScoRose and ran with it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by fancyI just can't find the words: Is it the end?

8th March 2012:
This was so much fun to read! I've never ever read an Arthur/Molly fic, and now that I've read yours that surprises me, because it's such a wonderful pairing. I guess not a lot of thought goes into how those two got together because you always picture them together. Always.
So this was really different and really lovely. I like that Molly is stressing over the fact she's pregnant but only because she's concerned about Arthur's reaction.
Also, the insight into all her worries and her plans to leave him if he takes it badly is just so great. You portrayed this extra layer to Molly and her relationship with Arthur, which fits in really well, but is also a bit of a surprise.
I love that you left the ending open ended, it added way more emphasis to the last line. (Plus we all know how it ends anyway!)
You write wonderfully and for such a small one shot, it was certainly a great one!

Author's Response: Hey thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked it and I agree that it is just a wonderful pairing. They have always been seen as one of the most perfect couples which is what I like about the couple.

Molly is just a stresshead who thinks that Arthur is a different man to who he actually is so she just worries about what will happen and if he will leave her.

I'm glad you liked this being open ended as I think it gave people more of an opportunity to make their own ending.


 Report Review

Review #15, by fancyForever Yours: End of the Line

3rd March 2012:
Wow! This was really amazing. I'll repeat what I'm sure everyone else who has reviewed has mentioned, your writing style is so lovely. You describe everything perfectly - the setting, the emotions, the reactions - everything's very realistic and there's nothing that I felt was lacking at all, which I find sometimes can happen with fan fiction.
You incorporated the flashbacks really well, sometimes flashbacks can be a bit disjointed but they worked themselves in perfectly.
The only bad thing I could possibly say about this was that it was too short! I wanted to read more!
I'm looking forward to what comes next, great start to what I'm sure will become a great story.

Author's Response: Aw :D The flashbacks were kind of tricky, because I didn't want them to mess up the story, and I just want to thank you for this glowing response. The next chappie will be longer, I swear, and I hope you'll like it, but for now, this story is sort of on hold. Thanks for the review swap ;*

 Report Review

Review #16, by fancyThe impossible task: The impossible task

1st March 2012:
This was so lovely! My god, you must have your own baby names book to have come up with so many different ones!
I really liked this one, I'm working on a Ted/Vic fic myself so I've been reading up on other stories and this one was great.
I found Victoire really relatable and the whole dilemma she was having was very believable.
I liked how you had a paragraph and then 4 or 5 girls names afterwards which really reiterated the fact that this decision was completely encompassing Victoire's thoughts.
I also enjoyed the small snippets of Victoire's thoughts of Teddy and obviously how much she loves him - it was just done in a really nice and subtle way.
And of course at the end where all three made the decision!
A very enjoyable and cute one shot.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this story! And yep I have several baby name books (or websites :P) at my disposal.

I find Ted/Vic such an interesting couple to write about so I love reading other people's stories about it too.

Vic was a hard character to write because she was so confused and just entangled within the whole story trying to find a name.

I'm glad you liked the story and thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by fancyWAS IT WORTH IT????: WAS IT WORTH IT????

27th February 2012:
I don't get to read them very often, but I like to read other peoples interpretations of what they think happened after the war, and I feel like you did that very well. Harry is such a self criticising character that he really would blame himself for every single death that happened that day!
I liked the realisation at the end though, that it had all been worth it to have Voldemort dead and gone - because essentially it was.
The only thing that threw me slightly was that he ran out of the castle and then when he stopped running he was in London. Did I miss that he'd apparated? It's just Hogwarts is in Scotland and so it would have been a really long way to run!
But apart from that I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: No you didn't miss it. Harry apparated without knowing it. And being a powerful wizard I thought that would have been proper. Maybe I should have been clearer on that one. Thanks for pointing that out, I'll go back to that and maybe put something in to fill that gap.
I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. I loved writing this. For some reason the words just flowed out and onto paper (so to say).
Many thanks for the read and review.


 Report Review

Review #18, by fancySleuth: Alone

27th February 2012:
Well this was certainly different. For a while there I was going through all the options of who this boy could be, and why Hugo (a detective) was watching over a boy in hospital? but then it was all revealed!
I really liked it, it certainly captured my attention and interest, and then made me extremely sad and sorry for poor little Hugo, living out an imaginary life through Hugo the detective. Knowing that, makes the "it made his parents proud" so depressing.
But I reckon this would work really well for another one shot - the character of Hugo going on an adventure, but tying it into little Hugo's day to day life? I don't know.maybe that makes no sense. All I know is I liked it enough to want to read more!

Author's Response: It was so weird writing this. Since it was so different, I wasn't sure whether it really made any sense. Im glad it ended up readable! Thank you so much for the review!
ps. and if i ever do get the time or inspiration I may continue this.


 Report Review

Review #19, by fancyLife is Simple (On the Moon): On Earth however, life is in fact complicated

27th February 2012:
Oh Percy! This was great! I don't think I've read many (or any) fic's where Percy hasn't been completely annoying, but you manage to write him in a way which is true to character, but also in a way which makes us actually like him! I feel like he's one of those characters where, yes he can be a pompous idiot, but he's got lots of good qualities that really redeem him.
I also really like your portrayal of Audrey. Again I've read her as this self obsessed snob and haven't really liked that very much, but your Audrey's great! A little bit feisty, confident, passionate - a perfect foil for Percy maybe?
The flashbacks, the lift, and Percy's internal thoughts were all brilliant.
The only thing I could possibly comment on would be that there were a couple of tiny (really tiny) spelling/grammatical errors but I think that's about it - and that's only if I'm really nit-picking.
Really enjoyed this, glad my first foray into this ship was so pleasing.

Author's Response: Hello Fancy! I'm glad you liked this story! Percy is one of my favorite misunderstood characters, he's so awesome and no one understands his potential, same goes for Audrey. Anyway I'm glad you liked it and thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by fancyWho We Used to Be: End of the Beginning

24th February 2012:
Hey!
I loved that the time setting is after Azkaban, as it's so unusual for any Sirius/OC story to not be during Hogwarts. There's so much that can be done with that time frame so it was really refreshing to read something that wasn't the norm.
Another thing that I really liked that wasn't typical was that you didn't make Sirius out to be some womanising, misogynistic Slytherin hater. You made him really normal which I've always imagined him as.
I liked your incorporation of the flashbacks (I'm a huuuge fan of flashbacks) and it just flowed well.
The only thing I noticed that you might want to possibly consider editing - the first paragraph used the word 'books' a lot, so maybe throwing out a "they" or "them" instead just to break it up a bit and make it flow better.
But apart from that I really enjoyed it, it's a good start and it's nice to finally see a version of Sirius that could have more depth than a shampoo bottle!

Author's Response: hello darling(:

It is unusual,so Im kinda sticking my neck out there writing this,so Im incredibly nervous!

I love Sirius haha:D he warms my heart! what a fan girl I am!

I love flashbacks,there in practically every chapter!

editing,got it! haha thanks for the lovely review!

xoxo

Ever


 Report Review

Review #21, by fancyLily's Ghost: Emporium of Secrets

18th June 2010:
I'm desperate for another installation.
I hate cliff hangers.
:(
That being said this is a wonderful story.

Author's Response: Haha, I hate them, too! And I'm sincerely sorry for loading my stories with them!

Hopefully I will have time to write another chapter soon! Unluckily I've forgotten the plot, it's been so long! But I'll try and think of something ;)

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by fancyCheckmate: Prologue

24th May 2010:
This sounds really interesting, I think you should continue writing it.

 Report Review

Review #23, by fancyBetrothed to a Mudblood: Secret Meetings

15th March 2009:
I'm actually not a D/Hr fan at all. In fact I loathe them - cannot stand them, want to tear my hair out when i read them etc.
But gosh...I really like this one. I love the way you portray Draco and Hermione - it's very well written, and the witty banter keeps it fun and believable.
Please continue and keep up the good work.
I'm honestly ridiculously ridiculously impressed.

 Report Review

Review #24, by fancyThe Formal: Tempers Flare

13th March 2009:
If you want a banner you should go to 'The Dark Arts' it's a website that specialises in graphics and has a special forum just for HPFF banners. They're often very good.

 Report Review

Review #25, by fancyStill Delicate: A Case Of Foot-In-Mouth Disease

5th March 2009:
I loved it, another brilliant chapter - of course.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>